Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on 30 March 2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the 2023-055014 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “recessed portion” and “joining portion” of Claim 6, and the “single pipe member” of Claim 8 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
- “opening portion” of Claims 1 and 6, interpreted to be “any space that allows fluid flow”
- “joining portion” of Claim 6, interpreted to be “any component that connects other components”
- “seal member pressing portion” of Claim 6, interpreted to be “any component that performs a pressing or holding action or function”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 5, the claim contains the limitation “the flange portion”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this term. Examiner notes that “a flange portion” is established at independent Claim 3, however, Claim 5 does not depend on Claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizutani et al. (US 2019/0299624), in view of Ishizawa et al. (US 2020/0238713) and Osborne (US 2021/0268804).
The claim rejections are presented below in order of dependence as filed by Applicant, and not in numerical order.
Regarding Claim 1, Mizutani discloses a liquid supply container (63) comprising:
- a storage portion (Fig 13, ink chamber 76) configured to contain liquid;
- a liquid inlet/outlet portion forming member (para 84: ink outlet forming portion 66) disposed at an opening end of the storage portion and including a cylindrical portion (para 84: ink outlet 65) forming an inlet/outlet portion of the liquid with respect to the storage portion;
- a valve (valve 74) disposed in the inlet/outlet portion and opening/closing communication between the storage portion and an outside (see para 90);
- a holder member (positioning structure 73) attached to an inside of the cylindrical portion (65) and movably accommodating at least a valve body of the valve (see at least para 102).
Further regarding Claim 1, although the Mizutani reference discloses a valve 74, said valve is a diaphragm-style valve, and therefore does not have a seal member as claimed by Applicant. However, Ishizawa ‘713 et al. teaches a similar structure as the Mizutaini reference, and additionally teaches that a seated, spring-actuated valve and a diaphragm valve are interchangeable functional equivalents (see para 111).
Osborne teaches a valve (110), which includes a static portion 112 and a dynamic portion 114 (see para 21 and Figs 1-2). Osborne additionally teaches “The dynamic portion 114 is movably disposed around the stem 116 of the static portion 112.” Osborne additionally teaches a sealing member (170), that “facilitates a fluid seal between the dynamic portion 114 of the valve 110 and the reservoir 34 throughout operation of the valve 110, for example, during transition of the dynamic portion 114 between opened and closed states and in both opened and closed states of the valve 110” (see para 26). Please see Fig. 2D as annotated by Examiner.
Osborne additionally teaches a container 82, which would have a “cylindrical portion” (e.g., the inside of container 82), an “inlet/outlet portion” (e.g. the space wherein container 82 couples with the valve assembly of Osborne). Please see Fig 3A as annotated by Examiner.
The valve assembly of Osborne would also have a “void portion”, which is broadly interpreted by Examiner as “any space (void) that allows fluid and/or gas flow”. Please see Fig 2C, as annotated by Examiner.
The Mizutani and Osborne references each teach the ability to control both fluid and gas flow into and out of a printing reservoir from a refill bottle. The Osborne reference additionally teaches a mechanical, biased means of controlling said flow through the use of a seated, spring-actuated valve. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the simple slit diaphragm valve of the Mizutani reference with the functionally equivalent yet more robust biased valve of Osborne (as taught by both Osbore and Ishizawa ‘713 et al.) for the advantages of greater control of fluid flow.
Further regarding Claim 1, therefore, the Mizutani reference, as modified by Osborne above, would teach the remainder of Applicant’s Claim 1 limitations, to include a liquid supply container (Mizutani, 63/ Osborne 82) comprising:
- a seal member (Osborne, sealing member 170) disposed in the liquid inlet/outlet portion forming member (Osborne, valve casing 128) and constituting the valve together with the valve body (Osborne, see at least Figs. 2B, 2C, and para 26),
- the valve body (Osborne, dynamic portion 114)
configured to be moved away from the seal member (Osborne, 170) to make an opening portion (Osborne, per paras 22-24) communicating with the outside be in an open state and
configured to be seated on the seal member (Osborne, 170) to make the opening portion be in a closed state (Osborne, para 26),
- wherein the cylindrical portion (Osborne, the inside of container 82, see Fig 3A, Examiner's annotations) of the liquid inlet/outlet portion forming member forms a void portion (Osborne, Fig 3A, Examiner's annotation) surrounding the holder member (Osborne, valve housing 128) in a circumferential direction between the cylindrical portion and the holder member (Osborne, as explained at least at paras 26-31), and
- a rib (Osborne, Fig. 2C, Examiner's annotations) is disposed in the void portion and is configured to perform division of the void portion into at least two portions in the circumferential direction.
Regarding Claim 2, Mizutani et al. as modified above teaches a liquid supply container (Mizutani, 63) wherein the rib (Osborne, Fig. 2C, Examiner's annotations) is extended from at least one of the holder member and the cylindrical portion, and is formed at a position in which the void portion is divided into the at least two portions (see Fig 2C).
Regarding Claim 5, Mizutani et al. as modified above teaches a liquid supply container (Mizutani et al., 63) wherein in a valve open state of the valve, the rib or the flange portion (Osborne, Fig 2C, Examiner's annotations) is positioned between the seal member and the valve body in an unseated state in the moving direction.
Regarding Claim 7, Mizutani et al. as modified above teaches a method of manufacturing a liquid supply container (Mizutani et al., 63) comprising:
- preparing the liquid supply container (Mizutaini et al., 63) according to claim 1 (by using the combined apparatus of Mizutani and Osborne references as described in the rejection of Claim 1 above);
- inserting a liquid pouring flow path member (the Mizutaini reference teaches needle 56 at paras 90 and 100) into the inlet/outlet portion of the liquid supply container (Mizutaini, 63); and
- pouring the liquid in a state where the valve body of the valve is moved away from the seal member by insertion of the liquid pouring flow path member (normal use of the above combined apparatus),
- wherein the liquid pouring flow path member has a liquid flow path through which the liquid flows and a gas flow path for discharging gas from the storage portion (the Mizutaini reference teaches flow paths 54 and 55 at paras 100 and 108, while the Osborne reference teaches liquid ink, or print fluid, pathway 130 and air pathway 132 at Fig 2B and para 25), and
- in a state where the inlet/outlet portion faces upward (both references teach inverted filling in the Figures; when not in use, the inlet/outlet portion of both references could be considered to be "upward"),
- a lower end of the gas flow path of the liquid pouring flow path member is positioned at an upper position than a lower end of the liquid flow path in a liquid pouring posture in which the liquid pouring flow path member is inserted inside the liquid supply container to move the valve body away from the seal member (see Examiner's rationale in the preceding paragraph),
- in the liquid pouring posture (during normal use of the combined apparatus, i.e., an inverted position),
- the lower end of the gas flow path of the liquid pouring flow path member is positioned in a first portion that is obtained by the division (shown in the Figures), and
- the lower end of the liquid flow path is positioned in a second portion that is obtained by the division and different from the first portion (shown in the Figures), and
- in the pouring the liquid (during normal use of the combined apparatus, i.e., an inverted position),
- the gas is discharged from the storage portion through the gas flow path of the liquid pouring flow path member along with the pouring of the liquid through the liquid flow path of the liquid pouring flow path member (gas and liquid flow as shown above through Mizutaini items 54, 55 and/or Osborne 130,132).
Regarding Claim 8, Mizutani et al. as modified above teaches a method of manufacturing a liquid supply container (Mizutani et al., 63), wherein the liquid pouring flow path member is formed by sectioning an inside of a single pipe member along a pipe into one used as the liquid flow path and another used as the gas flow path (the "single pipe member" is interpreted by Examiner as being the same as the previously claimed liquid pouring flow path member 70. See Claim 7 above and Applicant's Specification para 34. This component is anticipated by needle 56 of the Mizutaini reference and/or the recessed channels 144 of Osborne).
Regarding Claim 3, similarly, and as shown above in the rejection of Claim 1, Mizutani et al. discloses a liquid supply container (63) comprising:
- a storage portion (Fig 13, ink chamber 76) configured to contain liquid;
- a liquid inlet/outlet portion forming member (para 84: ink outlet forming portion 66) disposed at an opening end of the storage portion and including a cylindrical portion (para 84: ink outlet 65) forming an inlet/outlet portion of the liquid with respect to the storage portion;
- a valve (valve 74) disposed in the inlet/outlet portion and opening/closing communication between the storage portion and an outside (see para 90);
- a holder member (positioning structure 73) attached to an inside of the cylindrical portion (65) and movably accommodating at least a valve body of the valve (see at least para 102).
Further regarding Claim 3, as shown above in the rejection of Claim 1 (please see Examiner’s explanations), Ishizawa ‘713 et al. teaches a functionally equivalent spring actuated, seated valve, and Osborne teaches:
- a seal member (sealing member 170) disposed in the liquid inlet/outlet portion forming member (valve casing 128) and constituting the valve together with the valve body see at least Figs. 2B, 2C, and para 26,
- the valve body (dynamic portion 114)
- configured to be moved away from the seal member (170) to make an opening portion (Fig. 3A, Examiner's annotations) communicating with the outside be in an open state and
- configured to be seated on the seal member (170) to make the opening portion be in a closed state (para 26),
- wherein the cylindrical portion (the inside of container 82, see Fig 3A, Examiner's annotations) of the liquid inlet/outlet portion forming member forms a void portion (Fig 3A, Examiner's annotation) surrounding the holder member (valve housing 128) in a circumferential direction between the cylindrical portion and the holder member, and
- a flange portion (Fig. 2C, Examiner's annotations) is disposed in the void portion and is configured to perform division of the void portion into at least two portions in a moving direction of the valve body.
The Mizutani and Osborne references each teach the ability to control both fluid and gas flow into and out of a printing reservoir from a refill bottle. The Osborne reference additionally teaches a mechanical, biased means of controlling said flow through the use of a seated, spring-actuated valve. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the simple slit diaphragm valve of the Mizutani reference with the functionally equivalent yet more robust biased valve of Osborne (as taught by both Osbore and Ishizawa ‘713 et al.) for the advantages of greater control of fluid flow.
Regarding Claim 4, Mizutani et al. as modified above teaches a liquid supply container (Mizutani et al., 63) wherein the flange portion (Osborne, Fig. 2C, Examiner's annotations) is extended from at least one of the holder member and the cylindrical portion, and is formed at a position in which the void portion is divided into the at least two portions (see Fig. 2C).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 9 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to disclose or render obvious:
(Claim 6): A liquid supply container comprising:
- a storage portion… a liquid inlet/outlet portion forming member…including a cylindrical portion forming an inlet/outlet portion of the liquid; a valve disposed in the inlet/outlet portion… a holder member attached to an inside of the cylindrical portion and movably accommodating at least a valve body of the valve; and a seal member disposed in the liquid inlet/outlet portion forming member…
- wherein the liquid inlet/outlet portion forming member includes a step portion, the step portion configured to form a recessed portion accommodating the seal member on a side opposite to a joining portion with the storage portion,
- the holder member includes a seal member pressing portion secured to an inner peripheral wall of the recessed portion, the seal member pressing portion configured to press down the seal member accommodated in the recessed portion, and
- when a side closer to the opening portion in a moving direction of the valve body is defined as a tip side and a side closer to the storage portion is defined as a rear end side, a rear end of the seal member pressing portion is positioned further on the rear end side than a rear end of the seal member, and a rear end of the step portion is positioned further on the rear end side than the rear end of the seal member pressing portion.
in combination with the other limitations set forth in the independent claims.
Mizutani et al. (US 2019/0299624) and Osborne (US 20210268804) are the closest prior art of record. However, the Mizutani and Osborne references are silent on these above recited features. Furthermore, it would not have been obvious to modify the Mizutani and Osborne references to arrive at these above recited features without improper hindsight reasoning. In addition, amending the Mizutani and Osborne references to include the above recited features would improperly change the principles of operation of the Mizutani and Osborne references.
Specifically, although the combination of Mizutani et al. and Osborne teaches a valve and a sealing member as shown in the rejection of Claims 1 and 3 above, the combination is silent on a seal member pressing portion as claimed at Claim 6 and disclosed at Fig 4 (item 48) and described at least at Specification paras 29-30. Examiner concludes that the valve assembly of Applicant (fully claimed at Claim 6, only partially claimed at Claims 1 and 3) contains limitations that are fundamentally different than the valve structures of either Mizutani et al. or Osborne. Examiner concludes that there would be no motivation for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the seated valve of Osborne to arrive at the valve of Applicant, and doing so would likely “break” the principle of operation for the Osborne valve.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fukasawa et al. (US 2022/0227137, assigned to Applicant but containing a different joint inventive entity) teaches many of valve components as claimed at Claims 1 and 3. However, Fukasawa et al. is additionally silent on the valve as claimed at Claim 6.
/CHRISTOPHER M AFFUL/Examiner, Art Unit 3753