DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 28, 30, 38 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 28 recites the limitation "the brush adapter" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 30 recites the limitation "the brush adapter" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 38 recites the limitation "the brush adapter" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 40 recites the limitation "the brush adapter" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Double Patenting
Claims 21 and 22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,068,658 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 21 and 22 are being anticipated by claim 14 of the US. Patent No. 12,068,658 B2.
Instant Application
US. Patent No. 12,068,658 B2
21. A generator assembly comprising:
a stator;
a rotor;
a support structure that is stationary with respect to the stator;
a rotating slip ring in electrical communication with the rotor; and
a static brush assembly configured to conduct electrical current from the rotating slipring, the static brush assembly configured to attach to an exterior surface of the support structure in a different direction than an axial direction of the rotating slip ring,
wherein the static brush assembly comprises a tongue and the support structure comprises a groove, the tongue configured to slide along the groove during installation.
22. The generator assembly as defined in claim 21, wherein the static brush assembly comprises:
a brush holder having a first attachment point oriented in an axial direction with respect to the rotating slip ring; and
a brush adapter configured to attach to the brush holder at the first attachment point.
1. A generator assembly, comprising:
a stator;
a rotor;
a support structure that is stationary with respect to the stator;
a rotating slip ring in electrical communication with the rotor; and
a static brush assembly configured to conduct electrical current from the rotating slip ring, the static brush assembly configured to attach to an exterior surface of the support structure in a different direction than an axial direction of the rotating slip ring,
wherein the static brush assembly comprises:
a brush holder having a first attachment point oriented in an axial direction with respect to the rotating slip ring; and
a brush adapter configured to attach to the brush holder at the first attachment point, and having a second attachment point configured to attach to the support structure in a second direction different than the axial direction.
11. The generator assembly as defined in claim 1, wherein the support structure and the brush adapter are configured to limit installation of the brush adapter to the support structure to a single degree of freedom.
14. The generator assembly as defined in claim 11, wherein the brush adapter comprises a tongue and the support structure comprises a groove, the tongue and groove configured to limit the installation of the brush adapter to the support structure to the single degree of freedom.
See claim 1 section (g) & (h).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21, 26-29, 31 and 36-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moore et al. (US 2005/0285472 A1).
RE claim 21, Moore teaches a generator assembly 10 (Fig.2) comprising:
a stator 22;
a rotor 24;
a support structure 16 that is stationary with respect to the stator 22;
a rotating slip ring (26, 28) in electrical communication with the rotor 24 (see ¶ 28); and
a static brush assembly 42 configured to conduct electrical current from the rotating slipring (26, 28) (¶ 28), the static brush assembly 42 configured to attach to an exterior surface of the support structure 16 (Fig.1) in a different direction (radial direction) than an axial direction of the rotating slip ring (26, 28), wherein the static brush assembly 42 comprises a tongue 44 and the support structure 16 comprises a groove (G) (see annotated Fig.3), the tongue 44 configured to slide along the groove (G) during installation (see Fig.3).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Groove (G))]
RE claim 26/21, Moore teaches the groove (G) of the support structure 16 is aligned with a direction of contact between the static brush assembly 42 and the slip rings (26, 28).
RE claim 27/21, Moore teaches the brush holder 46 is a multi-piece assembly (48, 50) (see Fig.2).
RE claim 28/21, Moore teaches the brush adapter 42 is a single piece (Fig.2).
RE claim 29/21, Moore teaches the support structure 16 comprises a generator support housing 16 configured to support a distal end of the rotor 24 (Fig.2).
RE claim 31, Moore teaches a generator assembly 10 (Fig.2), comprising: a stator 22; a rotor 24; a support structure 16 that is stationary with respect to the stator 22; a rotating slip ring (26, 28) in electrical communication with the rotor 24 (¶ 28); and a static brush assembly 42 configured to conduct electrical current from the rotating slip ring (26, 28), the static brush assembly 42 configured to attach to an exterior surface of the support structure 16 in a different direction (radial direction) than an axial direction of the rotating slip ring (26, 28), wherein the support structure 16 comprises a tongue (T) (see annotated Fig.2 below) and the static brush assembly comprises a groove (G) (groove formed inside of surface 56), the groove configured to slide along the tongue (T) during installation.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Tongue (T))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Groove (G))]
RE claim 36/31, Moore teaches the tongue (T) of the support structure 16 is aligned with a direction of contact between the static brush assembly 46 and the slip rings (26, 28) (Fig.2).
RE claim 37/31, Moore teaches the brush holder 46 is a multi-piece assembly (48, 50) (Fig.2).
RE claim 38/31, Moore teaches the brush adapter 42 is a single piece (Fig.2).
RE claim 39/31, Moore teaches the support structure 16 comprises a generator support housing 16 configured to support a distal end of the rotor 24 (Fig.2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 30 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore in view of Prell et al. (US 6133665).
RE claim 30/21, Moore has been discussed above. Moore does not teach the support structure and the brush adapter are configured to limit installation of the brush adapter to the support structure to a single degree of freedom.
Prell teaches support structure 46 and the brush adapter 42 are configured to limit installation of the brush adapter 42 to the support structure to a single degree of freedom (inside grooved 44) (see Fig.3), such that so that the brushes can be replaced when worn (col.3: 35-40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Moore by having the support structure and the brush adapter are configured to limit installation of the brush adapter to the support structure to a single degree of freedom, as taught by Prell, for the same reasons as discussed above.
RE claim 40/31, the claim is rejected for similar reason as claim 30/21.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 23-25 and 32-35 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
RE claim 23, the prior-art does not teach, inter alia, the generator assembly as defined in claim 22, wherein the second direction is perpendicular to the axial direction.
RE claim 24, the prior-art does not teach, inter alia, the generator assembly as defined in claim 22, wherein the support structure comprises a slot, at least one of the brush holder or the brush adapter configured to be positioned within the slot while the brush adapter is attached to the support structure and attached to the brush holder.
Claim 25 is allowable for their dependency on claim 24.
RE claim 32, the prior-art does not teach, inter alia, the static brush assembly comprises: a brush holder having a first attachment point oriented in an axial direction with respect to the rotating slip ring; and a brush adapter configured to attach to the brush holder at the first attachment point.
Claims 33-35 are allowable for their dependency on claim 32.
Conclusion
/THOMAS TRUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834