DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7-11, 13 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 103490904 A) in view of Yu (CN 205983443 U).
-Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a method for managing transceiver capabilities for a network device (Ethernet electrical interface control device, FIG. 3), the method comprising: detecting that a transceiver is inserted into the network device (acquisition control module 32, paragraph 91); in response to the detection, reading a set of data from a memory of the transceiver (the 40G exchange card CPU31 through I2C bus for reading the device type value from the acquisition control module of the conversion device 23 to the I2C logic address, paragraph 93); based on the set of data, wherein each override profile in the set of override profiles specifies a set of capabilities to be used for a particular transceiver (when the read device type value indicates the device under the condition of the Ethernet electric interface converting device compatible, paragraph 97); and using the set of capabilities ( the opening control signal for setting with 40G exchange card and the Ethernet electric interface converting device compatible are connected data channel, paragraph 97).
Zhang is silent to teaching that determining whether an override profile from a set of override profiles matches the transceiver, and upon determining that the override profile from the set of override profiles matches the transceiver, using the set of capabilities specified in the override profile for the transceiver. However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by Yu.
In the same field of endeavor, Yu teaches determining whether an override profile from a set of override profiles matches the transceiver, and upon determining that the override profile from the set of override profiles matches the transceiver, using the set of capabilities specified in the override profile for the transceiver (according to identification request command detecting an identifying code of a manufacturer of the peripheral device 2 ID, and returns the manufacturer identification code ID to the processor 1. The manufacturer identification code ID corresponding to configuration of chip drive, if one manufacturer identification ID and the chip driving matching is successful, the system program operates normally, FIG. 2 and corresponding text).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Zhang with the teaching of Yu in order to allow the network device to flexibly support and adapt to diverse transceivers from multiple vendors instead of being limited to a single static configuration.
-Regarding claim 3, the combination further discloses the set of matching criteria specified in the override profile comprises vendor information or firmware information (Yu, manufacturer identification code ID, FIG. 2 and corresponding text).
-Regarding claim 7, the combination further discloses the set of capabilities specified in the override profile comprises a capability that is not specified in the memory of the transceiver (Zhang, when the read device type value indicating that the device is a QSFP + light module (i.e. reading QSFP + light module type value is 0X0D), CPU31 40G exchange port of the exchange card is 1*40G mode, and through the communication control channel to the QSFP + light module sends the starting control signal, the starting control signal is used for setting the communication exchange 40G snap QSFP + light module is connected with the data channel, step 303, FIG. 3).
-Regarding claim 8, the combination further discloses the set of data specifies an advertised set of capabilities, the method further comprising, upon determining that the override profile from the set of override profiles does not match the transceiver, using the advertised set of capabilities for the transceiver (Zhang, Step 304, when the read device type value indicates the device under the condition of the Ethernet electric interface converting device compatible (i.e., reading the type value of the conversion is 0 * 0 E). CPU31 the switch port configuration of 4 * 10G mode, and transmits the starting control signal to the Ethernet compatible interface converting device through communication control channel, the opening control signal for setting with 40G exchange card and the Ethernet electric interface converting device compatible are connected data channel, paragraph 97).
-Regarding claim 9, the combination further discloses a capability in the set of capabilities comprises a feature, function, or parameter that is specific to a particular standard (Zhang, 4 * 10G mode, paragraph 97).
-Regarding claim 10, the combination further discloses a capability in the set of capabilities comprises a feature, function, or parameter that is not advertised by the transceiver (Zhang, 4 * 10G mode, paragraph 97).
-Regarding claim 11, Zhang discloses a non-transitory machine-readable medium storing a program executable by a network device (Ethernet electrical interface control device, FIG. 3), the program comprising sets of instructions for: detecting that a transceiver is inserted into the network device (acquisition control module 32, paragraph 91); in response to the detection, reading a set of data from a memory of the transceiver (the 40G exchange card CPU31 through I2C bus for reading the device type value from the acquisition control module of the conversion device 23 to the I2C logic address, paragraph 93); based on the set of data, wherein each override profile in the set of override profiles specifies a set of capabilities to be used for a particular transceiver (when the read device type value indicates the device under the condition of the Ethernet electric interface converting device compatible, paragraph 97); instructing an operating system running on the network device to control how the transceiver operates based on the set of capabilities specified in the override profile (the opening control signal for setting with 40G exchange card and the Ethernet electric interface converting device compatible are connected data channel, paragraph 97).
Zhang is silent to teaching that determining whether an override profile from a set of override profiles matches the transceiver and upon determining that the override profile from the set of override profiles matches the transceiver. However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by Yu.
In the same field of endeavor, Yu teaches determining whether an override profile from a set of override profiles matches the transceiver and upon determining that the override profile from the set of override profiles matches the transceiver (according to identification request command detecting an identifying code of a manufacturer of the peripheral device 2 ID, and returns the manufacturer identification code ID to the processor 1. The manufacturer identification code ID corresponding to configuration of chip drive, if one manufacturer identification ID and the chip driving matching is successful, the system program operates normally, FIG. 2 and corresponding text).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Zhang with the teaching of Yu in order to allow the network device to flexibly support and adapt to diverse transceivers from multiple vendors instead of being limited to a single static configuration.
-Regarding claim 13, the combination further discloses the set of matching criteria specified in the override profile comprises vendor information or firmware information (Yu, manufacturer identification code ID, FIG. 2 and corresponding text).
-Regarding claim 17, the combination further discloses the set of capabilities specified in the override profile comprises a capability that is not specified in the memory of the transceiver (Zhang, when the read device type value indicating that the device is a QSFP + light module (i.e. reading QSFP + light module type value is 0X0D), CPU31 40G exchange port of the exchange card is 1*40G mode, and through the communication control channel to the QSFP + light module sends the starting control signal, the starting control signal is used for setting the communication exchange 40G snap QSFP + light module is connected with the data channel, step 303, FIG. 3).
-Regarding claim 18, the combination further discloses the set of data specifies an advertised set of capabilities, the method further comprising, upon determining that the override profile from the set of override profiles does not match the transceiver, using the advertised set of capabilities for the transceiver (Zhang, Step 304, when the read device type value indicates the device under the condition of the Ethernet electric interface converting device compatible (i.e., reading the type value of the conversion is 0 * 0 E). CPU31 the switch port configuration of 4 * 10G mode, and transmits the starting control signal to the Ethernet compatible interface converting device through communication control channel, the opening control signal for setting with 40G exchange card and the Ethernet electric interface converting device compatible are connected data channel, paragraph 97).
-Regarding claim 19, the combination further discloses a capability in the set of capabilities comprises a feature, function, or parameter that is specific to a particular standard (Zhang, 4 * 10G mode, paragraph 97).
-Regarding claim 20, Zhang further discloses a network device (Ethernet electrical interface control device, FIG. 3) comprising: a set of processing units (CPU, FIG. 2); and a non-transitory machine-readable medium storing instructions (memory, paragraph 140) that when executed by at least one processing unit in the set of processing units cause the at least one processing unit to: upon detecting that a transceiver is inserted into the network device, read a set of data from a memory of the transceiver (the 40G exchange card CPU31 through I2C bus for reading the device type value from the acquisition control module of the conversion device 23 to the I2C logic address, paragraph 93); based on the set of data, wherein each override profile in the set of override profiles specifies a set of capabilities to be used for a particular transceiver (when the read device type value indicates the device under the condition of the Ethernet electric interface converting device compatible, paragraph 97); control behaviors of the transceiver based on the set of capabilities specified in the override profile (the opening control signal for setting with 40G exchange card and the Ethernet electric interface converting device compatible are connected data channel, paragraph 97).
Zhang is silent to teaching that determine whether an override profile from a set of override profiles matches the transceiver, and upon determining that the override profile from the set of override profiles matches the transceiver. However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by Yu.
In the same field of endeavor, Yu teaches determine whether an override profile from a set of override profiles matches the transceiver, and upon determining that the override profile from the set of override profiles matches the transceiver (according to identification request command detecting an identifying code of a manufacturer of the peripheral device 2 ID, and returns the manufacturer identification code ID to the processor 1. The manufacturer identification code ID corresponding to configuration of chip drive, if one manufacturer identification ID and the chip driving matching is successful, the system program operates normally, FIG. 2 and corresponding text).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Zhang with the teaching of Yu in order to allow the network device to flexibly support and adapt to diverse transceivers from multiple vendors instead of being limited to a single static configuration.
Claim(s) 2, 4, 5, 12, 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 103490904 A) in view of Yu (CN 205983443 U) and further in view of Xiang (CN 106126460 A).
-Regarding claim 2, the combination is silent to teaching that a set of match rules are stored on the network device, wherein each match rule in the set of match rules specifies a set of matching criteria and an override profile in the set of override profiles to use when the set of matching criteria are satisfied, wherein determining whether the override profile from the set of override profiles matches the transceiver comprises: iterating through at least a subset of the set of match rules stored on the network device to check whether the set of matching criteria of each match rule in the set of match rules is satisfied by the set of data read from the memory of the transceiver; and determining that a particular set of matching criteria specified in a particular match rule in the set of match rules satisfied by the set of data read from the memory of the transceiver, wherein the particular match rule specifies the override profile. However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by Xiang.
In the same field of endeavor, Xiang teaches a set of match rules are stored on the network device, wherein each match rule in the set of match rules specifies a set of matching criteria and an override profile in the set of override profiles to use when the set of matching criteria are satisfied, wherein determining whether the override profile from the set of override profiles matches the transceiver (DTS configuration information, FIG. 3 and corresponding text) comprises: iterating through at least a subset of the set of match rules stored on the network device to check whether the set of matching criteria of each match rule in the set of match rules is satisfied by the set of data read from the memory of the transceiver (at each position in the scanning process using the PCIe bus number and storing of PCIe hot-plug device superior to bridge bus number for matching, and the PCIe device function number and storing of PCIe hot-plug equipment superior bridge device function number for matching, FIG. 3 and corresponding text); and determining that a particular set of matching criteria specified in a particular match rule in the set of match rules satisfied by the set of data read from the memory of the transceiver, wherein the particular match rule specifies the override profile (if the matching is successful, then the Linux kernel according to the reserved resource information allocated corresponding I/O space resources reserved or reserved memory space resource, at the same time, the resource or reservation of reserved I/O space allocated to memory space resource information into the PCIe bridge device register, FIG. 3 and corresponding text).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the combination with the teaching of Xiang in order to provide automatically matching hot-plugged devices against predefined rules and reliably allocate specialized operational capabilities.
-Regarding claim 4, the combination further discloses receiving a user-defined override profile, wherein the user-defined override profile specifies a certain set of capabilities to be used for a certain transceiver (Xiang, self-defined DTS, FIG. 3 and corresponding text); and for each transceiver that is attached to the network device, upon determining that the user-defined override profile matches the transceiver, using the certain set of capabilities specified in the user-defined override profile for the transceiver (Xiang, DTS configuration information may set different reserved resource size according to different PCIe hot-plug device position, on the PCIe bus can carry PCIe hot-plug device position during scanning, can be assigned corresponding reserved resource in different positions according to the DTS configuration information, so it solves the problem that the PCIe bus is a PCIe hot-plug device reserved resource distribution mode is not flexible, FIG. 3 and corresponding text).
-Regarding claim 5, the combination further discloses the override profile is a predefined override profile stored in a set of prepackaged files provided with an operating system configured to execute on the network device (Xiang, Linux, FIG. 4 and corresponding text).
-Regarding claim 12, the combination further discloses a set of match rules are stored on the network device, wherein each match rule in the set of match rules specifies a set of matching criteria and an override profile in the set of override profiles to use when the set of matching criteria are satisfied, wherein determining whether the override profile from the set of override profiles matches the transceiver (Xiang, DTS configuration information, FIG. 3 and corresponding text) comprises: iterating through the set of match rules stored on the network device to check whether the set of matching criteria of each match rule in the set of match rules is satisfied by the set of data read from the memory of the transceiver (Xiang, at each position in the scanning process using the PCIe bus number and storing of PCIe hot-plug device superior to bridge bus number for matching, and the PCIe device function number and storing of PCIe hot-plug equipment superior bridge device function number for matching, FIG. 3 and corresponding text); and determining that a particular set of matching criteria specified in a particular match rule in the set of match rules satisfied by the set of data read from the memory of the transceiver, wherein the particular match rule specifies the override profile (Xiang, if the matching is successful, then the Linux kernel according to the reserved resource information allocated corresponding I/O space resources reserved or reserved memory space resource, at the same time, the resource or reservation of reserved I/O space allocated to memory space resource information into the PCIe bridge device register, FIG. 3 and corresponding text).
-Regarding claim 14, the combinate further discloses the program further comprises sets of instructions for: receiving a user-defined override profile, wherein the user-defined override profile specifies a certain set of capabilities to be used for a certain transceiver (Xiang, self-defined DTS, FIG. 3 and corresponding text); and for each transceiver that is attached to the network device, upon determining that the user-defined override profile matches the transceiver, using the certain set of capabilities specified in the user-defined override profile for the transceiver (Xiang, DTS configuration information may set different reserved resource size according to different PCIe hot-plug device position, on the PCIe bus can carry PCIe hot-plug device position during scanning, can be assigned corresponding reserved resource in different positions according to the DTS configuration information, so it solves the problem that the PCIe bus is a PCIe hot-plug device reserved resource distribution mode is not flexible, FIG. 3 and corresponding text).
-Regarding claim 15, the combination further discloses the override profile is a predefined override profile stored in a set of prepackaged files provided with an operating system configured to execute on the network device (Xiang, Linux, FIG. 4 and corresponding text).
Claim(s) 6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 103490904 A) in view of Yu (CN 205983443 U) and further in view of Lewis (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2012/0251124).
-Regarding claim 6, the combination is silent to teaching that the override profile is a user-defined override profile received through a command line interface provided by the network device. However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by B.
In the same field of endeavor, Lewis teaches the override profile is a user-defined override profile received through a command line interface provided by the network device (programming device 106, FIG. 1, paragraph 21).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the combination with the teaching of Lewis in order to manage user-defined override profiled for hot-plugged transceivers.
-Regarding claim 16, the combination further discloses the override profile is a user-defined override profile received through a command line interface provided by the network device (Lewis, programming device 106, FIG. 1, paragraph 21).
Conclusion
/PING Y HSIEH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2664