Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 29, 2024, and August 26, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 8, and 10 – 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arndt et al (US 2019/0265036 A1) (herein after Arndt) in view of Cazzaniga et al (US 9,484,890 B1) (herein after Cazzaniga).
Regarding Claim 1, Arndt discloses, 1. A device, comprising: a gyroscope (Fig. 1, MEMS gyro sensor 101), which, in operation, generates a signal, the generated signal including a Coriolis component (Fig. 6, ¶ 40 Coriolis force; “¶ 38 FIG. 6 Process 600 can be implemented using, for example, system 300 shown in FIG. 3”) and a quadrature component (Fig. 3, ¶ 32 quadrature compensation value 302; “¶ 32 System 300 combines the architectures systems 100 and 200”); and processing circuitry (Fig. 3, claim 1: analog processing chain; rate signal demodulator 110) coupled to the gyroscope, wherein the processing circuitry, in operation: demodulates the signal (Fig. 3, ¶ 24 demodulate a rate signal) generated by the gyroscope using a feedback loop (Fig. 3, ¶ 31 quadrature ADC feedback), generating a demodulated signal, the demodulating including: —.
Arndt fails to disclose, — generating an in-phase demodulation signal; demodulating the signal generated by the gyroscope using the generated in-phase demodulation signal, generating a demodulated signal, wherein, the in-phase demodulation signal includes a phase-modulation signal and the demodulated signal includes a frequency component corresponding to the phase-modulation signal; estimating an amplitude of the frequency component corresponding to the phase-modulation signal in the demodulated signal; and generating a feedback signal based on the estimated amplitude of the frequency component corresponding to the phase-modulation signal in the demodulated signal; compensates for the quadrature component of the signal generated by the gyroscope using the feedback signal; and generates an output signal based on the demodulated signal.
In analogous art, Cazzaniga discloses, — generating an in-phase demodulation signal (Fig. 3. Col. 5. Ln. 54 in-phase information related to the sensor resonance signal FD); demodulating the signal generated by the gyroscope using the generated in-phase demodulation signal (Fig. 3. Col. 6. Ln. 6 to demodulator 322 but the two waveform signals may be are phase delayed), generating a demodulated signal (Fig. 3. Col. 6. Ln. 16 The demodulated signal may be fed into SINCI filter 328), wherein, the in-phase demodulation signal includes a phase-modulation signal (Fig. 3. Col. 5. Ln. 54 in-phase information related to the sensor resonance signal FD) and the demodulated signal includes a frequency component (Fig. 3. Col. 5. Ln. 60 frequency FD) corresponding to the phase-modulation signal; estimating an amplitude (Fig. 3. Col. 4. Ln. 15 made equal in amplitude) of the frequency component corresponding to the phase-modulation signal in the demodulated signal; and generating a feedback signal (Fig. 3. Col. 6. Ln. 34 closed control loop) based on the estimated amplitude of the frequency component corresponding to the phase-modulation signal (Fig. 3. Col. 6. Ln. 43 phase via phase signal 362) in the demodulated signal; compensates for the quadrature component of the signal (Fig. 3. Col. 4. Ln. 57 calibration quadrature signal 364) generated by the gyroscope using the feedback signal; and generates an output signal (Fig. 3. Col. 6. Ln. 56 the readout signal) based on the demodulated signal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Arndt by combining the processing circuitry disclosed by Arndt with processing circuitry, wherein the processing circuitry performs a method of, generating an in-phase demodulation signal; demodulating the signal generated by the gyroscope using the generated in-phase demodulation signal, generating a demodulated signal, wherein, the in-phase demodulation signal includes a phase-modulation signal and the demodulated signal includes a frequency component corresponding to the phase-modulation signal; estimating an amplitude of the frequency component corresponding to the phase-modulation signal in the demodulated signal; and generating a feedback signal based on the estimated amplitude of the frequency component corresponding to the phase-modulation signal in the demodulated signal; compensates for the quadrature component of the signal generated by the gyroscope using the feedback signal; and generates an output signal based on the demodulated signal; disclosed by Cazzaniga for the benefit of a gyroscope signal without the need for dedicated compensation electrodes and improve performance by reducing a quadrature error signal [Cazzaniga: Col. 1, Ln. 40 – 45: eliminate the need for dedicated compensation electrodes within a sensor and improve performance by reducing a quadrature error signal by using a mixed-signal architecture comprising analog and digital components in a closed-loop configuration].
Regarding Claim 2, Arndt in view of Cazzaniga disclose the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Arndt fails to disclose, 2. The device of claim 1, wherein the phase-modulation signal has a determined frequency and a determined amplitude.
Cazzaniga further discloses, 2. The device of claim 1, wherein the phase-modulation signal has a determined frequency (Fig. 3. Col. 5. Ln. 60 frequency FD) and a determined amplitude (Fig. 3. Col. 7. Ln. 12 amplitudes of demodulator 322).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Arndt in view of Cazzaniga by combining the processing circuitry disclosed by Arndt in view of Cazzaniga with processing circuitry, wherein the phase-modulation signal has a determined frequency and a determined amplitude; disclosed by Cazzaniga for the benefit of a gyroscope signal without the need for dedicated compensation electrodes and improve performance by reducing a quadrature error signal [Cazzaniga: Col. 1, Ln. 40 – 45: eliminate the need for dedicated compensation electrodes within a sensor and improve performance by reducing a quadrature error signal by using a mixed-signal architecture comprising analog and digital components in a closed-loop configuration]..
Regarding Claim 3, Arndt in view of Cazzaniga disclose the limitations of claim ___, which this claim depends on.
Arndt fails to disclose, 3. The device of claim 2, wherein the frequency component corresponding to the phase-modulation signal has the determined frequency of the phase-modulation signal and an amplitude proportional to a magnitude of the quadrature component of the signal generated by the gyroscope.
Cazzaniga further discloses, 3. The device of claim 2, wherein the frequency component corresponding to the phase-modulation signal has the determined frequency of the phase-modulation signal and an amplitude (Fig. 3. Col. 3. Ln. 50 output a proportional readout signal) proportional to a magnitude (Fig. 3. Col. 4. Ln. 15 signal may be made equal in amplitude) of the quadrature component of the signal generated by the gyroscope.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Arndt in view of Cazzaniga by combining the processing circuitry disclosed by Arndt in view of Cazzaniga with processing circuitry, wherein the frequency component corresponding to the phase-modulation signal has the determined frequency of the phase-modulation signal and an amplitude proportional to a magnitude of the quadrature component of the signal generated by the gyroscope; disclosed by Cazzaniga for the benefit of a gyroscope signal without the need for dedicated compensation electrodes and improve performance by reducing a quadrature error signal [Cazzaniga: Col. 1, Ln. 40 – 45: eliminate the need for dedicated compensation electrodes within a sensor and improve performance by reducing a quadrature error signal by using a mixed-signal architecture comprising analog and digital components in a closed-loop configuration].
Regarding Claim 4, Arndt in view of Cazzaniga disclose the limitations of claim 3, which this claim depends on.
Arndt fails to disclose, 4. The device of claim 3, wherein the generating the feedback signal includes: generating a first feedback signal indicative of the magnitude of the quadrature component of the signal generated by the gyroscope; and generating a second feedback signal indicative of a phase-error in the signal generated by the gyroscope.
Cazzaniga further discloses, 4. The device of claim 3, wherein the generating the feedback signal includes: generating a first feedback signal (Fig. 3. Col. 5. Ln. 43 the first path) indicative of the magnitude of the quadrature component (Fig. 3. Col. 7. Ln. 12 amplitudes of QCAL signal 366) of the signal generated by the gyroscope; and generating a second feedback signal (Fig. 3. Col. 6. Ln. 42 gain signal 360) indicative of a phase-error (Fig. 3. Col. 6. Ln. 43 phase signal 362) in the signal generated by the gyroscope.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Arndt in view of Cazzaniga by combining the processing circuitry disclosed by Arndt in view of Cazzaniga with processing circuitry, wherein the generating the feedback signal includes: generating a first feedback signal indicative of the magnitude of the quadrature component of the signal generated by the gyroscope; and generating a second feedback signal indicative of a phase-error in the signal generated by the gyroscope; disclosed by Cazzaniga for the benefit of a gyroscope signal without the need for dedicated compensation electrodes and improve performance by reducing a quadrature error signal [Cazzaniga: Col. 1, Ln. 40 – 45: eliminate the need for dedicated compensation electrodes within a sensor and improve performance by reducing a quadrature error signal by using a mixed-signal architecture comprising analog and digital components in a closed-loop configuration].
Regarding Claim 5, Arndt in view of Cazzaniga disclose the limitations of claim 4, which this claim depends on.
Arndt fails to disclose, 5. The device of claim 4, wherein the compensating for the quadrature component of the signal generated by the gyroscope includes: applying the first feedback signal to the gyroscope; and using the second feedback signal to generate the in-phase demodulation signal.
Cazzaniga further discloses, 5. The device of claim 4, wherein the compensating for the quadrature component of the signal generated by the gyroscope includes: applying the first feedback signal to the gyroscope (Fig. 3. Col. 7. Ln. 15 generate calibration quadrature 15 signal 364); and using the second feedback signal to generate the in-phase demodulation signal (Fig. 3. Col. 5. Ln. 54 comprise in-phase information related to the sensor resonance signal FD).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Arndt in view of Cazzaniga by combining the processing circuitry disclosed by Arndt in view of Cazzaniga with processing circuitry, wherein the compensating for the quadrature component of the signal generated by the gyroscope includes: applying the first feedback signal to the gyroscope; and using the second feedback signal to generate the in-phase demodulation signal; disclosed by Cazzaniga for the benefit of a gyroscope signal without the need for dedicated compensation electrodes and improve performance by reducing a quadrature error signal [Cazzaniga: Col. 1, Ln. 40 – 45: eliminate the need for dedicated compensation electrodes within a sensor and improve performance by reducing a quadrature error signal by using a mixed-signal architecture comprising analog and digital components in a closed-loop configuration].
Regarding Claim 6, Arndt in view of Cazzaniga disclose the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Arndt fails to disclose, 6. The device of claim 1, comprising: a lookup table, wherein the processing circuitry, in operation, generates the phase-modulation signal signal using the lookup table; a signal generator, wherein the processing circuitry, in operation, generates the phase-modulation signal signal using the signal generator; or a lookup table and a signal generator, wherein the processing circuitry, in operation, generates the phase-modulation signal using the lookup table and the signal generator.
Cazzaniga further discloses, 6. The device of claim 1, comprising: a lookup table (Fig. 3. LUT 324), wherein the processing circuitry, in operation, generates the phase-modulation signal signal using the lookup table (Fig. 3. Col. 6. Ln. 4 waveform signal LUT 324); a signal generator (Fig. 3. Waveform generator 414), wherein the processing circuitry, in operation, generates the phase-modulation signal signal using the signal generator (Fig. 3. Col. 7. Ln. 38 Waveform generator 414, generates, for example, a sinusoidal waveform); or a lookup table and a signal generator, wherein the processing circuitry, in operation, generates the phase-modulation signal using the lookup table and the signal generator.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Arndt in view of Cazzaniga by combining the processing circuitry disclosed by Arndt in view of Cazzaniga with processing circuitry, comprising: a lookup table, wherein the processing circuitry, in operation, generates the phase-modulation signal signal using the lookup table; a signal generator, wherein the processing circuitry, in operation, generates the phase-modulation signal signal using the signal generator; or a lookup table and a signal generator, wherein the processing circuitry, in operation, generates the phase-modulation signal using the lookup table and the signal generator; disclosed by Cazzaniga for the benefit of a gyroscope signal without the need for dedicated compensation electrodes and improve performance by reducing a quadrature error signal [Cazzaniga: Col. 1, Ln. 40 – 45: eliminate the need for dedicated compensation electrodes within a sensor and improve performance by reducing a quadrature error signal by using a mixed-signal architecture comprising analog and digital components in a closed-loop configuration].
Regarding Claim 7, Arndt in view of Cazzaniga disclose the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Arndt fails to disclose, 7. The device of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry, in operation: isolates the frequency component corresponding to the phase-modulation signal in the demodulated signal; and measures the amplitude of the isolated frequency component corresponding to the phase-modulation signal in the demodulated signal.
Cazzaniga further discloses, 7. The device of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry, in operation: isolates the frequency component (Fig. 5. Col. 7. Ln. 59 filter that decimates and lowpass filters the quadrature error signal; Note: “FIG. 5 is a flowchart of an illustrative process for quadrature error compensation”) corresponding to the phase-modulation signal in the demodulated signal; and measures the amplitude of the isolated frequency component corresponding to the phase-modulation signal in the demodulated signal (Fig. 3. Col. 6. Ln. 52 Calibration quadrature signal 364 may be equal in amplitude and phase to the quadrature error component of).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Arndt in view of Cazzaniga by combining the processing circuitry disclosed by Arndt in view of Cazzaniga with processing circuitry, wherein the processing circuitry, in operation: isolates the frequency component corresponding to the phase-modulation signal in the demodulated signal; and measures the amplitude of the isolated frequency component corresponding to the phase-modulation signal in the demodulated signal; disclosed by Cazzaniga for the benefit of a gyroscope signal without the need for dedicated compensation electrodes and improve performance by reducing a quadrature error signal [Cazzaniga: Col. 1, Ln. 40 – 45: eliminate the need for dedicated compensation electrodes within a sensor and improve performance by reducing a quadrature error signal by using a mixed-signal architecture comprising analog and digital components in a closed-loop configuration].
Regarding Claim 8, Arndt in view of Cazzaniga disclose the limitations of claim 7, which this claim depends on.
Arndt fails to disclose, 8. The device of claim 7 wherein the isolating the frequency component corresponding to the phase-modulation signal in the demodulated signal comprises: filtering; spectral bin extraction; digital modulation with low pass filtering; or combinations thereof.
Cazzaniga further discloses, 8. The device of claim 7 wherein the isolating the frequency component corresponding to the phase-modulation signal in the demodulated signal comprises: filtering (Fig. 3. SINC filter 328); spectral bin extraction (Fig. 3. notch filer 332,); digital modulation with low pass filtering (Fig. 3. Col. 6. Ln. 24 demodulated digital signal that it receives and ideally generates a pure baseband DC signal); or combinations thereof (Fig. 3. Col. 7. Ln. 20 Any combination of pre-calibration and adaptive compensation is envisioned).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Arndt in view of Cazzaniga by combining the processing circuitry disclosed by Arndt in view of Cazzaniga with processing circuitry, wherein the isolating the frequency component corresponding to the phase-modulation signal in the demodulated signal comprises: filtering; spectral bin extraction; digital modulation with low pass filtering; or combinations thereof. disclosed by Cazzaniga for the benefit of a gyroscope signal without the need for dedicated compensation electrodes and improve performance by reducing a quadrature error signal [Cazzaniga: Col. 1, Ln. 40 – 45: eliminate the need for dedicated compensation electrodes within a sensor and improve performance by reducing a quadrature error signal by using a mixed-signal architecture comprising analog and digital components in a closed-loop configuration].
Regarding Claim 10, Arndt in view of Cazzaniga disclose the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Arndt fails to disclose, 10. The device of claim 1, wherein, the gyroscope is a 3-axis gyroscope which, in operation, generates a respective signal for each axis; and the processing circuitry, in operation, simultaneously compensates for respective quadrature components of the respective signals for each axis.
Cazzaniga further discloses, 10. The device of claim 1, wherein, the gyroscope is a 3-axis gyroscope (Fig. 3. Col. 5. Ln. 20 signals of all three axes are simultaneously read out) which, in operation, generates a respective signal for each axis; and the processing circuitry, in operation, simultaneously compensates for respective quadrature components (Fig. 3. Col. 5. Ln. 26 divide the signals into three separate signal paths, each coupled to a dedicated closed feedback loop to separately compensate for the quadrature error) of the respective signals for each axis.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Arndt in view of Cazzaniga by combining the processing circuitry disclosed by Arndt in view of Cazzaniga with processing circuitry, wherein, the gyroscope is a 3-axis gyroscope which, in operation, generates a respective signal for each axis; and the processing circuitry, in operation, simultaneously compensates for respective quadrature components of the respective signals for each axis; disclosed by Cazzaniga for the benefit of a gyroscope signal without the need for dedicated compensation electrodes and improve performance by reducing a quadrature error signal [Cazzaniga: Col. 1, Ln. 40 – 45: eliminate the need for dedicated compensation electrodes within a sensor and improve performance by reducing a quadrature error signal by using a mixed-signal architecture comprising analog and digital components in a closed-loop configuration].
Regarding Claim 11, Arndt in view of Cazzaniga disclose the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Arndt further discloses, 11. The device of claim 1, comprising an integrated circuit (Fig. 3, ¶ 26 application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC), FPGA; ¶ 49 implemented in combination in a single embodiment) having the gyroscope and the processing circuitry embedded therein.
Regarding Claim 12, Arndt in view of Cazzaniga disclose the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Arndt fails to disclose, 12. The device of claim 1, wherein, the gyroscope, in operation, generates an analog signal; the processing circuitry comprises an analog-to-digital converter coupled between the gyroscope and the feedback loop, which, in operation, converts the analog signal to a digital signal; and the demodulating comprises demodulating the digital signal.
Cazzaniga further discloses, 12. The device of claim 1, wherein, the gyroscope, in operation, generates an analog signal (Fig. 3. Col. 5. Ln. 7 processed analog readout signal of sensor 302); the processing circuitry comprises an analog-to-digital converter (Fig. 3. Col. 5. Ln. 37 ADC 310 converts the analog signal it receives into the digital domain) coupled between the gyroscope and the feedback loop, which, in operation, converts the analog signal to a digital signal; and the demodulating comprises demodulating (Fig. 3. Col. 6. Ln. 16 The demodulated signal may be fed into SINCI filter 328) the digital signal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Arndt in view of Cazzaniga by combining the processing circuitry disclosed by Arndt in view of Cazzaniga with processing circuitry wherein, the gyroscope, in operation, generates an analog signal; the processing circuitry comprises an analog-to-digital converter coupled between the gyroscope and the feedback loop, which, in operation, converts the analog signal to a digital signal; and the demodulating comprises demodulating the digital signal; disclosed by Cazzaniga for the benefit of a gyroscope signal without the need for dedicated compensation electrodes and improve performance by reducing a quadrature error signal [Cazzaniga: Col. 1, Ln. 40 – 45: eliminate the need for dedicated compensation electrodes within a sensor and improve performance by reducing a quadrature error signal by using a mixed-signal architecture comprising analog and digital components in a closed-loop configuration].
Regarding Claim 13, Arndt in view of Cazzaniga disclose the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Arndt fails to disclose, 13. The device of claim 1, wherein, the generating the feedback signal includes: generating a first feedback signal indicative of the magnitude of the quadrature component of the signal generated by the gyroscope; and generating a second feedback signal indicative of a phase-error in the signal generated by the gyroscope; and the compensating for the quadrature component of the signal generated by the gyroscope includes: applying the first feedback signal to the gyroscope; and using the second feedback signal to apply a phase-trim to in-phase demodulation signal.
Cazzaniga further discloses, 13. The device of claim 1, wherein, the generating the feedback signal includes: generating a first feedback signal (Fig. 3. Col. 5. Ln. 43 the first path) indicative of the magnitude of the quadrature component (Fig. 3. Col. 7. Ln. 12 amplitudes of QCAL signal 366) of the signal generated by the gyroscope; and generating a second feedback signal (Fig. 3. Col. 6. Ln. 42 gain signal 360) indicative of a phase-error (Fig. 3. Col. 6. Ln. 43 phase signal 362) in the signal generated by the gyroscope; and the compensating for the quadrature component of the signal generated by the gyroscope includes: applying the first feedback signal to the gyroscope (Fig. 3. Col. 7. Ln. 15 generate calibration quadrature 15 signal 364); and using the second feedback signal to apply a phase-trim to in-phase demodulation signal (Fig. 3. Col. 5. Ln. 54 comprise in-phase information related to the sensor resonance signal FD).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Arndt in view of Cazzaniga by combining the processing circuitry disclosed by Arndt in view of Cazzaniga with processing circuitry, wherein, the generating the feedback signal includes: generating a first feedback signal indicative of the magnitude of the quadrature component of the signal generated by the gyroscope; and generating a second feedback signal indicative of a phase-error in the signal generated by the gyroscope; and the compensating for the quadrature component of the signal generated by the gyroscope includes: applying the first feedback signal to the gyroscope; and using the second feedback signal to apply a phase-trim to in-phase demodulation signal; disclosed by Cazzaniga for the benefit of a gyroscope signal without the need for dedicated compensation electrodes and improve performance by reducing a quadrature error signal [Cazzaniga: Col. 1, Ln. 40 – 45: eliminate the need for dedicated compensation electrodes within a sensor and improve performance by reducing a quadrature error signal by using a mixed-signal architecture comprising analog and digital components in a closed-loop configuration].
Regarding Claim 14, Arndt in view of Cazzaniga disclose the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Arndt fails to disclose, 14. The device of claim 1, wherein the phase-modulation signal is: a periodic signal having a period; or a pseudo-random sequence.
Cazzaniga further discloses, 14. The device of claim 1, wherein the phase-modulation signal is: a periodic signal having a period; or a pseudo-random sequence (Fig. 3. Col. 5. Ln. 49 digital representations of periodical waveforms, including sinusoidal and rectangular waveforms).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Arndt in view of Cazzaniga by combining the processing circuitry disclosed by Arndt in view of Cazzaniga with processing circuitry, wherein the phase-modulation signal is: a periodic signal having a period; or a pseudo-random sequence; disclosed by Cazzaniga for the benefit of a gyroscope signal without the need for dedicated compensation electrodes and improve performance by reducing a quadrature error signal [Cazzaniga: Col. 1, Ln. 40 – 45: eliminate the need for dedicated compensation electrodes within a sensor and improve performance by reducing a quadrature error signal by using a mixed-signal architecture comprising analog and digital components in a closed-loop configuration].
Regarding Claim 15 Arndt discloses, 15. A system (Fig. 1, system 100), comprising: a host processor (Fig. 1, claim 1: digital processing chain); and an integrated circuit (Fig. 3, ¶ 26 application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC), FPGA; ¶ 49 implemented in combination in a single embodiment; claim 1: analog processing chain) coupled to the host processor, the integrated circuit including: a gyroscope (Fig. 1, MEMS gyro sensor 101), which, in operation, generates a signal, the generated signal including a Coriolis component (Fig. 6, ¶ 40 Coriolis force; “¶ 38 FIG. 6 Process 600 can be implemented using, for example, system 300 shown in FIG. 3”) and a quadrature component (Fig. 3, ¶ 32 quadrature compensation value 302; “¶ 32 System 300 combines the architectures systems 100 and 200”); and processing circuitry coupled to the gyroscope, wherein the processing circuitry, in operation: demodulates the signal (Fig. 3, ¶ 24 demodulate a rate signal) generated by the gyroscope using a feedback loop (Fig. 3, ¶ 31 quadrature ADC feedback), generating a demodulated signal, the demodulating including: —
Arndt fails to disclose, — generating an in-phase demodulation signal; demodulating the signal generated by the gyroscope using the generated in-phase demodulation signal, generating a demodulated signal, wherein, the in-phase demodulation signal includes a phase-modulation signal and the demodulated signal includes a frequency component corresponding to the phase-modulation signal; estimating an amplitude of the frequency component corresponding to the phase-modulation signal in the demodulated signal; and generating a feedback signal based on the estimated amplitude of the frequency component corresponding to the phase-modulation signal in the demodulated signal; compensates for the quadrature component of the signal generated by the gyroscope using the feedback signal; and generates an output signal based on the demodulated signal.
In analogous art, Cazzaniga teaches, — generating an in-phase demodulation signal (Fig. 3. Col. 5. Ln. 54 in-phase information related to the sensor resonance signal FD); demodulating the signal generated by the gyroscope using the generated in-phase demodulation signal (Fig. 3. Col. 6. Ln. 6 to demodulator 322 but the two waveform signals may be are phase delayed), generating a demodulated signal (Fig. 3. Col. 6. Ln. 16 The demodulated signal may be fed into SINCI filter 328), wherein, the in-phase demodulation signal includes a phase-modulation signal (Fig. 3. Col. 5. Ln. 54 in-phase information related to the sensor resonance signal FD) and the demodulated signal includes a frequency component (Fig. 3. Col. 5. Ln. 60 frequency FD) corresponding to the phase-modulation signal; estimating an amplitude (Fig. 3. Col. 4. Ln. 15 made equal in amplitude) of the frequency component corresponding to the phase-modulation signal in the demodulated signal; and generating a feedback signal (Fig. 3. Col. 6. Ln. 34 closed control loop) based on the estimated amplitude of the frequency component corresponding to the phase-modulation signal (Fig. 3. Col. 6. Ln. 43 phase via phase signal 362) in the demodulated signal; compensates for the quadrature component of the signal (Fig. 3. Col. 4. Ln. 57 calibration quadrature signal 364) generated by the gyroscope using the feedback signal; and generates an output signal (Fig. 3. Col. 6. Ln. 56 the readout signal) based on the demodulated signal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Arndt by combining the system disclosed by Arndt with a system, comprising: generating an in-phase demodulation signal; demodulating the signal generated by the gyroscope using the generated in-phase demodulation signal, generating a demodulated signal, wherein, the in-phase demodulation signal includes a phase-modulation signal and the demodulated signal includes a frequency component corresponding to the phase-modulation signal; estimating an amplitude of the frequency component corresponding to the phase-modulation signal in the demodulated signal; and generating a feedback signal based on the estimated amplitude of the frequency component corresponding to the phase-modulation signal in the demodulated signal; compensates for the quadrature component of the signal generated by the gyroscope using the feedback signal; and generates an output signal based on the demodulated signal; disclosed by Cazzaniga for the benefit of a gyroscope signal without the need for dedicated compensation electrodes and improve performance by reducing a quadrature error signal [Cazzaniga: Col. 1, Ln. 40 – 45: eliminate the need for dedicated compensation electrodes within a sensor and improve performance by reducing a quadrature error signal by using a mixed-signal architecture comprising analog and digital components in a closed-loop configuration].
Regarding Claim 16, Arndt in view of Cazzaniga disclose the limitations of claim 15, which this claim depends on.
Arndt fails to disclose,16. The system of claim 15, wherein, the phase-modulation signal has a determined frequency and a determined amplitude, and the frequency component corresponding to the phase-modulation signal has the determined frequency of the phase-modulation signal and an amplitude proportional to a magnitude of the quadrature component of the signal generated by the gyroscope.
Cazzaniga further discloses, 16. The system of claim 15, wherein, the phase-modulation signal has a determined frequency (Fig. 3. Col. 5. Ln. 60 frequency FD) and a determined amplitude (Fig. 3. Col. 7. Ln. 12 amplitudes of demodulator 322), and the frequency component corresponding to the phase-modulation signal has the determined frequency of the phase-modulation signal and an amplitude (Fig. 3. Col. 3. Ln. 50 output a proportional readout signal) proportional to a magnitude (Fig. 3. Col. 4. Ln. 15 signal may be made equal in amplitude) of the quadrature component of the signal generated by the gyroscope.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Arndt in view of Cazzaniga by combining the system disclosed by Arndt in view of Cazzaniga with a system, wherein, the phase-modulation signal has a determined frequency and a determined amplitude, and the frequency component corresponding to the phase-modulation signal has the determined frequency of the phase-modulation signal and an amplitude proportional to a magnitude of the quadrature component of the signal generated by the gyroscope; disclosed by Cazzaniga for the benefit of a gyroscope signal without the need for dedicated compensation electrodes and improve performance by reducing a quadrature error signal [Cazzaniga: Col. 1, Ln. 40 – 45: eliminate the need for dedicated compensation electrodes within a sensor and improve performance by reducing a quadrature error signal by using a mixed-signal architecture comprising analog and digital components in a closed-loop configuration].
Regarding Claim 17, Arndt in view of Cazzaniga disclose the limitations of claim 16, which this claim depends on.
Arndt fails to disclose, 17. The system of claim 16, wherein, the generating the feedback signal includes: generating a first feedback signal indicative of the magnitude of the quadrature component of the signal generated by the gyroscope; and generating a second feedback signal indicative of a phase-error in the signal generated by the gyroscope; and the compensating for the quadrature component of the signal generated by the gyroscope includes: applying the first feedback signal to the gyroscope; and using the second feedback signal to apply a phase-trim to in-phase demodulation signal.
Cazzaniga further discloses, 17. The system of claim 16, wherein, the generating the feedback signal includes: generating a first feedback signal (Fig. 3. Col. 5. Ln. 43 the first path) indicative of the magnitude of the quadrature component (Fig. 3. Col. 7. Ln. 12 amplitudes of QCAL signal 366) of the signal generated by the gyroscope; and generating a second feedback signal (Fig. 3. Col. 6. Ln. 42 gain signal 360) indicative of a phase-error (Fig. 3. Col. 6. Ln. 43 phase signal 362) in the signal generated by the gyroscope; and the compensating for the quadrature component of the signal generated by the gyroscope includes: applying the first feedback signal to the gyroscope (Fig. 3. Col. 7. Ln. 15 generate calibration quadrature 15 signal 364); and using the second feedback signal to apply a phase-trim to in-phase demodulation signal(Fig. 3. Col. 5. Ln. 54 comprise in-phase information related to the sensor resonance signal FD).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Arndt in view of Cazzaniga by combining the system disclosed by Arndt in view of Cazzaniga with a system, wherein, the generating the feedback signal includes: generating a first feedback signal indicative of the magnitude of the quadrature component of the signal generated by the gyroscope; and generating a second feedback signal indicative of a phase-error in the signal generated by the gyroscope; and the compensating for the quadrature component of the signal generated by the gyroscope includes: applying the first feedback signal to the gyroscope; and using the second feedback signal to apply a phase-trim to in-phase demodulation signal; disclosed by Cazzaniga for the benefit of a gyroscope signal without the need for dedicated compensation electrodes and improve performance by reducing a quadrature error signal [Cazzaniga: Col. 1, Ln. 40 – 45: eliminate the need for dedicated compensation electrodes within a sensor and improve performance by reducing a quadrature error signal by using a mixed-signal architecture comprising analog and digital components in a closed-loop configuration].
Regarding Claim 18, Arndt in view of Cazzaniga disclose the limitations of claim 15, which this claim depends on.
Arndt fails to disclose, 18. The system of claim 15, wherein, the gyroscope is a 3-axis gyroscope which, in operation, generates a respective signal for each axis; and the processing circuitry, in operation, simultaneously compensates for respective quadrature components of the respective signals for each axis.
Cazzaniga further discloses, 18. The system of claim 15, wherein, the gyroscope is a 3-axis gyroscope (Fig. 3. Col. 5. Ln. 20 signals of all three axes are simultaneously read out) which, in operation, generates a respective signal for each axis; and the processing circuitry, in operation, simultaneously compensates for respective quadrature components (Fig. 3. Col. 5. Ln. 26 divide the signals into three separate signal paths, each coupled to a dedicated closed feedback loop to separately compensate for the quadrature error) of the respective signals for each axis.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Arndt in view of Cazzaniga by combining the system disclosed by Arndt in view of Cazzaniga with a system, wherein, the gyroscope is a 3-axis gyroscope which, in operation, generates a respective signal for each axis; and the processing circuitry, in operation, simultaneously compensates for respective quadrature components of the respective signals for each axis; disclosed by Cazzaniga for the benefit of a gyroscope signal without the need for dedicated compensation electrodes and improve performance by reducing a quadrature error signal [Cazzaniga: Col. 1, Ln. 40 – 45: eliminate the need for dedicated compensation electrodes within a sensor and improve performance by reducing a quadrature error signal by using a mixed-signal architecture comprising analog and digital components in a closed-loop configuration].
Regarding Claim 19 Arndt discloses, 19. A method, comprising: generating, using a gyroscope (Fig. 1, Abstract: method for MEMS gyroscope; MEMS gyro sensor 101), a signal, the generated signal including a Coriolis component (Fig. 6, ¶ 40 Coriolis force; “¶ 38 FIG. 6 Process 600 can be implemented using, for example, system 300 shown in FIG. 3”) and a quadrature component (Fig. 3, ¶ 32 quadrature compensation value 302; “¶ 32 System 300 combines the architectures systems 100 and 200”); demodulating the signal (Fig. 3, ¶ 24 demodulate a rate signal) generated by the gyroscope using a feedback loop (Fig. 3, ¶ 31 quadrature ADC feedback), generating a demodulated signal, the demodulating including: —
Arndt fails to disclose, — generating an in-phase demodulation signal; and demodulating the signal generated by the gyroscope using the generated in-phase demodulation signal, generating a demodulated signal, wherein, the in-phase demodulation signal includes a phase-modulation signal and the demodulated signal includes a frequency component corresponding to the phase-modulation signal; estimating an amplitude of the frequency component corresponding to the phase-modulation signal in the demodulated signal; and generating a feedback signal based on the estimated amplitude of the frequency component corresponding to the phase-modulation signal in the demodulated signal; compensating for the quadrature component of the signal generated by the gyroscope using the feedback signal; and generating an output signal based on the demodulated signal.
In analogous art, Cazzaniga discloses, — generating an in-phase demodulation signal (Fig. 3. Col. 5. Ln. 54 in-phase information related to the sensor resonance signal FD); and demodulating the signal generated by the gyroscope using the generated in-phase demodulation signal (Fig. 3. Col. 6. Ln. 6 to demodulator 322 but the two waveform signals may be are phase delayed), generating a demodulated signal (Fig. 3. Col. 6. Ln. 16 The demodulated signal may be fed into SINCI filter 328), wherein, the in-phase demodulation signal includes a phase-modulation signal (Fig. 3. Col. 5. Ln. 54 in-phase information related to the sensor resonance signal FD) and the demodulated signal includes a frequency component (Fig. 3. Col. 5. Ln. 60 frequency FD) corresponding to the phase-modulation signal; estimating an amplitude (Fig. 3. Col. 4. Ln. 15 made equal in amplitude) of the frequency component corresponding to the phase-modulation signal in the demodulated signal; and generating a feedback signal (Fig. 3. Col. 6. Ln. 34 closed control loop) based on the estimated amplitude of the frequency component corresponding to the phase-modulation signal (Fig. 3. Col. 6. Ln. 43 phase via phase signal 362) in the demodulated signal; compensating for the quadrature component of the signal (Fig. 3. Col. 4. Ln. 57 calibration quadrature signal 364) generated by the gyroscope using the feedback signal; and generating an output signal (Fig. 3. Col. 6. Ln. 56 the readout signal) based on the demodulated signal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Arndt by combining the method performed by the processing circuitry disclosed by Arndt with a method performed by a processing circuitry, wherein the processing circuitry performs a method of, generating an in-phase demodulation signal; and demodulating the signal generated by the gyroscope using the generated in-phase demodulation signal, generating a demodulated signal, wherein, the in-phase demodulation signal includes a phase-modulation signal and the demodulated signal includes a frequency component corresponding to the phase-modulation signal; estimating an amplitude of the frequency component corresponding to the phase-modulation signal in the demodulated signal; and generating a feedback signal based on the estimated amplitude of the frequency component corresponding to the phase-modulation signal in the demodulated signal; compensating for the quadrature component of the signal generated by the gyroscope using the feedback signal; and generating an output signal based on the demodulated signal; disclosed by Cazzaniga for the benefit of a gyroscope signal without the need for dedicated compensation electrodes and improve performance by reducing a quadrature error signal [Cazzaniga: Col. 1, Ln. 40 – 45: eliminate the need for dedicated compensation electrodes within a sensor and improve performance by reducing a quadrature error signal by using a mixed-signal architecture comprising analog and digital components in a closed-loop configuration].
Regarding Claim 20, Arndt in view of Cazzaniga disclose the limitations of claim 19, which this claim depends on.
Arndt fails to disclose, 20. The method of claim 19, wherein, the phase-modulation signal has a determined frequency and a determined amplitude, and the frequency component corresponding to the phase-modulation signal has the determined frequency of the phase-modulation signal and an amplitude proportional to a magnitude of the quadrature component of the signal generated by the gyroscope.
Cazzaniga further discloses, 20. The method of claim 19, wherein, the phase-modulation signal has a determined frequency (Fig. 3. Col. 5. Ln. 60 frequency FD) and a determined amplitude (Fig. 3. Col. 7. Ln. 12 amplitudes of demodulator 322), and the frequency component corresponding to the phase-modulation signal has the determined frequency of the phase-modulation signal and an amplitude (Fig. 3. Col. 3. Ln. 50 output a proportional readout signal) proportional to a magnitude (Fig. 3. Col. 4. Ln. 15 signal may be made equal in amplitude) of the quadrature component of the signal generated by the gyroscope.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Arndt in view of Cazzaniga by combining the method performed by the processing circuitry disclosed by Arndt in view of Cazzaniga with a method performed by a processing circuitry, wherein, the phase-modulation signal has a determined frequency and a determined amplitude, and the frequency component corresponding to the phase-modulation signal has the determined frequency of the phase-modulation signal and an amplitude proportional to a magnitude of the quadrature component of the signal generated by the gyroscope; disclosed by Cazzaniga for the benefit of a gyroscope signal without the need for dedicated compensation electrodes and improve performance by reducing a quadrature error signal [Cazzaniga: Col. 1, Ln. 40 – 45: eliminate the need for dedicated compensation electrodes within a sensor and improve performance by reducing a quadrature error signal by using a mixed-signal architecture comprising analog and digital components in a closed-loop configuration].
Regarding Claim 21, Arndt in view of Cazzaniga disclose the limitations of claim 20, which this claim depends on.
Arndt fails to disclose, 21. The method of claim 20, wherein, the generating the feedback signal includes: generating a first feedback signal indicative of the magnitude of the quadrature component of the signal generated by the gyroscope; and generating a second feedback signal indicative of a phase-error in the signal generated by the gyroscope; and the compensating for the quadrature component of the signal generated by the gyroscope includes: applying the first feedback signal to the gyroscope; and using the second feedback signal to apply a phase-trim to in-phase demodulation signal.
Cazzaniga further discloses, 21. The method of claim 20, wherein, the generating the feedback signal includes: generating a first feedback signal (Fig. 3. Col. 5. Ln. 43 the first path) indicative of the magnitude of the quadrature component (Fig. 3. Col. 7. Ln. 12 amplitudes of QCAL signal 366) of the signal generated by the gyroscope; and generating a second feedback signal (Fig. 3. Col. 6. Ln. 42 gain signal 360) indicative of a phase-error (Fig. 3. Col. 6. Ln. 43 phase signal 362) in the signal generated by the gyroscope; and the compensating for the quadrature component of the signal generated by the gyroscope includes: applying the first feedback signal to the gyroscope (Fig. 3. Col. 7. Ln. 15 generate calibration quadrature 15 signal 364); and using the second feedback signal to apply a phase-trim to in-phase demodulation signal (Fig. 3. Col. 5. Ln. 54 comprise in-phase information related to the sensor resonance signal FD).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Arndt in view of Cazzaniga by combining the method performed by the processing circuitry disclosed by Arndt in view of Cazzaniga with a method performed by a processing circuitry, wherein, the generating the feedback signal includes: generating a first feedback signal indicative of the magnitude of the quadrature component of the signal generated by the gyroscope; and generating a second feedback signal indicative of a phase-error in the signal generated by the gyroscope; and the compensating for the quadrature component of the signal generated by the gyroscope includes: applying the first feedback signal to the gyroscope; and using the second feedback signal to apply a phase-trim to in-phase demodulation signal; disclosed by Cazzaniga for the benefit of a gyroscope signal without the need for dedicated compensation electrodes and improve performance by reducing a quadrature error signal [Cazzaniga: Col. 1, Ln. 40 – 45: eliminate the need for dedicated compensation electrodes within a sensor and improve performance by reducing a quadrature error signal by using a mixed-signal architecture comprising analog and digital components in a closed-loop configuration].
Regarding Claim 22, Arndt in view of Cazzaniga disclose the limitations of claim 19, which this claim depends on.
Arndt fails to disclose, 22. The method of claim 19, wherein, the gyroscope is a 3-axis gyroscope which, in operation, generates a respective signal for each axis; and the method includes simultaneously compensating for respective quadrature components of the respective signals for each axis.
Cazzaniga further discloses, 22. The method of claim 19, wherein, the gyroscope is a 3-axis gyroscope (Fig. 3. Col. 5. Ln. 20 signals of all three axes are simultaneously read out) which, in operation, generates a respective signal for each axis; and the method includes simultaneously compensating for respective quadrature components (Fig. 3. Col. 5. Ln. 26 divide the signals into three separate signal paths, each coupled to a dedicated closed feedback loop to separately compensate for the quadrature error) of the respective signals for each axis.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Arndt in view of Cazzaniga by combining the method performed by the processing circuitry disclosed by Arndt in view of Cazzaniga with a method performed by a processing circuitry, wherein, the gyroscope is a 3-axis gyroscope which, in operation, generates a respective signal for each axis; and the method includes simultaneously compensating for respective quadrature components of the respective signals for each axis; disclosed by Cazzaniga for the benefit of a gyroscope signal without the need for dedicated compensation electrodes and improve performance by reducing a quadrature error signal [Cazzaniga: Col. 1, Ln. 40 – 45: eliminate the need for dedicated compensation electrodes within a sensor and improve performance by reducing a quadrature error signal by using a mixed-signal architecture comprising analog and digital components in a closed-loop configuration].
Regarding Claim 23 Arndt discloses, 23. A non-transitory computer-readable medium (Fig. 1, ¶ 26 one or more storage devices, such as cache memory ( e.g., flash memory)) having contents which configure processing circuitry (Fig. 3, claim 1: analog processing chain; rate signal demodulator 110) to perform a method, the method comprising: demodulating a signal (Fig. 3, ¶ 24 demodulate a rate signal) generated by a gyroscope (Fig. 1, Abstract: method for MEMS gyroscope; MEMS gyro sensor 101) using a feedback loop (Fig. 3, ¶ 31 quadrature ADC feedback), generating a demodulated signal, the signal generated by the gyroscope including a Coriolis component (Fig. 6, ¶ 40 Coriolis force; “¶ 38 FIG. 6 Process 600 can be implemented using, for example, system 300 shown in FIG. 3”) and a quadrature component (Fig. 3, ¶ 32 quadrature compensation value 302; “¶ 32 System 300 combines the architectures systems 100 and 200”), wherein the demodulating includes: —
Arndt fails to disclose, — generating an in-phase demodulation signal; and demodulating the signal generated by the gyroscope using the generated in-phase demodulation signal, generating a demodulated signal, wherein, the in-phase demodulation signal includes a phase-modulation signal and the demodulated signal includes a frequency component corresponding to the phase-modulation signal; estimating an amplitude of the frequency component in the demodulated signal corresponding to the phase-modulation signal; and generating a feedback signal based on the estimated amplitude of the frequency component in the demodulated signal corresponding to the phase-modulation signal; compensating for the quadrature component of the signal generated by the gyroscope using the feedback signal; and generating an output signal based on the demodulated signal.
In analogous art, Cazzaniga discloses, — generating an in-phase demodulation signal (Fig. 3. Col. 5. Ln. 54 in-phase information related to the sensor resonance signal FD); and demodulating the signal generated by the gyroscope using the generated in-phase demodulation signal (Fig. 3. Col. 6. Ln. 6 to demodulator 322 but the two waveform signals may be are phase delayed), generating a demodulated signal (Fig. 3. Col. 6. Ln. 16 The demodulated signal may be fed into SINCI filter 328), wherein, the in-phase demodulation signal includes a phase-modulation signal (Fig. 3. Col. 5. Ln. 54 in-phase information related to the sensor resonance signal FD) and the demodulated signal includes a frequency component (Fig. 3. Col. 5. Ln. 60 frequency FD) corresponding to the phase-modulation signal; estimating an amplitude (Fig. 3. Col. 4. Ln. 15 made equal in amplitude) of the frequency component in the demodulated signal corresponding to the phase-modulation signal; and generating a feedback signal (Fig. 3. Col. 6. Ln. 34 closed control loop) based on the estimated amplitude of the frequency component in the demodulated signal corresponding to the phase-modulation signal (Fig. 3. Col. 6. Ln. 43 phase via phase signal 362); compensating for the quadrature component of the signal (Fig. 3. Col. 4. Ln. 57 calibration quadrature signal 364) generated by the gyroscope using the feedback signal; and generating an output signal (Fig. 3. Col. 6. Ln. 56 the readout signal) based on the demodulated signal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Arndt by combining the non-transitory computer-readable medium disclosed by Arndt with a non-transitory computer-readable medium performing a method of, generating an in-phase demodulation signal; and demodulating the signal generated by the gyroscope using the generated in-phase demodulation signal, generating a demodulated signal, wherein, the in-phase demodulation signal includes a phase-modulation signal and the demodulated signal includes a frequency component corresponding to the phase-modulation signal; estimating an amplitude of the frequency component in the demodulated signal corresponding to the phase-modulation signal; and generating a feedback signal based on the estimated amplitude of the frequency component in the demodulated signal corresponding to the phase-modulation signal; compensating for the quadrature component of the signal generated by the gyroscope using the feedback signal; and generating an output signal based on the demodulated signal; disclosed by Cazzaniga for the benefit of a gyroscope signal without the need for dedicated compensation electrodes and improve performance by reducing a quadrature error signal [Cazzaniga: Col. 1, Ln. 40 – 45: eliminate the need for dedicated compensation electrodes within a sensor and improve performance by reducing a quadrature error signal by using a mixed-signal architecture comprising analog and digital components in a closed-loop configuration].
Regarding Claim 24, Arndt in view of Cazzaniga disclose the limitations of claim 23, which this claim depends on.
Arndt further discloses, 24. The non-transitory computer-readable medium according to claim 23, wherein the contents comprise instructions executable (Fig. 3, ¶ 7 storing instructions that when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations) by processing circuitry.
Regarding Claim 25, Arndt in view of Cazzaniga disclose the limitations of claim 23, which this claim depends on.
Arndt fails to disclose, 25. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 23, wherein, the generating the feedback signal includes: generating a first feedback signal indicative of the magnitude of the quadrature component of the signal generated by the gyroscope; and generating a second feedback signal indicative of a phase-error in the signal generated by the gyroscope; and the compensating for the quadrature component of the signal generated by the gyroscope includes: applying the first feedback signal to the gyroscope; and using the second feedback signal to apply a phase-trim to in-phase demodulation signal.
Cazzaniga further discloses, 25. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 23, wherein, the generating the feedback signal includes: generating a first feedback signal (Fig. 3. Col. 5. Ln. 43 the first path) indicative of the magnitude of the quadrature component (Fig. 3. Col. 7. Ln. 12 amplitudes of QCAL signal 366) of the signal generated by the gyroscope; and generating a second feedback signal (Fig. 3. Col. 6. Ln. 42 gain signal 360) indicative of a phase-error (Fig. 3. Col. 6. Ln. 43 phase signal 362) in the signal generated by the gyroscope; and the compensating for the quadrature component of the signal generated by the gyroscope includes: applying the first feedback signal to the gyroscope (Fig. 3. Col. 7. Ln. 15 generate calibration quadrature 15 signal 364); and using the second feedback signal to apply a phase-trim to in-phase demodulation signal (Fig. 3. Col. 5. Ln. 54 comprise in-phase information related to the sensor resonance signal FD).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Arndt in view of Cazzaniga by combining the non-transitory computer-readable medium disclosed by Arndt in view of Cazzaniga with a non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein, the generating the feedback signal includes: generating a first feedback signal indicative of the magnitude of the quadrature component of the signal generated by the gyroscope; and generating a second feedback signal indicative of a phase-error in the signal generated by the gyroscope; and the compensating for the quadrature component of the signal generated by the gyroscope includes: applying the first feedback signal to the gyroscope; and using the second feedback signal to apply a phase-trim to in-phase demodulation signal; disclosed by Cazzaniga for the benefit of a gyroscope signal without the need for dedicated compensation electrodes and improve performance by reducing a quadrature error signal [Cazzaniga: Col. 1, Ln. 40 – 45: eliminate the need for dedicated compensation electrodes within a sensor and improve performance by reducing a quadrature error signal by using a mixed-signal architecture comprising analog and digital components in a closed-loop configuration].
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arndt et al (US 2019/0265036 A1) (herein after Arndt) in view of Cazzaniga et al (US 9,484,890 B1) (herein after Cazzaniga), and further in view of Ell (US 2018/0299293 A1) (herein after Ell).
Regarding Claim 9, Arndt in view of Cazzaniga disclose the limitations of claim 7, which this claim depends on.
Arndt further discloses, 9. The device of claim 7, wherein the measuring the amplitude comprises measuring: — a peak-to-peak magnitude (Fig. 3, ¶ 25 peak detector 119); an envelope magnitude (Fig. 3, ¶ 24 out-of-band noise); a spectral magnitude (Fig. 3, ¶ 24 out-of-band noise); or combinations thereof (Fig. 3, ¶ 49 embodiments can also be implemented in combination, or in any suitable sub combination.).
Arndt and Cazzaniga fails to disclose, 9. The device of claim 7, wherein the measuring the amplitude comprises measuring: a root-mean-square (RMS) magnitude; —.
In analogous art, Ell discloses, 9. The device of claim 7, wherein the measuring the amplitude comprises measuring: a root-mean-square (RMS) magnitude (Fig. 5, ¶ 68 accelerometer root mean square (RMS) module 84); —.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Arndt in view of Cazzaniga by combining the processing circuitry disclosed by Arndt in view of Cazzaniga with processing circuitry, wherein the measuring the amplitude comprises measuring: a root-mean-square (RMS) magnitude; disclosed by Ell for the benefit of removing estimated bias and/or scale factor errors from gyroscope signals thereby increasing the accuracy [Ell: ¶ 14 In addition, the air data computer removes the estimated bias and/or scale factor errors from the sensed acceleration and angular rate parameters to produce error-corrected output values. Such error-corrected values are further utilized for subsequent attitude estimations, thereby increasing an accuracy of the acceleration and angular rate outputs].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ge et al. (US 2015/0192415 A1) discloses, gyroscope, which, in operation, generates a signal, the generated signal including a Coriolis component (Fig. 3A, ¶ 28 In mode 1 (300 in FIG. 3A) the ring 3 04 or disc resonator gyroscope has a tendency to deform elliptically along the X1-Y1 axes in FIG. 3A. In mode 2 (302 FIG. 3B), the ring 304 or disc resonator gyroscope has a tendency to deform elliptically along the X2-Y2 axes. Analogous dynamic equations for these type of disc resonator gyroscopes (Coriolis Vibratory Gyro, or CVG)).
/JOSEPH O. NYAMOGO/
Examiner
Art Unit 2858
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858 7/20/2026