DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 09/05/2025 comply with all application rules and regulations. Therefore, the information referred to therein have been considered.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Remarks
This Office action is considered fully responsive to the amendments filed 12/09/2025.
a) Claims 1-7, 13-18, and 21-24 are pending in the application. Claims 1- 7, 15-18, and 21-24 have been amended, claims 8-12 and 19-20 have been canceled, and claims 13-14 were previously presented. The claim objection is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments. We take notes of your statements regarding Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 and Claim Interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/09/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues in substance that:
The Office Action failed to teach "a power ramping step selected from a first power ramping step corresponding to a half-duplex power ramping step, a second power ramping step corresponding to a sub-band full-duplex (SBFD) power ramping step, a third power ramping step corresponding to a half-duplex to SBFD power ramping step, and a fourth power ramping step corresponding to a SBFD to half- duplex power ramping step, wherein the power ramping step is selected based on an order of a respective slot type of each of the first slot and the second slot." (Page 10 and 11, and 12, Remarks).
In response to A) the examiner respectfully disagrees. Rudolf discloses at [0192], lines 5-8, “the UE applies different power ramping step size, power ramping counters and/or preamble counters for XDD slots compared to normal UL slots”, which describes the third power ramping step to transition from HD-FD, [0233], 3-5, describe the formula of the power ramping which include the power ramping step which can be configured differently for slot types, [0198], lines 3-15, the different values for the power ramping step can be tabulated for RA transmission [0221], describe a scenario for retransmission, where the transition occur from HD to FD and then to HD slot type ( which is related to half-duplex to SBFD power ramping step and SBFD to half-duplex power ramping step), as stated “the UE is configured with a rachMaxPowerFD value where FD denotes FD transmission. When attempting RA (PRACH transmission) using XDD or FD radio resources, the UE increases PRACH transmission power during each PRACH preamble transmission attempt using PREAMBLE_ POWER_RAMPING_COUNTER, DELTA_PREAMBLE, and PREAMBLE_POWER_RAMPING_STEP on the XDD or FD RACH opportunities. If a transmission power reaches a value of rachMaxPowerFD, the UE re-selects RA resources only from the set of configured RACH opportunities in normal, such as full, UL slots.” That implies at the transition from HD to FD slot, the UE sets the PREAMBLE_POWER_ RAMPING_STEP to powerRampingStepFD, but when the transmission power value (rachMaxPowerFD) reaches the Max value, the UE return to use the normal UL slot (HD), which is called fallback scenario. Fallback to HD mode described in [0233] “When a configured maximum of PRACH preamble re-transmissions using XDD slot(s) is attained, the UE falls back to RA in normal UL slots. The PREAMBLE_POWER_RAMPING_STEP and/or PCMAX values may change or remain the same during fallback. For example, if a same PCMAX value is configured to be valid for RA in a normal UL slot, the UE maintains the value. The value for PREAMBLE_ POWER_RAMPING_STEP may change when the UE changes the preamble format, such as from preamble format 0 in XDD slot(s) to CO in normal UL slot(s). The UE continues to attempt PRACH preamble transmission after the fallback event using these parameter values.” From the above the second transmit power is increased by a power ramping step selected based on the transition from HD to FD or FD to HD slots, which means based on the order of a respective slot type of each of the first slot and the second slot, where the power ramping step can be adjusted if the transition occur to different slot type such as FD (XDD, SBFD) or HD (UL) slot type, as stated “When the UE re-selects RACH opportunities in normal UL slots, the preamble format may change. Similar, the UE may adjust current or accumulated counter or transmission power values as described in other embodiments of the disclosure”. In another scenario, the second one is illustrated in Fig. 19, and [0233], lines 16-19. A fallback scenario is described in [0251], lines 11-17, where the UE transitions between FD/XDD and HD/normal UL slots during the RA procedure (PRACH transmission), the power ramping step will be adjusted since they have different RACH configurations and parameters as stated in [0190], lines 5-16 and [0219], lines 12-15, which means the increasing in the power can be adjusted using power ramp step and based on the different order of slot types. In addition, [0122] describe the relation between the counter with the transmission power, as states “For every PRACH preamble re-transmission attempt, the UE increases the PREAMBLE_TRANSMISSION_COUNTER by 1 and applies an adjustment value DELTA_PREAMBLE to determine a transmission power for a subsequent PRACH transmission, as escribed in Equation (2)”, which confirms in [0221]). Therefore, the office action still teaches the limitations as currently claimed.
The combination of Rudolf and Jeon does not disclose, teach or suggest each and every feature recited in independent claim 1 and similarly recited in independent claims 15 and 21. (Page 12, Remarks).
In response to B) the examiner respectfully disagrees. Rudolf teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) , the apparatus comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors being configured to cause the UE to ([0067], [0068] and Fig. 3 illustrates an apparatus as user equipment (UE), UE comprises Tx and RX processing circuitry which include one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors): wherein the second transmit power is increased with respect to the first transmit power by a power ramping step selected from a first power ramping step corresponding to a half-duplex power ramping step, a second power ramping step corresponding to a sub-band full-duplex (SBFD) power ramping step ([0192], lines 5-8, and Fig. 13, “During RA, the UE applies different power ramping step size, power ramping counters and/or preamble counters for XDD slots compared to normal UL slots.” That implies the FD (XDD slot) and HD (normal UL slot) have different power ramping step, and in [0233], lines 16-19, “The value for PREAMBLE_POWER_RAMPING_STEP may change when the UE changes the preamble format, such as from preamble format 0 in XDD slot(s) to CO in normal UL slot(s).” which also confirms that the power ramping step for HD may change (increase/decrease) which directly effect on computing the transmission power, as shown in Eq. 1, [0117]. [0185], lines 3-5 states “Normal UL slots and XDD slots may be expected to use different RACH configurations due to different link conditions. A RACH configuration provided for use in XDD slots may support a smaller UL link budget and/or higher Rx preamble target power than a RACH configuration provided for a normal UL slot. “ that scenario indicates the transmission power for RACH is adjusted (increase/decrease) based on different configuration including XDD slots versus normal UL slot. The RACH configuration shown in Eq. 1 and Eq. 2 and [0123], lines 1-3 to computed transmit power in Eq. 1 and Eq.2 that are based on the power ramping step and power control setting as stated in [0192]), a third power ramping step corresponding to a half-duplex to SBFD power ramping step, and a fourth power ramping step corresponding to a SBFD to half-duplex power ramping step, wherein the power ramping step is selected based on ([0192], lines 5-8, “the UE applies different power ramping step size, power ramping counters and/or preamble counters for XDD slots compared to normal UL slots”, which describes the third power ramping step to transition from HD-FD, [0233], 3-5, describe the formula of the power ramping which include the power ramping step which can be configured differently for slot types, [0198], lines 3-15, the different values for the power ramping step can be tabulated for RA transmission [0221], describe a scenario for retransmission, where the transition occur from HD to FD and then to HD slot type ( which is related to half-duplex to SBFD power ramping step and SBFD to half-duplex power ramping step), as stated “the UE is configured with a rachMaxPowerFD value where FD denotes FD transmission. When attempting RA (PRACH transmission) using XDD or FD radio resources, the UE increases PRACH transmission power during each PRACH preamble transmission attempt using PREAMBLE_ POWER_RAMPING_COUNTER, DELTA_PREAMBLE, and PREAMBLE_POWER_RAMPING_STEP on the XDD or FD RACH opportunities. If a transmission power reaches a value of rachMaxPowerFD, the UE re-selects RA resources only from the set of configured RACH opportunities in normal, such as full, UL slots.” That implies at the transition from HD to FD slot, the UE sets the PREAMBLE_POWER_RAMPING_STEP to powerRampingStepFD, but when the transmission power value (rachMaxPowerFD) reaches the Max value, the UE return to use the normal UL slot (HD), which is called fallback scenario. Fallback to HD mode described in [0233] “When a configured maximum of PRACH preamble re-transmissions using XDD slot(s) is attained, the UE falls back to RA in normal UL slots. The PREAMBLE_POWER_RAMPING_STEP and/or PCMAX values may change or remain the same during fallback. For example, if a same PCMAX value is configured to be valid for RA in a normal UL slot, the UE maintains the value. The value for PREAMBLE_POWER_RAMPING_STEP may change when the UE changes the preamble format, such as from preamble format 0 in XDD slot(s) to CO in normal UL slot(s). The UE continues to attempt PRACH preamble transmission after the fallback event using these parameter values.” From the above the second transmit power is increased by a power ramping step selected based on the transition from HD to FD or FD to HD slots, which means based on the order of a respective slot type of each of the first slot and the second slot, where the power ramping step can be adjusted if the transition occur to different slot type such as FD (XDD, SBFD) or HD (UL) slot type, as stated “When the UE re-selects RACH opportunities in normal UL slots, the preamble format may change. Similar, the UE may adjust current or accumulated counter or transmission power values as described in other embodiments of the disclosure”. In another scenario, the second one is illustrated in Fig. 19, and [0233], lines 16-19. A fallback scenario is described in [0251], lines 11-17, where the UE transitions between FD/XDD and HD/normal UL slots during the RA procedure (PRACH transmission), the power ramping step will be adjusted since they have different RACH configurations and parameters as stated in [0190], lines 5-16 and [0219], lines 12-15, which means the increasing in the power can be adjusted using power ramp step and based on the different order of slot types. In addition, [0122] describe the relation between the counter with the transmission power, as states “For every PRACH preamble re-transmission attempt, the UE increases the PREAMBLE_TRANSMISSION_COUNTER by 1 and applies an adjustment value DELTA_PREAMBLE to determine a transmission power for a subsequent PRACH transmission, as escribed in Equation (2)”, which confirms in [0221]) wherein the respective slot type comprises a half-duplex slot type or a SBFD slot type ( [0174], lines 2-9 and 12-16, the method supports both half-duplex and full-duplex slots, which depends on the slot configuration, claim 2, lines 2-7).
In other hand, Jeon teaches transmit a first random access preamble message at a first transmit power in a first slot (Figs. 37-38 (3710 and 3810), [0353], lines 14-18, one preamble transmitted using a first PRACH format with a first transmission power via the at least one random access resource. The wireless device (UE) may transmit the first preamble via a first sub-band. [0298] states “A UE may perform one or more Msg1 1220 transmissions by transmitting the selected random access preamble. For example, if a UE selects an SS block and is configured with an association between one or more PRACH occasions and one or more SS blocks, the UE may determine an PRACH occasion from one or more PRACH occasions corresponding to a selected SS block” which confirm the transmit a first random access preamble message at a first transmit power in a first slot); and transmit a second random access preamble message at a second transmit power in a second slot ([0532], lines 19-22, “The wireless device may transmit, based on the transmit power via the second channel, the at least one second preamble”. [0323] states “In the DL transmission of the two-step RA procedure, a base station may transmit a two-step Msg2 (Msg B) 1650 (e.g., an RAR) that may comprise at least one of following: a timing advance command indicating the TA value, a power control command, an UL grant (e.g., radio resource assignment, and/or MCS), a wireless device ID for contention resolution, an RNTI (e.g., C-RNTI or TC-RNTI), and/or other information.” Where the power control command and TA command can adjust the transmission power, including Msg2 as shown in Fig. 20 and 36). Therefore, the office action still teaches the limitations as currently claimed.
Applicant argues that the independent claims 15 and 21 are allowable for similar reasons (Page 12, Remarks).
Examiner respectfully disagrees, for at least the same reasons given in the response above, and as detailed in the Claim Rejections section below.
Applicant argues that the remaining claims, dependent claims are allowable for similar reasons (Page 12, Remarks).
Examiner respectfully disagrees, for at least the same reasons given in the response above, and as detailed in the Claim Rejections section below.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claim 23, “means for transmitting” in line 2 which is a general purpose communication circuit. The prior art's transmitting processing circuitry or antenna is a structural equivalent to the claimed "means for transmitting ".
Regarding claim 24, “means for incrementing” in line 2 and line 5, which is a special purpose of computing. The prior art's CPU or processor is a structural equivalent to the claimed "means for incrementing" as the specification recites the limitation “increment” in [0109] and Fig. 13, which can be performed by a processor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 13-18 and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rudolf et al. (US 2023/0062577 A1) in view of Jeon et al. (US 2020/0351801 Al).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), Rudolf teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) , the apparatus comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors being configured to cause the UE to ([0067], [0068] and Fig. 3 illustrates an apparatus as user equipment (UE), UE comprises Tx and RX processing circuitry which include one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors): wherein the second transmit power is increased with respect to the first transmit power by a power ramping step selected from a first power ramping step corresponding to a half-duplex power ramping step, a second power ramping step corresponding to a sub-band full-duplex (SBFD) power ramping step ([0192], lines 5-8, and Fig. 13, “During RA, the UE applies different power ramping step size, power ramping counters and/or preamble counters for XDD slots compared to normal UL slots.” That implies the FD (XDD slot) and HD (normal UL slot) have different power ramping step, and in [0233], lines 16-19, “The value for PREAMBLE_POWER_RAMPING_STEP may change when the UE changes the preamble format, such as from preamble format 0 in XDD slot(s) to CO in normal UL slot(s).” which also confirms that the power ramping step for HD may change (increase/decrease) which directly effect on computing the transmission power, as shown in Eq. 1, [0117]. [0185], lines 3-5 states “Normal UL slots and XDD slots may be expected to use different RACH configurations due to different link conditions. A RACH configuration provided for use in XDD slots may support a smaller UL link budget and/or higher Rx preamble target power than a RACH configuration provided for a normal UL slot. “ that scenario indicates the transmission power for RACH is adjusted (increase/decrease) based on different configuration including XDD slots versus normal UL slot. The RACH configuration shown in Eq. 1 and Eq. 2 and [0123], lines 1-3 to computed transmit power in Eq. 1 and Eq.2 that are based on the power ramping step and power control setting as stated in [0192]), a third power ramping step corresponding to a half-duplex to SBFD power ramping step, and a fourth power ramping step corresponding to a SBFD to half-duplex power ramping step, wherein the power ramping step is selected based on ([0192], lines 5-8, “the UE applies different power ramping step size, power ramping counters and/or preamble counters for XDD slots compared to normal UL slots”, which describes the third power ramping step to transition from HD-FD, [0233], 3-5, describe the formula of the power ramping which include the power ramping step which can be configured differently for slot types, [0198], lines 3-15, the different values for the power ramping step can be tabulated for RA transmission [0221], describe a scenario for retransmission, where the transition occur from HD to FD and then to HD slot type ( which is related to half-duplex to SBFD power ramping step and SBFD to half-duplex power ramping step), as stated “the UE is configured with a rachMaxPowerFD value where FD denotes FD transmission. When attempting RA (PRACH transmission) using XDD or FD radio resources, the UE increases PRACH transmission power during each PRACH preamble transmission attempt using PREAMBLE_ POWER_RAMPING_COUNTER, DELTA_PREAMBLE, and PREAMBLE_POWER_RAMPING_STEP on the XDD or FD RACH opportunities. If a transmission power reaches a value of rachMaxPowerFD, the UE re-selects RA resources only from the set of configured RACH opportunities in normal, such as full, UL slots.” That implies at the transition from HD to FD slot, the UE sets the PREAMBLE_POWER_RAMPING_STEP to powerRampingStepFD, but when the transmission power value (rachMaxPowerFD) reaches the Max value, the UE return to use the normal UL slot (HD), which is called fallback scenario. Fallback to HD mode described in [0233] “When a configured maximum of PRACH preamble re-transmissions using XDD slot(s) is attained, the UE falls back to RA in normal UL slots. The PREAMBLE_POWER_RAMPING_STEP and/or PCMAX values may change or remain the same during fallback. For example, if a same PCMAX value is configured to be valid for RA in a normal UL slot, the UE maintains the value. The value for PREAMBLE_POWER_RAMPING_STEP may change when the UE changes the preamble format, such as from preamble format 0 in XDD slot(s) to CO in normal UL slot(s). The UE continues to attempt PRACH preamble transmission after the fallback event using these parameter values.” From the above the second transmit power is increased by a power ramping step selected based on the transition from HD to FD or FD to HD slots, which means based on the order of a respective slot type of each of the first slot and the second slot, where the power ramping step can be adjusted if the transition occur to different slot type such as FD (XDD, SBFD) or HD (UL) slot type, as stated “When the UE re-selects RACH opportunities in normal UL slots, the preamble format may change. Similar, the UE may adjust current or accumulated counter or transmission power values as described in other embodiments of the disclosure”. In another scenario, the second one is illustrated in Fig. 19, and [0233], lines 16-19. A fallback scenario is described in [0251], lines 11-17, where the UE transitions between FD/XDD and HD/normal UL slots during the RA procedure (PRACH transmission), the power ramping step will be adjusted since they have different RACH configurations and parameters as stated in [0190], lines 5-16 and [0219], lines 12-15, which means the increasing in the power can be adjusted using power ramp step and based on the different order of slot types. In addition, [0122] describe the relation between the counter with the transmission power, as states “For every PRACH preamble re-transmission attempt, the UE increases the PREAMBLE_TRANSMISSION_COUNTER by 1 and applies an adjustment value DELTA_PREAMBLE to determine a transmission power for a subsequent PRACH transmission, as escribed in Equation (2)”, which confirms in [0221]) wherein the respective slot type comprises a half-duplex slot type or a SBFD slot type ( [0174], lines 2-9 and 12-16, the method supports both half-duplex and full-duplex slots, which depends on the slot configuration, claim 2, lines 2-7).
Rudolf does not explicitly teach transmit a first random access preamble message at a first transmit power in a first slot; and transmit a second random access preamble message at a second transmit power in a second slot.
However, Jeon teaches transmit a first random access preamble message at a first transmit power in a first slot (Figs. 37-38 (3710 and 3810), [0353], lines 14-18, one preamble transmitted using a first PRACH format with a first transmission power via the at least one random access resource. The wireless device (UE) may transmit the first preamble via a first sub-band. [0298] states “A UE may perform one or more Msg1 1220 transmissions by transmitting the selected random access preamble. For example, if a UE selects an SS block and is configured with an association between one or more PRACH occasions and one or more SS blocks, the UE may determine an PRACH occasion from one or more PRACH occasions corresponding to a selected SS block” which confirm the transmit a first random access preamble message at a first transmit power in a first slot); and transmit a second random access preamble message at a second transmit power in a second slot ([0532], lines 19-22, “The wireless device may transmit, based on the transmit power via the second channel, the at least one second preamble”. [0323] states “In the DL transmission of the two-step RA procedure, a base station may transmit a two-step Msg2 (Msg B) 1650 (e.g., an RAR) that may comprise at least one of following: a timing advance command indicating the TA value, a power control command, an UL grant (e.g., radio resource assignment, and/or MCS), a wireless device ID for contention resolution, an RNTI (e.g., C-RNTI or TC-RNTI), and/or other information.” Where the power control command and TA command can adjust the transmission power, including Msg2 as shown in Fig. 20 and 36). Therefore, the office action still teaches the limitations as currently claimed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rudolf to incorporate the teachings of Jeon (in analogous art) by adding teach transmit a first random access preamble message at a first transmit power in a first slot; and transmit a second random access preamble message at a second transmit power in a second slot. Doing this integration helps to “preventing unnecessary drop and/or power reduction may result in fewer retransmissions and/or an efficient use of radio resources ( e.g., increasing spectral efficiency and/or increasing system capacity”). (Jeon, [0496], lines 15-18) .
Regarding claim 2 (Currently Amended), Rudolf and Jeon teach the apparatus of claim 1.
Rudolf further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to ([0067], [0068] and Fig. 3 illustrates an apparatus as user equipment (UE), UE comprises Tx and RX processing circuitry and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors can perform the method functions): increment the first transmit power by one of the third power ramping step or the fourth power ramping step ([0221] explicitly states” When attempting RA (PRACH transmission) using XDD or FD radio resources, the UE increases PRACH transmission power during each PRACH preamble transmission attempt using PREAMBLE_POWER_RAMPING_COUNTER, DELTA_PREAMBLE, and PREAMBLE_POWER_RAMPING_STEP on the XDD or FD RACH opportunities.” That means the UE uses PREAMBLE_POWER_RAMPING_COUNTER, DELTA_PREAMBLE, and PREAMBLE_POWER_RAMPING_STEP on the XDD or FD RACH opportunities for increment the first transmission power, which based on third power ramping step (the transition from HD to FD slot). The adjustment accounts in FD operation, such as self and cross link interference, as stated in [0215], lines 11-14. The new transmission power is calculated by incrementing the previous power using the PREAMBLE_POWER_RAMPING_STEP, which specifically specified for FD operation (e.g., powerRampingStepFD) as states in [0198] “The UE sets the PREAMBLE_ POWER_RAMPING_STEP to powerRampingStepFD.” Another scenario that describe the fallback where the UD fallback to HD/normal UL slot and the RA procedure with new configuration as stated in [0217], “In certain embodiments (such as those described in FIGS. 17 and 18), the UE configured with RA using symbols of XDD slot(s) falls back to RA using normal, such as full, UL slots when a maximum number of re-transmission attempts using XDD resources has been reached. Alternatively, the UE falls back and attempts RA using normal, such as full, UL slots when a timer value is reached or when a designated signal condition is met. “ that implies the transmit power for the RACH preamble is incremented by the power ramping step during the retransmission, the process is based on the first and second slot types and configuration, including whether the slot is a normal UL (Half-duplex HD) slot or Full-duplex (FD) slot, [0245]).
Regarding claim 3 (Original), Rudolf and Jeon teach the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to:
Rudolf further teaches: a select the third select the fourth third ([0192], ” During RA, the UE applies different power ramping step size, power ramping counters and/or preamble counters for XDD slots compared to normal UL slots” (the difference between FD/XDD and normal UL slots is described in [0174], lines 1-8 and [0184], lines 5-8), which means the power ramping steps are different in the transition by considering the comparison between the FD and HD slot types. [0184], lines 5-9, describe the reason behind using different power ramping steps “The number of TRX chains for transmission or reception, or areas for transmission or reception antennas available in normal DL or UL slots versus XDD slots, can be different between FD implementations and half-duplex implementations”. [0233], 3-5, describe the formula of the power ramping which include the power ramping step which can be configured differently for slot types, [0198], lines 3-15, the different values for the power ramping step can be tabulated for RA transmission [0221], describe a scenario for retransmission, where the transition occur from HD to FD and then to HD slot type ( which is related to half-duplex to SBFD power ramping step and SBFD to half-duplex power ramping step), as stated “the UE is configured with a rachMaxPowerFD value where FD denotes FD transmission. When attempting RA (PRACH transmission) using XDD or FD radio resources, the UE increases PRACH transmission power during each PRACH preamble transmission attempt using PREAMBLE_ POWER_RAMPING_COUNTER, DELTA_PREAMBLE, and PREAMBLE_POWER_RAMPING_STEP on the XDD or FD RACH opportunities. If a transmission power reaches a value of rachMaxPowerFD, the UE re-selects RA resources only from the set of configured RACH opportunities in normal, such as full, UL slots.” That implies at the transition from HD to FD slot, the UE sets the PREAMBLE_POWER_RAMPING_STEP to powerRampingStepFD, but when the transmission power value (rachMaxPowerFD) reaches the Max value, the UE return to use the normal UL slot (HD), which is called fallback scenario).
Regarding claim 4 (Currently Amended), Rudolf and Jeon teach the apparatus of claim 2.
Rudolf further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to ([0067], [0068] and Fig. 3 illustrates an apparatus as user equipment (UE), UE comprises Tx and RX processing circuitry and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors can perform the method functions): transmit a third random access preamble message at a third transmit power in a third slot (Fig. 17, [0224], lines 17-20 shows the UE continue transmit RA preamble messages , the third preamble message can be transmitted at the third transmit power in the third slot), wherein the third transmit power is increased with respect to the second transmit power by the first power ramping step or the second power ramping step (Figs. 13 and 15, [0221], “When attempting RA (PRACH transmission) using XDD or FD radio resources, the UE increases PRACH transmission power during each PRACH preamble transmission attempt using PREAMBLE_POWER_RAMPING_COUNTER, DELTA_PREAMBLE, and PREAMBLE_POWER_ RAMPING_ STEP on the XDD or FD RACH opportunities.” Which describe the increasing in the power transmission each subsequent during the RA procedure. [0122], describes the transmission power for the second PRACH preamble that can be used for the compute the third transmission power as states in [0122] “For every PRACH preamble re-transmission attempt, the UE increases the PREAMBLE_TRANSMISSION_COUNTER by 1 and applies an adjustment value DELTA_PREAMBLE to determine a transmission power for a subsequent PRACH transmission, as escribed in Equation (2)”. [0192] describes the differentiation in power steps and adjustments based on the type of slot( UL/HD or FD/XDD)).
Regarding claim 5 (Currently Amended), Rudolf and Jeon teach the apparatus of claim 4, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to:
Rudolf further teaches select the in response to each of the second slot and the third slot comprising select the second power ramping step in response to each of the second slot and the third slot comprising the SBFD slot type (Fig. 18-19, and [0225]-[0226] describe how consecutive RA transmission using XDD slots (step 1810) or using normal UL slots (Step 1840 and 1930-1940), where in both scenarios, the preamble power ramping step and other related parameter will be considered, as stated in [0230], “In certain embodiments (such as those described in FIG. 19, below), the UE switching from/to RA using XDD slot(s) or symbol(s) from/to RA using normal, such as full, UL slots adjusts one or more of the following parameter values before re-attempting or continuing the RA procedure. The parameter values include (i) PREAMBLE_INDEX; (ii) PREAMBLE_TRANSMISSION_COUNTER; (iii) PREAMBLE_POWER _ RAMPING_COUNTER; (iv) PREAMBLE_POWER_RAMPING_STEP; (v) PREAMBLE_RECEIVED _ TARGET_POWER; (vi) PREAMBLE_BACKOFF; (vii) PCMAX; and (viii) SCALING_FACTOR_BI”. [0232]-[0233] describe how the UE maintain a PREAMBLE_ TRANSMISSION_COUNTER and determine the value for PREAMBLE_POWER_RAMPING_STEP and/or PCMAX while attempting RA (PRACH preamble transmissions) using XDD slot(s). The counter is increased for each PRACH preamble transmission. When a configured maximum value is reached, the UE falls back to RA in normal UL slots, and similar approach can apply for adjusting the PREAMBLE_ POWER_RAMPING_COUNTER upon fallback, as stated in [0233], “The value for PREAMBLE _POWER_RAMPING_STEP may change when the UE changes the preamble format, such as from preamble format 0 in XDD slot(s) to CO in normal UL slot(s). The UE continues to attempt PRACH preamble transmission after the fallback event using these parameter values.” That implies selecting the HD power ramping step in response to the consecutive slots comprising for the HD slot type and selecting the FD power ramping step in response to the consecutive slots comprising for the FD slot type. Moreover, [0184], lines 5-9, describe the reason behind using different power ramping steps “The number of TRX chains for transmission or reception, or areas for transmission or reception antennas available in normal DL or UL slots versus XDD slots, can be different between FD implementations and half-duplex implementations”).
Regarding claim 6 (Currently Amended), Rudolf and Jeon teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to:.
Rudolf further teaches increment the first second transmit power in response to each of the first slot and the second slot comprising the half-duplex slot type ([0190], lines 5-12, if the slots remain the same ( e.g., both are HD or FD) the UE can continue applying the same power ramping step to increment the transmit power for subsequent transmissions, further in [0221], 3-9 and [0155], lines 11-13, confirm that if the slot type remains the same, the power ramping step is consistently applied to increment the transmission power for the second attempt transmission ).
Regarding claim 7 (Currently Amended), Rudolf and Jeon teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to:.
Rudolf further teaches increment the first transmit power by the second power ramping step to produce the second transmit power in response to each of the first slot and the second slot comprising the SBFD slot type ([0190], lines 5-12, if the slots remain the same ( e.g., both are HD or FD) the UE can continue applying the same power ramping step to increment the transmit power for subsequent transmissions, further in [0221], 3-9 and [0155], lines 11-13, confirm that if the slot type remains the same, the power ramping step is consistently applied to increment the transmission power for the second attempt transmission ).
Regarding claim 13 (Original), Rudolf and Jeon teach the apparatus of claim 1.
Rudolf further teaches wherein the respective slot type of each of the first slot and the second slot is based on a respective random access occasion (RO) configuration for each of the first slot and the second slot ([0107], A RACH configuration includes RACH occasions (ROs) in certain RACH slots and certain frequency resource blocks, that repeat with a certain periodicity), the respective RO configuration being one of a first RO configuration associated with half-duplex slots or a second RO configuration associated with at least SBFD slots (Claim 9, lines 2-4 and 5-7, a slot from the HD subset is not indicated for simultaneous transmission and reception during a same time, and a slot from the FD subset of slots is indicated for simultaneous transmission and reception during a same time).
Regarding claim 14 (Original), Rudolf and Jeon teach the apparatus of claim 1.
Rudolf further teaches wherein the SBFD slot type comprises an in-band full- duplex (IBFD) slot type ( [0164], lines 19-23, the IBFD is a type of full duplex communication where using FD communications, UL and DL signals are simultaneously received and transmitted on fully or partially overlapping, or adjacent, frequency resources).
As to claim 15, see similar rejections to claim 1, the apparatus teaches the method.
Regarding claim 16 (Currently Amended), Rudolf and Jeon teach the method of claim 15.
Rudolf further teaches incrementing the first transmit power by one of the third power ramping step or the fourth power ramping step the second slot being different than the respective slot type of the first slot ([0221] explicitly states” When attempting RA (PRACH transmission) using XDD or FD radio resources, the UE increases PRACH transmission power during each PRACH preamble transmission attempt using PREAMBLE_POWER_RAMPING_ COUNTER, DELTA_PREAMBLE, and PREAMBLE_POWER_RAMPING_STEP on the XDD or FD RACH opportunities.” That means the UE uses PREAMBLE_POWER_RAMPING_COUNTER, DELTA_ PREAMBLE, and PREAMBLE_POWER_RAMPING_STEP on the XDD or FD RACH opportunities for increment the first transmission power, which based on third power ramping step (the transition from HD to FD slot). The adjustment accounts in FD operation, such as self and cross link interference, as stated in [0215], lines 11-14. The new transmission power is calculated by incrementing the previous power using the PREAMBLE_POWER_RAMPING_STEP, which specifically specified for FD operation (e.g., powerRampingStepFD) as states in [0198] “The UE sets the PREAMBLE_ POWER_RAMPING_STEP to powerRampingStepFD.” Another scenario that describe the fallback where the UD fallback to HD/normal UL slot and the RA procedure with new configuration as stated in [0217], “In certain embodiments (such as those described in FIGS. 17 and 18), the UE configured with RA using symbols of XDD slot(s) falls back to RA using normal, such as full, UL slots when a maximum number of re-transmission attempts using XDD resources has been reached. Alternatively, the UE falls back and attempts RA using normal, such as full, UL slots when a timer value is reached or when a designated signal condition is met. “ that implies the transmit power for the RACH preamble is incremented by the power ramping step during the retransmission, the process is based on the first and second slot types and configuration, including whether the slot is a normal UL (Half-duplex HD) slot or Full-duplex (FD) slot, [0245]).
Rudolf further teach wherein the power ramping step comprises: the third power ramping step in response to the first slot comprising the half-duplex slot type and the second slot comprising the SBFD slot type; and the fourth power ramping step different than the third power ramping step in response to the first slot comprising the SBFD slot type and the second slot comprising the half-duplex slot type ([0192], ” During RA, the UE applies different power ramping step size, power ramping counters and/or preamble counters for XDD slots compared to normal UL slots” (the difference between FD/XDD and normal UL slots is described in [0174], lines 1-8 and [0184], lines 5-8), which means the power ramping steps are different in the transition by considering the comparison between the FD and HD slot types. [0184], lines 5-9, describe the reason behind using different power ramping steps “The number of TRX chains for transmission or reception, or areas for transmission or reception antennas available in normal DL or UL slots versus XDD slots, can be different between FD implementations and half-duplex implementations”. [0233], 3-5, describe the formula of the power ramping which include the power ramping step which can be configured differently for slot types, [0198], lines 3-15, the different values for the power ramping step can be tabulated for RA transmission [0221], describe a scenario for retransmission, where the transition occur from HD to FD and then to HD slot type ( which is related to half-duplex to SBFD power ramping step and SBFD to half-duplex power ramping step), as stated “the UE is configured with a rachMaxPowerFD value where FD denotes FD transmission. When attempting RA (PRACH transmission) using XDD or FD radio resources, the UE increases PRACH transmission power during each PRACH preamble transmission attempt using PREAMBLE_ POWER_RAMPING_COUNTER, DELTA_PREAMBLE, and PREAMBLE_POWER_RAMPING_STEP on the XDD or FD RACH opportunities. If a transmission power reaches a value of rachMaxPowerFD, the UE re-selects RA resources only from the set of configured RACH opportunities in normal, such as full, UL slots.” That implies at the transition from HD to FD slot, the UE sets the PREAMBLE_POWER_RAMPING_STEP to powerRampingStepFD, but when the transmission power value (rachMaxPowerFD) reaches the Max value, the UE return to use the normal UL slot (HD), which is called fallback scenario).
Regarding claim 17 (Currently Amended), Rudolf and Jeon teach the method of claim 16.
Rudolf further teaches further comprising: transmitting a third random access preamble message at a third transmit power in a third slot (Fig. 17, [0224], lines 17-20 shows the UE continue transmit RA preamble messages , the third preamble message can be transmitted at the third transmit power in the third slot), wherein the third transmit power is increased with respect to the second transmit power by the first power ramping step or the second power ramping step ((Figs. 13 and 15, [0221], “When attempting RA (PRACH transmission) using XDD or FD radio resources, the UE increases PRACH transmission power during each PRACH preamble transmission attempt using PREAMBLE_POWER_RAMPING_COUNTER, DELTA_PREAMBLE, and PREAMBLE_POWER_ RAMPING_ STEP on the XDD or FD RACH opportunities.” Which describe the increasing in the power transmission each subsequent during the RA procedure. [0122], describes the transmission power for the second PRACH preamble that can be used for the compute the third transmission power as states in [0122] “For every PRACH preamble re-transmission attempt, the UE increases the PREAMBLE_TRANSMISSION_COUNTER by 1 and applies an adjustment value DELTA_PREAMBLE to determine a transmission power for a subsequent PRACH transmission, as escribed in Equation (2)”. [0192] describes the differentiation in power steps and adjustments based on the type of slot( UL/HD or FD/XDD)).
Regarding claim 18 (Currently Amended), Rudolf and Jeon teach the method of claim 15.
Rudolf further teaches incrementing the first power by the first power ramping step to produce the second transmit power in response to each of the first slot and the second slot comprising the half-duplex slot type ([0190], lines 5-12, if the slots remain the same ( e.g., both are HD or FD) the UE can continue applying the same power ramping step to increment the transmit power for subsequent transmissions, further in [0221], 3-9 and [0155], lines 11-13, confirm that if the slot type remains the same, the power ramping step is consistently applied to increment the transmission power for the second attempt transmission ), and incrementing the first transmit power by the second power ramping step to produce the second transmit power in response to each of the first slot and the second slot comprising the SBFD slot type ([0190], lines 5-12, if the slots remain the same ( e.g., both are HD or FD) the UE can continue applying the same power ramping step to increment the transmit power for subsequent transmissions, further in [0221], 3-9 and [0155], lines 11-13, confirm that if the slot type remains the same, the power ramping step is consistently applied to increment the transmission power for the second attempt transmission ).
Regarding claim 21 (Currently Amended), Rudolf further teaches an apparatus at a user equipment (UE), comprising ([0067], [0068] and Fig. 3 illustrates an apparatus as user equipment (UE)): wherein the second transmit power is increased with respect to the first transmit power by a power ramping step selected from a first power ramping step corresponding to a half-duplex power ramping step, a second power ramping step corresponding to a sub-band full-duplex (SBFD) power ramping step, a third power ramping step corresponding to a half- duplex to SBFD power ramping step, and a fourth power ramping step corresponding to a SBFD to half-duplex power ramping step, wherein the power ramping step is selected ([0192], lines 5-8, “the UE applies different power ramping step size, power ramping counters and/or preamble counters for XDD slots compared to normal UL slots”, which describes the third power ramping step to transition from HD-FD, [0233], 3-5, describe the formula of the power ramping which include the power ramping step which can be configured differently for slot types, [0198], lines 3-15, the different values for the power ramping step can be tabulated for RA transmission [0221], describe a scenario for retransmission, where the transition occur from HD to FD and then to HD slot type ( which is related to half-duplex to SBFD power ramping step and SBFD to half-duplex power ramping step), as stated “the UE is configured with a rachMaxPowerFD value where FD denotes FD transmission. When attempting RA (PRACH transmission) using XDD or FD radio resources, the UE increases PRACH transmission power during each PRACH preamble transmission attempt using PREAMBLE_ POWER_RAMPING_COUNTER, DELTA_PREAMBLE, and PREAMBLE_POWER_RAMPING_STEP on the XDD or FD RACH opportunities. If a transmission power reaches a value of rachMaxPowerFD, the UE re-selects RA resources only from the set of configured RACH opportunities in normal, such as full, UL slots.” That implies at the transition from HD to FD slot, the UE sets the PREAMBLE_POWER_RAMPING_STEP to powerRampingStepFD, but when the transmission power value (rachMaxPowerFD) reaches the Max value, the UE return to use the normal UL slot (HD), which is called fallback scenario. Fallback to HD mode described in [0233] “When a configured maximum of PRACH preamble re-transmissions using XDD slot(s) is attained, the UE falls back to RA in normal UL slots. The PREAMBLE_POWER_RAMPING_STEP and/or PCMAX values may change or remain the same during fallback. For example, if a same PCMAX value is configured to be valid for RA in a normal UL slot, the UE maintains the value. The value for PREAMBLE_POWER_RAMPING_STEP may change when the UE changes the preamble format, such as from preamble format 0 in XDD slot(s) to CO in normal UL slot(s). The UE continues to attempt PRACH preamble transmission after the fallback event using these parameter values.” From the above the second transmit power is increased by a power ramping step selected based on the transition from HD to FD or FD to HD slots, which means based on the order of a respective slot type of each of the first slot and the second slot, where the power ramping step can be adjusted if the transition occur to different slot type such as FD (XDD, SBFD) or HD (UL) slot type, as stated “When the UE re-selects RACH opportunities in normal UL slots, the preamble format may change. Similar, the UE may adjust current or accumulated counter or transmission power values as described in other embodiments of the disclosure”. In another scenario, the second one is illustrated in Fig. 19, and [0233], lines 16-19. A fallback scenario is described in [0251], lines 11-17, where the UE transitions between FD/XDD and HD/normal UL slots during the RA procedure (PRACH transmission), the power ramping step will be adjusted since they have different RACH configurations and parameters as stated in [0190], lines 5-16 and [0219], lines 12-15, which means the increasing in the power can be adjusted using power ramp step and based on the different order of slot types. In addition, [0122] describe the relation between the counter with the transmission power, as states “For every PRACH preamble re-transmission attempt, the UE increases the PREAMBLE_TRANSMISSION_COUNTER by 1 and applies an adjustment value DELTA_PREAMBLE to determine a transmission power for a subsequent PRACH transmission, as escribed in Equation (2)”, which confirms in [0221]) based on ([0192], lines 5-8, and Fig. 13, “During RA, the UE applies different power ramping step size, power ramping counters and/or preamble counters for XDD slots compared to normal UL slots.” and in [0233], lines 16-19, “The value for PREAMBLE_POWER_RAMPING_STEP may change when the UE changes the preamble format, such as from preamble format 0 in XDD slot(s) to CO in normal UL slot(s).” and in [0185], lines 3-5 also indicates the power ramping step (which is part of RACH configuration as shown in Eq. 2 and [0123], lines 1-3) affected by the slot type. [0221], describe a scenarios for retransmission, where the transition occur from FD to HD slot type ( the order of the first and second slot types), the first scenario “ the UE increases PRACH transmission power during each PRACH preamble transmission attempt using PREAMBLE_POWER_RAMPING_ COUNTER, DELTA_PREAMBLE, and PREAMBLE_POWER_ RAMPING _STEP on the XDD or FD RACH opportunities. If a transmission power reaches a value of rachMaxPowerFD, the UE re-selects RA resources only from the set of configured RACH opportunities in normal, such as full, UL slots.” From the above the second transmit power is increased by a power ramping step selected based on a slot type difference with respect to an order of a respective slot type of each of the first slot and the second slot and the power ramping step can be adjusted if the transition occur to different slot type such as FD (XDD, SBFD) or HD (UL) slot type “When the UE re-selects RACH opportunities in normal UL slots, the preamble format may change. Similar, the UE may adjust current or accumulated counter or transmission power values as described in other embodiments of the disclosure”. In another scenario, the second one is illustrated in [0233], lines 116-19. Another fallback scenario is described in [0251], lines 11-17, where the UE transitions between FD/XDD and HD/normal UL slots during the RA procedure (PRACH transmission), the power ramping step will be adjusted since they have different RACH configurations and parameters as stated in [0190], lines 5-16 and [0219], lines 12-15, which means the increasing in the power can be adjusted using power ramp step and based on the different order of slot types), wherein the respective slot type comprises a half-duplex slot type or a SBFD slot type ( [0174], lines 2-9 and 12-16, the method supports both half-duplex and full-duplex slots, which depends on the slot configuration, claim 2, lines 2-7).
Rudolf does not explicitly teach means for transmitting a first random access preamble message at a first transmit power in a first slot; and means for transmitting a second random access preamble message at a second transmit power in a second slot.
However, Jeon teaches transmit a first random access preamble message at a first transmit power in a first slot (Figs. 37-38 (3710 and 3810), [0353], lines 14-18, one preamble transmitted using a first PRACH format with a first transmission power via the at least one random access resource. The wireless device (UE) may transmit the first preamble via a first sub-band. [0298] states “A UE may perform one or more Msg1 1220 transmissions by transmitting the selected random access preamble. For example, if a UE selects an SS block and is configured with an association between one or more PRACH occasions and one or more SS blocks, the UE may determine an PRACH occasion from one or more PRACH occasions corresponding to a selected SS block” which confirm the transmit a first random access preamble message at a first transmit power in a first slot); and transmit a second random access preamble message at a second transmit power in a second slot ([0532], lines 19-22, “The wireless device may transmit, based on the transmit power via the second channel, the at least one second preamble”. [0323] states “In the DL transmission of the two-step RA procedure, a base station may transmit a two-step Msg2 (Msg B) 1650 (e.g., an RAR) that may comprise at least one of following: a timing advance command indicating the TA value, a power control command, an UL grant (e.g., radio resource assignment, and/or MCS), a wireless device ID for contention resolution, an RNTI (e.g., C-RNTI or TC-RNTI), and/or other information.” Where the power control command and TA command can adjust the transmission power, including Msg2 as shown in Fig. 20 and 36).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rudolf to incorporate the teachings of Jeon (in analogous art) by adding teach transmit a first random access preamble message at a first transmit power in a first slot; and transmit a second random access preamble message at a second transmit power in a second slot. Doing this integration helps to “preventing unnecessary drop and/or power reduction may result in fewer retransmissions and/or an efficient use of radio resources ( e.g., increasing spectral efficiency and/or increasing system capacity”). (Jeon, [0496], lines 15-18) .
Regarding claim 22 (Currently Amended), Rudolf and Jeon teach the apparatus of claim 21.
Rudolf further teaches further comprising: means for incrementing the first transmit power by one of the third power ramping step or the fourth power ramping step ([0221] explicitly states” When attempting RA (PRACH transmission) using XDD or FD radio resources, the UE increases PRACH transmission power during each PRACH preamble transmission attempt using PREAMBLE_POWER_RAMPING_ COUNTER, DELTA_PREAMBLE, and PREAMBLE_POWER_ RAMPING_STEP on the XDD or FD RACH opportunities.” That means the UE uses PREAMBLE_ POWER_RAMPING_COUNTER, DELTA_ PREAMBLE, and PREAMBLE_POWER_RAMPING_STEP on the XDD or FD RACH opportunities for increment the first transmission power, which based on third power ramping step (the transition from HD to FD slot). The adjustment accounts in FD operation, such as self and cross link interference, as stated in [0215], lines 11-14. The new transmission power is calculated by incrementing the previous power using the PREAMBLE_POWER_RAMPING_STEP, which specifically specified for FD operation (e.g., powerRampingStepFD) as states in [0198] “The UE sets the PREAMBLE_ POWER_ RAMPING _STEP to powerRampingStepFD.” Another scenario that describe the fallback where the UD fallback to HD/normal UL slot and the RA procedure with new configuration as stated in [0217], “In certain embodiments (such as those described in FIGS. 17 and 18), the UE configured with RA using symbols of XDD slot(s) falls back to RA using normal, such as full, UL slots when a maximum number of re-transmission attempts using XDD resources has been reached. Alternatively, the UE falls back and attempts RA using normal, such as full, UL slots when a timer value is reached or when a designated signal condition is met. “ that implies the transmit power for the RACH preamble is incremented by the power ramping step during the retransmission, the process is based on the first and second slot types and configuration, including whether the slot is a normal UL (Half-duplex HD) slot or Full-duplex (FD) slot, [0245]) , wherein the power ramping step comprises: the third power ramping step in response to the first slot comprising the half-duplex slot type and the second slot comprising the SBFD slot type; and the fourth power ramping step different than the first power ramping step in response to the first slot comprising the SBFD slot type and the second slot comprising the half-duplex slot type ([0192], ” During RA, the UE applies different power ramping step size, power ramping counters and/or preamble counters for XDD slots compared to normal UL slots” (the difference between FD/XDD and normal UL slots is described in [0174], lines 1-8 and [0184], lines 5-8), which means the power ramping steps are different in the transition by considering the comparison between the FD and HD slot types. [0184], lines 5-9, describe the reason behind using different power ramping steps “The number of TRX chains for transmission or reception, or areas for transmission or reception antennas available in normal DL or UL slots versus XDD slots, can be different between FD implementations and half-duplex implementations”. [0233], 3-5, describe the formula of the power ramping which include the power ramping step which can be configured differently for slot types, [0198], lines 3-15, the different values for the power ramping step can be tabulated for RA transmission [0221], describe a scenario for retransmission, where the transition occur from HD to FD and then to HD slot type ( which is related to half-duplex to SBFD power ramping step and SBFD to half-duplex power ramping step), as stated “the UE is configured with a rachMaxPowerFD value where FD denotes FD transmission. When attempting RA (PRACH transmission) using XDD or FD radio resources, the UE increases PRACH transmission power during each PRACH preamble transmission attempt using PREAMBLE_ POWER_RAMPING_COUNTER, DELTA_PREAMBLE, and PREAMBLE_POWER_RAMPING_STEP on the XDD or FD RACH opportunities. If a transmission power reaches a value of rachMaxPowerFD, the UE re-selects RA resources only from the set of configured RACH opportunities in normal, such as full, UL slots.” That implies at the transition from HD to FD slot, the UE sets the PREAMBLE_POWER_RAMPING_STEP to powerRampingStepFD, but when the transmission power value (rachMaxPowerFD) reaches the Max value, the UE return to use the normal UL slot (HD), which is called fallback scenario).
Regarding claim 23 (Currently Amended), Rudolf and Jeon teach the apparatus of claim 22.
Rudolf further teaches further comprising: means for transmitting a third random access preamble message at a third transmit power in a third slot (Fig. 17, [0224], lines 17-20 shows the UE continue transmit RA preamble messages , the third preamble message can be transmitted at the third transmit power in the third slot), wherein the third transmit power is increased with respect to the second transmit power by the first power ramping step or the second power ramping step (Figs. 13 and 15, [0221], “When attempting RA (PRACH transmission) using XDD or FD radio resources, the UE increases PRACH transmission power during each PRACH preamble transmission attempt using PREAMBLE_POWER_RAMPING_COUNTER, DELTA_PREAMBLE, and PREAMBLE_POWER_ RAMPING_ STEP on the XDD or FD RACH opportunities.” Which describe the increasing in the power transmission each subsequent during the RA procedure. [0122], describes the transmission power for the second PRACH preamble that can be used for the compute the third transmission power as states in [0122] “For every PRACH preamble re-transmission attempt, the UE increases the PREAMBLE_TRANSMISSION_COUNTER by 1 and applies an adjustment value DELTA_PREAMBLE to determine a transmission power for a subsequent PRACH transmission, as escribed in Equation (2)”. [0192] describes the differentiation in power steps and adjustments based on the type of slot( UL/HD or FD/XDD)).
Regarding claim 24 (Currently Amended), Rudolf and Jeon teach The apparatus of claim 21.
Rudolf further teaches further comprising: means for incrementing the first transmit power by the first power ramping step to produce the second transmit power in response to each of the first slot and the second slot comprising the half- duplex slot type ([0190], lines 5-12, if the slots remain the same ( e.g., both are HD or FD) the UE can continue applying the same power ramping step to increment the transmit power for subsequent transmissions, further in [0221], 3-9 and [0155], lines 11-13, confirm that if the slot type remains the same, the power ramping step is consistently applied to increment the transmission power for the second attempt transmission).; and means for incrementing the first transmit power by the second power ramping step to produce the second transmit power in response to each of the first slot and the second slot comprising the SBFD slot type ([0190], lines 5-12, if the slots remain the same ( e.g., both are HD or FD) the UE can continue applying the same power ramping step to increment the transmit power for subsequent transmissions, further in [0221], 3-9 and [0155], lines 11-13, confirm that if the slot type remains the same, the power ramping step is consistently applied to increment the transmission power for the second attempt transmission).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
Abotabl et al.(US 20220386242 A1), AKKARAKARAN et al. (US-20200252974-A1), ABOTABL et al. (US-20220240236-A1), Shao et al. (US-12284679-B2) teach methods that involved optimizing the power control of physical random access channel (PRACH) messages in a wireless communication systems.
Conclusion
/SANAA AL SAMAHI/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/OMAR J GHOWRWAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463