DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on April 1, 2024, December 23, 2024, and October 15, 2025 have been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Specification
4. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8-11, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2019/0166533 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Li et al. teach a method for parameter configuration (Fig.3), comprising:
obtaining, by first user equipment (UE) (read as Terminal (Fig(s).1 @ 120, 3 @ 120, and 4)), first parameter(s), wherein the first parameter(s) is(are) used for the first UE to perform device configuration under different access situations (Fig.1, 2 @ 201, 3, 4 @ 401, 5, 6), and
the different access situations comprise that the first UE is accessed to network directly (read as “when the terminal 120 needs to be handed over from a cell provided by a first access network device 142 to a cell provided by a second access network device 144, the second access network device 144 configures a first transmission resource pool 52 for the terminal. In a cell handover process, the terminal sends a V2X message by using a first transmission resource in the first transmission resource pool 52.”(Fig.5; Paragraph [0110])), or
the first UE is accessed to the network through second UE. (read as “A V2X message sent by one terminal 120 is sent to the other terminal 120 through forwarding by the access network device 140;”(Fig.1; Paragraph [0057]))
Regarding claim 8, Li et al. teach a First user equipment (UE) (Fig.1 @ 120, 3 @ 120, 4, 5 @ 120, 6) comprising a memory (read as internal memory (Paragraph(s) [0081 and [0195])) and a processor (Fig(s).7 @ 740, 8 @ 840, 9 @ 940),
wherein the memory (read as internal memory (Paragraph(s) [0081 and [0195])) is configured to store a computer program (read as program (Paragraph [0195])), and when the processor (Fig(s).7 @ 740, 8 @ 840, 9 @ 940) executes the computer program (read as program (Paragraph [0195])), the processor (Fig(s).7 @ 740, 8 @ 840, 9 @ 940) is configured to control the first UE (Fig.1 @ 120, 3 @ 120, 4, 5 @ 120, 6) to:
obtain first parameter(s), wherein the first parameter(s) is(are) used for the first UE to perform device configuration under different access situations (Fig.1, 2 @ 201, 3, 4 @ 401, 5, 6), and
the different access situations comprise that the first UE is accessed to network directly (read as “when the terminal 120 needs to be handed over from a cell provided by a first access network device 142 to a cell provided by a second access network device 144, the second access network device 144 configures a first transmission resource pool 52 for the terminal. In a cell handover process, the terminal sends a V2X message by using a first transmission resource in the first transmission resource pool 52.”(Fig.5; Paragraph [0110])), or
the first UE is accessed to the network through second UE. (read as “A V2X message sent by one terminal 120 is sent to the other terminal 120 through forwarding by the access network device 140;”(Fig.1; Paragraph [0057]))
Regarding claim 14, Li et al. teach a network device (Fig.1 @ 140, 3 @ 140, 4, 5 @ 142, 144) comprising a memory (read as computer readable medium (Paragraph [0195])) and a processor (Fig(s).7 @ 740, 8 @ 840, 9 @ 940), wherein the memory (read as computer readable medium (Paragraph [0195])) is configured to store a computer program (read as program (Paragraph [0195])), and when the processor (Fig(s).7 @ 740, 8 @ 840, 9 @ 940) executes the computer program (read as program (Paragraph [0195])), the processor (Fig(s).7 @ 740, 8 @ 840, 9 @ 940) is configured to control the network device (Fig.1 @ 140, 3 @ 140, 4, 5 @ 142, 144) to:
generate configuration parameter(s) (read as configuration information) of first user equipment (UE) (read as “the first configuration information is configured by an access network device for the terminal.” (Paragraph [0062])); and
transmit the configuration parameter(s) to the first UE (Fig(s).1, 2 @ 201, 3, 4 @ 401),
wherein the configuration parameter(s) is(are) used for the first UE to perform a device configuration under different access situations (Fig(s).1, 3, 5), and
the different access situations comprise that the first UE is accessed to network directly (read as “when the terminal 120 needs to be handed over from a cell provided by a first access network device 142 to a cell provided by a second access network device 144, the second access network device 144 configures a first transmission resource pool 52 for the terminal. In a cell handover process, the terminal sends a V2X message by using a first transmission resource in the first transmission resource pool 52.”(Fig.5; Paragraph [0110])), or
the first UE is accessed to the network through an second UE. (read as “A V2X message sent by one terminal 120 is sent to the other terminal 120 through forwarding by the access network device 140;”(Fig.1; Paragraph [0057]))
Regarding claims 2 and 9, and as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, Li et al. teach a method and UE (Fig.1 @ 120, 3 @ 120, 4, 5 @ 120, 6) wherein the first parameter(s) is(are) configured by a network device. (Fig(s).1 @ 140, 3 @ 140, 5 @ 142, 144)
Regarding claims 3, 10, and 15, and as applied to claims 2, 9, and 14 above, Li et al. teach a method, a UE (Fig.1 @ 120, 3 @ 120, 4, 5 @ 120, 6), and a network device (Fig.1 @ 140, 3 @ 140, 4, 5 @ 142, 144, 6) wherein the network device is configured to configure first configuration parameter(s) for the first UE that is accessed to the network through the second UE. (Fig(s).1-3)
Regarding claims 4, 11, and 16, and as applied to claims 3, 10, and 15 above, Li et al. teach a method a UE (Fig.1 @ 120, 3 @ 120, 4, 5 @ 120, 6), and a network device (Fig.1 @ 140, 3 @ 140, 4, 5 @ 142, 144, 6) wherein the first configuration parameter(s) comprises configuration sub-parameters corresponding to different communication connection states. (read as “The terminal detects signal energy received on the n transmission resources; and when the signal energy is greater than a threshold, determines that the transmission resource is in a busy state; or when the signal energy is less than a threshold, determines that the transmission resource is in an idle state.”(Paragraph [0153]))
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2019/0166533 A1) in view of Huang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2018/0352412 A1).
Regarding claims 5 and 17, and as applied to claims 4 and 16 above, Li et al. teach “a V2X message sending method, apparatus, and system.”(Fig.1-9; Paragraph [0002])
However, Li et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the communication connection states comprise at least one of:
radio resource control (RRC) connection state of the second UE,
load state of the second UE,
channel quality of a sidelink (SL) between the first UE and the second UE, or
hop number of relays of at least one of the second UE or the first UE.
Huang et al. teach a method wherein the communication connection states comprise at least one of:
radio resource control (RRC) connection state of the second UE,
load state of the second UE (read as “the relay UE may only broadcast information of a light-load cell/neighbor cell to the remote UE.”(Paragraph [0164])),
channel quality of an sidelink (SL) between the first UE and the second UE, or
hop number of relays of at least one of the second UE or the first UE.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for broadcasting information of a light load cell as taught by Huang et al. with the devices as taught by Li et al. for the purpose of improving network management.
Claims 6-7, 12-13, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2019/0166533 A1) in view of ETSI (“TS 38.331 V16.5.0”, September 2021).
Regarding claims 6 and 18, and as applied to claims 3 and above, Li et al. teach “a V2X message sending method, apparatus, and system.”(Fig.1-9; Paragraph [0002])
However, Li et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the network device is configured to configure parameter(s) for the first UE under different access situations through different system messages.
The ETSI document teach a method wherein the network device is configured to configure parameter(s) for the first UE under different access situations through different system messages. (read as “The UE applies the SI acquisition procedure to acquire the AS, NAS- and positioning assistance data information. The procedure applies to UEs in RRC_IDLE, in RRC_INACTIVE and in RRC_CONNECTED.”(Fig.5.2.2.1-1, Section 5.2.2.1, page 34) Also, “The UE in RRC_IDLE and RRC_INACTIVE shall ensure having a valid version of (at least) the MIB, SIB1 through SIB4, SIB5 (if the UE supports E-UTRA), SIB11 (if the UE is configured for idle/inactive measurements), SIB12 (if UE is capable of NR sidelink communication and is configured by upper layers to receive or transmit NR sidelink communication), and SIB13, SIB14 (if UE is capable of V2X sidelink communication and is configured by upper layers to receive or transmit V2X sidelink communication).”(Fig.5.2.2.1-1, Section 5.2.2.1, page 34))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for broadcasting system information as taught by the ETSI document with the devices as taught by Li et al. for the purpose of improving network management.
Regarding claims 7 and 19, and as applied to claims 6 and 18 above, Li et al. teach “a V2X message sending method, apparatus, and system.”(Fig.1-9; Paragraph [0002])
However, Li et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the network device is configured to configure, through a first system message, parameter(s) for the first UE that is accessed to the network through the second UE, and different fields in the first system message correspond to different configuration sub-parameters.
The ETSI document teaches a method wherein the network device is configured to configure, through a first system message, parameter(s) for the first UE that is accessed to the network through the second UE, and different fields in the first system message correspond to different configuration sub-parameters. (read as System Information Block(s) (Fig.5.2.2.1-1, page 34 and Section 6.3.1, pages 328-347))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for broadcasting system information as taught by the ETSI document with the devices as taught by Li et al. for the purpose of improving network management.
Regarding claims 12 and 20, and as applied to claims 8 and 14 above, Li et al. teach “a V2X message sending method, apparatus, and system.”(Fig.1-9; Paragraph [0002])
However, Li et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the network device is configured to configure, through a first field in an second system message, parameter(s) for the first UE that is accessed to the network through the second UE, and different values in the first field correspond to different configuration sub-parameters.
The ETSI document teaches a method wherein the network device is configured to configure, through a first field in a second system message, parameter(s) for the first UE that is accessed to the network through the second UE, and different values in the first field correspond to different configuration sub-parameters. (read as System Information Block(s) (Fig.5.2.2.1-1, page 34 and Section 6.3.1, pages 328-347))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for formatting and broadcasting system information as taught by the ETSI document with the devices as taught by Li et al. for the purpose of improving network management.
Regarding claim 13, and as applied to claim 10 above, Li et al. teach “a V2X message sending method, apparatus, and system.”(Fig.1-9; Paragraph [0002])
However, Li et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the first configuration parameter(s) is(are) carried in a system message configured by the network device, and the processor is further configured to control the first UE to:
receive a content of the system message transmitted by at least one of the network device or the second UE; and
determine first configuration parameter(s) corresponding to the first UE that is accessed to the network through the second UE in the system message as the first parameter(s).
The ETSI document teaches a method wherein the first configuration parameter(s) is(are) carried in a system message configured by the network device (read as an SIB transmitted by a network device to a UE (Fig.5.2.2.1-1, page 34)), and the processor is further configured to control the first UE (It would have been obvious that the UE in Fig.5.2.2.1-1 is equipped with at least one processor.) to:
receive a content of the system message transmitted by at least one of the network device or the second UE (Fig.5.2.2.1-1, page 34); and
determine first configuration parameter(s) corresponding to the first UE that is accessed to the network through the second UE in the system message as the first parameter(s). (read as “The UE applies the SI acquisition procedure to acquire the AS, NAS- and positioning assistance data information. The procedure applies to UEs in RRC_IDLE, in RRC_INACTIVE and in RRC_CONNECTED.”(Fig.5.2.2.1-1, Section 5.2.2.1, page 34) Also, “The UE in RRC_IDLE and RRC_INACTIVE shall ensure having a valid version of (at least) the MIB, SIB1 through SIB4, SIB5 (if the UE supports E-UTRA), SIB11 (if the UE is configured for idle/inactive measurements), SIB12 (if UE is capable of NR sidelink communication and is configured by upper layers to receive or transmit NR sidelink communication), and SIB13, SIB14 (if UE is capable of V2X sidelink communication and is configured by upper layers to receive or transmit V2X sidelink communication).”(Fig.5.2.2.1-1, Section 5.2.2.1, page 34))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for formatting and broadcasting system information as taught by the ETSI document with the devices as taught by Li et al. for the purpose of improving network management.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure:
T. Onishi and T. Shiroshima ("Methods for estimating RRC state of mobile terminals in push servers," 2015) teach “methods for estimating the RRC state to reduce the energy consumption of mobile terminals and the cellular network load caused by frequently exchanged messages between the mobile terminal and the server in the cloud.”(Section IV, page 165)
Luo et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2024/0172255 A1) teach “a wireless communication method includes: determining, by a wireless communication device, whether at least one of a dedicated resource pool or a number of shared resource pools is provided, wherein each of the shared resource pools includes a sidelink transmission or reception resource pool; and performing, by the wireless communication device, sidelink discovery using the dedicated resource pool or one of the shared resource pools being provided based on its configuration.”(Abstract)
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Un C. Cho can be reached on (571) 272- 7919. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/SALVADOR E RIVAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413
March 3, 2026