DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 10, and 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Kim (US 20180050656 A1) a harness system (safety belts 10 with fastening device 20, fig.1) having straps (belts 10) with raised portions on a front side and back side (stoppers 112).
Powell (EP 2634038 A1) discloses a harness system (fig.7) having straps (webbing 4 and 5, figs.1-7) with raised portions on a front side and back side (stopping means 6, figs.1-7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6-8, 10-11, 13, 15-17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 20220212710 A1) in view of Kim (US 20180050656 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 10, and 19, Liu discloses a harness system (safety belt assembly 10, figs.3-6) for a stroller (fig.1), the harness system comprising: a first strap (belt 110, figs.3-6) affixed to the stroller; and a slide (adjusting component 130, figs.3-6) provided on the first strap, the slide comprising one or more apertures through which the first strap is disposed (adjusting component has apertures for belt 110 to go through as seen in figures 3-4). Liu fails to disclose one or more raised portion, wherein the one or more raised portions provide a resistance against movement of the slide across the one or more raised portions.
However, Kim discloses a sliding component (fastening clips 12) with aperture (slot for belts 11), and one or more raised portion (stoppers 112), wherein the one or more raised portions provide a resistance against movement of the slide across the one or more raised portions (stoppers 112 provide resistance against movement), and wherein the one or more raised portions are sized such that a combination of the first strap and the one or more raised portions is equal to or greater than a size of the one or more apertures (belt 11 with stoppers 112 is larger than the slot in the clips 12), and wherein the one or more raised portions extend outwards from a front side of the first strap and a back side of the first strap (stoppers 112 extend from both sides of the belt 11), and wherein sides of the first strap are devoid of the one or more raised portions (fig.1).
Liu and Kim are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of harnesses. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Liu with the raised portion of Kim with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have combined prior art elements yielding predictable results of limiting movement of the slide to help secure the straps at certain lengths for better safety of the infant in the seat and prevent the straps from overtightening or making to loose.
Regarding claims 2, 11, and 19, Liu in combination with Kim, Kim discloses wherein the one or more raised portions are provided along the first strap at designed designated intervals (belt 11 has holes 111 are intervals for stoppers 112, fig.1).
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Liu in combination with Kim, Kim discloses wherein the one or more raised portions are separate from the first strap and are disposed on the first strap (stoppers 112, fig.1).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Liu in combination with Kim, Liu discloses further comprising: a second strap (adjusting belt 120, figs.3-6) provided through the slide (adjusting component 130, figs.3-6), wherein the second strap is configured to be inserted into a buckle (500, figs.3-6) of the harness system.
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Liu in combination with Kim, Liu discloses wherein the second strap is configured to increase or decrease in tightness as the slide is moved along the first strap (adjusting belt 120 increases and decreases the tightness as adjusting component 130 is moved along the belt 110, figs.3-6).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Liu in combination with Rios, Liu discloses wherein the first strap is affixed to the stroller at a first end of the first strap and a second end of the first strap (fixing belt 110 is affixed to the seat 40 of the stroller, figs.1-6, paragraphs [0059-0060, 0068]).
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, 10-13, 15-17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 20220212710 A1) in view of Powell (EP 2634038 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 10, and 19, Liu discloses a harness system (safety belt assembly 10, figs.3-6) for a stroller (fig.1), the harness system comprising: a first strap (belt 110, figs.3-6) affixed to the stroller; and a slide (adjusting component 130, figs.3-6) provided on the first strap, and the slide comprising one or more apertures through which the first strap is disposed (adjusting component has apertures for belt 110 to go through as seen in figures 3-4). Liu fails to disclose one or more raised portion, wherein the one or more raised portions provide a resistance against movement of the slide across the one or more raised portions
However, Powell discloses a sliding component (buckle 1) with aperture (guiding means 3), and one or more raised portion (stopping means 6), wherein the one or more raised portions provide a resistance against movement of the slide across the one or more raised portions (stopping means 6 provide resistance to movement), and wherein the one or more raised portions are sized such that a combination of the first strap and the one or more raised portions is equal to or greater than a size of the one or more apertures (stopping means 6 with webbing 4 and 5 are equal to or greater than the guiding means 3, figs.1-7), and wherein the one or more raised portions extend outwards from a front side of the first strap and a back side of the first strap (stoppers 6 extend from the front and the back of the webbings 4 and 5, figs.1-6), and wherein sides of the first strap are devoid of the one or more raised portions (figs.1-6).
Liu and Powell are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of harnesses. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Liu with the stoppers of Powell with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have combined prior art elements yielding predictable results of results of limiting movement of the slide to help secure the straps at certain lengths for better safety of the infant in the seat and prevent the straps from overtightening or making to loose.
Regarding claims 2, 11, and 19, Liu in combination with Powell, Powell discloses wherein the one or more raised portions are provided along the first strap at designed intervals (stopping means 6, figs.1-6).
Regarding claims 3, 12, and 20, Liu in combination with Powell, Powell discloses wherein the one or more raised portions comprise stitching into the first strap (stopping means 6, figs.1-6).
Regarding claims 4, 13, and 20, Liu in combination with Powell, Powell discloses wherein the one or more raised portions are separate from the first strap and are disposed on the first strap (stopping means 6, figs.1-6).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Liu in combination with Powell, Liu discloses further comprising: a second strap (adjusting belt 120, figs.3-6) provided through the slide (adjusting component 130, figs.3-6), wherein the second strap is configured to be inserted into a buckle (500, figs.3-6) of the harness system.
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Liu in combination with Powell, Liu discloses wherein the second strap is configured to increase or decrease in tightness as the slide is moved along the first strap (adjusting belt 120 increases and decreases the tightness as adjusting component 130 is moved along the belt 110, figs.3-6).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Liu in combination with Powell, Liu discloses wherein the first strap is affixed to the stroller at a first end of the first strap and a second end of the first strap (fixing belt 110 is affixed to the seat 40 of the stroller, figs.1-6, paragraphs [0059-0060, 0068]).
Claim(s) 5 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 20220212710 A1) in view of Kim (US 20180050656 A1) or Powell (EP 2634038 A1) and in further view of In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431.
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Liu in combination with Kim or Powell discloses the harness system with one or more raised portions but fails to disclose wherein the one or more raised portions comprise a different color than the first strap.
However, In re Seid discloses that matters relating to ornamentation only which have no mechanical function cannot be relied upon to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. Having the color of the raised portion be different that the first strap is and aesthetic choice and has no mechanical function to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the raised portion a different color than the strap as an aesthetic design choice.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The prior art not relied upon but considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure is included in the 892 form. The art included has features related to claim limitations, the general structural of the invention, teachings, and other analogous art to the invention.
/IAN BRYCE SHELTON/Examiner, Art Unit 3613