DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-18 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5-7, 9-11, 14-16, and 18, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye (CN111490220B, for prior art discussion see cited machine translation) in view of Pregler (US PG Pub. 2021/0083315 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Ye discloses an electrochemical apparatus (button cell battery, para. n0006), comprising an electrode assembly (n00017), wherein the electrode assembly is a winding structure (n00017), and the electrode assembly comprises: a first electrode plate (positive electrode, ref. 14, figure 4, para. n0021), wherein a winding end of the first electrode plate is provided with a first zone (figure 1-3, examiner figure A), and the first zone is connected to a first tab (positive tab, ref. 123, figure 3-5, para. n0021, n0053); and a second electrode plate (negative electrode, ref. 15, figure 4, para. n0021), wherein a winding end of the second electrode plate is provided with a second zone (figure 1-3, examiner figure A), and the second zone is connected to a second tab (negative tab, ref. 124, figure 3-5, para. n0021, n 0053);
Ye discloses the cell is formed by sequentially winding the first electrode plate (positive electrode ref. 14), the separator (ref. 21), and the second electrode plate (negative electrode, ref.15, para. n0053) thereby meeting the limitation along a winding direction from inside to outside of the winding structure, the first electrode plate is located on the inner side of the electrode assembly relative to the second electrode plate.
Ye further discloses the outermost ring of the electrochemical apparatus has a different lengths (para. n0021-n0022, n0053) there by disclosing the first zone and the second zone has different lengths. Ye further discloses by staggering the lengths of the tabs, the positive and negative tabs can be brought out from any direction and angle to adapt to the specific shape of the button battery (para. n0022).
Ye discloses as viewed along a width direction of the first electrode plate, an angle between a first line from a winding center of the electrode assembly to a center of the second zone and a second line from the winding center of the electrode assembly to a center of the first zone is θ, wherein θ is measured from the first line to the second line along the winding direction from inside to outside of the winding structure, (para. n0021- n0022, n0053, figure 3 and 5, examiner figure A). Ye further discloses this angle can be 30°, 60°, 90°, 180°,etc. (para. n0022) overlapping with the claimed range of 30o ≤ θ ≤270o (MPEP 2144.05 (I)). As Ye discloses angle of 180o, the two zones are diametrically opposite and the first zone exceeds the second zone by a half-turn (figure 1).
Ye fails to disclose the first zone exceeding the second zone by a winding length of less than one turn as viewed along a width direction of the first electrode plate.
Pregler discloses a battery where in the electrode assembly is a wound set of layers including cathode, anode and a separator (abstract, figure 2). Pregler discloses a first zone (cathode ref. 112, figure 1A) and a second zone (anode ref. 102, figure 1A) where the length of the first zone is greater than the length of the second zone (0025) where a portion (ref 120, figure 2) of the first zone extends beyond an end (ref 108, figure 2) by less than one turn (figure 2, examiner figure B). Pregler further discloses because the portion (ref. 120, figure 2) extends beyond the end of the second zone (anode), the current flowing through the portion (ref. 120, figure 2) is unopposed and the current flowing through the unopposed portion generates an electromagnetic field that is not canceled or mitigated by an opposing current flowing through the anode. (para. 0025). Pregler discloses the electromagnetic interference generated by the unopposed portion of the cathode or anode layer may produce unwanted noise or signal distortion to other components adjacent to the battery (para. 0005). Thereby, Pregler further disclose the distance (ref. 110 ) is a result effective variable for reducing the unopposed portion generates an electromagnetic field that is not canceled or mitigated. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to control the distance (ref. 110 ) for reducing the unopposed portion generates an electromagnetic field that is not canceled or mitigated so that the unwanted noise or signal distortion to other components adjacent to the battery can be reduced as disclosed by Pregler. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to have arrived at a distance by which the first zone exceeds the second zone by routine optimization to achieve wound battery with suitable characteristics. (MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Examiner figure A
Examiner figure B
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrochemical apparatus of Ye as taught by Pregler. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have the first zone exceeding the second zone by a winding length of less than one turn to reduce the unopposed electromagnetic field so that the unwanted noise or signal distortion to other components adjacent to the battery can be reduced.
Regarding claim 2, as discussed with respect to claim 1, Ye discloses the angle can be 30°, 60°, 90°, 180°,etc. (para. n0022) overlapping with the claimed range of 90o ≤ θ ≤270o (MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Regarding claim 5, Ye discloses battery cell is formed by sequentially winding the positive electrode (ref. 14, figure 4), the separator (ref. 21, figure 4), and the negative electrode (ref. 15, figure 4) there by disclosing the first electrode plate is the positive electrode plate (para. n0053).
Regarding claim 6 and 7, Ye discloses along the width direction of the first electrode plate, the electrode assembly comprises a first side and a second side disposed opposite to each other first tab comprises of a first connecting portion and a first extending portion where in the first connecting portion is connected to the first zone, and the first extending portion connected to the first connecting portion (figure 3, examiner figure A). Ye further discloses a second tab comprises a second connecting portion and a second extending portion where in the second connecting portion is connected to the second zone and a second extending portion where in the second extending portion connected to the second connecting portion (figure 3, examiner figure A). Ye further discloses a housing (aluminum-plastic film encapsulation, para. n0012) and the electrode assembly is disposed inside the housing (para. n0053).
Ye fails to disclose the first extending portion is located on the first side and second extending portion is connected to the second side, an electrode piece, the first extending portion is connected to the electrode piece, and the second extending portion is connected to the housing.
Pregler discloses a first side and a second side disposed opposite to each other (figure 2, examiner figure B) and a first tab comprises of a first extending portion where in the first connecting portion is connected to the first zone (figure 2, examiner figure B). Pregler discloses a second tab comprises a second extending portion connected to the second zone (figure 2, examiner figure B). Pregler discloses an electrode piece (lid, ref. 220, figure 4, para. 0029) and a housing (can, ref. 210, figure 4) and electrode assembly is disposed inside the housing (ref. 210, para. 0027, 0008, figure 3A). Pregler further discloses the first extending portion (ref. 116) is connected to the electrode piece (lid, ref. 220, para. 0029,0006, figure 4) and the second extending portion (ref. 106) is connected to the housing (ref. 210, para. 0029, 0006). Pregler further discloses a battery that is designed to oppose or effectively cancel electromagnetic interference generated by an unopposed portion of a cathode or anode layer and/or electromagnetic interference generated by other system components, as well as an enclosure that enables an assembler to ascertain an orientation of a first and second conductive tab with respect to a feature of the enclosure (para. 0005).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the first and second extending portion of Ye to be located on first side and second side respectively and add an electrode piece and connect the first extending portion to the electrode piece on the first side, and the second extending portion connected to the housing on the second side as taught by Pregler. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify Ye’s electrochemical apparatus to reduce the electromagnetic interference as well as an enclosure that enables an assembler to ascertain an orientation of a first and second conductive tab with respect to a feature of the enclosure.
Regarding claim 9, Ye discloses an insulating film (ref. 3, figure 3) attached to the surface (outer ring) of the electrode assembly (para. n0057) and when the electrode assembly is placed inside the housing (aluminum-plastic film encapsulation, para. n0012, n0053) it would meet the limitation of the insulator being disposed between the housing and the electrode assembly.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Ye and Pregler discloses electrochemical apparatus as discussed above with respect to claim 1. Though Ye does not explicitly disclose an electric device comprising of the electrochemical apparatus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the modified electrochemical apparatus of Ye into an electric device. Furthermore, Pregler discloses a portable electric device comprising of an electrochemical apparatus (battery, figure 6, para. 0036). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art to incorporate the modified electrochemical apparatus of Ye into the electric device of Pregler to reduce the unopposed electromagnetic field so that the unwanted noise or signal distortion to other components adjacent to the battery can be reduced.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Ye and Pregler discloses electrochemical apparatus as discussed above with respect to claim 2. Though Ye does not explicitly disclose an electric device comprising of the electrochemical apparatus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the modified electrochemical apparatus of Ye into an electric device. Furthermore, Pregler discloses a portable electric device comprising of an electrochemical apparatus (battery, figure 6, para. 0036). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art to incorporate the modified electrochemical apparatus of Ye into the electric device of Pregler to reduce the unopposed electromagnetic field so that the unwanted noise or signal distortion to other components adjacent to the battery can be reduced.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Ye and Pregler discloses electrochemical apparatus as discussed above with respect to claim 5. Though Ye does not explicitly disclose an electric device comprising of the electrochemical apparatus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the modified electrochemical apparatus of Ye into an electric device. Furthermore, Pregler discloses a portable electric device comprising of an electrochemical apparatus (battery, figure 6, para. 0036). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art to incorporate the modified electrochemical apparatus of Ye into the electric device of Pregler to reduce the unopposed electromagnetic field so that the unwanted noise or signal distortion to other components adjacent to the battery can be reduced.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Ye and Pregler discloses electrochemical apparatus as discussed above with respect to claim 6. Though Ye does not explicitly disclose an electric device comprising of the electrochemical apparatus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the modified electrochemical apparatus of Ye into an electric device. Furthermore, Pregler discloses a portable electric device comprising of an electrochemical apparatus (battery, figure 6, para. 0036). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art to incorporate the modified electrochemical apparatus of Ye into the electric device of Pregler to reduce the unopposed electromagnetic field so that the unwanted noise or signal distortion to other components adjacent to the battery can be reduced.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Ye and Pregler discloses electrochemical apparatus as discussed above with respect to claim 7. Though Ye does not explicitly disclose an electric device comprising of the electrochemical apparatus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the modified electrochemical apparatus of Ye into an electric device. Furthermore, Pregler discloses a portable electric device comprising of an electrochemical apparatus (battery, figure 6, para. 0036). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art to incorporate the modified electrochemical apparatus of Ye into the electric device of Pregler to reduce the unopposed electromagnetic field so that the unwanted noise or signal distortion to other components adjacent to the battery can be reduced.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Ye and Pregler discloses electrochemical apparatus as discussed above with respect to claim 9. Though Ye does not explicitly disclose an electric device comprising of the electrochemical apparatus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the modified electrochemical apparatus of Ye into an electric device. Furthermore, Pregler discloses a portable electric device comprising of an electrochemical apparatus (battery, figure 6, para. 0036). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art to incorporate the modified electrochemical apparatus of Ye into the electric device of Pregler to reduce the unopposed electromagnetic field so that the unwanted noise or signal distortion to other components adjacent to the battery can be reduced.
Claims 3-4 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye (CN111490220B, for prior art discussion see cited machine translation) in view of Pregler (US PG Pub. 2021/0083315 A1) as applied to claims 1, 2, 5-7, 9-11, 14-16, and 18 above, and further in view of Sano (US PG Pub. 2015/0357679 A1)
Ye and Pegler are relied upon as described above.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Ye and Pegler fails to disclose the electrode assembly has n turns and 3≤n≤40 and 7≤n≤40.
Sano discloses a secondary battery with a wound-type electrode assembly with the wound-type electrode assembly including a positive electrode, a negative electrode, and a separator interposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode (para. 0019). Sano discloses the number of winding turns for the electrode assembly is preferably 3 to 10 and further preferably 3 to 8 (para. 0072) overlapping with the claimed range of 3≤n≤40 of claim 3 and 7≤n≤40 of claim 4 (MPEP 2144.05 (I)). Sano further discloses when the number of winding turns falls within the foregoing range, excessive increase in the tension of the electrode assembly can be suppressed while high capacity is secured, and it becomes much easier to secure high wettability with the non-aqueous electrolyte (para. 0072).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrochemical apparatus of Ye as taught by Sano. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have a number of winding turns, including that presently claimed, in order to produce am electrochemical apparatus where the excessive increase in the tension of the electrode assembly can be suppressed while high capacity is secured, and it becomes much easier to secure high wettability with a non-aqueous electrolyte
Regarding claims 12 and 13, the combination of Ye and Pregler discloses electrochemical apparatus as discussed above with respect to claim 3 and 4. Though Ye does not explicitly disclose an electric device comprising of the electrochemical apparatus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the modified electrochemical apparatus of Ye into an electric device. Furthermore, Pregler discloses a portable electric device comprising of an electrochemical apparatus (battery, figure 6, para. 0036). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art to incorporate the modified electrochemical apparatus of Ye into the electric device of Pregler to reduce the unopposed electromagnetic field so that the unwanted noise or signal distortion to other components adjacent to the battery can be reduced.
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye (CN111490220B, for prior art discussion see cited machine translation) in view of Pregler (US PG Pub. 2021/0083315 A1) as applied to claims 1, 2, 5-7, 9-11, 14-16, and 18 above, and further in view of Jiao (US PG Pub. 2019/0252660 A1).
Ye and Pegler is relied upon as described above.
Regarding claim 8, Ye discloses the electrode assembly comprises a separator (ref. 21, figure 4) disposed between the first electrode plate and second electrode plate and along the winding direction from inside to outside of the winding structure (para. n0053).
Ye and Pregler fails to disclose a winding end of the separator exceeds the first electrode plate.
Jiao discloses a battery and an electrode assembly including a first electrode plate, a second electrode plate, and a separator disposed therebetween (para. 0005) and the electrode assembly may be formed by winding (para. 0055, 0032). Jiao further discloses the separator includes an extension portion protruding outside of the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate in a length direction of the electrode assembly (para. 0005). Jiao further discloses the extension portion of the separator extending to the outside of the first and second electrode plates are connected by the glue layer, so that the extension portion of the separator may be bonded. Thereby effectively reduces the safety problems of the battery caused by the shrinkage of the separator (such as a drop short circuit, etc.) (para. 0019) and such a battery would reduce the risk of short circuit of the electrode assembly (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrochemical apparatus of Ye as taught by Jiao. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have the winding end of separator exceed the first electrode plate to reduce the risk of short circuit of the electrode assembly.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Ye and Pregler discloses electrochemical apparatus as discussed above with respect to claim 8. Though Ye does not explicitly disclose an electric device comprising of the electrochemical apparatus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the modified electrochemical apparatus of Ye into an electric device. Furthermore, Pregler discloses a portable electric device comprising of an electrochemical apparatus (battery, figure 6, para. 0036). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art to incorporate the modified electrochemical apparatus of Ye into the electric device of Pregler to reduce the unopposed electromagnetic field so that the unwanted noise or signal distortion to other components adjacent to the battery can be reduced.
Conclusion
/I.M./
Iswarya Mathew Examiner, Art Unit 1788
7/28/2026
/CALLIE E SHOSHO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1787