DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment and arguments filed May 21, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1, 4, 7-10, 12, 14, 16, 17, 19, and 20 have been amended.
Claim 3 is cancelled.
Claims 1, 2, and 4-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 2, and 4-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Consider claims 1, 7, and 16, the claims recite a DCI scheduling “a first set of physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) and/or a second set of PDSCHs” and then further recites “a first PDSCH of the first set of PDSCHs” and “a first PDSCH of the second set of PDSCHs”. However, based on the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim language can be interpreted as “a first set of physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) or a second set of PDSCHs” and only one set of PDSCHs would be present, and therefore it is unclear how a first PDSCH of the first set of PDSCHs and a first PDSCH of the second set of PDSCHs associated with the TB and RV values can be present. The claims, therefore, do not define the invention in the manner contemplated by the second sentence of 35 U.S.C. Sec. 112. Appropriate correction is requested.
Claims 2, 4-6, 8-15, and 17-20 are rejected based on their dependency on claims 1, 7, and 16, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-9, 11, 12, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NILSSON et al. (hereinafter Nilsson) (U.S. Patent Application Publication #2025/0056559 A1) in view of JIANG et al. (hereinafter Jiang) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0021499 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Nilsson teaches and discloses a wireless communication method by a user equipment (UE) (wireless device, WD, figures 5-7 and 12) and the user equipment (UE) (wireless device, WD, figures 5-7 and 12), comprising: a memory (memory, 88, figure 12) for storing a computer program; a transceiver (radio interface, 82, figure 12); and a processor (processor, 86, figure 12) coupled to the memory and the transceiver; wherein the processor is configured to execute the computer program to:
configured, by a base station (network node, figures 11-12), with a downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a first set of physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) and/or a second set of PDSCHs ([0063]; “…PDSCH transmission over two TRPs using a single DCI…sent over two TRPs, each associated with a different TCI state…”; [0069]; “…multi-TRP PDSCH schemes, a single DCI transmitted from one TRP may be used to schedule multiple PDSCH transmissions over two TRPs…”; teaches the base station configures the wireless device with a DCI schedule a first and second set of PDSCHs); and
configured, by the base station, with a first transmission reception point (TRP) (TRP1; figures 5-7) corresponding a first transmission configuration indication (TCI) state and/or a second TRP (TRP2; figures 5-7) corresponding a second TCI state, wherein the first TCI state is used for reception of at least a part of the first set of PDSCHs ([0063]; “…PDSCH transmission over two TRPs using a single DCI…sent over two TRPs, each associated with a different TCI state…”; [0066]; “…transmission from TRP1 may be associated with TCI state 1, while the transmission from TRP2 may be associated with TCI state 2…”; [0067]; “…transmission of PDSCH #1 from TRP1 may be associated with a first TCI state, while the transmission of PDSCH #2 from TRP2 may be associated with a second TCI state…”; teaches the base station configures the wireless device with a first TRP corresponding with a first TCI state and a second TRP corresponding to a second TCI state, and the first TCI state is used for reception of the PDSCHs),
wherein a first PDSCH of the first set of PDSCHs and a first PDSCH of the second set of PDSCHs have the same transport block (TB) ([0066]; “…PDSCH #1 is transmitted in PRGs {0, 2, 4} from TRP1 and PDSCH #2 with the same TB…”; [0068]; “…where 4 PDSCHs for a same transport block (TB) are transmitted over 2 TRPs and in 4 consecutive slots. Each PDSCH may be associated with a different RV…”; teaches the PDSCH have the same transport block (TB));
a redundant version (RV) value of the first PDSCH of the first set of PDSCHs and a RV value of the first PDSCH of the second set of PDSCHs are different; and wherein the RV value of the first PDSCH of the first set of PDSCHs is indicated in the DCI ([0067]; “…Each PDSCH can be associated with a same or different redundancy version (RV). The transmission of PDSCH #1 from TRP1 may be associated with a first TCI state, while the transmission of PDSCH #2 from TRP2 may be associated with a second TCI state…”; [0068]; “…where 4 PDSCHs for a same transport block (TB) are transmitted over 2 TRPs and in 4 consecutive slots. Each PDSCH may be associated with a different RV…”; [0069]; teaches the redundant version (RV) is different for each PDSCH and the RV is defined in the DCI).
However, Nilsson may not explicitly disclose a relationship between the RV value of the first PDSCH of the first set of PDSCHs and the RV value of the first PDSCH of the second set of PDSCHs are pre-defined.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Jiang teaches and suggests a relationship between the RV value of the first PDSCH of the first set of PDSCHs and the RV value of the first PDSCH of the second set of PDSCHs are pre-defined ([0077]; [0080]; teaches a relationship between RV values between the first PDSCH occasion and a subsequent, second PDSCH occasions are predefined).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a relationship between RV values between the first PDSCH occasion and a subsequent, second PDSCH occasions are predefined as taught by Jiang with the method and apparatus for configuring the wireless device with a DCI schedule a first and second set of PDSCHs and a first TRP corresponding with a first TCI state and a second TRP corresponding to a second TCI state as disclosed by Nilsson for the purpose of improving flexibility to support more various scenarios while addressing signaling overhead, as suggested by Jiang.
Regarding claims 2 and 18, Nilsson, as modified by Jiang, further teaches wherein a presence of the second set of PDSCHs depends on at least one of the following conditions: if a repetition scheme is configured to be tdmScheme A; if indicated demodulation reference signal (DMRS) ports are within one code division multiplexing (CDM) group in one or more DCI field antenna ports; or if the first TCI state and the second TCI state are indicated by a field TCI of the DCI; and if there is only the first TCI state indicated by the DCI field TCI or if there is only the first TCI state can be indicated by the DCI field TCI, there is none of the second set of PDSCHs ([0063]; “…a PDSCH with a single codeword (e.g., CW0) are sent over two TRPs, each associated with a different TCI state. In this case, two DMRS ports, one for each layer, in two code division multiplexing (CDM) groups may also be signaled to the WD…”; [0067]; “…TDMSchemeA in which PDSCH repetition occurs in mini-slots of 4 OFDM symbols within a slot. Each PDSCH can be associated with a same or different redundancy version (RV). The transmission of PDSCH #1 from TRP1 may be associated with a first TCI state…”; teaches a repetition scheme configured to be TDMSchemeA and DMRS ports within CDM groups in order to indicate the presence of the PDSCHs and TCI state in the DCI).
Regarding claim 4, Nilsson, as modified by Jiang, further teaches wherein the first PDSCH and a second PDSCH of the first set of PDSCHs are in different slots and occupy respectively a first set of resource blocks (RBs) and a second set of RBs; and the first set of RBs and the second set of RBs of the first set of PDSCHs have the same RB or have equal number of RBs ([0065]; “…multi-TRP PDSCH transmission…where a PDSCH is sent over TRP1 in PRGs (precoding RB group) {0, 2, 4} and over TRP2 in PRGs {1,3,5}…”; teaches the first and second PDSCH are in different slots of the precoding RB group and have the same number of RBs, such as three).
Regarding claim 5, Nilsson, as modified by Jiang, further teaches wherein the first TCI state and/or the second TCI state are pre-configured; or the first TCI state and/or the second TCI state are indicated by the DCI ([0015]; “…When scheduling a PDSCH to a WD, the DCI may include a pointer to one or two of the activated TCI states…”; [0026]; [0088]; teaches the first and second TCI state is indicated in the DCI).
Regarding claim 6, Nilsson, as modified by Jiang, further teaches wherein the DCI comprises a field TCI indicating the first TCI state and/or the second TCI state; when the field TCI indicates one TCI state, scheduled PDSCHs are transmitted from one TRP; and when the field TCI indicates two TCI states, scheduled PDSCHs are transmitted from two TRPs ([0030]; “…single DCI based multi-TRP operation, two DL TCI states may be associated to one TCI codepoint. That is, when a TCI field codepoint in DCI indicates two TCI states, each TCI state corresponds to a different beam or different TRP…”; [0085]; [0164]; teaches the DCI comprises a TCI field indicting the TCI state, wherein a single TCI state is from one TRP and two TCI states are from two TRPs).
Regarding claim 8, Nilsson, as modified by Jiang, further teaches wherein the first set of PDSCHs comprises the first PDSCH and a second PDSCH, and the first TCI state is used for reception of the first PDSCH and the second PDSCH of the first set of PDSCHs ([0063]; “…PDSCH transmission over two TRPs using a single DCI…sent over two TRPs, each associated with a different TCI state…”; [0066]; “…transmission from TRP1 may be associated with TCI state 1, while the transmission from TRP2 may be associated with TCI state 2…”; [0067]; “…transmission of PDSCH #1 from TRP1 may be associated with a first TCI state, while the transmission of PDSCH #2 from TRP2 may be associated with a second TCI state…”; teaches the first and second PDSCH is received with a first TCI state); and the first PDSCH and the second PDSCH of the first set of PDSCHs carry different transport blocks (TBs) and/or the first PDSCH and the second PDSCH of the first set of PDSCHs are different; or the first PDSCH and the second PDSCH of the first set of PDSCHs carry the same TB and/or the first PDSCH and the second PDSCH of the first set of PDSCHs are same ([0066]; “…PDSCH #1 is transmitted in PRGs {0, 2, 4} from TRP1 and PDSCH #2 with the same TB…”; [0068]; “…where 4 PDSCHs for a same transport block (TB) are transmitted over 2 TRPs and in 4 consecutive slots. Each PDSCH may be associated with a different RV…”; teaches the PDSCH have the same transport block (TB)).
Regarding claim 9, Nilsson, as modified by Jiang, further teaches wherein the second set of PDSCHs comprises the first PDSCH and a second PDSCH, and the second TCI state is used for reception of the first PDSCH and the second PDSCH of the second set of PDSCHs ([0063]; “…PDSCH transmission over two TRPs using a single DCI…sent over two TRPs, each associated with a different TCI state…”; [0066]; “…transmission from TRP1 may be associated with TCI state 1, while the transmission from TRP2 may be associated with TCI state 2…”; [0067]; “…transmission of PDSCH #1 from TRP1 may be associated with a first TCI state, while the transmission of PDSCH #2 from TRP2 may be associated with a second TCI state…”; teaches the first and second PDSCH is received with a second TCI state); and the first PDSCH and the second PDSCH of the second set of PDSCHs carry different transport blocks (TBs) and/or the first PDSCH and the second PDSCH of the second set of PDSCHs are different; or the first PDSCH and the second PDSCH of the second set of PDSCHs carry the same TB and/or the first PDSCH and the second PDSCH of the second set of PDSCHs are same ([0066]; “…PDSCH #1 is transmitted in PRGs {0, 2, 4} from TRP1 and PDSCH #2 with the same TB…”; [0068]; “…where 4 PDSCHs for a same transport block (TB) are transmitted over 2 TRPs and in 4 consecutive slots. Each PDSCH may be associated with a different RV…”; teaches the PDSCH have the same transport block (TB)).
Regarding claim 11, Nilsson, as modified by Jiang, further teaches wherein a second PDSCH of the first set of PDSCHs and a second PDSCH of the second set of PDSCHs have the same transport block (TB) ([0066]; “…PDSCH #1 is transmitted in PRGs {0, 2, 4} from TRP1 and PDSCH #2 with the same TB…”; [0068]; “…where 4 PDSCHs for a same transport block (TB) are transmitted over 2 TRPs and in 4 consecutive slots. Each PDSCH may be associated with a different RV…”; teaches the PDSCH have the same transport block (TB)); a redundant version (RV) value of the second PDSCH of the first set of PDSCHs and a RV value of the second PDSCH of the second set of PDSCHs are different; and a relationship between the RV value of the second PDSCH of the first set of PDSCHs and the RV value of the second PDSCH of the second set of PDSCHs are pre-defined, wherein the RV value of the second PDSCH of the first set of PDSCHs is indicated in the DCI ([0067]; “…Each PDSCH can be associated with a same or different redundancy version (RV). The transmission of PDSCH #1 from TRP1 may be associated with a first TCI state, while the transmission of PDSCH #2 from TRP2 may be associated with a second TCI state…”; [0068]; “…where 4 PDSCHs for a same transport block (TB) are transmitted over 2 TRPs and in 4 consecutive slots. Each PDSCH may be associated with a different RV…”; [0069]; teaches the redundant version (RV) is different for each PDSCH and the RV is defined in the DCI).
Regarding claim 12, Nilsson, as modified by Jiang, further teaches wherein the first PDSCH and a second PDSCH of the first set of PDSCHs are in different slots and occupy respectively a first set of resource blocks (RBs) and a second set of RBs; the first PDSCH and a second PDSCH of the second set of PDSCHs are in different slots and occupy respectively a first set of resource blocks (RBs) and a second set of RBs ([0065]; “…multi-TRP PDSCH transmission…where a PDSCH is sent over TRP1 in PRGs (precoding RB group) {0, 2, 4} and over TRP2 in PRGs {1,3,5}…”; teaches the first and second PDSCH are in different slots of the precoding RB group and have the same number of RBs, such as three); the first set of RBs and the second set of RBs of the first set of PDSCHs have the same RB or have equal number of RBs; and the first set of RBs and the second set of RBs of the second set of PDSCHs have the same RB or have equal number of RBs ([0065]; “…multi-TRP PDSCH transmission…where a PDSCH is sent over TRP1 in PRGs (precoding RB group) {0, 2, 4} and over TRP2 in PRGs {1,3,5}…”; teaches the first and second PDSCH are in different slots of the precoding RB group and have the same number of RBs, such as three).
Regarding claim 16, Nilsson teaches and discloses a base station (network node, figures 11-12), comprising: a memory (memory, 72, figure 12) for storing a computer program; a transceiver (radio interface, 62, figure 12); and a processor (processor, 70, figure 12) coupled to the memory and the transceiver; wherein the processor is configured to execute the computer program to:
configure, to a user equipment (UE) (wireless device, WD, figures 5-7 and 12), a downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a first set of physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) and/or a second set of PDSCHs ([0063]; “…PDSCH transmission over two TRPs using a single DCI…sent over two TRPs, each associated with a different TCI state…”; [0069]; “…multi-TRP PDSCH schemes, a single DCI transmitted from one TRP may be used to schedule multiple PDSCH transmissions over two TRPs…”; teaches the base station configures the wireless device with a DCI schedule a first and second set of PDSCHs); and
configure, to the UE, a first transmission reception point (TRP) (TRP1; figures 5-7) corresponding a first transmission configuration indication (TCI) state and/or a second TRP (TRP1; figures 5-7) corresponding a second TCI state, wherein the first TCI state is used for reception of at least a part of the first set of PDSCHs ([0063]; “…PDSCH transmission over two TRPs using a single DCI…sent over two TRPs, each associated with a different TCI state…”; [0066]; “…transmission from TRP1 may be associated with TCI state 1, while the transmission from TRP2 may be associated with TCI state 2…”; [0067]; “…transmission of PDSCH #1 from TRP1 may be associated with a first TCI state, while the transmission of PDSCH #2 from TRP2 may be associated with a second TCI state…”; teaches the base station configures the wireless device with a first TRP corresponding with e first TCI state and a second TRP corresponding to a second TCI state, and the first TCI state is used for reception of the PDSCHs),
wherein a first PDSCH of the first set of PDSCHs and a first PDSCH of the second set of PDSCHs have the same transport block (TB) ([0066]; “…PDSCH #1 is transmitted in PRGs {0, 2, 4} from TRP1 and PDSCH #2 with the same TB…”; [0068]; “…where 4 PDSCHs for a same transport block (TB) are transmitted over 2 TRPs and in 4 consecutive slots. Each PDSCH may be associated with a different RV…”; teaches the PDSCH have the same transport block (TB));
a redundant version (RV) value of the first PDSCH of the first set of PDSCHs and a RV value of the first PDSCH of the second set of PDSCHs are different; and wherein the RV value of the first PDSCH of the first set of PDSCHs is indicated in the DCI ([0067]; “…Each PDSCH can be associated with a same or different redundancy version (RV). The transmission of PDSCH #1 from TRP1 may be associated with a first TCI state, while the transmission of PDSCH #2 from TRP2 may be associated with a second TCI state…”; [0068]; “…where 4 PDSCHs for a same transport block (TB) are transmitted over 2 TRPs and in 4 consecutive slots. Each PDSCH may be associated with a different RV…”; [0069]; teaches the redundant version (RV) is different for each PDSCH and the RV is defined in the DCI).
However, Nilsson may not explicitly disclose a relationship between the RV value of the first PDSCH of the first set of PDSCHs and the RV value of the first PDSCH of the second set of PDSCHs are pre-defined.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Jiang teaches and suggests a relationship between the RV value of the first PDSCH of the first set of PDSCHs and the RV value of the first PDSCH of the second set of PDSCHs are pre-defined ([0077]; [0080]; teaches a relationship between RV values between the first PDSCH occasion and a subsequent, second PDSCH occasions are predefined).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a relationship between RV values between the first PDSCH occasion and a subsequent, second PDSCH occasions are predefined as taught by Jiang with the method and apparatus for configuring the wireless device with a DCI schedule a first and second set of PDSCHs and a first TRP corresponding with a first TCI state and a second TRP corresponding to a second TCI state as disclosed by Nilsson for the purpose of improving flexibility to support more various scenarios while addressing signaling overhead, as suggested by Jiang.
Regarding claim 17, Nilsson, as modified by Jiang, further teaches wherein the first set of PDSCHs comprises the first PDSCH and a second PDSCH, and the first TCI state is used for reception of the first PDSCH and the second PDSCH of the first set of PDSCHs ([0063]; “…PDSCH transmission over two TRPs using a single DCI…sent over two TRPs, each associated with a different TCI state…”; [0066]; “…transmission from TRP1 may be associated with TCI state 1, while the transmission from TRP2 may be associated with TCI state 2…”; [0067]; “…transmission of PDSCH #1 from TRP1 may be associated with a first TCI state, while the transmission of PDSCH #2 from TRP2 may be associated with a second TCI state…”; teaches the first and second PDSCH is received with a second TCI state); the first PDSCH and the second PDSCH of the first set of PDSCHs carry different transport blocks (TBs) and/or the first PDSCH and the second PDSCH of the first set of PDSCHs are different; or the first PDSCH and the second PDSCH of the first set of PDSCHs carry the same TB and/or the first PDSCH and the second PDSCH of the first set of PDSCHs are same ([0066]; “…PDSCH #1 is transmitted in PRGs {0, 2, 4} from TRP1 and PDSCH #2 with the same TB…”; [0068]; “…where 4 PDSCHs for a same transport block (TB) are transmitted over 2 TRPs and in 4 consecutive slots. Each PDSCH may be associated with a different RV…”; teaches the PDSCH have the same transport block (TB));
the second set of PDSCHs comprises the first PDSCH and a second PDSCH, and the second TCI state is used for reception of the first PDSCH and the second PDSCH of the second set of PDSCHs ([0063]; “…PDSCH transmission over two TRPs using a single DCI…sent over two TRPs, each associated with a different TCI state…”; [0066]; “…transmission from TRP1 may be associated with TCI state 1, while the transmission from TRP2 may be associated with TCI state 2…”; [0067]; “…transmission of PDSCH #1 from TRP1 may be associated with a first TCI state, while the transmission of PDSCH #2 from TRP2 may be associated with a second TCI state…”; teaches the first and second PDSCH is received with a second TCI state); the first PDSCH and the second PDSCH of the second set of PDSCHs carry different transport blocks (TBs) and/or the first PDSCH and the second PDSCH of the second set of PDSCHs are different; or the first PDSCH and the second PDSCH of the second set of PDSCHs carry the same TB and/or the first PDSCH and the second PDSCH of the second set of PDSCHs are same ([0066]; “…PDSCH #1 is transmitted in PRGs {0, 2, 4} from TRP1 and PDSCH #2 with the same TB…”; [0068]; “…where 4 PDSCHs for a same transport block (TB) are transmitted over 2 TRPs and in 4 consecutive slots. Each PDSCH may be associated with a different RV…”; teaches the PDSCH have the same transport block (TB)).
Regarding claim 19, Nilsson, as modified by Jiang, further teaches wherein a second PDSCH of the first set of PDSCHs and a second PDSCH of the second set of PDSCHs have the same TB ([0066]; “…PDSCH #1 is transmitted in PRGs {0, 2, 4} from TRP1 and PDSCH #2 with the same TB…”; [0068]; “…where 4 PDSCHs for a same transport block (TB) are transmitted over 2 TRPs and in 4 consecutive slots. Each PDSCH may be associated with a different RV…”; teaches the PDSCH have the same transport block (TB)); a RV value of the second PDSCH of the first set of PDSCHs and a RV value of the second PDSCH of the second set of PDSCHs are different; and a relationship between the RV value of the second PDSCH of the first set of PDSCHs and the RV value of the second PDSCH of the second set of PDSCHs are pre-defined, wherein the RV value of the second PDSCH of the first set of PDSCHs is indicated in the DCI ([0067]; “…Each PDSCH can be associated with a same or different redundancy version (RV). The transmission of PDSCH #1 from TRP1 may be associated with a first TCI state, while the transmission of PDSCH #2 from TRP2 may be associated with a second TCI state…”; [0068]; “…where 4 PDSCHs for a same transport block (TB) are transmitted over 2 TRPs and in 4 consecutive slots. Each PDSCH may be associated with a different RV…”; [0069]; teaches the redundant version (RV) is different for each PDSCH and the RV is defined in the DCI).
Claims 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NILSSON et al. (hereinafter Nilsson) (U.S. Patent Application Publication #2025/0056559 A1) in view of JIANG et al. (hereinafter Jiang) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0021499 A1), and further in view of Blankenship et al. (hereinafter Blankenship) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2025/0212217 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Nilsson, as modified by Jiang, discloses configuring the wireless device with a DCI schedule the first and second set of PDSCHs and a first TRP corresponding with a first TCI state and a second TRP corresponding to a second TCI state, but may not explicitly disclose wherein a first symbol of a first PDSCH of the second set of PDSCHs is an offset after a last symbol of a second PDSCH of the first set of PDSCHs.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Blankenship teaches and suggests wherein a first symbol of the first PDSCH of the second set of PDSCHs is an offset after a last symbol of a second PDSCH of the first set of PDSCHs (abstract; “…the offset between the last symbol of a first PDSCH and the first symbol of a second PDSCH…”; [0072]; [0123]; teaches an offset after last symbol of a first PDSCH and first symbol of another PDSCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate an offset after last symbol of a first PDSCH and first symbol of another PDSCH as taught by Blankenship with the method and apparatus for configuring the wireless device with a DCI schedule a first and second set of PDSCHs and a first TRP corresponding with a first TCI state and a second TRP corresponding to a second TCI state as disclosed by Nilsson, as modified by Jiang, for the purpose of providing time domain resource allocation for PDSCH transmission, as suggested by Blankenship.
Claims 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NILSSON et al. (hereinafter Nilsson) (U.S. Patent Application Publication #2025/0056559 A1) in view of JIANG et al. (hereinafter Jiang) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0021499 A1), and further in view of Matsumura et al. (hereinafter Matsumura) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2025/0344209 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Nilsson, as modified by Jiang, discloses configuring the wireless device with a DCI schedule a first and second set of PDSCHs and a first TRP corresponding with a first TCI state and a second TRP corresponding to a second TCI state, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the first set of RBs and the second set of RBs of the first set of PDSCHs are in lower part of a third set of RBs in frequency domain, and the first set of RBs and the second set of RBs of the second set of PDSCHs are in higher part of the third set of RBs in frequency domain, wherein the third set of RBs are indicated by the DCI; and the third set of RBs are indicated into RB groups (RBGs), where the first set of RBs and the second set of RBs of the first set of PDSCHs are RBGs with even index, and the first set of RBs and the second set of RBs of the second set of PDSCHs are RBGs with odd index.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Matsumura teaches and suggests wherein the first set of RBs and the second set of RBs of the first set of PDSCHs are in lower part of a third set of RBs in frequency domain, and the first set of RBs and the second set of RBs of the second set of PDSCHs are in higher part of the third set of RBs in frequency domain, wherein the third set of RBs are indicated by the DCI; and the third set of RBs are indicated into RB groups (RBGs), where the first set of RBs and the second set of RBs of the first set of PDSCHs are RBGs with even index, and the first set of RBs and the second set of RBs of the second set of PDSCHs are RBGs with odd index ([0098]; [0109]; “…The frequency resource allocation may be comb-shaped frequency resource allocation among multi-TRP. For a wideband precoding resource block group (PRG), first ceil (NRB/2) RBs may be allocated to a TCI state 1, and remaining floor (NRB/2) RBs may be allocated to a TCI state 2. For PRG size=“2” or “4”, PRGs with even-numbered indexes within the allocated frequency domain resource allocation (FDRA) may be allocated to the TCI state 1, and PRGs with odd-numbered indexes within the allocated FDRA may be allocated to the TCI state 2…”; [0113]; [0270]; teaches resource block of the frequency domain indicated by the DCI and indicated into RB groups with even and odd number index).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate resource block of the frequency domain indicated by the DCI and indicated into RB groups with even and odd number index as taught by Matsumura with the method and apparatus for configuring the wireless device with a DCI schedule a first and second set of PDSCHs and a first TRP corresponding with a first TCI state and a second TRP corresponding to a second TCI state as disclosed by Nilsson, as modified by Jiang, for the purpose of providing transmission of PDSCH of multi-TRP transmission, as suggested by Matsumura.
Regarding claim 15, Nilsson, as modified by Jiang, discloses configuring the wireless device with a DCI schedule a first and second set of PDSCHs and a first TRP corresponding with a first TCI state and a second TRP corresponding to a second TCI state, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the pre-configured first TCI state and/or the pre-configured second TCI state are a smallest codepoint among TCI codepoints containing two different TCI states; and when no codepoint containing two different TCI states, the pre-configured first TCI state and/or the pre-configured second TCI state follow a TCI state or a quasi co-location (QCL) assumption of a control resource set (CORESET) used for physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Matsumura teaches and suggests wherein the pre-configured first TCI state and/or the pre-configured second TCI state are a smallest codepoint among TCI codepoints containing two different TCI states; and when no codepoint containing two different TCI states, the pre-configured first TCI state and/or the pre-configured second TCI state follow a TCI state or a quasi co-location (QCL) assumption of a control resource set (CORESET) used for physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission ([0131]; [0137]; [0177]; “…determining one TCI state described above, in the case where TCI Field-Present information is not configured, or in the case where there is no TCI codepoint associated with two active TCI states, the UE is capable of properly determining one default QCL for multiple PDSCH…”; teaches pre-configured TCI state are at a lowest codepoint for two different TCI states and when no codepoint determining from a default QCL for multiple PDSCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate pre-configured TCI state are at a lowest codepoint for two different TCI states and when no codepoint determining from a default QCL for multiple PDSCH as taught by Matsumura with the method and apparatus for configuring the wireless device with a DCI schedule a first and second set of PDSCHs and a first TRP corresponding with a first TCI state and a second TRP corresponding to a second TCI state as disclosed by Nilsson, as modified by Jiang, for the purpose of providing transmission of PDSCH of multi-TRP transmission, as suggested by Matsumura.
Claims 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NILSSON et al. (hereinafter Nilsson) (U.S. Patent Application Publication #2025/0056559 A1) in view of JIANG et al. (hereinafter Jiang) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0021499 A1), and further in view of Park et al. (hereinafter Blankenship) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2026/0031892 A1).
Regarding claims 14 and 20, Nilsson, as modified by Jiang, discloses configuring the wireless device with a DCI schedule the first and second set of PDSCHs and a first TRP corresponding with a first TCI state and a second TRP corresponding to a second TCI state, but may not explicitly disclose wherein when at least one PDSCH among the first set of PDSCHs and the second set of PDSCHs is satisfied that a time interval between a last symbol of a PDCCH carrying the DCI and a first symbol of the PDSCH is smaller than a threshold, the first TCI state and/or the second TCI state are pre-configured; when any PDSCH among the first set of PDSCHs and/or the second set of PDSCHs is satisfied that a time interval between a last symbol of a PDCCH carrying the DCI and a first symbol of the PDSCH is greater than or equal to a threshold, the first TCI state and/or the second TCI state are determined by DCI field TCI; when at least one PDSCH among the first set of PDSCHs is satisfied that a time interval between a last symbol of a PDCCH carrying the DCI and a first symbol of the PDSCH is smaller than a threshold, the first TCI state is pre-configured; when at least one PDSCH among the first set of PDSCHs is satisfied that a time interval between a last symbol of a PDCCH carrying the DCI and a first symbol of the PDSCH is greater than or equal to a threshold, the first TCI state is determined by a first TCI state indicated by the DCI field TCI, wherein the DCI field TCI may indicate one or two TCI states; when at least one PDSCH among the second set of PDSCHs is satisfied that a time interval between a last symbol of a PDCCH carrying the DCI and a first symbol of the PDSCH is smaller than a threshold, the second TCI state is pre-configured; when at least one PDSCH among the second set of PDSCHs is satisfied that a time interval between a last symbol of a PDCCH carrying the DCI and a first symbol of the PDSCH is greater than or equal to a threshold, the second TCI state is determined by a second TCI state indicated by the DCI field TCI, wherein the DCI field TCI indicates two TCI states; or when at least one of a first PDSCH and a second PDSCH of the first set of PDSCHs and/or at least one of a first PDSCH and a second PDSCH of the second set of PDSCHs is not satisfied that a time interval between a reception of the DCI and at least one of the first PDSCH and the second PDSCH of the first set of PDSCHs and/or at least one of the first PDSCH and the second PDSCH of the second set of PDSCHs is greater than or equal to a threshold, the first TCI state and/or the second TCI state are pre-configured.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Park teaches and suggests when any PDSCH among the first set of PDSCHs and/or the second set of PDSCHs is satisfied that a time interval between a last symbol of a PDCCH carrying the DCI and a first symbol of the PDSCH is greater than or equal to a threshold, the first TCI state and/or the second TCI state are determined by DCI field TCI ([0272]; “…the threshold may comprise a minimum number of OFDM symbols required by the wireless device to perform a PDCCH reception with a DCI and to apply a spatial QCL information (e.g., TCI-state, etc.) received in (or indicated by) the DCI for a processing of a PDSCH scheduled by the DCI…”; teaches the PDSCH is satisfied a greater than or equal to a threshold of a time interval between symbols to apply the TCI-state of the DCI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the PDSCH is satisfied a greater than or equal to a threshold of a time interval between symbols to apply the TCI-state of the DCI as taught by Park with the method and apparatus for configuring the wireless device with a DCI schedule a first and second set of PDSCHs and a first TRP corresponding with a first TCI state and a second TRP corresponding to a second TCI state as disclosed by Nilsson, as modified by Jiang, for the purpose of providing transmission of PDSCH of multi-TRP transmission, as suggested by Park.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed May 21, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 2, and 4-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of JIANG et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0021499 A1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/Suk Jin Kang/
Examiner, Art Unit 2477
August 5, 2026