This office action is in response to remarks filed on 06/16/2026.
Claims 1, 7, 9, 13, 15, 17, 21, and 23-33 are pending and presented for examination. Claims 1, 7, 9, 13, 15, 17, 21, and 23-33 are amended. Claims 5 and 22 are canceled.
Response to Amendments
Claims 1, 7, 9, 13, 15, 17, 21, and 23-33 have been considered based on amendments.
Claims 5 and 22 has been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin et al (US20200404692A1) (hereinafter "Yin") in view of Fakoorian et al (US20230345465A1) (hereinafter "Fakoorian").
Regarding claim 1, Yin discloses a method for wireless communication, comprising:
determining, with a wireless access node, a first slot for a first PUCCH and a second slot for a second PUCCH; and in response ([0032] The method includes transmitting a first parameter used for configuring a number of slots for a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) repetitions. The method also includes transmitting a second parameter used for configuring a number of slots for second PUCCH repetitions.),
processing, with the wireless access node, the second PUCCH based on positions of the first slot and the second slot and a time domain position of the second PUCCH relative to the first PUCCH, wherein ([0032] The method includes transmitting a first parameter used for configuring a number of slots for a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) repetitions. The method also includes transmitting a second parameter used for configuring a number of slots for second PUCCH repetitions. [0139] The uplink RB may include twelve sub-carriers in frequency domain and seven (for normal CP) or six (for extended CP) OFDM/DFT-S-OFDM symbols in time domain.)
the first PUCCH has a repetition factor greater than 1 ([0032] A communication method of a base station apparatus is also described. The method includes transmitting a first parameter used for configuring a number of slots for a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) repetitions. See also fig. 8: "Long PUCCH with multi-slot transmission"),
wherein the processing of the second PUCCH based on the positions of the first slot and the second slot and the time domain position of the second PUCCH relative to the first PUCCH, further comprises:
if the second PUCCH is dynamically scheduled or semi-statically configured ([0068] PUCCH can be used to report channel state information. … A CSI report can be a periodic CSI (P-CSI), semi-persistent CSI or an aperiodic CSI (A-CSI). … For P-CSI, the PUCCH resource may be semi-statically configured by higher layer signaling. For A-CSI, the PUCCH resource can be dynamically indicated.) and would be in the second slot, and if the second slot and the first slot are the same slot ([0030] For a case that the first PUCCH repetitions collide with the second PUCCH repetitions, a priority for different types of uplink control information (UCI) is applied.),
prohibiting the wireless access node from scheduling or configuring the second PUCCH; or (The examiner does not select this because of the "or" statement.)
allowing the wireless access node to schedule or configure the second PUCCH ([0042] If a UCI is carried with a long PUCCH with multi-slot transmission, and a partial or fully overlapping occurs with another PUCCH carrying a different UCI, the long PUCCH with multi-slot transmission can be dropped and postponed to a later slot, and the PUCCH carrying the other UCI should be transmitted.).
Yin fails to disclose a method, comprising: if the second PUCCH and the first PUCCH are non-overlapping in the time domain; wherein the wireless access node does not expect to receive the second PUCCH.
However, Fakoorian discloses a method, comprising: if the second PUCCH and the first PUCCH are non-overlapping in the time domain, then ([0118] FIG. 8 is a channel resource grid 800 illustrating back-to-back PUCCH repetition, in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. In back-to-back repetition, a signal, such as a PUCCH signal, transmitted in a first symbol of a slot and is then repeated in the next symbol of the slot. In this example, a PUCH signal may be repeated four times and a first PUCCH repetition 804 may be transmitted in a slot 802 in symbol 3. After the first PUCCH repetition 804, a second PUCCH repetition 806 is transmitted in symbol 4, a third PUCCH repetition 808 is transmitted in symbol 5, and similarly a fourth PUCCH repetition 810 is transmitted in symbol 6.);
wherein the wireless access node does not expect to receive the second PUCCH ([0129] In some cases where the overlapping PUCCH messages have different UCI types, the wireless device may not expect that the PUCCH that is not dynamically scheduled (e.g., second PUCCH message) to have a UCI with a higher priority than the PUCCH that is dynamically scheduled (e.g., first PUCCH message).).
Yin and Fakoorian are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of resource allocation and mechanisms for handling collisions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Yin with Fakoorian to create a method, comprising: if the second PUCCH and the first PUCCH are non-overlapping in the time domain; wherein the wireless access node does not expect to receive the second PUCCH.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to avoid same-priority overlaps.
Regarding claim 21, Yin discloses a method for wireless communication, comprising:
determining, with a User Equipment (UE), a first slot for a first PUCCH and a second slot for a second PUCCH; and in response ([0032] The method includes transmitting a first parameter used for configuring a number of slots for a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) repetitions. The method also includes transmitting a second parameter used for configuring a number of slots for second PUCCH repetitions.),
processing, with the UE, the second PUCCH based on a position of the first slot and the second slot and a time domain position of the second PUCCH relative to the first PUCCH, wherein ([0032] The method includes transmitting a first parameter used for configuring a number of slots for a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) repetitions. The method also includes transmitting a second parameter used for configuring a number of slots for second PUCCH repetitions. [0139] The uplink RB may include twelve sub-carriers in frequency domain and seven (for normal CP) or six (for extended CP) OFDM/DFT-S-OFDM symbols in time domain.)
the first PUCCH has a repetition factor greater than 1, and ([0032] A communication method of a base station apparatus is also described. The method includes transmitting a first parameter used for configuring a number of slots for a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) repetitions. See also fig. 8: "Long PUCCH with multi-slot transmission")
if the second PUCCH is dynamically scheduled or semi-statically configured ([0068] PUCCH can be used to report channel state information. … A CSI report can be a periodic CSI (P-CSI), semi-persistent CSI or an aperiodic CSI (A-CSI). … For P-CSI, the PUCCH resource may be semi-statically configured by higher layer signaling. For A-CSI, the PUCCH resource can be dynamically indicated.), if the UE would transmit the dynamically scheduled or semi-statically configured second PUCCH in the second slot, if the second slot and the first slot are the same slot ([0030] For a case that the first PUCCH repetitions collide with the second PUCCH repetitions, a priority for different types of uplink control information (UCI) is applied.),
canceling, with the UE, transmission of the second PUCCH ([0085] Therefore, yet in another approach, full channel dropping may be used, as illustrated in FIG. 7. In the case of collision between two PUCCH, the PUCCH with lower priority is not transmitted. This assumes the UE 102 would know the collision situation in advance before the transmission of the other PUCCH.).
Yin fails to disclose a method, comprising: if the second PUCCH and the first PUCCH are non-overlapping in the time domain; then the UE does not expect the second PUCCH to be dynamically scheduled or semi-statically configured in the second slot or the method further comprises.
However, Fakoorian discloses a method, comprising: if the second PUCCH and the first PUCCH are non-overlapping in the time domain, then ([0118] FIG. 8 is a channel resource grid 800 illustrating back-to-back PUCCH repetition, in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. In back-to-back repetition, a signal, such as a PUCCH signal, transmitted in a first symbol of a slot and is then repeated in the next symbol of the slot. In this example, a PUCH signal may be repeated four times and a first PUCCH repetition 804 may be transmitted in a slot 802 in symbol 3. After the first PUCCH repetition 804, a second PUCCH repetition 806 is transmitted in symbol 4, a third PUCCH repetition 808 is transmitted in symbol 5, and similarly a fourth PUCCH repetition 810 is transmitted in symbol 6.);
then the UE does not expect the second PUCCH to be dynamically scheduled or semi-statically configured in the second slot or the method further comprises ([0129] In some cases where the overlapping PUCCH messages have different UCI types, the wireless device may not expect that the PUCCH that is not dynamically scheduled (e.g., second PUCCH message) to have a UCI with a higher priority than the PUCCH that is dynamically scheduled (e.g., first PUCCH message).).
Yin and Fakoorian are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of resource allocation and mechanisms for handling collisions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Yin with Fakoorian to create a method, comprising: if the second PUCCH and the first PUCCH are non-overlapping in the time domain; then the UE does not expect the second PUCCH to be dynamically scheduled or semi-statically configured in the second slot or the method further comprises.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to avoid same-priority overlaps.
Claims 7, 9, 13, 15, 17, and 23-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin in view of Fakoorian, and further in view of Lin et al (US20200296716A1) (hereinafter "Lin"), Intel et al (R1-1810755) (hereinafter "Intel"), and Xiong et al (US20220030606A1) (hereinafter "Xiong").
Regarding claim 7, Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, fails to disclose the method, wherein if the second PUCCH is dynamically scheduled, then prohibiting the wireless access node from scheduling the second PUCCH.
However, Lin discloses the method, wherein if the second PUCCH is dynamically scheduled, then prohibiting the wireless access node from scheduling the second PUCCH ([0141] In action S1202, the UE may indicate PUCCH 160 as the first group 1212 and indicate PUCCH 170 as the second group 1214. In action S1204, the UE may compare priority between different groups. The UE may then decide to drop PUCCH 170 that has a lower priority.).
Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, and Lin are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques to address PUCCH transmission overlapping in a slot with PUSCH transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, with Lin with to create the method, wherein if the second PUCCH is dynamically scheduled, then prohibiting the wireless access node from scheduling the second PUCCH.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve reliability.
Regarding claim 9, Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, fails to disclose the method, wherein if the second PUCCH is semi-statically configured, then allowing the wireless access node to configure the second PUCCH, wherein the wireless access node does not expect to receive the second PUCCH.
However, Lin discloses the method, wherein if the second PUCCH is semi-statically configured, then allowing the wireless access node to configure the second PUCCH, wherein the wireless access node does not expect to receive the second PUCCH ([0150] In action S1302, the UE may indicate PUCCH 160 as the first group 1312 and indicate PUCCH 170 as the second group 1314. In action S1304, the UE may compare priority between a set Q(0) (which includes PUCCH 160) and PUSCH 180. The UE may drop PUSCH 180 because PUSCH 180 has a lower priority. Dropping the PUSCH 180 may be indicated by a field in a DL assignment scheduling a URLLC transmission. In action S1306, there are no overlapping resources after PUSCH 180 is dropped and the UE may transmit only PUCCH 160 and PUCCH 170.).
Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, and Lin are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques to address PUCCH transmission overlapping in a slot with PUSCH transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, with Lin with to create the method, wherein if the second PUCCH is semi-statically configured, then allowing the wireless access node to configure the second PUCCH, wherein the wireless access node does not expect to receive the second PUCCH.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve reliability.
Regarding claim 13, Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, fails to disclose the method, further wherein if a UCI type priority for the second PUCCH is lower than the UCI type priority for first PUCCH, then allowing the wireless access node to schedule the second PUCCH, wherein the wireless access node does not expect to receive the second PUCCH.
However, Lin discloses the method, further wherein if a UCI type priority for the second PUCCH is lower than the UCI type priority for first PUCCH, then allowing the wireless access node to schedule the second PUCCH, wherein the wireless access node does not expect to receive the second PUCCH ([0102] In a first method, URLLC UCI may be allocated first regardless of a type of UCI. The priority order of UCI messages may be URLLC HARQ-ACK/SR>URLLC CSI>eMBB HARQ-ACK/SR>eMBB CSI. [0150] In action S1302, the UE may indicate PUCCH 160 as the first group 1312 and indicate PUCCH 170 as the second group 1314. In action S1304, the UE may compare priority between a set Q(0) (which includes PUCCH 160) and PUSCH 180. The UE may drop PUSCH 180 because PUSCH 180 has a lower priority. Dropping the PUSCH 180 may be indicated by a field in a DL assignment scheduling a URLLC transmission. In action S1306, there are no overlapping resources after PUSCH 180 is dropped and the UE may transmit only PUCCH 160 and PUCCH 170.).
Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, and Lin are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques to address PUCCH transmission overlapping in a slot with PUSCH transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, with Lin with to create the method, further wherein if a UCI type priority for the second PUCCH is lower than the UCI type priority for first PUCCH, then allowing the wireless access node to schedule the second PUCCH, wherein the wireless access node does not expect to receive the second PUCCH.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve reliability.
Regarding claim 15, Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, fails to disclose the method, further wherein if a UCI type priority for the second PUCCH is higher than the UCI type priority for first PUCCH, then allowing the wireless access node to schedule the second PUCCH, wherein the wireless access node does not expect to receive the first PUCCH.
However, Lin discloses the method, further wherein if a UCI type priority for the second PUCCH is higher than the UCI type priority for first PUCCH, then allowing the wireless access node to schedule the second PUCCH, wherein the wireless access node does not expect to receive the first PUCCH ([0102] In a first method, URLLC UCI may be allocated first regardless of a type of UCI. The priority order of UCI messages may be URLLC HARQ-ACK/SR>URLLC CSI>eMBB HARQ-ACK/SR>eMBB CSI. [0150] In action S1302, the UE may indicate PUCCH 160 as the first group 1312 and indicate PUCCH 170 as the second group 1314. In action S1304, the UE may compare priority between a set Q(0) (which includes PUCCH 160) and PUSCH 180. The UE may drop PUSCH 180 because PUSCH 180 has a lower priority. Dropping the PUSCH 180 may be indicated by a field in a DL assignment scheduling a URLLC transmission. In action S1306, there are no overlapping resources after PUSCH 180 is dropped and the UE may transmit only PUCCH 160 and PUCCH 170.).
Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, and Lin are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques to address PUCCH transmission overlapping in a slot with PUSCH transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, with Lin with to create the method, further wherein if a UCI type priority for the second PUCCH is higher than the UCI type priority for first PUCCH, then allowing the wireless access node to schedule the second PUCCH, wherein the wireless access node does not expect to receive the first PUCCH.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve reliability.
Regarding claim 17, Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, fails to disclose the method, further wherein if a UCI type priority for the second PUCCH is lower than the UCI type priority for first PUCCH, then prohibiting the wireless access node from scheduling the second PUCCH.
However, Lin discloses the method, further wherein if a UCI type priority for the second PUCCH is lower than the UCI type priority for first PUCCH, then prohibiting the wireless access node from scheduling the second PUCCH ([0102] In a first method, URLLC UCI may be allocated first regardless of a type of UCI. The priority order of UCI messages may be URLLC HARQ-ACK/SR>URLLC CSI>eMBB HARQ-ACK/SR>eMBB CSI. [0141] In action S1202, the UE may indicate PUCCH 160 as the first group 1212 and indicate PUCCH 170 as the second group 1214. In action S1204, the UE may compare priority between different groups. The UE may then decide to drop PUCCH 170 that has a lower priority.).
Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, and Lin are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques to address PUCCH transmission overlapping in a slot with PUSCH transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, with Lin with to create the method, further wherein if a UCI type priority for the second PUCCH is lower than the UCI type priority for first PUCCH, then prohibiting the wireless access node from scheduling the second PUCCH.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve reliability.
Regarding claim 23, Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, fails to disclose the method, wherein if the second PUCCH is dynamically scheduled, then the UE does not expect the second PUCCH to be dynamically scheduled in the second slot.
However, Lin discloses the method, wherein if the second PUCCH is dynamically scheduled, then the UE does not expect the second PUCCH to be dynamically scheduled in the second slot ([0141] In action S1202, the UE may indicate PUCCH 160 as the first group 1212 and indicate PUCCH 170 as the second group 1214. In action S1204, the UE may compare priority between different groups. The UE may then decide to drop PUCCH 170 that has a lower priority.).
Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, and Lin are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques to address PUCCH transmission overlapping in a slot with PUSCH transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, with Lin with to create the method, wherein if the second PUCCH is dynamically scheduled, then the UE does not expect the second PUCCH to be dynamically scheduled in the second slot.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve reliability.
Regarding claim 24, Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, fails to disclose the method, wherein if the second PUCCH is dynamically scheduled, then the UE does not expect the second PUCCH to be dynamically scheduled in the second slot.
However, Lin discloses the method, wherein if the second PUCCH is dynamically scheduled, then the UE does not expect the second PUCCH to be dynamically scheduled in the second slot ([0141] In action S1202, the UE may indicate PUCCH 160 as the first group 1212 and indicate PUCCH 170 as the second group 1214. In action S1204, the UE may compare priority between different groups. The UE may then decide to drop PUCCH 170 that has a lower priority.).
Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, and Lin are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques to address PUCCH transmission overlapping in a slot with PUSCH transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, with Lin with to create the method, wherein if the second PUCCH is dynamically scheduled, then the UE does not expect the second PUCCH to be dynamically scheduled in the second slot.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve reliability.
Regarding claim 25, Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, fails to disclose the method, wherein the UE cancels the transmission of the second PUCCH further if a UCI type priority for the second PUCCH is lower than the UCI type priority for the first PUCCH.
However, Lin discloses the method, wherein the UE cancels the transmission of the second PUCCH further if a UCI type priority for the second PUCCH is lower than the UCI type priority for the first PUCCH ([0150] In action S1302, the UE may indicate PUCCH 160 as the first group 1312 and indicate PUCCH 170 as the second group 1314. In action S1304, the UE may compare priority between a set Q(0) (which includes PUCCH 160) and PUSCH 180. The UE may drop PUSCH 180 because PUSCH 180 has a lower priority. Dropping the PUSCH 180 may be indicated by a field in a DL assignment scheduling a URLLC transmission. In action S1306, there are no overlapping resources after PUSCH 180 is dropped and the UE may transmit only PUCCH 160 and PUCCH 170.).
Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, and Lin are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques to address PUCCH transmission overlapping in a slot with PUSCH transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, with Lin with to create the method, wherein the UE cancels the transmission of the second PUCCH further if a UCI type priority for the second PUCCH is lower than the UCI type priority for the first PUCCH.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve reliability.
Regarding claim 26, Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, fails to disclose the method, wherein if a UCI type priority for the second PUCCH is higher than the UCI type priority for first PUCCH, then the method further comprises: canceling, with the UE, transmission of the first PUCCH, and transmitting, with the UE, the second PUCCH.
However, Lin discloses the method, wherein if a UCI type priority for the second PUCCH is higher than the UCI type priority for first PUCCH, then the method further comprises: canceling, with the UE, transmission of the first PUCCH, and transmitting, with the UE, the second PUCCH ([0150] In action S1302, the UE may indicate PUCCH 160 as the first group 1312 and indicate PUCCH 170 as the second group 1314. In action S1304, the UE may compare priority between a set Q(0) (which includes PUCCH 160) and PUSCH 180. The UE may drop PUSCH 180 because PUSCH 180 has a lower priority. Dropping the PUSCH 180 may be indicated by a field in a DL assignment scheduling a URLLC transmission. In action S1306, there are no overlapping resources after PUSCH 180 is dropped and the UE may transmit only PUCCH 160 and PUCCH 170.).
Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, and Lin are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques to address PUCCH transmission overlapping in a slot with PUSCH transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, with Lin with to create the method, wherein if a UCI type priority for the second PUCCH is higher than the UCI type priority for first PUCCH, then the method further comprises: canceling, with the UE, transmission of the first PUCCH, and transmitting, with the UE, the second PUCCH.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve reliability.
Regarding claim 27, Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, fails to disclose the method, wherein if the UE would transmit the dynamically scheduled or semi-statically configured second PUCCH in the second slot, and if the second slot and the first slot are the same slot, and if the second PUCCH and the first PUCCH are non-overlapping in the time domain, and if a UCI type priority for the second PUCCH is lower than the UCI type priority for first PUCCH, then the UE does not expect the second PUCCH to be configured in the second slot.
However, Lin discloses the method, wherein if a UCI type priority for the second PUCCH is lower than the UCI type priority for first PUCCH ([0102] In a first method, URLLC UCI may be allocated first regardless of a type of UCI. The priority order of UCI messages may be URLLC HARQ-ACK/SR>URLLC CSI>eMBB HARQ-ACK/SR>eMBB CSI.).
Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, and Lin are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques to address PUCCH transmission overlapping in a slot with PUSCH transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, with Lin with to create the method, wherein if a UCI type priority for the second PUCCH is lower than the UCI type priority for first PUCCH.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve reliability.
Yin, as modified by Fakoorian,fails to disclose the method, wherein if the second slot and the first slot are the same slot, and if the second PUCCH and the first PUCCH are non-overlapping in the time domain.
However, Intel discloses the method, wherein if the second slot and the first slot are the same slot, and if the second PUCCH and the first PUCCH are non-overlapping in the time domain (Pg. 3: After UCI multiplexing on PUCCH and PUSCH, if more than two non-overlapping PUCCH resources or two non-overlapping PUCCH resources with long PUCCH format are determined, priority based dropping rule is defined to multiplex two non-overlapping PUCCH resources in a slot and least one of PUCCH resources is short PUCCH. The priority rule is defined as HARQ-ACK feedback > SR > CSI with higher priority > CSI with lower priority).
Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, and Intel are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques to address PUCCH transmission overlapping in a slot with PUSCH transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, with Intel to create the method, if the second slot and the first slot are the same slot, and if the second PUCCH and the first PUCCH are non-overlapping in the time domain.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve reliability.
Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, fails to disclose the method, wherein if the UE would transmit the dynamically scheduled or semi-statically configured second PUCCH in the second slot, then the UE does not expect the second PUCCH to be configured in the second slot.
However, Xiong discloses the method, wherein if the UE would transmit the dynamically scheduled or semi-statically configured second PUCCH in the second slot ([0071] This may include design aspects on how to handle the collision with semi-static downlink (DL) symbols, handle the case when the PUCCH repetition is across the slot boundary, etc. To this end, a resource allocation scheme is disclosed for an enhanced PUCCH repetition mechanism, as is a mechanism on handling collision with semi-static DL symbols and invalid symbols. [0079] For a PUCCH carrying dynamic HARQ-ACK feedback, the number of repetitions can be configured by RRC signalling, or dynamically indicated in the DCI for scheduling physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), or a combination thereof.), then the UE does not expect the second PUCCH to be configured in the second slot ([0087] In another option, when the PUCCH format is changed from a long PUCCH format in nominal repetition to a short PUCCH format in actual repetition, the actual repetition is cancelled only for a UCI payload size greater than 2 bits.).
Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, and Xiong are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of resource allocation and handling mechanisms for collisions with semi-static downlink symbols.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, with Xiong to create the method, wherein if the UE would transmit the dynamically scheduled or semi-statically configured second PUCCH in the second slot, then the UE does not expect the second PUCCH to be configured in the second slot.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to avoid same-priority overlaps.
Regarding claim 28, Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, fails to disclose the method, wherein if the UE would transmit the dynamically scheduled or semi-statically configured second PUCCH in the second slot, and if the second slot and the first slot are the same slot, and if the second PUCCH and the first PUCCH are non-overlapping in the time domain, and if a UCI type priority for the second PUCCH is same as the UCI type priority for first PUCCH, then the UE does not expect the second PUCCH to be configured in the second slot.
However, Lin discloses the method, wherein if a UCI type priority for the second PUCCH is same as the UCI type priority for first PUCCH ([0102] In a first method, URLLC UCI may be allocated first regardless of a type of UCI. The priority order of UCI messages may be URLLC HARQ-ACK/SR>URLLC CSI>eMBB HARQ-ACK/SR>eMBB CSI.).
Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, and Lin are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques to address PUCCH transmission overlapping in a slot with PUSCH transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, with Lin with to create the method, wherein if a UCI type priority for the second PUCCH is same as the UCI type priority for first PUCCH.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve reliability.
Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, fails to disclose the method, wherein if the second slot and the first slot are the same slot, and if the second PUCCH and the first PUCCH are non-overlapping in the time domain.
However, Intel discloses the method, wherein if the second slot and the first slot are the same slot, and if the second PUCCH and the first PUCCH are non-overlapping in the time domain (Pg. 3: After UCI multiplexing on PUCCH and PUSCH, if more than two non-overlapping PUCCH resources or two non-overlapping PUCCH resources with long PUCCH format are determined, priority based dropping rule is defined to multiplex two non-overlapping PUCCH resources in a slot and least one of PUCCH resources is short PUCCH. The priority rule is defined as HARQ-ACK feedback > SR > CSI with higher priority > CSI with lower priority).
Yin, as modified by Fakoorian and Intel are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor, of techniques to address PUCCH transmission overlapping in a slot with PUSCH transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, with Intel to create the method, if the second slot and the first slot are the same slot, and if the second PUCCH and the first PUCCH are non-overlapping in the time domain.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve reliability.
Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, fails to disclose the method, wherein if the UE would transmit the dynamically scheduled or semi-statically configured second PUCCH in the second slot, then the UE does not expect the second PUCCH to be in the second slot.
However, Xiong discloses the method, wherein if the UE would transmit the dynamically scheduled or semi-statically configured second PUCCH in the second slot ([0071] This may include design aspects on how to handle the collision with semi-static downlink (DL) symbols, handle the case when the PUCCH repetition is across the slot boundary, etc. To this end, a resource allocation scheme is disclosed for an enhanced PUCCH repetition mechanism, as is a mechanism on handling collision with semi-static DL symbols and invalid symbols. [0079] For a PUCCH carrying dynamic HARQ-ACK feedback, the number of repetitions can be configured by RRC signalling, or dynamically indicated in the DCI for scheduling physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), or a combination thereof.), then the UE does not expect the second PUCCH to be configured in the second slot ([0087] In another option, when the PUCCH format is changed from a long PUCCH format in nominal repetition to a short PUCCH format in actual repetition, the actual repetition is cancelled only for a UCI payload size greater than 2 bits.).
Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, and Xiong are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of resource allocation and handling mechanisms for collisions with semi-static downlink symbols.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, with Xiong to create the method, wherein if the UE would transmit the dynamically scheduled or semi-statically configured second PUCCH in the second slot, then the UE does not expect the second PUCCH to be in the second slot.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to avoid same-priority overlaps.
Claims 29-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin in view of Fakoorian, and further in view of Ying et al (US20240405951A1) (hereinafter "Ying") and Choi et al (US20230247627A1) (hereinafter "Choi").
Regarding claim 29, Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, fails to disclose a method, comprising: receiving, by a user device, a configuration for a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) cell switching between a first cell and a second cell; and determining, by the user device, a slot configured as a period position of an uplink control information (UCI) PUCCH to be a PUCCH slot or not be a PUCCH slot based on a symbol type contained in the slot and a symbol type contained of another slot, wherein
the another slot overlaps the slot in a time domain, and the symbol type comprises: a downlink symbol, an uplink symbol, or a flexible symbol, the slot is in one of the first cell or the second cell, and the UCI PUCCH comprises: a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgment (HARQ-ACK), a scheduling request (SR), or channel state information (CSI).
However, Ying discloses a method, comprising: receiving, by a user device, a configuration for a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) cell switching between a first cell and a second cell; and ([0050] The deferred SPS HARQ-ACK from the first cell and the normal HARQ-ACK in the second cell may be concatenated into a single joint HARQ-ACK codebook for the PUCCH transmission. [0051] Another method by a user equipment (UE) is described. The method may include receiving a first radio resource control (RRC) message comprising first information used for configuring a Semi-Persistent Scheduling (SPS) physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) configuration. The method may also include receiving a second RRC message comprising second information used for configuring that deferring of SPS hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) is supported. The method may further include receiving a third RRC message comprising third information used for configuring cell switching (based on semi-static configuration and/or dynamic indication).)
determining, by the user device, a slot configured as a period position of an uplink control information (UCI) PUCCH to be a PUCCH slot or not be a PUCCH slot based on a symbol type contained in the slot and a symbol type contained of another slot, wherein ([0065] To support ultra-low latency, more than one HARQ-ACK feedback in a slot may be configured for URLLC services. In some approaches, two or more HARQ-ACK codebooks may be simultaneously constructed for different service types. The PUCCH for URLLC HARQ-ACK may be used to transmit HARQ-ACK in a sub-slot level. [0086] In some approaches, UCI multiplexing on PUCCH may be supported only for UCIs with the same priority. As enhancements of HARQ-ACK reporting with different priorities, multiplexing of UCI between different priorities can be supported by high layer signaling under some timing restrictions. [0259] The UCI multiplexing in the initial slot may be changed. If an SPS HARQ PUCCH resource is overlapping, it may be deferred even though it could still be multiplexed (e.g., due to PRI overriding). In yet another example (Alt. 2), intra-slot deferral may be utilized before inter-slot deferral. If the SPS HARQ-ACK resource is not valid (and there is no multiplexing with other UCI in the slot, for instance), the UE may search and/or determine an alternative PUCCH resource from another PUCCH resource set (e.g., intra-slot deferral).)
the another slot overlaps the slot in a time domain, and ([0326] For PUCCH carrier switching based on semi-static operation, for the case the PCell slot to be longer than the target PUCCH cell slot or sub-slot (i.e. multiple target PUCCH cell slots overlapping with a single PCell slot), the following PUCCH cell slot is used for UCI transmission. In a design (Alt. 1), the first target PUCCH slot overlapping with the PCell slot is used. In yet another design (Alt. 2), a relative slot-offset within the reference cell slot is used. The relative slot offset is configured in the time domain pattern (i.e. time domain pattern contains ‘cell index’ & ‘slot_offset’ for each reference cell slot).)
the symbol type comprises: a downlink symbol, an uplink symbol, or a flexible symbol, the slot is in one of the first cell or the second cell, and ([0256] Examples of techniques to prevent SPS HARQ-ACK dropping for TDD operation are described herein. Due to TDD configuration and/or UL/flexible/DL slot/symbol allocation, there may not be corresponding UL and/or flexible symbol(s) for SPS HARQ-ACK transmission. [0051] The method may further include receiving HARQ-ACK information in a first slot/sub-slot in a first cell. The method may additionally include receiving a deferred HARQ-ACK information transmission in a second slot/sub-slot in a second cell if cell switching is triggered and the first slot/sub-slot in of the first cell is not available.)
the UCI PUCCH comprises: a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgment (HARQ-ACK), a scheduling request (SR), or channel state information (CSI) ([0259] The other UCI/dynamic PUCCH resource may include HARQ-ACK, SR and/or CSI (e.g., multi-CSI-PUCCH-ResourceList in a higher layer).).
Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, and Ying are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of resource allocation and handling mechanisms for collisions with semi-static downlink symbols
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, with Ying to create the method, comprising: wherein the symbol type comprises: a downlink symbol, an uplink symbol, or a flexible symbol, the UCI PUCCH comprises: HARQ-ACK, SR, or CSI.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to avoid same-priority overlaps
Regarding claim 30, Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, fails to disclose the method, wherein the slot contains at least one symbol that is the flexible symbol, the slot is not configured as the PUCCH slot in response to the slot containing at least one flexible symbol, the another slot that overlaps the slot in the time domain is allowed to be indicated as a PUCCH slot if the another slot contains uplink symbols or flexible symbols, and the another slot is in the other of the first cell and the second cell.
However, Choi discloses a method, wherein
the slot contains at least one symbol that is the flexible symbol ([0266] Here, the DL slot is a slot including only DL symbols, the UL slot is a slot including only UL symbols, and the S slot is a slot including at least one flexible symbol.),
the slot is not configured as the PUCCH slot in response to the slot containing at least one flexible symbol ([0111] In the slot, symbols not configured with any one of a UL symbol and a DL symbol are flexible symbols.),
another slot that overlaps the slot in a time domain is allowed to be indicated as a PUCCH slot if the another slot contains uplink symbols or flexible symbols, and ([0266] More specifically, there are five slots in which the subcarrier spacing of 5 ms is 15 kHz, and the first three of the five slots are DL slots, the next slot is an S slot, and the last slot is a UL slot.)
the another slot is in the other of the first cell and the second cell ([0037] In still another aspect, the first slot may be a most preceding slot to which the PUCCH repetition is allocated, and the second slot may be a most second slot among slots in which the PUCCH repetition is transmittable.).
Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, and Choi are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of managing potential time domain overlaps between PUCCH transmissions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, with Choi to create the method, wherein the slot contains at least one symbol that is the flexible symbol, the slot is not configured as the PUCCH slot in response to the slot containing at least one flexible symbol, the another slot that overlaps the slot in the time domain is allowed to be indicated as a PUCCH slot if the another slot contains uplink symbols or flexible symbols, and the another slot is in the other of the first cell and the second cell.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to avoid resource conflicts and efficiently utilize available time-frequency resources across cells.
Regarding claim 31, Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, fails to disclose the method, wherein the slot contains at least one symbol that is the flexible symbol, the slot is configured as the PUCCH slot in response to the slot containing at least one flexible symbol, the another slot that overlaps the slot in the time domain is not allowed to be indicated as a PUCCH slot even if the another slot contains uplink symbols or flexible symbols, and the another slot is in the other of the first cell and the second cell.
However, Choi discloses a method, wherein
the slot contains at least one symbol that is the flexible symbol ([0266] Here, the DL slot is a slot including only DL symbols, the UL slot is a slot including only UL symbols, and the S slot is a slot including at least one flexible symbol.),
the slot is configured as the PUCCH slot in response to the slot containing at least one flexible symbol ([0111] In the slot, symbols not configured with any one of a UL symbol and a DL symbol are flexible symbols.),
another slot that overlaps the slot in a time domain is not allowed to be indicated as a PUCCH slot even if the another slot contains uplink symbols or flexible symbols, and ([0266] More specifically, there are five slots in which the subcarrier spacing of 5 ms is 15 kHz, and the first three of the five slots are DL slots, the next slot is an S slot, and the last slot is a UL slot.)
the another slot is in the other of the first cell and the second cell ([0037] In still another aspect, the first slot may be a most preceding slot to which the PUCCH repetition is allocated, and the second slot may be a most second slot among slots in which the PUCCH repetition is transmittable.).
Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, and Choi are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of managing potential time domain overlaps between PUCCH transmissions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, with Choi to create the method, wherein the slot contains at least one symbol that is the flexible symbol, the slot is configured as the PUCCH slot in response to the slot containing at least one flexible symbol, the another slot that overlaps the slot in the time domain is not allowed to be indicated as a PUCCH slot even if the another slot contains uplink symbols or flexible symbols, and the another slot is in the other of the first cell and the second cell.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to avoid resource conflicts and efficiently utilize available time-frequency resources across cells.
Regarding claim 32, Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, fails to disclose the method, wherein the slot contains at least one symbol that is the flexible symbol, and the slot is configured as the PUCCH slot in response to all symbols contained in another slot being downlink symbols, and the another slot overlaps the slot in the time domain and is in the other of the first cell and the second cell.
However, Choi discloses a method, wherein
the slot contains at least one symbol that is the flexible symbol, and ([0266] Here, the DL slot is a slot including only DL symbols, the UL slot is a slot including only UL symbols, and the S slot is a slot including at least one flexible symbol.)
the slot is configured as the PUCCH slot in response to all symbols contained in another slot being downlink symbols, and ([0021] In still another aspect, when all of the plurality of serving cells are downlink slots, the slot may not be included in the at least some of the slots, and the downlink slot may be a slot including only a downlink symbol.)
the another slot overlaps the slot in a time domain and is in the other of the first cell and the second cell ([0234] When the UE performs PUCCH repetition transmission, the UE does not transmit the PUCCH in a specific slot and postpones transmission to the next slot when a symbol for PUCCH transmission overlaps with a semi-persistently configured DL symbol or a symbol position set for reception of an SS/PBCH block in the corresponding slot, and transmits the PUCCH when the symbol for PUCCH does not overlap with the semi-persistently configured DL symbol or the symbol position set for reception of the SS/PBCH block in the corresponding slot.).
Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, and Choi are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of managing potential time domain overlaps between PUCCH transmissions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, with Choi to create the method, wherein the slot contains at least one symbol that is the flexible symbol, and the slot is configured as the PUCCH slot in response to all symbols contained in another slot being downlink symbols, and the another slot overlaps the slot in the time domain and is in the other of the first cell and the second cell.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to avoid resource conflicts and efficiently utilize available time-frequency resources across cells.
Regarding claim 33, Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, fails to disclose the method, wherein the slot contains at least one symbol that is the flexible symbol, and the slot is not configured as the PUCCH slot in response to all symbols contained in the another slot being uplink symbols, the another slot overlaps the slot in the time domain and is in the other of the first cell and the second cell, and the another slot is allowed to be indicated as a PUCCH slot.
However, Choi discloses a method, wherein
the slot contains at least one symbol that is the flexible symbol, and ([0266] Here, the DL slot is a slot including only DL symbols, the UL slot is a slot including only UL symbols, and the S slot is a slot including at least one flexible symbol.)
the slot is not configured as the PUCCH slot in response to all symbols contained in the another slot being uplink symbols ([0020] In still another aspect, an uplink slot of a primary serving cell may not be included in the at least some of the slots, and the uplink slot may be a slot including only an uplink symbol.),
the another slot overlaps the slot in the time domain and is in the other of the first cell and the second cell, and ([0234] When the UE performs PUCCH repetition transmission, the UE does not transmit the PUCCH in a specific slot and postpones transmission to the next slot when a symbol for PUCCH transmission overlaps with a semi-persistently configured DL symbol or a symbol position set for reception of an SS/PBCH block in the corresponding slot, and transmits the PUCCH when the symbol for PUCCH does not overlap with the semi-persistently configured DL symbol or the symbol position set for reception of the SS/PBCH block in the corresponding slot.)
the another slot is allowed to be indicated as a PUCCH slot ([0464] Step 2-2) When the PUCCH resource for the DG HARQ-ACK is not scheduled in (sub-)slot n and another configured PUCCH resource is valid, the UE transmits an SPS HARQ-ACK instead in the valid configured PUCCH resource.).
Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, and Choi are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of managing potential time domain overlaps between PUCCH transmissions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Yin, as modified by Fakoorian, with Choi to create the method, the slot contains at least one symbol that is the flexible symbol, and the slot is not configured as the PUCCH slot in response to all symbols contained in the another slot being uplink symbols, the another slot overlaps the slot in the time domain and is in the other of the first cell and the second cell, and the another slot is allowed to be indicated as a PUCCH slot.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to avoid resource conflicts and efficiently utilize available time-frequency resources across cells.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 21, and 29, and associated dependent claims have been considered, but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D LITTLE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419