DETAILED ACTION
Notice of Amendment
2. The Examiner acknowledges the amended claims filed on 05/15/2026.
- Claims 1, 6, 8, 13 and 15 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments filed on 05/15/2026 with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered, but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection as necessitated by Applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1-5, 8-12 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Derbanne et al. (US-PGPUB 2019/0379834).
Regarding claim 1, Derbanne discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising computer readable code executable (Machine-readable instructions 100 stored on a machine-readable medium; see fig. 1 and paragraphs 0071, 0026) by one or more processors (Processor 11; see fig. 1 and paragraph 0026) to:
obtain, during a preview mode for image capture by a camera device, a first preview frame captured by the camera device (Determine the observed trajectory which includes a second portion corresponding to a second moment within the capture duration. The second moment subsequent to the first moment within the capture duration; see paragraphs 0038-0040, 0083);
obtain first camera motion signals associated with the first preview frame and prior camera motion signals associated with a prior preview frame, wherein the first camera motion signals and the prior camera motion signals are obtained from a motion sensor of the camera device (Generate position output signals that convey position information that characterizes positions of the image capture device at different moments within a capture duration. The position sensor 308 refers to a set of position sensors, including inertial measurement units, accelerometers, gyroscopes, and/or other position sensors. The position information characterizes translational and/or rotational positions of the housing 312 and/or changes in translational and/or rotational positions (motion) of the housing 312 (e.g., direction, amount, velocity, acceleration) during the capture duration; see paragraphs 0033-0034, 0082);
determine a smoothed trajectory for the first preview frame based on the first camera motion signals and second camera motion signals (Determine capture trajectory that has smoother changes in the positions of the image capture device/housing of the image capture device than the observed trajectory. Determining a capture trajectory based on a subsequent portion of an observed trajectory includes determining a portion of the capture trajectory corresponding to a given moment within the capture duration based on one or more portions of the observed trajectory corresponding to one or more subsequent moments (moment(s) past the given moment) within the capture duration. The capture trajectory component 104 may determine a capture trajectory of the image capture device/housing of the image capture device further based on one or more prior portions of the observed trajectory; see paragraphs 0048-0050, 0084);
determine a correction rotation based on the smoothed trajectory for the first preview frame (Determine orientations of the capture field of view for the images with respect to the optical field of view of the images based on the capture trajectory of the image capture device/housing of the image capture device and/or other information. The capture trajectory is used to determine how much and in what direction the capture field of view is rotated with respect to the optical field of view; see paragraphs 0062-0063, 0085);
determine a correction translation based on the correction rotation (The corrected positions include rotationally and translationally offsets; see paragraph 0048);
apply the correction translation to the first preview frame to obtain a corrected first preview frame (The capture trajectory is determined based on minimization of a rotational velocity of the image capture device/housing of the image capture device and a rotational acceleration of the image capture device/housing of the image capture device while respecting a set of constraints. The corrected positions include rotationally and translationally offsets. In addition, a low-pass filter can be applied to the observed trajectory to smooth out the abrupt rotational and translational changes in the positions/motions of the image capture device; see paragraphs 0048, 0053-0057, 0046); and
cause the corrected first preview frame to be displayed during the image capture (Generate video content based on visual content of the images within the capture field of view and/or other information. Determination of visual content of images for inclusion in video content effectuates stabilization of the video content. A punch-out of an image includes visual portions of the image presented on a display; see paragraphs 0042, 0064-0068, 0086).
Regarding claim 2, Derbanne discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Derbanne discloses the computer readable code to determine a smoothed trajectory for the first preview frame further comprises computer readable code to: determine a trajectory for the first preview frame; obtain a smoothed trajectory for the prior preview frame; and determine the smoothed trajectory for the first preview frame based on the trajectory for the first preview frame and the smoothed trajectory for the prior preview frame (Determine capture trajectory that has smoother changes in the positions of the image capture device/housing of the image capture device than the observed trajectory. Determining a capture trajectory based on a subsequent portion of an observed trajectory includes determining a portion of the capture trajectory corresponding to a given moment within the capture duration based on one or more portions of the observed trajectory corresponding to one or more subsequent moments (moment(s) past the given moment) within the capture duration. The capture trajectory component 104 may determine a capture trajectory of the image capture device/housing of the image capture device further based on one or more prior portions of the observed trajectory; see paragraphs 0048-0050, 0084).
Regarding claim 3, Derbanne discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2). In addition, Derbanne discloses the computer readable code to determine the smoothed trajectory for the first preview frame based on the trajectory for the first preview frame and the smoothed trajectory for the prior preview frame further comprises computer readable code to: apply a smoothing strength parameter that blends between to the smoothed trajectory for the prior preview frame and the trajectory for the first preview frame (The capture field of view 614 oriented with respect to the optical field of view 612 to provide a punch-out of the image B 610 that is stable with respect to a prior and next punch-out of the images; see paragraph 0063. A smooth path defining yaw angle position, pitch angle position, and/or roll angle position is generated by finding a path of the image capture device/housing of the image capture device that minimizes a combination of a time derivative, a second time derivative, and/or other time derivative(s) of the yaw angle position, pitch angle position, and/or roll angle position while respecting a set of constraints. Portions of the minimization calculation (e.g., the first time derivative) can changed to have a greater affect or a lesser affect than other portion(s) of the minimization calculation (e.g., the second time derivative), and/or other factors may be introduced into the calculation. Motion of the image capture device/image sensor during a frame exposure is analyzed and used to generate/modify a capture trajectory that minimizes inter-frame motion (e.g., smooths inter-frame motion) while preserving the intra-frame motion; see paragraphs 0053-0057).
Regarding claim 4, Derbanne discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 3). In addition, Derbanne discloses the smoothing strength parameter is determined based on at least one selected from a group consisting of: a motion state of the camera device and a lighting condition around the camera device (A smooth path defining yaw angle position, pitch angle position, and/or roll angle position is generated by finding a path of the image capture device/housing of the image capture device that minimizes a combination of a time derivative, a second time derivative, and/or other time derivative(s) of the yaw angle position, pitch angle position, and/or roll angle position while respecting a set of constraints. Motion of the image capture device/image sensor during a frame exposure is analyzed and used to generate/modify a capture trajectory that minimizes inter-frame motion (e.g., smooths inter-frame motion) while preserving the intra-frame motion; see paragraphs 0053-0057).
Regarding claim 5, Derbanne discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 3). In addition, Derbanne discloses the smoothing strength parameter is determined based on a capture mode associated with the first preview frame (Information on high frequencies (jitters) of image capture can used to improve visual characteristics of the generated video content. Certain portion of high frequencies in the input can be kept based on the image capture configuration, such as exposure start time and exposure duration time, the position information (e.g., position sensor readings); see paragraphs 0053-0057).
Regarding claim 8, Derbanne discloses a method (see figs. 1-3) comprising:
obtaining, during a preview mode for image capture by a camera device, a first preview frame captured by the camera device (Determine the observed trajectory which includes a second portion corresponding to a second moment within the capture duration. The second moment subsequent to the first moment within the capture duration; see paragraphs 0038-0040, 0083);
obtaining first camera motion signals associated with the first preview frame and prior camera motion signals associated with a prior preview frame, wherein the first camera motion signals and the prior camera motion signals are obtained from a motion sensor of the camera device (Generate position output signals that convey position information that characterizes positions of the image capture device at different moments within a capture duration. The position sensor 308 refers to a set of position sensors, including inertial measurement units, accelerometers, gyroscopes, and/or other position sensors. The position information characterizes translational and/or rotational positions of the housing 312 and/or changes in translational and/or rotational positions (motion) of the housing 312 (e.g., direction, amount, velocity, acceleration) during the capture duration; see paragraphs 0033-0034, 0082);
determining a smoothed trajectory for the first preview frame based on the first camera motion signals and second camera motion signals (Determine capture trajectory that has smoother changes in the positions of the image capture device/housing of the image capture device than the observed trajectory. Determining a capture trajectory based on a subsequent portion of an observed trajectory includes determining a portion of the capture trajectory corresponding to a given moment within the capture duration based on one or more portions of the observed trajectory corresponding to one or more subsequent moments (moment(s) past the given moment) within the capture duration. The capture trajectory component 104 may determine a capture trajectory of the image capture device/housing of the image capture device further based on one or more prior portions of the observed trajectory; see paragraphs 0048-0050, 0084);
determining a correction rotation based on the smoothed trajectory for the first preview frame (Determine orientations of the capture field of view for the images with respect to the optical field of view of the images based on the capture trajectory of the image capture device/housing of the image capture device and/or other information. The capture trajectory is used to determine how much and in what direction the capture field of view is rotated with respect to the optical field of view; see paragraphs 0062-0063, 0085);
determining a correction translation based on the correction rotation (The corrected positions include rotationally and translationally offsets; see paragraph 0048);
applying the correction translation to the first preview frame to obtain a corrected first preview frame (The capture trajectory is determined based on minimization of a rotational velocity of the image capture device/housing of the image capture device and a rotational acceleration of the image capture device/housing of the image capture device while respecting a set of constraints. The corrected positions include rotationally and translationally offsets. In addition, a low-pass filter can be applied to the observed trajectory to smooth out the abrupt rotational and translational changes in the positions/motions of the image capture device; see paragraphs 0048, 0053-0057, 0046); and
causing the corrected first preview frame to be displayed during the image capture (Generate video content based on visual content of the images within the capture field of view and/or other information. Determination of visual content of images for inclusion in video content effectuates stabilization of the video content. A punch-out of an image includes visual portions of the image presented on a display; see paragraphs 0042, 0064-0068, 0086).
Regarding claim 9, Derbanne discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 8). In addition, Derbanne discloses determining a smoothed trajectory for the first preview frame further comprises: determining a trajectory for the first preview frame; obtaining a smoothed trajectory for the prior preview frame; and determining the smoothed trajectory for the first preview frame based on the trajectory for the first preview frame and the smoothed trajectory for the prior preview frame (Determine capture trajectory that has smoother changes in the positions of the image capture device/housing of the image capture device than the observed trajectory. Determining a capture trajectory based on a subsequent portion of an observed trajectory includes determining a portion of the capture trajectory corresponding to a given moment within the capture duration based on one or more portions of the observed trajectory corresponding to one or more subsequent moments (moment(s) past the given moment) within the capture duration. The capture trajectory component 104 may determine a capture trajectory of the image capture device/housing of the image capture device further based on one or more prior portions of the observed trajectory; see paragraphs 0048-0050, 0084).
Regarding claim 10, Derbanne discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 9). In addition, Derbanne discloses wherein determining the smoothed trajectory for the first preview frame based on the trajectory for the first preview frame and the smoothed trajectory for the prior preview frame further comprises: applying a smoothing strength parameter that blends between to the smoothed trajectory for the prior preview frame and the trajectory for the first preview frame (The capture field of view 614 oriented with respect to the optical field of view 612 to provide a punch-out of the image B 610 that is stable with respect to a prior and next punch-out of the images; see paragraph 0063. A smooth path defining yaw angle position, pitch angle position, and/or roll angle position is generated by finding a path of the image capture device/housing of the image capture device that minimizes a combination of a time derivative, a second time derivative, and/or other time derivative(s) of the yaw angle position, pitch angle position, and/or roll angle position while respecting a set of constraints. Portions of the minimization calculation (e.g., the first time derivative) can changed to have a greater affect or a lesser affect than other portion(s) of the minimization calculation (e.g., the second time derivative), and/or other factors may be introduced into the calculation. Motion of the image capture device/image sensor during a frame exposure is analyzed and used to generate/modify a capture trajectory that minimizes inter-frame motion (e.g., smooths inter-frame motion) while preserving the intra-frame motion; see paragraphs 0053-0057).
Regarding claim 11, Derbanne discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 10). In addition, Derbanne the smoothing strength parameter is determined based on at least one selected from a group consisting of: a motion state of the camera device and a lighting condition around the camera device (A smooth path defining yaw angle position, pitch angle position, and/or roll angle position is generated by finding a path of the image capture device/housing of the image capture device that minimizes a combination of a time derivative, a second time derivative, and/or other time derivative(s) of the yaw angle position, pitch angle position, and/or roll angle position while respecting a set of constraints. Motion of the image capture device/image sensor during a frame exposure is analyzed and used to generate/modify a capture trajectory that minimizes inter-frame motion (e.g., smooths inter-frame motion) while preserving the intra-frame motion; see paragraphs 0053-0057).
Regarding claim 12, Derbanne discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 10). In addition, Derbanne discloses the smoothing strength parameter is determined based on a capture mode associated with the first preview frame (Information on high frequencies (jitters) of image capture can used to improve visual characteristics of the generated video content. Certain portion of high frequencies in the input can be kept based on the image capture configuration, such as exposure start time and exposure duration time, the position information (e.g., position sensor readings); see paragraphs 0053-0057).
Regarding claim 15, Derbanne discloses a system (see figs. 1-3) comprising:
one or more processors (Processor 11; see fig. 1 and paragraph 0026); and
one or more computer readable media comprising computer readable code (Machine-readable instructions 100 stored on a machine-readable medium; see fig. 1 and paragraphs 0071, 0026) executable by the one or more processors to:
obtain, during a preview mode for image capture by a camera device, a first preview frame captured by the camera device (Determine the observed trajectory which includes a second portion corresponding to a second moment within the capture duration. The second moment subsequent to the first moment within the capture duration; see paragraphs 0038-0040, 0083);
obtain first camera motion signals associated with the first preview frame and prior camera motion signals associated with a prior preview frame, wherein the first camera motion signals and the prior camera motion signals are obtained from a motion sensor of the camera device (Generate position output signals that convey position information that characterizes positions of the image capture device at different moments within a capture duration. The position sensor 308 refers to a set of position sensors, including inertial measurement units, accelerometers, gyroscopes, and/or other position sensors. The position information characterizes translational and/or rotational positions of the housing 312 and/or changes in translational and/or rotational positions (motion) of the housing 312 (e.g., direction, amount, velocity, acceleration) during the capture duration; see paragraphs 0033-0034, 0082);
determine a smoothed trajectory for the first preview frame based on the first camera motion signals and second camera motion signals (Determine capture trajectory that has smoother changes in the positions of the image capture device/housing of the image capture device than the observed trajectory. Determining a capture trajectory based on a subsequent portion of an observed trajectory includes determining a portion of the capture trajectory corresponding to a given moment within the capture duration based on one or more portions of the observed trajectory corresponding to one or more subsequent moments (moment(s) past the given moment) within the capture duration. The capture trajectory component 104 may determine a capture trajectory of the image capture device/housing of the image capture device further based on one or more prior portions of the observed trajectory; see paragraphs 0048-0050, 0084);
determine a correction rotation based on the smoothed trajectory for the first preview frame (Determine orientations of the capture field of view for the images with respect to the optical field of view of the images based on the capture trajectory of the image capture device/housing of the image capture device and/or other information. The capture trajectory is used to determine how much and in what direction the capture field of view is rotated with respect to the optical field of view; see paragraphs 0062-0063, 0085);
determine a correction translation based on the correction rotation (The corrected positions include rotationally and translationally offsets; see paragraph 0048);
apply the correction translation to the first preview frame to obtain a corrected first preview frame (The capture trajectory is determined based on minimization of a rotational velocity of the image capture device/housing of the image capture device and a rotational acceleration of the image capture device/housing of the image capture device while respecting a set of constraints. The corrected positions include rotationally and translationally offsets. In addition, a low-pass filter can be applied to the observed trajectory to smooth out the abrupt rotational and translational changes in the positions/motions of the image capture device; see paragraphs 0048, 0053-0057, 0046); and
cause the corrected first preview frame to be displayed during the image capture (Generate video content based on visual content of the images within the capture field of view and/or other information. Determination of visual content of images for inclusion in video content effectuates stabilization of the video content. A punch-out of an image includes visual portions of the image presented on a display; see paragraphs 0042, 0064-0068, 0086).
Regarding claim 16, Derbanne discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 15). In addition, Derbanne discloses the computer readable code to determine a smoothed trajectory for the first preview frame further comprises computer readable code to: determine a trajectory for the first preview frame; obtain a smoothed trajectory for the prior preview frame; and determine the smoothed trajectory for the first preview frame based on the trajectory for the first preview frame and the smoothed trajectory for the prior preview frame (Determine capture trajectory that has smoother changes in the positions of the image capture device/housing of the image capture device than the observed trajectory. Determining a capture trajectory based on a subsequent portion of an observed trajectory includes determining a portion of the capture trajectory corresponding to a given moment within the capture duration based on one or more portions of the observed trajectory corresponding to one or more subsequent moments (moment(s) past the given moment) within the capture duration. The capture trajectory component 104 may determine a capture trajectory of the image capture device/housing of the image capture device further based on one or more prior portions of the observed trajectory; see paragraphs 0048-0050, 0084).
Regarding claim 17, Derbanne discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 16). In addition, Derbanne discloses wherein the computer readable code to determine the smoothed trajectory for the first preview frame based on the trajectory for the first preview frame and the smoothed trajectory for the prior preview frame further comprises computer readable code to: apply a smoothing strength parameter that blends between to the smoothed trajectory for the prior preview frame and the trajectory for the first preview frame (The capture field of view 614 oriented with respect to the optical field of view 612 to provide a punch-out of the image B 610 that is stable with respect to a prior and next punch-out of the images; see paragraph 0063. A smooth path defining yaw angle position, pitch angle position, and/or roll angle position is generated by finding a path of the image capture device/housing of the image capture device that minimizes a combination of a time derivative, a second time derivative, and/or other time derivative(s) of the yaw angle position, pitch angle position, and/or roll angle position while respecting a set of constraints. Portions of the minimization calculation (e.g., the first time derivative) can changed to have a greater affect or a lesser affect than other portion(s) of the minimization calculation (e.g., the second time derivative), and/or other factors may be introduced into the calculation. Motion of the image capture device/image sensor during a frame exposure is analyzed and used to generate/modify a capture trajectory that minimizes inter-frame motion (e.g., smooths inter-frame motion) while preserving the intra-frame motion; see paragraphs 0053-0057).
Regarding claim 18, Derbanne discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 17). In addition, Derbanne the smoothing strength parameter is determined based on at least one selected from a group consisting of: a motion state of the camera device and a lighting condition around the camera device (A smooth path defining yaw angle position, pitch angle position, and/or roll angle position is generated by finding a path of the image capture device/housing of the image capture device that minimizes a combination of a time derivative, a second time derivative, and/or other time derivative(s) of the yaw angle position, pitch angle position, and/or roll angle position while respecting a set of constraints. Motion of the image capture device/image sensor during a frame exposure is analyzed and used to generate/modify a capture trajectory that minimizes inter-frame motion (e.g., smooths inter-frame motion) while preserving the intra-frame motion; see paragraphs 0053-0057).
Regarding claim 19, Derbanne discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 17). In addition, Derbanne discloses the smoothing strength parameter is determined based on a capture mode associated with the first preview frame (Information on high frequencies (jitters) of image capture can used to improve visual characteristics of the generated video content. Certain portion of high frequencies in the input can be kept based on the image capture configuration, such as exposure start time and exposure duration time, the position information (e.g., position sensor readings); see paragraphs 0053-0057).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 6-7, 13-14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Derbanne in view of Kawamura (US-PGPUB 2017/0353661).
Regarding claim 6, Derbanne discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Derbanne discloses image transformations and warping (see paragraph 0067). However, Derbanne does not expressly disclose determine a transform matrix based on the determined correction rotation; and apply the transform matrix to a sample point in the first preview frame to determine the correction translation.
On the other hand, Kawamura discloses determine a transform matrix based on the determined correction rotation; and apply the transform matrix to a sample point in the first preview frame to determine the correction translation (The output image generating unit 105 calculates the rotational transformation matrix and the translation vector between two camera positions and attitudes, which are the input camera position and attitude 907 and the corrected camera position and attitude 906. Furthermore, the output image generating unit 105 performs a rotation process and a translation process to the input frame image 920 in FIG. 6A, based on the rotational transformation matrix and the translation vector, thereby creating the modified frame image 922 in FIG. 6C; see paragraph 0043. FIG. 6A described above illustrates an example where a reference point 901 is set in the input frame image 920; see paragraph 0059).
Since Derbanne and Kawamura are both directed to stabilizing image frames, then it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Derbanne and Kawamura to provide determine a transform matrix based on the determined correction rotation; and apply the transform matrix to a sample point in the first preview frame to determine the correction translation for the purpose of adding precision to the rotation corrections of Derbanne.
Regarding claim 7, Derbanne discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). However, Derbanne does not expressly disclose the corrected translation is adjusted in accordance with an estimated sag of the camera device.
Nevertheless, Kawamura discloses the corrected translation is adjusted in accordance with an estimated sag of the camera device (The relative positional relationship of the camera at the camera centers C1 and C2 is represented by the rotational transformation matrix R and the three-dimensional translation vector T. The camera characteristic is represented by the internal calibration matrix K. Expression (4) is an expression that represents the fundamental matrix F by the rotational transformation matrix R, three-dimensional translation vector T, internal calibration matrix K, and alternating matrix St. After the fundamental matrix F is obtained, the inner parameter matrix of the camera is restored using Expression (4), thereby allowing the rotational transformation matrix R and the translation vector T between the two frames to be obtained; see paragraphs 0051-0057).
Since Derbanne and Kawamura are both directed to stabilizing image frames, then it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Derbanne and Kawamura to provide the corrected translation is adjusted in accordance with an estimated sag of the camera device for the purpose of adding precision to the translation corrections of Derbanne.
Regarding claim 13, Derbanne discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 8). In addition, Derbanne discloses image transformations and warping (see paragraph 0067). However, Derbanne does not expressly disclose determining a transform matrix based on the determined correction rotation; and applying the transform matrix to a sample point in the first preview frame to determine the correction translation.
On the other hand, Kawamura discloses determining a transform matrix based on the determined correction rotation; and applying the transform matrix to a sample point in the first preview frame to determine the correction translation (The output image generating unit 105 calculates the rotational transformation matrix and the translation vector between two camera positions and attitudes, which are the input camera position and attitude 907 and the corrected camera position and attitude 906. Furthermore, the output image generating unit 105 performs a rotation process and a translation process to the input frame image 920 in FIG. 6A, based on the rotational transformation matrix and the translation vector, thereby creating the modified frame image 922 in FIG. 6C; see paragraph 0043. FIG. 6A described above illustrates an example where a reference point 901 is set in the input frame image 920; see paragraph 0059).
Since Derbanne and Kawamura are both directed to stabilizing image frames, then it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Derbanne and Kawamura to provide determining a transform matrix based on the determined correction rotation; and applying the transform matrix to a sample point in the first preview frame to determine the correction translation for the purpose of adding precision to the rotation corrections of Derbanne.
Regarding claim 14, Derbanne discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 8). However, Derbanne does not expressly disclose the corrected translation is adjusted in accordance with an estimated sag of the camera device.
Nevertheless, Kawamura discloses the corrected translation is adjusted in accordance with an estimated sag of the camera device (The relative positional relationship of the camera at the camera centers C1 and C2 is represented by the rotational transformation matrix R and the three-dimensional translation vector T. The camera characteristic is represented by the internal calibration matrix K. Expression (4) is an expression that represents the fundamental matrix F by the rotational transformation matrix R, three-dimensional translation vector T, internal calibration matrix K, and alternating matrix St. After the fundamental matrix F is obtained, the inner parameter matrix of the camera is restored using Expression (4), thereby allowing the rotational transformation matrix R and the translation vector T between the two frames to be obtained; see paragraphs 0051-0057).
Since Derbanne and Kawamura are both directed to stabilizing image frames, then it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Derbanne and Kawamura to provide the corrected translation is adjusted in accordance with an estimated sag of the camera device for the purpose of adding precision to the translation corrections of Derbanne.
Regarding claim 20, Derbanne discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 15). However, Derbanne does not expressly disclose the corrected translation is adjusted in accordance with an estimated sag of the camera device.
Nevertheless, Kawamura discloses the corrected translation is adjusted in accordance with an estimated sag of the camera device (The relative positional relationship of the camera at the camera centers C1 and C2 is represented by the rotational transformation matrix R and the three-dimensional translation vector T. The camera characteristic is represented by the internal calibration matrix K. Expression (4) is an expression that represents the fundamental matrix F by the rotational transformation matrix R, three-dimensional translation vector T, internal calibration matrix K, and alternating matrix St. After the fundamental matrix F is obtained, the inner parameter matrix of the camera is restored using Expression (4), thereby allowing the rotational transformation matrix R and the translation vector T between the two frames to be obtained; see paragraphs 0051-0057).
Since Derbanne and Kawamura are both directed to stabilizing image frames, then it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Derbanne and Kawamura to provide the corrected translation is adjusted in accordance with an estimated sag of the camera device for the purpose of adding precision to the translation corrections of Derbanne.
Conclusion
10. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CYNTHIA CALDERON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639 06/05/2026