Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the motor of claim 3 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 6 line 2, “…area so as to be separated from each other.” should read “…area separated from each other Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nissen et al. (US 2020/0172235).
Regarding claim 1, Nissen et al. ‘235 teaches (figures 1-5) a moving object/aircraft (10) comprising:
equipment/engine (24) and generator (38) belonging to a first group (clearly shown in the figure below) (Para 0024);
equipment/electronics of electrical bus (44) belonging to a second group (clearly shown in the figure below) (Para 0026); and
equipment/battery (46) belonging to a third group (clearly shown in the figure below) (Para 0026), wherein
the equipment belonging to the first group is disposed in a first area, the equipment belonging to the second group is disposed in a second area, the second area being located forward of the first area in a traveling direction of the moving object (clearly shown in the figure below),
the equipment belonging to the third group is disposed in a third area, the third area being located forward of the second area in the traveling direction (clearly seen in the figure below),
the equipment belonging to the first group includes an engine (24) and a power generator (38) driven by the engine (24) (Para 0024),
the equipment belonging to the third group includes a battery (26) (Para 0026), and
the equipment belonging to the second group includes an electric power device/electronics of electrical bus (44) configured to supply electric power from the power generator (38) to the battery (46) (Para 0026-0027).
Regarding claim 7, Nissen et al. ‘235 teaches (figures 1-5) the moving object wherein the first area includes a pair of engines (24s) and a pair of power generators (38s) (clearly seen in figure 5).
Regarding claim 8, Nissen et al. ‘235 teaches (figures 1-5) the moving object wherein the equipment belonging to the third group further includes a power distribution device/wires configured to distribute electric power output from the battery and the electric power output from the power generator (battery is connected via wiring directly or indirectly to generator; battery is charged using electric power output from generator and battery supplies electric power to motor).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nissen et al. (US 2020/0172235) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Heironimus (US 2021/0061477).
Regarding claim 2, Nissen et al. ‘235 teaches (figures 1-5) the moving object further comprising:
a passenger compartment located forward of the third area in the travelling direction (clearly shown in the figure above) (Para 0023; fuselage (12) comprises passenger compartment, thus at least a portion of the fuselage/passenger compartment is located forward of the third area),
a fourth area being located between the passenger compartment and the third area (clearly shown in the figure above)
but it is silent about the moving object wherein an air conditioner configured to perform air conditioning of the passenger compartment using heat generated from the battery is disposed in a fourth area.
Heironimus ‘477 teaches (figures 1-3) an electric aircraft (200) comprising a cabin thermal management system/air conditioner (220) located between battery pack (210) and the cabin (205) and in thermal communication with the battery pack (210) to serve as a heat source for the cabin (205) (clearly seen in figure 2) (Para 0026, 0035).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nissen et al. ‘235 to incorporate the teachings of Heironimus ‘477 to configure the moving object wherein an air conditioner configured to perform air conditioning of the passenger compartment using heat generated from the battery is disposed in a fourth area (air conditioner is between passenger compartment and the battery).
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would place air conditioner in between passenger compartment and battery, and utilizes battery as a heat source.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nissen et al. (US 2020/0172235) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Combs et al. (US 2020/0017228).
Regarding claim 3, Nissen et al. ‘235 teaches (figures 1-5) the moving object of claim 1 but it is silent about the moving object wherein the equipment belonging to second group includes an inverter configured to drive a motor configured to generate thrust for the moving object.
Nissen et al. ‘235 further teaches battery provides additional capability for increased power and electrical bus (44) include electronics necessary to condition power, switch between power outputs, dissipate power, and/or otherwise selectively direct electrical power to system (Para 0027).
Combs et al. ‘228 teaches (figure 5A) power flow diagram (500A) comprising battery pack (504A), inverter (514A) and electric motor (502A) powering propeller (506A) (Para 0050).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nissen et al. ‘235 to incorporate the teachings of Combs et al. ‘228 to configure the moving object wherein the equipment belonging to second group includes an inverter configured to drive a motor configured to generate thrust for the moving object.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would enable to use battery charge to power motor.
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nissen et al. (US 2020/0172235) and Combs et al. (US 2020/0017228) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Niergarth et al. (US 2018/0050810).
Regarding claims 4-5, modified Nissen et al. ‘235 teaches (figures 1-5) the moving object of claim 1 but it is silent about the moving object wherein the equipment belonging to the second group includes a radiator configured to cool the motor, and
the equipment belonging to the second group includes a duct through which outside air is supplied to the radiator.
Niergarth et al. ‘810 teaches (figure 11) cooling electric motor (334) using heat exchanger/radiator (408, 412) wherein outside airflow (402) is supplied to the heat exchanger/radiator (408, 412) through nacelle/duct (314) (Para 0076, 0082; heat exchanger/radiator (408, 412) is positioned closest to the motor where the source of outside air is present).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Nissen et al. ‘235 to incorporate the teachings of Niergarth et al. ‘810 to configure the moving object wherein the equipment belonging to the second group includes a radiator configured to cool the motor, and
the equipment belonging to the second group includes a duct through which outside air is supplied to the radiator (second area is a closest place to position radiator as proprotor gearbox (42) is positioned in front of the motor (40); radiator is within a duct).
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would cool motor and increase its performance.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nissen et al. (US 2020/0172235).
Regarding claim 6, Nissen et al. ‘235 teaches (figures 1-5) the moving object of claim 1 but it is silent about the moving object wherein a plurality of the electric power devices are arranged in the second area separated from each other.
However, since there are six electric motors (40s), the Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the art for each motor to have its own dedicated power device for the purpose of safety.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nissen et al. ‘235 to configure the moving object wherein a plurality of the electric power devices are arranged in the second area separated from each other.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would enhance overall safety and enhance performances of motors.
Conclusion
/ASHESH DANGOL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642