DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Yokohara et al. (WO2011064927A1).
As per claim 1, Yokohara et al. disclose a method of controlling a climate control circuit, comprising: detecting one or more operating parameters of an evaporator expansion valve ("EXV") in the climate control circuit (e.g., intermediate superheat); determining operation stability of the EXV based on the one or more operating parameters of the EXV 32 (page 27, lines 10-30); and in response to determining the operation of the EXV is unstable (i.e., in a pull-down state as discussed in Yokohara et al.), opening a bypass pathway (page 27, lines 23-25) that includes an intermediate heat exchanger 44 and a second expansion valve 48 disposed in parallel with the EXV (Fig. 1; etc.) , which includes the intermediate heat exchanger cooling a first portion of working fluid flowing into the EXV using a second portion of the working fluid flowing through the bypass pathway (Fig. 1; etc.).
As per claim 2, Yokohara et al. disclose the method further comprising: operating the climate control circuit in a first mode, which includes the detecting of the one or more operating parameters of the EXV and the determining operation stability of the EXV based on the operation parameters of the EXV, the bypass pathway being closed in the first mode (page 33, line 30 – page 34, line 3: in first, stable mode, valve 47 is closed); operating the climate control circuit in a second mode, the bypass pathway being open in the second mode(with valve 47 opened) ; and switching the climate control circuit from operating in the first mode to the operating in the second mode, the switching including the opening of the bypass pathway(page 33, line 30 – page 34, line 3: in first, stable mode, valve 47 is closed).
As per claim 3, Yokohara et al. disclose the method further comprising: operating the climate control circuit in a third mode that is an economizer mode, which includes: suppling the first portion of the working fluid through the bypass pathway 23 to an intermediate injection inlet of a compressor of the climate control circuit (Fig. 1; etc.), and controlling the second expansion valve 48 that is an economizer expansion valv
As per claim 4, Yokohara et al. disclose the method wherein the opening of the bypass pathway includes directing a first portion of the working fluid discharged from a condenser 31 of the climate control circuit through the intermediate heat exchanger 44, directing a second portion of the working fluid discharged from the condenser through the second expansion valve 48 and the intermediate heat exchanger in the bypass pathway (Fig. 1; etc.).
As per claim 5, Yokohara et al. disclose the method wherein the one or more operating parameters include an evaporator superheat (page 27, lines 10-30; etc.).
As pe claim 6, Yokohara et al. disclose the method wherein the determining of operation stability of the EXV based on the one or more operating parameters of the EXV includes comparing the one or more operating parameters of the EXV to one or more corresponding thresholds (page 27, lines 10-30: target range).
As per claim 7, Yokohara et al. disclose the method wherein the one or more corresponding thresholds include an evaporator superheat threshold (again, page 27, lines 10-30; etc.).
As per claim 8, Yokohara et al. disclose the method wherein the one or more corresponding thresholds include a deviation threshold (i.e., deviation of superheat value from the target).
As per claim 9, Yokohama et al. disclose wherein the climate control circuit includes: a first pathway extending from a condenser 31 of the climate control circuit to the EXV 32, and the bypass pathway 23, the bypass pathway having an inlet connected to the first pathway downstream of the condenser and upstream of the EXV (Fig. 1; etc.) and an outlet connected to the first pathway downstream of the condenser and at a compressor 30 of the climate control circuit (Fig. 1; etc.).
As per claim 11, Yokohara et al. disclose the method wherein the intermediate heat exchanger is an economizer, and the bypass pathway includes an outlet that supplies working fluid to an intermediate injection inlet of a compressor of the climate control circuit (Fig. 1; etc.).
As per claim 12, Yokohara et al. disclose a climate control system for conditioning a climate controlled space, comprising: a climate control circuit including a compressor 30, a condenser 31, an intermediate heat exchanger 44, an evaporator expansion valve ("EXV") 32, an evaporator 33, and a second expansion valve 48, a working fluid flowing through the climate control circuit; one or more sensors for the climate control circuit (60-71); and a climate controller 80 to control the climate control circuit, the climate controller configured to: detect, via the one or more sensors, one or more operating parameters of the EXV (superheat); determine operation stability of the EXV based on the one or more operating parameters of the EXV; and in response to determining the operation of the EXV is unstable, open a bypass pathway that includes the intermediate heat exchanger and the second expansion valve disposed in parallel with the EXV, such that the intermediate heat exchanger cools a first portion of the working fluid flowing into the EXV using a second portion of the working fluid flowing through the bypass pathway.
As per claims 13-20, see similar claims 2-9 above, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokohara et al. in view of Wakamoto et al. (US 9163865 B2).
As per claim 10, Yokohara et al. do not disclose the method wherein the outlet of bypass pathway connects to the first pathway downstream of the EXV and upstream of the wherein the outlet of bypass pathway connects to the first pathway downstream of the EXV and upstream of the compressor. Wakamoto et al. teach a similar HVAC control method wherein the outlet of bypass pathway connects to the first pathway downstream of the EXV 3 and upstream of the wherein the outlet of bypass pathway connects to the first pathway upstream of the compressor 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to similarly place the outlet of the bypass line of Yokohara et al. upstream of the compressor as simply an alternative known type of economizer arrangement not requiring the use of a compressor comprising an intermediate port arrangement.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments overcome the previously applied rejections over 35 U.S.C. 112(b). However, the new rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 are necessitated by art disclosed in the IDS filed 18 November 2025.
Conclusion
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 18 November 2025 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARC E NORMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763