DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim (s) 1-4, 10, 15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simileysky (U.S PG-PUB NO. 2023/0156423) in view of Silverman (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2024/0380640) . -Regarding claim 1, Simileysky discloses a first user equipment (UE) (BT system 100, FIG. 1) , comprising: one or more memories (memory 106, 136, FIG. 1) ; one or more transceivers (paragraph 20) ; and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers ( processing device 108 , FIG. 1) , the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, configured to: perform one or more first measurements of a first set of channels associated with a first Bluetooth channel sounding (BCS) procedure between the first UE and a second UE ( measurement, paragraph 31 ) ; determine, for each channel in a first subset of the first set of channels with a respective quality metric above a threshold, ( threshold, paragraph 47 ) ; perform one or more second measurements of a second set of channels associated with a second BCS procedure between the first UE and a second UE, wherein the first set of channels and the second set of channels overlapping at least in part ( successive sets , paragraph 40) ; and estimate a range between the first UE and the second UE based on the second value for each channel in the second subset of the second set of channels ( phase-based ranging, paragraph 31) . Simileysky is silent to teaching that a first phase correction term (PCT) value based on the one or more first measurements ; determine, for each channel in a second subset of the second set of channels with a respective quality metric below a second threshold , a second PCT value that is based at least in part on a respective first PCT value that is associated with the first BCS procedure and is for a corresponding channel from the first subset of the first set of channels . However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by Silverman. In the same field of endeavor, Silverman teaches a first phase correction term (PCT) value based on the one or more first measurements ( determine group delay and phase offset between the plurality of CIRs , paragraph 81) ; determine, for each channel in a second subset of the second set of channels with a respective quality metric below a second threshold , a second PCT value that is based at least in part on a respective first PCT value that is associated with the first BCS procedure and is for a corresponding channel from the first subset of the first set of channels ( determined offset (the phase/amplitude correction Q) for extrapolation of a subsequent channel sounding on one channel to a next , paragraph 84 ) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Simileysky with the teaching of Silverman in order to extrapolate and apply the previously determined phase correction offset from a successful measurement to correct the degraded channels in the subsequent measurement, thereby avoiding the need to perform independent calibration . -Regarding claim 2, the combination further discloses each first PCT value is determined based on one or more complex-valued in-phase/quadrature (I/Q) samples of one or more signals received over the respective channel ( Simileysky , I/Q dataset , paragraph 30) . -Regarding claim 3, the combination further discloses for each channel in the second subset of the second set of channels, the second PCT value is set equal to the respective first PCT value (Silverman, paragraph 82) . -Regarding claim 4, the combination further discloses for each channel in the second subset of the second set of channels, the second PCT value is derived via a function that is based on the respective first PCT value (Silverman, determine a phase and amplitude correct per subcarrier frequency for each radio pair , paragraph 82) . -Regarding claim 10, the combination further discloses the function is implemented in a PCT value domain, a phase domain or an amplitude domain (Silverman, paragraph 82) . -Regarding claim 15, the combination further discloses the first set of channels and the second set of channels comprises a common subset of channels ( Simileysky , paragraph 40) . -Regarding claim 17, Simileysky discloses a method of operating a first user equipment (UE) (BT system 100, FIG. 1) , comprising: performing one or more first measurements of a first set of channels associated with a first Bluetooth channel sounding (BCS) procedure between the first UE and a second UE (measurement, paragraph 31) ; determining, for each channel in a first subset of the first set of channels with a respective quality metric above a threshold (threshold, paragraph 47) ; performing one or more second measurements of a second set of channels associated with a second BCS procedure between the first UE and a second UE, wherein the first set of channels and the second set of channels overlapping at least in part ( successive sets , paragraph 40) ; and estimating a range between the first UE and the second UE based on the second PCT value for each channel in the second subset of the second set of channels ( phase-based ranging, paragraph 31) . Simileysky is silent to teaching that a first phase correction term (PCT) value based on the one or more first measurements ; determine, for each channel in a second subset of the second set of channels with a respective quality metric below a second threshold , a second PCT value that is based at least in part on a respective first PCT value that is associated with the first BCS procedure and is for a corresponding channel from the first subset of the first set of channels . However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by Silverman. In the same field of endeavor, Silverman teaches a first phase correction term (PCT) value based on the one or more first measurements ( determine group delay and phase offset between the plurality of CIRs , paragraph 81) ; determine, for each channel in a second subset of the second set of channels with a respective quality metric below a second threshold , a second PCT value that is based at least in part on a respective first PCT value that is associated with the first BCS procedure and is for a corresponding channel from the first subset of the first set of channels ( determined offset (the phase/amplitude correction Q) for extrapolation of a subsequent channel sounding on one channel to a next , paragraph 84) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Simileysky with the teaching of Silverman in order to extrapolate and apply the previously determined phase correction offset from a successful measurement to correct the degraded channels in the subsequent measurement, thereby avoiding the need to perform independent calibration. Claim (s) 5 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simileysky (U.S PG-PUB NO. 2023/0156423) in view of Silverman (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2024/0380640) and further in view of Keegan (GB 2530843 A) . -Regarding claim 5, the combination is silent to teaching that the function comprises an interpolation, an average, a weighted average, a median or a combination thereof . However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by Keegan . In the same field of endeavor, Keegan teaches the function comprises an interpolation, an average, a weighted average, a median or a combination thereof ( Linear inter p olat i on , page 18 ) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the combination with the teaching of Keegan in order to provide superior immunity or resistance to m ultipath distortion and accurate location determination . -Regarding claim 11, the combination further discloses the function is based on one or more filtering-related parameters comprising: on at least one quality metric associated with the first BCS procedure (Keegan, multipath metric, page 29) , or an age associated with the first BCS procedure, or displacement information associated with the second BCS procedure, or mobility information associated with the first UE or the second UE or both during the second BCS procedure, or a first BCS configuration associated with the first BCS procedure, or a second BCS configuration associated with the second BCS procedure, or any combination thereof. Claim (s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simileysky (U.S PG-PUB NO. 2023/0156423) in view of Silverman (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2024/0380640) and further in view of Ibrahim (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2009/0111496) . -Regarding claim 16, the combination is silent to teaching that the common subset of channels comprises N strongest channels from the first set of channels based on the quality metric . However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by Ibrahim. In the same field of endeavor, Ibrahim teaches the common subset of channels comprises N strongest channels from the first set of channels based on the quality metric ( ranking the Bluetooth channels ) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the combination with the teaching of Ibrahim in order to optimize channel sounding. Allowable Subject Matter Claims 18-20 are allowed. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Cited references do not teach the allowable subject matter or the claimed limitations, such as inter alia, crowd-sourcing, from each user equipment (UE) of a set of UEs, parameters associated with one or more Bluetooth channel sounding (BCS) procedures; determine a set of parameters associated with a function for deriving a phase correction term (PCT) value associated with corresponding channels of respective BCS procedures based on the crowd-sourced parameters; and transmit, via the one or more transceivers, to one or more UEs, assistance data comprising the set of parameters. Any comments considered necessary by applicant must be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such submissions should be clearly labeled “Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance.” Claims 6-9 and 12-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Cited references do not teach the allowable subject matter or the claimed limitations, such as inter alia , the function is based on at least one other PCT value that is associated with at least one other BCS procedure and is for the corresponding channel from the first subset of the first set of channels as in claim 6; the function is based on a respective PCT value that is associated with the second BCS procedure and is for the corresponding channel from the first subset of the first set of channels as in claim 9; receive, via the one or more transceivers, assistance data from a network component that comprises one or more parameters associated with the function as in claim 12; and/or transmit, via the one or more transceivers, an indication of one or more parameters associated with the first BCS procedure or the second BCS procedure or both to a network component as in claim 13. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT PING Y HSIEH whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-3011 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday-Friday, 9am-4pm . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Jennifer Mehmood can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 272-2976 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /PING Y HSIEH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2664