DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are currently pending in the application 18/622,484, which was filed on 03/29/2024, listing the inventors as Curtis Badke and Samuel Nesbitt and the applicant as Intuit Inc.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-13, and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2016/0098261 A1 to Habib et al. (herein Habib).
Claim 1
Habib discloses a method for generating a custom user interface (Habib: [0008]), comprising:
providing, via a first computing environment (Habib: [0008], figure 3, remote localization server 210), a configuration component (Habib: figures 6, element 626, saved version of localization edits from remote localization server; figure 7, element 710 receiving latest version) to a builder component (Habib: figure 4, element 460, localization module; [0010], user device localization module receives localized content and applies), wherein the configuration component comprises:
an indication of data to be included (Habib: figures 6, element 626, saved version of localization edits from remote localization server; figure 7, element 710 receiving latest version) in a user interface associated with a second computing environment (Habib: figures 3-4, user device 205);
a specified format for displaying the data (Habib: [0066]-[0068], [0077]); and
a specified schedule for updating the user interface with additional data (Habib: [0071] and [0075]);
building, via the builder component, a user interface comprising the indicated data according to the specified format (Habib: [0010]);
updating, via the builder component, the user interface with the additional data to produce an updated user interface (Habib: [0010]); and
displaying the updated user interface via a display associated with a computing device (Habib: [0027]).
To the extent Habib does not explicitly state the configuration component comprises a specified schedule for updating the user interface with additional data. Habib does show that it was known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to for update scheduling to be controlled by the server (claimed first computing environment) (Habib: [0071], [0075]) and/or for updates to be controlled by the localization module (claimed builder component) (Habib: [0071], [0075]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the localization edits versions (claimed configuration component) with including the specified schedule as suggested by the teachings of Habib. This implementation would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have found: including scheduling in the transmitted localization versions to be an efficient/convenient mechanism for transmitting server instructions for updating; doing so is consistent with Habib’s teachings of server and/or localization module controlling the update scheduling; and the implementation of is an application of a known element/technique yielding a predictable result.
Claim 2
Habib discloses the method of claim 1, wherein updating the user interface with the additional data comprises replacing particular data within the user interface with the additional data based on the specified schedule (Habib: [0027], changing interface to Spanish; [0071], [0075]).
Claim 3
Habib discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the specified format comprises a table (Habib: figures 9 and 11, show the format being in the form of various simple tables; see figure 11, three screen view to the right, showing one column listing “table” of items).
Claim 4
Habib discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the user interface comprises selections from one or more tables (Habib: figures 9 and 11; note at least figure 11, second from right view showing selectable “>” icons).
Claim 7
Habib discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the specified format comprises a format associated with the first computing environment (Habib: figures 8-11, show the format is associated with the first computing environment, in that a representation of it is manipulated in the first environment).
Claim 8
Habib discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the specified schedule indicates a periodicity at which updates are made (Habib: [0071], [0075]).
Claim 9
Habib discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the builder component updates the user interface based on detecting a change in the configuration component (Habib: [0010], versions differ).
Claims 10-13, 16-18, and 19-20
The limitations of claims 10-13, 16-18, and 19-20 correspond to the limitations of claims 1-4 and 7-9 and as such are rejected in a corresponding manner. Further, Habib discloses an implementation using processors and memory with executable instructions (Habib: [0094]-[0100]).
Claim(s) 5 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2016/0098261 A1 to Habib et al. (herein Habib) in view of US 2014/0282480 A1 to Matthew et al. (herein Matthew).
Claim 5
Habib shows the method of claim 1, wherein, upon receiving an indication from a user to stop updating a user interface content item within the user interface, the builder component ceases updating the user interface content item according to the specified schedule (Habib: [0071]; [0075], updates may be “manual user election” as opposed to various other scheduled/automatic means).
Habib dose not explicitly state “the builder … modifies the user interface content item to indicate that updates have been ceased”. However, Matthew demonstrates that it was known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a user interface to indicate that updates are ceased (Matthew: figure 10, element 1050; [0092]-[0096], the badge displaying the number of updates that are available shows updates not occurring). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the user interface, controlled by the localization module (claimed builder component), with being modified to display updates that are available, that is to say updates not being applied or where update application is ceased, as suggested by the teachings of Matthew. This implementation would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have found: both Habib and Matthew are directed toward updates and user interfaces; the implementation of is an application of a known element/technique yielding a predictable result; and since Habib teaches updates can be manually applied, Matthew’s display/reminder of updates being ceased would be beneficial for ensuring updates are applied.
Claim 14
The limitations of claim 14 correspond to the limitations of claim 5 and as such are rejected in a corresponding manner.
Claim(s) 6 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2016/0098261 A1 to Habib et al. (herein Habib) in view of US 2015/0347102 A1 to Lattner et al. (herein Lattner).
Claim 6
Habib discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first computing environment is based on a first programming language (Habib: [0062], xCode development environment), the second computing environment is based on a second programming language (Habib: [0062], iOS applications), and the builder component is configured to serve as an interface between the first computing environment and the second computing environment (Habib: [0062], localization module as an SDK).
To the extent Habib does not explicitly state the first and second languages are different, Lattner demonstrates that it was known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for xcode development to use multiple languages and for components to interface between those multiple languages (Lattner: [0094], [0110]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Xcode or other components of the development server (first environment) of Habib in the Swift or Objective C language, and to implement the user device (second environment) of Habib in the other language, while the localization module (builder component) interfaces between the two as suggested by the teachings of Lattner. This implementation would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have found: the implementation of is an application of a known element/technique yielding a predictable result; both Habib and Lattner are directed to Xcode development and environments; and such an arrangement beneficially allows existing code to continue to be used with newer code (Lattner: [0094]).
Claim 15
The limitations of claim 15 correspond to the limitations of claim 6 and as such are rejected in a corresponding manner.
Correspondence Information
/William H. Wood/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3992