DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 17-24 and 26-32 are pending in the application.
Claims 1-16 were previously cancelled by Applicant.
In Applicant’s most-recent response filed 26 May 2026, claims 17 and 21-22 were amended and claim 25 was cancelled. These amendments have been made.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Fig. 2, ref. no. “3” (on the left-hand side of the Figure) is objected to because it does not point to the “connecting member 3”, but rather to a portion of the “first connecting pipe 1”. It appears that this ref. no. should be replaced with either ref. no. “1” to show the “first connecting pipe 1” or with ref. no. “13” to show the “transverse pipe section 13”.
In Fig. 2, ref. no. “4” is objected to because it does not point to the “fourth connecting pipe 4”, but rather to a lower section of the “first connecting pipe 1”. It appears that this ref. no. should either be deleted or replaced with ref. no. “14” to show the “vertical pipe section 14”
Examiner notes that Applicant indicated that the above objections were addressed by amended drawings in the response filed 26 May 2026; however, no replacement drawings were received by the Office with the response filed 26 May 2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 17 and 24 are objected to because of the following informalities: Appropriate correction is required.
Re Claim 17: The final paragraph of claim 1 should be amended as follows since more than one “elastic supporting arm” has been previously introduced in the claim:
--wherein a top side and a bottom side of the connecting body each have an elastic connecting arm that is connected to a respective end of each elastic supporting arm, thereby forming a hollow annular structure.--
Re Claim 24: Claim 24 should be amended as follows in order to remain consistent with the language used in claim 17:
--24. The connecting member according to claim 22, wherein the connecting body has a first recess located on at least one of the top side and the bottom side of the connecting body, and the positioning projection is arranged on the first recess.--
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Re Claim 20: Claim 20 only requires the limitation “wherein the connecting body has a hollow annular structure”. However, this limitation is already required in the final line of claim 17, from which claim 20 depends. Therefore, claim 20 fails to further limit claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 17-20, 22-24, and 26-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Magid (US Patent 4,711,595).
Re Claim 17: Magid discloses a connecting member (30) for connecting a first connecting pipe (23) with a second connecting pipe (10), comprising:
a connecting body (31), configured to be arranged in the first connecting pipe (23) and in interference fit with the first connecting pipe (see Fig. 5); and
an elastic arm (neck 32 on the top side of the connecting body 31; see annotated Fig. 6 above), connected to the connecting body (31) and provided with a locking projection (33);
wherein the locking projection (33) is configured to be engaged with a first through hole (24) of the first connecting pipe (23) and a second through hole (11) of the second connecting pipe (10);
wherein a left side and a right side of the connecting body (31) each have an elastic supporting arm (see annotated Fig. 6 above) configured to generate an elastic deformation bending inwards; and
wherein a top side and a bottom side of the connecting body (31) each have an elastic connecting arm (see annotated Fig. 6 above) that is connected to a respective end of the elastic supporting arm, thereby forming a hollow annular structure.
Re Claim 18: Magid discloses a connecting member (30), wherein one end (the lower end of neck 32 in Fig. 3, connected to frame 31) of the elastic arm (32) serves as a connecting end and is connected to the connecting body (31), and the other end (the upper end of neck 32 in Fig. 3) the elastic arm serves as a free end and extends in a direction perpendicular to a cross section (for example, the cross-section shown in Fig. 3) of the connecting body (31).
Re Claim 19: Magid discloses a connecting member (30), wherein end (the lower end of neck 32 in Fig. 3, connected to frame 31) of the elastic arm (32) serves as a connecting end and is connected to the connecting body (31), and the other end (the upper end of neck 32 in Fig. 3) of the elastic arm serves as a free end and is provided with the locking projection (33).
Re Claim 20: Magid discloses a connecting member (30), wherein the connecting body (31) has a hollow annular structure.
Re Claim 22: Magid discloses a connecting member (30), further comprising:
a positioning projection (for example, the neck 32 and head 33 projecting from the lower sides of the connecting body 31; see annotated Fig. 6 above), arranged on the connecting body (31) or the elastic arm;
wherein the positioning projection is configured to be engaged with a positioning hole (24) of the first connecting pipe (23).
Re Claim 23: Magid discloses a connecting member (30), wherein the positioning projection is arranged on the connecting body (31) and is located at a position of the connecting body close (for example, at a radially inward position) to a connecting end of the elastic arm.
Re Claim 24: Magid discloses a connecting member (30), wherein the connecting body (31) has a first recess (for example, formed by the curved lower surface shown in Fig. 6) located on at least one of upper and lower sides of the connecting body, and the positioning projection is arranged on the first recess.
Re Claim 26: Magid discloses a connecting member (30), further comprising:
a supporting rib (for example, the neck 32 and head 33 projecting from one of the right or left-hand sides of the connecting body 31, as shown in Fig. 6), arranged on the connecting body (31) and protruding from an outer surface of the connecting body, the supporting rib being configured to be abutted against an inner wall of the first connecting pipe (for example, upon insertion into the tubular male socket 23).
Re Claim 27: Magid discloses a connecting member (30), wherein the elastic arm (32) is provided with a reinforcing rib (36) connected between the locking projection, the elastic arm and the connecting body, or between the locking projection (33) and the elastic arm (32).
Re Claim 28: Magid discloses a connecting member (30), wherein the connecting body (31) is integrated with the elastic arm (32).
Re Claim 29: Magid discloses a connecting member (30), wherein the connecting member (30) is made of an elastically deformable material (see Col. 2 lines 1-13).
Re Claim 30: Magid discloses a connecting member (30), wherein the locking projection (33) is provided with a wedge surface (34) configured to be pushed against by an inner wall of the second connecting pipe (10) to allow the locking projection (33) being engaged with or disengaged from the second through hole (11).
Re Claim 31: Magid discloses a connecting pipe structure (see Fig. 1), comprising a first connecting pipe (23) and a connecting member (30) according to claim 17 (see rejection of claim 17 above).
Re Claim 32: Magid discloses a detachable frame (see Fig. 1), comprising:
a first connecting pipe (23);
a second connecting pipe (10); and
a connecting member (30) according to claim 17 (see rejection of claim 17 above);
wherein the second connecting pipe (10) is detachably connected to the first connecting pipe (23) by the connecting member (30).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Magid (US Patent 4,711,595), as applied to claims 17-20, 22-24, and 26-32 above, and further in view of Tallman (US Patent 3,897,044).
Re Claim 21: Magid, as discussed for claim 18 above, discloses a connecting member significantly as claimed except wherein the connecting end of the elastic arm is connected to an inner wall of the connecting body.
Tallman teaches the use of a connecting member for connecting a first connecting pipe (13) with a second connecting pipe (12), comprising a connecting body (37), configured to be arranged in the first connecting pipe (13); and an arm (40) connected to the connecting body (37) and provided with a locking projection (35); wherein one end of the arm (40) serves as a connecting end (at 42) and is connected to the connecting body (37), and the other ed of the arm serves as a free end (36); and further wherein the connecting end (at 42) of the arm is connected to an inner wall of the connecting body (37), for the purpose of easily connecting the arm to the connecting body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Magid, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that the connecting end of the elastic arm is connected to an inner wall of the connecting body, as taught by Tallman, for the purpose of easily connecting the elastic arm to the connecting body.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 26 May 2026 with respect to all pending claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW R MCMAHON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678