DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Action is in response to the Amendment filed July 20, 2026.
In view of the Amendment, some of the objections to the drawings (items 3 &5), the objection to the specification, and the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 USC 112, as set forth in the Office Action dated 02/19/2026, are withdrawn.
Claims 1 and 10-12 are amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to drawing objection that is not withdrawn (item 4 of the 02/19/2026 Office Action, while the specification may describe the missing features, the objection is to the drawings not showing them. As indicated in the Office Action, the problem may be because reference numerals 130A, 130B are not described in the specification. Consequently, a majority of conductive traces is not shown in Fig. 6 because only reference numeral 130 is described as a trace layer. While 2 traces are shown at the top of the body shown in Fig. 6, it is unclear what “a majority of the first trace” and/or “a majority of the second trace” is disposed on an outer surface of the frame. Thus, the drawings objection set forth in item 4 of the 02/19/2026 Office Action is maintained.
With respect to the rejection of claims 1-5, 8-14, and 15-20 under 35 USC 103, Applicant added a new limitation/feature: the first and second traces are electrically coupled with a first/second electrically conductive surface extending through the insulative body and radially outward beyond the surface of the insulative body. It is the Examiner’s position that this feature is taught by the US Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0167979 to Ruflin. See the rejection below.
The Examiner further points to Fig. 17B of the tertiary reference to Nemeh (US 2014/0093832), which shows that conductive material 950a, 950c separated by non-conductive material 960 that extends through the insulative/non-conductive body and radially outward from beyond the surface of the insulative/non-conductive body was known to those skilled in the treatment of oral maladies with electrical current.
Priority
Claims 1-20 have an effective filing date of March 29, 2024.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, a majority of the first trace and a majority of the second trace being disposed on an outer surface of the frame of claims 15-17 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. The Examiner notes that Fig. 6 shows reference numerals “130A” and “130B” which are not described. In addition, Fig. 9 shows reference numeral 130B pointed to a surface within the frame 140.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-14, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0167979 to Ruflin et al. (hereinafter referred to as “Ruflin”) in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0178005 to Johansson et al. (hereinafter referred to as “Johansson”).
Referring to claim 1, Ruflin discloses a device (e.g., Figs. 1-8, 100) comprising: an electrical circuit comprising an electrical power source (e.g., paragraph [0038]: electronics module 148 houses a circuit 200 as shown in Fig. 9 including a power supply 230); a frame substantially enclosing the electrical circuit (e.g., paragraph [0036]: body 110 includes insulative material 170 and electrically conductive material 180; and Fig. 8 -body 110 substantially enclosing the electronics module 148), the frame defining passage therethrough to enable a plurality of electrical couplings to the power source (e.g., paragraphs [0036]-[0037]: conductive material 180 is placed into electrical communication with electronics module 148 through one or more connection passages 174 as shown in Figs. 8 and 9); a first wire electrically coupled with a first of the electrical couplings (e.g., paragraph [0036]: A wire or other electrical connection can be used to connect electronics module to conductive material 180 shown in Figs. 8 and 9); a second wire electrically coupled with a second of the electrical couplings (e.g., paragraphs [0036]-[0037]: A wire or other electrical connection can be used to connect electronics module to conductive material such as anodic stem 162/anodic branches 164 as shown in Figs. 8 and 9); and an electrically insulative body extending longitudinally along an axis from a
first end to a second end and surrounding a majority of the frame and insulating the first wire from the second wire (e.g., paragraph [0036]: insulative material 170 is molded in a mold which may include a removable insert defining wells 172 that receive conductive material after the insulative material has cured indicates that the insulative material extends along an longitudinal axis from a first end to a second end and surrounds a majority of the frame and separates/insulates the cathodic elements from the anodic elements), wherein the first wire is electrically coupled with a first electrically conductive surface extending through the insulative body and radially outward beyond the surface of the insulative body (e.g., paragraph [0036]: on an external surface of at least one of the ridges 116, a cathodic element/trace is provided where the outer radial edge of the cathodic element 154 extends beyond the surface of the insulative body 170), and wherein the second wire is electrically coupled with a second electrically conductive surface extending through the insulative body and radially outward from the insulative body (e.g., paragraph [0036]: on an external surface of at least one of the ridges 116, an anodic element/trace 164 is provided where the outer radial edge of the anodic element 164 extends beyond the surface of the insulative body 170).
Ruflin differs from the claimed invention in that it does not expressly disclose that the electrical connections between the power source and the two electrically conductive surfaces is a trace. However, Johansson, in a related art: oral device with activating element, teaches that an activating member includes a power source for powering an activating element (electrodes) (e.g., paragraph [0045]) and that the electrical connections between the electrodes 224, 228 (electrically conductive surfaces extending through an insulative body) and the power source may be electrical traces formed on the surfaces of the insert, instead of wires embedded in the surface (e.g., paragraph [0054]). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefits of using traces to electrically couple electrically conductive surfaces extending through an insulating body to the power source in view of the teachings of Johansson. Consequently, one of ordinary skill in the art would have modified the device of Ruflin so that a first trace and a second trace are used to electrically couple the first and second electrically conductive surfaces that extend through the insulative body in view of the teachings of Johansson that such was a well-known engineering expedient in the oral stimulation art, and because the combination would have yielded a predictable result.
As to claim 2, Ruflin in view of Johansson teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein the first electrically conductive surface comprises a first rail and a first plurality of nubs (e.g., paragraph [0037] of Ruflin: cathodic stem 152 and a plurality of cathodic branches 154 (nubs) which are disposed on the radially outermost surface of respective ridges 116 of body 110; Figs. 1-2).
With respect to claim 3, Ruflin in view of Johansson teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein the second electrically conductive surface comprises a second rail and a second plurality of nubs (e.g., paragraph [0037] of Ruflin: anodic stem 152 and a plurality of anodic branches 164 (nubs) where the anodic stem extends along a majority of the length of the body, generally parallel to the longitudinal axis and the anodic branches 164 are disposed on the radially outermost surface of each ridge 116; Figs. 1, 6, and 8).
As to claim 4, Ruflin in view of Johansson teaches the device according to claim 3, wherein the first electrically conductive surface comprises a first rail and a first plurality of nubs (e.g., paragraph [0037] of Ruflin: cathodic stem 152 and a plurality of cathodic branches 154 (nubs) which are disposed on the radially outermost surface of respective ridges 116 of body 110; Figs. 1-2).
With respect to claim 5, Ruflin in view of Johansson teaches the device according to claim 4, wherein the first plurality of nubs and the second plurality of nubs are positioned in an alignment in a longitudinal direction parallel to the axis (e.g., paragraph [0037] of Ruflin: anodic branches 164 extend from anodic stem 162 extends along the majority of the length of the body, generally parallel to the longitudinal axis of the body, and cathodic branches 154 extend from cathodic stem 152 extends along the majority of the length of the body, generally parallel to the longitudinal axis of the body where the anodic stem is diametrically opposed from the cathodic stem).
As to claim 8, Ruflin in view of Johansson teaches the device according to claim 4, wherein the first rail and the second rail extend longitudinally along a majority of a length of the device between the first end and the second end (e.g., paragraph [0037] of Ruflin and Figs. 1, 152 and 6, 162).
With respect to claim 9, Ruflin in view of Johansson teaches the device according to claim 8, wherein the first plurality of nubs and the second plurality of nubs are positioned in an alignment in a longitudinal direction parallel to the axis, the alignment located between the first rail and the second rail (e.g., paragraph [0037] and Figs. 1 and 3 where the cathodic stem 152 (first rail) and the anodic stem 162 are opposed diametrically from one another and cathodic branches 154 anodic branches 164 are positioned in alignment between the first rail and the second rail).
As to claim 10, Ruflin in view of Johansson teaches the device according to claim 4, wherein the first trace is integrally formed with at least one of the first rail and the first plurality of nubs (e.g., paragraph [0037] of Ruflin: cathodic branches 154 are formed integrally with the stem 152, and anodic branches 164 are formed integrally with the stem 162).
With respect to claim 11, Ruflin in view of Johansson teaches the device according to claim 4, wherein the second trace is integrally formed with at least one of the second rail and the second plurality of nubs (e.g., paragraph [0037] of Ruflin: cathodic branches 154 are formed integrally with the stem 152, and anodic branches 164 are formed integrally with the stem 162).
As to claim 12, Ruflin in view of Johansson teaches the device according to claim 11, wherein the first trace is integrally formed with at least one of the first rail and the first plurality of nubs (e.g., paragraph [0037] of Ruflin: cathodic branches 154 are formed integrally with the stem 152, and anodic branches 164 are formed integrally with the stem 162).
With respect to claim 13, Ruflin in view of Johansson teaches the device according to claim 1, further comprising an enclosure at least substantially containing the power source, the enclosure being received within the frame (e.g., paragraph [0038]: electronics module 148 houses a circuit 200 and a power source 230).
As to claim 14, Ruflin in view of Johansson teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein the electrical circuit is defined at least in part by a printed circuit board (e.g., paragraph [0038]: circuit 200 includes a control board 210 of known types).
With respect to claim 15, Ruflin in view of Johansson teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein a majority of the first trace is disposed on an outer surface of the frame (e.g., paragraph [0054] of Johansson: connections made between electrodes 224, 228 and the power source are made by leads 221, 226 that are formed on one of the surfaces of the insert of Figs. 2A-B).
As to claim 16, Ruflin in view of Johansson teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein a majority of the second trace is disposed on an outer surface of the frame (e.g., paragraph [0054] of Johansson: connections made between electrodes 224, 228 and the power source are made by leads 221, 226 that are formed on one of the surfaces of the insert of Figs. 2A-B).
With respect to claim 17, Ruflin in view of Johansson teaches the device according to claim 16, wherein a majority of the first trace is disposed on the outer surface of the frame (e.g., paragraph [0054] of Johansson: connections made between electrodes 224, 228 and the power source are made by leads 221, 226 that are formed on one of the surfaces of the insert of Figs. 2A-B).
Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have modified the device of Ruflin in view of Johansson further to have the features of claims 15-17 in view of the teachings of Johansson. Consequently, one of ordinary skill in the art would have modified the device of Ruflin in view of Johansson so that the first and second trace is disposed on an outer surface of the frame in view of the teachings of Johansson that such was a well-known engineering expedient in the oral stimulation art, and because the combination would have yielded a predictable result.
Regarding claim 18, Ruflin in view of Johansson teaches a method comprising the steps of: providing a device according to claim 1 to a domesticated animal (e.g., paragraph [0043] of Ruflin: the present invention may be used to reduce oral bacterial and/or biofilm, as well as to treat diseases associated with oral bacteria in non-human animals including dogs and cats); and using the electrical circuit, delivering an electrical current to, through, or across at least one of a tooth, gingival tissue, and saliva located in or about a mouth of the animal (e.g., paragraph [0042] of Ruflin: delivering electrical current through the electrodes and to at least one of saliva and oral tissue (e.g., dental tissue, gingival tissue, periodontal tissue, and oral mucosa tissue).
With respect to claim 19, Ruflin in view of Johansson teaches the method according to claim 18, wherein the animal is selected from the group consisting of a bovine, ovine, canine, equine, caprine, and porcine (e.g., [0043]-[0048] of Ruflin).
As to claim 20, Ruflin in view of Johansson teaches the method according to claim 18, wherein the delivery of electrical current provides at least one of a therapeutic, prophylactic, and regenerative benefit (e.g., abstract: electrodes are used to deliver an electric current to gingival tissues of a mouth to achieve therapeutic, prophylactic, and regenerative benefits).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruflin in view of Johansson as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0093832 to Nemeh et al. (hereinafter referred to as “Nemeh”).
With respect to claim 6, Ruflin in view of Johansson teaches the device according to claim 5, but does not expressly disclose that the first plurality of nubs and the second plurality of nubs alternate along the alignment. However, Nemeh, in a related art: treatment of oral and systemic maladies in animals using electrical current, teaches that electrodes extend substantially longitudinally along the body and alternate cathodic electrode (nub)/anodic electrode (nub) about the body periphery (e.g., Nemeh paragraph [0125] and Figs. 17A-17B, electrodes 940, 942). Ruflin discloses that alternative shapes and configuration that maintain a spaced cathodic electrode 150 and anodic electrode 160 configuration are within the scope of the present invention (e.g., paragraph [0037]). Thus, Ruflin contemplated other cathodic electrode/anodic electrode configurations. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefits of alternating the cathodic electrode and the anodic electrode about the body in view of the teachings of Nemeh. Consequently, one of ordinary skill in the art would have modified the device of Ruflin in view of Johansson so that the first plurality of nubs and the second plurality of nubs alternate along the alignment in view of the teachings of Nemeh that such was a well-known configuration for electrodes in the oral stimulation art, and because the combination would have yielded a predictable result.
As to claim 7, Ruflin in view of Johansson teaches the device according to claim 6, wherein the first plurality of nubs and the second plurality of nubs singularly alternate along the alignment e.g., paragraph [0037] of Ruflin: Alternative shapes and configurations that maintain a spaced cathodic electrode and anodic configuration are within the scope of the present invention; and Nemeh paragraph [0125] and Figs. 17A-17B, electrodes 940, 942). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefits of alternating the cathodic electrode and the anodic electrode about the body in view of the teachings of Nemeh. Consequently, one of ordinary skill in the art would have modified the device of Ruflin in view of Johansson so that the first plurality of nubs and the second plurality of nubs singularly alternate along the alignment in view of the teachings of Nemeh that such was a well-known configuration for electrodes in the oral stimulation art, and because the combination would have yielded a predictable result.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CATHERINE M VOORHEES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792