DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei (US 20250386312) in view of Zhang et al. (US 20190089472).
Regarding claim 1, Lei teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, individually or collectively configured to cause the first UE to (Paragraphs [0009]; [0037]; [0131] describes terminal device includes one or more processors and a memory causing the electronic device to implement the method):
transmit a first packet to a network entity at a transmit time (Paragraphs [0033]; [0041]-[0042]; [0075]-[0076] describes the UE transmitting a data packet (first packet) to a network entity while recording a transmit timestamp T1 (transmit time));
Lei doesn’t teach and transmit a second packet, associated with the first packet, to a second UE with a timestamp that indicates the transmit time of the first packet.
However, in analogous art Zhang teaches and transmit a second packet, associated with the first packet, to a second UE with a timestamp that indicates the transmit time of the first packet (Paragraphs [0071]-[0072]; [0084]; [0092]-[0094]; [0110] describes transmitting the timestamp carrying second associated packet to an additional station beyond the packet’s original destination (second UE) ).
Therefore, it would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lei to incorporate the teachings of Zhang wireless devices to line up their clocks so audio or other media plays in sync across multiple devices to reduce reliance on tightly timed inline embedding and supports synchronization across multiple devices (Zhang, Paragraphs [0066]-[0075).
Claim(s) 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei in view of Zhang in further view of Norman (US 7796601).
Regarding claim 2, Lei and Zhang doesn’t teach wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first UE to receive, from the second UE, assistance information for a suggested link mapping for the first packet and the second packet that is based at least in part on a congestion delay status on a link between the second UE and the network entity.
However, in analogous art Norman teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first UE to receive, from the second UE, assistance information for a suggested link mapping for the first packet and the second packet that is based at least in part on a congestion delay status on a link between the second UE and the network entity (Page 13, Col. 4, lines 60-65 Page 14, Col. 5, lines 7-16 describes the two path routing exists precisely to handle congestion. Routing first and second packet flows over diverse paths is to avoid congestion on any single link between the relay nodes and the destination ).
Therefore, it would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lei to incorporate the teachings of Norman the first UE to proactively adjust its packet transmission behavior, such as delaying, dropping, or switching the path of a packet based on the second UE's feedback about network side congestion. Doing so solves the problem of single-path fragility in IP networks (Norman, Col. 1, lines 64 and Col. 2, lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 3, Lei and Zhang in view of Norman, Lei teaches wherein to transmit the second packet, the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first UE to transmit the second packet based at least in part on the assistance information (Paragraphs [0033]; [0043]; [0065]; [0089]-[0093] describes the UE could not transmit the second packet with the correct timestamp values without first receiving T5-T4 (assistance information). The transmission of the second packet is therefore based at least in part on the assistance information T5-T4).
Claim(s) 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei in view of Zhang in further view of Liu (US 8488584).
Regarding claim 4, Lei and Zhang don’t teach wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first UE to transmit an indication of a synchronization duration during which the second UE is to forward the second packet after the transmit time.
However, in analogous art Liu teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first UE to transmit an indication of a synchronization duration during which the second UE is to forward the second packet after the transmit time (Page 12, Col. 3 lines 23-32, Page 12 Col. 4, lines 25-40 describes the first UE transmits a beacon/synchronization signal that contains a reserved bit set to “1.” This reserved bit is an explicit indication embedded in the signal that tells the receiving node both that a broadcast packet is coming and defines the window during which it will arrive).
Therefore, it would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lei and Zhang to incorporate the teachings of Liu an indication specifying a synchronization duration for forwarding the second packet after the transmit time to improve collisions and excessively long delayed time (Liu, Col. 5, lines 48-51).
Regarding claim 5, Lei and Zhang in view of Liu, Liu teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first UE to transmit an indication of a synchronization duration during which a network entity is to receive the first packet (Page 12, Col. 3 lines 23-32, Page 12 Col. 4, lines 25-40 describes synchronization signal transmitted by the parent node (first UE) defines the active period, the window during which all packet transmission occur, including uplink point-to-point transmissions from the child node to the parent node. The beacon therefore constitutes a transmitted indication of a synchronization duration during which the network entity (Parent node) is to receive the first packet).
Claim(s) 8-10, 12 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Liu.
Regarding claim 8, Zhang teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a second user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, individually or collectively configured to cause the second UE to: receive, from a first UE, a second packet with a timestamp that indicates a transmit time of a first packet that is associated with the second packet (Paragraphs [0032]; [0071]-[0072]; [0092]-[0094] describes a receiving station (STA B) obtains a second packet that carries a timestamp (ts1) indicating the transmit time of an earlier, associated first packet (FTM A) );
Zhang doesn’t teach and forward the second packet to a network entity within a synchronization duration after the transmit time of the first packet.
However, in analogous art Liu teaches and forward the second packet to a network entity within a synchronization duration after the transmit time of the first packet (Page 12, Col. 4 lines 29-40 describes the communication device (second UE) receives a packet form the parent node and then forwards it to its child node (network entity) within a defined time window or within a period tied to the synchronization signal timing).
Therefore, it would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang to incorporate the teachings of Liu an indication specifying a synchronization duration for forwarding the second packet after the transmit time to improve collisions and excessively long delayed time (Liu, Col. 5, lines 48-51).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang in view of Liu, Liu teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the second UE to select a logical channel for the forwarding of the second packet based at least in part on one or more of the timestamp, the synchronization duration, or a remaining delay budget (Page 12, Col. 3, lines 34-41 describes the communication device uses timing information specifically whether the current time falls within the active period defined by the beacon timestamp to determine which transmission channel to use. If within the active period, the broadcast channel is selected. If outside the active period, no transmission occurs).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang in view of Liu, Liu teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the second UE to select a logical channel for the forwarding of the second packet based at least in part on a priority of the logical channel (Pages, 12 Col. 3, lines 44-53 describes a priority hierarchy between logical channels. Broadcasting is the preferred/higher priority channel for downlink forwarding to child nodes, while point-to-point is the preferred/higher priority channel for uplink transmission to parent nodes).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang in view of Liu, Liu teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the second UE to receive an indication of the synchronization duration (Page 12, Col. 3 lines 23-32, Page 12 Col. 4, lines 25-40 describes the first UE transmits a beacon/synchronization signal that contains a reserved bit set to “1.” This reserved bit is an explicit indication embedded in the signal that tells the receiving node both that a broadcast packet is coming and defines the window during which it will arrive).
Claim 15 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 8 respectively.
Claim 16 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 9 respectively.
Claim 17 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 10 respectively.
Claim(s) 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei in view of Zhang in further view of Bhalla et al. (US 2019/0045304).
Regarding claim 6, Lei and Zhang don’t teach wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first UE to receive a transmission status report for the second packet.
However, in analogous art Bhalla teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first UE to receive a transmission status report for the second packet (Paragraphs [0048]-[0049] describes the master controller receives or monitors for a transmission status report (ACK) specifically associated with a particular data packet (the second packet transmitted to slave device 106) the system tracks the transmission status on a per-packet basis).
Therefore, it would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lei and Zhang to incorporate the teachings of Bhalla the use of a presentation timestamp (PTS) or application timestamp (ATS) as the central synchronization mechanism. Slave devices use this timestamp to determine exactly when to play the audio, regardless of their individual processing delays (Bhalla, Paragraph [0021]).
Regarding claim 7, Lei and Zhang don’t teach wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first UE to set the timestamp to a default value based at least in part on the first UE transmitting the second packet before the first packet.
However, in analogous art Bhalla teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first UE to set the timestamp to a default value based at least in part on the first UE transmitting the second packet before the first packet (Paragraphs [0042]; [0048]-[0049]; [0059] describes the timestamps are assigned at first transmission and remain fixed thereafter. When packet is retransmitted, the timestamp doesn’t change, it remains at its original value, which functions as the default value. The ordering of T0, T2, T8, T10 also shows that timestamp values are pre-assigned and not recalculated on retransmission).
Claim(s) 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in further view of Liu in further view of Norman.
Regarding claim 11, Zhang in further view of Liu don’t teach wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the second UE to transmit, to the first UE, assistance information for a suggested link mapping for the first packet and the second packet that is based at least in part on a congestion delay status on a link between the second UE and the network entity.
However, in analogous art Norman teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the second UE to transmit, to the first UE, assistance information for a suggested link mapping for the first packet and the second packet that is based at least in part on a congestion delay status on a link between the second UE and the network entity (Page 13, Col. 4, lines 60-65 Page 14, Col. 5, lines 7-16 describes the two path routing exists precisely to handle congestion. Routing first and second packet flows over diverse paths is to avoid congestion on any single link between the relay nodes and the destination).
Therefore, it would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang in further view of Liu to incorporate the teachings of Norman the first UE to proactively adjust its packet transmission behavior, such as delaying, dropping, or switching the path of a packet based on the second UE's feedback about network side congestion. Doing so solves the problem of single-path fragility in IP networks (Norman, Col. 1, lines 64 and Col. 2, lines 1-6).
Claims 18 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 11 respectively.
Claim(s) 13-14 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Liu in further view of Bhalla.
Regarding claim 13, Zhang in view of Liu don’t teach wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the second UE to transmit a transmission status report for the second packet after the forwarding of the second packet
In analogous art Bhalla teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the second UE to transmit a transmission status report for the second packet after the forwarding of the second packet (Paragraphs [0042]; [0048]-[0049]; [0059] describes the timestamps are assigned at first transmission and remain fixed thereafter. When packet is retransmitted, the timestamp doesn’t change, it remains at its original value, which functions as the default value. The ordering of T0, T2, T8, T10 also shows that timestamp values are pre-assigned and not recalculated on retransmission).
Therefore, it would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang in view of Liu to incorporate the teachings of Bhalla the use of a presentation timestamp (PTS) or application timestamp (ATS) as the central synchronization mechanism. Slave devices use this timestamp to determine exactly when to play the audio, regardless of their individual processing delays (Bhalla, Paragraph [0021]).
Regarding claim 14, Zhang in view of Liu don’t teach wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the second UE to delay the forwarding of the second packet based at least in part on the timestamp indicating a default value.
In analogous art Bhalla teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the second UE to delay the forwarding of the second packet based at least in part on the timestamp indicating a default value (Paragraphs [0038]; [0048]-[0049];[0053]; [0059] describes that the slave device (second UE) delays the forwarding/output of a data packet based on the timestamp value. The slave host 206 actively waits, delays forwarding until the timer reaches the value defined by the sum of the time timestamp and the presentation delay ).
Claim 19 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 13 respectively.
Claim 20 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 14 respectively.
Conclusion
/M.W.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464