DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 3, line 3, the term “the SCS” should be changed to “a SCS”.
Regarding claim 17, line 3, the term “the SCS” should be changed to “a SCS”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 13-15, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (Pub No.: 2017/0290015) in view of Babaei (Pub No.: 2022/0294581).
Regarding claim 15, Xu et al. discloses a terminal (see UE in fig. 7), comprising a processor (see processor 702 in fig. 7), a memory (see memory 704 in fig. 7), and a program or an instruction that is stored in the memory and that can be run on the processor, wherein the program or the instruction, when executed by the processor, causes the terminal to perform:
sending UE capability information to a network side device, wherein the UE capability information is used to determine a first frequency domain resource that supports a first cell and/or a second frequency domain resource that supports a second cell in frequency domain resources (Xu et al. see para. 0022, 0024, 0056, 0059; receiving capability information reported by the UE about a capability of the UE to support switching of the uplink transmission primary carrier; and determining the transmission resources of the set of cells configured for the UE to serve the UE includes determining the transmission resources of the set of cells configured for the UE to serve the UE, based upon the capability information reported by the UE.). The UE reports capability information to the network side, wherein the capability information is used to determine transmission resources (e.g., transmission carriers) of the set of cells including a first cell and a second cell.
However, Xu et al. does not explicitly disclose the feature wherein the first cell is a cell that can be scheduled by a plurality of cells, and the second cell is at least some cells in the cells that schedule the first cell.
Babaei from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses the feature wherein the first cell is a cell that can be scheduled by a plurality of cells, and the second cell is at least some cells in the cells that schedule the first cell (Babaei see para. 0239, 0242; In para. 0239, …The plurality of cells may comprise a primary cell and one or more secondary cells. In an example, a first secondary cell in the one or more secondary cells may be a scheduling secondary cell (sSCell), In para. 0242, …the first configuration parameters may comprise a parameter indicating an identifier (e.g., serving cell index) of the first secondary cell as a scheduling SCell (sSCell) for the primary cell (e.g., PCell or PSCell).). Thus, the primary cell or the first cell can be scheduled by a plurality of secondary cells and sScell is at least some cells of the secondary cells that schedule the primary cell.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Xu et al. and to implement with the feature as taught by Babaei wherein the set of cells includes a primary cell that can be scheduled by a plurality of secondary cells and secondary cells (e.g., sScells) that schedule the primary cell.
The motivation would be to improve transmission efficiency.
Claims 1, 20 are rejected similarly to claim 15.
Regarding claim 13, Xu et al. discloses a UE capability reporting method, comprising: receiving, by a network side device, UE capability information from a terminal, wherein the UE capability information is used to determine a first frequency domain resource that supports a first cell and/or a second frequency domain resource that supports a second cell in frequency domain resources (Xu et al. see para. 0022, 0024, 0056, 0059; receiving capability information reported by the UE about a capability of the UE to support switching of the uplink transmission primary carrier; and determining the transmission resources of the set of cells configured for the UE to serve the UE includes determining the transmission resources of the set of cells configured for the UE to serve the UE, based upon the capability information reported by the UE.). The network (e.g., base station) receives capability information from the UE, wherein the capability information is used to determine transmission resources (e.g., transmission carriers) of the set of cells including a first cell and a second cell, and
providing, by the network side device, scheduling configuration for the terminal based on the UE capability information (Xu et al. see para. 0092; the UE receives the command to switch the uplink transmission primary carrier to the SCell, at an instance n of time, and then switches the uplink transmission primary carrier at an instance n+k of time, that is, the UE starts to transmit over the uplink transmission carrier of the SCell instead of the uplink transmission carrier of the PCell at the instance n+k of time, and the base station schedules the UE in the uplink over the SCell at the instance n+k of time). The network provides scheduling configuration/information to the UE based on UE capability information.
However, Xu et al. does not explicitly disclose the feature wherein the first cell is a cell that can be scheduled by a plurality of cells, and the second cell is at least some cells in the cells that schedule the first cell.
Babaei from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses the feature wherein the first cell is a cell that can be scheduled by a plurality of cells, and the second cell is at least some cells in the cells that schedule the first cell (Babaei see para. 0239, 0242; In para. 0239, …The plurality of cells may comprise a primary cell and one or more secondary cells. In an example, a first secondary cell in the one or more secondary cells may be a scheduling secondary cell (sSCell), In para. 0242, …the first configuration parameters may comprise a parameter indicating an identifier (e.g., serving cell index) of the first secondary cell as a scheduling SCell (sSCell) for the primary cell (e.g., PCell or PSCell).). Thus, the primary cell or the first cell can be scheduled by a plurality of secondary cells and sScell is at least some cells of the secondary cells that schedule the primary cell.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Xu et al. and to implement with the feature as taught by Babaei wherein the set of cells includes a primary cell that can be scheduled by a plurality of secondary cells and secondary cells (e.g., sScells) that schedule the primary cell.
The motivation would be to improve transmission efficiency.
Regarding claim 19, Xu et al. discloses a network side device (see base station in fig. 6), comprising a processor (see processor 602 in fig. 6), a memory (see memory 604 in fig. 6), and a program or an instruction that is stored in the memory and that can be run on the processor, wherein when the program or the instruction is executed by the processor, the UE capability reporting method according to claim 13 is implemented (see rejection for claim 13).
Regarding claim 14, Xu et al. discloses the feature wherein the UE capability information comprises resource indicator information, the resource indicator information indicates that the first frequency domain resource supports the first cell, and/or the resource indicator information indicates that the second frequency domain resource supports the second cell (Xu et al. see para. 0022, 0024, 0056, 0101; to report capability information about a capability of the UE to support switching the uplink transmission primary carrier to the network side). The capability information indicates switching the uplink transmission primary carrier that corresponds to a cell.
Claim(s) 2, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (Pub No.: 2017/0290015) in view of Babaei (Pub No.: 2022/0294581) as applied to claim 1 or 15 above, and further in view of Ouchi et al. (Pub No.: 2020/0296576).
Regarding claims 2, 16, Xu et al. in view of Babaei does not explicitly disclose the feature wherein the UE capability information indicates a band combination and a subcarrier spacing (SCS) of the band combination supported by the terminal.
Ouchi et al. from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses the feature wherein the UE capability information indicates a band combination and a subcarrier spacing (SCS) of the band combination supported by the terminal (Ouchi et al. see para. 0247; a transmitter configured to transmit second information related to the capability of the terminal apparatus, wherein the second information includes third information related to a band combination of operating bands used for carrier aggregation (CA), the band combination supported by the terminal apparatus, and in a case that more than one subcarrier spacings (SCSs) are supported by the terminal apparatus in each of the operating bands, the third information includes fourth information related to a SCS combination that can be applied to the band).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Xu et al. in view of Babaei et al. and to implement with the feature as taught by Ouchi et al. wherein the capability information includes a band combination and SCS of the band combination.
The motivation would be to improve transmission reliability.
Claim(s) 3, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (Pub No.: 2017/0290015) in view of Babaei (Pub No.: 2022/0294581) as applied to claim 1 or 15 above, and further in view of Yerramalli et al. (Pub No.: 2019/0141539).
Regarding claims 3, 17, Babaei discloses the feature wherein the first cell is a primary cell (Pcell) or a primary secondary cell (PScell), the second cell is a scheduling secondary cell (sScell) (Babaei see para. 0239, 0242; In para. 0239, …The plurality of cells may comprise a primary cell and one or more secondary cells. In an example, a first secondary cell in the one or more secondary cells may be a scheduling secondary cell (sSCell), In para. 0242, …the first configuration parameters may comprise a parameter indicating an identifier (e.g., serving cell index) of the first secondary cell as a scheduling SCell (sSCell) for the primary cell (e.g., PCell or PSCell).). Thus, the primary cell or the first cell can be scheduled by a plurality of secondary cells and sScell is at least some cells of the secondary cells that schedule the primary cell.
However, Xu et al. in view of Babaei does not explicitly disclose the feature the first frequency domain resource is the SCS supported by the first cell, and the second frequency domain resource is the SCS supported by the second cell.
Yerramalli et al. from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses the feature wherein the first frequency domain resource is the SCS supported by the first cell, and the second frequency domain resource is the SCS supported by the second cell (Yerramalli et al. see para. 0029, 0117, 0118; the set of time-frequency resources may be configured based on a capability of the UE, the first subcarrier spacing, the second subcarrier spacing, or any combination thereof.). The frequency resources are first and second SCSs supported by the first cell and second cell, respectively.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Xu et al. in view of Babaei et al. and to implement with the feature as taught by Yerramalli et al. wherein frequency resources include first SCS supported by a first cell and second SCS supported by a second cell.
The motivation would be to reduce cell interference.
Claim(s) 4, 5, 7, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (Pub No.: 2017/0290015) in view of Babaei (Pub No.: 2022/0294581) as applied to claim 1 or 15 above, and further in view of Jin (Pub No.: 2023/0247460).
Regarding claims 4, 18, Xu et al. in view of Babaei does not explicitly disclose the feature wherein the UE capability information comprises a resource indicator information, the resource indicator information indicates the first frequency domain resource, and/or the resource indicator information indicates the second frequency domain resource.
Jin from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses the feature wherein the UE capability information comprises a resource indicator information, the resource indicator information indicates the first frequency domain resource, and/or the resource indicator information indicates the second frequency domain resource (Jin see para. 0256-0259; The capability information of the terminal device may include a resource unit combination supported by the terminal device and a MIMO capability corresponding to each resource unit in the resource unit combination supported by the terminal device.). The capability information includes a first resource unit combination supported by the terminal device. The resource unit combinations supported by the terminal device include CA_1A-3A-7A, DC_1A-3A_n78A, DC_1A-7A_n78A, and DC 3A-7A_n78.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Xu et al. in view of Babaei et al. and to implement with the feature as taught by Jin wherein the UE capability comprises a resource indicator information that includes first frequency resource and/or second frequency resource.
The motivation would be to improve transmission reliability.
Regarding claim 5, Jin discloses the feature wherein the resource indicator information comprises first resource indicator information and/or second resource indicator information, the first resource indicator information indicates the first frequency domain resource, and the second resource indicator information indicates the second frequency domain resource (Jin see para. 0109, 0256-0259; The capability information of the terminal device may include a resource unit combination supported by the terminal device and a MIMO capability corresponding to each resource unit in the resource unit combination supported by the terminal device.). The capability information includes a first resource unit combination (read as the first resource indicator information) supported by the terminal device. The resource unit combinations supported by the terminal device include carrier resources: CA_1A-3A-7A, DC_1A-3A_n78A, DC_1A-7A_n78A, and DC 3A-7A_n78.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Xu et al. in view of Babaei et al. and to implement with the feature as taught by Jin wherein the UE capability comprises a first resource indicator information that indicates first frequency resource.
The motivation would be to improve transmission reliability.
Regarding claim 7, Jin discloses the feature wherein the UE capability information comprises first capability information and/or second capability information, the first capability information indicates the first frequency domain resource, and the second capability information indicates the second frequency domain resource (Jin see para. 0256-0259; The capability information of the terminal device may include a resource unit combination supported by the terminal device and a MIMO capability corresponding to each resource unit in the resource unit combination supported by the terminal device.). The capability information includes a first resource unit combination supported by the terminal device. The resource unit combinations supported by the terminal device include CA_1A-3A-7A, DC_1A-3A_n78A, DC_1A-7A_n78A, and DC 3A-7A_n78.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Xu et al. in view of Babaei et al. and to implement with the feature as taught by Jin wherein the capability information comprises first capability information that indicates supported first resource unit combination.
The motivation would be to improve transmission reliability.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (Pub No.: 2017/0290015) in view of Babaei (Pub No.: 2022/0294581) and Jin (Pub No.: 2023/0247460) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Gaal et al. (Pub No.: 2021/0120401).
Regarding claim 6, Xu et al. in view of Babaei and Jin does not explicitly disclose the feature wherein the resource indicator information comprises one or more bitmaps, and different bits in the bitmaps respectively correspond to the first frequency domain resource and the second frequency domain resource; or different bits in the bitmaps respectively correspond to the first cell and the second cell.
Gaal et al. from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses the feature wherein the resource indicator information comprises one or more bitmaps, and different bits in the bitmaps respectively correspond to the first frequency domain resource and the second frequency domain resource; or different bits in the bitmaps respectively correspond to the first cell and the second cell (Gaal et al. see para. 0058; the UE capability indication may comprise a set of bits, whereby a number of bits included in the set of bits may be equal to a number of duplex mode and frequency range combinations that are associated with (or available for) the communication feature (e.g., 1:1 mapping of bits per duplex mode and frequency range combination permitted for that communication feature)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Xu et al. in view of Babaei et al. and Jin and to implement with the feature as taught by Gaal et al. such that the resource indicator information comprises bitmap including bits correspond to different frequency resources.
The motivation would be to improve transmission efficiency.
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (Pub No.: 2017/0290015) in view of Babaei (Pub No.: 2022/0294581) as applied to claim 1 or 15 above, and further in view of Miao et al. (Pub No.: 2024/017440).
Regarding claim 8, Xu et al. in view of Babaei does not explicitly disclose the feature for determining the first frequency domain resource and/or the second frequency domain resource based on at least one of the following: determining at least part of the frequency domain resources with a low frequency domain position as the first frequency domain resource; determining at least part of the frequency domain resources with a high frequency domain position as the second frequency domain resource; determining at least part of the frequency domain resources with a small subcarrier spacing (SCS) as the first frequency domain resource; determining at least part of the frequency domain resources with a large SCS as the second frequency domain resource; determining at least part of the frequency domain resources with an SCS less than or equal to a first preset SCS as the first frequency domain resource; determining at least part of the frequency domain resources with an SCS greater than or equal to a second preset SCS as the second frequency domain resource; determining at least part of the frequency domain resources with a small associated bandwidth as the first frequency domain resource; determining at least part of the frequency domain resources with a large associated bandwidth as the second frequency domain resource; determining at least part of the frequency domain resources with an associated bandwidth less than or equal to a first preset bandwidth as the first frequency domain resource; determining at least part of the frequency domain resources with an associated bandwidth greater than or equal to a second preset bandwidth as the second frequency domain resource; determining at least part of the frequency domain resources with a small quantity of associated control resources as the first frequency domain resource; determining at least part of the frequency domain resources with a large quantity of associated control resources as the second frequency domain resource; determining at least part of the frequency domain resources with a quantity of the associated control resources less than or equal to a first preset control resource amount as the first frequency domain resource; or determining at least part of the frequency domain resources with a quantity of associated control resources greater than or equal to a second preset control resource amount as the second frequency domain resource
Miao et al. from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses the feature for determining the first frequency domain resource and/or the second frequency domain resource based on at least one of the following: determining at least part of the frequency domain resources with a low frequency domain position as the first frequency domain resource; determining at least part of the frequency domain resources with a high frequency domain position as the second frequency domain resource; determining at least part of the frequency domain resources with a small subcarrier spacing (SCS) as the first frequency domain resource; determining at least part of the frequency domain resources with a large SCS as the second frequency domain resource; determining at least part of the frequency domain resources with an SCS less than or equal to a first preset SCS as the first frequency domain resource; determining at least part of the frequency domain resources with an SCS greater than or equal to a second preset SCS as the second frequency domain resource; determining at least part of the frequency domain resources with a small associated bandwidth as the first frequency domain resource; determining at least part of the frequency domain resources with a large associated bandwidth as the second frequency domain resource; determining at least part of the frequency domain resources with an associated bandwidth less than or equal to a first preset bandwidth as the first frequency domain resource; determining at least part of the frequency domain resources with an associated bandwidth greater than or equal to a second preset bandwidth as the second frequency domain resource; determining at least part of the frequency domain resources with a small quantity of associated control resources as the first frequency domain resource; determining at least part of the frequency domain resources with a large quantity of associated control resources as the second frequency domain resource; determining at least part of the frequency domain resources with a quantity of the associated control resources less than or equal to a first preset control resource amount as the first frequency domain resource; or determining at least part of the frequency domain resources with a quantity of associated control resources greater than or equal to a second preset control resource amount as the second frequency domain resource (Miao et al. see para. 0048, 0057; In para. 0048, The determined frequency domain resource set may be indexed in order of the frequency of the reference carrier from low to high.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Xu et al. in view of Babaei et al. and to implement with the feature as taught by Miao et al. wherein the determined frequency resource is indexed in the order from low to high.
The motivation would be to enhance faster resource allocation.
Regarding claim 9, Miao et al. discloses the feature wherein one of the first frequency domain resource and the second frequency domain resource is a frequency domain resource that is in a plurality of frequency domain resources comprised in the frequency domain resources and that is sorted at a left position, a front position, or a high position (Miao et al. see para. 0044, 0048, 0057; In para. 0048, The determined frequency domain resource set may be indexed in order of the frequency of the reference carrier from low to high.). The frequency resource set is sorted from low to high or from high to low.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Xu et al. in view of Babaei et al. and to implement with the feature as taught by Miao et al. wherein the determined frequency resource is indexed in the order from low to high or from high to low.
The motivation would be to enhance faster resource allocation.
Regarding claim 10, Miao et al. discloses the feature wherein another of the first frequency domain resource and the second frequency domain resource is another frequency domain resource that is in the plurality of frequency domain resources comprised in the frequency domain resources and that is sorted at a right position, a back position, or a low position (Miao et al. see para. 0048, 0057; In para. 0048, The determined frequency domain resource set may be indexed in order of the frequency of the reference carrier from low to high.). The frequency resource set (including the another frequency domain resource) is sorted from low to high.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Xu et al. in view of Babaei et al. and to implement with the feature as taught by Miao et al. wherein the determined frequency resource is indexed in the order from low to high or from high to low.
The motivation would be to enhance faster resource allocation.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (Pub No.: 2017/0290015) in view of Babaei (Pub No.: 2022/0294581) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gaal et al. (Pub No.: 2021/0120401).
Regarding claim 11, Xu et al. in view of Babaei does not explicitly disclose the feature wherein one of the first frequency domain resource and the second frequency domain resource is a frequency domain resource that supports a specific capability or comprises a specific capability.
Gaal et al. from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses the feature wherein one of the first frequency domain resource and the second frequency domain resource is a frequency domain resource that supports a specific capability or comprises a specific capability (Gaal et al. see para. 0058; the UE capability indication may comprise a set of bits, whereby a number of bits included in the set of bits may be equal to a number of duplex mode and frequency range combinations that are associated with (or available for) the communication feature (e.g., 1:1 mapping of bits per duplex mode and frequency range combination permitted for that communication feature)). A frequency range supports a respective duplex mode (e.g., capability).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Xu et al. in view of Babaei et al. and to implement with the feature as taught by Gaal et al. wherein a frequency resource supports a specific capability.
The motivation would be to provide transmission efficiency.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (Pub No.: 2017/0290015) in view of Babaei (Pub No.: 2022/0294581) and Gaal et al. (Pub No.: 2021/0120401) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Wu (Pub No.: 2010/0267394).
Regarding claim 12, Xu et al. in view of Babaei and Gaal et al. does not explicitly disclose the feature wherein another of the first frequency domain resource and the second frequency domain resource is a frequency domain resource that does not support a specific capability or that does not comprise a specific capability.
Wu from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses the feature wherein another of the first frequency domain resource and the second frequency domain resource is a frequency domain resource that does not support a specific capability or that does not comprise a specific capability (Wu para. 0017, 0073; sending a capability information message indicating a component carrier capability to the network when the mobile device establishes a radio resource control connection with the network and enters a radio resource control connected state from the radio resource control idle state, wherein the component carrier capability excludes capability of the component carrier transmitting the MBMS message.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Xu et al. in view of Babaei et al. and Gaal et al. and to implement with the feature as taught by Wu wherein a frequency resource does not support a specific capability.
The motivation would be to reduce transmission error rate.
Examiner's Note
The Applicant is welcome to request a telephonic interview if the Applicant has any questions or requires any additional information that would further or expedite the prosecution of the application.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Skov et al. (Pub No.: 2014/0169343) discloses methods and apparatus for cell aggregation are disclosed. In accordance with one aspect information regarding a predefined maximum number of cells that can be aggregated by a communication device on a single carrier resource is sent by the communication device. Said Information is received by a network node where after control on cell aggregation can be based on the information, and the communication device can support cell aggregation on the single carrier resource up to said maximum number of cells.
Sun et al. (Pub No.: 2023/0362943) discloses apparatuses, systems, and methods for supporting cross carrier scheduling in LTE and NR dynamic spectrum sharing (DSS). A cellular base station may generate control information in accordance with a set of criteria, wherein the set of criteria supports a special Secondary Cell (sSCell) which is a Secondary Cell (SCell) in scheduling a special Primary Cell (SpCell) which is either a Primary Cell (PCell) or a Primary Secondary Cell (PSCell). The cellular base station sends the control information to a wireless device. The control information may be associated with Type3-PDCCH CSS configuration including DCI Format 2_5 and 2_6, SCell dormancy behavior, scheduling restrictions, USS configuration including non-fallback and fallback DCI Formats, and interaction with Multi-DCI Multi-TRP operation. After receiving the control information, the wireless device may conduct corresponding performance.
/KAN YUEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464