Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on 9/30/21. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the JP2021-161764 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3 is unclear in what exactly is claimed. It is unclear if the claimed elongation is a physical capability of the curved section or a method of creating the curved sections, further it is unclear if applicant is claiming an inherent material feature or a process of production of the pipe. Applicant provides no information or description of how such is accomplished or specific (or examples of) materials that have the claimed elongation. It is further unclear if the elongation quality is either a capability before curving or a result of the curving. Applicant provides no clear understanding of how different parts of the same pipe have different qualities as claimed. Thus one skilled in the art is not clear on when or how the claimed elongation is determined or accomplished. Thus it is indefinite, and the claims will be examined as any reading of the claimed elongation will be applicable. It is noted that claim 1 defines the elongation for the first curved portion, but does not define elongation for the second curved portion. The claim will be examined as the elongation meaning the same style.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the elongation". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This is the first claimed elongation of the second curved portion, the term “the elongation” would only be proper with the elongation already claimed of the first curved portion. The claim will be examined as reading “the second curved portion has an elongation less than or equal to 20%” (note here the “an elongation” is clearly part of the second curved portion, and confusion would only occur if other claims did not reference an elongation tied to either the first or second curved portion).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-6, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daikin Industries LTD. (JP2015-140998) in view of Kobe Steel LTD (JP5-70870/H05070870).
Regarding claim 1, Daikin teaches an indoor heat exchanger (fig. 1-4) comprising: a heat exchanger body (element 2); and a connection pipe (element 7) connected to the heat exchanger body through a connection portion (“dividing junction” per para. 0024), wherein the connection pipe includes: a vertical section (element 7a) extending in a vertical direction of the indoor heat exchanger or a direction inclined relative to the vertical direction (per fig. 4); a horizontal section (element 7c) extending in a horizontal direction of the indoor heat exchanger or a direction inclined relative to the horizontal direction (per fig. 4) ; and a first curved portion (element 5b), the first curved portion is disposed between the vertical section and the horizontal section (per fig. 4).
Daikin does not teach that the first curved portion has been subjected to a bending process, wherein the first curved portion has an elongation greater than or equal to 30% and the elongation is expressed as a percentage of a ratio between an increase in a distance between gauge marks on a test specimen at fracture and an initial length of a tensile test.
The limitation of “the first curved portion has been subjected to a bending process” isa product by process limitation and “once a product appearing to be substantially identical is found and a 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection [is] made, the burden shifts to the applicant to show an unobvious difference” MPEP 2113. This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is proper because the “patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production.” In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Kobe teaches coolant pipes having elongation greater than 35% (para. 0029-0031). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the pipe of Daikin such that one curved portion has an elongation of greater than 35% (reading on the claim), the motivation is the workability of that section.
Regarding claim 2, Daikin teaches the connection pipe further includes a second curved portion (per the annotated figure below) between the connection portion and the first curved portion.
Regarding claim 4, Daikin teaches a tubular member covering the first curved portion (“heat insulating material” of para. 0034, notes state coving pipe, thus considered all the pipe including the curved sections).
Regarding claim 5, Daikin teaches the connection pipe is made of aluminum or an aluminum alloy (per para. 0020).
Regarding claim 6, Kobe further teaches the elongation of the first curved portion is greater than or equal to 40%, as this is within their teaching of 35% or greater and for the same reasoning.
Regarding claim 8, Daikin further teaches an indoor unit comprising the indoor heat exchanger (para. 0027).
Regarding claim 9, Daikin further teaches an air conditioner comprising the indoor unit (para. 0027).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daikin Industries LTD. (JP2015-140998) in view of Kobe Steel LTD (JP5-70870/H05070870), and further view of Wakaguri et al. (U.S. PGPub 2016/0002754).
Regarding claim 3, Daikin does not teach the second curved portion has an elongation less than or equal to 20%.
Wakaguri teaches that pipe sections closest to connection points (para. 0003) having elongation less than or equal to 20% (table 2). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the second bend, which in Daikin is close to the connection point to have the claimed elongation as taught by Wakaguri, the motivoant would be to improve the strength of connection area (table 2).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daikin Industries LTD. (JP2015-140998) in view of Kobe Steel LTD (JP5-70870/H05070870), and further view of Taguchi et al. (U.S. Patent 6,962,632).
Regarding claim 7, Daikin does not expressly teach the connection pipe has an outer diameter less than or equal to 9.52 mm.
Pipes of this size are well known in the art as shown by Taguchi (col. 13-16), it would have been obvious to apply known pipe sizes, the motivation would be to apply available pipes toa system for the necessary refrigerant flow.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 112a/b rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive with regards to the amendments. The prior 112a/b of the 1/13/26 has been withdrawn. Note there isa new 112b issue3 due to amendment.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOEL M ATTEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763