DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on February 2, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: means of the embossing unit in Claims 7-9 which is being interpreted as an embossing unit and means of a cooling roller in Claim 8 which is being interpreted as a cooling roller.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 5-6, 12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 2, 5-6, 12, and 15, the phrases "preferably", “more preferably”, and “even more preferably” render the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claims 12 and 15 recite the limitations “the thermoplastic elastomers” (plural) and “the thermoplastic olefins” (plural). There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim as the limitations were previously recited as “a thermoplastic elastomer” (singular) and “a thermoplastic olefin” (singular). For examination purposes, the limitations will be interpreted as “the thermoplastic elastomer” (singular) and “the thermoplastic olefin” (singular).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coon et al (PGPub 2019/0352845) in view of Kim et al (PGPub 2013/0101756, referred to hereinafter as Kim 2013).
Regarding Claim 1, Coon teaches a method for producing an artificial turf (Abstract; [0002]), the method comprising the steps of:
providing a carrier material having a top and a bottom (Fig. 2- primary backing 204; Fig. 6- primary backing 604);
providing a plurality of fibers (Fig. 2- face fibers 202; Fig. 6- turf yarn 602), wherein each fiber comprises two ends extending from the top of the carrier material ([0136]- discussing cut pile turf), and comprises a connected region arranged in a loop-like manner at the bottom of the carrier material (Fig. 2- loop of face fibers 202 under primary backing 204);
feeding the carrier material with the fibers to a heated rotating calender roller (Fig. 6- lamination rolls 608);
guiding the carrier material with the fibers over at least one sub-region of the surface of the heated rotating calender roller (Fig. 6- lamination rolls 608), wherein the connected regions of the fibers and the bottom of the carrier material face the calender roller (Fig. 6- bottom lamination roll 608);
during the guiding of the carrier material with the fibers over the at least one sub-region of the surface of the heated rotating calender roller: transferring heat from the heated rotating calender roller to the carrier material with the fibers [0143],
wherein the method further comprises: embossing a bottom of the artificial turf (Fig. 6- embossing tool 612), wherein the embossing forms a recessed region of the bottom of the artificial turf ([0147]- embossing forms a recessed region); and
removing and cooling the artificial turf (Fig. 6- previously heated and finished turf is necessarily cooled and removed).
Coon teaches laminating a film onto the backstitched primary backing [0143] but does not specify fusing the connected regions of the fibers with the bottom of the carrier material, to form the artificial turf.
Kim 2013 teaches an alternative method of forming artificial turf (Abstract) wherein the connected regions of the fibers with the bottom of the carrier material are fused to form the artificial turf [0029] to solidly fix and stabilize the backstitches [0013] and increase tensile strength and durability of the pile yarns [0080].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Coon to include fusing the backstitches as taught by Kim with reasonable expectation of success to solidly fix and stabilize the backstitches [0013] and increase tensile strength and durability of the pile yarns [0080].
Regarding Claim 2, Coon further teaches the bottom of the artificial turf has a main plane (Fig. 2- bottom plane of primary backing); wherein the main plane is a plane that contains one or more surface regions of the bottom of the artificial turf (Fig. 2- bottom plane of primary backing);
Coon further teaches forming a desired embossing pattern with an embossing tool [0147] thus meeting the instant limitation of the one or more surface regions which are contained in the main plane have a total surface area which is at least 30% of the total surface area of the bottom of the artificial turf; and the recessed region is preferably recessed relative to the main plane of the bottom of the artificial turf.
Regarding Claim 3, Coon further teaches the structure of the primary backing can have any structure and be any thickness to provide the desired results [0066] thus meeting the instant limitation of the artificial turf contains a raised region on its bottom; wherein the raised region has a height from a plane, downwards, wherein the plane contains one or more surface regions of the bottom of the artificial turf; wherein the raised region extends in a length along a direction on the bottom of the artificial turf; wherein the length is greater than the average distance between two adjacent fibers.
Coon further teaches forming a desired embossing pattern with an embossing tool [0147] thus meeting the instant limitation of the embossing reduces the height of the raised region from the plane in portions and/or interrupts the raised region in portions.
Regarding Claim 4, Coon further teaches forming a desired embossing pattern with an embossing tool [0147] thus meeting the instant limitation of the embossing forms a plurality of recessed regions of the bottom of the artificial turf, and wherein the recessed regions are at an average distance from one another of at most 0.5 cm, at most 1 cm, at most 2 cm, or at most 5 cm.
Regarding Claim 5, Regarding Claim 3, Coon further teaches the structure of the primary backing can have any structure and be any thickness to provide the desired results [0066] thus meeting the instant limitation of a maximum height of shifts of the carrier material of the artificial turf on the top of the artificial turf at a predetermined temperature of the artificial turf is less than 2 cm, preferably less than 1 cm, more preferably less than 0.5 cm, even more preferably less than 0.1 cm; wherein the height is a height of a flat surface region of the top of the carrier material of the artificial turf; and wherein shifts include surface regions of the top of the carrier material of the artificial turf which are raised relative to a flat surface region of the top of the carrier material.
Regarding Claim 6, Coon further teaches preheating the intermediate structure between 100-200°F [0143] thus meeting the instant limitation of the predetermined temperature is at least 35°C, preferably at least 40°C, more preferably at least 50°C, even more preferably at least 60°C, even more preferably at least 70°C.
Regarding Claim 7, Coon further teaches the calender roller contains an embossing unit (Fig. 6- embossing tool 612), and wherein the bottom of the artificial turf is embossed by means of the embossing unit of the calender roller ([0147]- discussing formation of the embossed pattern).
Regarding Claim 9, Coon further teaches feeding the artificial turf to an embossing roller which comprises an embossing unit, wherein the bottom of the artificial turf is embossed by means of the embossing unit of the embossing roller, andwherein prior to the embossing heat is transferred to the artificial turf, and/or wherein the bottom of the artificial turf is embossed prior to removal and cooling of the artificial turf (Fig. 6- the embossing necessarily occurs before finishing cooling/removal).
Regarding Claim 10, Coon further teaches providing a film (Fig. 6- polymer film 606); and
feeding the film between the bottom of the carrier material with the connected regions of the fibers and the heated rotating calender roller in the step of feeding the carrier material and fusing the film to the bottom of the carrier material and to the connected regions of the fibers in the step of transferring heat (Fig. 6); and
removing and cooling the coated artificial turf (Fig. 6- previously heated and finished turf is necessarily cooled and removed)).
Kim 2013 further teaches feeding the film between a bottom of the artificial turf and a further heated rotating calender roller after the step of removing and cooling the artificial turf, transmitting heat from the further heated rotating calender roller to the bottom of the artificial turf and the film, fusing the bottom of the artificial turf to the film to form a coated artificial turf (Fig. 6), and removing and cooling the coated artificial turf (Fig. 6- previously heated and finished turf is necessarily cooled and removed) in order to improve heat-fusing efficiency between the back of the structure and the film [0137].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the combination of Coon and Kim 2013 to include a further heated roll to attached the film to the substrate as taught by Kim 2013 with reasonable expectation of success to improve heat-fusing efficiency between the back of the structure and the film [0137].
Regarding Claims 11 and 14, Coon further teaches the material of the film comprises at least one of: ethylene-vinyl acetate, a thermoplastic elastomer, or a thermoplastic olefin [0068].
Regarding Claims 12 and 15, Coon further teaches a mass fraction of the ethylene- vinyl acetate, the thermoplastic elastomers, and the thermoplastic olefins makes up, in total, at least 50% of a mass of the film, preferably at least 60%, 70% or 80%, more preferably at least 90% [0068].
Regarding Claim 13, Coon further teaches the film may comprise a plurality of layers [0077] thus meeting the instant limitation of the film comprises a first layer, a second layer and a third layer.
Coon further teaches the carrier material and the first layer and the third layer are formed from substantially the same type of material [0084]; and the composition may comprise recycled material [0054] thus meeting the instant limitation of the second layer comprises recycled artificial turf scrap.
Regarding Claim 16, Coon further teaches producing a first and a second artificial turf sheet (Fig. 2- produced turf); providing a non-woven fabric sheet ([0090]- non-woven secondary backing; [0117]); applying a liquid adhesive to the non-woven fabric sheet ([0086]- applied with a separate adhesive as known in the art); and connecting the first and second artificial turf sheet to a non-woven fabric in such a way that the first and second artificial turf sheet rest on the non-woven fabric and are flush with one another [0086].
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coon et al (PGPub 2019/0352845) in view of Kim et al (PGPub 2013/0101756, referred to hereinafter as Kim 2013) in view of Kim et al (2020/0354888, referred to hereinafter as Kim 2020).
Regarding Claim 8, Coon and Kim 2013 do not specify the artificial turf is cooled by means of a cooling roller; wherein the artificial turf is fed to the cooling roller; and wherein the cooling roller contains an embossing unit, and the bottom of the artificial turf is embossed by means of the embossing unit of the cooling roller.
Kim 2020 teaches an alternative method of embossing a substrate (Abstract) wherein the substrate is cooled by means of a cooling roller; wherein the substrate is fed to the cooling roller; and wherein the cooling roller contains an embossing unit, and the bottom of the substrate is embossed by means of the embossing unit of the cooling roller [0012] in order to maintain an appropriate temperature to effectively perform the embossing [0012].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Coon and Kim 2013 to include a cooling embosser as taught by Kim 2020 with reasonable expectation of success to maintain an appropriate temperature to effectively perform the embossing [0012].
Conclusion
/A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1748 3/16/26
/Abbas Rashid/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1748