Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 24, 2016 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. .
The applicant argued that the He and Abedini references fail to disclose or render obvious "resuming the forwarding using the side control information received before the detection of the beam failure based on the completion of the beam failure recovery”
In response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant’s arguments. Abedini teaches in [paragraph 0060] “a wireless repeater, such as a network-controlled repeater (NCR), may receive control information (e.g., via control signaling) from a network entity indicating how the wireless repeater is to directionally receive and forward signaling between the network entity and another device”, in [paragraph 0115] “the network entity 105 may control a behavior (e.g., a functioning or operation) of the forwarding functionality 215 via the side control information. In other words, the MT functionality 210 may control a behavior of the forwarding functionality 215 according to the received side control information from the network entity 105”, in [paragraph 0128] “the network entity 105 may transmit an explicit indication to the wireless repeater 205 to indicate, to the wireless repeater 205, whether the forwarding functionality 215 can become active (e.g., enter an ON state) following (e.g., in accordance with) a previous configuration of the forwarding functionality 215 or is expected to wait (e.g., in an OFF or inactive state) to receive a new indication (e.g., an RRC reconfiguration or updated/new/fresh side control information)”, and in [paragraph 0129] “the wireless repeater 205 may determine (e.g., identify, assume, or ascertain) to follow a previous configuration of the forwarding functionality 215 and may set the forwarding functionality 215 to an ON or active state when the wireless repeater 205 completes the BFR (e.g., the forwarding functionality 215 may become active as soon as the wireless repeater 205 completes the BFR procedure)”.
As shown, Abedini discloses that the network entity can control the behavior of the forwarding functionality via the side control information as is taught in paragraphs 0060 and 0115, thus it would be obvious that the initial transmission could be of control information such as side control information.
The decision of whether the forwarding functionality can be reactivated is using either a previous configuration or updated/new/fresh side control information which indicates that the previous configuration can be a side control information that could be non-updated/old/stale as is taught in paragraph 0128.
The independent claims 7, 11, and 15 recites similar distinguishing features as claim 1 and thus are similarly disclosed by the Abedini reference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. US 20240023035 A1 (Domestic Priority July 15, 2022) in view of Abedini et al. US 20240283519 A1 (Domestic Priority February 17, 2023).
Regarding claim 1, He discloses a method performed by a network controlled repeater (NCR) including an NCR mobile termination (NCR-MT) (see, NCR mobile termination (MT) as a function entity to communicate with the gNB via the control link via the control link in order to enable the information such as side control information, section 0050) and an NCR forwarding (NCR-FWD) in a wireless communication system (see, NCR forwarding (Fwd) as a function entity to perform the amplify-and-forwarding of UL/DL RF signals between gNB and UE via the backhaul link and the access link, section 0050; noted gNB may be a base station that provides a wireless access cell, for example, a Third Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) New Radio (NR) cell, through which the UE may communicate with the gNB, 0034), the method comprising: receiving, by the NCR-MT, side control information from a base station (see, NCR mobile termination (MT) as a function entity to communicate with the gNB via the control link via the control link in order to enable the information such as side control information, section 0050; noted, control information received from the gNB over the control link by being included in SCI, section 0063); detecting a beam failure for the NCR-MT; ceasing, by the NCR-FWD, a forwarding based on a detection of the beam failure; identifying a completion of a beam failure recovery; and resuming the forwarding using the side control information received before the detection of the beam failure based on the completion of the beam failure recovery.
He discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: detecting a beam failure for the NCR-MT; ceasing, by the NCR-FWD, a forwarding based on a detection of the beam failure; identifying a completion of a beam failure recovery; and resuming the forwarding using the side control information received before the detection of the beam failure based on the completion of the beam failure recovery.
However Abedini from a similar field of endeavor disclose: detecting a beam failure for the NCR-MT (see, network entity may detect a beam failure associated with the MT functionality of the wireless repeater, section 0143 Abedini; noted, wireless repeater, such as a network-controlled repeater (NCR), may receive control information (e.g., via control signaling) from a network entity indicating how the wireless repeater is to directionally receive and forward signaling between the network entity and another device, section 0060 Abedini); ceasing, by the NCR-FWD, a forwarding based on a detection of the beam failure (see, device may measure, identify, or otherwise experience a beam failure detection (BFD) based on measurements associated with beam management, section 0109 Abedini; noted, wireless repeater is able to set a forwarding functionality of the wireless repeater to either an ON state or an OFF state based on a (successful) BFR procedure, section 0110 Abedini); identifying a completion of a beam failure recovery (see, successful BFR procedure may be understood as a BFR procedure that results in an identification of a suitable beam (or beam pair) between two communicating devices without declaring radio link failure (RLF), section 0124 Abedini); and resuming the forwarding using the side control information received (see, control signaling such as side control information may be at least for the control of the forwarding functionality of the wireless repeater, section 0114 Abedini; noted, control signaling used to switch to an ON state after the BFR procedure for forwarding functionality, section 0111 Abedini) before the detection of the beam failure based on the completion of the beam failure recovery (see, an indication of whether the wireless repeater is to set the forwarding functionality of the wireless repeater to the ON state or the OFF state after the BFR procedure after a successful BFR procedure, such as a BFR procedure that results in an identification of a directional beam and avoids RLF, section 0145 Abedini).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of He and with the beam failure recovery of Abedini. The motivation would have been to set a forwarding functionality of the wireless repeater to either an ON state or an OFF state based on a beam failure recovery (BFR) procedure.
Regarding claim 2, He discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the side control information is received via a control link between the base station and the NCR-MT (see, SCI can be received from the gNB over the control link, section 0049; noted, NCR-MT is defined as a function entity to communicate with the gNB via the control link via the control link in order to enable the information exchanges including, for instance, side control information, section 0050).
He discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 3, the method of claim 1, wherein the side control information includes configuration information for periodic forwarding resources, and wherein the configuration information includes a beam index indicating a logical beam index for an NCR-FWD access link.
However Abedini from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the method of claim 1, wherein the side control information includes configuration information for periodic forwarding resources (see, each periodic beam indication for the access link, RRC signaling may be used with the information defined by or including a list of forwarding resources where a periodicity may be configured as part of the RRC signaling for periodic beam indication, section 0119 Abedini; noted, a periodic indication may be supported via RRC signaling via beamforming information carried by side control information, section 0116 Abedini), and wherein the configuration information includes a beam index indicating a logical beam index for an NCR-FWD access link (see, each forwarding resource being defined as {beam index, time resource}, such as defined by a {beam index, time resource} pair, section 0119 Abedini; noted, Side control information may carry beamforming information for the access link of the forwarding functionality, section 0116 Abedini).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of He and with the beam failure recovery of Abedini. The motivation would have been to set a forwarding functionality of the wireless repeater to either an ON state or an OFF state based on a beam failure recovery (BFR) procedure.
He discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 4, the method of claim 3, wherein, in case that the forwarding ceases, the NCR-FWD is disabled regardless of the beam index.
However Abedini from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the method of claim 3, wherein, in case that the forwarding ceases, the NCR-FWD is disabled regardless of the beam index (see, if the side control information does not indicate a beam for the access link, the wireless repeater may interpret such a lack of an indication as an OFF indication for the forwarding functionality, section 0118 Abedini).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of He and with the beam failure recovery of Abedini. The motivation would have been to set a forwarding functionality of the wireless repeater to either an ON state or an OFF state based on a beam failure recovery (BFR) procedure.
Regarding claim 5, He discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, via a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) signaling, information on a downlink beam and information on an uplink beam for a backhaul link (see, NCR-Fwd is defined as a function entity to perform the amplify-and-forwarding of UL/DL RF signals between gNB and UE via the backhaul link and the access link where the behavior of the NCR-Fwd can be controlled according to the received side control information from gNB over the control link, section 0050), wherein the backhaul link connects the base station with the NCR-FWD of the NCR (see, backhaul link can be a type of a data link usable by the NCR to receive, from the gNB, signals carrying data to be sent to the UE, section 0048).
Regarding claim 6, He discloses the method of claim 5, wherein, in case that the forwarding ceases, at least one of a transmission on the backhaul link or a transmission on an access link between a terminal and the NCR-FWD stops (see, NCR-Fwd stopping forwarding operation on both access link and backhaul link when a period of receiving an indication for beam information has not been received, sections 0073-0077).
Regarding claim 7, He discloses a method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: transmitting, to a network controlled repeater (NCR) including an NCR mobile termination (NCR-MT) (see, NCR mobile termination (MT) as a function entity to communicate with the gNB via the control link via the control link in order to enable the information such as side control information, section 0050) and an NCR forwarding (NCR-FWD) (see, NCR forwarding (Fwd) as a function entity to perform the amplify-and-forwarding of UL/DL RF signals between gNB and UE via the backhaul link and the access link, section 0050; noted gNB may be a base station that provides a wireless access cell, for example, a Third Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) New Radio (NR) cell, through which the UE may communicate with the gNB, 0034), side control information (see, behavior of the NCR-Fwd can be controlled according to the received side control information from gNB over the control link, section 0050), wherein a forwarding ceases based on a beam failure detection between the base station and the NCR-MT, wherein a beam failure recovery is performed between the base station and the NCR, and wherein the forwarding is resumed using the side control information transmitted before the beam failure detection based on a completion of the beam failure recovery.
He discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: wherein a forwarding ceases based on a beam failure detection between the base station and the NCR-MT, wherein a beam failure recovery is performed between the base station and the NCR, and wherein the forwarding is resumed using the side control information transmitted before the beam failure detection based on a completion of the beam failure recovery.
However Abedini from a similar field of endeavor disclose: wherein a forwarding ceases (see, device may measure, identify, or otherwise experience a beam failure detection (BFD) based on measurements associated with beam management, section 0109 Abedini; noted, wireless repeater is able to set a forwarding functionality of the wireless repeater to either an ON state or an OFF state based on a (successful) BFR procedure, section 0110 Abedini) based on a beam failure detection between the base station and the NCR-MT (see, network entity may detect a beam failure associated with the MT functionality of the wireless repeater, section 0143 Abedini; noted, wireless repeater, such as a network-controlled repeater (NCR), may receive control information (e.g., via control signaling) from a network entity indicating how the wireless repeater is to directionally receive and forward signaling between the network entity and another device, section 0060 Abedini), wherein a beam failure recovery is performed between the base station and the NCR (see, successful BFR procedure may be understood as a BFR procedure that results in an identification of a suitable beam (or beam pair) between two communicating devices without declaring radio link failure (RLF), section 0124 Abedini), and wherein the forwarding is resumed using the side control information transmitted (see, control signaling such as side control information may be at least for the control of the forwarding functionality of the wireless repeater, section 0114 Abedini; noted, control signaling used to switch to an ON state after the BFR procedure for forwarding functionality, section 0111 Abedini) before the beam failure detection based on a completion of the beam failure recovery (see, an indication of whether the wireless repeater is to set the forwarding functionality of the wireless repeater to the ON state or the OFF state after the BFR procedure after a successful BFR procedure, such as a BFR procedure that results in an identification of a directional beam and avoids RLF, section 0145 Abedini).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of He and with the beam failure recovery of Abedini. The motivation would have been to set a forwarding functionality of the wireless repeater to either an ON state or an OFF state based on a beam failure recovery (BFR) procedure.
Regarding claim 8, He discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the side control information is transmitted via a control link between the base station and the NCR-MT of the NCR (see, SCI can be received from the gNB over the control link, section 0049; noted, NCR-MT is defined as a function entity to communicate with the gNB via the control link via the control link in order to enable the information exchanges including, for instance, side control information, section 0050).
He discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 9, the method of claim 7, wherein the side control information includes configuration information for periodic forwarding resources, and wherein the configuration information includes a beam index indicating a logical beam index for an access link connected to the NCR-FWD.
However Abedini from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the method of claim 7, wherein the side control information includes configuration information for periodic forwarding resources (see, each periodic beam indication for the access link, RRC signaling may be used with the information defined by or including a list of forwarding resources where a periodicity may be configured as part of the RRC signaling for periodic beam indication, section 0119 Abedini; noted, a periodic indication may be supported via RRC signaling via beamforming information carried by side control information, section 0116 Abedini), and wherein the configuration information includes a beam index indicating a logical beam index for an access link connected to the NCR-FWD (see, each forwarding resource being defined as {beam index, time resource}, such as defined by a {beam index, time resource} pair, section 0119 Abedini; noted, Side control information may carry beamforming information for the access link of the forwarding functionality, section 0116 Abedini).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of He and with the beam failure recovery of Abedini. The motivation would have been to set a forwarding functionality of the wireless repeater to either an ON state or an OFF state based on a beam failure recovery (BFR) procedure.
Regarding claim 10, He discloses the method of claim 7, further comprising: transmitting, to the NCR via medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) signaling, information on a downlink beam and information on an uplink beam for a backhaul link (see, NCR-Fwd is defined as a function entity to perform the amplify-and-forwarding of UL/DL RF signals between gNB and UE via the backhaul link and the access link where the behavior of the NCR-Fwd can be controlled according to the received side control information from gNB over the control link, section 0050), wherein the backhaul link connects the base station with the NCR-FWD of the NCR (see, backhaul link can be a type of a data link usable by the NCR to receive, from the gNB, signals carrying data to be sent to the UE, section 0048).
Regarding claim 11, He discloses a network controlled repeater (NCR) including an NCR mobile termination (NCR- MT) (see, NCR mobile termination (MT) as a function entity to communicate with the gNB via the control link via the control link in order to enable the information such as side control information, section 0050) and an NCR forwarding (NCR-FWD) in a wireless communication system (see, NCR forwarding (Fwd) as a function entity to perform the amplify-and-forwarding of UL/DL RF signals between gNB and UE via the backhaul link and the access link, section 0050; noted gNB may be a base station that provides a wireless access cell, for example, a Third Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) New Radio (NR) cell, through which the UE may communicate with the gNB, 0034), the NCR comprising: a transceiver (see, RF interface circuitry may include transceiver circuitry and a radio frequency front module (RFEM) that allows the UE to communicate with other devices over a radio access network, section 0113; noted, UE may include processors and RF interface circuitry, section 0106); and at least one processor (see, NCR can implement multiple functions, where a function can be implemented in hardware circuitry only or as a combination of software and hardware such as computer-readable instructions stored in one or more memory, and one or more processors, section 0050) configured to: receive, from a base station, side control information (see, NCR mobile termination (MT) as a function entity to communicate with the gNB via the control link via the control link in order to enable the information such as side control information, section 0050; noted, control information received from the gNB over the control link by being included in SCI, section 0063), detect a beam failure for the NCR-MT, cease a forwarding based on a detection of the beam failure, identify a completion of a beam failure recovery, and resume the forwarding using the side control information received before the detection of the beam failure based on the completion of the beam failure recovery.
He discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: detect a beam failure for the NCR-MT, cease a forwarding based on a detection of the beam failure, identify a completion of a beam failure recovery, and resume the forwarding using the side control information received before the detection of the beam failure based on the completion of the beam failure recovery.
However Abedini from a similar field of endeavor disclose: detect a beam failure for the NCR-MT (see, network entity may detect a beam failure associated with the MT functionality of the wireless repeater, section 0143 Abedini; noted, wireless repeater, such as a network-controlled repeater (NCR), may receive control information (e.g., via control signaling) from a network entity indicating how the wireless repeater is to directionally receive and forward signaling between the network entity and another device, section 0060 Abedini), cease a forwarding based on a detection of the beam failure (see, device may measure, identify, or otherwise experience a beam failure detection (BFD) based on measurements associated with beam management, section 0109 Abedini; noted, wireless repeater is able to set a forwarding functionality of the wireless repeater to either an ON state or an OFF state based on a (successful) BFR procedure, section 0110 Abedini), identify a completion of a beam failure recovery (see, successful BFR procedure may be understood as a BFR procedure that results in an identification of a suitable beam (or beam pair) between two communicating devices without declaring radio link failure (RLF), section 0124 Abedini), and resume the forwarding using the side control information received (see, control signaling such as side control information may be at least for the control of the forwarding functionality of the wireless repeater, section 0114 Abedini; noted, control signaling used to switch to an ON state after the BFR procedure for forwarding functionality, section 0111 Abedini) before the detection of the beam failure based on the completion of the beam failure recovery (see, an indication of whether the wireless repeater is to set the forwarding functionality of the wireless repeater to the ON state or the OFF state after the BFR procedure after a successful BFR procedure, such as a BFR procedure that results in an identification of a directional beam and avoids RLF, section 0145 Abedini).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of He and with the beam failure recovery of Abedini. The motivation would have been to set a forwarding functionality of the wireless repeater to either an ON state or an OFF state based on a beam failure recovery (BFR) procedure.
Regarding claim 12, He discloses the NCR of claim 11, wherein the side control information is received via a control link between the base station and the NCR-MT (see, SCI can be received from the gNB over the control link, section 0049; noted, NCR-MT is defined as a function entity to communicate with the gNB via the control link via the control link in order to enable the information exchanges including, for instance, side control information, section 0050).
He discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 13, the NCR of claim 11, wherein the side control information includes configuration information for periodic forwarding resources, wherein the configuration information includes a beam index indicating a logical beam index for an NCR-FWD access link, and wherein, in case that the forwarding ceases, the NCR-FWD is disabled regardless of the beam index.
However Abedini from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the NCR of claim 11, wherein the side control information includes configuration information for periodic forwarding resources (see, each periodic beam indication for the access link, RRC signaling may be used with the information defined by or including a list of forwarding resources where a periodicity may be configured as part of the RRC signaling for periodic beam indication, section 0119 Abedini; noted, a periodic indication may be supported via RRC signaling via beamforming information carried by side control information, section 0116 Abedini), wherein the configuration information includes a beam index indicating a logical beam index for an NCR-FWD access link (see, each forwarding resource being defined as {beam index, time resource}, such as defined by a {beam index, time resource} pair, section 0119 Abedini; noted, Side control information may carry beamforming information for the access link of the forwarding functionality, section 0116 Abedini), and wherein, in case that the forwarding ceases, the NCR-FWD is disabled regardless of the beam index (see, if the side control information does not indicate a beam for the access link, the wireless repeater may interpret such a lack of an indication as an OFF indication for the forwarding functionality, section 0118 Abedini).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the NCR of He and with the beam failure recovery of Abedini. The motivation would have been to set a forwarding functionality of the wireless repeater to either an ON state or an OFF state based on a beam failure recovery (BFR) procedure.
Regarding claim 14, He discloses the NCR of claim 11, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to receive, via medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) signaling, information on a downlink beam and information on an uplink beam for a backhaul link (see, NCR-Fwd is defined as a function entity to perform the amplify-and-forwarding of UL/DL RF signals between gNB and UE via the backhaul link and the access link where the behavior of the NCR-Fwd can be controlled according to the received side control information from gNB over the control link, section 0050), and wherein the backhaul link connects the base station with the NCR-FWD of the NCR (see, backhaul link can be a type of a data link usable by the NCR to receive, from the gNB, signals carrying data to be sent to the UE, section 0048).
Regarding claim 15, He discloses a base station (BS) in a wireless communication system, the BS comprising: a transceiver (see, RF interface circuitry may include transceiver circuitry and a radio frequency front module (RFEM) that allows the UE to communicate with other devices over a radio access network, section 0113); and at least one processor (see, NCR can implement multiple functions, where a function can be implemented in hardware circuitry only or as a combination of software and hardware such as computer-readable instructions stored in one or more memory, and one or more processors, section 0050) configured to: transmit, to a network controlled repeater (NCR) including an NCR mobile termination (NCR-MT) (see, NCR mobile termination (MT) as a function entity to communicate with the gNB via the control link via the control link in order to enable the information such as side control information, section 0050) and an NCR forwarding (NCR-FWD) (see, NCR forwarding (Fwd) as a function entity to perform the amplify-and-forwarding of UL/DL RF signals between gNB and UE via the backhaul link and the access link, section 0050; noted gNB may be a base station that provides a wireless access cell, for example, a Third Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) New Radio (NR) cell, through which the UE may communicate with the gNB, 0034), side control information (see, behavior of the NCR-Fwd can be controlled according to the received side control information from gNB over the control link, section 0050), wherein a forwarding ceases based on a beam failure detection between the base station and the NCR-MT, wherein a beam failure recovery is performed between the base station and the NCR, and wherein the forwarding is resumed using the side control information transmitted before the beam failure detection based on a completion of the beam failure recovery.
He discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: wherein a forwarding ceases based on a beam failure detection between the base station and the NCR-MT, wherein a beam failure recovery is performed between the base station and the NCR, and wherein the forwarding is resumed using the side control information transmitted before the beam failure detection based on a completion of the beam failure recovery.
However Abedini from a similar field of endeavor disclose: wherein a forwarding ceases (see, device may measure, identify, or otherwise experience a beam failure detection (BFD) based on measurements associated with beam management, section 0109 Abedini; noted, wireless repeater is able to set a forwarding functionality of the wireless repeater to either an ON state or an OFF state based on a (successful) BFR procedure, section 0110 Abedini) based on a beam failure detection between the base station and the NCR-MT (see, network entity may detect a beam failure associated with the MT functionality of the wireless repeater, section 0143 Abedini; noted, wireless repeater, such as a network-controlled repeater (NCR), may receive control information (e.g., via control signaling) from a network entity indicating how the wireless repeater is to directionally receive and forward signaling between the network entity and another device, section 0060 Abedini), wherein a beam failure recovery is performed between the base station and the NCR (see, successful BFR procedure may be understood as a BFR procedure that results in an identification of a suitable beam (or beam pair) between two communicating devices without declaring radio link failure (RLF), section 0124 Abedini), and wherein the forwarding is resumed using the side control information transmitted (see, control signaling such as side control information may be at least for the control of the forwarding functionality of the wireless repeater, section 0114 Abedini; noted, control signaling used to switch to an ON state after the BFR procedure for forwarding functionality, section 0111 Abedini) before the beam failure detection based on a completion of the beam failure recovery (see, an indication of whether the wireless repeater is to set the forwarding functionality of the wireless repeater to the ON state or the OFF state after the BFR procedure after a successful BFR procedure, such as a BFR procedure that results in an identification of a directional beam and avoids RLF, section 0145 Abedini).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the NCR of He and with the beam failure recovery of Abedini. The motivation would have been to set a forwarding functionality of the wireless repeater to either an ON state or an OFF state based on a beam failure recovery (BFR) procedure.
Regarding claim 16, He discloses the BS of claim 15, wherein the side control information is transmitted via a control link between the base station and the NCR-MT of the NCR (see, SCI can be received from the gNB over the control link, section 0049; noted, NCR-MT is defined as a function entity to communicate with the gNB via the control link via the control link in order to enable the information exchanges including, for instance, side control information, section 0050).
He discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 17, the BS of claim 15, wherein the side control information includes configuration information for periodic forwarding resources, and wherein the configuration information includes a beam index indicating a logical beam index for an access link connected to the NCR-FWD.
However Abedini from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the BS of claim 15, wherein the side control information includes configuration information for periodic forwarding resources (see, each periodic beam indication for the access link, RRC signaling may be used with the information defined by or including a list of forwarding resources where a periodicity may be configured as part of the RRC signaling for periodic beam indication, section 0119 Abedini; noted, a periodic indication may be supported via RRC signaling via beamforming information carried by side control information, section 0116 Abedini), and wherein the configuration information includes a beam index indicating a logical beam index for an access link connected to the NCR-FWD (see, each forwarding resource being defined as {beam index, time resource}, such as defined by a {beam index, time resource} pair, section 0119 Abedini; noted, Side control information may carry beamforming information for the access link of the forwarding functionality, section 0116 Abedini).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the BS of He and with the beam failure recovery of Abedini. The motivation would have been to set a forwarding functionality of the wireless repeater to either an ON state or an OFF state based on a beam failure recovery (BFR) procedure.
Regarding claim 18, He discloses the BS of claim 15, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit, to the NCR via medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) signaling, information on a downlink beam and information on an uplink beam for a backhaul link (see, NCR-Fwd is defined as a function entity to perform the amplify-and-forwarding of UL/DL RF signals between gNB and UE via the backhaul link and the access link where the behavior of the NCR-Fwd can be controlled according to the received side control information from gNB over the control link, section 0050), and wherein the backhaul link connects the base station with the NCR-FWD of the NCR (see, backhaul link can be a type of a data link usable by the NCR to receive, from the gNB, signals carrying data to be sent to the UE, section 0048).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK YIPAO PEI/Examiner, Art Unit 2473
/KWANG B YAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2473