Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 09/06/2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claims 1, 8, 15: “a heating mechanism adapted to provide heat to the hot water reservoir”
Claims 1, 8, 15: “a processing module that uses the hot water reservoir as a heat sink”
Claims 1, 8: “a management control system”
With regards to the heating mechanism of claims 1, 8, 15 and their dependents, the corresponding structure described [00117] of the 03/29/2024 specification is that of a burner.
With regards to the processing module of claims 1, 8, 15 and their dependents, the corresponding structure described [00297] of the 03/29/2024 specification is that of a computer.
With regards to the management control system of claims 1, 8, and their dependents, the corresponding structure described in [00135-00137] of the 03/29/2024 specification as performing the claimed function is understood to be a computer. Although the written disclosure doesn’t explicitly say “computer,” and Fig. 8A assigns number 802 to the management control system shown as a box, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the management control system 802 is a computer based on the entirety of the disclosure. For example, referencing [00135-00137] of the 03/29/2024, the management control system is “configured to manage the processing load for the associated processing module 102”, and “perform predictive and reactive diagnostics, manage network connections, communicate with other devices and systems, and perform other functions needed to initialize, maintain, and control the processing module 102 and related components”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8-10, 12-13, 15-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jordan (GB2576035A) in view of Kreutzman (US10571135B2).
Regarding claim 1, Jordan teaches
a method for managing hot water production using heat generated by a processing module (fig. 7; heat generated by heater computing device 110 to heat hot water tank 102) and a heating mechanism (“The water may be additionally heated by another system, such as an immersion heater and/or gas” [page 8 lines 32-33])
a processing module (heater computing device 110, including CPU 110c, memory 110e, etc.) that uses the hot water reservoir (hot water tank 102) as a heat sink, wherein the hot water reservoir includes a heating mechanism adapted to provide heat to the hot water reservoir separately from the processing module (“The water may be additionally heated by another system, such as an immersion heater and/or gas” [page 8 lines 32-33])
Jordan does not teach the method comprising:
determining, by a management control system, that an increased demand for water from a hot water reservoir requires more heat than is available from a processing module that uses the hot water reservoir as a heat sink, wherein the hot water reservoir includes a heating mechanism adapted to provide heat to the hot water reservoir separately from the processing module;
increasing, by the management control system, a heat output of the heating mechanism to provide additional heat to the water in the hot water reservoir;
determining, by the management control system, that the increased demand has been satisfied; and
decreasing, by the management control system, the heat output of the heating mechanism
Kreutzman teaches the method comprising:
determining, by a management control system, that an increased demand for water from a hot water reservoir requires more heat than is available (“the electric element in the upper portion of the tank will allow the upper tank to be heated first, and the sensor controlling the gas water heating is typically in the upper portion of the tank thus will not fire the gas system unless the demand exceeds the renewable resources available” [0060]), wherein the hot water reservoir includes a heating mechanism adapted to provide heat to the hot water reservoir separately (“gas system” as described in [0060] above);
increasing, by the management control system, a heat output of the heating mechanism to provide additional heat to the water in the hot water reservoir (firing the gas system when the demand exceeds the renewable resources available, as described in [0060] above);
determining, by the management control system, that the increased demand has been satisfied; and decreasing, by the management control system, the heat output of the heating mechanism (“the controller may selectively deactivate the utility connected heater element. Such deactivation may occur when electrical energy from the renewable energy source is above a predetermined level or according to a predetermined schedule, which may be user specified or generated based on historic usage patterns” [0016]; thus, when electrical energy from the renewable energy source is above a predetermined level, increased demand for the gas system has been satisfied)
Jordan teaches a hot water heating system wherein the hot water tank 102 is primarily heated by a heater computing device 110, and wherein the tank may be supplementally heated by an immersion heater and/or gas burner. However, Jordan does not explicitly teach when the supplemental heating should occur. Kreutzman teaches a hot water heating system wherein the storage tank 12 is primarily heated by a heating element 110 from a renewable energy source, and wherein the tank may be supplementally heated by electrical heating elements 32, 34 and/or burner 18 when the heating element 110 alone is insufficient to meet demand. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the supplemental heating control of Kreutzman to Jordan, in order to effectively control the immersion heater and/or gas burner to only operate when the heater computing device 110 cannot meet demand, thus improving efficiency of the system and ensuring hot water supply is sufficient to meet the increased demand.
The combination teaches the method comprising:
determining, by a management control system, that an increased demand for water from a hot water reservoir requires more heat than is available from a processing module that uses the hot water reservoir as a heat sink (“the electric element in the upper portion of the tank will allow the upper tank to be heated first, and the sensor controlling the gas water heating is typically in the upper portion of the tank thus will not fire the gas system unless the demand exceeds the renewable resources available” [0060 of Kreutzman]; as applied to Jordan, wherein primary heat source would be heater computing device 110 instead of the renewable resources of Kreutzman), wherein the hot water reservoir includes a heating mechanism adapted to provide heat to the hot water reservoir separately from the processing module (“The water may be additionally heated by another system, such as an immersion heater and/or gas” [page 8 lines 32-33 of Jordan]);
increasing, by the management control system, a heat output of the heating mechanism to provide additional heat to the water in the hot water reservoir (firing the gas system when the demand exceeds the renewable resources available, as described in [0060 of Kreutzman] above; as applied to Jordan, wherein primary heat source would be heater computing device 110 instead of the renewable resources of Kreutzman);
determining, by the management control system, that the increased demand has been satisfied; and decreasing, by the management control system, the heat output of the heating mechanism (“the controller may selectively deactivate the utility connected heater element. Such deactivation may occur when electrical energy from the renewable energy source is above a predetermined level or according to a predetermined schedule, which may be user specified or generated based on historic usage patterns” [0016 of Kreutzman]; thus, when electrical energy from the renewable energy source is above a predetermined level, increased demand for the gas system has been satisfied; as applied to Jordan, wherein primary heat source would be heater computing device 110 instead of the renewable resources of Kreutzman)
Regarding claims 8-9 and 15 and 17, claims 8-9 and 15 and 17 are rejected over Jordan in view of Kreutzman for substantially the same reasons as rejected claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Jordan, as modified, does not teach the method of claim 1 further comprising
modulating the heat output of the heating mechanism to avoid producing more heat than needed to satisfy the increased demand
Kreutzman teaches
modulating the heat output of the heating mechanism to avoid producing more heat than needed to satisfy the increased demand (“the controller 80 may be a switch, relay or other circuit interrupting/breaking device that allows for generating an open circuit upon the water temperature within the tank 12 reaching a predetermined threshold. Creation of such an open circuit prevents power passing through the electrical element 110 and thereby prevents the introduction of additional heat, once the water heater reaches a desired temperature”) [0057]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the controller 80 of Kreutzman as described to the additional immersion heater and/or gas burner of Jordan, in order to prevent the heater from overheating the water within domestic hot water tank 102.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 is rejected over Jordan in view of Kreutzman for substantially the same reasons as rejected claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, Jordan, as modified, does not teach the method of claim 1 further comprising
modulating the heat output of the heating mechanism based on at least one of a time period within which the increased demand is to be met and an amount of hot water needed to satisfy the increased demand
Kreutzman teaches
modulating the heat output of the heating mechanism based on at least one of a time period within which the increased demand is to be met and an amount of hot water needed to satisfy the increased demand (“in some utility power grids, the price of electricity varies throughout the day based on overall grid demands” [0091]; “During peak-times when electrical power costs are high, it may be more economically beneficial for the controller to allow a gas hot water heater to utilize a fossil fuel source to heat water and utilize all available PV power to operate other electrical loads. Likewise, at off-peak times when electrical power costs are low, it may be more economically beneficial to direct all available PV power to heat water in the hot water heater” [0092]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the price analysis system of Kreutzman to Jordan, as modified, in order to determine the most cost-effective heating method during the current demand period, and thus use electric power from the processing module when electricity is cheaper and use the gas burner when electricity is more expensive.
Regarding claims 13 and 20, claims 13 and 20 are rejected over Jordan in view of Kreutzman for substantially the same reasons as rejected claim 3.
Regarding claim 5, Jordan, as modified, does not teach the method of claim 1 further comprising
prioritizing, by the management control system, heat produced by a processing output of the processing module over use of the heating mechanism unless prioritizing use of the heating mechanism is economically advantageous
Kreutzman teaches
prioritizing, by the management control system, heat produced by a processing output of the processing module over use of the heating mechanism unless prioritizing use of the heating mechanism is economically advantageous (“During peak-times when electrical power costs are high, it may be more economically beneficial for the controller to allow a gas hot water heater to utilize a fossil fuel source to heat water and utilize all available PV power to operate other electrical loads. Likewise, at off-peak times when electrical power costs are low, it may be more economically beneficial to direct all available PV power to heat water in the hot water heater and purchase electrical power to handle other needs”) [0093]
Regarding claim 10, Jordan, as modified, teaches the method of claim 8
wherein determining whether the processing module is able to produce enough heat to meet the demand is based on a maximum heat level that can be output by the processing module (“the electric element in the upper portion of the tank will allow the upper tank to be heated first, and the sensor controlling the gas water heating is typically in the upper portion of the tank thus will not fire the gas system unless the demand exceeds the renewable resources available” [0060 of Kreutzman]; as applied to Jordan regarding claim 1, wherein primary heat source would be heater computing device 110 instead of the renewable resources of Kreutzman; thus, determining to fire gas burner of Jordan would comprise determining if maximum heating power has been reached by the heater computing device 110)
Jordan, as modified, does not teach
and at least one of a time period within which the demand is to be met and an amount of hot water needed to satisfy the demand
Kreutzman teaches
and at least one of a time period within which the demand is to be met and an amount of hot water needed to satisfy the demand (“in some utility power grids, the price of electricity varies throughout the day based on overall grid demands” [0091]; “During peak-times when electrical power costs are high, it may be more economically beneficial for the controller to allow a gas hot water heater to utilize a fossil fuel source to heat water and utilize all available PV power to operate other electrical loads. Likewise, at off-peak times when electrical power costs are low, it may be more economically beneficial to direct all available PV power to heat water in the hot water heater” [0092]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the price analysis system of Kreutzman to Jordan, as modified, in order to determine the most cost-effective heating method during the current demand period, and thus use electric power from the processing module when electricity is cheaper and use the gas burner when electricity is more expensive. Therefore, when determining whether the processing module is able to produce enough heat to meet the demand would further comprise whether it is economically feasible to operate the processing module at a higher electric consumption rate.
Regarding claim 18, claims 18 are rejected over Jordan in view of Kreutzman for substantially the same reasons as rejected claim 10.
Regarding claim 16, Jordan, as modified, teaches the controller of claim 15
wherein the controller is part of the processing module (control interface 110i is a component of heater computing device 110, fig. 2)
Claim(s) 4, 6, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jordan (GB2576035A) in view of Kreutzman (US10571135B2), in further view of Roberts (US20130261812A1).
Regarding claim 4, Jordan, as modified, does not teach the method of claim 1 further comprising
modulating the heat output of the heating mechanism to produce more heat than needed in order to ensure the increased demand is met
Roberts teaches
modulating the heat output of the heating mechanism to produce more heat than needed in order to ensure the increased demand is met (“The system may also be arranged to incorporate a buffer volume or a “safety net” whilst learning the demand for any period. It may add a contingency of say 30% onto the demand estimated to cover the risk of the user running out of hot water next time. The contingency may then be dropped incrementally (for example by 5% every week) to a minimum (such as 10%), if the hot water consumption remains within the estimated demand”) [0049]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to learn the demand for a period, and provide a buffer heat amount during that period, as taught in Roberts, to the system of Jordan, as modified, in order to “cover the risk of the user running out of hot water” [0049 of Roberts] without wasting excess energy during low demand times of the day.
Regarding claim 6, Jordan, as modified, does not teach the method of claim 1
wherein the increased demand is based on at least one of a projected demand and an actual demand
Roberts teaches
wherein the increased demand is based on at least one of a projected demand and an actual demand (“In order to avoid wasting energy, a system is provided that heats water when there is an estimated or predicted demand for hot water”) [0031]
While Jordan, as modified by Kreutzman, teaches “the electric element in the upper portion of the tank will allow the upper tank to be heated first, and the sensor controlling the gas water heating is typically in the upper portion of the tank thus will not fire the gas system unless the demand exceeds the renewable resources available” [0060 of Kreutzman], Kreutzman does not explicitly disclose whether the demand is a projected demand or an actual demand. Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to base the demand of Kreutzman off a projected demand, as taught in Roberts, in order to allow the system to learn a hot water usage schedule and thus “avoid wasting energy” [0031 of Roberts].
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 is rejected over Jordan in view of Kreutzman and Roberts for substantially the same reasons as rejected claim 6.
Claim(s) 7,11 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jordan (GB2576035A) in view of Kreutzman (US10571135B2), in further view of Pulley (WO2019068916A2).
Regarding claim 7, Jordan, as modified, does not teach the method of claim 1 further comprising:
determining, by the management control system, that the processing module is not operating at a maximum processing load; and increasing the processing module to the maximum processing load
Pulley teaches
determining, by the management control system, that the processing module is not operating at a maximum processing load; and increasing the processing module to the maximum processing load (“In a fourth step 204, the controller 141 , in response to the determination of a need for an increased heating temperature, controls the rate at which the computer system 103 produces the thermal energy and/or the rate at which the thermal energy distribution assembly 1 1 1 transfers thermal energy away from the processors, such that the temperature of the processors increases”) [page 15 line 29 to page 16 line 3 of Pulley]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the computer system control of Pulley to the heater computing device 110 of Jordan, in order to effectively increase the heat output of heater computing device 110 when an increased demand for heat is required.
Regarding claims 11 and 19, claims 11 and 19 are rejected over Jordan in view of Kreutzman and Pulley for substantially the same reasons as rejected claim 7.
Conclusion
The prior art of record not relied upon includes:
Orsini (US20170042068A1) and Pulley2011 (US20110082601A1), which teach similar methods for managing hot water production using heat generated by a processing module to that claimed
/BRETT P. MALLON/Examiner, Art Unit 3762 /MICHAEL G HOANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762