DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Specification
The following guidelines illustrate the preferred layout for the specification of a utility application. These guidelines are suggested for the applicant’s use.
Arrangement of the Specification
As provided in 37 CFR 1.77(b), the specification of a utility application should include the following sections in order. Each of the lettered items should appear in upper case, without underlining or bold type, as a section heading. If no text follows the section heading, the phrase “Not Applicable” should follow the section heading:
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT.
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM.
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION.
(1) Field of the Invention.
(2) Description of Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98.
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S).
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS (commencing on a separate sheet).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE (commencing on a separate sheet).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING. (See MPEP § 2422.03 and 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825). A “Sequence Listing” is required on paper if the application discloses a nucleotide or amino acid sequence as defined in 37 CFR 1.821(a) and if the required “Sequence Listing” is not submitted as an electronic document either on read-only optical disc or as a text file via the patent electronic system.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract filed on 03/29/24 in not on a separate sheet (it includes the title). A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 14 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1 and 14 appears to include typographical error. Specifically, “and” is missing from just before the last claim limitation of claims 1 and 14.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 18 and 19 should depend from claim 17 instead of depending (currently) from claim 16 because the limitation of claims 18 and 19 are derived from limitations of claim 17.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0007605 A1 to Choe et al. in view of U.S. Pub. No. 20210034724 A1 to Fong et al.
As to claim 1, Choe teaches a device, comprising:
a processor system (Processor 30);
a first sensor of a first sensor type (Camera Resource 16);
a second sensor of a second sensor type, the second sensor type being different from the first sensor type (Camera Resource sub m 16); and
storage accessible (Memory 32) to the processor system and comprising instructions executable by the processor system to:
identify one or more sensors that are available to provide sensor input to the processor system (Camera Resource sub m 16) (“…Referring now to FIG. 1, an example computer device 102 that may use one or more camera resources 16 to capture a scene and/or perform video processing may include a plurality of applications 10 (e.g., up to n applications, where n is a positive number) executed or processed by processor 30 and/or memory 32 of computer device 102. Applications 10 may use one or more camera resources 16 to capture a scene and/or perform video processing. For example, computer device 102 may have one or more camera resources 16 (e.g., up tom camera resources 16, where m is a positive number) that application(s) 10 may use. In addition, one or more camera resources 16 may be in communication with computer device 102 via a wired or wireless connection 104. Camera resources 16 in communication with computer device 102 may include, but are not limited to, virtual cameras, cameras connected via a Universal Serial Bus (USB), and a webcam. Each camera resource 16 may be associated with a camera resource identification (ID) 18 that identifies a specific camera resource 16…For example, one application may control a portion of the camera resource 16 (e.g., an infrared (IR) sensor), while sharing other portions of the camera resource 16 (e.g., a color sensor) with other applications. In an example use case, a first application (e.g., the Windows Hello application) may control the IR sensor and color sensor of the camera resource 16 (e.g., Windows Hello set the controls on the camera resource 16). A second application (e.g., the Skype application) may try to initiate a video call while Windows Hello has control of the color sensor and is operating the RGB camera at a lower resolution. While Skype prefers to have a higher resolution, Skype may initiate the video call at the lower resolution that is available for sharing instead of not initiating the call…” paragraphs 0019/0021);
identify a sensor data request from an application (app) (Applications 10) executable by the processor system (Camera Resource Request 22) (“…Operating system 110 may include a frame server 20 operable to manage one or more camera resources 16 operating on and/or in communication with computer device 102. Frame server 20 may receive one or more camera resource requests 22 from applications 10 to use at least one camera resource 16. The camera resource request 22 may include a camera resource ID 18 corresponding to a requested camera resource 16 and an application ID 12 of an application 10 requesting use of the camera resource 16. Frame server 20 may coordinate access to the one or more camera resources 16 associated with computer device 102…Frame server 20 may include a camera resource access controller 23 that grants and/or denies access to the camera resource 16 identified in the camera resource requests 22. For example, the camera resource access controller 23 may check a camera resource log 28 for a current state 26 of the camera resource 16 to determine whether the camera resource 16 is available for use. The camera resource log 28 may include any record that can record information to indicate a state of use of the camera resource 16. If the camera resource 16 is unavailable for use, the frame server 20 may provide an access request response 21 to application 10, which in this case includes a denial of the camera resource request 22 and may notify the application 10 that that camera resource 16 is unavailable for use. When the camera resource 16 is unavailable for use, the application 10 may wait to access to the camera resource 16 and/or select a different camera resource 16 to use. For example, the camera resource 16 may be unavailable for use when an application 10 is using the camera resource 16 in a control mode. In addition, the camera resource 16 may be unavailable for use if another application 10 is using the camera resource 16 and the camera resource may be unable to facilitate a shared mode of access…” paragraphs 0023/0024); and
dynamically select (Frame Server 20), based on the one or more sensors that are available and based on the sensor data request, the first sensor over the second sensor as a selected sensor from which to source first data for meeting the sensor data request (The camera resource request 22 may include a camera resource ID 18 corresponding to a requested camera resource 16) (“…Operating system 110 may include a frame server 20 operable to manage one or more camera resources 16 operating on and/or in communication with computer device 102. Frame server 20 may receive one or more camera resource requests 22 from applications 10 to use at least one camera resource 16. The camera resource request 22 may include a camera resource ID 18 corresponding to a requested camera resource 16 and an application ID 12 of an application 10 requesting use of the camera resource 16. Frame server 20 may coordinate access to the one or more camera resources 16 associated with computer device 102…Frame server 20 may include a camera resource access controller 23 that grants and/or denies access to the camera resource 16 identified in the camera resource requests 22. For example, the camera resource access controller 23 may check a camera resource log 28 for a current state 26 of the camera resource 16 to determine whether the camera resource 16 is available for use. The camera resource log 28 may include any record that can record information to indicate a state of use of the camera resource 16. If the camera resource 16 is unavailable for use, the frame server 20 may provide an access request response 21 to application 10, which in this case includes a denial of the camera resource request 22 and may notify the application 10 that that camera resource 16 is unavailable for use. When the camera resource 16 is unavailable for use, the application 10 may wait to access to the camera resource 16 and/or select a different camera resource 16 to use. For example, the camera resource 16 may be unavailable for use when an application 10 is using the camera resource 16 in a control mode. In addition, the camera resource 16 may be unavailable for use if another application 10 is using the camera resource 16 and the camera resource may be unable to facilitate a shared mode of access…If the camera resource 16 is available for use, the frame server 20 may provide an access request response 21 to application 10, which in this case includes a grant of camera resource request 22. In addition, frame server 20 may communicate the grant of access 27 to the camera resource 16 to one or more activity monitors 24, 25 when facilitating the access to the camera resource 16. The camera resource 16 may be available for use when other applications 10 are not using the camera resource 16. In addition, the camera resource 16 may be available for use when in a shared mode of access where multiple applications 10 may use the camera resource 16 at the same time…” paragraphs 0023-0025).
Choe is silent with reference to provide second data to the app and also represent to the app that the second data is sourced from the second sensor, the second data being generated based on the first data.
Fong teaches provide second data to the app (obscured sensor data) and also represent to the app that the second data is sourced from the second sensor, the second data being generated based on the first data (sensor data) (“…In some embodiments, when executed by the controller 220, the masking engine 227 obscures the sensor data collected by the sensors 230 and provide obscured sensor data for user privacy protection…In some embodiments, as shown in FIGS. 3A and 3B, the active case 120 allows collection of data by the sensors 118. However, the active case 120 controls the sensor path, such the sensor data obtained by the sensors 118 are obtained by the active case 120, e.g., via the communication devices 114 of the user equipment 110 and the communication devices 240 of the active case 120. In some embodiments, upon obtaining the sensor data, the masking engine 227 of the active case 120 obscures the sensor data and generates obscured sensor data. In some embodiments, the obscured sensor data are generated by removing biometric markers in the sensor data. The obscured sensor data are then sent to the user equipment 110, e.g., via the communication devices 240 of the active case 120 and the communication devices 114 of the user equipment 110…” paragraphs 0030/0045/0046).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Choe with the teaching of Fong because the teaching of Fong would improve the system of Choe by providing a technique for obscuring information transmitted from a source to a target such that personal devices are protected from malicious actors.
As to claim 3, Choe teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein the dynamic selection is based on one or more persistent system policies (Camera Resource Log 28) (“…Frame server 20 may include a camera resource access controller 23 that grants and/or denies access to the camera resource 16 identified in the camera resource requests 22. For example, the camera resource access controller 23 may check a camera resource log 28 for a current state 26 of the camera resource 16 to determine whether the camera resource 16 is available for use. The camera resource log 28 may include any record that can record information to indicate a state of use of the camera resource 16. If the camera resource 16 is unavailable for use, the frame server 20 may provide an access request response 21 to application 10, which in this case includes a denial of the camera resource request 22 and may notify the application 10 that that camera resource 16 is unavailable for use. When the camera resource 16 is unavailable for use, the application 10 may wait to access to the camera resource 16 and/or select a different camera resource 16 to use. For example, the camera resource 16 may be unavailable for use when an application 10 is using the camera resource 16 in a control mode. In addition, the camera resource 16 may be unavailable for use if another application 10 is using the camera resource 16 and the camera resource may be unable to facilitate a shared mode of access…” paragraph 0024).
As to claims 14 and 20, see the rejection of claim 1 above, expect for computer readable storage medium (CRSM).
Choe teaches computer readable storage medium (CRSM) (Memory 32).
Claims 2 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0007605 A1 to Choe et al. in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0034724 A1 to Fong et al. as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0048360 A1 to Dubois et al.
As to claim 2, Choe as modified by Fong teaches the device of Claim 1, represent to the app that the cooked data is sourced from the second sensor (obscured sensor data) (“…In some embodiments, when executed by the controller 220, the masking engine 227 obscures the sensor data collected by the sensors 230 and provide obscured sensor data for user privacy protection…In some embodiments, as shown in FIGS. 3A and 3B, the active case 120 allows collection of data by the sensors 118. However, the active case 120 controls the sensor path, such the sensor data obtained by the sensors 118 are obtained by the active case 120, e.g., via the communication devices 114 of the user equipment 110 and the communication devices 240 of the active case 120. In some embodiments, upon obtaining the sensor data, the masking engine 227 of the active case 120 obscures the sensor data and generates obscured sensor data. In some embodiments, the obscured sensor data are generated by removing biometric markers in the sensor data. The obscured sensor data are then sent to the user equipment 110, e.g., via the communication devices 240 of the active case 120 and the communication devices 114 of the user equipment 110…” paragraphs 0030/0045/0046).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Choe with the teaching of Fong because the teaching of Fong would improve the system of Choe by providing a technique for obscuring information transmitted from a source to a target such that personal devices are protected from malicious actors.
Dubois teaches wherein the instructions are executable to: receive the first data from the first sensor, the first data being uncooked data; based on the dynamic selection, execute a shim to cook the uncooked data from the first sensor into cooked data (converting data into universal formats), the second data being the cooked data (Sensor Platform 101/Controller 201); and provide the cooked data to the app (Applications 105a-105n) (“…In certain embodiments, vertical integration is functionally combining different components at various levels or forms of data acquisition under a centralized ecosystem created by sensor platform 101. Vertical integration provides seamless interaction between otherwise incompatible units. In one embodiment, vertical integration in system 100 involves the sensor platform 101 building unique capability to integrate sensor device 103 with applications 105a-105n via universal data formatting and device discovery. In other words, sensor device 103 are endpoints with embedded intelligence allowing the sensor device 103 to provide data to the sensor platform 101; and the sensor platform 101, in turn, contains intelligence specific to permitting applications 105a-105n to use data from the sensor platform 101. Sensor platform 101 is thus a central service relative to a collection of sensor devices that provides the means of building communications intelligence between sensor device 103, or direct sensors, and applications 105a-105n, all existing within a particular ecosystem. In one embodiment, the intelligence includes converting data into universal formats, for example, converting data obtained from sensor device 103a-103n into a universal format, then interfacing with applications 105a-105n that use data in the universal format. In one embodiment, sensor platform 101 may be implemented as part of a cloud service…In step 607, the sensor platform 101 and controller 201 may convert one of more of the corresponding data formats to a common format that can be utilized by multiple applications…” paragraphs 0024/0058/0059/0064).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Choe and Fong with the teaching of Dubois because the teaching of Dubois would improve the system of Choe and Fong by providing a technique for converting sensor data into a format that required or needed by the requesting applications.
As to claim 15, see the rejection of claim 2 above.
Claims 4, 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0007605 A1 to Choe et al. in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0034724 A1 to Fong et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0127300 to Bluming et al.
As to claim 4, Choe as modified by Fong teaches the device of Claim 3, however it is silent with reference to wherein the dynamic selection is also based on one or more transient system states.
Bluming teaches wherein the dynamic selection is also based on one or more transient system states (low power mode/power controller) (“…Step 802 receives sensor data indicating sensor input to a sensor. The sensor hub 120, for instance, receives sensor data from a sensor system 110 indicating that sensor input is provided to a sensor 112 of the sensor system 110. In at least some implementations, the sensor data is received while a system is in a low power mode, e.g., while a CPU and/or GPU are powered off or hibernated…If the sensor policy indicates that a wake event to be generated ("Yes"), step 808 generates a wake event. The sensor hub 120, for instance, generates a wake notification that indicates that a system is to transition to a normal operating mode. Step 810 communicates the wake event to a system functionality. For example, the sensor hub 120 transmits the wake event to a power controller such that a CPU and/or other functionality is transitioned from an inactive state to an active state…” paragraphs 0098/0101).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Choe and Fong with the teaching of Bluming because the teaching of Bluming would improve the system of Choe and Fong by providing a technique for converting sensor data into a format that required or needed by the requesting applications.
As to claim 5, Choe as modified by Fong teaches the device of Claim 4, however it is silent with reference to wherein the one or more transient system states comprise a current power state of the device.
Bluming teaches wherein the one or more transient system states comprise a current power state of the device (low power mode/power controller) (“…Step 802 receives sensor data indicating sensor input to a sensor. The sensor hub 120, for instance, receives sensor data from a sensor system 110 indicating that sensor input is provided to a sensor 112 of the sensor system 110. In at least some implementations, the sensor data is received while a system is in a low power mode, e.g., while a CPU and/or GPU are powered off or hibernated…If the sensor policy indicates that a wake event to be generated ("Yes"), step 808 generates a wake event. The sensor hub 120, for instance, generates a wake notification that indicates that a system is to transition to a normal operating mode. Step 810 communicates the wake event to a system functionality. For example, the sensor hub 120 transmits the wake event to a power controller such that a CPU and/or other functionality is transitioned from an inactive state to an active state…” paragraphs 0098/0101).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Choe and Fong with the teaching of Bluming because the teaching of Bluming would improve the system of Choe and Fong by providing a technique for converting sensor data into a format that required or needed by the requesting applications.
As to claim 7, Choe as modified by Fong teaches the device of Claim 4, however it is silent with reference to wherein the dynamic selection is also based on one or more user preferences accessible to the device.
wherein the dynamic selection is also based on one or more user preferences accessible to the device (the sensor policies can be defined in response to user input of specific policy parameters. Alternatively or additionally, sensor policies may be defined based on parameters that are inferred, such as from user preferences) (“…Step 700 defines sensor policies. The sensor policies, for instance, are defined based on different contexts and for different types, instances, and combinations of sensors. In at least some embodiments, the sensor policies can be defined in response to user input of specific policy parameters. Alternatively or additionally, sensor policies may be defined based on parameters that are inferred, such as from user preferences, system behaviors, environment attributes, and so forth. While sensor policies may be sensor specific, sensor policies may alternatively or additionally be based on general policies that also apply to systems and behaviors outside of sensor-based considerations…” paragraph 0091).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Choe and Fong with the teaching of Bluming because the teaching of Bluming would improve the system of Choe and Fong by providing a technique for allowing users to define or set the configuration for selecting sensor devices for receiving sensor data.
Claims 6 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 20190007605 A1 to Choe et al. in view of U.S. Pub. No. 20210034724 A1 to Fong et al. and further in view of U.S. Pub. No. 20150127300 to Bluming et al. as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of K.R. No. 20170053702 A to Hendri et al.
As to clam 6, Choe as modified by Fong and Bluming teaches the device of Claim 4, however it is silent with reference to wherein the one or more transient system states comprise a current usage of one or more processors in the processor system.
Hendri teaches wherein the one or more transient system states comprise a current usage of one or more processors in the processor system (“…Prioritizing the calorie consumption impact accuracy means that the program wants an accurate indication of the calorie number consumed by the user of the computing device over a period of time. Prioritizing the latency of data sensing means that the program wants to receive sensor data quickly. Prioritizing the power impact of the sensing system means that the program wants the sensor data to be reduced or a small amount of power to be consumed by the sensors. Prioritizing the central processing unit (CPU) usage of the sensing system means that the program wants the sensor data to be reduced or a small amount of CPU processing power used…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Choe, Fong and Bluming with the teaching of Hendri because the teaching of Hendri would improve the system of Choe, Fong and Bluming by providing a technique for monitoring processor usage to allow for optimal resource utilization.
As to claim 9, Choe as modified by Fong and Bluming teaches the device of Claim 4, however it is silent with reference to wherein the dynamic selection is based on:
computing resource metrics expected based on operation of the first sensor to meet the sensor data request, and
computing resource metrics expected based on operation of the second sensor to meet the sensor data request.
Hendri teaches wherein the dynamic selection is based on:
computing resource metrics expected based on operation of the first sensor to meet the sensor data request (sensor characteristics), and
computing resource metrics expected based on operation of the second sensor to meet the sensor data request (sensor characteristics) (“…Various different sensor characteristics may be prioritized, such as heading accuracy, turnaround accuracy, spatial distance accuracy, calorie consumption impact accuracy, data sensing latency, power impact of the sensing system, and central processing unit (CPU) usage of the sensing system . Any one or more of these sensor properties may be prioritized. However, it should be noted that these sensor characteristics are examples of sensor characteristics that can be prioritized, and that other sensor characteristics may additionally or alternatively be prioritized. Prioritization of sensor properties refers to the desirability of an accurate value for the sensor characteristics, or the operation of one or more sensors in a manner that conforms to or complies with a particular sensor characteristics…Alternatively, or in addition to the methods described above, any one or a combination of the following is utilized: the plurality of sensors include an accelerometer, a magnetometer, and a gyroscope, Wherein the one or more sensor characteristics include one or more sensor characteristics selected from the group comprising forward direction accuracy, turnover accuracy, and power efficiency, wherein the identifying comprises: Wherein the plurality of sensors comprise at least two sensors selected from the group comprising an accelerometer, a magnetometer, a gyroscope, a pedometer, a barometer, an optical sensor, and a thermometer, Sensor characteristics include directional accuracy, turnover accuracy, power efficiency, Wherein the method is implemented in an operating system of a computing device and the program is implemented in a computer system that includes at least one sensor characteristic selected from the group consisting of sensors supported by a computing device and at least one sensor characteristic selected from the group consisting of accuracy, calorie consumption impact accuracy, data sensing latency, Without having dictionary or run-time knowledge, the step of identifying further comprises determining a combination of the highest-rated sensor and an alternative combination of sensors to be identified in response to the computing device not supporting for the highest-rated sensor combination , The one or more sensors include sensors disposed on another device separate from the computing device…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Choe, Fong and Bluming with the teaching of Hendri because the teaching of Hendri would improve the system of Choe, Fong and Bluming by providing a technique for monitoring resource performance to allow for optimal resource utilization.
As to claim 10, Choe as modified by Fong and Bluming teaches the device of Claim 9, however it is silent with reference to wherein the computing resource metrics relate to expected power to be consumed by each of the first sensor and the second sensor to meet the sensor data request.
Hendri teaches wherein the computing resource metrics relate to expected power to be consumed by each of the first sensor and the second sensor to meet the sensor data request (Prioritization of sensor properties refers to the desirability of an accurate value for the sensor characteristics, or the operation of one or more sensors in a manner that conforms to or complies with a particular sensor characteristics) (“…Various different sensor characteristics may be prioritized, such as heading accuracy, turnaround accuracy, spatial distance accuracy, calorie consumption impact accuracy, data sensing latency, power impact of the sensing system, and central processing unit (CPU) usage of the sensing system . Any one or more of these sensor properties may be prioritized. However, it should be noted that these sensor characteristics are examples of sensor characteristics that can be prioritized, and that other sensor characteristics may additionally or alternatively be prioritized. Prioritization of sensor properties refers to the desirability of an accurate value for the sensor characteristics, or the operation of one or more sensors in a manner that conforms to or complies with a particular sensor characteristics…Alternatively, or in addition to the methods described above, any one or a combination of the following is utilized: the plurality of sensors include an accelerometer, a magnetometer, and a gyroscope, Wherein the one or more sensor characteristics include one or more sensor characteristics selected from the group comprising forward direction accuracy, turnover accuracy, and power efficiency, wherein the identifying comprises: Wherein the plurality of sensors comprise at least two sensors selected from the group comprising an accelerometer, a magnetometer, a gyroscope, a pedometer, a barometer, an optical sensor, and a thermometer, Sensor characteristics include directional accuracy, turnover accuracy, power efficiency, Wherein the method is implemented in an operating system of a computing device and the program is implemented in a computer system that includes at least one sensor characteristic selected from the group consisting of sensors supported by a computing device and at least one sensor characteristic selected from the group consisting of accuracy, calorie consumption impact accuracy, data sensing latency, Without having dictionary or run-time knowledge, the step of identifying further comprises determining a combination of the highest-rated sensor and an alternative combination of sensors to be identified in response to the computing device not supporting for the highest-rated sensor combination , The one or more sensors include sensors disposed on another device separate from the computing device…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Choe, Fong and Bluming with the teaching of Hendri because the teaching of Hendri would improve the system of Choe, Fong and Bluming by providing a technique for monitoring resource performance to allow for optimal resource utilization.
As to claim 11, Choe as modified by Fong and Bluming teaches the device of Claim 9, however it is silent with reference to wherein the computing resource metrics relate to expected processor resources to be consumed by each of the first sensor and the second sensor to meet the sensor data request.
Hendri teaches wherein the computing resource metrics relate to expected processor resources to be consumed by each of the first sensor and the second sensor to meet the sensor data request (central processing unit (CPU) usage of the sensing system) (“…Various different sensor characteristics may be prioritized, such as heading accuracy, turnaround accuracy, spatial distance accuracy, calorie consumption impact accuracy, data sensing latency, power impact of the sensing system, and central processing unit (CPU) usage of the sensing system. Any one or more of these sensor properties may be prioritized. However, it should be noted that these sensor characteristics are examples of sensor characteristics that can be prioritized, and that other sensor characteristics may additionally or alternatively be prioritized. Prioritization of sensor properties refers to the desirability of an accurate value for the sensor characteristics, or the operation of one or more sensors in a manner that conforms to or complies with a particular sensor characteristics…Alternatively, or in addition to the methods described above, any one or a combination of the following is utilized: the plurality of sensors include an accelerometer, a magnetometer, and a gyroscope, Wherein the one or more sensor characteristics include one or more sensor characteristics selected from the group comprising forward direction accuracy, turnover accuracy, and power efficiency, wherein the identifying comprises: Wherein the plurality of sensors comprise at least two sensors selected from the group comprising an accelerometer, a magnetometer, a gyroscope, a pedometer, a barometer, an optical sensor, and a thermometer, Sensor characteristics include directional accuracy, turnover accuracy, power efficiency, Wherein the method is implemented in an operating system of a computing device and the program is implemented in a computer system that includes at least one sensor characteristic selected from the group consisting of sensors supported by a computing device and at least one sensor characteristic selected from the group consisting of accuracy, calorie consumption impact accuracy, data sensing latency, Without having dictionary or run-time knowledge, the step of identifying further comprises determining a combination of the highest-rated sensor and an alternative combination of sensors to be identified in response to the computing device not supporting for the highest-rated sensor combination , The one or more sensors include sensors disposed on another device separate from the computing device…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Choe, Fong and Bluming with the teaching of Hendri because the teaching of Hendri would improve the system of Choe, Fong and Bluming by providing a technique for monitoring resource performance to allow for optimal resource utilization.
As to claim 12, Choe as modified by Fong and Bluming and Hendri teaches the device of Claim 9, however it is silent with reference to wherein the computing resource metrics relate to data time-to-delivery using each of the first sensor and the second sensor to meet the sensor data request.
Hendri teaches wherein the computing resource metrics relate to data time-to-delivery using each of the first sensor and the second sensor to meet the sensor data request (latency) (“…Automatic sensor selection based on the requested sensor characteristics is discussed herein. The computing device may include or receive data from one or more sensors. Each sensor provides data (e.g., the location or orientation of a computing device) about the environment in which the computing device is located, or the manner in which the computing device is located or is present in such an environment. These sensors have a variety of different characteristics such as power consumption (the amount of power the sensor uses to acquire the data), latency (the time it takes to provide data after the sensor is activated), accuracy (the accuracy of the data provided by the sensor)…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Choe, Fong and Bluming with the teaching of Hendri because the teaching of Hendri would improve the system of Choe, Fong and Bluming by providing a technique for monitoring resource performance to allow for optimal resource utilization.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0007605 A1 to Choe et al. in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0034724 A1 to Fong et al. and further in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0127300 to Bluming et al. as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0013957 A1 to Aster et al.
As to claim 8, Choe as modified by Fong and Bluming teaches the device of Claim 7, however it is silent with reference to wherein the user preferences are overridable by the one or more persistent system policies and/or the one or more transient system states.
Aster teaches wherein the user preferences are overridable by the one or more persistent system policies and/or the one or more transient system states (the user may have adjusted a default setting) (“…In various implementations, the environmental information may inform sensor device 120 why the user may have adjusted a default setting. For example, sensor device 120 may determine that the user turned up the light and that this user change corresponds with the time being in the evening (e.g., 7:00 p.m.), around dusk (e.g., getting dark), and during spring. If the user changes the default setting multiple times when the environment information has not changed, sensor device 120 will learn the user preferences in the context of the environmental information. This correspondence may be indicative as to why the user adjusted the default setting (e.g., because the environment naturally become darker). As described in more detail herein, sensor device 120 may automatically adjust the default setting based on these factors. For example, during a different time of year (e.g., winter) when it gets dark earlier in the evening, sensor device 120 may automatically adjust the default setting accordingly…In some implementations, the setting adjustment policy may be based on differences between the at least one default setting and a quantifiable user change. For example, the setting adjustment policy may automatically adjust the default setting proportionally to the amount of the user change. For example, if the user changes a light setting to 80% of the maximum, the sensor device may automatically adjust the default setting based on an 80% of maximum or other proportional value…” paragraphs 0033/0034).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Choe, Fong and Bluming with the teaching of Hendri because the teaching of Hendri would improve the system of Choe, Fong and Bluming by providing a technique that allows for default override to provide flexibility in setting or modifying configurations.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0007605 A1 to Choe et al. in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0034724 A1 to Fong et al. and further in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0048360 A1 to Dubois et al. as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of J.P.O. No. 4943079 B2 to Shibata et al.
As to claim 16, Choe as modified by Fong and Dubois teaches the method of Claim 15, however it is silent with reference to based on one or more criteria for the selection, selecting one of a first processor and a second processor to cook the uncooked data, the first and second processors being processors of different processor types.
Shibata teaches based on one or more criteria for the selection, selecting one of a first processor and a second processor to cook (converts sensor data) the uncooked data (sensor data), the first and second processors being processors of different processor types (sensor Data Meaning Processing Unit 102/Semantic Information Secondary Processing Unit 104) (“…The server device 10 includes a sensor raw data extraction unit 101, a sensor data meaning processing unit 102 that assigns meanings corresponding to objects to the sensor raw data, and meaning information that manages the meaning information associated with the objects. A management unit 103 and a semantic information secondary processing unit 104 for processing the meaning information into more significant information and managing the contents are provided…In addition, the above problem is achieved by a sensor information notification system including a sensor information conversion device that converts sensor data received from a sensor into information for providing to a user, and a monitoring device for notifying the user of the information. a sensor information notification method executed, the sensor information conversion apparatus, the first corresponding to store the type of sensor data meaning processor in association with the combination of the type and classification of the target object in the sensors of the sensor A second correspondence storing the type of the semantic information secondary processing unit in association with a set of the table and the type of the state of the measurement target determined by the sensor data meaning processing unit and the type of the measurement target of the sensor and a table, the sensor information converting apparatus receives the registration information including the type of the condition and type of the measurement target of the type and the sensors of the sensor step , The sensor information conversion apparatus, based on said registration information, a type of meaning processing unit corresponding to the combination of the type of the measurement target type and the sensors of the sensor, stored in the first correspondence table select from the type of the plurality of sensor data meaning processor, generates a sensor data meaning processor of the type by starting a program corresponding to the sensor data meaning processor of the selected type, of the state From the types of the plurality of semantic information secondary processing units stored in the second correspondence table , the type of the semantic information secondary processing unit corresponding to the combination of the type and the type of the measurement target of the sensor. selected, selected raw for generating meaning information secondary processing unit of the type by starting a program corresponding to the meaning information secondary processing unit of the selected type A step, the sensor information converting apparatus, by the selection the sensor data meaning processor generated in the generation step, the sensor data received from the sensor of the type according to the registration, the measurement target of the type according to the registration The state information is determined from the state information by the step of converting the state information representing the corresponding state, and the sensor information conversion device is selected by the semantic information secondary processing unit selected in the selection generation step. The information indicating the event corresponding to the registered user is acquired from the sensor information conversion device, and is specified in advance by the registered user. Information indicating the event corresponding to the registered user is registered as the registered user. It is also solved by a sensor information notification method characterized by comprising the step of notifying the user…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Choe, Fong and Dubois with the teaching of Shibata because the teaching of Shibata would improve the system of Choe, Fong and Dubois by providing a backup technique for generating and providing sensor data to a user.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13 and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The closest prior art of records, (U.S. Pub. No. 20190007605 A1 to Choe et al., U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0034724 A1 to Fong et al. and K.R. No. 20170053702 A to Hendri et al.), taken alone or in combination do not specifically disclose or suggest the claimed recitations (claims 13 and 16-19), when taken in the context of claims as a whole.
Conclusion
U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0093897 A1 to Fan et al. and directed to a system and method for managing a camera network.
U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0349443 A1 to Bender et al. and directed to a method that comprises one or more of receiving user requirements for a user device of an Internet of Things (IoT) network.
U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0324773 A1 to Zhang et al. and directed to a computing device for communication between an application executing at an application level of the computing device and a remote sensor located on a remote computing device.
U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0271488 A1 to Tanutama et al. and directed to a method, apparatus and computer program product for providing sensor data collection and sensor configuration including receiving and providing sensor output data.
U.S. Pat. No. 9,692,611 B1 issued to Tom et al. and directed to context-based sensor selection.
/CHARLES E ANYA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2194