DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendments filed on 06/30/2026 are entered for prosecution. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application. The amendments change the scopes of the previously presented claims. New grounds of rejections are applied to the amended claims and the current Office Action is made FINAL as necessitated by the claim amendments.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims and the specification have overcome each and every objection in the claims and the specification previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have not overcome each and every rejection based on 35 USC § 112 to the claims previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 in a reply filed 06/30/2026 (hereinafter, Remarks) regarding newly added limitations have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the references being used in the current rejection.
Regarding claim 1 rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b):
The applicant respectfully contends “the expression "a monitoring window corresponding to an SSB corresponds to one or more continuous slot groups" has been amended to read "an SSB corresponds to a monitoring window that corresponds to at least two continuous slot groups". With this amendment, it is now clear that the monitoring window-rather than the SSB- corresponds to at least two continuous slot groups.” (Remarks Page 13, Emphasis added).
However, examiner respectfully disagrees. Using the term “that” does not make it clear whether “that corresponds to one or more continuous slot groups” is referring to “a monitoring window” or “an SSB” recited in claim 1.
The examiner suggests amending claim 1 to recite similarly to “an SSB corresponds to a monitoring window; wherein the monitoring window corresponds to at least two continuous slot groups” in order to overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). Therefore, the rejection based on 35 USC § 112 to the claims previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action is sustained.
Regarding claim 1 rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2):
The applicant respectfully argues that “the configuration in JIANG differs fundamentally from that of amended claim 1, because JIANG fails to disclose the configuration of a slot group, especially one or more starting positions of one or more first SSSs in a slot group, and/or a number of the first SSSs comprised in the slot group” (Remarks Page 15, Emphasis added).
The applicant further references certain embodiments of JIANG in an attempt to show how JIANG differs from that of the amended claim 1 such as “To further distinguish the slot group in claim 1 from the single slot in JIANG, amended claim 1 specifies that the slot group comprises S slots, and S is a positive integer greater than or equal to 2. Specifically, JIANG discloses that: "...for the SSB with an index (a time index used to characterize a time-domain position of an SSB in a transmission window, such as an SSB index, or a candidate SSB index), the UE monitors the PDCCH only in one slot" (see paragraph [0187] of JIANG);
As can be seen from paragraph [0187] of JIANG, the configuration of the SSS in JIANG is such that the UE monitors the PDCCH in only a single slot. Moreover, as can be seen from Tables 5 and 6 of JIANG-which recite "slot_n0" and "per slot", respectively-it is further verified that JIANG monitors the PDCCH in a single slot, and the paragraphs in table 6 is configured per slot” (Remarks Pages 14-15, Emphasis added).
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. JIANG discloses the following recitation in the amended claim 1 “wherein the configuration of the first SSS ([0187] In Implementation 1 of operation 1402, in a case where the subcarrier spacing of the SSB is 480 kHz or 960 kHz, and/or the subcarrier spacing of the PDCCH used to schedule the PDSCH carrying the SIB1 is 480 kHz or 960 kHz… for an SSB with an index, the UE monitors a PDCCH in a slot n_0 determined in a method shown in Table 5) comprises:
one or more starting positions of one or more first SSSs in a slot group (Table 5; [0187] and/or the subcarrier spacing of the PDCCH used to schedule the PDSCH carrying the SIB1 is 480 kHz or 960 kHz (e.g., Type0-PDCCH CSS and CORESET#0 schedules SIB1 according to [0101];), for the SSB with an index (a time index used to characterize a time-domain position of an SSB in a transmission window, such as an SSB index, or a candidate SSB index), the UE monitors the PDCCH only in one slot. For example, for an SSB with an index, the UE monitors a PDCCH in a slot n_0 determined in a method shown in Table 5. Here, the slot is based on the SCS of the above PDCCH, or an SCS to which the slot corresponds is the SCS of the above PDCCH (hence the SCS being 480 kHz or 960 kHz are considered the 480 kHz slot group or the 960 kHz slot group of the PDCCH used to schedule the PDSCH, SSB or SSB with an index); [0181] after receiving the SSB with the SCS being of 960 kHz (i.e., the first SSB), the terminal equipment determines CORESET #0 according to the synchronization raster defined for the SSB with the SCS being of 120 kHz or 480 kHz (i.e, the second SSB), so as to receive the PDCCH for scheduling the PDSCH carrying SIB1; (e.g., first SSB and second SSB are two different slot groups))”.
The one or more starting position of the first SSS in a slot is dependent on the SCS (See TABLE 5 of JIANG – equation n0). Therefore, the SCS being 480 kHz or 960 kHz (e.g., the SSB) is considered a slot group. Furthermore, JIANG also discloses of receiving multiple SSBs wherein the SCS of the SSBs are different from one another, hence the multiple SSBs are also considered to have different slot groups. Thus, JIANG discloses “wherein the configuration of the first SSS comprises: one or more starting positions of one or more first SSSs in a slot group”.
Therefore, the applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
The applicant respectfully further argues that “Further, regarding the PDCCH monitoring, JIANG explicitly teaches that for the SSB with one time index, monitor the PDCCH only in one slot, or monitor the PDCCH over more than two inconsecutive slots, and the PDCCH is not monitored in two continuous slots (see paragraph [0038] and [0185] of JIANG: operation 1402: in a case where the subcarrier spacing of the SSB is 480 kHz or 960 kHz, and/or a subcarrier spacing of a PDCCH used to schedule a PDSCH carrying the SIB] is 480 kHz or 960 kHz, for the SSB with one time index, the PDCCH is not monitored in two continuous slots").
In contrast, amended claim 1 defines that an SSB corresponds to a monitoring window that corresponds to at least two continuous slot groups. That is, for the SSB, the monitoring window corresponds to at least two continuous slot groups. Thus, JIANG explicitly teaches away from the present application.” (Remarks Page 15-16, Emphasis added).
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. JIANG discloses the following recitation in the amended claim 1“an SSB (Fig. 28 – SSB index =x, (e.g., SSB index 0)) corresponds to a monitoring window that corresponds to at least two continuous (Fig. 28; PDCCH monitoring occasion of the SSB corresponding to the index = x and the SSB corresponding to index = y, slots 4-7 of SCS = 480kHz; [0193] In addition, in at least one embodiment, operation 1402 may be replaced with operations of Implementation 3 below: In Implementation 3, in the case where the subcarrier spacing of the SSB is 480 kHz or 960 KHz and/or the subcarrier spacing of the PDCCH used to schedule the PDCCH for carrying SIB1 is 480 kHz or 960 kHz, the slot for monitoring the PDCCH may be determined according to a reference SCS (e.g. 120 kHz). The reference SCS is different from the SCS of the PDCCH used to schedule the PDCCH for carrying SIB1 (i.e., the PDCCH to be monitored); [0194] For example, for an SSB with an index, the method in Table 7 may be used to determine first slots n_0 and n_0+k (e.g. k=1) monitoring the PDCCH based on the reference SCS (e.g., two consecutive/continuous slots for monitoring based on the slot group). Furthermore, slots n_0 and n_(0+m) included in the first slots n_0 and n_0+k monitoring the PDCCH based on the SCS of the above PDCCH to be monitored may be determined, and the PDCCH may be monitored at the slots n_0 and n_(0+m) based on the SCS of the above PDCCH to be monitored) slot groups (e.g., 480 kHz slot group or the 960 kHz slot group; [0181];)”.
The applicant refers to JIANG [0038], [0185], in an attempt to show how JIANG does not teach “an SSB corresponds to a monitoring window that corresponds to at least two continuous slot groups”. However, JIANG teaches additional operations (para. [0193]; [0194];) in the case where the SCS of the SSB and/or the SCS of the PDCCH used to schedule the PDCCH, and the reference SCS is different from the SCS of the PDCCH used to schedule the PDCCH. The additional operations include determining the reference slots (e.g., n_0 and n_0+k, wherein k=1, SCS = 120 kHz) of the monitoring of the PDCCH in order to determine the actual slots (e.g., slots n_0 and n_(0+m), wherein SCS = 480kHz or 960 kHz) of the monitoring of the PDCCH that is to be monitored. JIANG shows an example of the additional operations mentioned above in Fig. 28 ([0195] FIG. 28 is a schematic diagram of Implementation 3 of operation 1402. In FIG. 28, the reference SCS is 120 kHz, and the SCS of the PDCCH is 480 kHz).
Therefore, the applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Regarding independent claims 8 and 15, the applicant submits the same arguments as presented in claim 1. Thus, examiner applies the same reasoning as presented in claim 1. Similarly, examiner applies the same reasoning for their dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1:
Claim 1 recites “an SSB corresponds to a monitoring window that corresponds to at least two continuous slot groups” is indefinite because it is unclear whether “that corresponds to one or more continuous slot groups” is referring to “a monitoring window” or “an SSB”. For the purpose of examination in light of the Remarks filed 06/30/2026, “corresponds to one or more continuous slot groups” will be interpreted as “an SSB corresponds to a monitoring window; wherein the monitoring window corresponds to at least two continuous slot groups”.
Independent claims 8 and 15 have the same indefiniteness as claim 1. Therefore, the examiner applies the same rejection. Similarly, examiner applies the same reasoning for their dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7-10, 14-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by JIANG et al. (US-20240267832-A1, hereinafter, JIANG).
Regarding claim 1, JIANG discloses:
A method for wireless communication (abstract - Embodiments of this disclosure provide an apparatus and method for transceiving a signal and a communication system), comprising:
determining, by a terminal device, a monitoring occasion for a first search space set (SSS) (type0-PDCCH CSS is a specific search space set) based on first indication information (SSB),
wherein the first indication information indicates at least one of a configuration of a first control-resource set (CORESET) or a configuration of the first SSS, and
the first CORESET is associated with the first SSS (Fig. 3; [0004] During an initial access procedure or for assisting an automatic neighbor cell relation (ANR) function of a serving cell, the terminal equipment receives a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SS/PBCH Block, SSB), and according to the received SSB, receives a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) for carrying SIB1 scheduled by a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), so as to obtain SIB; [0099] operation 303: it is determined if the SSB is associated with SIB1 (or if there is CORESET (CORESET #0) for Type0-PDCCH CSS (i.e., a CORESET for a Type0-PDCCH CSS, wherein the CSS is a common search space)); and
monitoring, by the terminal device, a first control channel based on the monitoring occasion for the first SSS (Fig. 3; [0101] operation 305: in Type0-PDCCH CSS, a PDCCH for scheduling a PDSCH used for carrying SIB1 is monitored and received),
wherein the configuration of the first SSS ([0187] In Implementation 1 of operation 1402, in a case where the subcarrier spacing of the SSB is 480 kHz or 960 kHz, and/or the subcarrier spacing of the PDCCH used to schedule the PDSCH carrying the SIB1 is 480 kHz or 960 kHz… for an SSB with an index, the UE monitors a PDCCH in a slot n_0 determined in a method shown in Table 5) comprises:
one or more starting positions of one or more first SSSs in a slot group (Table 5; [0187] and/or the subcarrier spacing of the PDCCH used to schedule the PDSCH carrying the SIB1 is 480 kHz or 960 kHz (e.g., Type0-PDCCH CSS and CORESET#0 schedules SIB1 according to [0101];), for the SSB with an index (a time index used to characterize a time-domain position of an SSB in a transmission window, such as an SSB index, or a candidate SSB index), the UE monitors the PDCCH only in one slot. For example, for an SSB with an index, the UE monitors a PDCCH in a slot n_0 determined in a method shown in Table 5. Here, the slot is based on the SCS of the above PDCCH, or an SCS to which the slot corresponds is the SCS of the above PDCCH (hence the SCS being 480 kHz or 960 kHz are considered the 480 kHz slot group or the 960 kHz slot group of the PDCCH used to schedule the PDSCH, SSB or SSB with an index); [0181] after receiving the SSB with the SCS being of 960 kHz (i.e., the first SSB), the terminal equipment determines CORESET #0 according to the synchronization raster defined for the SSB with the SCS being of 120 kHz or 480 kHz (i.e, the second SSB), so as to receive the PDCCH for scheduling the PDSCH carrying SIB1; (e.g., first SSB and second SSB are two different slot groups)),
and at least one of:
a value of a parameter O, a value of a parameter M (Table 5 – M and O are provided by a table), or a number of the first SSSs comprised in the slot group (Table 6 – Number of search space sets per slot; (e.g., 480 kHz slot group or the 960 kHz slot group of the SSB); [0181];),
wherein the slot group (e.g., the 480 kHz slot group or the 960 kHz slot group); Fig. 15-16 and 28; PDCCH monitoring occasion of the SSB corresponding to the index = x and the SSB corresponding to index = y; [0181];) comprises S slots (Fig. 15 – slot 0 to slot 3; [0188] FIG. 15 is a schematic diagram of Implementation 1 of operation 1402; [0187] In Implementation 1 of operation 1402, in a case where the subcarrier spacing of the SSB is 480 kHz or 960 kHz, and/or the subcarrier spacing of the PDCCH used to schedule the PDSCH carrying the SIB1 is 480 kHz or 960 kHz), and S is a positive integer greater than or equal to 2 (e.g., Fig. 15 total slots = 4),
the parameter O is used for determining a starting position of a monitoring window corresponding to a first synchronization signal block (SSB) (Table 5; [0197] for an SSB with an index, the UE monitors a PDCCH in a slot n_0 determined in a method shown in Table 5); and/or, the parameter M indicates a degree of overlap between a monitoring window corresponding to an i-th SSB (Fig. 28; [0188] it is assumed that based on the configuration in Table 6, in a case where M=½, M=1 and M=2, for an SSB with an index) and a monitoring window corresponding to an (i+1)-th SSB, i being an even number (Fig. 15-16; Fig. 28),
an SSB (Fig. 28 – SSB index =x, (e.g., SSB 0)) corresponds to a monitoring window that corresponds to at least two continuous (Fig. 28; PDCCH monitoring occasion of the SSB corresponding to the index = x and the SSB corresponding to index = y, slots 4-7 of SCS = 480kHz; [0193] In addition, in at least one embodiment, operation 1402 may be replaced with operations of Implementation 3 below: In Implementation 3, in the case where the subcarrier spacing of the SSB is 480 kHz or 960 KHz and/or the subcarrier spacing of the PDCCH used to schedule the PDCCH for carrying SIB1 is 480 kHz or 960 kHz, the slot for monitoring the PDCCH may be determined according to a reference SCS (e.g. 120 kHz). The reference SCS is different from the SCS of the PDCCH used to schedule the PDCCH for carrying SIB1 (i.e., the PDCCH to be monitored); [0194] For example, for an SSB with an index, the method in Table 7 may be used to determine first slots n_0 and n_0+k (e.g. k=1) monitoring the PDCCH based on the reference SCS (e.g., two consecutive/continuous slots for monitoring of the slot group). Furthermore, slots n_0 and n_(0+m) included in the first slots n_0 and n_0+k monitoring the PDCCH based on the SCS of the above PDCCH to be monitored may be determined, and the PDCCH may be monitored at the slots n_0 and n_(0+m) based on the SCS of the above PDCCH to be monitored) slot groups (e.g., 480 kHz slot group or the 960 kHz slot group; [0181];), and
a subcarrier spacing (SCS) corresponding to the first SSS is 480 kHz or 960 kHz ([0187] In Implementation 1 of operation 1402, in a case where the subcarrier spacing of the SSB is 480 kHz or 960 kHz, and/or the subcarrier spacing of the PDCCH used to schedule the PDSCH carrying the SIB1 is 480 kHz or 960 kHz); or a configuration μ of an SCS corresponding to the first SSS is 5 or 6 (μ represents the numerology index that determines SCS as 15 * 2 μ kHz, therefore μ = 5 or 6 would represents the SCS of the SSB is 480 kHz or 960 kHz, respectively).
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 16, JIANG further discloses wherein:
The SSB corresponds to the monitoring window that corresponds to two continuous (Fig. 28; PDCCH monitoring occasion of the SSB corresponding to the index = x and the SSB corresponding to index = y, slots 4-7 of SCS = 480kHz; [0193]; [0194] For example, for an SSB with an index, the method in Table 7 may be used to determine first slots n_0 and n_0+k (e.g. k=1) monitoring the PDCCH based on the reference SCS (e.g., two consecutive/continuous slots for monitoring). Furthermore, slots n_0 and n_(0+m) included in the first slots n_0 and n_0+k monitoring the PDCCH based on the SCS of the above PDCCH to be monitored may be determined, and the PDCCH may be monitored at the slots n_0 and n_(0+m) based on the SCS of the above PDCCH to be monitored) slot groups (e.g., 480 kHz slot group or the 960 kHz slot group); [0181];), and
M=1/2 indicates that two continuous slot groups corresponding to the i-th SSB completely overlap with two continuous slot groups corresponding to the (i+1)-th SSB (Fig. 28 – 120kHz and 480kHz at M=1/2, SSB#0 overlaps with SSB#2, SSB#1 overlaps with SSB#3); or
M=1 indicates that two continuous slot groups corresponding to the i-th SSB overlap with one of two continuous slot groups corresponding to the (i+1)-th SSB (Fig. 28 – 120kHz and 480kHz at M=1, SSB#0 overlaps with SSB#1); or
M=2 indicates that two continuous slot groups corresponding to the i-th SSB do not overlap with two continuous slot groups corresponding to the (i+1)-th SSB at all (Fig. 28 – 120kHz and 480kHz at M=2).
Regarding claims 3, 10 and 17, JIANG further discloses:
wherein the parameter O is used for determining a starting slot n0 corresponding to the starting position of the monitoring window corresponding to the first SSB (Table 5; [0197] for an SSB with an index, the UE monitors a PDCCH in a slot n_0 determined in a method shown in Table 5;), wherein
(Table 5);
μ representing the configuration of the SCS (μ represents the numerology index that determines SCS as 15 * 2 μ kHZ) corresponding to the first SSS ([0187] In Implementation 1 of operation 1402, in a case where the subcarrier spacing of the SSB is 480 kHz or 960 kHz, and/or the subcarrier spacing of the PDCCH used to schedule the PDSCH carrying the SIB1 is 480 kHz or 960 kHz),
representing a number of slots comprised in a radio frame (Table 5; Fig. 15-16, Fig. 28 – subframes and slots), and mod representing a modulo operation (Table 5; mod2 =0… mod2=1).
Regarding claim 7, JIANG further discloses wherein:
the configuration of the first CORESET comprises at least one of: a multiplexing mode of the SSB and the first CORESET, a number of physical resource blocks (PRBs) occupied by the first CORESET, a number of symbols occupied by the first CORESET, or a starting position of the first CORESET in a frequency domain (Table 6; [0181] In the embodiment of the sixth aspect, the indication information transmitted in operation 1302 may indicate the frequency-domain position of the control resource set 0 (CORESET #0) according to the synchronization raster defined for the SSB with the SCS being of 120 kHz or 480 kHz (i.e., the second SSB); and/or
the first CORESET comprises CORESET 0 ([0099] operation 303: it is determined if the SSB is associated with SIB1 (or if there is CORESET (CORESET #0) for Type0-PDCCH CSS (i.e., a CORESET for a Type0-PDCCH CSS, wherein the CSS is a common search space)); and/or
the first SSS comprises Type 0-PDCCH CSS ([0099] operation 303: it is determined if the SSB is associated with SIB1 (or if there is CORESET (CORESET #0) for Type0-PDCCH CSS (i.e., a CORESET for a Type0-PDCCH CSS, wherein the CSS is a common search space)).
Regarding claim 8, JIANG discloses:
A terminal device (Fig. 26 – 2600 terminal equipment; ), comprising:
a processor (Fig. 26 – 2610 processor);
a memory for storing a computer program (Fig. 26 – 2620 memory, program); and
a transceiver (Fig. 26 – 2630 transmitter/receiver),
wherein the processor is configured to call the computer program stored in the memory and run the computer program to (FIG. 26, a terminal equipment 2600 may include a processor 2610 and a memory 2620, the memory 2620 storing data and programs and being coupled to the processor 2610. It should be noted that this figure is illustrative only, and other types of structures may also be used, so as to supplement or replace this structure and achieve a telecommunications function or other functions; [0232] For example, the processor 2610 may be configured to execute a program to carry out the methods as described in the embodiments of the second, fourth, fifth and seventh aspects; Abstract - Embodiments of this disclosure provide an apparatus and method for transceiving a signal and a communication system):
determine a monitoring occasion for a first search space set (SSS) (type0-PDCCH CSS is a specific search space set) based on first indication information (SSB), wherein the first indication information indicates at least one of a configuration of a first control-resource set (CORESET) or a configuration of the first SSS, and the first CORESET is associated with the first SSS (Fig. 3; [0004] During an initial access procedure or for assisting an automatic neighbor cell relation (ANR) function of a serving cell, the terminal equipment receives a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SS/PBCH Block, SSB), and according to the received SSB, receives a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) for carrying SIB1 scheduled by a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), so as to obtain SIB; [0099] operation 303: it is determined if the SSB is associated with SIB1 (or if there is CORESET (CORESET #0) for Type0-PDCCH CSS (i.e., a CORESET for a Type0-PDCCH CSS, wherein the CSS is a common search space)); and
control the transceiver to monitor (Fig. 26; Abstract;) a first control channel based on the monitoring occasion for the first SSS (Fig. 3; [0101] operation 305: in Type0-PDCCH CSS, a PDCCH for scheduling a PDSCH used for carrying SIB1 is monitored and received),
wherein the configuration of the first SSS ([0187] In Implementation 1 of operation 1402, in a case where the subcarrier spacing of the SSB is 480 kHz or 960 kHz, and/or the subcarrier spacing of the PDCCH used to schedule the PDSCH carrying the SIB1 is 480 kHz or 960 kHz… for an SSB with an index, the UE monitors a PDCCH in a slot n_0 determined in a method shown in Table 5) comprises:
one or more starting positions of one or more first SSSs in a slot group (Table 5; [0187] and/or the subcarrier spacing of the PDCCH used to schedule the PDSCH carrying the SIB1 is 480 kHz or 960 kHz (e.g., Type0-PDCCH CSS and CORESET#0 schedules SIB1 according to [0101];), for the SSB with an index (a time index used to characterize a time-domain position of an SSB in a transmission window, such as an SSB index, or a candidate SSB index), the UE monitors the PDCCH only in one slot. For example, for an SSB with an index, the UE monitors a PDCCH in a slot n_0 determined in a method shown in Table 5. Here, the slot is based on the SCS of the above PDCCH, or an SCS to which the slot corresponds is the SCS of the above PDCCH (hence the SCS being 480 kHz or 960 kHz are considered the 480 kHz slot group or the 960 kHz slot group of the PDCCH used to schedule the PDSCH, SSB or SSB with an index); [0181] after receiving the SSB with the SCS being of 960 kHz (i.e., the first SSB), the terminal equipment determines CORESET #0 according to the synchronization raster defined for the SSB with the SCS being of 120 kHz or 480 kHz (i.e, the second SSB), so as to receive the PDCCH for scheduling the PDSCH carrying SIB1; (e.g., first SSB and second SSB are two different slot groups)),
and at least one of:
a value of a parameter O, a value of a parameter M (Table 5 – M and O are provided by a table), or a number of the first SSSs comprised in the slot group (Table 6 – Number of search space sets per slot; (e.g., 480 kHz slot group or the 960 kHz slot group of the SSB); [0181];),
wherein the slot group (e.g., the 480 kHz slot group or the 960 kHz slot group); Fig. 15-16 and 28; PDCCH monitoring occasion of the SSB corresponding to the index = x and the SSB corresponding to index = y; [0181];) comprises S slots (Fig. 15 – slot 0 to slot 3; [0188] FIG. 15 is a schematic diagram of Implementation 1 of operation 1402; [0187] In Implementation 1 of operation 1402, in a case where the subcarrier spacing of the SSB is 480 kHz or 960 kHz, and/or the subcarrier spacing of the PDCCH used to schedule the PDSCH carrying the SIB1 is 480 kHz or 960 kHz), and S is a positive integer greater than or equal to 2 (e.g., Fig. 15 total slots = 4),
the parameter O is used for determining a starting position of a monitoring window corresponding to a first synchronization signal block (SSB) (Table 5; [0197] for an SSB with an index, the UE monitors a PDCCH in a slot n_0 determined in a method shown in Table 5); and/or, the parameter M indicates a degree of overlap between a monitoring window corresponding to an i-th SSB (Fig. 28; [0188] it is assumed that based on the configuration in Table 6, in a case where M=½, M=1 and M=2, for an SSB with an index) and a monitoring window corresponding to an (i+1)-th SSB, i being an even number (Fig. 15-16; Fig. 28),
an SSB (Fig. 28 – SSB index =x, (e.g., SSB 0)) corresponds to a monitoring window that corresponds to at least two continuous (Fig. 28; PDCCH monitoring occasion of the SSB corresponding to the index = x and the SSB corresponding to index = y, slots 4-7 of SCS = 480kHz; [0193] In addition, in at least one embodiment, operation 1402 may be replaced with operations of Implementation 3 below: In Implementation 3, in the case where the subcarrier spacing of the SSB is 480 kHz or 960 KHz and/or the subcarrier spacing of the PDCCH used to schedule the PDCCH for carrying SIB1 is 480 kHz or 960 kHz, the slot for monitoring the PDCCH may be determined according to a reference SCS (e.g. 120 kHz). The reference SCS is different from the SCS of the PDCCH used to schedule the PDCCH for carrying SIB1 (i.e., the PDCCH to be monitored); [0194] For example, for an SSB with an index, the method in Table 7 may be used to determine first slots n_0 and n_0+k (e.g. k=1) monitoring the PDCCH based on the reference SCS (e.g., two consecutive/continuous slots for monitoring). Furthermore, slots n_0 and n_(0+m) included in the first slots n_0 and n_0+k monitoring the PDCCH based on the SCS of the above PDCCH to be monitored may be determined, and the PDCCH may be monitored at the slots n_0 and n_(0+m) based on the SCS of the above PDCCH to be monitored) slot groups (e.g., 480 kHz slot group or the 960 kHz slot group); [0181];), and
a subcarrier spacing (SCS) corresponding to the first SSS is 480 kHz or 960 kHz ([0187] In Implementation 1 of operation 1402, in a case where the subcarrier spacing of the SSB is 480 kHz or 960 kHz, and/or the subcarrier spacing of the PDCCH used to schedule the PDSCH carrying the SIB1 is 480 kHz or 960 kHz); or a configuration μ of an SCS corresponding to the first SSS is 5 or 6 (μ represents the numerology index that determines SCS as 15 * 2 μ kHz, therefore μ = 5 or 6 would represents the SCS of the SSB is 480 kHz or 960 kHz, respectively).
Regarding claim 14, JIANG further discloses wherein:
the first indication information comprises pdcch-ConfigSIB1 (Table 6), and
the first indication information is carried in master information block (MIB) information ([0149] As shown in FIG. 9, the method for transceiving a signal includes: [0150] operation 901: the synchronization signal/PBCH block (SSB) is transmitted, the MIB of the SSB including information used to indicate information related to contents of SIB1 associated with the SSB), or the first indication information is configured through searchSpaceSIB1 or searchSpaceZero in PDCCH-ConfigCommon.
Regarding claim 15, JIANG discloses:
A network device (Fig. 1; Fig. 27 – 2700 network device), comprising:
a processor (Fig. 27 – 2710 processor);
a memory for storing a computer program (Fig. 27 – 2720 memory, 2730 program); and
a transceiver (Fig. 27 – 2740 transceiver),
wherein the processor is configured to call the computer program stored in the memory and run the computer program ([0235] the processor 2710 may be configured to execute a program to carry out the method as described in the embodiments of the first, third and sixth aspects) to:
determine first indication information, wherein the first indication information (SSB) indicates at least one of a configuration of a first control-resource set (CORESET) or a configuration of a first search space set (SSS) (type0-PDCCH CSS is a specific search space set), and the first CORESET is associated with the first SSS (Fig. 3; [0004] During an initial access procedure or for assisting an automatic neighbor cell relation (ANR) function of a serving cell, the terminal equipment receives a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SS/PBCH Block, SSB), and according to the received SSB, receives a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) for carrying SIB1 scheduled by a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), so as to obtain SIB; [0099] operation 303: it is determined if the SSB is associated with SIB1 (or if there is CORESET (CORESET #0) for Type0-PDCCH CSS (i.e., a CORESET for a Type0-PDCCH CSS, wherein the CSS is a common search space)); and
control the transceiver to transmit (Fig. 27 – 2740 transceiver) the first indication information to a terminal device (Fig. 1; Abstract - Embodiments of this disclosure provide an apparatus and method for transceiving a signal and a communication system. The apparatus for transceiving a signal is applicable to a network device, and includes a first transceiving unit configured to: transmit indication information indicating a frequency-domain position of a synchronization signal/PBCH block (SS/PBCH block, SSB)),
wherein the configuration of the first SSS ([0187] In Implementation 1 of operation 1402, in a case where the subcarrier spacing of the SSB is 480 kHz or 960 kHz, and/or the subcarrier spacing of the PDCCH used to schedule the PDSCH carrying the SIB1 is 480 kHz or 960 kHz… for an SSB with an index, the UE monitors a PDCCH in a slot n_0 determined in a method shown in Table 5) comprises:
one or more starting positions of one or more first SSSs in a slot group (Table 5; [0187] and/or the subcarrier spacing of the PDCCH used to schedule the PDSCH carrying the SIB1 is 480 kHz or 960 kHz (e.g., Type0-PDCCH CSS and CORESET#0 schedules SIB1 according to [0101];), for the SSB with an index (a time index used to characterize a time-domain position of an SSB in a transmission window, such as an SSB index, or a candidate SSB index), the UE monitors the PDCCH only in one slot. For example, for an SSB with an index, the UE monitors a PDCCH in a slot n_0 determined in a method shown in Table 5. Here, the slot is based on the SCS of the above PDCCH, or an SCS to which the slot corresponds is the SCS of the above PDCCH (hence the SCS being 480 kHz or 960 kHz are considered the 480 kHz slot group or the 960 kHz slot group of the PDCCH used to schedule the PDSCH, SSB or SSB with an index); [0181] after receiving the SSB with the SCS being of 960 kHz (i.e., the first SSB), the terminal equipment determines CORESET #0 according to the synchronization raster defined for the SSB with the SCS being of 120 kHz or 480 kHz (i.e, the second SSB), so as to receive the PDCCH for scheduling the PDSCH carrying SIB1; (e.g., first SSB and second SSB are two different slot groups)),
and at least one of:
a value of a parameter O, a value of a parameter M (Table 5 – M and O are provided by a table), or a number of the first SSSs comprised in the slot group (Table 6 – Number of search space sets per slot; (e.g., 480 kHz slot group or the 960 kHz slot group of the SSB); [0181];),
wherein the slot group (e.g., the 480 kHz slot group or the 960 kHz slot group); Fig. 15-16 and 28; PDCCH monitoring occasion of the SSB corresponding to the index = x and the SSB corresponding to index = y; [0181];) comprises S slots (Fig. 15 – slot 0 to slot 3; [0188] FIG. 15 is a schematic diagram of Implementation 1 of operation 1402; [0187] In Implementation 1 of operation 1402, in a case where the subcarrier spacing of the SSB is 480 kHz or 960 kHz, and/or the subcarrier spacing of the PDCCH used to schedule the PDSCH carrying the SIB1 is 480 kHz or 960 kHz), and S is a positive integer greater than or equal to 2 (e.g., Fig. 15 total slots = 4),
the parameter O is used for determining a starting position of a monitoring window corresponding to a first synchronization signal block (SSB) (Table 5; [0197] for an SSB with an index, the UE monitors a PDCCH in a slot n_0 determined in a method shown in Table 5); and/or, the parameter M indicates a degree of overlap between a monitoring window corresponding to an i-th SSB (Fig. 28; [0188] it is assumed that based on the configuration in Table 6, in a case where M=½, M=1 and M=2, for an SSB with an index) and a monitoring window corresponding to an (i+1)-th SSB, i being an even number (Fig. 15-16; Fig. 28),
an SSB (Fig. 28 – SSB index =x, (e.g., SSB 0)) corresponds to a monitoring window that corresponds to at least two continuous (Fig. 28; PDCCH monitoring occasion of the SSB corresponding to the index = x and the SSB corresponding to index = y, slots 4-7 of SCS = 480kHz; [0193] In addition, in at least one embodiment, operation 1402 may be replaced with operations of Implementation 3 below: In Implementation 3, in the case where the subcarrier spacing of the SSB is 480 kHz or 960 KHz and/or the subcarrier spacing of the PDCCH used to schedule the PDCCH for carrying SIB1 is 480 kHz or 960 kHz, the slot for monitoring the PDCCH may be determined according to a reference SCS (e.g. 120 kHz). The reference SCS is different from the SCS of the PDCCH used to schedule the PDCCH for carrying SIB1 (i.e., the PDCCH to be monitored); [0194] For example, for an SSB with an index, the method in Table 7 may be used to determine first slots n_0 and n_0+k (e.g. k=1) monitoring the PDCCH based on the reference SCS (e.g., two consecutive/continuous slots for monitoring). Furthermore, slots n_0 and n_(0+m) included in the first slots n_0 and n_0+k monitoring the PDCCH based on the SCS of the above PDCCH to be monitored may be determined, and the PDCCH may be monitored at the slots n_0 and n_(0+m) based on the SCS of the above PDCCH to be monitored) slot groups (e.g., 480 kHz slot group or the 960 kHz slot group; [0181];), and
a subcarrier spacing (SCS) corresponding to the first SSS is 480 kHz or 960 kHz ([0187] In Implementation 1 of operation 1402, in a case where the subcarrier spacing of the SSB is 480 kHz or 960 kHz, and/or the subcarrier spacing of the PDCCH used to schedule the PDSCH carrying the SIB1 is 480 kHz or 960 kHz); or a configuration μ of an SCS corresponding to the first SSS is 5 or 6 (μ represents the numerology index that determines SCS as 15 * 2 μ kHz, therefore μ = 5 or 6 would represents the SCS of the SSB is 480 kHz or 960 kHz, respectively).
Regarding claim 20, JIANG further discloses:
the configuration of the first CORESET comprises at least one of: a multiplexing mode of the SSB and the first CORESET, a number of physical resource blocks (PRBs) occupied by the first CORESET, a number of symbols occupied by the first CORESET, or a starting position of the first CORESET in a frequency domain (Table 6; [0181] In the embodiment of the sixth aspect, the indication information transmitted in operation 1302 may indicate the frequency-domain position of the control resource set 0 (CORESET #0) according to the synchronization raster defined for the SSB with the SCS being of 120 kHz or 480 kHz (i.e., the second SSB); and/or
the first COREST comprises CORESET 0 ([0099] operation 303: it is determined if the SSB is associated with SIB1 (or if there is CORESET (CORESET #0) for Type0-PDCCH CSS (i.e., a CORESET for a Type0-PDCCH CSS, wherein the CSS is a common search space)); and/or
the first SSS comprises Type 0-PDCCH CSS ([0099] operation 303: it is determined if the SSB is associated with SIB1 (or if there is CORESET (CORESET #0) for Type0-PDCCH CSS (i.e., a CORESET for a Type0-PDCCH CSS, wherein the CSS is a common search space)); and/or
the first indication information comprises pdcch-ConfigSIB1 (Table 6), and the first indication information is carried in master information block (MIB) information ([0149] As shown in FIG. 9, the method for transceiving a signal includes: [0150] operation 901: the synchronization signal/PBCH block (SSB) is transmitted, the MIB of the SSB including information used to indicate information related to contents of SIB1 associated with the SSB), or the first indication information is configured through searchSpaceSIB1 or searchSpaceZero in PDCCH-ConfigCommon.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JIANG in view of CHOI et al. (US-20240349292-A1, hereinafter CHOI).
Regarding claims 4 and 11, JIANG further discloses:
wherein the parameter O is used for determining a starting slot group n0 corresponding to the starting position of the monitoring window corresponding to the first SSB (Table 5; [0197] for an SSB with an index, the UE monitors a PDCCH in a slot n_0 determined in a method shown in Table 5;), wherein
(Table 5);
μ representing the configuration of the SCS (μ represents the numerology index that determines SCS as 15 * 2 μ kHZ) corresponding to the first SSS ([0187] In Implementation 1 of operation 1402, in a case where the subcarrier spacing of the SSB is 480 kHz or 960 kHz, and/or the subcarrier spacing of the PDCCH used to schedule the PDSCH carrying the SIB1 is 480 kHz or 960 kHz),
representing a number of slots comprised in a radio frame (Table 5; Fig. 15-16, Fig. 28 – subframes and slots), and mod representing a modulo operation (Table 5; mod2 =0… mod2=1).
JIANG does not explicitly disclose
representing a number of slots groups, the number of slots represents a number of slot groups.
However, CHOI discloses a number of slots represents a number of slot groups (Table 11 – 480 kHz: (X, Y) = (4, 1); [0107] (2) Specifically, the UE may configure the default value of X for the 480 kHz SCS to X=4. The UE may configure X to align with the slot boundaries for the 120 kHz SCS (or the reference SCS). The UE may determine the default value of Y for the 480 kHz SCS as Y=1 (first slot within X); [0119] BD/CCE handling related to multi-slot PDCCH monitoring in high frequency bands (e.g., above 52.6 GHz) and/or high SCSs (e.g., 480 kHz, 960 kHz, etc.) may be done on a per slot-group basis; [0120] The number of slots consisting of a slot group is defined as X. The number of consecutive slots within a slot group where the UE monitors PDCCH, an SS set is configured, or MOs corresponding to a specific SS set are located is defined as Y).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the number of slots of JIANG to include the number of slot groups as taught by CHOI in order to implement multi-slot PDCCH monitoring for high SCS (e.g., 480k kHz, 960 kHz) to help reduce power consumption and scheduling burden due to the short slot duration (CHOI - [0073] For a short-length slot to which 480 kHz and 960 kHz are applied, when a PDCCH monitoring operation is performed in all slots, the UE may have a burden such as power consumption. Therefore, when SCS of 480 kHz and/or 960 kHz is configured, multi-slot PDCCH monitoring may be introduced).
Claims 5, 12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JIANG in view of CHOI and further in view of LEE et al. (US-20230103606-A1, hereinafter LEE).
Regarding claims 5 and 12, JIANG in view of CHOI, as shown in the above rejection, discloses the limitations of claims 4 and 11, respectively.
JIANG further discloses wherein:
representing a number of slots comprised in the radio frame (Table 5; Fig. 15-16, Fig. 28 – subframes and slots), and S representing a number of slots (Fig. 28 – 480 kHz slot 4-7).
JIANG does not explicitly disclose
;
the S representing a number of slots comprised in the slot group, the floor representing round down, or the ceil representing round up.
However, CHOI discloses
([0115] In Table 10,
is calculated for each slot, i.e.,
. In multi-slot PDCCH monitoring, the value of
may be calculated on a per slot group basis); S representing a number of slots (X=4) comprised in a slot group (Table 11 – 480 kHz: (X, Y) = (4, 1); [0120] The number of slots consisting of a slot group is defined as X. The number of consecutive slots within a slot group where the UE monitors PDCCH, an SS set is configured, or MOs corresponding to a specific SS set are located is defined as Y), and the floor representing round down ([0115] In Table 10,
is calculated for each slot, i.e.,
. In multi-slot PDCCH monitoring, the value of
may be calculated on a per slot group basis. For example, by changing the slot indices in Table 10 to slot group indices, CCE indices may be calculated on a per slot group basis. Specifically,
may be changed to
, and
may be defined as floor(
/X); [0116] When X is set to X=4 for the 480 kHz SCS, the hashing operation for calculating the CCE index may be performed based on
in units of four slots (i.e., uniformly for four consecutive slots)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the
and the number of slots of JIANG to include ,
, the S representing the number of slots comprised in the slot group, and the floor representing round down as taught by CHOI in order to implement multi-slot PDCCH monitoring for high SCS (e.g., 480k kHz, 960 kHz) to help reduce power consumption and scheduling burden due to the short slot duration (CHOI - [0073] For a short-length slot to which 480 kHz and 960 kHz are applied, when a PDCCH monitoring operation is performed in all slots, the UE may have a burden such as power consumption. Therefore, when SCS of 480 kHz and/or 960 kHz is configured, multi-slot PDCCH monitoring may be introduced).
JIANG and CHOI do not explicitly disclose the ceil representing round up.
However, LEE discloses ceil representing round up ([0194] When the number of slots satisfying the above condition within a 20 ms period is X_tot, the number of slot spans within the 20 ms period may be preferably set to ceil(X_tot/X). That is, the slot span(s) each consisting of X slots may be sequentially applied, and even when the last span has less than X slots, the last slot span may be configured to have less than X slots. When the number of slots in the last slot span is smaller than X, it may be difficult to configure the PDCCH monitoring occasion(s) in consideration of Y and Z, as in other slot spans. Therefore, it may be preferable for the last slot span that the PDCCH monitoring slot(s) are always consecutively configured from the start of the last slot span).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the floor representing round down of JIANG and CHOI to include the ceil representing round up as taught by LEE in order to not miss any of the PDCCH monitoring occasions (LEE – [0194];) and help reduce power consumption and scheduling burden due to the short slot duration (CHOI - [0073] For a short-length slot to which 480 kHz and 960 kHz are applied, when a PDCCH monitoring operation is performed in all slots, the UE may have a burden such as power consumption. Therefore, when SCS of 480 kHz and/or 960 kHz is configured, multi-slot PDCCH monitoring may be introduced).
Regarding claim 18, JIANG further discloses:
wherein the parameter O is used for determining a starting slot group n0 corresponding to the starting position of the monitoring window corresponding to the first SSB (Table 5; [0197] for an SSB with an index, the UE monitors a PDCCH in a slot n_0 determined in a method shown in Table 5;), wherein
(Table 5);
μ representing the configuration of the SCS (μ represents the numerology index that determines SCS as 15 * 2 μ kHZ) corresponding to the first SSS ([0187] In Implementation 1 of operation 1402, in a case where the subcarrier spacing of the SSB is 480 kHz or 960 kHz, and/or the subcarrier spacing of the PDCCH used to schedule the PDSCH carrying the SIB1 is 480 kHz or 960 kHz),
representing a number of slots comprised in a radio frame (Table 5; Fig. 15-16, Fig. 28 – subframes and slots), and mod representing a modulo operation (Table 5; mod2 =0… mod2=1), wherein,
representing a number of slots comprised in the radio frame (Table 5; Fig. 15-16, Fig. 28 – subframes and slots), S representing a number of slots (Fig. 28 – 480 kHz slot 4-7).
JIANG does not explicitly disclose
representing a number of slots groups, the number of slots represents a number of slot groups,
;
the S representing a number of slots comprised in a slot group, the floor representing round down, or the ceil representing round up.
However, CHOI discloses a number of slots represents a number of slot groups (Table 11 – 480 kHz: (X, Y) = (4, 1); [0107] (2) Specifically, the UE may configure the default value of X for the 480 kHz SCS to X=4. The UE may configure X to align with the slot boundaries for the 120 kHz SCS (or the reference SCS). The UE may determine the default value of Y for the 480 kHz SCS as Y=1 (first slot within X); [0119] BD/CCE handling related to multi-slot PDCCH monitoring in high frequency bands (e.g., above 52.6 GHz) and/or high SCSs (e.g., 480 kHz, 960 kHz, etc.) may be done on a per slot-group basis; [0120] The number of slots consisting of a slot group is defined as X. The number of consecutive slots within a slot group where the UE monitors PDCCH, an SS set is configured, or MOs corresponding to a specific SS set are located is defined as Y).
,
([0115] In Table 10,
is calculated for each slot, i.e.,
. In multi-slot PDCCH monitoring, the value of
may be calculated on a per slot group basis); S representing a number of slots (X=4) comprised in a slot group (Table 11 – 480 kHz: (X, Y) = (4, 1); [0120] The number of slots consisting of a slot group is defined as X. The number of consecutive slots within a slot group where the UE monitors PDCCH, an SS set is configured, or MOs corresponding to a specific SS set are located is defined as Y), and the floor representing round down ([0115] In Table 10,
is calculated for each slot, i.e.,
. In multi-slot PDCCH monitoring, the value of
may be calculated on a per slot group basis. For example, by changing the slot indices in Table 10 to slot group indices, CCE indices may be calculated on a per slot group basis. Specifically,
may be changed to
, and
may be defined as floor(
/X); [0116] When X is set to X=4 for the 480 kHz SCS, the hashing operation for calculating the CCE index may be performed based on
in units of four slots (i.e., uniformly for four consecutive slots)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the number of slots and the
of JIANG to include the
, the S representing the number of slots comprised in a slot group, and the floor representing round down as taught by CHOI in order to implement multi-slot PDCCH monitoring for high SCS (e.g., 480k kHz, 960 kHz) to help reduce power consumption and scheduling burden due to the short slot duration (CHOI - [0073] For a short-length slot to which 480 kHz and 960 kHz are applied, when a PDCCH monitoring operation is performed in all slots, the UE may have a burden such as power consumption. Therefore, when SCS of 480 kHz and/or 960 kHz is configured, multi-slot PDCCH monitoring may be introduced).
JIANG and CHOI do not explicitly disclose the ceil representing round up.
However, LEE discloses ceil representing round up ([0194] When the number of slots satisfying the above condition within a 20 ms period is X_tot, the number of slot spans within the 20 ms period may be preferably set to ceil(X_tot/X). That is, the slot span(s) each consisting of X slots may be sequentially applied, and even when the last span has less than X slots, the last slot span may be configured to have less than X slots. When the number of slots in the last slot span is smaller than X, it may be difficult to configure the PDCCH monitoring occasion(s) in consideration of Y and Z, as in other slot spans. Therefore, it may be preferable for the last slot span that the PDCCH monitoring slot(s) are always consecutively configured from the start of the last slot span).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the floor representing round down of JIANG and CHOI to include the ceil representing round up as taught by LEE in order to not miss any of the PDCCH monitoring occasions (LEE – [0194]) and help reduce power consumption and scheduling burden due to the short slot duration (CHOI - [0073] For a short-length slot to which 480 kHz and 960 kHz are applied, when a PDCCH monitoring operation is performed in all slots, the UE may have a burden such as power consumption. Therefore, when SCS of 480 kHz and/or 960 kHz is configured, multi-slot PDCCH monitoring may be introduced).
Claims 6, 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JIANG in view of KIM et al. (US-20230164712-A1, hereinafter KIM).
Regarding claims 6, 13 and 19, JIANG further discloses wherein:
in case that the SCS corresponding to the first SSS (type0-PDCCH CSS is a specific search space set) is 480 kHz or 960 kHz (Fig. 3; [0004] During an initial access procedure or for assisting an automatic neighbor cell relation (ANR) function of a serving cell, the terminal equipment receives a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SS/PBCH Block, SSB), and according to the received SSB, receives a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) for carrying SIB1 scheduled by a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), so as to obtain SIB; [0101] operation 305: in Type0-PDCCH CSS, a PDCCH for scheduling a PDSCH used for carrying SIB1 is monitored and received; [0187] In Implementation 1 of operation 1402, in a case where the subcarrier spacing of the SSB is 480 kHz or 960 kHz, and/or the subcarrier spacing of the PDCCH used to schedule the PDSCH carrying the SIB1 is 480 kHz or 960 kHz… for an SSB with an index, the UE monitors a PDCCH in a slot n_0 determined in a method shown in Table 5), a period of the monitoring window corresponding to the SSB ( [0187] for an SSB with an index, the UE monitors a PDCCH in a slot n_0 determined in a method shown in Table 5).
JIANG does not explicitly disclose the period of the monitoring window is 10 ms, or the monitoring window is 20 ms.
However, KIM discloses a monitoring window is 10 ms, or a monitoring window is 20 ms ([0073] During initial cell selection, the UE may assume that a half-frame including an SSB is repeated at a cycle of 20 ms. The UE may check the presence of a CORESET for a Type0-PDCCH CSS based on a master information block (MIB). The MIB includes information/parameters related to reception of SystemInformationBlockType1 (SIB1), and the MIB is transmitted over a PBCH of the SSB; [0063] Referring to FIG. 6, an SSB is transmitted periodically according to an SSB periodicity. A default SSB periodicity that the UE assumes during initial cell search is defined as 20 ms. After cell access, the SSB periodicity may be set to one of {5 ms, 10 ms, 20 ms, 40 ms, 80 ms, 160 ms} by a network (e.g., a BS). An SSB burst set is configured at the start of an SSB period).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the monitoring window of JIANG to include the monitoring window is 10 ms, or the monitoring window is 20 ms as taught by KIM in order to help successfully detects SSB and obtain SIB1 (KIM – [0073] he UE may check the presence of a CORESET for a Type0-PDCCH CSS based on a master information block (MIB). The MIB includes information/parameters related to reception of SystemInformationBlockType1 (SIB1); JIANG – [0004] according to the received SSB, receives a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) for carrying SIB1 scheduled by a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), so as to obtain SIB).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THERESA NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2418
/WUTCHUNG CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418