DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I in the reply filed on 12/17/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: The limitation “…between a first component of the bearing actuator arrangement a second component of the bearing actuator arrangement…” should be changed to “…between a first component of the bearing actuator arrangement and a second component of the bearing actuator arrangement…”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the intermediate section" in the second paragraph. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Specifically, there has been no mention of an “intermediate section” prior to this and therefore it is unclear what “the intermediate section” is referring to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Smyth (US 2022/0014677 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Smyth discloses
A camera (200; fig. 2) comprising:
an optical assembly comprising:
an image sensor (206; fig. 2A); and
a lens assembly (202; fig. 2A) having one or more lens groups; and
a bearing actuator arrangement (base structure 214, X stage 208, Y stage 210, Z stage 212; fig. 2A) configured to move at least one component of the optical assembly ([0032]), wherein:
the bearing actuator arrangement comprises a preloading arrangement (248; 230; fig. 2A) configured to provide a magnetic preloading force between a first component (base structure 214; fig. 2A) of the bearing actuator arrangement a second component (X stage 208; fig. 2A) of the bearing actuator arrangement ([0045]);
the preloading arrangement comprises:
a magnet (230; fig. 2A) connected to the first component ([0036]) and having a magnetic field; and
a set of preloading plates (248; fig. 2A) connected to the second component ([0035], [0045]) and positioned in the magnetic field;
the magnet (230) has a first surface facing the set of preloading plates and having a shape with a minor axis and major axis (fig. 2A); and
the set of preloading plates (248) includes at least one edge (Edge extending in the thickness direction of the plate 248) positioned at a non-zero angle relative to each of the minor axis and the major axis (A thickness direction of the plate 250 extends in a direction orthogonal to the claimed first surface of the magnet 230. Therefore, any edge in the thickness direction of the plate would be positioned at a 90 degree angle with both the major and minor axes).
Regarding claim 2, Smyth discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition, Smyth discloses, wherein:
the set of preloading plates comprises a first preloading plate and a second preloading plate (There are two ferritic components 248; [0045]; fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 3, Smyth discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2), in addition, Smyth discloses, wherein:
the first preloading plate includes a first region having first and second parallel edges (First and second parallel edges in the thickness direction; fig. 2A); and
the first and second parallel edges of the first region of the first preloading plate are positioned at corresponding non-zero angles relative to each of the minor axis and the major axis (As stated above, all edges of the plates 248 that extend in the thickness direction of the plate are orthogonal to the both the major and minor axes; fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 4, Smyth discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 3), in addition, Smyth discloses, wherein:
the second preloading plate includes a first region having first and second parallel edges (First and second parallel edges in the thickness direction; fig. 2A); and
the first and second parallel edges of the first region of the second preloading plate are positioned at corresponding non-zero angles relative to each of the minor axis and the major axis (As stated above, all edges of the plates 248 that extend in the thickness direction of the plate are orthogonal to the both the major and minor axes; fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 5, Smyth discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2), in addition, Smyth discloses, wherein:
the set of preloading plates is symmetric across an axis of symmetry positioned between the first preloading plate and the second preloading plate (As shown in fig. 2A, the two plates are the same and therefore would be symmetrical across an axis of symmetry between them.).
Regarding claim 6, Smyth discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition, Smyth discloses, wherein:
the bearing actuator arrangement comprises a first stage (214) and a second stage (208; fig. 2A);
the first stage and the second stage are separated by one or more sets of ball bearings (236, 238; fig. 2A; [0040]-[0041]); and
the first component (base 214) of the bearing actuator arrangement is the first stage and the second component (X stage 208) of the bearing actuator arrangement is the second stage.
Regarding claim 7, Smyth discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 6), in addition, Smyth discloses, wherein:
the bearing actuator arrangement comprises a third stage (Y stage 210; fig. 2A) positioned between the first stage (base 214; fig. 2A) and the second stage (X stage 208; fig. 2A);
the first stage (214) is separated from the third stage (210) by a first set of ball bearings (238; [0041]; fig. 2A); and
the second stage (208) is separated from the third stage (210) by a second set of ball bearings (236; [0040]; fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 9, Smyth discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition, Smyth discloses, wherein:
the set of preloading plates comprises a first preloading plate (Left preloading plate 248; fig. 2A) having a first arm and second arm (The first “arm” can be the left minor surface and the second “arm” can be the right minor surface. These surfaces are “arms” to the top surface; figs. 2A, 2D);
the first arm has a pair of edges positioned at corresponding non-zero angles relative to each of the minor axis and the major axis (The first arm is the surface of the preloading plate 248 shown in fig. 2D. As shown, it has two parallel edges on the left and right sides. Both of these edges are orthogonal to the minor and major axes and therefore are at non-zero angles relative to the minor and major axes); and
the second arm has a pair of edges positioned at corresponding non-zero angles relative to each of the minor axis and the major axis (The second arm is the surface of the preloading plate 248 shown in fig. 2D. As shown, it has two parallel edges on the left and right sides. Both of these edges are orthogonal to the minor and major axes and therefore are at non-zero angles relative to the minor and major axes).
Regarding claim 10, Smyth discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition, Smyth discloses, wherein:
the set of preloading plates comprises a first preloading plate (248; fig. 2D) having a first end segment (Top horizontal segment of the surface of the preloading plate 248 shown in fig. 2D), a second end segment (Bottom horizontal segment of the surface of the preloading plate 248 shown in fig. 2D);
the intermediate section comprises a first edge (Left vertical segment of the surface of the preloading plate 248 shown in fig. 2D) and a second edge (Right vertical segment of the surface of the preloading plate 248 shown in fig. 2D) each connecting the first end segment to the second end segment; and
the first edge and the second edge of the intermediate segment are positioned at corresponding non-zero angles relative to each of the minor axis and the major axis (The first edge and second edge are orthogonal to the minor and major axes and therefore are at 90 degree angles with respect to the minor and major axes.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smyth in view of Fujinaka et al. (US 2015/0192784 A1) hereinafter referenced as Fujinaka.
Regarding claim 8, Smyth discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition, Smyth discloses, wherein:
the shape of the first surface (Bottom surface of magnet 230; fig. 2B) is [rectangular with chamfered corners].
However, Smyth, fails to explicitly disclose that the first surface is a rectangle. However, the examiner maintains that it was well known in the art to provide this, as taught by Fujinaka.
In a similar field of endeavor, Fujinaka discloses the shape of the first surface (Surface of magnet 372 facing the preloading plates 392, 393; fig. 5B) is a rectangle (fig. 5B).
Smyth teaches a magnet for image stabilization which is rectangular but has chamfered corners. Fujnaka teaches a magnet for image stabilization which is a rectangle. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the shape of the magnet in Smyth with a rectangle as in Fujinaka to achieve the predictable result of interacting with the coil to provide image stabilization.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sato (US 2012/0081559 A1) teaches a yoke (29p) having edges at non-zero angles with respect to a surface of the corresponding magnets (24p; fig. 6).
Tsutsumi (2005/0276172 A1) teaches a yoke 64 which can be an octagonal shape ([0070]; fig. 9). If the yoke is octagonal, multiple edges will be at non-zero angles with respect to minor and major axes of magnets 61x, 61y.
PAUL M. BERARDESCA
Examiner
Art Unit 2637
/PAUL M BERARDESCA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637 12/27/2025