DETAILED ACTION
The present application is a domestic application filed 29 March 2024. Claims 1-17 are pending in the current application. Claims 9-17 are withdrawn as being drawn to a non-elected invention, see below. Claims 1-8 are examined on the merits herein.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 18 August 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 18 August 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a natural composition of matter without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) a nutraceutical composition comprising vitamins B1, B2, B3, B5, B6, B12, citicoline sodium, calcium pyruvate, and L-tyrosine. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because they are all naturally occurring. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
MPEP § 2106 sets forth the Subject Matter Eligibility Test to determine if a claim is directed to patent eligible subject matter. Step 1 asks if a claim is directed to a statutory category of invention. Applicant’s claims are directed to a composition, i.e. a product; thus, the answer to Step 1 is Yes.
Step 2A, Prong One, asks if a claim recites a product of nature. In this case, applicant’s claim 1 recites a nutraceutical composition comprising vitamins B1, B2, B3, B5, B6, B12, citicoline sodium, calcium pyruvate, and L-tyrosine. Claim 3 recites caffeine. And claim 6 further recites vitamin C. All of the aforementioned compounds are naturally occurring.
Thus, the claims are drawn towards a products of nature. MPEP § 2106.04(b) states that “When a claim recites a nature-based product limitation, examiners should use the markedly different characteristics analysis discussed in MPEP § 2106.04(c) to evaluate the nature-based product limitation and determine the answer to Step 2A.”
MPEP § 2106.04(c)(I) states that “if the nature-based product limitation is not naturally occurring, for example due to some human intervention, then the markedly different characteristics analysis must be performed to determine whether the claimed product limitation is a product of nature exception…”. To perform the markedly different characteristic analysis, MPEP § 2106.04(c)(II) states “The markedly different characteristics analysis compares the nature-based product limitation to its naturally occurring counterpart in its natural state. Markedly different characteristics can be expressed as the product’s structure, function, and/or other properties…”. MPEP section 2106.04 (c-I-B) states “the analysis turns on whether the nature-based product in the claim has markedly different characteristics from its naturally occurring counterpart…”.
In this case, the naturally occurring vitamins, citicoline, pyruvate and L-tyrosine support cellular energy production. The claims are also drawn towards using the aforementioned naturally occurring compounds to promote wakefulness/alertness by providing molecular support for glycolysis, Krebs cycle reactions, and electron transport chain (ETC) activity. The citicoline is present as a sodium salt, and the pyruvate is present as a calcium salt. The salt form of these compounds does not necessarily result in a markedly distinct change in the naturally occurring compounds. Furthermore, microencapsulated caffeine does not result in a markedly distinct change in caffeine itself. The claim is a mixture of the naturally occurring compounds, with citicoline and pyruvate in salt forms. Thus, the claims are drawn to mixtures of naturally occurring products.
There is no indication that mixing the vitamins, citicoline, pyruvate and L-tyrosine changes the structure, function, or other properties of the compounds in any marked way in comparison with the closest naturally occurring counterpart. Thus, the claimed mixture as a whole does not display markedly different characteristics in comparison with the naturally occurring counterparts. Therefore, the answer to Step 2A, Prong One, is Yes.
Thus, the analysis must move to Step 2A, Prong Two, which asks if the claim recites additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. As discussed in MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2) this evaluation is performed by identifying whether there are additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception and evaluating these additional elements to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. In this case, the claims are directed to composition with no additional ingredients in addition to the natural products. Thus, the answer to Step 2A, Prong Two, is No.
The analysis must then move to Step 2B which asks if claims recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. MPEP § 2106.05 states that this evaluation is performed by “Evaluating additional elements to determine whether they amount to an inventive concept requires considering them both individually and in combination to ensure that they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.” In this case, the additional element in the claims is the microencapsulated caffeine. However, MPEP § 2106.05(d) states that well-understood, routine, and conventional activities are not sufficient to show that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Mixing specific compounds does not amount to significantly more than a combination of judicial exception, and slowing the release of active agents is well-understood, routine, and conventional in the field for promoting cellular energy/wakefulness/alertness (see para [00032]-[0049] of the present Specification). Thus, the answer to Step 2B is No. Therefore, the claims are not directed to patent eligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "wherein the therapeutically effective amount of caffeine" in lines 2 and 3. Claim 6 depends directly from claim 1, which does not positively recite caffeine. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naidu et al. (US Patent No. 8,476,223, cited in PTO-892) in view of Naidu et al. (US Application Publication No. 2013/0064804, hereinafter the ‘804 Publication, cited in PTO-892), and in further view of Macchiarulo et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2026/0183325, cited in PTO-892), and Stohs (US Patent No. 7,645,742).
Naidu et al. teach a composition to improve sleep patterns in an individual comprising a trigger complex comprising lactoferrin, an elemental complex comprising a zinc metal salt, and a coenzyme complex (claim 1). The coenzyme complex comprises one or more cofactors selected from a group consisting of B-complex vitamins (claim 6). The B-complex vitamins are selected from the group consisting of Vitamins B1, B2, B4, B5, B6, B9 and B12, and combinations thereof (claim 7). The composition can be in the form of a food or beverage (claim 9). Naidu et al. teach an exemplary coenzyme/vitamin B-complex comprising 1.5 mg B1, 1.7 mg B2, 20.0 mg B3, 10.0 mg B5, 2.0 mg B6, and 6 µg B12 (table 3). Preferred embodiments additionally comprise pyruvate (col. 6: 58-63; col.7:30-53). Nadiu et al. teach a composition comprising the coenzyme complex in addition to 2.0 g pyruvate (table 6). The mixture increases the production of cellular and extracellular energy, i.e. ATP (col.1: 15-24). Generating ATP requires B-vitamin complex (col.2:32-40). The role each vitamin plays in energy production is described in col. 4:54 through col.5:50). The composition improves sleep patterns (title, abstract).
Naidu et al. do not expressly disclose L-tyrosine, citicoline sodium, calcium pyruvate (present claim 1). Naidu et al. do not expressly disclose caffeine (present claims 3 and 5). Naidu et al. do not expressly disclose vitamin C (present claims 6 and 7).
The ‘804 Publication teaches a composition to replenish energy, wherein the composition also improves sleep architecture: restoring sleep patterns (abstract). The composition comprises a B-vitamin mixture including vitamins B1, B3, B6, B12 (claims 10 and 11). The composition further comprises vitamin C and L-tyrosine (claim 19). Vitamin C can be present in an amount of 30-600 mg, preferably 60 mg (Table 5). L-tyrosine is present in an amount of 10-1000 mg, preferably 100 mg (Table 7).
Macchiarulo et al. is concerned with a nutraceutical composition for sustained release energy, mental focus, and physical recovery nutritional supplement blend (abstract). Macchiarulo et al. teach a composition comprising caffeine and citicoline (claim 1). The citicoline was in the form of a monosodium salt (para [0027]). Citicoline can be present in an amount ranging from 1 mg to about 1,000 mg (para [0020]). The caffeine is present in an amount ranging between 1 mg and about 600 mg (claim 4). Macchiarulo et al. teach the composition in the form of a functional food and beverage (title). The caffeine is released in a controlled-release formulation to provide the benefits of caffeine without its negative side effects (claim 1). Macchiarulo et al. teach the delivery form may be a microcapsule (para [0052]).
Stohs teaches a composition for increasing cellular energy, wherein that composition includes pyruvate (abstract). The pyruvate can be in the form of a calcium salt (col.6:41-55). The addition of pyruvate promotes increased cellular respiration and endurance, possibly by increased generation of ATP.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the vitamin B-complex of Naidu et al. with citicoline sodium and caffeine.
According to MPEP 2144.06: “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
Combining known therapies into a single therapy is a commonly applied method for identifying improved therapeutic outcomes with minimal adverse effect for the patient because each monotherapy is already known to be effective. Here, the vitamin B-complex and pyruvate was known to be critical for increasing cellular and extracellular levels of ATP/energy. Citicoline sodium and caffeine were provided to provide a sustained release of energy. Thus, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to combine the two drugs wherein they each produce different effects for increasing energy levels.
The ordinary artisan would have been further motivated to include calcium pyruvate with a reasonable expectation of success, because Naidu et al. teach a combination of the vitamin B-complex with pyruvate for increasing energy, and Stohs teach using pyruvate calcium salt for increasing cellular energy levels.
The skilled artisan would have been motivated to provide the caffeine as a microcapsule, because Macchiarulo et al. teach administering caffeine as part of a sustained release formulation to provide the benefits of caffeine without the negative side effects. The caffeine is part of a composition for sustained release energy, mental focus, and physical recovery nutritional supplement blend.
Thus, the claimed invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the combined teaching of the prior art.
Conclusion
In view of the rejections to the pending claims set forth above, no claim is allowed.
/BAHAR CRAIGO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1699