DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the communications filed 06/26/2026. Claims 1 – 20 are pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks filed 06/26/2026, with respect to claims 1 - 20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Final Rejection of 06/12/2026 has been withdrawn.
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 4, 11 – 14, and 16 - 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bushman et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0070371, hereinafter “Bushman”).
Regarding Claim 1, Bushman teaches
A computer implemented method (see Bushman Paragraph [0003], methods for virtual meetings) comprising:
detecting an attention direction of a local participant in a room in an electronic meeting using an attention detector (see Bushman Paragraph [0185], in order to identify a preferred choice of view from the two meeting cameras 100a and 100b, each meeting camera can be configured to detect: visual cues such as face location, face height, gaze direction, face or other motion, and/or audio direction (e.g., based on the wide camera 2, 3, 5, and the microphone array 4 as shown in FIGS. 1A-1D). In some embodiments, each meeting camera can be configured to track each detection in its own map data structure, Paragraph [0189], in order to communicate attention system detections within the paired systems, the secondary meeting camera can be configured to run a standalone attention system. For example, this system in the secondary meeting camera may stream its attention data to the primary meeting camera over a wired or wireless connection (e.g., in a connection-oriented manner). In some embodiments, the data passed may include audio events, “Long term people” items, face height for each person, gaze direction for each person. For example, the directions may be provided with a panorama offset, which can be based on the angle of the primary meeting camera in the secondary meeting camera's field of view, Paragraph [0190], the primary meeting camera may run a modified or blended attention system including content from both cameras in order to select a camera view for cropping and rendering any particular subscene view. For example, data examined may include the primary role camera and secondary role camera audio events, the primary role camera and secondary role camera gaze direction at angles of audio events, and/or the primary role camera and secondary role camera panorama offset directions. In some embodiments, outputs from the primary role camera attention system may include the preferred camera, after latest update, for each or any subscene that is a candidate to be rendered);
selecting one of multiple local cameras in different locations in the room to capture images of the local participant, the selected one of the multiple local cameras having a position most closely associated with the detected attention direction (see Bushman Paragraph [0175], FIGS. 6A-6C show exemplary top down view of using two meeting cameras 100a and 100b, and a panorama image signal according to aspects of the disclosed subject matter. In some embodiments, as shown in FIG. 6A, when two separated meeting camera units are available from which to select portrait subject views of meeting attendees to crop and render as subscenes upon the stage, the two meeting cameras can obtain two views of the same attendee (e.g., one view from each meeting camera), and each of the two views can have a different head pose or gaze for the attendee. For example, the meeting camera 100a in FIG. 6A can capture and generate a panorama view 600a in FIG. 6B showing the three meeting attendees M1, M2, and M3, which the attendees' gazes are shown by “G.” Similarly, the meeting camera 100b in FIG. 6A can capture and generate a different panorama view 600b in FIG. 6C showing the same meeting attendees M1, M2, and M3, but the panorama view 600b can capture a different head pose or gaze of M1, M2, and M3, again with gaze shown by “G.” In some embodiments, it can be preferable to present only one of the two available views with the face-on view to the stage. Gaze direction can be determined using techniques known to those of ordinary skill in the art, Paragraph [0177], FIG. 6A shows three meeting participants labeled as subjects M1, M2, and M3. Each subject has a letter “G” near the head indicating the direction of the subject's head turn and/or gaze. The subject M1, for example, can be looking at a remote participant upon the wall-mounted videoconferencing display FP. As shown in FIGS. 6B and 6C, the meeting camera 100a's view B1a can capture a nearly face-on view (e.g., referencing the gaze “G”) of subject M1 (e.g., M1 in FIG. 6B), while the meeting camera 100b's view B1b can capture a side of subject M1's head (e.g., M1 in FIG. 6C). The subject M2, for example, can be looking at a laptop screen in front of him, or the meeting camera 100b. As shown in FIGS. 6B and 6C, the meeting camera 100a's view B2a can capture a side view of subject M2 (e.g., M2 in FIG. 6B), while the meeting camera 100b's view B2b can capture a nearly face-on view M2 (e.g., M2 in FIG. 6C). The subject M3, for example, can be looking at the subject M2. As shown in FIGS. 6B and 6C, the meeting camera 100a's view B3a can capture a side view of subject M3 (e.g., M3 in FIG. 6B), while the meeting camera 100b's view B3b can capture a nearly face-on view M3 (e.g., M3 in FIG. 6C), Paragraph [0179], the primary meeting camera 100a can be configured to select the panorama view depending of the gaze angle of the people, Paragraph [0185], in order to identify a preferred choice of view from the two meeting cameras 100a and 100b, each meeting camera can be configured to detect: visual cues such as face location, face height, gaze direction, face or other motion, and/or audio direction (e.g., based on the wide camera 2, 3, 5, and the microphone array 4 as shown in FIGS. 1A-1D). In some embodiments, each meeting camera can be configured to track each detection in its own map data structure, Paragraph [0136], As shown in FIG. 1C, introducing a second camera 100b can provide more views from which face-on views may be selected. In addition, the second camera 100b's complement of speakers and/or microphones can provide richer sound sources to collect or present to remote or local participants. The video and audio-oriented benefits here, for example, can independently or in combination provide an improved virtual meeting experience to remote or local participants, Paragraph [0218], FIG. 10 shows an exemplary process for selecting a camera view from two meeting cameras according to aspects of the disclosed subject matter. In some embodiments, FIG. 10's exemplary process for selecting a camera view from the two meeting cameras (e.g., meeting cameras 100a and 100b as described herein) can be implemented by a primary role meeting camera's processor. Steps S10-2, S10-4, and S10-6 can be the inputs to this camera view selection process, Paragraph [0220], As shown in step S10-4, the inputs can also include the gaze directions for each angle of the detected audio events. For example, the inputs can be the gaze directions of meeting participant who is speaking (e.g., SPKR). The gaze direction can be measured as an angle observed for the face of the speaker SPKR. For example, the gaze angle measured by the meeting camera 100a can be 0 degree if the speaker's face (e.g., gaze) is directly facing the meeting camera. In another example, the gaze angle measured by the meeting camera 100a can increase as the speaker's face (e.g., gaze) faces away more from the meeting camera. For example, the gaze angle measured by the meeting camera 100a can be 90 degrees when the meeting camera 100a captures the profile view (e.g., side view of the face) of the speaker's face. In some embodiments, the gaze angle can be measured in absolute values (e.g., no negative gaze angles), such that a measured gaze angle for the speaker's face (e.g., gaze) can be a positive angle regardless of whether the speaker is gazing to the left or to the right side of the meeting camera, Paragraph [0222], the inputs as shown in steps S10-2, S10-4, and S10-6 can be provided to the primary role meeting camera's processor to perform the camera view selection process described herein, Paragraph [0226], In step S10-26, the primary role meeting camera can be configured to composite a webcam video signal CO (e.g., as illustrated in FIGS. 7A-7C)); and
transmitting images from the selected one of the multiple cameras to remote participant devices (see Bushman Paragraph [0220], As shown in step S10-4, the inputs can also include the gaze directions for each angle of the detected audio events. For example, the inputs can be the gaze directions of meeting participant who is speaking (e.g., SPKR). The gaze direction can be measured as an angle observed for the face of the speaker SPKR. For example, the gaze angle measured by the meeting camera 100a can be 0 degree if the speaker's face (e.g., gaze) is directly facing the meeting camera. In another example, the gaze angle measured by the meeting camera 100a can increase as the speaker's face (e.g., gaze) faces away more from the meeting camera. For example, the gaze angle measured by the meeting camera 100a can be 90 degrees when the meeting camera 100a captures the profile view (e.g., side view of the face) of the speaker's face. In some embodiments, the gaze angle can be measured in absolute values (e.g., no negative gaze angles), such that a measured gaze angle for the speaker's face (e.g., gaze) can be a positive angle regardless of whether the speaker is gazing to the left or to the right side of the meeting camera, Paragraph [0222], the inputs as shown in steps S10-2, S10-4, and S10-6 can be provided to the primary role meeting camera's processor to perform the camera view selection process described herein, Paragraph [0226], In step S10-26, the primary role meeting camera can be configured to composite a webcam video signal CO (e.g., as illustrated in FIGS. 7A-7C), Paragraph [0143], the encoded and composited video signal CO can be transmitted to a host computer 40, remote client 50, etc. via the wired or wireless connections, Paragraph [0178], as shown in FIGS. 7A-7C, the meeting camera 100a can be configured to perform the primary role, for example, by compositing the webcam video signal CO for a host computer 40, remote clients 50, etc. For example, as shown in FIGS. 7A-7B, the meeting camera 100a can be configured to communicate with the meeting camera 100b and composite the webcam video signal CO by determining which subject is to be shown (e.g., a meeting participant who is speaking), and determining the most face-on view available from the two meeting cameras 100a and 100b for the stage view. In another example, as shown in FIG. 7C, the meeting camera 100a can be connected to a local mobile device 70 (e.g., via Bluetooth or other connections describe herein) and composite the webcam video signal CO based on instructions from the local mobile device 70 (e.g., regarding the designated view DV), Paragraph [0181], as shown in FIG. 7A, the meeting camera 100a can be configured to composite and send the webcam video signal CO, which can be received and displayed, for example, by a host computer 40, remote client 50, etc.).
Regarding Claim 2, Bushman teaches
The method of claim 1 wherein detecting the attention direction of a local participant in an electronic meeting comprises:
receiving a first image from a first local camera of the multiple local cameras in the meeting room (see Bushman Abstract, A system includes a camera for capturing a first panorama view. The system determines a first bearing of a person within the first panorama view, and a first gaze direction of the person within the first panorama view. The system receives, from an external source, a second panorama view, a second bearing of the person within the second panorama view, and a second gaze direction of the person within the second panorama view. The system selects, by comparing the first gaze direction and the second gaze direction, a selected panorama view and a selected bearing of the person. The system forms a localized subscene video signal based on the selected panorama view along the selected bearing of the person. The system generates a stage view signal based on the localized subscene video signal, and composites a composited signal comprising the stage view signal);
receiving a second image from a second local camera of the multiple local cameras in the meeting room (see Bushman Abstract, A system includes a camera for capturing a first panorama view. The system determines a first bearing of a person within the first panorama view, and a first gaze direction of the person within the first panorama view. The system receives, from an external source, a second panorama view, a second bearing of the person within the second panorama view, and a second gaze direction of the person within the second panorama view. The system selects, by comparing the first gaze direction and the second gaze direction, a selected panorama view and a selected bearing of the person. The system forms a localized subscene video signal based on the selected panorama view along the selected bearing of the person. The system generates a stage view signal based on the localized subscene video signal, and composites a composited signal comprising the stage view signal); and
determining which of the first and second images to which attention of the local participant is most closely directed using the attention detector (see Bushman Abstract, A system includes a camera for capturing a first panorama view. The system determines a first bearing of a person within the first panorama view, and a first gaze direction of the person within the first panorama view. The system receives, from an external source, a second panorama view, a second bearing of the person within the second panorama view, and a second gaze direction of the person within the second panorama view. The system selects, by comparing the first gaze direction and the second gaze direction, a selected panorama view and a selected bearing of the person. The system forms a localized subscene video signal based on the selected panorama view along the selected bearing of the person. The system generates a stage view signal based on the localized subscene video signal, and composites a composited signal comprising the stage view signal, Paragraph [0185], in order to identify a preferred choice of view from the two meeting cameras 100a and 100b, each meeting camera can be configured to detect: visual cues such as face location, face height, gaze direction, face or other motion, and/or audio direction (e.g., based on the wide camera 2, 3, 5, and the microphone array 4 as shown in FIGS. 1A-1D). In some embodiments, each meeting camera can be configured to track each detection in its own map data structure, Paragraph [0189], in order to communicate attention system detections within the paired systems, the secondary meeting camera can be configured to run a standalone attention system. For example, this system in the secondary meeting camera may stream its attention data to the primary meeting camera over a wired or wireless connection (e.g., in a connection-oriented manner). In some embodiments, the data passed may include audio events, “Long term people” items, face height for each person, gaze direction for each person. For example, the directions may be provided with a panorama offset, which can be based on the angle of the primary meeting camera in the secondary meeting camera's field of view, Paragraph [0190], the primary meeting camera may run a modified or blended attention system including content from both cameras in order to select a camera view for cropping and rendering any particular subscene view. For example, data examined may include the primary role camera and secondary role camera audio events, the primary role camera and secondary role camera gaze direction at angles of audio events, and/or the primary role camera and secondary role camera panorama offset directions. In some embodiments, outputs from the primary role camera attention system may include the preferred camera, after latest update, for each or any subscene that is a candidate to be rendered).
Regarding Claim 3, Bushman teaches
The method of claim 2 wherein the second image is selected in response to the attention direction being more toward the second local camera than the first local camera for transmission to a remote participant device (see Bushman Abstract, A system includes a camera for capturing a first panorama view. The system determines a first bearing of a person within the first panorama view, and a first gaze direction of the person within the first panorama view. The system receives, from an external source, a second panorama view, a second bearing of the person within the second panorama view, and a second gaze direction of the person within the second panorama view. The system selects, by comparing the first gaze direction and the second gaze direction, a selected panorama view and a selected bearing of the person. The system forms a localized subscene video signal based on the selected panorama view along the selected bearing of the person. The system generates a stage view signal based on the localized subscene video signal, and composites a composited signal comprising the stage view signal, Paragraph [0185], in order to identify a preferred choice of view from the two meeting cameras 100a and 100b, each meeting camera can be configured to detect: visual cues such as face location, face height, gaze direction, face or other motion, and/or audio direction (e.g., based on the wide camera 2, 3, 5, and the microphone array 4 as shown in FIGS. 1A-1D). In some embodiments, each meeting camera can be configured to track each detection in its own map data structure, Paragraph [0189], in order to communicate attention system detections within the paired systems, the secondary meeting camera can be configured to run a standalone attention system. For example, this system in the secondary meeting camera may stream its attention data to the primary meeting camera over a wired or wireless connection (e.g., in a connection-oriented manner). In some embodiments, the data passed may include audio events, “Long term people” items, face height for each person, gaze direction for each person. For example, the directions may be provided with a panorama offset, which can be based on the angle of the primary meeting camera in the secondary meeting camera's field of view, Paragraph [0190], the primary meeting camera may run a modified or blended attention system including content from both cameras in order to select a camera view for cropping and rendering any particular subscene view. For example, data examined may include the primary role camera and secondary role camera audio events, the primary role camera and secondary role camera gaze direction at angles of audio events, and/or the primary role camera and secondary role camera panorama offset directions. In some embodiments, outputs from the primary role camera attention system may include the preferred camera, after latest update, for each or any subscene that is a candidate to be rendered, Paragraph [0175], FIGS. 6A-6C show exemplary top down view of using two meeting cameras 100a and 100b, and a panorama image signal according to aspects of the disclosed subject matter. In some embodiments, as shown in FIG. 6A, when two separated meeting camera units are available from which to select portrait subject views of meeting attendees to crop and render as subscenes upon the stage, the two meeting cameras can obtain two views of the same attendee (e.g., one view from each meeting camera), and each of the two views can have a different head pose or gaze for the attendee. For example, the meeting camera 100a in FIG. 6A can capture and generate a panorama view 600a in FIG. 6B showing the three meeting attendees M1, M2, and M3, which the attendees' gazes are shown by “G.” Similarly, the meeting camera 100b in FIG. 6A can capture and generate a different panorama view 600b in FIG. 6C showing the same meeting attendees M1, M2, and M3, but the panorama view 600b can capture a different head pose or gaze of M1, M2, and M3, again with gaze shown by “G.” In some embodiments, it can be preferable to present only one of the two available views with the face-on view to the stage. Gaze direction can be determined using techniques known to those of ordinary skill in the art, Paragraph [0177], FIG. 6A shows three meeting participants labeled as subjects M1, M2, and M3. Each subject has a letter “G” near the head indicating the direction of the subject's head turn and/or gaze. The subject M1, for example, can be looking at a remote participant upon the wall-mounted videoconferencing display FP. As shown in FIGS. 6B and 6C, the meeting camera 100a's view B1a can capture a nearly face-on view (e.g., referencing the gaze “G”) of subject M1 (e.g., M1 in FIG. 6B), while the meeting camera 100b's view B1b can capture a side of subject M1's head (e.g., M1 in FIG. 6C). The subject M2, for example, can be looking at a laptop screen in front of him, or the meeting camera 100b. As shown in FIGS. 6B and 6C, the meeting camera 100a's view B2a can capture a side view of subject M2 (e.g., M2 in FIG. 6B), while the meeting camera 100b's view B2b can capture a nearly face-on view M2 (e.g., M2 in FIG. 6C). The subject M3, for example, can be looking at the subject M2. As shown in FIGS. 6B and 6C, the meeting camera 100a's view B3a can capture a side view of subject M3 (e.g., M3 in FIG. 6B), while the meeting camera 100b's view B3b can capture a nearly face-on view M3 (e.g., M3 in FIG. 6C), Paragraph [0179], the primary meeting camera 100a can be configured to select the panorama view depending of the gaze angle of the people, Paragraph [0185], in order to identify a preferred choice of view from the two meeting cameras 100a and 100b, each meeting camera can be configured to detect: visual cues such as face location, face height, gaze direction, face or other motion, and/or audio direction (e.g., based on the wide camera 2, 3, 5, and the microphone array 4 as shown in FIGS. 1A-1D). In some embodiments, each meeting camera can be configured to track each detection in its own map data structure, Paragraph [0136], As shown in FIG. 1C, introducing a second camera 100b can provide more views from which face-on views may be selected. In addition, the second camera 100b's complement of speakers and/or microphones can provide richer sound sources to collect or present to remote or local participants. The video and audio-oriented benefits here, for example, can independently or in combination provide an improved virtual meeting experience to remote or local participants, Paragraph [0218], FIG. 10 shows an exemplary process for selecting a camera view from two meeting cameras according to aspects of the disclosed subject matter. In some embodiments, FIG. 10's exemplary process for selecting a camera view from the two meeting cameras (e.g., meeting cameras 100a and 100b as described herein) can be implemented by a primary role meeting camera's processor. Steps S10-2, S10-4, and S10-6 can be the inputs to this camera view selection process, Paragraph [0220], As shown in step S10-4, the inputs can also include the gaze directions for each angle of the detected audio events. For example, the inputs can be the gaze directions of meeting participant who is speaking (e.g., SPKR). The gaze direction can be measured as an angle observed for the face of the speaker SPKR. For example, the gaze angle measured by the meeting camera 100a can be 0 degree if the speaker's face (e.g., gaze) is directly facing the meeting camera. In another example, the gaze angle measured by the meeting camera 100a can increase as the speaker's face (e.g., gaze) faces away more from the meeting camera. For example, the gaze angle measured by the meeting camera 100a can be 90 degrees when the meeting camera 100a captures the profile view (e.g., side view of the face) of the speaker's face. In some embodiments, the gaze angle can be measured in absolute values (e.g., no negative gaze angles), such that a measured gaze angle for the speaker's face (e.g., gaze) can be a positive angle regardless of whether the speaker is gazing to the left or to the right side of the meeting camera, Paragraph [0222], the inputs as shown in steps S10-2, S10-4, and S10-6 can be provided to the primary role meeting camera's processor to perform the camera view selection process described herein, Paragraph [0226], In step S10-26, the primary role meeting camera can be configured to composite a webcam video signal CO (e.g., as illustrated in FIGS. 7A-7C)).
Regarding Claim 4, Bushman teaches
The method of claim 3 and further comprising displaying the second image on a second local display associated with the second local camera (see Bushman Paragraph [0089], The meeting camera 100 of FIG. 1A may be connected as a USB peripheral to a laptop, tablet, or mobile device 40 (e.g., having a display, network interface, computing processor, memory, camera and microphone sections, interconnected by at least one bus) upon which multi-party teleconferencing, video conferencing, or video chat software is hosted, and connectable for teleconferencing to remote clients 50 via the internet 60, Paragraph [0090], A display 12 provides a user interface for operating the teleconferencing software and showing the teleconferencing views and graphics discussed herein to meeting attendees M1, M2 . . . M3, Paragraph [0220], As shown in step S10-4, the inputs can also include the gaze directions for each angle of the detected audio events. For example, the inputs can be the gaze directions of meeting participant who is speaking (e.g., SPKR). The gaze direction can be measured as an angle observed for the face of the speaker SPKR. For example, the gaze angle measured by the meeting camera 100a can be 0 degree if the speaker's face (e.g., gaze) is directly facing the meeting camera. In another example, the gaze angle measured by the meeting camera 100a can increase as the speaker's face (e.g., gaze) faces away more from the meeting camera. For example, the gaze angle measured by the meeting camera 100a can be 90 degrees when the meeting camera 100a captures the profile view (e.g., side view of the face) of the speaker's face. In some embodiments, the gaze angle can be measured in absolute values (e.g., no negative gaze angles), such that a measured gaze angle for the speaker's face (e.g., gaze) can be a positive angle regardless of whether the speaker is gazing to the left or to the right side of the meeting camera, Paragraph [0222], the inputs as shown in steps S10-2, S10-4, and S10-6 can be provided to the primary role meeting camera's processor to perform the camera view selection process described herein, Paragraph [0226], In step S10-26, the primary role meeting camera can be configured to composite a webcam video signal CO (e.g., as illustrated in FIGS. 7A-7C)).
Regarding Claim 11, Bushman teaches
The method of claim 1 wherein the attention detector comprises a gaze detection system (see Bushman Paragraph [0185], in order to identify a preferred choice of view from the two meeting cameras 100a and 100b, each meeting camera can be configured to detect: visual cues such as face location, face height, gaze direction, face or other motion, and/or audio direction (e.g., based on the wide camera 2, 3, 5, and the microphone array 4 as shown in FIGS. 1A-1D). In some embodiments, each meeting camera can be configured to track each detection in its own map data structure, Paragraph [0189], in order to communicate attention system detections within the paired systems, the secondary meeting camera can be configured to run a standalone attention system. For example, this system in the secondary meeting camera may stream its attention data to the primary meeting camera over a wired or wireless connection (e.g., in a connection-oriented manner). In some embodiments, the data passed may include audio events, “Long term people” items, face height for each person, gaze direction for each person. For example, the directions may be provided with a panorama offset, which can be based on the angle of the primary meeting camera in the secondary meeting camera's field of view, Paragraph [0190], the primary meeting camera may run a modified or blended attention system including content from both cameras in order to select a camera view for cropping and rendering any particular subscene view. For example, data examined may include the primary role camera and secondary role camera audio events, the primary role camera and secondary role camera gaze direction at angles of audio events, and/or the primary role camera and secondary role camera panorama offset directions. In some embodiments, outputs from the primary role camera attention system may include the preferred camera, after latest update, for each or any subscene that is a candidate to be rendered, Paragraph [0175], FIGS. 6A-6C show exemplary top down view of using two meeting cameras 100a and 100b, and a panorama image signal according to aspects of the disclosed subject matter. In some embodiments, as shown in FIG. 6A, when two separated meeting camera units are available from which to select portrait subject views of meeting attendees to crop and render as subscenes upon the stage, the two meeting cameras can obtain two views of the same attendee (e.g., one view from each meeting camera), and each of the two views can have a different head pose or gaze for the attendee. For example, the meeting camera 100a in FIG. 6A can capture and generate a panorama view 600a in FIG. 6B showing the three meeting attendees M1, M2, and M3, which the attendees' gazes are shown by “G.” Similarly, the meeting camera 100b in FIG. 6A can capture and generate a different panorama view 600b in FIG. 6C showing the same meeting attendees M1, M2, and M3, but the panorama view 600b can capture a different head pose or gaze of M1, M2, and M3, again with gaze shown by “G.” In some embodiments, it can be preferable to present only one of the two available views with the face-on view to the stage. Gaze direction can be determined using techniques known to those of ordinary skill in the art, Paragraph [0177], FIG. 6A shows three meeting participants labeled as subjects M1, M2, and M3. Each subject has a letter “G” near the head indicating the direction of the subject's head turn and/or gaze. The subject M1, for example, can be looking at a remote participant upon the wall-mounted videoconferencing display FP. As shown in FIGS. 6B and 6C, the meeting camera 100a's view B1a can capture a nearly face-on view (e.g., referencing the gaze “G”) of subject M1 (e.g., M1 in FIG. 6B), while the meeting camera 100b's view B1b can capture a side of subject M1's head (e.g., M1 in FIG. 6C). The subject M2, for example, can be looking at a laptop screen in front of him, or the meeting camera 100b. As shown in FIGS. 6B and 6C, the meeting camera 100a's view B2a can capture a side view of subject M2 (e.g., M2 in FIG. 6B), while the meeting camera 100b's view B2b can capture a nearly face-on view M2 (e.g., M2 in FIG. 6C). The subject M3, for example, can be looking at the subject M2. As shown in FIGS. 6B and 6C, the meeting camera 100a's view B3a can capture a side view of subject M3 (e.g., M3 in FIG. 6B), while the meeting camera 100b's view B3b can capture a nearly face-on view M3 (e.g., M3 in FIG. 6C), Paragraph [0179], the primary meeting camera 100a can be configured to select the panorama view depending of the gaze angle of the people, Paragraph [0185], in order to identify a preferred choice of view from the two meeting cameras 100a and 100b, each meeting camera can be configured to detect: visual cues such as face location, face height, gaze direction, face or other motion, and/or audio direction (e.g., based on the wide camera 2, 3, 5, and the microphone array 4 as shown in FIGS. 1A-1D). In some embodiments, each meeting camera can be configured to track each detection in its own map data structure, Paragraph [0136], As shown in FIG. 1C, introducing a second camera 100b can provide more views from which face-on views may be selected. In addition, the second camera 100b's complement of speakers and/or microphones can provide richer sound sources to collect or present to remote or local participants. The video and audio-oriented benefits here, for example, can independently or in combination provide an improved virtual meeting experience to remote or local participants, Paragraph [0218], FIG. 10 shows an exemplary process for selecting a camera view from two meeting cameras according to aspects of the disclosed subject matter. In some embodiments, FIG. 10's exemplary process for selecting a camera view from the two meeting cameras (e.g., meeting cameras 100a and 100b as described herein) can be implemented by a primary role meeting camera's processor. Steps S10-2, S10-4, and S10-6 can be the inputs to this camera view selection process, Paragraph [0220], As shown in step S10-4, the inputs can also include the gaze directions for each angle of the detected audio events. For example, the inputs can be the gaze directions of meeting participant who is speaking (e.g., SPKR). The gaze direction can be measured as an angle observed for the face of the speaker SPKR. For example, the gaze angle measured by the meeting camera 100a can be 0 degree if the speaker's face (e.g., gaze) is directly facing the meeting camera. In another example, the gaze angle measured by the meeting camera 100a can increase as the speaker's face (e.g., gaze) faces away more from the meeting camera. For example, the gaze angle measured by the meeting camera 100a can be 90 degrees when the meeting camera 100a captures the profile view (e.g., side view of the face) of the speaker's face. In some embodiments, the gaze angle can be measured in absolute values (e.g., no negative gaze angles), such that a measured gaze angle for the speaker's face (e.g., gaze) can be a positive angle regardless of whether the speaker is gazing to the left or to the right side of the meeting camera, Paragraph [0222], the inputs as shown in steps S10-2, S10-4, and S10-6 can be provided to the primary role meeting camera's processor to perform the camera view selection process described herein, Paragraph [0226], In step S10-26, the primary role meeting camera can be configured to composite a webcam video signal CO (e.g., as illustrated in FIGS. 7A-7C)).
Regarding Claim 12, Bushman teaches
The method of claim 1 wherein the attention detector comprises a head position recognizer that detects head posture or position posture (see Bushman Paragraph [0175], FIGS. 6A-6C show exemplary top down view of using two meeting cameras 100a and 100b, and a panorama image signal according to aspects of the disclosed subject matter. In some embodiments, as shown in FIG. 6A, when two separated meeting camera units are available from which to select portrait subject views of meeting attendees to crop and render as subscenes upon the stage, the two meeting cameras can obtain two views of the same attendee (e.g., one view from each meeting camera), and each of the two views can have a different head pose or gaze for the attendee. For example, the meeting camera 100a in FIG. 6A can capture and generate a panorama view 600a in FIG. 6B showing the three meeting attendees M1, M2, and M3, which the attendees' gazes are shown by “G.” Similarly, the meeting camera 100b in FIG. 6A can capture and generate a different panorama view 600b in FIG. 6C showing the same meeting attendees M1, M2, and M3, but the panorama view 600b can capture a different head pose or gaze of M1, M2, and M3, again with gaze shown by “G.” In some embodiments, it can be preferable to present only one of the two available views with the face-on view to the stage. Gaze direction can be determined using techniques known to those of ordinary skill in the art, Paragraph [0177], FIG. 6A shows three meeting participants labeled as subjects M1, M2, and M3. Each subject has a letter “G” near the head indicating the direction of the subject's head turn and/or gaze. The subject M1, for example, can be looking at a remote participant upon the wall-mounted videoconferencing display FP. As shown in FIGS. 6B and 6C, the meeting camera 100a's view B1a can capture a nearly face-on view (e.g., referencing the gaze “G”) of subject M1 (e.g., M1 in FIG. 6B)).
Regarding Claim 13, Bushman teaches
The method of claim 1 wherein one of the multiple cameras capturing an image having a highest level of attention directed toward it is selected for transmission (see Bushman Paragraph [0015], the first gaze direction is determined as a first angle of the person's gaze away from the camera; the second gaze direction is a measurement of a second angle of the person's gaze away from a video sensor of the external source; and selecting the selected panorama view based on comparing the first gaze direction and the second gaze direction comprises selecting the first panorama view as the selected panorama view when the first angle is smaller than the second angle, or selecting the second panorama view as the selected panorama view when the second angle is smaller than the first angle, Paragraph [0175], FIGS. 6A-6C show exemplary top down view of using two meeting cameras 100a and 100b, and a panorama image signal according to aspects of the disclosed subject matter. In some embodiments, as shown in FIG. 6A, when two separated meeting camera units are available from which to select portrait subject views of meeting attendees to crop and render as subscenes upon the stage, the two meeting cameras can obtain two views of the same attendee (e.g., one view from each meeting camera), and each of the two views can have a different head pose or gaze for the attendee. In some embodiments, it can be preferable to present only one of the two available views with the face-on view to the stage. Gaze direction can be determined using techniques known to those of ordinary skill in the art, Paragraph [0191], as shown in FIGS. 6A-6C and 7A-7C, the gaze direction can be a criterion for camera selection. In some embodiments, the ruleset can be applied as shown in FIG. 6A, with the primary camera 100a placed near any shared videoconferencing monitor (e.g., FP) that is wall or cart mounted and adjacent the table. In some embodiments, if only one meeting camera has determined valid gaze data, and the gaze is oriented toward that camera (e.g., within 30 degrees of a subject-to-camera vector), then that camera may be preferred, chosen, or promoted/incremented for potential selection (e.g., these choices may be alternative embodiments or jointly performed). In some embodiments, if both meeting cameras have determined valid gaze data, and the difference between their subject-to-camera vectors is sufficient (e.g., greater than 20 degrees), the more direct one may be preferable. For example, the camera with the smaller gaze angle may be preferred, chosen, or promoted/incremented for potential selection, Paragraph [0218], FIG. 10 shows an exemplary process for selecting a camera view from two meeting cameras according to aspects of the disclosed subject matter. In some embodiments, FIG. 10's exemplary process for selecting a camera view from the two meeting cameras (e.g., meeting cameras 100a and 100b as described herein) can be implemented by a primary role meeting camera's processor. Steps S10-2, S10-4, and S10-6 can be the inputs to this camera view selection process, Paragraph [0220], As shown in step S10-4, the inputs can also include the gaze directions for each angle of the detected audio events. For example, the inputs can be the gaze directions of meeting participant who is speaking (e.g., SPKR). The gaze direction can be measured as an angle observed for the face of the speaker SPKR. For example, the gaze angle measured by the meeting camera 100a can be 0 degree if the speaker's face (e.g., gaze) is directly facing the meeting camera. In another example, the gaze angle measured by the meeting camera 100a can increase as the speaker's face (e.g., gaze) faces away more from the meeting camera. For example, the gaze angle measured by the meeting camera 100a can be 90 degrees when the meeting camera 100a captures the profile view (e.g., side view of the face) of the speaker's face. In some embodiments, the gaze angle can be measured in absolute values (e.g., no negative gaze angles), such that a measured gaze angle for the speaker's face (e.g., gaze) can be a positive angle regardless of whether the speaker is gazing to the left or to the right side of the meeting camera, Paragraph [0222], the inputs as shown in steps S10-2, S10-4, and S10-6 can be provided to the primary role meeting camera's processor to perform the camera view selection process described herein).
Regarding Claim 14, Bushman teaches
The method of claim 1 wherein each camera is part of a device with an associated display (see Bushman Paragraph [0089], The meeting camera 100 of FIG. 1A may be connected as a USB peripheral to a laptop, tablet, or mobile device 40 (e.g., having a display, network interface, computing processor, memory, camera and microphone sections, interconnected by at least one bus) upon which multi-party teleconferencing, video conferencing, or video chat software is hosted, and connectable for teleconferencing to remote clients 50 via the internet 60, Paragraph [0090], A display 12 provides a user interface for operating the teleconferencing software and showing the teleconferencing views and graphics discussed herein to meeting attendees M1, M2 . . . M3).
Regarding Claims 16 - 18, they are rejected similarly as Claims 1 - 3, respectively. The machine-readable storage device can be found in Bushman (Paragraph [0239], Each such computing device typically includes a processor (or multiple processors or circuitry or collection of circuits, e.g. a module) that executes program instructions or modules stored in a memory or other non-transitory computer-readable storage medium).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 8 – 10, 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bushman et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0070371, hereinafter “Bushman”) in view of Hafstad et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2024/0257553, hereinafter “Hafstad”).
Regarding Claim 5, Bushman teaches all the limitations of Claim 2, but does not expressively teach
The method of claim 2 wherein the first local camera comprises a table camera, the second local camera comprises a front of room camera, and the local participant comprises multiple local participants.
However, Hafstad teaches
The method of claim 2 wherein the first local camera comprises a table camera, the second local camera comprises a front of room camera, and the local participant comprises multiple local participants (see Hafstad Paragraph [0044], FIG. 2C depicts an example of a videoconferencing space 200c. Videoconferencing space 200c may include a table 230, nine meeting participants 232, nine cameras 234, and two display units 226, FIG. 2D depicts an example of a board room 200d. Board room 200d may include a table 240, eighteen meeting participants 242, ten cameras 244, and two display units 246 (as seen in Figures, the dots represent cameras, there is a local camera at the meeting table and a table at the front of the room, in addition to multiple other cameras around the room)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a method of video conferencing in which a camera is selected from a plurality of cameras having a position most closely associated with a user’s detected attention direction and sends the camera’s video to remote participants (as taught in Bushman), with a video conference system in which a table camera and front of room camera is present and there are multiple local participants (as taught in Hafstad), the motivation being to address a common disconnect in video conferences by providing multiple cameras that are selected to display the most attentive activity or area in a meeting room to create an immersive experience for remote participants (see Hafstad Paragraph [0045]).
Regarding Claim 8, Bushman in view of Hafstad teaches
The method of claim 5 wherein the attention direction is based on a position in the room of one or more of the multiple local participants that are speaking (see Bushman Paragraph [0135], when a remote participant takes a leading or frequently speaking role in the meeting, the local group may tend to often face the videoconferencing monitor (e.g., a flat panel display FP in FIGS. 3A and 6A) upon which they appear (e.g., typically placed upon a wall or cart to one side of the meeting table)).
Regarding Claim 9, Bushman in view of Hafstad teaches
The method of claim 5 wherein the attention direction is determined as more toward the front of room camera in response to a presentation being made at the front of the room (see Hafstad Paragraph [0037], main camera 110 and one or more peripheral cameras 120 may be interchangeable, such that main camera 110 and the one or more peripheral cameras 120 may be located together in a meeting environment, and any of the cameras may be selected to serve as a main camera. Such selection may be based on various factors such as, but not limited to, the location of a speaker, the layout of the meeting environment, a location of an auxiliary item (e.g., whiteboard, presentation screen, television), etc.).
Regarding Claim 10, Bushman in view of Hafstad teaches
The method of claim 5 wherein the attention direction is determined as more toward the table camera in response to a discussion occurring around the table (see Hafstad Paragraph [0037], main camera 110 and one or more peripheral cameras 120 may be interchangeable, such that main camera 110 and the one or more peripheral cameras 120 may be located together in a meeting environment, and any of the cameras may be selected to serve as a main camera. Such selection may be based on various factors such as, but not limited to, the location of a speaker, the layout of the meeting environment, a location of an auxiliary item (e.g., whiteboard, presentation screen, television), etc. and Paragraph [0261], Potential scenarios or situations captured by disclosed systems and methods may include: meeting in normal room, someone talking for long time; discussions (in which location of speakers may be at table in Figures 2C and 2D); brainstorming; standup; presentation).
Regarding Claim 15, Bushman in view of Hafstad teaches
The method of claim 14 and further comprising displaying a gallery view of attendees on the display of the device providing the selected image (see Hafstad Figure 22, FIG. 22 illustrates examples of tile layouts. As shown in FIG. 22, example tile layouts may include column layouts 2210a-f, row layouts 2220a-c, gallery layouts 2230a-b, postcard layouts 2240a-d, and lego layouts 2250a-d, displaying selected images of areas of attention).
Regarding Claim 19, it is rejected similarly as Claim 15. The machine-readable storage device can be found in Bushman (Paragraph [0239], Each such computing device typically includes a processor (or multiple processors or circuitry or collection of circuits, e.g. a module) that executes program instructions or modules stored in a memory or other non-transitory computer-readable storage medium).
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bushman et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0070371, hereinafter “Bushman”) in view of Hafstad et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2024/0257553, hereinafter “Hafstad”) and Strandborg et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2025/0045967, hereinafter “Strandborg”).
Regarding Claim 6, Bushman in view of Hafstad teach all the limitations of Claim 5, but do not expressively teach
The method of claim 5 wherein the attention direction is determined based on a combination of attention direction of each of multiple local participants.
However, Strandborg teaches
The method of claim 5 wherein the attention direction is determined based on a combination of attention direction of each of multiple local participants (see Strandborg Paragraph [0033], the step of identifying the gaze location in the given image comprises mapping the given gaze direction onto a field of view of the given image. In fixed-foveation implementations, the given gaze direction could be considered to be directed along a default gaze direction that is directed towards a centre of the field of view, namely directed straight towards a centre of the given image. In active-foveation implementations, the given gaze direction could be a gaze direction of the user's eye, or an average of gaze directions of multiple users in multi-user scenarios).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a method of video conferencing including multiple local participants in which a camera is selected from a plurality of cameras situated in a room having a position most closely associated with a user’s detected attention direction and sends the camera’s video to remote participants (as taught in Bushman and Hafstad), with a video conferencing method that determines attention direction based on an average of gaze directions of multiple participants (as taught in Strandborg), the motivation being to provide an enhanced user experience in a video conference by ensuring remote participants see the most relevant and important camera view without manual intervention (see Strandborg Paragraph [0025]).
Regarding Claim 7, Bushman in view of Hafstad and Strandborg teaches
The method of claim 6 wherein the combination is based on an average or majority of attention directions of the multiple local participants (see Strandborg Paragraph [0033], the step of identifying the gaze location in the given image comprises mapping the given gaze direction onto a field of view of the given image. In fixed-foveation implementations, the given gaze direction could be considered to be directed along a default gaze direction that is directed towards a centre of the field of view, namely directed straight towards a centre of the given image. In active-foveation implementations, the given gaze direction could be a gaze direction of the user's eye, or an average of gaze directions of multiple users in multi-user scenarios).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bushman et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0070371, hereinafter “Bushman”) in view of Davis et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0121522, hereinafter “Davis”).
Regarding Claim 20, Bushman teaches
A computer implemented method (see Bushman Paragraph [0003], methods for virtual meetings) comprising:
detecting an attention direction of a local participant in an electronic meeting using an attention detector (see Bushman Paragraph [0185], in order to identify a preferred choice of view from the two meeting cameras 100a and 100b, each meeting camera can be configured to detect: visual cues such as face location, face height, gaze direction, face or other motion, and/or audio direction (e.g., based on the wide camera 2, 3, 5, and the microphone array 4 as shown in FIGS. 1A-1D). In some embodiments, each meeting camera can be configured to track each detection in its own map data structure, Paragraph [0189], in order to communicate attention system detections within the paired systems, the secondary meeting camera can be configured to run a standalone attention system. For example, this system in the secondary meeting camera may stream its attention data to the primary meeting camera over a wired or wireless connection (e.g., in a connection-oriented manner). In some embodiments, the data passed may include audio events, “Long term people” items, face height for each person, gaze direction for each person. For example, the directions may be provided with a panorama offset, which can be based on the angle of the primary meeting camera in the secondary meeting camera's field of view, Paragraph [0190], the primary meeting camera may run a modified or blended attention system including content from both cameras in order to select a camera view for cropping and rendering any particular subscene view. For example, data examined may include the primary role camera and secondary role camera audio events, the primary role camera and secondary role camera gaze direction at angles of audio events, and/or the primary role camera and secondary role camera panorama offset directions. In some embodiments, outputs from the primary role camera attention system may include the preferred camera, after latest update, for each or any subscene that is a candidate to be rendered);
receiving images of remote participants (see Bushman Paragraph [0089], The meeting camera 100 of FIG. 1A may be connected as a USB peripheral to a laptop, tablet, or mobile device 40 (e.g., having a display, network interface, computing processor, memory, camera and microphone sections, interconnected by at least one bus) upon which multi-party teleconferencing, video conferencing, or video chat software is hosted, and connectable for teleconferencing to remote clients 50 via the internet 60, Paragraph [0090], The device 100 can be directly connected (e.g., via WiFi or Ethernet) for teleconferencing to remote clients 50 via the internet 60 or INET, Paragraph [0135], when a remote participant takes a leading or frequently speaking role in the meeting, the local group may tend to often face the videoconferencing monitor (e.g., a flat panel display FP in FIGS. 3A and 6A) upon which they appear (e.g., typically placed upon a wall or cart to one side of the meeting table));
displaying the at least one of the images of remote participants on the selected local display (see Bushman Paragraph [0220], As shown in step S10-4, the inputs can also include the gaze directions for each angle of the detected audio events. For example, the inputs can be the gaze directions of meeting participant who is speaking (e.g., SPKR). The gaze direction can be measured as an angle observed for the face of the speaker SPKR. For example, the gaze angle measured by the meeting camera 100a can be 0 degree if the speaker's face (e.g., gaze) is directly facing the meeting camera. In another example, the gaze angle measured by the meeting camera 100a can increase as the speaker's face (e.g., gaze) faces away more from the meeting camera. For example, the gaze angle measured by the meeting camera 100a can be 90 degrees when the meeting camera 100a captures the profile view (e.g., side view of the face) of the speaker's face. In some embodiments, the gaze angle can be measured in absolute values (e.g., no negative gaze angles), such that a measured gaze angle for the speaker's face (e.g., gaze) can be a positive angle regardless of whether the speaker is gazing to the left or to the right side of the meeting camera, Paragraph [0222], the inputs as shown in steps S10-2, S10-4, and S10-6 can be provided to the primary role meeting camera's processor to perform the camera view selection process described herein, Paragraph [0226], In step S10-26, the primary role meeting camera can be configured to composite a webcam video signal CO (e.g., as illustrated in FIGS. 7A-7C), Paragraph [0143], the encoded and composited video signal CO can be transmitted to a host computer 40, remote client 50, etc. via the wired or wireless connections, Paragraph [0178], as shown in FIGS. 7A-7C, the meeting camera 100a can be configured to perform the primary role, for example, by compositing the webcam video signal CO for a host computer 40, remote clients 50, etc. For example, as shown in FIGS. 7A-7B, the meeting camera 100a can be configured to communicate with the meeting camera 100b and composite the webcam video signal CO by determining which subject is to be shown (e.g., a meeting participant who is speaking), and determining the most face-on view available from the two meeting cameras 100a and 100b for the stage view. In another example, as shown in FIG. 7C, the meeting camera 100a can be connected to a local mobile device 70 (e.g., via Bluetooth or other connections describe herein) and composite the webcam video signal CO based on instructions from the local mobile device 70 (e.g., regarding the designated view DV), Paragraph [0181], as shown in FIG. 7A, the meeting camera 100a can be configured to composite and send the webcam video signal CO, which can be received and displayed, for example, by a host computer 40, remote client 50, etc.).
Bushman does not expressively teach
selecting one of multiple local displays for display of at least one of the images of the remote participants, the selected local display having a position most closely associated with the detected attention direction;
However, Davis teaches
selecting one of multiple local displays for display of at least one of the images of the remote participants, the selected local display having a position most closely associated with the detected attention direction (see Davis Paragraph [0761], The system may also dynamically move graphic content across multiple passive or active display surfaces or shift content from one display surface to another based on user selection or based on one or more users' activity, movement, position, orientation, direction and point of focus (where the person is looking) within a mapped environment);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a method of video conferencing in which an attention direction of a local participant is detected and their respective video is received and displayed in the conference (as taught in Bushman), with selecting a display out of multiple displays to present the video conference interface according to the local user’s gaze direction (as taught in Davis), the motivation being to provide an adaptive and personal graphic user interface that can acclimate the interface of the video conference to be placed within a user’s line of sight, thus creating a more realistic experience (see Davis Paragraph [0761] and Abstract).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of References Cited for a listing of analogous art.
/CARISSA A JONES/ Examiner, Art Unit 2691
/DUC NGUYEN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2691