DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-17, 19-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 13, 15, 17, 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (Pub No.: 2022/0159770) in view of Babaei (Pub No.: 2022/0294581).
Regarding claim 15, Liu et al. discloses a terminal (see terminal device in fig. 11), comprising a processor (see processor 21 in fig. 11), a memory (see memory 22 in fig. 11), and a program or an instruction that is stored in the memory and that can be run on the processor, wherein the program or the instruction, when executed by the processor, causes the terminal to perform:
sending UE capability information to a network side device, wherein the UE capability information indicates a first frequency domain resource that supports a first cell and a second frequency domain resource that supports a second cell (Liu et al. see para. 0022, 0024; in para. 0022, the terminal device is configured to send a first capability report message when requesting to attach to a first cell, where the first capability report message indicates a frequency band support capability and a carrier aggregation capability of the terminal device. In para. 0024; …send a second capability report message when requesting to attach to a second cell, where the second cell is a cell different from the first cell, and the second capability report message indicates a frequency band support capability and a carrier aggregation capability of the terminal device.). The terminal sends capability information indicating a first frequency band support for a first cell and a second frequency band support for a second cell;
However, Liu et al. does not explicitly disclose the feature wherein the first cell is a cell that can be scheduled by a plurality of cells, and the second cell is at least a cell in the cells that schedule the first cell.
Babaei from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses the feature wherein the first cell is a cell that can be scheduled by a plurality of cells, and the second cell is at least a cell in the cells that schedule the first cell (Babaei see para. 0239, 0242; In para. 0239, …The plurality of cells may comprise a primary cell and one or more secondary cells. In an example, a first secondary cell in the one or more secondary cells may be a scheduling secondary cell (sSCell), In para. 0242, …the first configuration parameters may comprise a parameter indicating an identifier (e.g., serving cell index) of the first secondary cell as a scheduling SCell (sSCell) for the primary cell (e.g., PCell or PSCell).). Thus, the primary cell or the first cell can be scheduled by a plurality of secondary cells and sScell is at least some cells of the secondary cells that schedule the primary cell.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Liu et al. and to implement with the feature as taught by Babaei wherein the set of cells (e.g., the first cell and the second cell) includes a primary cell that can be scheduled by a plurality of secondary cells and secondary cells (e.g., sScells) that schedule the primary cell.
The motivation would be to improve transmission efficiency.
Claims 1, 20 are rejected similarly to claim 15.
Regarding claim 13, Liu et al. discloses a UE capability reporting method, comprising: receiving, by a network side device, UE capability information from a terminal, wherein the UE capability information indicates a first frequency domain resource that supports a first cell and a second frequency domain resource that supports a second cell in frequency domain resources (Liu et al. see para. 0022, 0024; in para. 0022, the terminal device is configured to send a first capability report message when requesting to attach to a first cell, where the first capability report message indicates a frequency band support capability and a carrier aggregation capability of the terminal device. In para. 0024; …send a second capability report message when requesting to attach to a second cell, where the second cell is a cell different from the first cell, and the second capability report message indicates a frequency band support capability and a carrier aggregation capability of the terminal device.). The terminal sends capability information indicating a first frequency band support for a first cell and a second frequency band support for a second cell; and
providing, by the network side device, scheduling configuration for the terminal based on the UE capability information (Liu et al. see para. 0174; the RRC connection reconfiguration message (RRC Connection Reconfiguration) carries frequency information, and a frequency selected by the network device falls within a frequency band range indicated by the frequency band identifier in the capability report message sent by the terminal device). The network device transmits the RRC connection reconfiguration message that carries frequency information and a frequency selected/scheduled by the network device based on the reported capability message sent by the terminal device.
However, Liu et al. does not explicitly disclose the feature wherein the first cell is a cell that can be scheduled by a plurality of cells, and the second cell is at least some cells in the cells that schedule the first cell.
Babaei from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses the feature wherein the first cell is a cell that can be scheduled by a plurality of cells, and the second cell is at least a cell in the cells that schedule the first cell (Babaei see para. 0239, 0242; In para. 0239, …The plurality of cells may comprise a primary cell and one or more secondary cells. In an example, a first secondary cell in the one or more secondary cells may be a scheduling secondary cell (sSCell), In para. 0242, …the first configuration parameters may comprise a parameter indicating an identifier (e.g., serving cell index) of the first secondary cell as a scheduling SCell (sSCell) for the primary cell (e.g., PCell or PSCell).). Thus, the primary cell or the first cell can be scheduled by a plurality of secondary cells and sScell is at least some cells of the secondary cells that schedule the primary cell.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Liu et al. and to implement with the feature as taught by Babaei wherein the set of cells (e.g., the first cell and the second cell) includes a primary cell that can be scheduled by a plurality of secondary cells and secondary cells (e.g., sScells) that schedule the primary cell.
The motivation would be to improve transmission efficiency.
Regarding claim 19, Liu et al. discloses a network side device (see network device in fig. 2, see para. 0159), comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or an instruction that is stored in the memory and that can be run on the processor, wherein when the program or the instruction is executed by the processor, the UE capability reporting method according to claim 13 is implemented (see rejection for claim 13).
Regarding claims 3, 17, 21, Babaei discloses the feature wherein the first cell is a primary cell (Pcell) or a primary secondary cell (PScell), the second cell is a scheduling secondary cell (sScell) (Babaei see para. 0239, 0242; In para. 0239, …The plurality of cells may comprise a primary cell and one or more secondary cells. In an example, a first secondary cell in the one or more secondary cells may be a scheduling secondary cell (sSCell), In para. 0242, …the first configuration parameters may comprise a parameter indicating an identifier (e.g., serving cell index) of the first secondary cell as a scheduling SCell (sSCell) for the primary cell (e.g., PCell or PSCell).). Thus, the primary cell or the first cell can be scheduled by a plurality of secondary cells and sScell is at least some cells of the secondary cells that schedule the primary cell.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Liu et al. and to implement with the feature as taught by Babaei wherein the first cell is a primary cell and the second cell is a scheduling secondary cell.
The motivation would be to improve transmission efficiency.
Claim(s) 2, 14, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (Pub No.: 2022/0159770) in view of Babaei (Pub No.: 2022/0294581) as applied to claim 1 or 15 above, and further in view of Yi et al. (Pub No.: 2022/0295484).
Regarding claims 2, 14, 16, Liu et al. in view of Babaei does not explicitly disclose the feature wherein the UE capability information indicating the first frequency domain resource that supports the first cell and the second frequency domain resource that supports the second cell comprises: the UE capability information indicating a band combination supported by the terminal and a subcarrier (SCS) supported by each band in the band combination, wherein the band combination is for the first cell and the second cell; or the UE capability information indicating a SCS of the first cell and a SCS of the second cell; or the UE capability information indicating a SCS of the first frequency domain resource and a SCS of the second frequency domain resource, wherein the first frequency domain resource supports the first cell and the second frequency domain resource supports the second cell
Yi et al. from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses the feature wherein the UE capability information indicating the first frequency domain resource that supports the first cell and the second frequency domain resource that supports the second cell comprises: the UE capability information indicating a band combination supported by the terminal and a subcarrier (SCS) supported by each band in the band combination, wherein the band combination is for the first cell and the second cell; or the UE capability information indicating a SCS of the first cell and a SCS of the second cell; or the UE capability information indicating a SCS of the first frequency domain resource and a SCS of the second frequency domain resource, wherein the first frequency domain resource supports the first cell and the second frequency domain resource supports the second cell (Yi et al. see para. 0365; …based on a capability of the wireless device for a pair of {a first SCS of a scheduling cell, a second SCS of a scheduled cell}.). Thus, the capability of the wireless device indicates a first SCS of the first cell and a second SCS of the second cell.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Liu et al. in view of Babaei et al. and to implement with the feature as taught by Yi et al. wherein the capability information indicates a first SCS of the first cell and a second SCS of the second cell.
The motivation would be to improve transmission reliability.
Claim(s) 4, 5, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (Pub No.: 2022/0159770) in view of Babaei (Pub No.: 2022/0294581) as applied to claim 1 or 15 above, and further in view of Jin (Pub No.: 2023/0247460).
Regarding claims 4, Liu et al. in view of Babaei does not explicitly disclose the feature wherein the UE capability information comprises a resource indicator information, the resource indicator information indicates the first frequency domain resource, and/or the resource indicator information indicates the second frequency domain resource.
Jin from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses the feature wherein the UE capability information comprises a resource indicator information, the resource indicator information indicates the first frequency domain resource, and/or the resource indicator information indicates the second frequency domain resource (Jin see para. 0256-0259; The capability information of the terminal device may include a resource unit combination supported by the terminal device and a MIMO capability corresponding to each resource unit in the resource unit combination supported by the terminal device.). The capability information includes a first resource unit combination supported by the terminal device. The resource unit combinations supported by the terminal device include CA_1A-3A-7A, DC_1A-3A_n78A, DC_1A-7A_n78A, and DC 3A-7A_n78.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Liu et al. in view of Babaei et al. and to implement with the feature as taught by Jin wherein the UE capability comprises a resource indicator information that includes first frequency resource and/or second frequency resource.
The motivation would be to improve transmission reliability.
Regarding claim 5, Jin discloses the feature wherein the resource indicator information comprises first resource indicator information and/or second resource indicator information, the first resource indicator information indicates the first frequency domain resource, and the second resource indicator information indicates the second frequency domain resource (Jin see para. 0109, 0256-0259; The capability information of the terminal device may include a resource unit combination supported by the terminal device and a MIMO capability corresponding to each resource unit in the resource unit combination supported by the terminal device.). The capability information includes a first resource unit combination (read as the first resource indicator information) supported by the terminal device. The resource unit combinations supported by the terminal device include carrier resources: CA_1A-3A-7A, DC_1A-3A_n78A, DC_1A-7A_n78A, and DC 3A-7A_n78.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Liu et al. in view of Babaei et al. and to implement with the feature as taught by Jin wherein the UE capability comprises a first resource indicator information that indicates first frequency resource.
The motivation would be to improve transmission reliability.
Regarding claim 7, Jin discloses the feature wherein the UE capability information comprises first capability information and/or second capability information, the first capability information indicates the first frequency domain resource, and the second capability information indicates the second frequency domain resource (Jin see para. 0256-0259; The capability information of the terminal device may include a resource unit combination supported by the terminal device and a MIMO capability corresponding to each resource unit in the resource unit combination supported by the terminal device.). The capability information includes a first resource unit combination supported by the terminal device. The resource unit combinations supported by the terminal device include CA_1A-3A-7A, DC_1A-3A_n78A, DC_1A-7A_n78A, and DC 3A-7A_n78.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Liu et al. in view of Babaei et al. and to implement with the feature as taught by Jin wherein the capability information comprises first capability information that indicates supported first resource unit combination.
The motivation would be to improve transmission reliability.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (Pub No.: 2022/0159770) in view of Babaei (Pub No.: 2022/0294581) and Jin (Pub No.: 2023/0247460) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Gaal et al. (Pub No.: 2021/0120401).
Regarding claim 6, Liu et al. in view of Babaei and Jin does not explicitly disclose the feature wherein the resource indicator information comprises one or more bitmaps, and different bits in the bitmaps respectively correspond to the first frequency domain resource and the second frequency domain resource; or different bits in the bitmaps respectively correspond to the first cell and the second cell.
Gaal et al. from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses the feature wherein the resource indicator information comprises one or more bitmaps, and different bits in the bitmaps respectively correspond to the first frequency domain resource and the second frequency domain resource; or different bits in the bitmaps respectively correspond to the first cell and the second cell (Gaal et al. see para. 0058; the UE capability indication may comprise a set of bits, whereby a number of bits included in the set of bits may be equal to a number of duplex mode and frequency range combinations that are associated with (or available for) the communication feature (e.g., 1:1 mapping of bits per duplex mode and frequency range combination permitted for that communication feature)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Liu et al. in view of Babaei et al. and Jin and to implement with the feature as taught by Gaal et al. such that the resource indicator information comprises bitmap including bits correspond to different frequency resources.
The motivation would be to improve transmission efficiency.
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (Pub No.: 2022/0159770) in view of Babaei (Pub No.: 2022/0294581) as applied to claim 1 or 15 above, and further in view of Miao et al. (Pub No.: 2024/017440).
Regarding claim 8, Liu et al. in view of Babaei does not explicitly disclose the feature for determining the first frequency domain resource and/or the second frequency domain resource based on at least one of the following: determining at least part of the frequency domain resources with a low frequency domain position as the first frequency domain resource; determining at least part of the frequency domain resources with a high frequency domain position as the second frequency domain resource; determining at least part of the frequency domain resources with a small subcarrier spacing (SCS) as the first frequency domain resource; determining at least part of the frequency domain resources with a large SCS as the second frequency domain resource; determining at least part of the frequency domain resources with an SCS less than or equal to a first preset SCS as the first frequency domain resource; determining at least part of the frequency domain resources with an SCS greater than or equal to a second preset SCS as the second frequency domain resource; determining at least part of the frequency domain resources with a small associated bandwidth as the first frequency domain resource; determining at least part of the frequency domain resources with a large associated bandwidth as the second frequency domain resource; determining at least part of the frequency domain resources with an associated bandwidth less than or equal to a first preset bandwidth as the first frequency domain resource; determining at least part of the frequency domain resources with an associated bandwidth greater than or equal to a second preset bandwidth as the second frequency domain resource; determining at least part of the frequency domain resources with a small quantity of associated control resources as the first frequency domain resource; determining at least part of the frequency domain resources with a large quantity of associated control resources as the second frequency domain resource; determining at least part of the frequency domain resources with a quantity of the associated control resources less than or equal to a first preset control resource amount as the first frequency domain resource; or determining at least part of the frequency domain resources with a quantity of associated control resources greater than or equal to a second preset control resource amount as the second frequency domain resource
Miao et al. from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses the feature for determining the first frequency domain resource and/or the second frequency domain resource based on at least one of the following: determining at least part of the frequency domain resources with a low frequency domain position as the first frequency domain resource; determining at least part of the frequency domain resources with a high frequency domain position as the second frequency domain resource; determining at least part of the frequency domain resources with a small subcarrier spacing (SCS) as the first frequency domain resource; determining at least part of the frequency domain resources with a large SCS as the second frequency domain resource; determining at least part of the frequency domain resources with an SCS less than or equal to a first preset SCS as the first frequency domain resource; determining at least part of the frequency domain resources with an SCS greater than or equal to a second preset SCS as the second frequency domain resource; determining at least part of the frequency domain resources with a small associated bandwidth as the first frequency domain resource; determining at least part of the frequency domain resources with a large associated bandwidth as the second frequency domain resource; determining at least part of the frequency domain resources with an associated bandwidth less than or equal to a first preset bandwidth as the first frequency domain resource; determining at least part of the frequency domain resources with an associated bandwidth greater than or equal to a second preset bandwidth as the second frequency domain resource; determining at least part of the frequency domain resources with a small quantity of associated control resources as the first frequency domain resource; determining at least part of the frequency domain resources with a large quantity of associated control resources as the second frequency domain resource; determining at least part of the frequency domain resources with a quantity of the associated control resources less than or equal to a first preset control resource amount as the first frequency domain resource; or determining at least part of the frequency domain resources with a quantity of associated control resources greater than or equal to a second preset control resource amount as the second frequency domain resource (Miao et al. see para. 0048, 0057; In para. 0048, The determined frequency domain resource set may be indexed in order of the frequency of the reference carrier from low to high.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Liu et al. in view of Babaei et al. and to implement with the feature as taught by Miao et al. wherein the determined frequency resource is indexed in the order from low to high.
The motivation would be to enhance faster resource allocation.
Regarding claim 9, Miao et al. discloses the feature wherein one of the first frequency domain resource and the second frequency domain resource is a frequency domain resource that is in a plurality of frequency domain resources comprised in the frequency domain resources and that is sorted at a left position, a front position, or a high position (Miao et al. see para. 0044, 0048, 0057; In para. 0048, The determined frequency domain resource set may be indexed in order of the frequency of the reference carrier from low to high.). The frequency resource set is sorted from low to high or from high to low.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Liu et al. in view of Babaei et al. and to implement with the feature as taught by Miao et al. wherein the determined frequency resource is indexed in the order from low to high or from high to low.
The motivation would be to enhance faster resource allocation.
Regarding claim 10, Miao et al. discloses the feature wherein another of the first frequency domain resource and the second frequency domain resource is another frequency domain resource that is in the plurality of frequency domain resources comprised in the frequency domain resources and that is sorted at a right position, a back position, or a low position (Miao et al. see para. 0048, 0057; In para. 0048, The determined frequency domain resource set may be indexed in order of the frequency of the reference carrier from low to high.). The frequency resource set (including the another frequency domain resource) is sorted from low to high.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Liu et al. in view of Babaei et al. and to implement with the feature as taught by Miao et al. wherein the determined frequency resource is indexed in the order from low to high or from high to low.
The motivation would be to enhance faster resource allocation.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (Pub No.: 2022/0159770) in view of Babaei (Pub No.: 2022/0294581) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gaal et al. (Pub No.: 2021/0120401).
Regarding claim 11, Liu et al. in view of Babaei does not explicitly disclose the feature wherein one of the first frequency domain resource and the second frequency domain resource is a frequency domain resource that supports a specific capability or comprises a specific capability.
Gaal et al. from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses the feature wherein one of the first frequency domain resource and the second frequency domain resource is a frequency domain resource that supports a specific capability or comprises a specific capability (Gaal et al. see para. 0058; the UE capability indication may comprise a set of bits, whereby a number of bits included in the set of bits may be equal to a number of duplex mode and frequency range combinations that are associated with (or available for) the communication feature (e.g., 1:1 mapping of bits per duplex mode and frequency range combination permitted for that communication feature)). A frequency range supports a respective duplex mode (e.g., capability).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Liu et al. in view of Babaei et al. and to implement with the feature as taught by Gaal et al. wherein a frequency resource supports a specific capability.
The motivation would be to provide transmission efficiency.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (Pub No.: 2022/0159770) in view of Babaei (Pub No.: 2022/0294581) and Gaal et al. (Pub No.: 2021/0120401) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Wu (Pub No.: 2010/0267394).
Regarding claim 12, Liu et al. in view of Babaei and Gaal et al. does not explicitly disclose the feature wherein another of the first frequency domain resource and the second frequency domain resource is a frequency domain resource that does not support a specific capability or that does not comprise a specific capability.
Wu from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses the feature wherein another of the first frequency domain resource and the second frequency domain resource is a frequency domain resource that does not support a specific capability or that does not comprise a specific capability (Wu para. 0017, 0073; sending a capability information message indicating a component carrier capability to the network when the mobile device establishes a radio resource control connection with the network and enters a radio resource control connected state from the radio resource control idle state, wherein the component carrier capability excludes capability of the component carrier transmitting the MBMS message.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Liu et al. in view of Babaei et al. and Gaal et al. and to implement with the feature as taught by Wu wherein a frequency resource does not support a specific capability.
The motivation would be to reduce transmission error rate.
Examiner's Note
The Applicant is welcome to request a telephonic interview if the Applicant has any questions or requires any additional information that would further or expedite the prosecution of the application.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Siomina et al. (Pub No.: 2020/0059894) discloses a method operating a wireless device in a wireless communication network. The method includes determining a carrier aggregation (CA) configuration for the wireless device to receive eMBMS data on multiple carriers of a dedicated mode type and/or a mixed mode type. The CA configuration is determined based at least partially on at least one of a pre- defined rule that delimits one or more acceptable characteristics for at least a portion of the multiple carriers, a capability of the wireless device that relates to receiving and decoding eMBMS data on multiple carriers, and a pre-defined set of acceptable CA configurations. The method includes configuring the determined CA configuration in the wireless device and performing one or more operational tasks under the configured CA configuration.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAN YUEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464