Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on 9/30/21. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the JP2021-161764 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/29/24, 4/29/24, and 3/10/25 are being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 10-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/27/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
Claims 1, 3, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The written description provides no details or examples of either materials that include the claimed elongation or treatment to create such for the claimed sections of pipe (further see the 112b below). This lack of written description results in failing to reasonable convey the claimed matter in the required detail.
Claims 2-9 are rejected for dependence form one of the above claims.
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 3, and 6 are unclear in what exactly is claimed. It is unclear if the claimed elongation is a physical capability of the curved section or a method of creating the curved sections, further it is unclear if applicant is claiming an inherent material feature or a process of production of the pipe. Applicant provides no information or description of how such is accomplished or specific (or examples of) materials that have the claimed elongation. It is further unclear if the elongation quality is either a capability before curving or a result of the curving. Applicant provides no clear understanding of how different parts of the same pipe have different qualities as claimed. Thus one skilled in the art is not clear on when or how the claimed elongation is determined or accomplished. Thus it is indefinite, and the claims will be examined as any reading of the claimed elongation will be applicable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-6, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daikin Industries LTD. (JP2015-140998) in view of Kobe Steel LTD (JP5-70870/H05070870).
Regarding claim 1, Daikin teaches an indoor heat exchanger (Fig 1-4) comprising: a heat exchanger body (element 2); and a connection pipe (element 7) connected to the heat exchanger body through a connection portion (“dividing junction” para. Para. 0024), wherein the connection pipe includes a first curved portion (per annotated figure below).
Daikin does not teach the first curved portion having an elongation greater than or equal to 30%. Kobe teaches coolant pipes having elongation greater than 35% (para. 0029-0031). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the pipe of Daikin such that one curved portion has an elongation of greater than 35% (reading on the claim), the motivation is the workability of that section.
Regarding claim 2, Daikin teaches the connection pipe further includes a second curved portion (per the annotated figure below) between the connection portion and the first curved portion.
Regarding claim 4, Daikin teaches a tubular member covering the first curved portion (“heat insulating material” of para. 0034, notes state coving pipe, thus considered all the pipe including the curved sections).
Regarding claim 5, Daikin teaches the connection pipe is made of aluminum or an aluminum alloy (per para. 0020).
Regarding claim 6, Kobe further teaches the elongation of the first curved portion is greater than or equal to 40%, as this is within their teaching of 35% or greater and for the same reasoning.
Regarding claim 8, Daikin further teaches an indoor unit comprising the indoor heat exchanger (para. 0027).
Regarding claim 9, Daikin further teaches an air conditioner comprising the indoor unit (para. 0027).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daikin Industries LTD. (JP2015-140998) in view of Kobe Steel LTD (JP5-70870/H05070870), and further view of Wakaguri et al. (U.S. PGPub 2016/0002754).
Regarding claim 3, Daikin does not teach the second curved portion has an elongation less than or equal to 20%.
Wakaguri teaches that pipe sections closest to connection points (para. 0003) having elongation less than or equal to 20% (table 2). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the second bend, which in Daikin is close to the connection point to have the claimed elongation as taught by Wakaguri, the motivoant would be to improve the strength of connection area (table 2).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daikin Industries LTD. (JP2015-140998) in view of Kobe Steel LTD (JP5-70870/H05070870), and further view of Taguchi et al. (U.S. Patent 6,962,632).
Regarding claim 7, Daikin does not expressly teach the connection pipe has an outer diameter less than or equal to 9.52 mm.
Pipes of this size are well known in the art as shown by Taguchi (col. 13-16), it would have been obvious to apply known pipe sizes, the motivation would be to apply available pipes toa system for the necessary refrigerant flow.
Conclusion
/JOEL M ATTEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763