DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 06/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argued BAN does not disclose or suggest "causing the display to display a setting screen associated with the identification information, the setting screen presenting a setting operation to set the target product".
The Examiner respectfully submits that the limitations “setting screen” and “a setting operation to set the target product” are broad, BAN’s print setting screen with a print setting operation to allow the user to set the printer (the target product) to print according to the user set settings, clearly reads on the argued limitations.
Applicant argued BAN does not store the obtained model information from download server 102 in a memory of the terminal device before installation of the application program.
The Examiner respectfully submits that Applicant’s argument is not in line with the claimed limitation, the claim does not clearly mention storing the obtained identification information in the memory or retrieving the stored identification information from the memory before installation of the application program.
Applicant argued paragraph [0038] of BAN does not disclose that, after the setting program is started, identification information already stored in the terminal device memory is provided to the setting program. Rather, BAN's processes depend on the download server 102 obtained and transmitting model information to the PC 101. Accordingly, Applicant submits that BAN fails to disclose at least the features set forth in claim 1 as amended.
The Examiner respectfully submits that the argued limitation is broad, BAN discloses obtaining the identification (model information of the printer) by the PC 101 ([0025]-[0029], [0062], figure 2 step 52), the same obtained identification (model information of the printer) is later stored in the PC 101 (figure 2 step 63, [0038] model information 812, [0040]: “the PC 101 retrieves information based on the model information 812 from a particular storage area”), and retrieving and providing the stored obtained identification after the setting program is started ([0040]: “During execution of the printing APP 42 (as “after the setting program is started”), the PC 101 retrieves information based on the model information 812 from a particular storage area, and searches for printers corresponding to the retrieved information by means of broadcasting or multicasting”, [0041]: “The model information 812 is information of a model of the printer corresponding to the downloading request…the printing APP 42 automatically determines the printer of which model is included in the downloading request of the installer 47 of the printing APP 42 as the objective device to be used for printing.” [0042]: “When multiple printers are searched as printers corresponding to the model information 812 (information regarding the model of a printer stored in the particular storage area) in procedure 65, the PC 101 may automatically determine one of them or accept the user's selection. After the startup of the printing APP 42, when information regarding the model of a printer is not stored in the particular storage area, the PC 101 may search for all the models controllable by the printing APP 42”).
Thus the model information 812 “information regarding the model of a printer stored in the particular storage area” is retrieved by the printing APP 42 for searching printers that matching the model information 812 and for providing the print setting screen of the model information 812 to allow user to control the settings of the matched printer. Same reasons apply to claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by BAN (US 20190303122 A1).
For claim 1. BAN discloses A terminal device comprising: a display ([0017]); a memory ([0038], [0042]); and a controller (figure 1, PC 101) configured to perform: obtaining identification information ([0025]-[0029], the URL includes model information of the printer) related to a target product before installing a setting program used to set the target product ([0033], [0034]); storing the obtained identification information in the memory (figure 2 step 63, [0038] model information 812, [0040], [0042]); installing the setting program in the terminal device ([0034]); starting the setting program installed in the terminal device ([0040]); providing the identification information stored in the memory to the setting program (figure 2 step 63 store model, [0038], [0040], [0042], using/lookup model information for search and selection of printers) after starting the setting program ([0040]-[0042]); causing the display to display a setting screen associated with the identification information, the setting screen presenting a setting operation to set the target product, the setting operation indicating one or both of an operation of the target product and an operation of the terminal device ([0041]); and setting the target product based on the setting operation ([0041]).
For claim 3. The terminal device according to claim 1, BAN discloses wherein the setting program is configured to cause the terminal device to perform: displaying a selection screen for selecting a type of a product on the display; and displaying the setting screen associated with the selected type after displaying the selection screen on the display, and wherein the setting program is configured to cause the terminal device to perform displaying the setting screen associated with the identification information on the display without displaying the selection screen in a case where the identification information is provided to the setting program ([0041], [0045], [0052]).
For claim 4. The terminal device according to claim 3, BAN discloses wherein the setting program is configured to cause the terminal device to perform displaying the selection screen on the display in a case where the identification information is not provided to the setting program ([0041], [0042], [0045], [0052]).
For claim 5. The terminal device according to claim 1, BAN discloses wherein the setting program is configured to cause the terminal device to perform: displaying a first type setting screen in a case where the identification information indicates a first type product; and displaying a second type setting screen in a case where the identification information indicates a second type product ([0025]-[0029], [0041]).
For claim 6. The terminal device according to claim 1, BAN discloses wherein the controller is configured to perform: obtaining link information indicating an address of a web page, the link information including the identification information, the web page including an item indicating installation of the setting program, wherein the terminal device further comprises a browser used to display the web page indicated by the link information on the display ([0019], [0033]), wherein the controller is further configured to perform: installing the setting program in the terminal device according to an installation instruction by a user, the installation instruction including an operation of the item included in the web page displayed on the display ([0034]); providing the link information including the identification information to the setting program ([0038]); and causing the terminal device to perform a function of obtaining the identification information from the link information ([0062] from QR Code).
For claim 7. The terminal device according to claim 6, BAN discloses wherein the link information is a Uniform Resource Locator, and wherein the link information includes location information indicating location of the web page on a network and a query including the identification information ([0025]-[0029], [0062]).
For claim 8. The terminal device according to claim 1, BAN discloses further including a photographing unit, wherein the controller is further configured to perform obtaining the identification information by analyzing a captured image generated by capturing a code image by the photographing unit ([0062]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claim(s) 2 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BAN (US 20190303122 A1) in view of LI (US 20170344321 A1).
For claim 2. The terminal device according to claim 1, BAN fails to mention wherein the controller is further configured to perform: determining whether the setting program has been installed in the terminal device; and installing the setting program in the terminal device in response to determining that the setting program has not been installed in the terminal device.
This teaching is disclosed by LI ([0025], [0053], [0064], [0072]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by LI into the art of BAN as to improve assurance and avoid duplicate download.
For claim 10. BAN discloses A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium for a terminal device including a display ([0017]), a memory ([0038], [0042]) and a controller (figure 1, PC 101), the non-transitory computer-readable recording medium containing computer-executable instructions realizing a setting program of the terminal device, wherein the setting program is configured to be installed in the terminal device according to an installation instruction by a user ([0023], [0024], [0033]), the web page being indicated by link information including identification information related to a target product ([0025]-[0029], the URL includes model information of the printer), and the identification information being stored in the memory of the terminal device (figure 2 step 63, [0038] model information 812, [0040], [0042]); wherein the setting program is configured to, when executed by the controller, cause the terminal device to perform: obtaining, by the setting program, the identification information stored in the memory in response to and after starting the setting program after installation of the setting program ([0038], [0040]-[0042], using/lookup model information for search and selection of printers); and causing the display to display a setting screen associated with the identification information, the setting screen presenting a setting operation to set the target product, the setting operation including one or both of an operation of the target product and an operation of the terminal device ([0041]).
BAN fails to mention the installation instruction including an operation of an item included in a web page displayed on the display.
This teaching is disclosed by LI ([0071]: The user may download the imaging app by clicking the “Download” link/button in the web page corresponding to the URL).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by LI into the art of BAN as to provide the user better controllability.
10. Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BAN (US 20190303122 A1) in view of Shibata (US 20190306707 A1).
For claim 9. The terminal device according to claim 1, BAN fails to mention wherein the setting screen presents the setting operation to connect the target product with an access point in a wireless network.
This teaching is disclosed by Shibata ([0018], [0056], [0082]: As a result, the Wi-Fi connection is established between the printer 100 and the AP 6; figure 3, step T136).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by Shibata into the art of BAN as to extend range and seamlessly transfer data via access point.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300, submitted online via the USPTO's Electronic Filing System-Web (EFS-Web) (Registered eFilers only, Registered users of the USPTO's EFS-Web system may submit a response electronically through EFS-Web at https://efs.uspto.gov/TruePassSample/AuthenticateUserLocalEPF.html), or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
/Rui Meng Hu/
R.H./rh
September 21, 2026
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643