DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Amendment filed on 05/13/2026 regarding claims 1-17 is fully considered. Of the above claims, claims 1, 4, 6-7, 12 and 14 have been amended.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, the recitation of “the electric filed amplitude information” in lines 6-7 lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 14, the recitation of “a ground station” in line 2 refers to “a remote ground station” recited in claim 12.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Krone (US 2008/0137784 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Krone teaches a method of measuring amplitude modulated AM RF microwave signal electric fields (a multimode combined AM/FM transceiver 10; FIG. 1; an AM or FM receive mode in which the transceiver 10 functions as a receiver; [0017]) comprising:
capturing electric field data (an incoming RF signal that is received from an external receive antenna 80; [0018]; FIG. 1);
generating an analog voltage proportional to the amplitude of the electric field based on the electric field data (the multimode transceiver 10 provides incoming signals from the receive antenna 80 to a low noise amplifier 82 that may have a gain controlled by an AGC circuit 84; [0023]; FIG. 1; the voltage at the output of LNA 82 is proportional to the amplitude of the incoming RF signal); and
converting the analog voltage to a frequency modulated FM signal for transmission to a remote ground station (FIG. 1; a digital signal processor DSP 20 of the multimode transceiver 10 performs both digital FM modulation and digital AM and FM demodulation for the transceiver 10; [0020]; the DSP 20 performs FM modulation on the content to be transmitted over the FM channel to produce digital FM signals, which are provided to the DACs 32 and 36 to produce corresponding analog orthogonal FM signals, which are in the IF range; [0026]; the transmit antenna 60 is capable of being used for transmission to a remote ground station).
Regarding claim 14, Krone teaches wherein the FM signal is wirelessly transmitted to a ground station (the stereo system 500 includes an RF antenna 504 for purposes of receiving the transmitted content from the wireless device 410; [0053]; FIG. 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krone (US 2008/0137784 A1) in view of Dykema et al. (US 6,091,343).
Regarding claim 1, Krone teaches an electric field probe (a multimode combined AM/FM transceiver 10; FIG. 1) comprising:
a power detector to convert an amplitude of an amplitude modulated, AM, RF microwave signal electric field into an analog voltage, wherein the analog voltage is proportional to the amplitude of the electric field (FIG. 1; an AM or FM receive mode in which the transceiver 10 functions as a receiver; [0017]; an incoming RF signal that is received from an external receive antenna 80; [0018]; the multimode transceiver 10 provides incoming signals from the receive antenna 80 to a low noise amplifier 82 that may have a gain controlled by an AGC circuit 84; [0023]; the voltage at the output of LNA 82 is proportional to the amplitude of the incoming RF signal); and
a signal generator generating a frequency modulated, FM, signal based on the analog voltage, wherein the FM signal encodes the electric filed amplitude information for transmission to a remote ground station (FIG. 1; a digital signal processor DSP 20 of the multimode transceiver 10 performs both digital FM modulation and digital AM and FM demodulation for the transceiver 10; [0020]; the DSP 20 performs FM modulation on the content to be transmitted over the FM channel to produce digital FM signals, which are provided to the DACs 32 and 36 to produce corresponding analog orthogonal FM signals, which are in the IF range; [0026]; the transmit antenna 60 is capable of being used for transmission to a remote ground station).
Further regarding claim 1, Krone does not teach the signal generator uses a voltage-controlled oscillator VCO.
Further regarding claim 1, Dykema et al. teach a signal generator uses a voltage-controlled oscillator VCO (the frequency generated by VCO202 during the transmit mode varies in the same manner as the received FM signal; column 15, lines 41-63; Figs 5-6) for the purpose of generating a frequency based on a received signal.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the signal generator uses a voltage-controlled oscillator VCO, as taught by Dykema et al., into Krone for the purpose of generating a frequency based on a received signal.
Regarding claim 2, Krone teaches a microwave amplifier to amplify the FM signal (programmable gain amplifier between the analog mixers 68 and the transmit antenna 60; FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Krone teaches a receiving antenna to sense the electric field and a transmit antenna to transmit the FM signal (transmit antenna 60 and receive antenna 80; FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Krone does not teach wherein the power detector converts the electric field strength into an analog voltage;
wherein the voltage-controlled oscillator, VCO, that adjusts its output frequency based on the analog voltage; and
an antenna to transmit the frequency modulated, FM, signal corresponding to the electric field.
Further regarding claim 4, Dykema et al. teach wherein the power detector converts the electric field strength into an analog voltage (while the reference signal is generated and supplied to mixer 136, controller 110 samples the RSSI signal supplied on line 153 to A/D converter 112; column 12; lines 16-29; FIG. 5);
wherein the voltage-controlled oscillator, VCO, that adjusts its output frequency based on the analog voltage (to transmit an FM signal, controller 110 selects the required carrier frequency by supplying frequency selection data on line 165 and supplying a frequency band select signal on line 203; column 10, line 62 to column 11, line 14; FIG. 5; the frequency selection data based on the RSSI signal); and
an antenna to transmit the frequency modulated, FM, signal corresponding to the electric field (high-band transmit antenna 240 and low-band transmit antenna; FIG. 5) for the purpose of transmitting an FM RF signal having learned characteristics to a remote device.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate wherein the power detector converts the electric field strength into an analog voltage; wherein the voltage controlled oscillator, VCO, that adjusts its output frequency based on the analog voltage; and an antenna to transmit the frequency modulated, FM, signal corresponding to the electric field, as taught by Dykema et al., into Krone for the purpose of transmitting an FM RF signal having learned characteristics to a remote device.
Regarding claim 5, Krone does not teach a microwave amplifier to amplify the VCO output.
Further regarding claim 5, Dykema et al. teach a microwave amplifier to amplify the VCO output (high-band transmit amplifier 244; FIG. 6).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate a microwave amplifier to amplify the VCO output, as taught by Dykema et al., into Krone for the purpose of amplifying a signal for transmission.
Regarding claim 6, Krone teaches an electric field measurement system (wireless system 400; Figs 1, 6) comprising:
an electric field probe (a multimode combined AM/FM transceiver 10; Figs 1, 6) comprising:
a power detector to convert an amplitude of an amplitude modulated, AM, RF microwave signal electric field into an analog voltage, wherein the analog voltage is proportional to the amplitude of the electric field (FIG. 1; an AM or FM receive mode in which the transceiver 10 functions as a receiver; [0017]; an incoming RF signal that is received from an external receive antenna 80; [0018]; the multimode transceiver 10 provides incoming signals from the receive antenna 80 to a low noise amplifier 82 that may have a gain controlled by an AGC circuit 84; [0023]; the voltage at the output of LNA 82 is proportional to the amplitude of the incoming RF signal);
a first signal generator generating a frequency modulated, FM, signal based on the analog voltage (FIG. 1; a digital signal processor DSP 20 of the multimode transceiver 10 performs both digital FM modulation and digital AM and FM demodulation for the transceiver 10; [0020]; the DSP 20 performs FM modulation on the content to be transmitted over the FM channel to produce digital FM signals, which are provided to the DACs 32 and 36 to produce corresponding analog orthogonal FM signals, which are in the IF range; [0026]; the transmit antenna 60 is capable of being used for transmission to a remote ground station); and
a ground station (stereo system 500; FIG. 6);
wherein the electric field probe transmits an FM signal and the ground station receives the signal (the stereo system 500 includes an RF antenna 504 for purposes of receiving the transmitted content from the wireless device 410; [0053]).
Further regarding claim 6, Krone does not teach the first signal generator uses a first voltage-controlled oscillator VCO.
Further regarding claim 6, Dykema et al. teach a signal generator uses a voltage-controlled oscillator VCO (the frequency generated by VCO 202 during the transmit mode varies in the same manner as the received FM signal; column 15, lines 41-63; Figs 5-6) for the purpose of generating a frequency based on a received signal.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the first signal generator uses a first voltage-controlled oscillator VCO, as taught by Dykema et al., into Krone for the purpose of generating a frequency based on a received signal.
Regarding claim 9, Krone teaches the system is further characterized by its wireless operation, eliminating the need for extensive cabling and associated calibration efforts, thereby reducing setup time and potential for measurement errors due to loose connections (multimedia portable wireless device 410; FIG. 6; inherently, wireless operation would eliminate the need for extensive cabling).
Regarding claim 10, Krone teaches wherein the system can be operated over any distance that the FM signal can be received (the system 400 can be operated over any distance that the stereo system 500 can receive the FM signal from the wireless device 410; FIG. 6).
Claim(s) 7 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krone (US 2008/0137784 A1) as modified by Dykema et al. (US 6,091,343) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2024/0032120 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Krone as modified by Dykema et al. teaches wherein the ground station further comprises an antenna to receive the frequency modulated, FM, signal (the stereo system 500 includes an RF antenna 504 for purposes of receiving the transmitted content from the wireless device 410; [0053]; FIG. 6; Krone).
Further regarding claim 7, Krone as modified by Dykema et al. does not teach wherein the ground station further comprises:
a limiting amplifier to standardize the amplitude of received signals;
a second VCO provides a reference frequency that is identical to the first VCO;
a mixer to derive a signal indicative of electric field changes based on the reference frequency from the second VCO and the standardized amplitude signal from the limiting amplifier; and
a low pass filter to convert said signal back into an amplitude modulated signal that preserves the original signal amplitude pulse parameter information.
Further regarding claim 7, Chen et al. teach a ground station comprises:
an antenna to receive a frequency modulated, FM, signal (the AP-MLD 1005 may include one or more communications antennas; [0091]; FIGs 1A-1G);
a limiting amplifier to standardize the amplitude of received signals (a low-noise amplifier 1406; [0137]; FIG. 1E; the operating range of amplifier 1406 limits its signal levels);
a second VCO provides a reference frequency that is identical to a first VCO (frequency input into synthesizer circuitry 1504 may be provided by a voltage-controlled oscillator; [0150]; FIG. 1F; synthesizing a frequency 1505; [0140]);
a mixer to derive a signal indicative of electric field changes based on the reference frequency from the second VCO and the standardized amplitude signal from the limiting amplifier (the mixer circuitry 1502 may be configured to down-convert RF signals 1407 received from the FEM circuitry 1304a-b based on the synthesized frequency 1505 provided by synthesizer circuitry 1504; [0141]-[0142]; FIG. 1F); and
a low pass filter to convert said signal back into an amplitude modulated signal that preserves the original signal amplitude pulse parameter information (the amplifier circuitry 1506 may be configured to amplify the down-converted signals and the filter circuitry 1508 may include an LPF configured to remove unwanted signals from the down-converted signals to generate output baseband signals 1507; [0141]; FIG. 1F) for the purpose of converting electromagnetic signals into output baseband signals for further data processing.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate
wherein the ground station further comprises:
a limiting amplifier to standardize the amplitude of received signals;
a second VCO provides a reference frequency that is identical to the first VCO;
a mixer to derive a signal indicative of electric field changes based on the reference frequency from the second VCO and the standardized amplitude signal from the limiting amplifier; and
a low pass filter to convert said signal back into an amplitude modulated signal that preserves the original signal amplitude pulse parameter information,
as taught by Chen et al., into Krone as modified by Dykema et al. for the purpose of converting electromagnetic signals into output baseband signals for further data processing.
Regarding claim 11, Krone as modified by Dykema et al. does not teach wherein the ground station output is directly proportional to the amplitude of the electric field measured by the electric field probe, enabling accurate quantification of electric field characteristics including magnitude, pulse width, and pulse repetition frequency.
Further regarding claim 11, Chen et al. teach wherein the ground station output is directly proportional to the amplitude of the electric field measured by the electric field probe, enabling accurate quantification of electric field characteristics including magnitude, pulse width, and pulse repetition frequency (the amplifier circuitry 1506 may be configured to amplify the down-converted signals and the filter circuitry 1508 may include an LPF configured to remove unwanted signals from the down-converted signals to generate output baseband signals 1507; [0141]; FIG. 1F; information contained in the output baseband signals is an accurate representation of the information sent by an external device) for the purpose of accurately communicating information over a wireless network.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate wherein the ground station output is directly proportional to the amplitude of the electric field measured by the electric field probe, enabling accurate quantification of electric field characteristics including magnitude, pulse width, and pulse repetition frequency, as taught by Chen et al., into Krone as modified by Dykema et al. for the purpose of accurately communicating information over a wireless network.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krone (US 2008/0137784 A1) as modified by Dykema et al. (US 6,091,343) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Eriksen et al. (US 2019/0254095 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Krone as modified by Dykema et al. does not teach wherein the electric field probe is of a size not exceeding 2-3 cubic inches, facilitating deployment in dynamic environments including, but not limited to, moving vehicles and airborne platforms.
Further regarding claim 8, Eriksen et al. teach an electric field probe is of a size not exceeding 2-3 cubic inches, facilitating deployment in dynamic environments including, but not limited to, moving vehicles and airborne platforms (embodiments of the invention provide a system and method for wirelessly linking electronic marine components using Sub-1 GHz frequencies for long range, robustness in wet environment and highly resistant to wireless noise; [0013]; typical size for these units is approximately 1 inch by inch by 0.2 inches; [0024]; FIG. 1) for the purpose of wirelessly linking electronic components in a robust environment.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate wherein the electric field probe is of a size not exceeding 2-3 cubic inches, facilitating deployment in dynamic environments including, but not limited to, moving vehicles and airborne platforms, as taught by Eriksen et al., into Krone as modified by Dykema et al. for the purpose of wirelessly linking electronic components in a robust environment.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krone (US 2008/0137784 A1) in view of Chen et al. (US 2024/0032120 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Krone teaches transmitting the FM signal to a ground station (the stereo system 500 includes an RF antenna 504 for purposes of receiving the transmitted content from the wireless device 410; [0053]; FIG. 6).
Further regarding claim 13, Krone does not teach processing the FM signal to produce an output directly proportional to the amplitude of the original electric field while preserving temporal data.
Further regarding claim 13, Chen et al. teach processing a FM signal to produce an output directly proportional to the amplitude of an original electric field while preserving temporal data (the amplifier circuitry 1506 may be configured to amplify the down-converted signals and the filter circuitry 1508 may include an LPF configured to remove unwanted signals from the down-converted signals to generate output baseband signals 1507; [0141]; FIG. 1F; information contained in the output baseband signals is an accurate representation of the information sent by an external device) for the purpose of accurately communicating information over a wireless network.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate processing the FM signal to produce an output directly proportional to the amplitude of the original electric field while preserving temporal data, as taught by Chen et al., into Krone for the purpose of accurately communicating information over a wireless network.
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krone (US 2008/0137784 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Krone teaches using an analog-to-digital converter to determine the electric field data (analog-to-digital converters 24 and 26 of the multimode transceiver 10 perform transformations between the analog and digital domains for both complex and real signals; [0020]; FIG. 1).
Further regarding claim 15, Krone does not teach the analog-to-digital converter applies a calibration curve.
Further regarding claim 15, one of ordinary skill would have applied a formula or curve to transform an analog signal to digital data for the purpose of accurately representing the analog signal for subsequent digital signal processing.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the analog-to-digital converter applies a calibration curve, as taught by one of ordinary skill, into Krone for the purpose of accurately representing the analog signal for subsequent digital signal processing.
Regarding claim 16, Krone teaches wherein an analog to digital converter applies the calibration curve (analog-to-digital converters 24 and 26 of the multimode transceiver 10 perform transformations between the analog and digital domains for both complex and real signals; [0020]; FIG. 1).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krone (US 2008/0137784 A1) in view of Eriksen et al. (US 2019/0254095 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Krone does not teach wherein the method enables effective measurement of electromagnetic interference patterns, including multi-path and electric field anomalies, in a variety of environments by virtue of its portability and dynamic deployment capabilities.
Further regarding claim 17, Eriksen et al. teach the method enables effective measurement of electromagnetic interference patterns, including multi-path and electric field anomalies, in a variety of environments by virtue of its portability and dynamic deployment capabilities (embodiments of the invention provide a system and method for wirelessly linking electronic marine components using Sub-1 GHz frequencies for long range, robustness in wet environment and highly resistant to wireless noise; [0013]; typical size for these units is approximately 1 inch by inch by 0.2 inches; [0024]; FIG. 1) for the purpose of wirelessly linking electronic components in a robust environment.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate wherein the method enables effective measurement of electromagnetic interference patterns, including multi-path and electric field anomalies, in a variety of environments by virtue of its portability and dynamic deployment capabilities, as taught by Eriksen et al., into Krone for the purpose of wirelessly linking electronic components in a robust environment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
17 July 2026
/KENDRICK X LIU/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/DOUGLAS X RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853