Claim Status
Claims 1-15 are currently pending and are presented for examination on the merits.
Objections
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to for mere recitation of the broadest claim. A brief narrative of the disclosure as a whole is required. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details. See MPEP § 608.01(b). Correction is required.
Drawings
Each sheet must include a top margin of at least 2.5 cm. (1 inch), a left side margin of at least 2.5 cm. (1 inch), a right side margin of at least 1.5 cm. (5/8 inch), and a bottom margin of at least 1.0 cm. (3/8 inch). Please confirm that all drawings meet these requirements, including FIG. 2.
At FIG. 2, should the statement in box 212 be “. . . BASED ON A . . .”? Please check for similar errors.
If FIGS. 2, 3, and 4 are flow charts, please use arrows to indicate flow (i.e., sequence of steps).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
a. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
b. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
c. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
d. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0150185 to Ramezan Pour Safaei et al, alone.
With respect to Claim 1, Ramezan teaches a process for manufacturing a battery (FIGS. 2,7; [0028];[0047], “The minimization problem of equation (2) is subject to current, voltage and temperature limits specified by a manufacturer of the specific battery”) comprising: charging and discharging the battery during a battery manufacturing formation process ([0028];[0057]) according to a current and voltage profile (Abstract; [0047]); wherein a duration of the charging at a high voltage level is maintained for an extended time period ([0028];[0035], duration), thereby saturating a solid electrolyte interface (SEI) during the formation process and reducing a swelling of the battery (FIGS. 2, 7; [0017];[0031];[0047];[0067]).
Ramezan teaches an equivalent system operable to perform the method recited in the instant invention, but does not use the same verbiage, such as “discharging the battery,” “current and voltage profile,” etc., however, the applied reference(s) need not use the same terminology, or disclose the limitations verbatim. Ramezan teaches a different model operable to perform a manufacturing process that is optimal; it considers SEI and swelling. The set of parameters/model are a simple substitute for the recited parameters and system. See, KSR international Co. v. Teleflex Inc. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ramezan to include the specified verbiage and specific set of models.
With respect to Claim 2, Ramezan teaches wherein the extended time period comprises at least one minute. [0057];FIG. 3
With respect to Claim 3, Ramezan teaches wherein the extended time period comprises at least 25% of a charge cycle. ([0057-58]; FIG. 5)
With respect to Claim 4, Ramezan teaches wherein the current and voltage profile comprises a range based on a specification of the battery and a voltage limit. (Abstract;[0007];[0019])
With respect to Claim 5, Ramezan teaches wherein the charging at a high voltage for an extended time period comprises fluctuations in the high voltage level during the extended time period. ([0028], pulses)
With respect to Claim 6, Ramezan teaches a process for manufacturing a battery comprising: charging and discharging a battery during a battery manufacturing formation process according to a current and voltage profile (see Claim 1); wherein a rate of the charging and discharging is based on a voltage range associated with the charging and discharging ([0004];[0029]), thereby saturating a solid electrolyte interface (SEI) during the formation process and reducing a swelling of the battery ([0017];[0029-31]).
With respect to Claim 7, Ramezan teaches wherein the voltage range comprises a wider voltage range for a smaller current. ([0004];[0028-29], taught by “dynamic current limits, steady state and dynamic voltage limits, . . ., nominal voltages, nominal capacities”)
With respect to Claim 8, Ramezan teaches wherein the voltage range comprises a narrower voltage range for a larger current. [0028-29]
With respect to Claim 9, Ramezan teaches wherein a duration of the charging at the voltage range is maintained for an extended time period. ([0028-29])
With respect to Claim 10, Ramezan teaches wherein the extended time period comprises at least one minute. [0057];FIG. 3
With respect to Claim 11, Ramezan teaches a process for manufacturing a battery comprising: charging and discharging a battery during a battery manufacturing formation process according to a current and voltage profile (see Claim 1); wherein a temperature at which the battery is charged varies as a function of a cutoff voltage of the charging ([0028-29], “current-voltage-temperature profiles”), thereby saturating a solid electrolyte interface (SEI) during the formation process and reducing a swelling of the battery (see Claim 1).
With respect to Claim 12, Ramezan teaches wherein the temperature is at a higher level when the cutoff voltage is at a lower level. ([0028-29])
With respect to Claim 13, Ramezan teaches wherein the temperature is at a lower level when the cutoff voltage is at a higher level. ([0028-29], opposite of Claim 12)
With respect to Claim 14, Ramezan teaches wherein a duration of the charging is maintained for an extended time period. [0028-29]
With respect to Claim 15, Ramezan teaches wherein the extended time period comprises at least one minute. ([0057];FIG. 3)
Conclusion
/WILLIAM J JACOB/ Examiner, Art Unit 3696