DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
An election was made with traverse to prosecute the invention of I, claims 1-15. Claims 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
In response to Applicant’s argument, the examiner would like to point out that in deed, the claims “may involve obtain a coupling signal of a sounding reference signal (SRS) for a secondary antenna in a multi-antenna environment”; however, the configuration to obtain such signals involve different circuitry configurations.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8, 11-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 7, WO2016084650A1, Lee and KR20010032069 fail to disclose, teach or suggest the limitations that read, “wherein the second circuitry comprises: an impedance matching circuit including a first terminal and a second terminal, the first terminal of the impedance matching circuit connected to the third terminal of the first switch and connected to the second antenna based on transmitting the SRS via the second antenna; and an attenuator including a first terminal connected to the second terminal of the impedance matching circuit and a second terminal connected to the third terminal of the third switch”, in combination with all the limitations of claim 1 and 6, and within the context of claims 1 and 6.
Regarding claim 8, WO2016084650A1, Lee and KR20010032069 fail to disclose, teach or suggest the limitations that read, “wherein the second circuitry comprises: a signal divider including a first terminal, a second terminal, and a third terminal, wherein the first terminal of the signal divider is connected to the third terminal of the first switch, and wherein the second terminal of the signal divider is connected to the second antenna based on transmitting the SRS via the second antenna; and an attenuator including a first terminal connected to the third terminal of the signal divider and a second terminal connected to the third terminal of the third switch”, in combination with all the limitations of claim 1 and 6, and within the context of claims 1 and 6.
Regarding claim 11, WO2016084650A1, Lee and KR20010032069 fail to disclose, teach or suggest the limitations that read, “a low noise amplifier (LNA); and a third switch comprising a first terminal connected to the PA, a second terminal connected to the LNA, and a third terminal connected to the first antenna, wherein the first switch comprises: a first terminal of the first switch connected to the third terminal of the third switch; a second terminal of the first switch connected to the first circuitry; and a third terminal of the first switch connected to the second circuitry, and wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: transmit, based on controlling the third switch to connect the third terminal of the third switch to the first terminal of the third switch among the first terminal of the third switch and the second terminal of the third switch, the SRS via each of the first antenna and the second antenna”, in combination with all the limitations of claim 1 and within the context of claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, WO2016084650A1, Lee and KR20010032069 fail to disclose, teach or suggest the limitations that read, “a low noise amplifier (LNA); and a third switch comprising a first terminal connected to the second switch, a second terminal connected to the LNA, and a third terminal connected to the second antenna, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: transmit the SRS via the second antenna, based on controlling the third switch to connect the third terminal to the first terminal from among the first terminal and the second terminal”, in combination with all the limitations of claim 1 and within the context of claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, WO2016084650A1, Lee and KR20010032069 fail to disclose, teach or suggest the limitations that read, “a low noise amplifier (LNA); and a third switch comprising a first terminal connected to the second circuitry, a second terminal connected to the LNA, and a third terminal connectable to the second antenna through the second switch, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: transmit the SRS via the second antenna, based on controlling the third switch to connect the third terminal to the first terminal among the first terminal and the second terminal”, in combination with all the limitations of claim 1 and within the context of claim 1.
Claims 13 and 15 depends from claims 12 and 14, respectively and inherit the language of claims respective claims 12 and 14. Therefore, claims 13 and 15 are allowed due to their dependency from claims 12 and 14, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2016084650A1 (Yusuke Yahata, hereinafter WO2016084650A1) in view of US 20230344112 A1 (Lee et al., hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claim 1, WO2016084650A1 discloses an electronic device (Fig. 2, “antenna system 3”) comprising:
a power amplifier (PA) (Fig. 2, at least “power amplifier 16”);
a first switch (Fig. 2, “distributor 14” selects paths for signals reading on switch; “coordinator/antenna sharer 17” is a circulator/switch);
a second switch (“aggregation unit 32” is comprised of switches);
a plurality of antennas including a first antenna (Fig. 2, any of antenna elements 5) and a second antenna (Fig. 2, a different antenna element 5);
first circuitry coupled with the first antenna (Fig. 2, at least “distributor 14” is indirectly coupled to “antenna element 5”);
second circuitry capable of being coupled with the second antenna (Fig. 2, at least “couplers 31” is indirectly coupled to connected to a different antenna than the first “antenna element 5”) according to control of the second switch (“aggregation unit 32” comprises several switches); a radio frequency integrated circuit (RFIC) (“digital signal processing unit 10”); and
at least one processor, comprising processing circuitry (Fig. 2, “BBU 2” corresponds to processor); and
a memory storing instructions to, when executed by the at least one processor (processors inherently require at least a memory that stores the instructions that are executed by the processor), cause the electronic device to:
while the PA is connected to the first circuitry among the first circuitry and the second circuitry in accordance with control of the first switch (distributor 14 selects signals; thus, switch), obtain, through the RFIC (10 or 13) from the first circuitry (14), a first coupling signal of a [sounding reference signal (SRS)] (signals from coupler 31) transmitted with a transmit (Tx) power obtained using the PA (16) via the first antenna (Signal that goes through the first line 18 to first antenna unit 5); and
while the PA (16) is connected to the second circuitry (second coupler 31) among the first circuitry and the second circuitry in accordance with control of the first switch (distributor 14 selects signals; thus, switch), obtain, through the RFIC from the second circuitry coupled with the second antenna in accordance with control of the second switch (Fig. 2, signals goes to “aggregation unit 32” that comprises switches), a second coupling signal of the SRS transmitted with the Tx power via the second antenna (where the compensated signal is feedback to DSP 10 for transmission by second antenna unit 5).
WO2016084650A1 does not specifically disclose where first and second coupling signals transmitted via respective first antenna and second antenna are sounding reference signals.
In related art concerning a foldable electronic device, Lee discloses where first and second coupling signals transmitted via respective first antenna and second antenna are sounding reference signals (pars. [0132], [0139]-[0141], when the device communicates with a base station, it communicates using at least sounding reference signals).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Lee’s teachings where the first and second coupling signals transmitted via respective first antenna and second antenna are sounding reference signals with the antenna system disclosed by WO2016084650A1 because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that sounding reference signals are used when communicating utilizing LTE or 5G networks, since they are vital in performing channel state quality, enabling efficient resource allocation and improving the performance of the communication system, among others.
Note: the claim presents a number of elements that are disjointed. There is no reciting language telling how the different elements are connected between each other.
Regarding claim 2, WO2016084650A1 and Lee disclose all the limitations of claim 1. WO2016084650A1 further discloses wherein the first coupling signal and the second coupling signal are usable for a signal to be transmitted via the first antenna using the PA connected to the first circuitry among the first circuitry (Fig. 2, please see upper portion receiving first signal that goes into DAC 12, “processing unit 13”, “phase shifter 15”, “power amplifier 16” and “antenna sharer 17”) and the second circuitry in accordance with control of the first switch (lower “antenna sharer 17”), based on the [SRS] being respectively transmitted via the first antenna (Fig. 2, “antenna element 5”) and the second antenna (Fig. 2, lower “antenna element 5”).
Regarding claim 3, WO2016084650A1 and Lee disclose all the limitations of claim 2. WO2016084650A1 further discloses wherein the first coupling signal and the second coupling signal are usable for determining a Tx power of the signal obtained using the PA connected to the first circuitry in accordance with control of the first switch (Fig. 3; page 8, lines 20-pg 10, lines 1-11).
Regarding claim 4, WO2016084650A1 and Lee discloses all the limitations of claim 1. WO2016084650A1 further discloses a third switch (Fig. 2, “aggregation unit 32” comprises multiple switches; therefore, third switch), wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: obtain the first coupling signal, based on controlling the third switch to connect, to the RFIC, the first circuitry among the first circuitry and the second circuitry; and obtain the second coupling signal, based on controlling the third switch to connect, to the RFIC, the second circuitry among the first circuitry and the second circuitry (Fig. 2, Page 6, lines 37-44 and page 7, lines 1-26)
Regarding claim 5, WO2016084650A1 and Lee disclose all the limitations of claim 4. WO2016084650A1 further discloses wherein the first switch comprises: a first terminal connected to the PA to transmit the SRS via the first antenna; a second terminal connected to the first circuitry; and a third terminal connected to the second circuitry, and wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: connect the PA to the first circuitry in accordance with controlling the first switch to connect the first terminal to the second terminal among the second terminal and the third terminal; and connect the PA to the second circuitry in accordance with controlling the first switch to connect the first terminal to the third terminal among the second terminal and the third terminal (Fig. 2 and page 5, lines 7-12).
Regarding claim 6, WO2016084650A1 and Lee disclose all the limitations of claim 5. WO2016084650A1 further discloses wherein the third switch comprises a first terminal connected to the RFIC; a second terminal connected to the first circuitry; and a third terminal connected to the second circuitry, and wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: control the third switch to connect the first terminal of the third switch to the second terminal of the third switch among the second terminal of the third switch and the third terminal of the third switch to obtain the first coupling signal of the SRS transmitted via the first antenna; and control the third switch to connect the first terminal of the third switch to the third terminal of the third switch among the second terminal of the third switch and the third terminal of the third switch to obtain the second coupling signal of the SRS transmitted via the second antenna (page 6, lines 37-44; page 7, lines 1-26).
Regarding claim 9, WO2016084650A1 and Lee disclose all the limitations of claim 1. WO2016084650A1 further discloses wherein the plurality of antennas further comprises: a third antenna; and a fourth antenna, and wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: while the PA is connected to the second circuitry among the first circuitry and the second circuitry in accordance with the control of the first switch, obtain, through the RFIC from the second circuitry coupled with the second antenna among the second antenna, the third antenna, and the fourth antenna in accordance with the control of the second switch, the second coupling signal; while the PA is connected to the second circuitry among the first circuitry and the second circuitry in accordance with the control of the first switch, obtain, through the RFIC from the second circuitry coupled with the third antenna among the second antenna, the third antenna, and the fourth antenna in accordance with control of the second switch, a third coupling signal of the SRS transmitted with the Tx power via the third antenna; and while the PA is connected to the second circuitry among the first circuitry and the second circuitry in accordance with the control of the first switch, obtain, through the RFIC from the second circuitry coupled with the fourth antenna among the second antenna, the third antenna, and the fourth antenna in accordance with control of the second switch, a fourth coupling signal of the SRS transmitted with the Tx power via the fourth antenna (page 4, line 22; page 6, lines 37-44; page 7, lines 1-26).
Regarding claim 10, WO2016084650A1 and Lee disclose all the limitations of claim 9. WO2016084650A1 further discloses wherein the second switch comprises: a first terminal connected to the second circuitry; a second terminal connected to the second antenna; a third terminal connected to the third antenna; and a fourth terminal connected to the fourth antenna, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: couple the second circuitry with the second antenna among the second antenna, the third antenna, and the fourth antenna in accordance with controlling the second switch to connect, to the first terminal, the second terminal among the second terminal, the third terminal, and the fourth terminal; couple the second circuitry with the third antenna among the second antenna, the third antenna, and the fourth antenna in accordance with controlling the second switch to connect, to the first terminal, the third terminal among the second terminal, the third terminal, and the fourth terminal; and couple the second circuitry with the fourth antenna among the second antenna, the third antenna, and the fourth antenna in accordance with controlling the second switch to connect, to the first terminal, the fourth terminal among the second terminal, the third terminal, and the fourth terminal (page 4, line 22; page 6, lines 37-44; page 7, lines 1-26).
Note: the examiner has quoted in this office action portions of the European search report cited in the provided IDS dated 10/23/2024.
Conclusion
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the TC 2600's customer service number is 703-306-0377.
/Angelica M. Perez/
Primary Examiner AU 2649