DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
No IDS has been provided nor considered at the time of this Office Action.
Specification
The use of the term Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, Zigbee or Z-Wave which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore, the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Response to Remarks
This Office action is considered fully responsive to the amendments filed 11/12/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application. Claims 1-20 were previously presented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 10/30/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues in substance that:
The office action fails to teach of one or more processors configured to generate a first frame requesting a second device in a wireless local area network (WLAN) to perform channel sounding with the first device using the determined frequency of channel sounding; and wirelessly transmit, via a transceiver, the generated first frame to the second device (Page 6 and 8, Remarks).
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Chun explicitly discloses in Figs. 1 and 2A and [0024], the apparatus 102 may include a mobility processor 110, a sounding transceiver 120, a sounding-control circuit 130, a mobility-calculating circuit 140, and a receiver 150. In [0189], lines 1-3, and [0187] state “In a wireless LAN system, a sounding procedure/protocol is used to determine channel state information. A beamformer STA requesting channel state information may transmit a training signal to beamformee STA(s). The beamformee STA may measure a channel using the training signal (e.g., sounding NDP) and feedback an estimate of a channel state to the beamformer STA.” and Claim 12 and [0283], confirm that the transmitted NPD frame can includes information about the determined frequency of channel sounding, [0215], [0273]. Fig. 1, abstract, [0045], and [0178], illustrate both devises are wirelessly connected through transceivers to perform a transmission and reception operation of a signal “one of the STAs 100 and 200 may perform an intended operation of an AP, and the other of the STAs 100 and 200 may perform an intended operation of a non-AP STA. For example, the transceivers 106 and 206 of FIG. 1 may perform a transmission and reception operation of a signal (e.g., a packet or a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) conforming to IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n/ac/ax/be).” Therefore, Chun still teaches the limitations as currently claimed.
Chun do not teach the claimed "channel sounding with the first device using the determined frequency of channel sounding"(Page 8, Remarks).
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Chun explicitly state in claim 1 “receiving a null data PPDU (NDP) announcement frame from a second STA on a first frequency unit related to a first type physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) format and a second frequency unit related to a second type PPDU format; and transmitting a feedback frame related to one or more of the first frequency unit or the second frequency unit to the second STA” and [0008], “A method for performing a sounding procedure by a first station (STA) in a WLAN system according to an aspect of the present disclosure may comprise, receiving a null data PPDU (NDP) announcement frame from a second STA on a first frequency unit related to a first type physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) format and a second frequency unit related to a second type PPDU format; and transmitting a feedback frame related to one or more of the first frequency unit or the second frequency unit to the second STA.” That’s implies the sounding procedure is performed based on these determined frequency units and the feedback is sent according to that. Therefore, Chun still teaches the limitations as currently claimed.
Applicant argues that similar independent claims are allowable for similar reasons (Page 9, Remarks).
The examiner respectfully disagrees, for at least the same reasons given in the response above, and as detailed in the Claim Rejections section below.
Applicant argues that dependent claim/new claims are allowable due to dependencies from allegedly allowable independent claims (Page 9, Remarks).
The examiner respectfully disagrees, at least for the same reason given in the response above and as detailed in the Claim Rejections section below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 9, 11, 12, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (US-20220400033-A1) in view of Chun et al. (US-20240235718-A9).
Regarding claim 1 (Original), Yu teaches a first device comprising: one or more processors ( Figs. 1 and 2A and [0024], describe the apparatus 102 may include a mobility processor 110, a sounding transceiver 120, a sounding-control circuit 130, a mobility-calculating circuit 140, and a receiver 150) configured to: determine a frequency of channel sounding based at least on a movement characteristic of the first device (abstract, Fig.2B, [0058], lines 4-8, and [0025], lines 7-10, describe the frequency of channel sounding, refers as rate at which channel sounding occurs (how many times the sounding process is performed in the unite of time as shown in the Fig. 2B), can be determined by sounding interval, which can be adjusted according to the mobility (movement characteristics) of the device. The mobility is configured by Link quality LQ as shown in Fig. 3B); and
Yu fails to teach generate a first frame requesting a second device in a wireless local area network (WLAN) to perform channel sounding with the first device using the determined frequency of channel sounding; and wirelessly transmit, via a transceiver, the generated first frame to the second device.
However, Chun teaches generate a first frame requesting a second device in a wireless local area network (WLAN) to perform channel sounding with the first device using the determined frequency of channel sounding and wirelessly transmit, via a transceiver, the generated first frame to the second device ([0189], lines 1-3, and [0187] “In a wireless LAN system, a sounding procedure/protocol is used to determine channel state information. A beamformer STA requesting channel state information may transmit a training signal to beamformee STA(s). The beamformee STA may measure a channel using the training signal (e.g., sounding NDP) and feedback an estimate of a channel state to the beamformer STA.” and Claim 12 and [0283], confirm that the transmitted NPD frame can includes information about the determined frequency of channel sounding, [0215], [0273]. Fig. 1, abstract, [0045], and [0178], illustrate both devises are wirelessly connected through transceivers to perform a transmission and reception operation of a signal “one of the STAs 100 and 200 may perform an intended operation of an AP, and the other of the STAs 100 and 200 may perform an intended operation of a non-AP STA. For example, the transceivers 106 and 206 of FIG. 1 may perform a transmission and reception operation of a signal (e.g., a packet or a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) conforming to IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n/ac/ax/be).”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yu to incorporate the teachings of Chun (in analogous art) by adding generate a first frame requesting a second device in WLAN to perform channel sounding with the first device using the determined frequency of channel sounding for efficient utilization of multiple bands and increased spatial streams, in particular, to support low latency or real-time traffic (Chun, [0004], lines 6-9).
Regarding claim 2 (Original), Yu and Chun teach the first device according to claim 1.
Chun further teaches wherein one of the first device or the second device is an access point ([0035], lines 8-11 and [0036], lines 6-14, the device 110 and 200 may perform an access point (AP) or a non-AP. When the STAs 110 and 200 perform an AP function, they may be simply referred to as APs, and when the STAs 110 and 200 perform non-AP functions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yu to incorporate the teachings of Chun (in analogous art) by adding one of the first device or the second device is an access point for efficient data transmission and avoiding collisions (Chun, [0054], lines 3-5).
Regarding claim 9 (Original), Yu and Chun teach the first device according to claim 1.
Chun further teaches wherein the first frame is one of an association request frame, an association response frame, a probe request frame, or a probe response frame ([0078], lines 9-12, The association process includes a process in which the device transmits an association request frame to the AP, and in response, the AP transmits an association response frame to the STA).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yu to incorporate the teachings of Chun (in analogous art) by adding the first frame can be one of an association request frame, an association response frame, a probe request frame, or a probe response frame for efficient utilization of multiple bands and increased spatial streams, in particular, to support low latency or real-time traffic (Chun, [0004], lines 6-9).
Regarding claim 11 (Original), Yu teaches the method comprising: determining, by a first device, a frequency of channel sounding based at least on a movement characteristic of the first device; (abstract, Fig.2B, [0058], lines 4-8, and [0025], lines 7-10, describe the frequency of channel sounding, refers as rate at which channel sounding occurs (how many times the sounding process is performed in the unite of time as shown in the Fig. 2B), can be determined by sounding interval, which can be adjusted according to the mobility (movement characteristics) of the device. The mobility is configured by Link quality LQ as shown in Fig. 3B).
Yu fails to teach generating, by the first device, a first frame requesting a second device in a wireless local area network (WLAN) to perform channel sounding with the first device using the determined frequency of channel sounding.
However, Chun teaches generating, by the first device, a first frame requesting a second device in a wireless local area network (WLAN) to perform channel sounding with the first device using the determined frequency of channel sounding and wirelessly transmitting, via a transceiver, the generated first frame to the second device ([0189], lines 1-3, and [0187] “In a wireless LAN system, a sounding procedure/protocol is used to determine channel state information. A beamformer STA requesting channel state information may transmit a training signal to beamformee STA(s). The beamformee STA may measure a channel using the training signal (e.g., sounding NDP) and feedback an estimate of a channel state to the beamformer STA.” and Claim 12 and [0283], confirm that the transmitted NPD frame can includes information about the determined frequency of channel sounding, [0215], [0273]. Fig. 1, abstract, [0045], and [0178], illustrate both devises are wirelessly connected through transceivers to perform a transmission and reception operation of a signal “one of the STAs 100 and 200 may perform an intended operation of an AP, and the other of the STAs 100 and 200 may perform an intended operation of a non-AP STA. For example, the transceivers 106 and 206 of FIG. 1 may perform a transmission and reception operation of a signal (e.g., a packet or a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) conforming to IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n/ac/ax/be).”);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yu to incorporate the teachings of Chun (in analogous art) by adding generate a first frame requesting a second device in WLAN to perform channel sounding with the first device using the determined frequency of channel sounding for efficient utilization of multiple bands and increased spatial streams, in particular, to support low latency or real-time traffic (Chun, [0004], lines 6-9).
Regarding claim 12 (Original), Yu and Chun teach the method according to claim 11.
Chun further teaches wherein one of the first device or the second device is an access point ([0035], lines 8-11 and [0036], lines 6-14, the device 110 and 200 may perform an access point (AP) or a non-AP. When the STAs 110 and 200 perform an AP function, they may be simply referred to as APs, and when the STAs 110 and 200 perform non-AP functions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yu to incorporate the teachings of Chun (in analogous art) by adding one of the first device or the second device is an access point for efficient data transmission and avoiding collisions (Chun, [0054], lines 3-5).
Regarding claim 19 (Original), Yu and Chun teach the method according to claim 11.
Chun further teaches wherein the first frame is one of an association request frame, an association response frame, a probe request frame, or a probe response frame ([0078], lines 9-12, The association process includes a process in which the device transmits an association request frame to the AP, and in response, the AP transmits an association response frame to the STA).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yu to incorporate the teachings of Chun (in analogous art) by adding the first frame can be one of an association request frame, an association response frame, a probe request frame, or a probe response frame for efficient utilization of multiple bands and increased spatial streams, in particular, to support low latency or real-time traffic (Chun, [0004], lines 6-9).
Claims 3, 4, 5, 13, 14, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (US-20220400033-A1) in view of Chun et al. (US-20240235718-A9) and further in view of Song et al. (KR-20220101545-A), refer to attached English language translation version.
Regarding claim 3 (Original), Yu and Chun teach the first device according to claim 1.
Yu and Chun do not explicitly teach set a field of the first frame to a first value indicating one or more velocities of the first device, to request the second device to perform channel sounding with the first device periodically according to the one or more velocities.
However, Song teaches set a field of the first frame to a first value indicating one or more velocities of the first device (Page 7, paragraph 7, and page 16, paragraph 4, the state information vector in time frame includes including the position and speed information), to request the second device to perform channel sounding with the first device periodically according to the one or more velocities (Page 7, paragraph 7, page 12, paragraph 1, and page 16, paragraphs 1 and 4, describe the transmitter acquires the uplink channel sounding information. The transmitter repeatedly update the state information vector in an uplink channel sounding process).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yu and Chun to incorporate the teachings of Song (in analogous art) by first value indicating one or more velocities and performing channel sounding with the first device periodically according to the one or more velocities to maintain an accurate location and velocity of the device for communication link (Song, page 5, paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 4 (Original), Yu, Chun and Song teach the first device according to claim 3.
Yu further teaches set the field of the first frame to indicate a first velocity greater than a second velocity to request the second device to perform channel sounding with the first device periodically using a first period smaller than a second period that is used by the second device in performing channel sounding when requested by setting the field of the first frame to indicate the second velocity ([0044], [0057], [0059], and claim 19, lines 17-22, describes the scenario where the changing in mobility occur (which can be translated to the high/low speed or high LQ/low LQ [0032]), the mobility and the interval (period) can be determined by the mobility processor 110 as shown in Fig. 2A. [0057] implies higher mobility or faster changes in the channel stat. In such a case the system uses a short period (first period) for channel sounding compared to the longer period (second period). Thus, the mobility process may control the sounding transceiver to perform a the sounding operation immediately to accommodate the rapid changes caused by higher mobility, thereby improving the communication reliability and performance).
Regarding claim 5 (Original), Yu, Chun and Song teach the first device according to claim 3.
Yu further teaches set the field of the first frame to a second value different from the first value ([0057] as described in claim 4, if the first and second values of velocities are different (e.g., the first velocity greater than the second velocity), then the mobility process may control the sounding transceiver to perform a the sounding operation immediately to accommodate the rapid changes caused by higher mobility, thereby improving the communication reliability and performance), to request the second device to perform channel sounding with the first device ([0026], lines 8-11, describes the case where the first device sends triggering sounding to request the sounding report packet by performing channel sounding) and subsequently send a beamformed frame to the first device ([0005], lines 6-14, and [0047], lines 1-4, After performing channel sounding and obtaining updated channel state information (CSI) or Beamforming feedback information stream, which is then fed back to the transmitter (first device) as a stream (frame) [0005], lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 13 (Original), Yu and Chun teach the method according to claim 11.
Yu and Chun do not explicitly teach setting a field of the first frame to a first value indicating one or more velocities of the first device, to request the second device to perform channel sounding with the first device periodically according to the one or more velocities.
However, Song teaches setting a field of the first frame to a first value indicating one or more velocities of the first device (Page 7, paragraph 7, and page 16, paragraph 4, the state information vector in time frame includes including the position and speed information), to request the second device to perform channel sounding with the first device periodically according to the one or more velocities (Page 7, paragraph 7, page 12, paragraph 1, and page 16, paragraphs 1 and 4, describe the transmitter acquires the uplink channel sounding information. The transmitter repeatedly update the state information vector in an uplink channel sounding process).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yu and Chun to incorporate the teachings of Song (in analogous art) by first value indicating one or more velocities and performing channel sounding with the first device periodically according to the one or more velocities to maintain an accurate location and velocity of the device for communication link (Song, page 5, paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 14 (Original), Yu, Chun and Song teach the method according to claim 13.
Yu further teaches setting the field of the first frame to indicate a first velocity greater than a second velocity to request the second device to perform channel sounding with the first device periodically using a first period smaller than a second period that is used by the second device in performing channel sounding when requested by setting the field of the first frame to indicate the second velocity ([0044], [0057], [0059], and claim 19, lines 17-22, describes the scenario where the changing in mobility occur (which can be translated to the high/low speed or high LQ/low LQ [0032]), the mobility and the interval (period) can be determined by the mobility processor 110 as shown in Fig. 2A. [0057] implies higher mobility or faster changes in the channel stat. In such a case the system uses a short period (first period) for channel sounding compared to the longer period (second period). Thus, the mobility process may control the sounding transceiver to perform a the sounding operation immediately to accommodate the rapid changes caused by higher mobility, thereby improving the communication reliability and performance).
Regarding claim 15 (Original), Yu, Chun and Song teach the method according to claim 13.
Yu further teaches setting the field of the first frame to a second value different from the first value ([0057] as described in claim 4, if the first and second values of velocities are different (e.g., the first velocity greater than the second velocity), then the mobility process may control the sounding transceiver to perform a the sounding operation immediately to accommodate the rapid changes caused by higher mobility, thereby improving the communication reliability and performance), to request the second device to perform channel sounding with the first device ([0026], lines 8-11, describes the case where the first device sends triggering sounding to request the sounding report packet by performing channel sounding) and subsequently send a beamformed frame to the first device ([0005], lines 6-14, and [0047], lines 1-4, After performing channel sounding and obtaining updated channel state information (CSI) or Beamforming feedback information stream, which is then fed back to the transmitter (first device) as a stream (frame) [0005], lines 1-5).
Claims 6, 7, 16, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (US-20220400033-A1) in view of Chun et al. (US-20240235718-A9) and further in view of Beg et al. (US-20220272561-A1).
Regarding claim 6 (Original), Yu and Chun teach the first device according to claim 1.
Yu and Chun do not explicitly teach set a subfield of the first frame to a value indicating a range of channel sounding periods, to request the second device to perform channel sounding with the first device periodically using a period in the range of channel sounding periods.
However, Beg teaches set a subfield of the first frame to a value indicating a range of channel sounding periods, to request the second device to perform channel sounding with the first device periodically using a period in the range of channel sounding periods ([0095], lines 22-24, and [0104], lines 1-8, Table 9- continued, lines 3-6 and 9-11, Fig. 10, [0032], the channel sounding protocol may be considered for supporting Wi-Fi sensing, where a steering matrix may be generated at a transmitter device (beamformer) based on a feedback matrix provided by a receiver device (beamformee) based on channel sounding. The subfield may specify timing requirements, such as the interval between frames or bursts and could be used to initial periodic channel sounding).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yu and Chun to incorporate the teachings of Beg (in analogous art) by setting a subfield of the first frame to a value indicating a range of channel sounding periods to adapt different to different use cases and environmental conditions (Beg, [0101], lines 2-6).
Regarding claim 7 (Original), Yu and Chun teach the first device according to claim 1.
Yu further teaches determine the period of channel sounding based at least on the minimum period of channel sounding ([0005], lines 11-18, and [0034], describe how the minimum and maximum period of channel sounding is based on the Doppler effect. The minimum period of channel sounding is influenced and related inversely by the Doppler effect, as it is used to adaptively adjust the sounding interval to match the mobility (change in speed) and the channel variations caused by Doppler shifts) and the movement characteristic of the first device ([0006], lines 14-18, [0025], lines 7-10, the sounding interval is adaptively adjusted according to the mobility indicator derived from the movement characteristics of the (first device), [0035], lines 1-3, Fig. 2B).
Yu and Chun do not explicitly teach receive, from the second device, a second frame including a field indicating a minimum period of channel sounding used by the second device.
However, Beg teaches receive, from the second device, a second frame including a field indicating a minimum period of channel sounding used by the second device ([0095], lines 22-24, and [0104], lines 1-8, Table 10, [0280], lines 4-9, describe different values of the Burst duration, (the period of sensing procedure), subfield of the periodic measurement configuration field for IEEE P802.11-REVmd/D5.0, § 9.4.2 is provided in TABLE 10, which contains the min value of period , 250 µs, as shown in Figs. 10 A and B) ;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yu and Chun to incorporate the teachings of Beg (in analogous art) by determining the period of channel sounding based at least on the minimum period of channel sounding and the movement characteristic of the first device to adapt different to different use cases and environmental conditions (Beg, [0101], lines 2-6).
Regarding claim 16 (Original), Yu and Chun teach the method according to claim 11.
Yu and Chun do not explicitly teach setting a subfield of the first frame to a value indicating a range of channel sounding periods, to request the second device to perform channel sounding with the first device periodically using a period in the range of channel sounding periods.
However, Beg teaches setting a subfield of the first frame to a value indicating a range of channel sounding periods, to request the second device to perform channel sounding with the first device periodically using a period in the range of channel sounding periods ([0095], lines 22-24, and [0104], lines 1-8, Table 9- continued, lines 3-6 and 9-11, Fig. 10, [0032], the channel sounding protocol may be considered for supporting Wi-Fi sensing, where a steering matrix may be generated at a transmitter device (beamformer) based on a feedback matrix provided by a receiver device (beamformee) based on channel sounding. The subfield may specify timing requirements, such as the interval between frames or bursts and could be used to initial periodic channel sounding).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yu and Chun to incorporate the teachings of Beg (in analogous art) by setting a subfield of the first frame to a value indicating a range of channel sounding periods to adapt different to different use cases and environmental conditions (Beg, [0101], lines 2-6).
Regarding claim 17 (Original), Yu and Chun teach the method according to claim 11.
Yu further teaches determining the period of channel sounding based at least on the minimum period of channel sounding ([0005], lines 11-18, and [0034], describe how the minimum and maximum period of channel sounding is based on the Doppler effect. The minimum period of channel sounding is influenced and related inversely by the Doppler effect, as it is used to adaptively adjust the sounding interval to match the mobility (change in speed) and the channel variations caused by Doppler shifts) and the movement characteristic of the first device ([0006], lines 14-18, [0025], lines 7-10, the sounding interval is adaptively adjusted according to the mobility indicator derived from the movement characteristics of the (first device), [0035], lines 1-3, Fig. 2B).
Yu and Chun do not explicitly teach receiving, from the second device, a second frame including a field indicating a minimum period of channel sounding used by the second device.
However, Beg teaches receiving, from the second device, a second frame including a field indicating a minimum period of channel sounding used by the second device ([0095], lines 22-24, and [0104], lines 1-8, Table 10, [0280], lines 4-9, describe different values of the Burst duration, (the period of sensing procedure), subfield of the periodic measurement configuration field for IEEE P802.11-REVmd/D5.0, § 9.4.2 is provided in TABLE 10, which contains the min value of period , 250 µs, as shown in Figs. 10 A and B) ;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yu and Chun to incorporate the teachings of Beg (in analogous art) by determining the period of channel sounding based at least on the minimum period of channel sounding and the movement characteristic of the first device to adapt different to different use cases and environmental conditions (Beg, [0101], lines 2-6).
Claims 8, 10, 18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (US-20220400033-A1) in view of Chun et al. (US-20240235718-A9) and further in view of Jeon et al. (US-20220158696-A1).
Regarding claim 8 (Original), Yu and Chun teach the first device according to claim 1.
Yu and Chun do not explicitly teach wherein the first frame is a frame having a type of an action frame, and the first frame comprises a field of extremely high throughput (EHT) action indicating compressed beamforming (CB)/channel quality indication (CQI).
However, Jeon teaches wherein the first frame is a frame having a type of an action frame ([0106], referring to FIG. 15, the feedback frame may include a category field and an EHT action field (or simply an action field), and the first frame comprises a field of extremely high throughput (EHT) action indicating compressed beamforming (CB)/channel quality indication (CQI) (Fig. 17, [0110], lines 4-7, indicating an EHT, the action field may have a value (e.g., 0) corresponding to an EHT compressed beamforming/CQI frame or a value (e.g., 1) corresponding to an uplink compressed beamforming frame as shown in Fig. 17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yu and Chun to incorporate the teachings of Jeon (in analogous art) by including the field of extremely high throughput (EHT) action indicating compressed beamforming (CB)/channel quality indication (CQI) to adapt different to support high throughput and low-latency communication (Jeon, [0005]).
Regarding claim 10 (Original), Yu and Chun teach the first device according to claim 1.
Yu and Chun do not explicitly teach the first frame is a frame having a type of an action frame, and the first frame comprises a field of extremely high throughput (EHT) action indicating
beamformee sounding profile.
However, Jeon teaches the first frame is a frame having a type of an action frame ([0106], referring to FIG. 15, the feedback frame may include a category field and an EHT action field (or simply an action field) and the first frame comprises a field of extremely high throughput (EHT) action indicating beamformee sounding profile (Figs. 15, 17 and 18, [0105]-[0107] describe the feedback frame includes a field of sounding profile through EHT action field, which include information about the beamformee sounding record as it specifies the type of feedback being provided such as compressed beamforming, CQI, sounding token number and other parameters related to the beamformee’s channel state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yu and Chun to incorporate the teachings of Jeon (in analogous art) by including the field of extremely high throughput (EHT) action indicating compressed beamforming (CB)/channel quality indication (CQI) to adapt different to support high throughput and low-latency communication (Jeon, [0005]).
Regarding claim 18 (Original), Yu and Chun teach the method according to claim 11.
Yu and Chun do not explicitly teach wherein the first frame is a frame having a type of an action frame, and the first frame comprises a field of extremely high throughput (EHT) action indicating compressed beamforming (CB)/channel quality indication (CQI).
However, Jeon teaches the first frame is a frame having a type of an action frame ([0106], referring to FIG. 15, the feedback frame may include a category field and an EHT action field (or simply an action field) and the first frame comprises a field of extremely high throughput (EHT) action indicating compressed beamforming (CB)/channel quality indication (CQI) (Fig. 17, [0110], lines 4-7, indicating an EHT, the action field may have a value (e.g., 0) corresponding to an EHT compressed beamforming/CQI frame or a value (e.g., 1) corresponding to an uplink compressed beamforming frame as shown in Fig. 17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yu and Chun to incorporate the teachings of Jeon (in analogous art) by including the field of extremely high throughput (EHT) action indicating compressed beamforming (CB)/channel quality indication (CQI) to adapt different to support high throughput and low-latency communication (Jeon, [0005]).
Regarding claim 20 (Original), Yu and Chun teach the method according to claim 11.
Yu and Chun do not explicitly teach the first frame is a frame having a type of an action frame, and the first frame comprises a field of extremely high throughput (EHT) action indicating
beamformee sounding profile.
However, Jeon teaches the first frame is a frame having a type of an action frame ([0106], referring to FIG. 15, the feedback frame may include a category field and an EHT action field (or simply an action field) and the first frame comprises a field of extremely high throughput (EHT) action indicating beamformee sounding profile (Figs. 15, 17 and 18, [0105]-[0107] describe the feedback frame includes a field of sounding profile through EHT action field, which include information about the beamformee sounding record as it specifies the type of feedback being provided such as compressed beamforming, CQI, sounding token number and other parameters related to the beamformee’s channel state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yu and Chun to incorporate the teachings of Jeon (in analogous art) by including the field of extremely high throughput (EHT) action indicating compressed beamforming (CB)/channel quality indication (CQI) to adapt different to support high throughput and low-latency communication (Jeon, [0005]).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
NAGARAJA et al. (US-20180063883-A1), Sethuraman et al. (US-10979120-B2), BEG et al. (WO-2024047528-A1), JEON et al. (KR-20230127122-A), AZARIAN et al. (WO-2018063883-A1) teach methods for estimation channel characteristics in wireless communication systems.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SANAA AL SAMAHI/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/OMAR J GHOWRWAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463