DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6-10, 13, and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 20220212710 A1) in view of Rios (DE 10337018 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Liu discloses a harness system (safety belt assembly 10, figs.3-6) for a stroller (fig.1), the harness system comprising: a first strap (belt 110, figs.3-6) affixed to the stroller; and a slide (adjusting component 130, figs.3-6) provided on the first strap. Liu fails to disclose one or more raised portion, wherein the one or more raised portions provide a resistance against movement of the slide across the one or more raised portions
However, Rios discloses one or more raised portion (3, figs.1-3), wherein the one or more raised portions provide a resistance against movement of the slide across the one or more raised portions (3 provides resistance to 4, figs.1-3).
Liu and Rios are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of harnesses. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Liu with the raised portion of Rios with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have combined prior art elements yielding predictable results of limiting movement of the slide to help secure the straps at certain lengths for better safety of the infant in the seat and prevent the straps from overtightening or making to loose.
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Liu in combination with Rios, Rios discloses wherein the one or more raised portions are separate from the first strap and are disposed on the first strap (3 is separate from the strap, figs.1-3).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Liu in combination with Rios, Liu discloses further comprising: a second strap (adjusting belt 120, figs.3-6) provided through the slide (adjusting component 130, figs.3-6), wherein the second strap is configured to be inserted into a buckle (500, figs.3-6) of the harness system.
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Liu in combination with Rios, Liu discloses wherein the second strap is configured to increase or decrease in tightness as the slide is moved along the first strap (adjusting belt 120 increases and decreases the tightness as adjusting component 130 is moved along the belt 110, figs.3-6).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Liu in combination with Rios, Liu discloses wherein the first strap is affixed to the stroller at a first end of the first strap and a second end of the first strap (fixing belt 110 is affixed to the seat 40 of the stroller, figs.1-6, paragraphs [0059-0060, 0068]).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Liu in combination with Rios, Rios discloses wherein the one or more raised portions extend outwards from a front side of the first strap and a back side of the first strap (3 extends on the front and back side of the strap as seen in figures 1-3).
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, 10-13, 15-17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 20220212710 A1) in view of Mori (US 4223917 A).
Regarding claims 1, 10, and 19, Liu discloses a harness system (safety belt assembly 10, figs.3-6) for a stroller (fig.1), the harness system comprising: a first strap (belt 110, figs.3-6) affixed to the stroller; and a slide (adjusting component 130, figs.3-6) provided on the first strap. Liu fails to disclose one or more raised portion, wherein the one or more raised portions provide a resistance against movement of the slide across the one or more raised portions
However, Mori discloses one or more raised portion (stoppers 38A and 38B, figs.1-2 and 5), wherein the one or more raised portions provide a resistance against movement of the slide across the one or more raised portions (stoppers 38A and 38B provide resistance against movement of the plate 26 across, figs.1-2 and 5).
Liu and Mori are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of harnesses. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Liu with the stoppers of Mori with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have combined prior art elements yielding predictable results of results of limiting movement of the slide to help secure the straps at certain lengths for better safety of the infant in the seat and prevent the straps from overtightening or making to loose.
Regarding claims 2, 11, and 19, Liu in combination with Mori, Mori discloses wherein the one or more raised portions are provided along the first strap at designed intervals (stoppers 38A and 38B are at design intervals for plate 26, figs.1-2 and 5).
Regarding claims 3, 12, and 20, Liu in combination with Mori, Mori discloses wherein the one or more raised portions comprise stitching into the first strap (stoppers 38A and 38B are sewn by sewing threads 40, fig.5).
Regarding claims 4, 13, and 20, Liu in combination with Mori, Mori discloses wherein the one or more raised portions are separate from the first strap and are disposed on the first strap (stoppers 38A and 38B, figs.1-2 and 5).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Liu in combination with Mori, Liu discloses further comprising: a second strap (adjusting belt 120, figs.3-6) provided through the slide (adjusting component 130, figs.3-6), wherein the second strap is configured to be inserted into a buckle (500, figs.3-6) of the harness system.
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Liu in combination with Mori, Liu discloses wherein the second strap is configured to increase or decrease in tightness as the slide is moved along the first strap (adjusting belt 120 increases and decreases the tightness as adjusting component 130 is moved along the belt 110, figs.3-6).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Liu in combination with Mori, Liu discloses wherein the first strap is affixed to the stroller at a first end of the first strap and a second end of the first strap (fixing belt 110 is affixed to the seat 40 of the stroller, figs.1-6, paragraphs [0059-0060, 0068]).
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-8, 10-11, 15-17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 20220212710 A1) in view of Hobson (US 6237999 B1).
Regarding claims 1, 10, and 19, Liu discloses a harness system (safety belt assembly 10, figs.3-6) for a stroller (fig.1), the harness system comprising: a first strap (belt 110, figs.3-6) affixed to the stroller; and a slide (adjusting component 130, figs.3-6) provided on the first strap. Liu fails to disclose one or more raised portion, wherein the one or more raised portions provide a resistance against movement of the slide across the one or more raised portions
However, Hobson discloses one or more raised portion (ridges 23 in strap 22, fig.1), wherein the one or more raised portions provide a resistance against movement of the slide across the one or more raised portions (ridges 23 provide resistance to the latch 26 across the strap 22, fig.1).
Liu and Hobson are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of harnesses. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Liu with the ridges of Hobson with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have combined prior art elements yielding predictable results of results of better securing the slide at different intervals for better safety of the infant in the seat and prevent the straps from overtightening or to loose.
Regarding claims 2, 11, and 19, Liu in combination with Hobson, Hobson discloses wherein the one or more raised portions are provided along the first strap at designed intervals (ridges 23 are at design intervals as seen in figure 1).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Liu in combination with Hobson, Liu discloses further comprising: a second strap (adjusting belt 120, figs.3-6) provided through the slide (adjusting component 130, figs.3-6), wherein the second strap is configured to be inserted into a buckle (500, figs.3-6) of the harness system.
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Liu in combination with Hobson, Liu discloses wherein the second strap is configured to increase or decrease in tightness as the slide is moved along the first strap (adjusting belt 120 increases and decreases the tightness as adjusting component 130 is moved along the belt 110, figs.3-6).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Liu in combination with Hobson, Liu discloses wherein the first strap is affixed to the stroller at a first end of the first strap and a second end of the first strap (fixing belt 110 is affixed to the seat 40 of the stroller, figs.1-6, paragraphs [0059-0060, 0068]).
Claim(s) 5 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 20220212710 A1) in view of Rios (DE 10337018 A1) or Mori (US 4223917 A) or Hobson (US 6237999 B1), and in further view of In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431.
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Liu in combination with Rios or Mori or Hobson discloses the harness system with one or more raised portions but fails to disclose wherein the one or more raised portions comprise a different color than the first strap.
However, In re Seid discloses that matters relating to ornamentation only which have no mechanical function cannot be relied upon to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. Having the color of the raised portion be different that the first strap is and aesthetic choice and has no mechanical function to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the raised portion a different color than the strap as an aesthetic design choice.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The prior art not relied upon but considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure is included in the 892 form. The art included has features related to claim limitations, the general structural of the invention, teachings, and other analogous art to the invention.
/IAN BRYCE SHELTON/Examiner, Art Unit 3613