DETAILED ACTION
The following action is in response to the amendment/remarks of 12/15/2025.
By the amendment, claims 1, 10, 11 and 12 are amended. Claim 7 is canceled. Claim 14 is newly added.
Claims 1-6 and 8-14 are pending and have been considered below.
Response to Arguments/Amendment
Applicant’s argument regarding the 35 USC 112(b) rejection of claim 12 has been considered and is persuasive in light of the corresponding amendment. The 35 USC 112(b) rejection of claim 12 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the 35 USC 102 rejection of claims 1-4 and 6-12 by SOOKMAN (Remarks pages 6-7) and the 35 USC 103 rejection of claim 5 over SOOKMAN in view of MALY (Remarks pages 7-8) have been considered and found persuasive in light of the corresponding amendments. Particularly, the Examiner notes that while SOOKMAN does disclose a physical button used to launch the emergency application (col 19 lines 22-24), SOOKMAN fails to disclose wherein activation of the physical button is part of the first user input which causes the ceasing and displaying steps. Accordingly, the 35 USC 102 rejection of claims 1-4, 6-12 by SOOKMAN and the 35 USC 103 rejection of claim 5 over SOOKMAN and MALY are withdrawn. However, on further search and consideration, new grounds of rejection have been made in light of GAO (US 20160187997 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sookman et al., US 8,890,685 B1 [“SOOKMAN”] in view of Gao et al., US 2016/0187997 A1 [“GAO”].
Regarding claim 1, SOOKMAN discloses an electronic device (col 5 lines 13-60: mobile device), comprising:
a display (col 5 lines 13-60);
a physical button (col 19 lines 22-28);
one or more processors (col 5 lines 13-60);
memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors (col 5 lines 13-60), the one or more programs including instructions for:
while displaying, via the display, a first user interface detecting a first user input (Fig. 8, Fig. 14, col 13 lines 50-61, col 22 lines 11-24);
in response to detecting the first user input (col 14 lines 2-8, col 22 lines 15-17):
ceasing to display the first user interface that was displayed when the first user input was detected (Fig. 9, Fig. 15); and
displaying, via the display, a second user interface including a visual indication of a countdown for initiation of a respective operation and one or more selectable user interface objects that were not included in the first user interface (Fig. 9 col 14 lines 2-8, Fig. 15 col 22 lines 42-47), wherein completion of the countdown causes initiation of the respective operation (col 14 lines 7-19, col 15 lines 18-20);
after displaying the second user interface, determining that the countdown has completed (col 14 lines 7-19, col 15 lines 18-20); and
in response to determining that the countdown has completed, causing initiation of the respective operation (col 14 lines 7-19, col 15 lines 18-20).
While SOOKMAN discloses activating a physical button to launch the emergency application (col 19 lines 22-24), SOOKMAN fails to disclose wherein activation of the physical button is part of the first user input which causes the ceasing display of the first user interface and displaying of the second user interface.
GAO discloses methods for interacting with an electronic device for initiating actions through user inputs (¶2-3, 5). In particular, GAO discloses in response to receiving and while continuing to receive a user input through a physical button, performing a corresponding action displayed on the display screen (¶29, ¶47-48, Fig. 5, Fig. 6). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art and the teachings of the SOOKMAN and GAO before them before the effective filing of the claimed invention to combine the continued activation of a physical button causing initiation of a respective operation, as taught by GAO, with the activation first user input ceasing display of the first user interface and displaying the second user interface having the visual countdown to a respective operation of SOOKMAN. One would have been motivated to make this combination to provide the user with easier and convenient methods of interaction with the electronic device, as suggested by GAO (¶26-29).
Regarding claim 2, SOOKMAN and GAO disclose the electronic device of claim 1, and SOOKMAN further discloses:
in response to determining that the countdown has not completed, forgoing performing the respective operation (col 14 lines 23-25).
Regarding claim 3, SOOKMAN and GAO disclose the electronic device of claim 1, and SOOKMAN further discloses:
while continuing to detect the first user input:
determining whether a duration of the first user input exceeds a first predetermined amount of time (col 26 lines 1-2: input in form of tactile input inherently requires a time threshold) and
in accordance with a determination that the duration of the first user input exceeds the first predetermined amount of time, displaying an affordance for performing the respective operation (Fig. 9 col 14 lines 2-8, Fig. 15 col 22 lines 42-47).
Regarding claim 4, SOOKMAN and GAO disclose the electronic device of claim 3, and SOOKMAN further discloses wherein the visual indication of the countdown is displayed at a location corresponding to the affordance for performing the respective operation (Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 6, SOOKMAN and GAO disclose the electronic device of claim 3, and SOOKMAN further discloses:
detecting, via the display, a second user input directed to the affordance for performing the respective operation (col 22 lines 42-45); and
in response to detecting the second user input directed to the affordance, performing the respective operation (col 22 lines 42-45).
Regarding claim 7, SOOKMAN and GAO disclose the electronic device of claim 1, and SOOKMAN further discloses wherein the first user input includes activation of a physical button on the electronic device (col 19 lines 20-25).
Regarding claim 8, SOOKMAN and GAO disclose the electronic device of claim 1, and SOOKMAN further discloses while displaying the visual indication of the countdown, providing audio feedback to indicate progress of the countdown (col 25 lines 65-67).
Regarding claim 9, SOOKMAN and GAO disclose the electronic device of claim 1, and SOOKMAN further discloses:
subsequent to completion of the countdown, providing an audio output (col 15 lines 21-23).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, each of claims 10 and 11 recite limitations similar to claim 1 and are similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 12, SOOKMAN and GAO disclose the electronic device of claim 1, and SOOKMAN further discloses the one or more programs further including instructions for:
subsequent to initiation of the respective operation, displaying, via the display, a second visual indication of a second countdown, wherein completion of the countdown causes initiation of a second respective operation different from the respective operation (col 14 lines 24-30).
Regarding claim 14, SOOKMAN and GAO disclose the electronic device of claim 1, and GAO further discloses wherein the countdown progresses while the physical button is activated and does not progress when the physical button ceases to be activated (¶48: stop when released).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SOOKMAN in view of GAO and in further view of Maly et al., US 2016/0227023 A1 [“MALY”].
Regarding claim 5, SOOKMAN and GAO disclose the electronic device of claim 3, and SOOKMAN further discloses wherein the affordance for performing the respective operation corresponds to a graphical element (Fig. 15).
SOOKMAN and GAO fail to disclose wherein the graphical element is a slider.
MALY discloses methods for performing actions and preventing accidental actions on mobile devices (¶18). In particular MALY discloses that confirming an action using an actuation of a graphical element, wherein the graphical element is a slider (¶36). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art and the teachings of SOOKMAN, GAO and MALY before them before the effective filing of the claimed invention to simply substitute a slider as a graphical element for selection of a confirmation of an action on a mobile device, as taught by MALY, for the graphical element for selection of a confirmation of an action on the mobile device of SOOKMAN and GAO. One would have been motivated to make this combination due to the rationale of simple substitution of similar elements to yield predictable results (KSR rationale).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jobs; Steven et al.
US 20080168290 A1
POWER-OFF METHODS FOR PORTABLE ELECTRONIC DEVICES
Hawkins; Jeffrey C. et al.
US 20100087185 A1
INTEGRATED PERSONAL DIGITAL ASSISTANT DEVICE
Nepo; Michael
US 20150137972 A1
SYSTEM AND METHOD FOR DISSEMINATING INFORMATION AND IMPLEMENTING MEDICAL INTERVENTIONS TO FACILITATE THE SAFE EMERGENCE OF USERS FROM PREDICAMENTS
/ANDREW L TANK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2141