DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5, 12, 15-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nomiyama et al. (US 20190334480, hereinafter “Nomiyama”), in view of Tsuda (US 6088573, hereinafter “Tsuda”) and further in view of Labbe et al. (US 20180145589, hereinafter “Labbe”).
Regarding claim 1, Nomiyama discloses,
An electronic device (the wireless communication device 100, Fig. 1) comprising:
memory storing instructions (software executed by the baseband processor 112 and be stored in a predetermined memory region of the modem 110, [0066]);
a first modulator (Fig. 4A-4B; element 220, “the symbol tracking modulator 200 may include a first voltage supply circuit 220” [0046]. Fig. 5; element 320, the symbol tracking modulator 300 may include a first direct current (DC)-DC converter 320” [0052]. Examiner’s note: first voltage supply circuit/first DC-DC converter is considered to correspond to claimed “first modulator” because it generates PA supply voltage in response to a voltage-level control signal. );
a second modulator (Fig. 4A-4B; element 230, “the symbol tracking modulator 200 may include a second voltage supply circuit 230” [0046]. Fig. 5; element 330, the symbol tracking modulator 300 may include a first direct current (DC)-DC converter 330” [0052]. Examiner’s note: second voltage supply circuit/second DC-DC converter is considered to correspond to claimed “second modulator” because it also generates PA supply voltage in response to a voltage-level control signal.);
a first power amplifier (PA) (Fig. 1; element 170) electrically connected to the first modulator and the second modulator (The symbol tracking modulator 130 may modulate the voltage level of the selection supply voltage Vsel provided to the power amplifier 170, [0035]. Note: the symbol tracking modulator includes first voltage supply circuit 220 (i.e., the first modulator) and second voltage circuit 230 (i.e., the second modulator)) through a switch (Fig. 4A-4B; element 240. Fig. 5; element 340); and
at least one processor, comprising processing circuitry, operatively connected to the memory, first PA, the first modulator, and the second modulator (Referring to FIG. 8, the modem 110 may include a baseband processor 112 and an SPT control module 114. The SPT control module 114 may be software executed by the baseband processor 112 and be stored in a predetermined memory region of the modem 110. Furthermore, the SPT control module 114 may be implemented as hardware and control an SPT modulation operation separately from the baseband processor 112, Fig. 8 and [0066]),
wherein the instructions, when executed by at least one processor, individually and/or collectively (software executed by the baseband processor 112 and be stored in a predetermined memory region of the modem 110. Furthermore, the SPT control module 114 may be implemented as hardware and control an SPT modulation operation separately from the baseband processor 112, Fig. 8 and [0066]), cause the electronic device to:
activate the first modulator and the second modulator (The symbol tracking signal TS_SPT and the trigger signal Trigger_SPT may be variously implemented to control the symbol tracking modulator 130 to provide a selection supply voltage Vsel for tracking the RF signal RF.sub.IN to the power amplifier 170 for each symbol group section corresponding to the symbol group unit, [0034]. Note: the term “controlling the symbol tracking 130” is equated as activating.);
supply power of a first voltage or higher to the first PA (the symbol tracking modulator 130 to provide a selection supply voltage Vsel for tracking the RF signal RF.sub.IN to the power amplifier 170, [0034]), based on controlling at least one switch among a plurality of switches (i.e., SWc1, SWc2, SWc3 and SWc4, Fig. 5) included in each of the activated first modulator and second modulator (The first conversion control circuit 322 may control a switching operation of the switch elements SWc1 and SWc2 based on the comparison result, and the first DC-DC converter 320 may generate the first supply voltage VOUTa……. The second conversion control circuit 332 may control a switching operation on the switch elements SWc3 and SWc4 based on the comparison result, and the second DC-DC converter 330 may generate the second supply voltage VOUTb ).
However, Nomiyama does not disclose, activate modulator, based on identifying a first event associated with satellite communication. In the same field of endeavor, Tsuda discloses, activate modulator (The transmission power control loop may include a transmission power controller for receiving an input signal and controlling a transmission level for the signal in accordance with a control signal, Col. 4; lines 35-39. a transmission power controller 1 for controlling the transmission level of a modulation signal frequency converted by a frequency converter, a power amplifier 2 for power amplifying an output of the transmission power controller 1 to a predetermined transmission level, Col. 6; lines 57-64), based on identifying a first event (when a transmission channel for current use is to be changed over from the signalling channel to the communication channel, a response speed of the transmission power control loop is set to a low value, Col. 4; lines 11-17) associated with satellite communication ( a transmission power control apparatus for a mobile radio satellite communication system wherein a gateway station and a terminal/mobile station effect communication by a demand assignment using a signalling channel and a communication channel via a communication satellite, Col. 4; lines 1-7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nomiyama by specifically providing activate modulator, based on identifying a first event associated with satellite communication, as taught by Tsuda for the purpose of providing a system which allows frame synchronization maintenance and synchronization acquisition of a receiving station and optimum transmission power control with a simple construction which does not effect complicated control (Col. 3; lines 45-47).
Further, the combination of Nomiyama and Tsuda does not disclose, activate a ground switch connected to a ground included in any one of the first modulator or the second modulator, based on a first period, based on a first signal associated with the communication being input to the first PA supplied with the power. In the same field of endeavor, Labbe discloses, activate a ground switch (the register 74 is controlled to switch the switch 6 off and the ground switch 8 on, [0046]) connected to a ground (a ground switch connected between the switching node and electrical ground, [0030]) included in any one of the first modulator or the second modulator (a switched supply voltage in an envelope tracking power supply stage to a power amplifier, [0031]), based on a first period (The clock cycle is a time period T, Fig. 4 and [0044]), based on a first signal associated with the communication being input to the first PA supplied with the power (Such a switched supply stage may be utilised for providing a switched supply voltage in an envelope tracking power supply stage to a power amplifier. An envelope signal may be formed based on the input signal to be amplified, and the envelope signal provides a reference signal or reference voltage to the switched supply stage. The switched supply stage is used to generate an output voltage which provides a tracking power supply to the amplifier, the output voltage tracking the reference voltage provided by the envelope signal, Para. [0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Nomiyama and Tsuda by specifically providing activate a ground switch connected to a ground included in any one of the first modulator or the second modulator, based on a first period, based on a first signal associated with the communication being input to the first PA supplied with the power, as taught by Labbe for the purpose of providing an improvement to an apparatus utilising a current control loop [0009].
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Nomiyama, Tsuda and Labbe discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Nomiyama discloses, wherein a level of an output voltage of the activated first modulator corresponds to a level of an output voltage of the activated second modulator based on the power being supplied to the first PA (the first voltage supply circuit 220 may general a first supply voltage V.sub.OUTa based on the first voltage-level control signal VL_CS.sub.a, and the second voltage supply circuit 230 may generate a second supply voltage V.sub.OUTb based on the second voltage-level control signal VL_CS.sub.b. The switch circuit 240 may alternately select the first voltage supply circuit 220 and the second voltage supply circuit 230 for each symbol group section based on the switching control signal SW_CS and connect the selected voltage supply circuit to a power amplifier PA, [0046]-[0047]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Nomiyama, Tsuda and Labbe discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition Labbe discloses, wherein a first switch and a second switch among the plurality of switches included in each of the activated first modulator and second modulator are selectively activated based on a first duty cycle based on the power being supplied to the first PA ( FIG. 4(a) illustrates the clock signal at the clock input to the D-type flip-flop 74. The clock signal is derived from any kind of oscillator. It is externally generated and with a D-type flip-flop the duty cycle does not matter. The clock cycle is a time period T from t.sub.1 to t.sub.3…FIG. 4(b) illustrates the voltage V.sub.SW at the switching node 18. The signal at the switching node switches between V.sub.BAT and 0V (electrical ground). The clock cycle is T, and the pulse width at which the switching node is at V.sub.BAT is D×T, Fig. 4 and [0044]-[0049]).
Regarding claim 12, Nomiyama discloses,
A method of operating electronic device (the wireless communication device 100, Fig. 1) comprising:
activating (The symbol tracking signal TS_SPT and the trigger signal Trigger_SPT may be variously implemented to control the symbol tracking modulator 130 to provide a selection supply voltage Vsel for tracking the RF signal RF.sub.IN to the power amplifier 170 for each symbol group section corresponding to the symbol group unit, [0034]. Note: the term “controlling the symbol tracking 130” is equated as activating.) a first modulator (Fig. 4A-4B; element 220, “the symbol tracking modulator 200 may include a first voltage supply circuit 220” [0046]. Fig. 5; element 320, the symbol tracking modulator 300 may include a first direct current (DC)-DC converter 320” [0052]) and a second modulator (Fig. 4A-4B; element 230, “the symbol tracking modulator 200 may include a second voltage supply circuit 230” [0046]. Fig. 5; element 330, the symbol tracking modulator 300 may include a first direct current (DC)-DC converter 330” [0052]);
supplying power of a first voltage or higher to (the symbol tracking modulator 130 to provide a selection supply voltage Vsel for tracking the RF signal RF.sub.IN to the power amplifier 170, [0034]) a first power amplifier (PA) (Fig. 1; element 170) electrically connected to the first modulator and the second modulator (The symbol tracking modulator 130 may modulate the voltage level of the selection supply voltage Vsel provided to the power amplifier 170, [0035]. Note: the symbol tracking modulator includes first voltage supply circuit 220 (i.e., the first modulator) and second voltage circuit 230 (i.e., the second modulator)) through a switch (Fig. 4A-4B; element 240. Fig. 5; element 340), based on controlling at least one switch among a plurality of switches (i.e., SWc1, SWc2, SWc3 and SWc4, Fig. 5) included in each of the activated first modulator and second modulator (The first conversion control circuit 322 may control a switching operation of the switch elements SWc1 and SWc2 based on the comparison result, and the first DC-DC converter 320 may generate the first supply voltage VOUTa……. The second conversion control circuit 332 may control a switching operation on the switch elements SWc3 and SWc4 based on the comparison result, and the second DC-DC converter 330 may generate the second supply voltage VOUTb ).
However, Nomiyama does not disclose, activate modulator, based on identifying a first event associated with satellite communication. In the same field of endeavor, Tsuda discloses, activating modulator (The transmission power control loop may include a transmission power controller for receiving an input signal and controlling a transmission level for the signal in accordance with a control signal, Col. 4; lines 35-39. a transmission power controller 1 for controlling the transmission level of a modulation signal frequency converted by a frequency converter, a power amplifier 2 for power amplifying an output of the transmission power controller 1 to a predetermined transmission level, Col. 6; lines 57-64), based on identifying a first event (when a transmission channel for current use is to be changed over from the signalling channel to the communication channel, a response speed of the transmission power control loop is set to a low value, Col. 4; lines 11-17) associated with satellite communication ( a transmission power control apparatus for a mobile radio satellite communication system wherein a gateway station and a terminal/mobile station effect communication by a demand assignment using a signalling channel and a communication channel via a communication satellite, Col. 4; lines 1-7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nomiyama by specifically providing activating modulator, based on identifying a first event associated with satellite communication, as taught by Tsuda for the purpose of providing a system which allows frame synchronization maintenance and synchronization acquisition of a receiving station and optimum transmission power control with a simple construction which does not effect complicated control (Col. 3; lines 45-47).
Further, the combination of Nomiyama and Tsuda does not disclose, activating a ground switch connected to a ground included in any one of the first modulator or the second modulator, based on a first period, based on a first signal associated with the communication being input to the first PA supplied with the power. In the same field of endeavor, Labbe discloses, activating a ground switch (the register 74 is controlled to switch the switch 6 off and the ground switch 8 on, [0046]) connected to a ground (a ground switch connected between the switching node and electrical ground, [0030]) included in any one of the first modulator or the second modulator (a switched supply voltage in an envelope tracking power supply stage to a power amplifier, [0031]), based on a first period (The clock cycle is a time period T, Fig. 4 and [0044]), based on a first signal associated with the communication being input to the first PA supplied with the power (Such a switched supply stage may be utilised for providing a switched supply voltage in an envelope tracking power supply stage to a power amplifier. An envelope signal may be formed based on the input signal to be amplified, and the envelope signal provides a reference signal or reference voltage to the switched supply stage. The switched supply stage is used to generate an output voltage which provides a tracking power supply to the amplifier, the output voltage tracking the reference voltage provided by the envelope signal, Para. [0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Nomiyama and Tsuda by specifically providing activating a ground switch connected to a ground included in any one of the first modulator or the second modulator, based on a first period, based on a first signal associated with the communication being input to the first PA supplied with the power, as taught by Labbe for the purpose of providing an improvement to an apparatus utilising a current control loop [0009].
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Nomiyama, Tsuda and Labbe discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 12), further Nomiyama discloses, wherein a level of an output voltage of the activated first modulator corresponds to a level of an output voltage of the activated second modulator based on the power being supplied to the first PA (the first voltage supply circuit 220 may general a first supply voltage V.sub.OUTa based on the first voltage-level control signal VL_CS.sub.a, and the second voltage supply circuit 230 may generate a second supply voltage V.sub.OUTb based on the second voltage-level control signal VL_CS.sub.b. The switch circuit 240 may alternately select the first voltage supply circuit 220 and the second voltage supply circuit 230 for each symbol group section based on the switching control signal SW_CS and connect the selected voltage supply circuit to a power amplifier PA, [0046]-[0047]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Nomiyama, Tsuda and Labbe discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 12), in addition Labbe discloses, wherein a first switch and a second switch among the plurality of switches included in each of the activated first modulator and second modulator are selectively activated based on a first duty cycle based on the power being supplied to the first PA ( FIG. 4(a) illustrates the clock signal at the clock input to the D-type flip-flop 74. The clock signal is derived from any kind of oscillator. It is externally generated and with a D-type flip-flop the duty cycle does not matter. The clock cycle is a time period T from t.sub.1 to t.sub.3…FIG. 4(b) illustrates the voltage V.sub.SW at the switching node 18. The signal at the switching node switches between V.sub.BAT and 0V (electrical ground). The clock cycle is T, and the pulse width at which the switching node is at V.sub.BAT is D×T, Fig. 4 and [0044]-[0049]).
Regarding claim 17, Nomiyama discloses,
A non-transitory storage medium storing computer-readable instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, of an electronic device, cause the electronic device to perform at least one operation ((software executed by the baseband processor 112 and be stored in a predetermined memory region of the modem 110. Furthermore, the SPT control module 114 may be implemented as hardware and control an SPT modulation operation separately from the baseband processor 112, Fig. 8 and [0066])) comprising:
activating (The symbol tracking signal TS_SPT and the trigger signal Trigger_SPT may be variously implemented to control the symbol tracking modulator 130 to provide a selection supply voltage Vsel for tracking the RF signal RF.sub.IN to the power amplifier 170 for each symbol group section corresponding to the symbol group unit, [0034]. Note: the term “controlling the symbol tracking 130” is equated as activating.) a first modulator (Fig. 4A-4B; element 220, “the symbol tracking modulator 200 may include a first voltage supply circuit 220” [0046]. Fig. 5; element 320, the symbol tracking modulator 300 may include a first direct current (DC)-DC converter 320” [0052]) and a second modulator (Fig. 4A-4B; element 230, “the symbol tracking modulator 200 may include a second voltage supply circuit 230” [0046]. Fig. 5; element 330, the symbol tracking modulator 300 may include a first direct current (DC)-DC converter 330” [0052]);
supplying power of a first voltage or higher to (the symbol tracking modulator 130 to provide a selection supply voltage Vsel for tracking the RF signal RF.sub.IN to the power amplifier 170, [0034]) a first power amplifier (PA) (Fig. 1; element 170) electrically connected to the first modulator and the second modulator (The symbol tracking modulator 130 may modulate the voltage level of the selection supply voltage Vsel provided to the power amplifier 170, [0035]. Note: the symbol tracking modulator includes first voltage supply circuit 220 (i.e., the first modulator) and second voltage circuit 230 (i.e., the second modulator)) through a switch (Fig. 4A-4B; element 240. Fig. 5; element 340), based on controlling at least one switch among a plurality of switches (i.e., SWc1, SWc2, SWc3 and SWc4, Fig. 5) included in each of the activated first modulator and second modulator (The first conversion control circuit 322 may control a switching operation of the switch elements SWc1 and SWc2 based on the comparison result, and the first DC-DC converter 320 may generate the first supply voltage VOUTa……. The second conversion control circuit 332 may control a switching operation on the switch elements SWc3 and SWc4 based on the comparison result, and the second DC-DC converter 330 may generate the second supply voltage VOUTb ).
However, Nomiyama does not disclose, activating modulator, based on identifying a first event associated with satellite communication. In the same field of endeavor, Tsuda discloses, activating modulator (The transmission power control loop may include a transmission power controller for receiving an input signal and controlling a transmission level for the signal in accordance with a control signal, Col. 4; lines 35-39. a transmission power controller 1 for controlling the transmission level of a modulation signal frequency converted by a frequency converter, a power amplifier 2 for power amplifying an output of the transmission power controller 1 to a predetermined transmission level, Col. 6; lines 57-64), based on identifying a first event (when a transmission channel for current use is to be changed over from the signalling channel to the communication channel, a response speed of the transmission power control loop is set to a low value, Col. 4; lines 11-17) associated with satellite communication ( a transmission power control apparatus for a mobile radio satellite communication system wherein a gateway station and a terminal/mobile station effect communication by a demand assignment using a signalling channel and a communication channel via a communication satellite, Col. 4; lines 1-7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nomiyama by specifically providing activating modulator, based on identifying a first event associated with satellite communication, as taught by Tsuda for the purpose of providing a system which allows frame synchronization maintenance and synchronization acquisition of a receiving station and optimum transmission power control with a simple construction which does not effect complicated control (Col. 3; lines 45-47).
Further, the combination of Nomiyama and Tsuda does not disclose, activating a ground switch connected to a ground included in any one of the first modulator or the second modulator, based on a first period, based on a first signal associated with the communication being input to the first PA supplied with the power. In the same field of endeavor, Labbe discloses, activating a ground switch (the register 74 is controlled to switch the switch 6 off and the ground switch 8 on, [0046]) connected to a ground (a ground switch connected between the switching node and electrical ground, [0030]) included in any one of the first modulator or the second modulator (a switched supply voltage in an envelope tracking power supply stage to a power amplifier, [0031]), based on a first period (The clock cycle is a time period T, Fig. 4 and [0044]), based on a first signal associated with the communication being input to the first PA supplied with the power (Such a switched supply stage may be utilised for providing a switched supply voltage in an envelope tracking power supply stage to a power amplifier. An envelope signal may be formed based on the input signal to be amplified, and the envelope signal provides a reference signal or reference voltage to the switched supply stage. The switched supply stage is used to generate an output voltage which provides a tracking power supply to the amplifier, the output voltage tracking the reference voltage provided by the envelope signal, Para. [0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Nomiyama and Tsuda by specifically providing activating a ground switch connected to a ground included in any one of the first modulator or the second modulator, based on a first period, based on a first signal associated with the communication being input to the first PA supplied with the power, as taught by Labbe for the purpose of providing an improvement to an apparatus utilising a current control loop [0009].
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Nomiyama, Tsuda and Labbe discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 17), further Nomiyama discloses, wherein a level of an output voltage of the activated first modulator corresponds to a level of an output voltage of the activated second modulator based on the power being supplied to the first PA (the first voltage supply circuit 220 may general a first supply voltage V.sub.OUTa based on the first voltage-level control signal VL_CS.sub.a, and the second voltage supply circuit 230 may generate a second supply voltage V.sub.OUTb based on the second voltage-level control signal VL_CS.sub.b. The switch circuit 240 may alternately select the first voltage supply circuit 220 and the second voltage supply circuit 230 for each symbol group section based on the switching control signal SW_CS and connect the selected voltage supply circuit to a power amplifier PA, [0046]-[0047]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nomiyama, in view of Tsuda, in view of Labbe and further in view of Khlat (US 20170005619, hereinafter “Khlat”).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Nomiyama, Tsuda and Labbe discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however the combination of Nomiyama, Tsuda and Labbe does not disclose, at least one second PA electrically connected to at least one of the first modulator or the second modulator.
In the same field of endeavor, Khlat discloses, at least one second PA electrically connected to at least one of the first modulator or the second modulator (the dual-mode envelope tracking/average power tracking power converter circuitry 56 shown in FIG. 5 is only capable of providing the envelope tracking power supply signal EPS to the first power amplifier 58 and providing the average power tracking power supply signal APS to the second power amplifier 60, [0029]-[0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the combination of Nomiyama, Tsuda and Labbe by specifically providing at least one second PA electrically connected to at least one of the first modulator or the second modulator, as taught by Khlat for the purpose of reducing the overall size of the envelope tracking power converter circuitry can be significantly while providing multiple envelope tracking power supply signals [0014].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7-11 are allowed.
Statement of Reasons for Allowance
The following is an Examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
With respect to the allowed independent claim 7:
The prior art, Nomiyama et al. (US 20190334480, hereinafter “Nomiyama”), teaches:
“An electronic device (the wireless communication device 100, Fig. 1) comprising: memory storing instructions (software executed by the baseband processor 112 and be stored in a predetermined memory region of the modem 110, [0066]); a first modulator (Fig. 4A-4B; element 220, “the symbol tracking modulator 200 may include a first voltage supply circuit 220” [0046]. Fig. 5; element 320, the symbol tracking modulator 300 may include a first direct current (DC)-DC converter 320” [0052]); a second modulator (Fig. 4A-4B; element 230, “the symbol tracking modulator 200 may include a second voltage supply circuit 230” [0046]. Fig. 5; element 330, the symbol tracking modulator 300 may include a first direct current (DC)-DC converter 330” [0052]); a first power amplifier (PA) (Fig. 1; element 170) electrically connected to the first modulator and the second modulator (The symbol tracking modulator 130 may modulate the voltage level of the selection supply voltage Vsel provided to the power amplifier 170, [0035]. Note: the symbol tracking modulator includes first voltage supply circuit 220 (i.e., the first modulator) and second voltage circuit 230 (i.e., the second modulator)) through a switch (Fig. 4A-4B; element 240. Fig. 5; element 340); and at least one processor, comprising processing circuitry, operatively connected to the memory, first PA, the first modulator, and the second modulator (Referring to FIG. 8, the modem 110 may include a baseband processor 112 and an SPT control module 114. The SPT control module 114 may be software executed by the baseband processor 112 and be stored in a predetermined memory region of the modem 110. Furthermore, the SPT control module 114 may be implemented as hardware and control an SPT modulation operation separately from the baseband processor 112, Fig. 8 and [0066]), wherein the instructions, when executed by at least one processor, individually and/or collectively (software executed by the baseband processor 112 and be stored in a predetermined memory region of the modem 110. Furthermore, the SPT control module 114 may be implemented as hardware and control an SPT modulation operation separately from the baseband processor 112, Fig. 8 and [0066]), cause the electronic device to: activate the first modulator and the second modulator (The symbol tracking signal TS_SPT and the trigger signal Trigger_SPT may be variously implemented to control the symbol tracking modulator 130 to provide a selection supply voltage Vsel for tracking the RF signal RF.sub.IN to the power amplifier 170 for each symbol group section corresponding to the symbol group unit, [0034]. Note: the term “controlling the symbol tracking 130” is equated as activating.); supply power of a first voltage or higher to the first PA (the symbol tracking modulator 130 to provide a selection supply voltage Vsel for tracking the RF signal RF.sub.IN to the power amplifier 170, [0034]), based on controlling at least one switch among a plurality of switches (i.e., SWc1, SWc2, SWc3 and SWc4, Fig. 5) included in each of the activated first modulator and second modulator (The first conversion control circuit 322 may control a switching operation of the switch elements SWc1 and SWc2 based on the comparison result, and the first DC-DC converter 320 may generate the first supply voltage VOUTa……. The second conversion control circuit 332 may control a switching operation on the switch elements SWc3 and SWc4 based on the comparison result, and the second DC-DC converter 330 may generate the second supply voltage VOUTb ).”
The Prior art, Tsuda (US 6088573, hereinafter “Tsuda”), teaches:
“activate modulator (The transmission power control loop may include a transmission power controller for receiving an input signal and controlling a transmission level for the signal in accordance with a control signal, Col. 4; lines 35-39. a transmission power controller 1 for controlling the transmission level of a modulation signal frequency converted by a frequency converter, a power amplifier 2 for power amplifying an output of the transmission power controller 1 to a predetermined transmission level, Col. 6; lines 57-64), based on identifying a first event (when a transmission channel for current use is to be changed over from the signalling channel to the communication channel, a response speed of the transmission power control loop is set to a low value, Col. 4; lines 11-17) associated with satellite communication ( a transmission power control apparatus for a mobile radio satellite communication system wherein a gateway station and a terminal/mobile station effect communication by a demand assignment using a signalling channel and a communication channel via a communication satellite, Col. 4; lines 1-7).”
However, Nomiyama and Tsuda, whether taken alone or combination, do not teach or suggest the following novel features:
“wherein the instructions, when executed by the first modulator or the second modulator, cause the electronic device to: monitor an input voltage to the first PA based on the power of the first voltage or higher being supplied; and activate a ground switch connected to a ground corresponding to the first modulator or the second modulator by changing an output signal from a ramping oscillator corresponding to the first modulator or the second modulator, based on a second period, based on a first signal associated with the satellite communication being input to the first PA supplied with the power”, in combination with all the recited limitations of the claim 7.
Dependent claims 8-11 are allowed as those inherit the allowable subject matter from claim 7.
Claims 2, 3, 13, 14, 18 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 2, The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior arts, Nomiyama, Tasuda and Labbe, whether taken alone or in combination does not teach the following novel feature:
“wherein the instructions, when executed by at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, cause the electronic device to, as at least part of activating the ground switch connected to the ground included in any one of the first modulator or the second modulator, activate the ground switch included in any one of the first modulator or the second modulator for a second time after a first time from a time point at which the first signal starts to be input”, in combination with the other limitations in claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior arts, Nomiyama, Tasuda and Labbe, whether taken alone or in combination does not teach the following novel feature:
“wherein the instructions, when executed by at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, cause the electronic device to, as at least part of activating the ground switch connected to the ground included in any one of the first modulator or the second modulator, activate the ground switch included in any one of the first modulator or the second modulator for a second time after a first time from a time point at which the first signal starts to be input”, in combination with the other limitations in claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior arts, Nomiyama, Tasuda and Labbe, whether taken alone or in combination does not teach the following novel feature:
“wherein the activating of the ground switch connected to the ground included in any one of the first modulator or the second modulator, comprises: activating the ground switch included in any one of the first modulator or the second modulator for a second time after a first time from a time point at which the first signal starts to be input”, in combination with the other limitations in claim 12.
Regarding claim 14, The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior arts, Nomiyama, Tasuda and Labbe, whether taken alone or in combination does not teach the following novel feature:
“wherein the activating of the ground switch connected to the ground included in any one of the first modulator or the second modulator, comprises: activating, based on the first period, the ground switch included in any one of the first modulator or the second modulator for a second time within a third time from a time point at which a voltage input to the first PA reaches a maximum level”, in combination with the other limitations in claim 12.
Regarding claim 18, The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior arts, Nomiyama, Tasuda and Labbe, whether taken alone or in combination does not teach the following novel feature:
“wherein the activating of the ground switch connected to the ground included in any one of the first modulator or the second modulator, comprises: activating the ground switch included in any one of the first modulator or the second modulator for a second time after a first time from a time point at which the first signal starts to be input”, in combination with the other limitations in claim 17.
Regarding claim 19, The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior arts, Nomiyama, Tasuda and Labbe, whether taken alone or in combination does not teach the following novel feature:
“wherein the activating of the ground switch connected to the ground included in any one of the first modulator or the second modulator, comprises: activating, based on the first period, the ground switch included in any one of the first modulator or the second modulator for a second time within a third time from a time point at which a voltage input to the first PA reaches a maximum level”, in combination with the other limitations in claim 17.
Prior Art of the Record:
The prior art made of record not relied upon and considered pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure:
US 20210083635: A communication circuit, including a first supply modulator configured to provide a first supply voltage; a first power amplifier configured to generate a first output signal by amplifying a first input signal corresponding to a first operation frequency band, a second power amplifier configured to generate a second output signal by amplifying a second input signal corresponding to a second operation frequency band.
US 20210067097: An envelope tracking supply modulator for a power amplifier is disclosed. The envelope tracking supply modulator comprises a multilevel push-pull converter. The multilevel push-pull converter comprises a control logic configured to generate a first and second control signals based on an envelope reference signal; a source multilevel converter configured to receive the first control signal and generate a source multilevel power supply signal.
EP 3644500: Various embodiments disclose a method and a device including: an antenna, a switching regulator, communication chip including an amplifier and a linear regulator operably connected to the amplifier and the switching regulator, the communication chip configured to transmit a radio-frequency signal from the electronic device through the antenna; and control circuitry configured to control the communication chip such that the linear regulator provides the amplifier with a voltage corresponding to an envelope of an input signal input to the amplifier.
Conclusion
/GOLAM SOROWAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641