DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 3/29/2024, 11/20/2024, and 7/25/2025. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“Connecting unit” in claims 1 and 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the connection unit" in lines 3, 5, and 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the connection unit" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the connection unit" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the connection unit" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims dependent upon rejected claims are also rejected for indefiniteness. Therefore, dependent claims 4, 6, 8-13, and 15 are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20220370039) hereinafter Zhao, in view of Jordan et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 10723012) hereinafter Jordan.
Regarding claim 1, primary reference Zhao teaches:
An ultrasonic imaging apparatus comprising (abstract):
a main body ([0074], main body 100; figures 1-2; [0076]; [0078]);
a connecting unit configured to rotate and move with respect to the main body ([0076], floating mechanism 300; figures 1-2; [0087]; [0135], figure 16a shows vertical movement additionally; This limitation has been interpreted under 112(f) to correspond to the structural arm shafts as disclosed in paragraphs [00210] and [00215] of the applicant’s submitted specification.); and
a control panel provided on an end of the connecting unit to be movable up, down, right, left, or diagonally while remaining horizontal with respect to the main body ([0075], control panel 200; [0076]; [0097]-[0099]; [0135]; figures 1-3), wherein the connecting unit comprises:
Primary reference Zhao fails to teach:
a first arm provided with four link bars forming a parallelogram in a same plane and configured to rotate and move with respect to the main body; and
a second arm provided with four link bars forming a parallelogram in a plane provided independently of the first arm and configured to rotate and move with respect to the first arm
However, the analogous art of Jordan of a support structure for support of a tool during operation (abstract) teaches:
a first arm provided with four link bars forming a parallelogram in a same plane and configured to rotate and move with respect to the main body (figure 1, linkage arms 62 and 64 connected between plates 67 and 68 form the four link bars and parallelogram that define the first arm (a linkage assembly 38), col 3, lines 49-67. Movement includes up and down rotation); and
a second arm provided with four link bars forming a parallelogram in a plane provided independently of the first arm and configured to rotate and move with respect to the first arm (figure 1, linkage arms 62 and 64 connected between plates 66 and 68 form the four link bars and parallelogram that define the second arm (a linkage assembly 38), col 3, lines 49-67. Movement includes up and down rotation relative to the first arm assembly).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ultrasound apparatus and connecting system of Zhao to incorporate the first and second arms with link bars as taught by Jordan because the multiple arms for articulating provide additional rigidity for extension of the carried weight across multiple positions during use. This prevents failure when overstressed and increases safety margins (see Jordan, col 3, lines 1-7 and lines 49-67).
Regarding claim 2, the combined references of Zhao and Jordan teach all of the limitations of claim 1. Primary reference Zhao further fails to teach:
wherein the four link bars forming the parallelogram comprise:
two horizontal bars arranged parallel to each other; and
two vertical bars each being provided at two ends of the two horizontal bars, and
the horizontal bars are configured to rotate about arm shafts provided on the vertical bars
However, the analogous art of Jordan of a support structure for support of a tool during operation (abstract) teaches:
wherein the four link bars forming the parallelogram comprise:
two horizontal bars arranged parallel to each other (figure 1, linkage arms 62 and 64 connected between plates 66 and 68 (or 67 and 68) form the horizontal bars and are parallel to each other, col 3, lines 49-67); and
two vertical bars each being provided at two ends of the two horizontal bars (figure 1, plates 66 and 68 or plates 67 and 68 form the vertical bars and are parallel to each other, col 3, lines 49-67), and
the horizontal bars are configured to rotate about arm shafts provided on the vertical bars (figure 1, linkage arms 62 and 64 connected between plates 66 and 68 (or 67 and 68) form the horizontal bars and are configured to rotation and pivot about the vertical bars provided by the col 4, lines 4-22, col 3, lines 49-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ultrasound apparatus and connecting system of Zhao and Jordan to incorporate the horizontal and vertical bars as taught by Jordan because the multiple arms for articulating provide additional rigidity for extension of the carried weight across multiple positions during use. This prevents failure when overstressed and increases safety margins (see Jordan, col 3, lines 1-7 and lines 49-67).
Regarding claim 3, the combined references of Zhao and Jordan teach all of the limitations of claim 2. Primary reference Zhao further teaches:
wherein the main body comprises a first connection frame provided to be connected to an end of the connection unit so that the connection unit rotates with respect to a first shaft, the control panel comprises a second connection frame provided to be connected to another end of the connection unit so that the connection unit rotates with respect to a second shaft, and the connection unit further comprises a third shaft is provided between the first arm and the second arm so that the first arm and the second arm rotate relative to each other ([0082]-[0102], as depicted in figures 3 and 4; As shown in figure 3, support seat 312 forms a first connection frame with a first shaft F on the main body, fixation seat 340 forms the second connection frame on the control panel side with a second shaft G for rotation, connection seat 322 forms a third shaft C that is between the first arm and second arm and rotate relative to each other).
Regarding claim 4, the combined references of Zhao and Jordan teach all of the limitations of claim 3. Primary reference Zhao further fails to teach:
wherein the first arm and the second arm are provided in a pair and included in each of a first lifting arm and a second lifting arm, and each of the first lifting arm and the second lifting arm is configured to rotate about a first shaft with respect to the first connection frame provided on the main body at one end, and rotate about a second shaft with respect to a second connection frame provided on a bottom of the control panel at another end
However, the analogous art of Jordan of a support structure for support of a tool during operation (abstract) teaches:
wherein the first arm and the second arm are provided in a pair and included in each of a first lifting arm and a second lifting arm, and each of the first lifting arm and the second lifting arm is configured to rotate about a first shaft with respect to the first connection frame provided on the main body at one end, and rotate about a second shaft with respect to a second connection frame provided on a bottom of the control panel at another end (figure 1, linkage arms 62 and 64 connected between plates 66 and 68 (or 67 and 68) form the horizontal bars and are configured to rotation and pivot about the vertical bars provided by the col 4, lines 4-22, col 3, lines 49-67. These rotations about the connection frame on the main body at the proximal attachment end and a second connection frame on the distal end corresponding to the control panel in the combined prior art invention).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ultrasound apparatus and connecting system of Zhao and Jordan to incorporate the pairs of rotating lifting arms as taught by Jordan because the multiple arms for articulating provide additional rigidity for extension of the carried weight across multiple positions during use. This prevents failure when overstressed and increases safety margins (see Jordan, col 3, lines 1-7 and lines 49-67).
Regarding claim 5, the combined references of Zhao and Jordan teach all of the limitations of claim 4. Primary reference Zhao further fails to teach:
wherein the connection unit comprises a locking gas spring that is provided between the horizontal bars to compensate for weight during an up and down movement and to fix up and down positions, and the locking gas spring is provided in at least one of the first lifting arm or the second lifting arm
However, the analogous art of Jordan of a support structure for support of a tool during operation (abstract) teaches:
wherein the connection unit comprises a locking gas spring that is provided between the horizontal bars to compensate for weight during an up and down movement and to fix up and down positions, and the locking gas spring is provided in at least one of the first lifting arm or the second lifting arm (col 4, lines 48-67 and col 5, lines 1-10, gas spring 88).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ultrasound apparatus and connecting system of Zhao and Jordan to incorporate the locking unit with gas spring as taught by Jordan because it enables precise locking of x,y,z position of the end of the device within the space. This reduces accidental movement once positioned, leading to less repositioning during use (Jordan, col 4, lines 55-67 and col 5, lines 1-10).
Regarding claim 16, primary reference Zhao teaches:
An ultrasonic imaging apparatus (abstract) comprising:
a main body ([0074], main body 100; figures 1-2; [0076]; [0078]);
a connecting unit configured to rotate and move with respect to the main body ([0076], floating mechanism 300; figures 1-2; [0087]; [0135], figure 16a shows vertical movement additionally; This limitation has been interpreted under 112(f) to correspond to the structural arm shafts as disclosed in paragraphs [00210] and [00215] of the applicant’s submitted specification.);
a control panel provided on an end of the connecting unit and configured to be movable up, down, right, left, or diagonally while remaining horizontal with respect to the main body ([0075], control panel 200; [0076]; [0097]-[0099]; [0135]; figures 1-3); and
Primary reference Zhao fails to teach:
a locking unit configured to control a movement of the control panel, wherein the locking unit comprises:
a locking gas spring configured to control an up and down movement of the control panel; and
a brake configured to control forward and backward and left and right movements of the control panel, and is configured to simultaneously operate the locking gas spring and the brake
However, the analogous art of Jordan of a support structure for support of a tool during operation (abstract) teaches:
a locking unit configured to control a movement of the control panel, wherein the locking unit comprises:
a locking gas spring configured to control an up and down movement of the control panel (col 4, lines 48-67 and col 5, lines 1-10, gas spring 88); and
a brake configured to control forward and backward and left and right movements of the control panel, and is configured to simultaneously operate the locking gas spring and the brake (col 4, lines 55-67 and col 5, lines 1-10, pins and nuts at 74, 54, and 56 form a brake that controls forward and left and right positioning of the control panel at the arms and can simultaneously be used with the locking gas spring).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ultrasound apparatus and connecting system of Zhao to incorporate the locking unit with gas spring as taught by Jordan because it enables precise locking of x,y,z position of the end of the device within the space. This reduces accidental movement once positioned, leading to less repositioning during use (Jordan, col 4, lines 55-67 and col 5, lines 1-10).
Claims 6-8, 10-15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao, in view of Jordan as applied to claims 5 or 16 above, and further in view of Schmidt et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20100204578) hereinafter Schmidt.
Regarding claim 6, the combined references of Zhao and Jordan teach all of the limitations of claim 5. Primary reference Zhao further fails to teach:
wherein the first connection frame comprises a brake configured to prevent rotation of the first arm configured to rotate about the first shaft, and the second connection frame comprises a brake configured to prevent rotation of the second arm configured to rotate about the second shaft
However, the analogous art of Schmidt of a support arm for use with an ultrasound system (abstract) teaches:
wherein the first connection frame comprises a brake configured to prevent rotation of the first arm configured to rotate about the first shaft, and the second connection frame comprises a brake configured to prevent rotation of the second arm configured to rotate about the second shaft ([0039], brakes are added for each degree of freedom on the arms provides for brakes at each of the connection frames in the combined invention as these form each of the degrees of freedom for movement; see also [0040]-[0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ultrasound apparatus and connecting system of Zhao and Jordan to incorporate the brakes as taught by Schmidt because the locking prevents undesired motion, such as lateral motion (Schmidt, [0044]). This eliminates the need for repositioning due to accidental movement.
Regarding claim 7, the combined references of Zhao, Jordan, and Schmidt teach all of the limitations of claim 6. Primary reference Zhao further fails to teach:
wherein the connection unit further comprises a brake wire connected to the locking gas spring and the brake to determine whether the control panel is to be moved
However, the analogous art of Schmidt of a support arm for use with an ultrasound system (abstract) teaches:
wherein the connection unit further comprises a brake wire connected to the locking gas spring and the brake to determine whether the control panel is to be moved ([0040], wire for brake).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ultrasound apparatus and connecting system of Zhao, Jordan, and Schmidt to incorporate the brake wire as taught by Schmidt it allows remote electronic operation of the physical brakes by applying a command to the mechanical components (Schmidt, [0040]).
Regarding claim 8, the combined references of Zhao, Jordan, and Schmidt teach all of the limitations of claim 7. Primary reference Zhao further teaches:
wherein the first shaft, the second shaft, and the third shaft are arranged parallel to one another and remain parallel even when an operation of the brake wire connected to the brake is released and thus the control panel is moved ([0082]-[0102], as depicted in figures 3 and 4; As shown in figure 3, support seat 312 forms a first connection frame with a first shaft F on the main body, fixation seat 340 forms the second connection frame on the control panel side with a second shaft G for rotation, connection seat 322 forms a third shaft C that is between the first arm and second arm and rotate relative to each other. Each of these shafts remain parallel when the brake is released (as taught by Schmidt in the combined prior art invention) as throughout operation they are fixed).
Regarding claim 10, the combined references of Zhao, Jordan, and Schmidt teach all of the limitations of claim 8. Primary reference Zhao further teaches:
wherein the arm shafts are provided as two arm shaft on each of the vertical bars and located to be offset from each other so that the first arm and the second arm each form a parallelogram in a same plane ([0082]-[0102], as depicted in figures 3 and 4; As shown in figure 3, support seat 312 forms a first connection frame with a first shaft F on the main body, fixation seat 340 forms the second connection frame on the control panel side with a second shaft G for rotation, Each of these shafts have two arm shafts depicted in figure 3 and form the parallelogram in the combined prior art invention).
Regarding claim 11, the combined references of Zhao, Jordan, and Schmidt teach all of the limitations of claim 8. Primary reference Zhao further teaches:
wherein the control panel is further configured to rotate about the second shaft with the second connection frame provided on the bottom to perform a plane movement ([0082]-[0102], as depicted in figures 3 and 4; As shown in figure 3, support seat 312 forms a first connection frame with a first shaft F on the main body, fixation seat 340 forms the second connection frame on the control panel side with a second shaft G for rotation, Control panel includes frame 340), and
the second arm of any one of the first lift arm and the second lift arm comprises a first rotating member connected to the second shaft ([0082]-[0102], as depicted in figures 3 and 4; As shown in figure 3, support seat 312 forms a first connection frame with a first shaft F on the main body, fixation seat 340 forms the second connection frame on the control panel side with a second shaft G for rotation, Rotating member enables rotation about the axis G), and
the second arm of the other one of the first lift arm and the second lift arm comprises a second rotating member not connected to the second shaft ([0082]-[0102], as depicted in figures 3 and 4; As shown in figure 3, support seat 312 forms a first connection frame with a first shaft F on the main body, fixation seat 340 forms the second connection frame on the control panel side with a second shaft G for rotation, Rotating member enables rotation about the axis C which is not connected to the second shaft).
Regarding claim 12, the combined references of Zhao, Jordan, and Schmidt teach all of the limitations of claim 11. Primary reference Zhao further teaches:
wherein the first rotating member has a cross-sectional area greater than a cross-sectional area of the second rotating member, and the second rotating member is configured to support a bottom of the first rotating member and is connected to the first rotating member obliquely with respect to the second shaft so as to move with the first rotating member ([0082]-[0102], as depicted in figures 3 and 4; As shown in figure 3, support seat 312 forms a first connection frame with a first shaft F on the main body, fixation seat 340 forms the second connection frame on the control panel side with a second shaft G for rotation. The rotating member of 340 has a greater cross sectional area than the lower portion of the connection point which forms the second rotating member).
Regarding claim 13, the combined references of Zhao, Jordan, and Schmidt teach all of the limitations of claim 6. Primary reference Zhao further teaches:
wherein the third shaft is provided as a plurality of third shafts each being connected to the vertical bar of the first arm and the vertical bar of the second arm so that the first arm and the second arm each rotate about the third shaft ([0082]-[0102], as depicted in figures 3 and 4; As shown in figure 3, support seat 312 forms a first connection frame with a first shaft F on the main body, fixation seat 340 forms the second connection frame on the control panel side with a second shaft G for rotation, connection seat 322 forms a third shaft C that is between the first arm and second arm and rotate relative to each other. Third shaft includes a plurality of shafts connected to the vertical bars to enable additional rotation about the third shafts C as depicted in figure 3).
Regarding claim 14, the combined references of Zhao, Jordan, and Schmidt teach all of the limitations of claim 13. Primary reference Zhao further fails to teach:
wherein the connection unit further comprises a brake configured to prevent the rotation of the first arm or the second arm
However, the analogous art of Schmidt of a support arm for use with an ultrasound system (abstract) teaches:
wherein the connection unit further comprises a brake configured to prevent the rotation of the first arm or the second arm ([0039], brakes are added for each degree of freedom on the arms provides for brakes at each of the connection frames in the combined invention as these form each of the degrees of freedom for movement; see also [0040]-[0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ultrasound apparatus and connecting system of Zhao, Jordan, and Schmidt to incorporate the brakes as taught by Schmidt because the locking prevents undesired motion, such as lateral motion (Schmidt, [0044]). This eliminates the need for repositioning due to accidental movement.
Regarding claim 15, the combined references of Zhao, Jordan, and Schmidt teach all of the limitations of claim 6. Primary reference Zhao further fails to teach:
wherein the locking gas spring is provided in the first lifting arm or the second lifting arm so that up and down positions are fixed by one of the first lifting arm and the second lifting arm, and the first lifting arm and the second lifting arm are arranged asymmetrically to each other due to different lengths of the horizontal bar so that positions of the third shafts in the first lifting arm and the second lifting arm are different from each other
However, the analogous art of Jordan of a support structure for support of a tool during operation (abstract) teaches:
wherein the locking gas spring is provided in the first lifting arm or the second lifting arm so that up and down positions are fixed by one of the first lifting arm and the second lifting arm, and the first lifting arm and the second lifting arm are arranged asymmetrically to each other due to different lengths of the horizontal bar so that positions of the third shafts in the first lifting arm and the second lifting arm are different from each other (col 4, lines 48-67 and col 5, lines 1-10, gas spring 88; figures 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ultrasound apparatus and connecting system of Zhao, Jordan, and Schmidt to incorporate the locking unit with gas spring as taught by Jordan because it enables precise locking of x,y,z position of the end of the device within the space. This reduces accidental movement once positioned, leading to less repositioning during use (Jordan, col 4, lines 55-67 and col 5, lines 1-10).
Regarding claim 17, the combined references of Zhao and Jordan teach all of the limitations of claim 16. Primary reference Zhao further fails to teach:
wherein the locking unit comprises:
a locking device that is mechanically or electrically operated; and a link connected to the locking gas spring and the brake and moved by the locking device, and the locking gas spring and the brake receive forces in opposite directions to fix a position of the control panel
However, the analogous art of Schmidt of a support arm for use with an ultrasound system (abstract) teaches:
wherein the locking unit comprises:
a locking device that is mechanically or electrically operated; and a link connected to the locking gas spring and the brake and moved by the locking device, and the locking gas spring and the brake receive forces in opposite directions to fix a position of the control panel ([0039], brakes are added for each degree of freedom on the arms provides for brakes at each of the connection frames in the combined invention as these form each of the degrees of freedom for movement; see also [0040]-[0042], and provide for brake wires for control and the incorporation with a gas spring with a lock tab [0039] for use with the brakes in electronical control. This applies opposite forces to fix the position).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ultrasound apparatus and connecting system of Zhao and Jordan to incorporate the brakes as taught by Schmidt because the locking prevents undesired motion, such as lateral motion (Schmidt, [0044]). This eliminates the need for repositioning due to accidental movement.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao, in view of Jordan, in further view of Schmidt as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Nakajima (U.S. Pub. No. 20220079562) hereinafter Nakajima.
Regarding claim 9, the combined references of Zhao, Jordan, and Schmidt teach all of the limitations of claim 8. Primary reference Zhao further fails to teach:
wherein the ultrasonic imaging apparatus further comprises an actuator connected to the brake wire and configured to determine whether to operate the brake
However, the analogous art of Nakajima of a ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus including a positioning support (abstract) teaches:
wherein the ultrasonic imaging apparatus further comprises an actuator connected to the brake wire and configured to determine whether to operate the brake ([0042], actuator 22 including connection to braking wire).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ultrasound apparatus and connecting system of Zhao to incorporate the actuator for operation of the brake as taught by Nakajima because it allows remote electronic operation of the physical brakes by applying a force to the mechanical components (Nakajima, [0042]). This improves efficiency and speed of use.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SEAN A FRITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798