DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-4 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities: Lines 19 and 20 of claim 1, and lines 18 and 21 of claim 12 recite the limitation “the greater amount of coolant” which lacks antecedent basis. It is believed the claim should read “a greater amount of coolant”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 and all dependent claims are objected to because of the following informalities: Line 9 of claim 5 “one or more guides for coolant flow.” It is unclear if this coolant flow is the same coolant flow as in line 5. If so, the claim should read “one or more guides for the coolant flow.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 1 of claim 8 should read “the coolant inlet”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 6 of claim 12 should read “the heat” having antecedence in .”heat” of claim 5, line 2 Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 5-7, 13-14, 16, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2017/0220084 to Wang et al.
Wang discloses;
As to claim 5, a system (Fig. 1 (100)), comprising: a cooling plate (Fig.2/3 (234,H), [0027]: the heat pipe (162) touches the evaporator (110) at the point (H), which is located on plate (234)) configured for dissipating heat and comprising a body defining a coolant chamber (110) having a coolant inlet (E1) and a coolant outlet (E2); an amount of ferrofluid ([0034]: combination of working liquid fluid (f) and magnetic powder (140) forms a ferrofluid) within the coolant chamber and arrangeable to at least partially define one or more guides ((140) in Fig.3 and in Fig.4, [0028]) for coolant flow within the coolant chamber between the coolant inlet and the coolant outlet; and a magnetic field emitter (131,133,135,137) positioned relative to the body so as to be operable to alter placement of the ferrofluid within the coolant chamber to adjust a physical characteristic of at least one of the one or more guides (adjusting the shape of (140)) for coolant flow within the coolant chamber between the coolant inlet and the coolant outlet.
As to claim 13, a method (see e.g. Fig.3/4) comprising: applying a magnetic field (via 131,133,135,137) to a coolant chamber (110) of a cooling plate (234); and altering a coolant flow path (F) in the coolant chamber by adjusting an arrangement of ferrofluid (140) within the coolant chamber using the magnetic field.
As to claim 6, the system of claim 5, wherein the physical characteristic comprises a shape (see e.g. Fig.3/4) of the at least one of the one or more guides (140).
As to claim 7, the system of claim 5, wherein the magnetic field emitter is operable to arrange the ferrofluid so that the at least one of the one or more guides defines a curved or non-straight shape (see e.g. Fig.4, (140)).
As to claim 14, the method of claim 13, wherein altering the coolant flow path (see e.g. Fig.3 (F)) comprises changing a shape (142a) of the coolant flow path.
As to claim 16, the method of claim 13, wherein altering the coolant flow path comprises changing a size (see e.g. Fig.3 (D1)) of the coolant flow path.
As to claim 19, the method of claim 13, wherein the magnetic field (see e.g. Fig. 6) is a first magnetic field (between 131 and 133); wherein the altering the coolant flow path in the coolant chamber comprises adjusting the ferrofluid within the coolant chamber into a first arrangement (narrow channel between 131 and 133) of ferrofluid in the coolant chamber in response to the first magnetic field to define a first flow path layout within the coolant chamber; and wherein the method further comprises: applying a second magnetic field (between 135 and 137) to the coolant chamber of the cooling plate; and adjusting the ferrofluid within the coolant chamber into a second arrangement (V shape between 135 and 137) of ferrofluid in the coolant chamber using the second magnetic field to define a second flow path layout within the coolant chamber.
Claim(s) 5-10, 13-14, and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2012/0275929 to Salsman.
Salsman discloses;
As to claim 5, a system (Fig.1/2), comprising: a cooling plate (151) configured for dissipating heat (substrate 151 is capable of dissipating heat to chamber 152) and comprising a body defining a coolant chamber (portion of 150 directly above 114) having a coolant inlet (defined as where fluid L meets 114) and a coolant outlet (defined where fluid L departs 114); an amount of ferrofluid (120) within the coolant chamber (see e.g. Fig.2) and arrangeable to at least partially define one or more guides (112) for coolant flow within the coolant chamber between the coolant inlet and the coolant outlet; and a magnetic field emitter (130) positioned relative to the body so as to be operable to alter placement of the ferrofluid within the coolant chamber to adjust a physical characteristic of at least one of the one or more guides for coolant flow within the coolant chamber between the coolant inlet and the coolant outlet.
As to claim 13, a method comprising: applying a magnetic field (via 130) to a coolant chamber (portion of 150 directly above 114) of a cooling plate (151); and altering a coolant flow path (152) in the coolant chamber by adjusting an arrangement of ferrofluid (120) within the coolant chamber (as the magnetic field is applied to the ferrofluid (120), the amount of ferro fluid in the chamber increases and obstructs the flow of fluid (F)) using the magnetic field (see e.g. Fig. 2).
As to claim 6, the system of claim 5, wherein the physical characteristic comprises a shape of the at least one of the one or more guides (see e.g. Fig.2).
As to claim 7, the system of claim 5, wherein the magnetic field emitter is operable to arrange the ferrofluid so that the at least one of the one or more guides defines a curved or non-straight shape (see e.g. Fig.2).
As to claim 8, the system of claim 5, wherein coolant inlet of the coolant chamber is configured to be coupled with a coolant supply (the inlet is capable of being coupled to a coolant supply) configured to supply coolant that is immiscible with a carrier substance of the ferrofluid (the membrane 112 preventing any coolant from mixing with the carrier substance of the ferrofluid (120)).
As to claim 9, the system of claim 5, wherein the magnetic field emitter is operable to arrange the ferrofluid so as to block coolant flow through at least one channel within the coolant chamber (see e.g. Fig 2).
As to claim 10, the system of claim 5, further comprising a ferrofluid supply system (actuation of magnet 132 supplies ferrofluid to (150)) operable to alter how much ferrofluid is in the coolant chamber by moving ferrofluid between a reservoir (110) and the coolant chamber.
As to claim 14, the method of claim 13, wherein altering the coolant flow path comprises changing a shape of the coolant flow path (see e.g. Fig. 2).
As to claim 16, the method of claim 13, wherein altering the coolant flow path comprises changing a size of the coolant flow path (see e.g. Fig. 2).
As to claim 17, the method of claim 13, wherein altering the coolant flow path comprises closing or blocking the coolant flow path (see e.g. Fig. 2).
As to claim 18, the method of claim 13, wherein altering the coolant flow path comprises opening or unblocking the coolant flow path (see e.g. Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2015/0257306 to Glew et al.
Glew discloses;
As to claim 13, A method comprising: applying a magnetic field ((276) see e.g. Fig.13/14) to a coolant chamber (72a/72b) of a cooling plate ((18) see e.g. Fig. 5, the substrate being a heat sink and therefore cooling plate of element (12) “…the substrate 18 may be the heat sink” [0039]); and altering a coolant flow path (see [0052] and Fig.13/14) in the coolant chamber by adjusting an arrangement of ferrofluid ((30) Magnetic particles may be dispersed in the fluid 30 to make the fluid metal more responsive to magnetic forces (e.g., a ferrofluid) [0044]) within the coolant chamber using the magnetic field.
As to claim 15, the method of claim 13, wherein altering the coolant flow path (Fig.12A/12B) comprises changing a location of the coolant flow path (flow path goes from 72a to 72b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0275929 to Salsman in view of US 2017/0220084 to Wang et al.
Salsman discloses all of the elements of claim 10. Salsman fails to disclose the system of claim 10, further comprising a heat-generating component positioned to be cooled by the cooling plate. Wang teaches a heat generating component (240) positioned to be cooled by a cooling plate (234). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the cooling plate of Salsman with a heat generating component as taught by Wang in order to provide cooling to the heat generating component via a fluid transfer system as taught by Wang.
Claim(s) 5-11, 13, 17,18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US 6,408,884 to Kamholz.
Kamholz discloses;
As to claim 5, a system, comprising: a cooling plate (5A) (see e.g. Fig.6A, cooling plate (5A) contains coolant chamber integrally formed therein) configured for dissipating heat and comprising a body defining a coolant chamber (See Fig.6A with annotations below) having a coolant inlet (40/140)(see e.g. Fig.5A) and a coolant outlet (107); an amount of ferrofluid (20) within the coolant chamber and arrangeable to at least partially define one or more guides (20a/20b) for coolant (45) flow within the coolant chamber between the coolant inlet and the coolant outlet; and a magnetic field emitter (30) positioned relative to the body so as to be operable to alter placement of the ferrofluid within the coolant chamber to adjust a physical characteristic of at least one of the one or more guides for coolant flow within the coolant chamber between the coolant inlet and the coolant outlet.
Alternatively, Kamholz does not explicitly state device (5A) being a cooling plate. Official notice is taken that cooling plates having fluidic pumping systems are well known in the art, as Kamholz discloses similar devices used in cooling applications (Col.1,ln.14-16). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to substitute the device of Kamholz with a cooling plate for the purpose of distributing a fluid flow across a heat conductive medium for the cooling of electronics.
As to claim 6, the system of claim 5, wherein the physical characteristic comprises a location (guide 20a/20b e.g. is able to move within the coolant chamber to different locations in response to a magnetic field see Fig.5A/5B) of the at least one of the one or more guides.
As to claim 7, the system of claim 5, wherein the magnetic field emitter is operable to arrange the ferrofluid so that the at least one of the one or more guides defines a curved or non- straight shape (see e.g. Fig.10).
As to claim 8, the system of claim 5, wherein [the] coolant inlet of the coolant chamber is configured to be coupled with a coolant supply (40 being a fluid reservoir) configured to supply coolant that is immiscible with a carrier substance of the ferrofluid (The carrier [fluid] is selected so that it is immiscible with and does not react with the fluid(s) to be moved through the device (col.5, ln.42-43)).
As to claim 9, the system of claim 5, wherein the magnetic field emitter is operable to arrange the ferrofluid so as to block coolant flow through at least one channel within the coolant chamber (In this case, a valve (which can be another slug) can be positioned in the flow channel on one side of the fluid inlet (12) and closed once the slug is moved to the other side of the fluid inlet (12 col.7,ln.20-27)).
As to claim 10, the system of claim 5, further comprising a ferrofluid supply system (57/68/70) operable to alter how much ferrofluid is in the coolant chamber by moving ferrofluid between a reservoir (70) and the coolant chamber.
As to claim 11, Kamholz does not disclose a heat-generating component positioned to be cooled by the cooling plate. Official notice is taken that cooling plates in thermal communication with heat generating components are well known in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the cooling plate of Kamholz with a heat generating component for the purpose of cooling said component.
As to claim 13, a method comprising: applying a magnetic field (via Magnet 30) to a coolant chamber (see Fig.6A with annotation above) of a cooling plate (5A) (see e.g. Fig.6A, cooling plate (5A) contains coolant chamber integrally formed therein); and altering a coolant flow path (see e.g. Fig. 5A-5C) in the coolant chamber by adjusting an arrangement of ferrofluid (20a/20b) within the coolant chamber using the magnetic field.
Alternatively, Kamholz does not explicitly state device (5A) being a cooling plate. Official notice is taken that cooling plates having fluidic pumping systems are well known in the art, as Kamholz discloses similar devices used in cooling applications (Col.1,ln.14-16). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to substitute the device of Kamholz for a cooling plate for the purpose of distributing a fluid flow across a heat conductive medium for the cooling of electronics.
As to claim 17, Kamholz discloses wherein altering the coolant flow path comprises closing or blocking the coolant flow path (In this case, a valve (which can be another slug) can be positioned in the flow channel on one side of the fluid inlet (12) and closed once the slug is moved to the other side of the fluid inlet (12)).
As to claim 18, the method of claim 13, wherein altering the coolant flow path comprises opening or unblocking the coolant flow path (Kamholz describes using the ferrofluid as a valve in which case the flow path would be both closed and opened (col.7,ln.20-27)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-4 are allowed.
Claims 12 and 20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the claim objection(s), set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The prior are does not disclose nor teach in regards to claims 1 and 12, “the ferrofluid in the first arrangement arranged to form a first set of walls defining a first set of coolant flow paths through the coolant chamber that facilitate a greater amount of coolant flow along the first zone of the processor than along the second zone of the processor, and the ferrofluid in the second arrangement arranged to form a different, second set of walls defining a different, second set of coolant flow paths through the coolant chamber that facilitate a greater amount of coolant flow along the second zone of the processor than along the first zone of the processor…”.
In regards to claim 20 the prior art fails to disclose, in combination with preceding claim limitations, a method wherein prior to the applying of a magnetic field, the method comprises: receiving an amount of ferrofluid through an introduction port into the coolant chamber; permitting air to escape from the coolant chamber through an air escape port in response to the receiving of the amount of ferrofluid through the introduction port; and sealing the introduction port and the air escape port.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2018/0352678 to Adams disclosing a means for directing a ferrofluid in multiple configurations, and US 2018/0087849 to Lai disclosing manipulating a ferrofluid in response to heating needs of a processor. US 8,398,295 to Yellen et al. disclosing magnetic fluid manipulation.
/JAMIL ALEXANDER DECKER/Examiner, Art Unit 2835
/ROBERT J HOFFBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835