Summary
This is the first action on the merits for application 18/622,098, filed on 03/29/2024.
Claims 1-9 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
rejections set forth in this Office action:
under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugiyama (WO2023/100642A1, wherein the US PG PUB 2024/0250335 is cited herein as the English equivalent) over Chen et al. (referred to as 525U) (CN213340525U, English Machine Translation relied on for citation and supplied herein).
Regarding Claim 1, Sugiyama teaches a lithium battery pack and meets the
claimed, a lithium battery pack (Sugiyama [0003] a battery pack including a battery (hereinafter, also referred to as a cell as appropriate) such as a lithium ion battery) for wheelchair and medical auxiliary driving equipment. The use of the battery pack has been given little patentable weight because the recitation occurs in the preamble. A preamble is generally not accorded patentable weight where it merely recites the purpose of a process or the intended use of a structure, and where the body of the claim does not depend on the preamble for completeness but, instead, the structural limitations are able to stand alone. See MPEP section 2111.02.
comprising: a battery module configured such that a plurality of cylindrical batteries are arranged along horizontal and vertical directions (Sugiyama [0037] The battery unit 20 includes one or a plurality of the cells 21 . The cell 21 is, for example, a lithium ion battery having a cylindrical shape; [Fig. 2]),
an insulation case fastened to top, bottom, and peripheral portions of the battery module in an insulating manner (Sugiyama [Fig. 2], 51 + 41 + 31A, 52 + 42 + 31B; [0041] The heat sinks 51 and 52 can effectively dissipate heat transferred from the battery unit 20 to the tabs 41 and 42 to the exterior case 10).
front cover mounted on a front of battery case in a state in which the battery module and the insulation case are inserted and fastened into the battery case (Sugiyama [Fig. 2], the figure below illustrates that as the battery is assembled, the battery module and insulation case are inserted and fastened into the battery case),
a connector mounted at a predetermined position on the front cover to charge and discharge the battery module (Sugiyama [0036] Via the external output terminal, output of the battery pack 100 is supplied to a load, and charging of the battery pack 100 is performed).
Sugiyama teaches a battery case (Sugiyama [Fig. 2], 10) but it silent to teach that the case is injection-molded with aluminum.
Analogous in the field of battery cases, Chen teaches a battery case injection-molded with aluminum (525U [pg. 2 para. 2] the present invention provides a battery aluminum shell; [pg. 2 para. 15] the battery assembly has gone through the steps of liquid injection).
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Sugiyama’s case to be made of aluminum as Chen teaches because the substitution of one known material for another would render the same predictable result of properly containing and sealing the battery pack.
Because Chen teaches the claimed, a battery case injection-molded with aluminum, the claimed functionality—so that the battery module and the insulation case fastened to the battery module can be detachably inserted and fastened thereinto—would obviously follow.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugiyama, in view of 525U and Okuya et al. (referred to as Okuya) (JP2013/030430A, English Machine Translation relied on for citation and supplied herein).
Regarding Claim 2, modified Sugiyama teaches a battery module [0003] where the battery module includes a plurality of battery trays (Sugiyama [Fig. 2] 30A, 30B) provided with a plurality of battery insertion portions (Sugiyama [Fig. 2] 31A, 31B);
In a state in which the battery module is inserted and fastened into the battery case, the individual cylindrical batteries inserted into the battery insertion portions of the individual battery trays are spaced apart from each other while forming air passages (Sugiyama [Fig. 2], refer to figure above).
However, Sugiyama is silent to explicitly specify that cooling fins are disposed in close contact between individual cylindrical batteries, and cooling tubes each having air passage are inserted to pass through the cooling fins.
Analogous in the field of battery modules, Okuya teaches cooling fins are disposed in close contact between individual cylindrical batteries (Okuya [Fig. 11], 2, 3, 4), and cooling tubes each having air passage are inserted to pass through the cooling fins (Okuya [Fig. 11, Fig. 12], H2z). Okuya teaches that cooling fins help “form a cooling passage through which a cooling medium (for example, air, hereinafter referred to as “refrigerant”) can flow [0030]”.
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Sugiyama to include cooling fins and cooling tubes through the fins as taught by Okuya in order to improve the cooling of the battery module.
Claims 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugiyama in view of 525U, Okuya, and Chen et al. (US PG PUB US2020/0194756A1).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Sugiyama teaches the battery case (Sugiyama [Fig. 2] 10), but is silent to teach one or more air inlet holes configured to allow air to flow into the air passages are formed at predetermined positions in the battery case.
Analogous in the field of battery cases, Chen teaches a battery case (referred to here as the shielding member, 40) with one or more air inlet holes configured to allow air to flow into the air passages are formed at predetermined positions in the battery case (Chen [Fig. 3], 42; [0061] the shielding member 40 is provided with a through hole 42 that penetrates the shielding member 40).
Chen teaches that “as an optional embodiment, the shielding member 40 is provided with a through hole 42 that penetrates the shielding member 40 in the height direction Z. By providing the through hole 42, a gap between the case 10 and the shielding member 40 can be communicated with the outside, and a compressed gas between the case 10 and the shielding member 40 can be exhausted [0061]”.
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the modified Sugiyama to include the air inlet holes on the outer battery case as taught by Chen as they would allow the compressed gas to be properly exhausted from the case.
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugiyama in view of 525U and Yun (US PG PUB 2018/0151921 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Sugiyama teaches the lithium battery pack of claim 1, wherein the insulation case (Sugiyama, [Fig. 2], 51 + 41 +31A, 52 + 42 + 31B) an upper plate provided in a structure in which a plurality of upper heat dissipation holes for communicating between an upper plate portion of the battery case and the battery module are formed therethrough, and configured to come into close contact with a top of the battery module (Sugiyama, [Fig. 2], 32A) ; a lower plate provided in a structure in which a plurality of lower heat dissipation holes for communicating between a lower plate portion of the battery case and the battery module are formed therethrough, and configured to come into close contact with a bottom of the battery module (Sugiyama, [Fig. 2], 32B).
However, modified Sugiyama is silent to teach that there are vertical connection bars connected between four corner positions of the upper plate and four corner positions of the lower plate.
Analogous in the field of battery packs, Yun meets the claimed, vertical connection bars connected between four corner positions of the upper plate and four corner positions of the lower plate (Yun [Fig. 1], B). It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Sugiyama in view of Okuya to include the vertical connection bar as taught by Yun in order “to improve the impact resistance [0056]”.
Regarding Claim 5, modified Sugiyama teaches the lithium battery pack with lower and upper plates [Fig. 5]. However, modified Sugiyama is silent to mention right-angled stepped blocks.
Analogous in the field of lithium battery packs, Yun teaches right-angled stepped blocks configured to accommodate and support battery modules having different sizes protrude at four corner positions on a top surface of the upper plate and four corner positions on a bottom surface of the lower plate, so that four corners of the battery module are each supported in close contact with one side or the other side of each of the stepped blocks (Yun, [Fig.1], 221, 222).
Yun teaches that “The lower housing 200 is disposed below the cell assembly 100 to support the cell assembly [0049]”. It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Sugiyama in view of Okuya to include right-angled stepped blocks as taught by Yun as the right-angled stepped blocks on both the upper and lower plates can best support the cell assembly.
Yun illustrates the lithium battery pack wherein there are right-angled step blocks at the four corners of the upper plate and lower plate. Since the instant specification is silent to unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to arrange right-angled blocks at the four corners of the upper and lower plate on the module describes by Sugiyama, as taught by Yun, because selecting one of known designs for a configuration would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and because the right-angled stepped blocks would operate equally well.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugiyama in view of 525U, Yun, and Chen.
Regarding Claim 6, modified Sugiyama teaches the lithium battery pack, however, is silent to teach two or more rail portions formed to be concave inward are formed on the upper and lower plate portions of the battery case, and slide protrusions each configured to come into close slidable contact with one side of each of the rail portions are formed on the upper and lower plates of the insulation case.
Analogous in the field of lithium battery packs, Chen teaches a battery module, meeting the claimed, two or more rail portions formed to be concave inward are formed on the upper and lower plate portions of the battery case (Chen [Fig. 3], 41), and slide protrusions each configured to come into close slidable contact with one side of each of the rail portions are formed on the upper and lower plates of the insulation case (Chen [Fig. 2 ], 13). It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the modified Sugiyama to include rail portions and slide protrusions as taught by Chen as “it can effectively avoid the respective second batteries from being worn with a simple operation [0020]”.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugiyama in view of 525U, Yun, and Okuya.
Regarding Claim 7, modified Sugiyama teaches the lithium battery pack, however, is silent to explicitly mention a plurality of heat dissipation fins protrude from inner surfaces of the upper and lower plates of the battery case, and slide protrusions configured to be slidably coupled to or come into close slidable contact with the heat dissipation fins are formed on the upper and lower plates of the insulation case.
Analogous in the field of battery packs, Okuya teaches a plurality of heat dissipation fins protrude from inner surfaces of the lower plates of the battery case (Okuya [Fig. 11], 2, 3, 4).
Okuya teaches that heat dissipation fins help “form a cooling passage through which a cooling medium (for example, air, hereinafter referred to as “refrigerant”) can flow [0030]”.
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Sugiyama to include heat dissipation fins as taught by Okuya in order to improve the cooling of the battery module.
Upon assembly of the batteries, these fin pieces will slide along the plurality of batteries (Okuya [Fig. 11] refer to figure below), which will read on the claimed slide protrusions configured to be slidably coupled to or come into close slidable contact with the heat dissipations are formed on the lower plates of the insulation case.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugiyama in view of 525U and Ono et al. (referred to as Ono) (JP2013/251127A, English Machine Translation relied on for citation and supplied herein).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Sugiyama teaches the lithium battery pack, however, is silent to teach the front cover is mounted with a handle used for carrying.
Analogous in the field of battery cases and battery modules, Ono teaches a front cover mounted with a handle (Ono [Fig. 1]).
Ono teaches that the “The lid 11 is fixed to the opening of the main body case 10 by a set screw (not shown) to close the opening [0025]”. Therefore, it is obvious for the handle to be capable of being used for carrying.
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Sugiyama to include the handle on the front cover as taught by Ono as a fixed lid with a handle can help improve carrying convenience.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugiyama in view of 525U and Seo et al. (referred to as Seo) (US PG PUB 2021/0036277A1).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Sugiyama teaches the lithium battery pack of claim 1, however, is silent to explicitly teach the lithium battery pack, further comprising a bus bar mounted in a front space of the battery case while being conductively connected to the battery module; and a battery control board conductively connected to the bus bar and configured to control discharging of battery power to the connector or control charging of charging power, coming from the connector, into the battery module.
Analogous in the field of lithium battery packs, Seo teaches the lithium battery pack, further comprising a bus bar mounted in a front space of the battery case while being conductively connected to the battery module (Seo [Fig. 1], 432); and a battery control board conductively connected to the bus bar and configured to control discharging of battery power to the connector or control charging of charging power, coming from the connector, into the battery module (Seo [Fig. 1], 436). It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Sugiyama to explicitly teach a bus bar mounted in the front space of the battery case while being conductively connected to the battery module, and a battery control board conductively connected to the bus bar as taught by Seo as they assist with “controlling the operation of the sensing assembly [0039]”.
Conclusion
/GAURI EMMA MIDHA/Examiner, Art Unit 1744
/KOURTNEY R S CARLSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721 10/15/2026