DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 6-7 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 4, the recitations of “a power detector” in line 3, “a voltage controlled oscillator” in line 4 and “a frequency modulated (FM) signal” in line 6 refer to previously recited limitations.
Regarding claim 6, the recitation of “the FM signal” in line 4 lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 7, the recitations of “the frequency modulated (FM) signal” in line 2, “the first VCO” in lines 4-5, “the standardized amplitude signal” in line 7, “said signal” in line 9 and “the original signal amplitude pulse parameter information” in line 10 lack antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 14, the recitation of “the ground station” in line 2 lacks antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-10, 12, 14 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2025/0286577 A1) in view of Matsukura et al. (US 4,501,019).
Regarding claim 1, Lee et al. teach an electric field probe (electronic device; Figs 1-5) comprising:
a power detector to convert an amplitude of an electric field into an analog voltage (electromagnetic fields are received at the antenna module 340 and then converted to an analog signal at the output of at least one low noise amplification 333; FIG. 3, the analog signal at the output of the amplification 333 is an analog voltage); and
a voltage controlled oscillator, VCO, generating a signal based on the analog voltage (the electronic device 101 may control the RFIC 320 to reduce coupling between the VCOs based on identifying that the signal output from the received VCO 403 is an abnormal signal; for example, the electronic device 101 may control the RFIC 30 to change the operating frequency of the transmission VCO 401; [0069]; FIG. 4).
Further regarding claim 1, Lee et al. do not teach the signal generated by the VCO is a frequency modulated, FM, signal.
Further regarding claim 1, Matsukura et al. teach a frequency modulated, FM, signal generated by a VCO (a transmitter/receiver 100 incorporating a frequency modulation transmitter; FIG. 1; the output signal of the VCO 1 is applied to operate a transmitter section 33; column 2, lines 12-49) for the purpose of making FM modulation sensitivity uniform.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the signal generated by the VCO is a frequency modulated, FM, signal, as taught by Matsukura et al., into Lee et al. for the purpose of making FM modulation sensitivity uniform.
Regarding claim 2, Lee et al. teach a microwave amplifier to amplify the FM signal (at least one power amplification 331; FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 3, Lee et al. teach a receiving antenna to sense the electric field and a transmit antenna to transmit the FM signal (antenna module 197 may transmit or receive a signal or power to or from the outside; [0042]; Figs 1-3).
Regarding claim 4, Lee et al. teach wherein the electric field probe further comprises:
a power detector to convert electric field strength into an analog voltage (electromagnetic fields are received at the antenna module 340 and then converted to an analog signal at the output of at least one low noise amplification 333; FIG. 3, the analog signal at the output of the amplification 333 is an analog voltage);
a voltage controlled oscillator, VCO, that adjusts its output frequency based on said analog voltage (the electronic device 101 may control the RFIC 320 to reduce coupling between the VCOs based on identifying that the signal output from the received VCO 403 is an abnormal signal; for example, the electronic device 101 may control the RFIC 30 to change the operating frequency of the transmission VCO 401; [0069]; FIG. 4); and
an antenna to transmit the frequency modulated, FM, signal corresponding to the electric field (antenna module 197 may transmit or receive a signal or power to or from the outside; [0042]; Figs 1-3).
Regarding claim 5, Lee et al. teach wherein the electric field probe further comprises a microwave amplifier to amplify the VCO output (at least one power amplification 331; FIG. 3; for example, 700 MHz to 60 GHz frequencies; [0005], [0048], [0052]).
Regarding claim 6, Lee et al. teach an electric field measurement system (an electronic device 101 in a network environment 100; FIG. 1), comprising:
an electric field probe (electronic device; Figs 3-5); and
a ground station (RF signal which is to be transmitted to the outside, e.g. a 5G network base station; [0058]);
wherein the electric field probe transmits a signal and the ground station receives the signal (antenna module 197 may transmit or receive a signal or power to or from the outside; [0042]; Figs 1-3).
Further regarding claim 6, Lee et al. do not teach the transmitted signal is a FM signal.
Further regarding claim 6, Matsukura et al. teach transmitting a FM signal (a transmitter/receiver 100 incorporating a frequency modulation transmitter; FIG. 1; the output signal of the VCO 1 is applied to operate a transmitter section 33; column 2, lines 12-49) for the purpose of making FM modulation sensitivity uniform.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the transmitted signal is a FM signal, as taught by Matsukura et al., into Lee et al. for the purpose of making FM modulation sensitivity uniform.
Regarding claim 8, Lee et al. teach wherein the electric field probe is of a size not exceeding 2-3 cubic inches, facilitating deployment in dynamic environments including, but not limited to, moving vehicles and airborne platforms (when VCO coupling effects are reduced, VCOs can be positioned closer together, thus enabling more efficient use of space in an electronic device and enable further miniaturization; [0126]; the electronic devices may include, for example, a wearable device; [0147]; the size of a device being a design parameter). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to design a wearable device of a size not exceeding 2-3 cubic inches for the purpose of concealability.
Regarding claim 9, Lee et al. teach the system is further characterized by its wireless operation, eliminating the need for extensive cabling and associated calibration efforts, thereby reducing setup time and potential for measurement errors due to loose connections (short-range wireless communication network and long-range wireless communication network; [0024]).
Regarding claim 10, Lee et al. teach wherein the system can be operated over any distance that the FM signal can be received (short-range wireless communication network and long-range wireless communication network; [0024]; the distance of reception being dependent on the type of wireless communication network).
Regarding claim 12, Lee et al. teach a method of measuring electric fields (method of operating electronic devices; Figs 1-5) comprising:
capturing electric field data (antenna module 340 captures electromagnetic fields; FIG. 3);
generating an analog voltage based on the electric field data (electromagnetic fields are received at the antenna module 340 and then converted to an analog signal at the output of at least one low noise amplification 333; FIG. 3, the analog signal at the output of the amplification 333 is an analog voltage); and
converting the analog voltage to a signal (the electronic device 101 may control the RFIC 320 to reduce coupling between the VCOs based on identifying that the signal output from the received VCO 403 is an abnormal signal; for example, the electronic device 101 may control the RFIC 30 to change the operating frequency of the transmission VCO 401; [0069]; FIG. 4).
Further regarding claim 12, Lee et al. do not teach the signal is a frequency modulated, FM, signal.
Further regarding claim 12, Matsukura et al. teach a frequency modulated, FM, signal (a transmitter/receiver 100 incorporating a frequency modulation transmitter; FIG. 1; the output signal of the VCO 1 is applied to operate a transmitter section 33; column 2, lines 12-49) for the purpose of making FM modulation sensitivity uniform.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the signal is a frequency modulated, FM, signal, as taught by Matsukura et al., into Lee et al. for the purpose of making FM modulation sensitivity uniform.
Regarding claim 14, Lee et al. teach wherein the FM signal is wirelessly transmitted to the ground station (short-range wireless communication network and long-range wireless communication network; [0024]; RF signal which is to be transmitted to the outside, e.g. a 5G network base station; [0058]).
Regarding claim 17, Lee et al. teach wherein the method enables effective measurement of electromagnetic interference patterns, including multi-path and electric field anomalies, in a variety of environments by virtue of its portability and dynamic deployment capabilities (when VCO coupling effects are reduced, VCOs can be positioned closer together, thus enabling more efficient use of space in an electronic device and enable further miniaturization; [0126]; the electronic devices may include, for example, a wearable device; [0147]; wearable devices are portable and dynamically deployable).
Claim(s) 7 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2025/0286577 A1) as modified by Matsukura et al. (US 4,501,019) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2024/0032120 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Lee et al. as modified by Matsukura et al. do not teach wherein the ground station further comprises:
an antenna to receive the frequency modulated, FM, signal;
a limiting amplifier to standardize the amplitude of received signals;
a second VCO provides a reference frequency that is identical to the first VCO;
a mixer to derive a signal indicative of electric field changes based on the reference frequency from the second VCO and the standardized amplitude signal from the limiting amplifier; and
a low pass filter to convert said signal back into an amplitude modulated signal that preserves the original signal amplitude pulse parameter information.
Further regarding claim 7, Chen et al. teach a ground station comprises:
an antenna to receive a frequency modulated, FM, signal (the AP-MLD 1005 may include one or more communications antennas; [0091]; Figs 1A-1G);
a limiting amplifier to standardize the amplitude of received signals (a low-noise amplifier 1406; [0137]; FIG. 1E; the operating range of amplifier 1406 limits its signal levels);
a second VCO provides a reference frequency that is identical to a first VCO (frequency input into synthesizer circuitry 1504 may be provided by a voltage-controlled oscillator; [0150]; FIG. 1F; synthesizing a frequency 1505; [0140]);
a mixer to derive a signal indicative of electric field changes based on the reference frequency from the second VCO and the standardized amplitude signal from the limiting amplifier (the mixer circuitry 1502 may be configured to down-convert RF signals 1407 received from the FEM circuitry 1304a-b based on the synthesized frequency 1505 provided by synthesizer circuitry 1504; [0141]-[0142]; FIG. 1F); and
a low pass filter to convert said signal back into an amplitude modulated signal that preserves the original signal amplitude pulse parameter information (the amplifier circuitry 1506 may be configured to amplify the down-converted signals and the filter circuitry 1508 may include an LPF configured to remove unwanted signals from the down-converted signals to generate output baseband signals 1507; [0141]; FIG. 1F) for the purpose of converting electromagnetic signals into output baseband signals for further data processing.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate
wherein the ground station further comprises:
an antenna to receive the frequency modulated, FM, signal;
a limiting amplifier to standardize the amplitude of received signals;
a second VCO provides a reference frequency that is identical to the first VCO;
a mixer to derive a signal indicative of electric field changes based on the reference frequency from the second VCO and the standardized amplitude signal from the limiting amplifier; and
a low pass filter to convert said signal back into an amplitude modulated signal that preserves the original signal amplitude pulse parameter information,
as taught by Chen et al., into Lee et al. as modified by Matsukura et al. for the purpose of converting electromagnetic signals into output baseband signals for further data processing.
Regarding claim 11, Lee et al. as modified by Matsukura et al. do not teach wherein the ground station output is directly proportional to the amplitude of the electric field measured by the electric field probe, enabling accurate quantification of electric field characteristics including magnitude, pulse width, and pulse repetition frequency.
Further regarding claim 11, Chen et al. teach wherein the ground station output is directly proportional to the amplitude of the electric field measured by the electric field probe, enabling accurate quantification of electric field characteristics including magnitude, pulse width, and pulse repetition frequency (the amplifier circuitry 1506 may be configured to amplify the down-converted signals and the filter circuitry 1508 may include an LPF configured to remove unwanted signals from the down-converted signals to generate output baseband signals 1507; [0141]; FIG. 1F; information contained in the output baseband signals is an accurate representation of the information sent by an external device) for the purpose of accurately communicating information over a wireless network.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate wherein the ground station output is directly proportional to the amplitude of the electric field measured by the electric field probe, enabling accurate quantification of electric field characteristics including magnitude, pulse width, and pulse repetition frequency, as taught by Chen et al., into Lee et al. as modified by Matsukura et al. for the purpose of accurately communicating information over a wireless network.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2025/0286577 A1) as modified by Matsukura et al. (US 4,501,019) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2024/0032120 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Lee et al. further teach transmitting the FM signal to a ground station (RF signal which is to be transmitted to the outside, e.g. a 5G network base station; [0058]).
Further regarding claim 13, Lee et al. as modified by Matsukura et al. do not teach processing the FM signal to produce an output directly proportional to the amplitude of the original electric field while preserving temporal data.
Further regarding claim 13, Chen et al. teach processing a FM signal to produce an output directly proportional to the amplitude of an original electric field while preserving temporal data (the amplifier circuitry 1506 may be configured to amplify the down-converted signals and the filter circuitry 1508 may include an LPF configured to remove unwanted signals from the down-converted signals to generate output baseband signals 1507; [0141]; FIG. 1F; information contained in the output baseband signals is an accurate representation of the information sent by an external device) for the purpose of accurately communicating information over a wireless network.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate processing the FM signal to produce an output directly proportional to the amplitude of the original electric field while preserving temporal data, as taught by Chen et al., into Lee et al. as modified by Matsukura et al. for the purpose of accurately communicating information over a wireless network.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2025/0286577 A1) as modified by Matsukura et al. (US 4,501,019) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Lux et al. (US 2015/0208945 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Lee et al. as modified by Matsukura et al. do not teach applying a calibration curve to determine the electric field data.
Further regarding claim 15, Lux et al. teach applying a calibration curve to determine the electric field data (the microcontroller unit can be configured to calibrate and initialize various parameters; [0083]; FIG. 11; the voltage calibration data; [0130]-[0131]; FIG. 18; Tables 2-3) for the purpose of synchronizing information conversion between separate systems having differences in parameters.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate applying a calibration curve to determine the electric field data, as taught by Lux et al., into Lee et al. as modified by Matsukura et al. for the purpose of synchronizing information conversion between separate systems having differences in parameters.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The primary reason for indicating allowable subject matter of claim(s) 16 is the inclusion of “wherein an analog to digital converter applies the calibration curve”. These limitations, as they are claimed in the combination, have not been found, taught or suggested by the prior art of record, making claim(s) 16 allowable over the prior art.
Conclusion
6 February 2026
/KENDRICK X LIU/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/DOUGLAS X RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853