DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 11-20, in the reply filed on 11/06/2025, is acknowledged. Claims 1-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group of the invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 11 recites “a distribution conveyor system … configured to receive at least a portion of the dry biomass feedstock” which includes a structural generic placeholder of “a distribution conveyor system” followed by a functional limitation of “configured to receive at least a portion of the dry biomass feedstock”, wherein specification recites “any “conveyor” or “conveyor system” encompasses any conveyor system that allows for transport of material from one location to another and may have any configuration known in the art, e.g., a belt support, a pully, and a drive unit” as a corresponding structure for claimed “distribution conveyor system” (see ¶ [0019]).
Claim 11 recites “a metering system configured to receive the ground dry fiber from the at least one hammermill from an intermediate conveyor system” which includes a structural generic placeholder of “a metering system” followed by a functional limitation of “configured to receive the ground dry fiber from the at least one hammermill from an intermediate conveyor system”, wherein specification recites “pellet mill metering bin 116” as a corresponding structure for claimed “metering system” (see ¶ [0026]).
Claim 16 recites “a collection conveyor system … configured to recover the overflow material from an outlet of the at least one pellet screener to produce a fiber pellet product” which includes a structural generic placeholder of “a collection conveyer system” followed by a functional limitation of “configured to recover the overflow material from an outlet of the at least one pellet screener to produce a fiber pellet product”, wherein specification recites “a dry biomass feedstock 102 is fed from an upstream dryer system (not illustrated) to a dry fiber silo 104 using a dryer collection conveyor 103. Herein, any “conveyor” or “conveyor system” encompasses any conveyor system that allows for transport of material from one location to another and may have any configuration known in the art, e.g., a belt support, a pully, and a drive unit” as a corresponding structure for the claimed “collection conveyer system” (see ¶ [0019]).
Claim 17 recites “a screened fines conveyer system … configured to recover a first portion of the underflow material from an outlet of the at least one pellet screener” which includes a structural generic placeholder of “a screened fines conveyer system” followed by a functional limitation of “configured to recover the overflow material from an outlet of the at least one pellet screener to produce a fiber pellet product”, wherein specification recites “any “conveyor” or “conveyor system” encompasses any conveyor system that allows for transport of material from one location to another and may have any configuration known in the art, e.g., a belt support, a pully, and a drive unit” as a corresponding structure for the claimed “screened fines conveyer system” (see ¶ [0019]).
Claim 19 recites “a fines collection conveyor system … configured to receive the first portion of the underflow material from the screened fines conveyor system and the second portion of the underflow material from the cyclone” which includes a structural generic placeholder of “a fines collection conveyer system” followed by a functional limitation of “configured to receive the first portion of the underflow material from the screened fines conveyor system and the second portion of the underflow material from the cyclone”, wherein specification recites “any “conveyor” or “conveyor system” encompasses any conveyor system that allows for transport of material from one location to another and may have any configuration known in the art, e.g., a belt support, a pully, and a drive unit” as a corresponding structure for the claimed “fines collection conveyer system” (see ¶ [0019]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hintz et al. (US 2024/0326294) in view of Kotyk (US 2016/0169581).
As to claim 11, Hintz et al. (US ‘294) disclose a compact stacked plant (Fig. 2A and 2B) comprising:
- a staging and storage area (14, 16) to receive the stover bales (13) adjacent to the processing area (12) wherein the bales (13) in the staging and storage area (14, 16) are covered with a water resistant and fire-retardant tarp or cover (¶ [0049] - ¶ [0050]);
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A staging and storage area (14, 16))]
- a distribution conveyor system (a bale feed conveyor 20 to convey through a de-stringer 24 and pass through the bales toward the bale shredder 22 wherein the shredded stover drops out into the stover transfer conveyor 26, ¶ [0051] - ¶ [0053] and fig. 2A) coupled to the staging and storage area (14, 16) and configured to receive at least a portion of the dry biomass feedstock from the staging and storage area (14, 16);
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (an intermediate conveyor system (32, 34))][AltContent: textbox (A hammermill (30))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A distribution conveyor system (20, 22, 24, 26))]
- at least one hammermill (grinder/hammer mill 30, ¶ [0054] - ¶ [0056]) coupled to the distribution conveyor system (20, 22, 24, 26) and configured to grind the dry biomass feedstock, received from the distribution conveyor system (20, 22, 24, 26), to produce a ground dry fiber having a particle size smaller than a particle size of the dry biomass feedstock (¶ [0054] - ¶ [0056]);
- a metering system (the feeders 58 meter the proper amount of feed into each mill 56, ¶ [0062]) configured to receive the ground dry fiber from the at least one hammermill (grinder/hammer mill 30, ¶ [0054] - ¶ [0056]) from an intermediate conveyor system (an air conveying system 32 removes the ground material from the disengagement chamber and conveys it into a cyclone separator 34, ¶ [0057], with the ground stover collection conveyor 52 controls the flow of product to the ground stover bucket elevator 52 and ultimately the pellet mill supply drag conveyor 54, ¶ [0062]); and
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Pellet mills (56))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (An intermediate conveyor system (52, 54))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A metering system (58))][AltContent: arrow]
- pellet mills (56, the feeders 58 meter the proper amount of feed into each mill 56 under consistent low pressure, ¶ [0062]) configured to form a plurality of fiber pellets using the ground dry fiber received from the metering system (58, ¶ [0062]).
As it was indicated above, Hintz et al. (US ‘294) discloses a staging and storage area (14, 16) to receive the stover bales (13) adjacent to the processing area (12) wherein the bales (13) in the staging and storage area (14, 16) are covered with a water resistant and fire-retardant tarp or cover (¶ [0049] - ¶ [0050]), however, is silent on disclosing if the staging and storage area (14, 16) is actually a dry fiber silo, as claimed in claim 11.
In the analogous art, Kotyk (US ‘581) discloses a pelletizing device for producing pellets from biomass comprising a) a drying apparatus (3) for drying biomass, in particular fibrous biomass, b) a press apparatus (10) for pressing pellets and c) a cooling apparatus (11) for cooling pellets, wherein a heat dissipation channel (11a) of the cooling apparatus (11) is connected to a heat supply channel (3a) of the drying apparatus (3) to carry heat from the cooling apparatus (11) into the drying apparatus (3) (see page 16, left column, claim 16), wherein a separation fraction, in particular wood fibers, is/are stored in a buffer (6) (see page 16, left column, claim 15) in such a way that the buffer serves as a fiber silo (see ¶ [0131]) to provide temporary storage if there is a stoppage in the downstream production and to use the fiber silo for admixture of dry woods shavings and sawdust and thus to further improve utilization of the downstream production processes (see ¶ [0141]).
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A dry fiber silo (6 or 7))]
Therefore, as to claim 11, Kotyk (US ‘581) discloses a dry fiber silo configured to hold a dry biomass feedstock (see ¶ [0131] and ¶ [0141]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the time of applicant’s invention, to substitute a staging and storage area (14, 16), as taught by Hintz et al. (US ‘294), with a dry fiber silo configured to hold a dry biomass feedstock in order for the fiber silo serves to provide temporary storage if there is a stoppage in the downstream production and thus to further improve utilization of the downstream production processes, as suggested by Kotyk (US ‘581). See ¶ [0141].
As to claim 12, Hintz et al. (US ‘294) disclose a portion of the dry biomass feedstock that is not fed to the at least one hammermill (30, ¶ [0054] - ¶ [0057]) and a portion of the ground dry fiber that is not fed to the metering system (metering screw 60, ¶ [0063]) are recycled back to the staging and storage area (14, 16) (a screen 71 filters the pellets for dumping, with fines being redirected to the bucket elevator 52, for recycling to the conveyor 54 for further pelletizing, ¶ [0090]).
As to claim 13, Hintz et al. (US ‘294) teach the dry biomass feedstock is configured to be heated to a temperature of at least 165 ̊ F while being grinded by the at least one hammermill (30). (it is subject to a pressure of 60 to 500 kPa and heat of approximately 150 to 250 degrees F, ¶ [0082])
As to claim 14, Hintz et al. (US ‘294) disclose at least one pellet cooler (68) coupled to the at least one pellet mill (56) and configured to cool the plurality of fiber pellets to a temperature within 15 ̊ F of an ambient temperature thereby producing a plurality of cooled fiber pellets. (the hot pellets from the pellet mill entering the cooler are 150 to 180 degrees F and 17% to 18% moisture, ¶ [0065])
As to claim 15, Hintz et al. (US ‘294) teach at least one pellet screener (a screen 71 filters the pellets for dumping, ¶ [0090]) coupled to the at least one pellet cooler (the pellets are discharged onto a conveyor 67, which delivers the hot pellets to a cooling station 68, ¶ [0090]) having square sieves and configured to sort the plurality of cooled fiber pellets into an overflow material having a particle size larger than 3.15 mm as measured via the square sieves and an underflow material having a particle size less than 3.15 mm as measured via the square sieves. (¶ [0042]: when grinding through a secondary grinder screen, such as a 1/4 inch screen, then vibration screening for custom particle sizing and feed into a customer feed auger pelleting using 1/4 inch dies, the final product will have a bulk density range of 35 to 40 pounds per cubic foot and a particle size of 1/4'' round by 1/2'' to 3/4'' long.)
As to claim 16, Hintz et al. (US ‘294) disclose a collection conveyer system (a ground stover collection conveyor 38, ¶ [0057] - ¶ [0058]) coupled the at least one pellet screener (a screen 71, ¶ [0090]) and configured to recover the overflow material from an outlet of the at least one pellet screener to produce a fiber pellet product. (a screen 71 filters the pellets for dumping, with fines being redirected to the bucket elevator 52, for recycling to the conveyor 54 for further pelletizing, ¶ [0090]).
As to claim 17, Hintz et al. (US ‘294) disclose a screened fines conveyer system coupled to the at least one pellet screener (a screen 71 filters the pellets for dumping, ¶ [0090]) and configured to recover a first portion of the underflow material from an outlet of the at least one pellet screener (a screen 71 filters the pellets for dumping, with fines being redirected to the bucket elevator 52, for recycling to the conveyor 54 for further pelletizing, ¶ [0090]).
As to claim 18, Hintz et al. (US ‘294) teach a cyclone (35) coupled to the at least one pellet cooler (68) and configured to recover a second portion of the underflow material from an air exhaust of the at least one pellet cooler. (dust from the cooler 68 may be recirculated to a cyclone 35 for eventual re-introduction into the mixer 220D, ¶ [0090])
As to claim 19, Hintz et al. (US ‘294) disclose a fines collection conveyor system (an air conveying system 32 removes the ground material from the disengagement chamber, ¶ [0057]) configured to receive the first portion of the underflow material from the screened fines conveyor system (a screen 71 filters the pellets for dumping, ¶ [0090]) and the second portion of the underflow material from the cyclone (an air conveying system 32 removes the ground material from the disengagement chamber and conveys it into a cyclone separator 34, ¶ [0057]).
As to claim 20, Hintz et al. (US ‘294) teach the fines collection conveyor system (an air conveying system 32 removes the ground material from the disengagement chamber, ¶ [0057]) is coupled to the staging and storage area (14, 16, ¶ [0049] - ¶ [0050]) and is configured to transport the underflow material to the staging and storage area (14, 16) to be recycled (a screen 71 filters the pellets for dumping, with fines being redirected to the bucket elevator 52, for recycling to the conveyor 54 for further pelletizing, ¶ [0090]).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hauserman (US 7,926,750) disclose a compactor feeder for feeding relatively low-density biomass materials into a grinding device, such as a hammer mill, comprising: a hopper within which a biomass feed is contained; a feeder connected to said hopper having a first inlet and a charging end, wherein said biomass feed is conveyed from said hopper to said charging end; a compactor having a tapered conical-shaped interior sidewall with an interior top and bottom, said top having an opening into which said feeder charging end communicates for receiving the charge of said feeder, said compactor further including a screw compactor member that has at least one flight that generally conforms to said interior sidewall, such that said screw compactor member has a first wide radial diameter at said top decreasing to a reduced diameter relative to said first diameter at said bottom, said bottom further having a discharge opening in communication with a grinding device.
Correspondence Information
/SEYED MASOUD MALEKZADEH/Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1754 02/06/2026