DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Oath/Declaration
3. The receipt of Oath/Declaration is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/29/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
5. The drawing(s) filed on 03/29/2024 are accepted by the Examiner.
Status of Claims
6. Claims 1-14 are pending in this application.
Claim Interpretation
8. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“an acceptor” in claims 4-7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
12. Claims 1, 2, 4, 8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoshida (US 2018/0191920 A1).
Regarding Claim 1:
Yoshida discloses an information processing device comprising:
Yoshida discloses an ‘image processing apparatus according to the present exemplary embodiment is, for example, a multifunction peripheral (MFP)’; (Yoshida: Fig. 1 ‘MFP 100’; ¶¶[0025-0027]).
one or more storages capable of storing setting contents of one or more functions included in a job; and
Yoshida further discloses “specific functions executable by applications include a print function, a copy function, a facsimile function, and an E-mail function.” (Yoshida: ¶[0025]).
Yoshida discloses a storage unit ‘HDD 14 is configured to store in a table format document data and setting data associated with each application’ which reads on the claimed ‘storing in units of functions’; (Yoshida: ¶[0028]; Fig. 1; Figs. 12A-12E).
one or more controllers that cause the one or more storages to store the setting contents in units of functions.
Yoshida discloses Fig. 1 CPU 10 and a first registration unit that automatically registers first setting data per application upon execution of that application. (Yoshida: ¶¶[0008; 0026; 0069-0073]).
Regarding Claim 2:
Yoshida further discloses the information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the one or more controllers cause the one or more storages to store the setting contents in units of jobs.
Yoshida discloses that job completion processing is started “when the copy application 402 completes job execution” and at that time the recall portal 401 stores “setting data 1018” associated with that job into HDD 14 (Yoshida: ¶¶[0069-0073]; Fig. 8 and Fig. 10 flowchart and Fig. 12D (setting data 1018)).
Regarding Claim 4:
Yoshida further discloses the information processing device according to claim 1, further comprising:
a display that displays the setting contents stored in the one or more storages in units of functions; and
Yoshida discloses a display unit 21 (Fig. 2) and a recall portal screen 300 (Fig. 3) with a fixed setting area 301, and a recall setting area 302, displaying buttons 308-310 for automatically registered settings associated with particular applications which reads on the claimed ‘in units of functions’ (Yoshida: [0038-0042]).
an acceptor that accepts operation input to select one or more of the setting contents among the setting contents displayed on the display in units of functions,
Yoshida discloses input unit 22 (Fig. 1 such as a touch panel; [0035]) wherein when a button displayed is pressed, data is recalled according to the button and the relevant application and setting data is set (¶¶[0055-0057]).
wherein the one or more controllers execute a new job including the one or more functions of the selected one or more setting contents.
Yoshida discloses ‘Example of a New Job’ wherein the job setting is a setting of 3 copies, color copy, one-sided printing and 4 in 1 (¶¶0062-0063]; Figs. 6-12E).
Regarding Claim 8:
Yoshida further discloses the information processing device according to claim 1, wherein, when the job is executed, the setting contents of the one or more functions included in the job are automatically stored in the one or more storages in units of functions.
Yoshida explicitly teaches “a first registration unit configured to, when executing any one of the plurality of applications, automatically register first setting data set for the any one of the plurality of applications in a storage unit in association with the application” (¶[0008]).
This is an automatic registration triggered by job execution, in association with the executing application (function) (Yoshida: ¶¶[0069-0073]; Figs. 8-10 flowcharts).
Regarding Claim 14: (drawn to a method)
The proposed rejection of device claim 1, over Yoshida is similarly cited to reject the steps of the method of claim 14 because these steps occur in the operation of the device as discussed above. Thus, the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 1 are equally applicable to claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
17. Claims 3, and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida (US 2018/0191920 A1) in view of Nakanishi (US 8,189,209).
Regarding Claim 3:
Yoshida discloses the information processing device according to claim 2,
but does not expressly disclose wherein the one or more controllers determine units in which the setting contents are to be stored in the one or more storages on a basis of an operation input by a user.
Nakanishi discloses wherein the one or more controllers determine units in which the setting contents are to be stored in the one or more storages on a basis of an operation input by a user.
Yoshida teaches two distinct registration modes: automatic first registration per application during execution (first registration unit) and manual second registration “according to a registration instruction from a user” (‘second registration unit’ (Yoshida ¶¶[0007-0008; 0025; 0057-0061]; Figs. 7A-7B; ‘fixed setting registration screens 501, 508’). Yoshida does not teach letting the user choose between function level vs. job level storage units
Nakanishi discloses an image forming apparatus with a setting section and a setting display section that present various function setting screens, where the user actively configures combinations of function (e.g., cover sheet vs. combined printing) (Col. 3, line 63- Col. 4, line 27; Figs. 4-7). Nakanishi relies on user input to define which function’s setting is primary and which is subordinate when resolving incompatibilities (Col. 4, line 33 – Col. 6, line 24).
Yoshida in view of Nakanishi are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor of image processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to extend Yoshida’s existing user instructed registration (Yoshida: ‘second registration unit’; ¶[0008]) so that user input also determines whether registration occurs as a per function templates (application level) or as full job presets, in view of Nakanishi’s teaching of user driven control of which function’s settings govern in a combination. The suggestion/motivation for doing so is to give users flexible control over how settings are organized and reused. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Yoshida with Nakanishi to obtain the invention as specified in claim 3.
Regarding Claim 5:
Yoshida further discloses information processing device according to claim 1, further comprising:
a display that displays the setting contents stored in the one or more storages in units of functions; and
Yoshida discloses a display unit 21 (Fig. 2) and a recall portal screen 300 (Fig. 3) with a fixed setting area 301, and a recall setting area 302, displaying buttons 308-310 for automatically registered settings associated with particular applications which reads on the claimed ‘in units of functions’ (Yoshida: [0038-0042]).
an acceptor that accepts operation input to select one or more of the setting contents among the setting contents displayed on the display in units of functions,
Yoshida discloses input unit 22 (Fig. 1 such as a touch panel; [0035]) wherein when a button displayed is pressed, data is recalled according to the button and the relevant application and setting data is set (¶¶[0055-0057]).
Yoshida does not expressly disclose wherein, when one or more of the setting contents displayed on the display in units of functions are selected, the one or more controllers hide the setting contents related to the one or more functions of the selected one or more setting contents, on the display.
Nakanishi discloses wherein, when one or more of the setting contents displayed on the display in units of functions are selected, the one or more controllers hide the setting contents related to the one or more functions of the selected one or more setting contents, on the display.
Nakanishi discloses a determination section that determines whether a combination of options for first and second functions is incompatible, and a change section that changes the display form (e.g., grays out) of options of the first function when incompatibility is detected (Nakanishi: Col. 2, line 61 – Col. 3, line 13; Col. 5, lines 5-25; Figs. 4-7; grayed out options are effectively hidden from selection.
Yoshida in view of Nakanishi are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor of image processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Nakanishi’s incompatible option display control into Yoshida’s recall portal UI, such that upon selection of a stored function setting, related function setting options are removed or suppressed from the display.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so is to reduce confusion and prevent redundant selections. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Yoshida with Nakanishi to obtain the invention as specified in claim 5.
Regarding Claim 6:
Yoshida further discloses the information processing device according to claim 1, further comprising:
a display that displays the setting contents stored in the one or more storages in units of functions; and
Yoshida discloses a display unit 21 (Fig. 2) and a recall portal screen 300 (Fig. 3) with a fixed setting area 301, and a recall setting area 302, displaying buttons 308-310 for automatically registered settings associated with particular applications which reads on the claimed ‘in units of functions’ (Yoshida: [0038-0042]).
an acceptor that accepts operation input to select one or more of the setting contents among the setting contents displayed on the display in units of functions,
Yoshida discloses input unit 22 (Fig. 1 such as a touch panel; [0035]) wherein when a button displayed is pressed, data is recalled according to the button and the relevant application and setting data is set (¶¶[0055-0057]).
Yoshida does not expressly disclose wherein the one or more controllers hide the setting contents related to the one or more functions not executable or prohibited from being executed, on the display.
Nakanishi discloses wherein the one or more controllers hide the setting contents related to the one or more functions not executable or prohibited from being executed, on the display.
Nakanishi teaches an incompatible option display section that shows options that are incompatible (non-executable) in a changed display form to indicate that they cannot be selected (Nakanishi: Col. 2, line 61 – Col. 3, line 13; Col. 5, lines 5-25).
Yoshida in view of Nakanishi are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor of image processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to hide the setting contents related to the one or more functions not executable or prohibited from being executed, on the display.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so is to avoid user error and invalid configurations by hiding or disabling non-executable options. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Yoshida with Nakanishi to obtain the invention as specified in claim 6.
Regarding Claim 7:
Yoshida further discloses the information processing device according to claim 1, further comprising:
a display that displays the setting contents stored in the one or more storages in units of functions; and
Yoshida discloses a display unit 21 (Fig. 2) and a recall portal screen 300 (Fig. 3) with a fixed setting area 301, and a recall setting area 302, displaying buttons 308-310 for automatically registered settings associated with particular applications which reads on the claimed ‘in units of functions’ (Yoshida: [0038-0042]).
an acceptor that accepts operation input to select one or more of the setting contents among the setting contents displayed on the display in units of functions,
Yoshida discloses input unit 22 (Fig. 1 such as a touch panel; [0035]) wherein when a button displayed is pressed, data is recalled according to the button and the relevant application and setting data is set (¶¶[0055-0057]).
Yoshida does not expressly disclose wherein, when one or more of the setting contents displayed on the display in units of functions are selected, the one or more controllers hide the setting contents that cannot be combined with the selected one or more setting contents, on the display.
Nakanishi discloses wherein, when one or more of the setting contents displayed on the display in units of functions are selected, the one or more controllers hide the setting contents that cannot be combined with the selected one or more setting contents, on the display.
Nakanishi directly teaches combination based incompatibility: the determination sections checks combinations of first function and second function options, and when a combination is incompatible, the change section alters the display of the responsible option, and the “imcompatible option display section” presents that option on the second function screen for correction (Nakanishi: Col. 3, line 52 – Col. 4, line 5; Col. 5, lines 5-35; Figs. 4-7).
Yoshida in view of Nakanishi are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor of image processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to disclose wherein, when one or more of the setting contents displayed on the display in units of functions are selected, the one or more controllers hide the setting contents that cannot be combined with the selected one or more setting contents, on the display. The suggestion/motivation for doing so is to avoid user error and invalid configurations by hiding or disabling non-executable options. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Yoshida with Nakanishi to obtain the invention as specified in claim 7.
18. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida (US 2018/0191920 A1) in view of Inoue (US 10,545,709 B2).
Regarding Claim 11:
Yoshida further discloses the information processing device according to claim 1, further comprising:
a display that displays the setting contents stored in the one or more storages in units of functions,
Yoshida discloses a display unit 21 (Fig. 2) and a recall portal screen 300 (Fig. 3) with a fixed setting area 301, and a recall setting area 302, displaying buttons 308-310 for automatically registered settings associated with particular applications which reads on the claimed ‘in units of functions’ (Yoshida: [0038-0042]).
Yoshida does not expressly disclose wherein the one or more controllers cause the setting contents stored in the one or more storages more recently to be displayed closers to a predetermined position on the display.
Inoue discloses wherein the one or more controllers cause the setting contents stored in the one or more storages more recently to be displayed closers to a predetermined position on the display.
Inoue discloses an image processing apparatus that stores setting histories of jobs and displays an “integrated history 509” on the home screen (Figs. 5A-5H). The histories are displayed “in reverse chronological order of an execution date and time of the jobs,” i.e., the most recent history appears at the top of the list (the predetermined position) (Fig. 12 step S1208).
Yoshida in view of Inoue are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor of image processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to disclose Inoue’s reverse chronological ordering to Yoshida’s display of stored settings so that the most recently stored setting contents appear closest to a fixed anchor position (top of list).
The suggestion/motivation for doing so is to improve quick access to frequently used recent configurations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Yoshida with Inoue to obtain the invention as specified in claim 11.
19. Claim 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida (US 2018/0191920 A1) in view of Shigetomi (US 9,203,985 B2).
Regarding Claim 12:
Yoshida discloses an information processing system comprising:
an information processing device that executes a job; and
Yoshida discloses an ‘image processing apparatus according to the present exemplary embodiment is, for example, a multifunction peripheral (MFP)’; (Yoshida: Fig. 1 ‘MFP 100’; ¶¶[0025-0027]).
Yoshida further discloses “specific functions executable by applications include a print function, a copy function, a facsimile function, and an E-mail function.” (Yoshida: ¶[0025]).
Yoshida discloses a storage unit ‘HDD 14 is configured to store in a table format document data and setting data associated with each application’ which reads on the claimed ‘storing in units of functions’; (Yoshida: ¶[0028]; Fig. 1; Figs. 12A-12E).
Yoshida does not expressly disclose a terminal device that is connected to the information processing device to be able to communicate information therewith.
Shigetomi discloses a terminal device that is connected to the information processing device to be able to communicate information therewith.
Shigetomi Fig. 1 discloses a mobile terminal device 9 capable of communicating with multifunction machines 1a-1c. Shigetomi Fig. 7 discloses first function setting item information F1 associating setting item information J1-J7 and setting content information K1-K7. The mMFP transmits second function setting information (portions of F1) to the mobile terminal device and the mobile terminal device stores and displays that information (Shigetomi: Col. 3, line 39 – Col. 4, line 32; Col. 13, lines 1-24; Figs. 11-16).
Yoshida in view of Shigetomi are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor of image processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to disclose a terminal device that is connected to the information processing device to be able to communicate information therewith. The suggestion/motivation for doing so is to improve flexibility and user convenience by using a mobile device to control the print job in the printer. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Yoshida with Shigetomi to obtain the invention as specified in claim 12.
Regarding Claim 13:
The proposed combination of Yoshida in view of Shigetomi further discloses the information processing system according to claim 12, wherein, the terminal device displays the setting contents stored in units of functions,
Yoshida discloses a display unit 21 (Fig. 2) and a recall portal screen 300 (Fig. 3) with a fixed setting area 301, and a recall setting area 302, displaying buttons 308-310 for automatically registered settings associated with particular applications which reads on the claimed ‘in units of functions’ (Yoshida: [0038-0042]).
and accepts operation input to select one or more of the setting contents among the setting contents displayed in units of functions, and
Yoshida discloses input unit 22 (Fig. 1 such as a touch panel; [0035]) wherein when a button displayed is pressed, data is recalled according to the button and the relevant application and setting data is set (¶¶[0055-0057]).
the information processing device executes a new job including the one or more functions of the one or more setting contents selected in the terminal device.
Yoshida discloses ‘Example of a New Job’ wherein the job setting is a setting of 3 copies, color copy, one-sided printing and 4 in 1 (¶¶0062-0063]; Figs. 6-12E).
Shigetomi Fig. 1 discloses a mobile terminal device 9 capable of communicating with multifunction machines 1a-1c. Shigetomi Fig. 7 discloses first function setting item information F1 associating setting item information J1-J7 and setting content information K1-K7. The mMFP transmits second function setting information (portions of F1) to the mobile terminal device and the mobile terminal device stores and displays that information (Shigetomi: Col. 3, line 39 – Col. 4, line 32; Col. 13, lines 1-24; Figs. 11-16).
Yoshida in view of Shigetomi are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor of image processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to disclose a terminal device that is connected to the information processing device to be able to communicate information therewith. The suggestion/motivation for doing so is to improve flexibility and user convenience by using a mobile device to control the print job in the printer. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Yoshida with Shigetomi to obtain the invention as specified in claim 13.
Allowable Subject Matter
20. Claims 9-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
21. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 9:
None of the prior art cited disclose or suggest the information processing device according to claim 8, wherein, when a portion of the setting contents of the one or more functions included in the job is already stored in the one or more storages, the portion of the setting contents is not newly stored in the one or more storages in units of functions, the setting contents other than the portion of the setting contents among the setting contents of the one or more functions included in the job are automatically stored in the one or more storages in units of functions, and the portion of the setting contents is associated with the other setting contents in the one or more storages.
Regarding Claim 10:
None of the prior art cited disclose or suggest the information processing device according to claim 9, further comprising: a display that displays the setting contents stored in the one or more storages in units of functions, wherein the one or more controllers cause the display to display the associated setting contents at positions close to each other.
Conclusion
22. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Itai discloses an image forming apparatus that executes a job, based on a setting value, and is operative to store a history of the job, as a job history includes: a storage that stores the setting value of the executed job, as setting history information; a displayer that displays a selection screen for selecting the setting history information stored in the storage; and a controller that reads the setting value included in the selected history information. The controller determines whether to display setting history information of a newly executed job, based on a comparison result between the setting value pertaining to the newly executed job and the setting value included in the setting history information.
/NEIL R MCLEAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681