DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the Request for Reconsideration-After Non-Final Rejection filed on 09/10/2026.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 09/10/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-20 are pending
Claims 1-20 remain rejected.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Claim 20 recites limitations that use words like “means” (or “step”) or similar terms with functional language and do invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f):
Claim 20; recites the limitations, “…means for obtaining a configuration of a control channel or a data channel in a cell, … means for receiving or transmitting information in at least one of the control channel or the data channel based on the configuration,” in Lines [2-3] and [9-10] respectively.
After a careful analysis, as disclosed above, and a careful review of the specification the following limitations in claim 2:
(i) “means for obtaining” and “means for receiving”: Fig. 22, #2204, Para. [0150] discloses, “…the apparatus 2202, and in particular the one or more cellular baseband processors 2204, includes means for obtaining a configuration of a control channel or a data channel in a cell, …and means for receiving or transmitting information in at least one of the control channel or the data channel based on the configuration.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TSAI et al. (US 20230371039 A1), hereinafter referenced as Tsai, in view of Do et al. (US 20230066568 A1), hereinafter referenced as Do.
Regarding claims 1 and 19-20, Tsai teaches an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors each communicatively coupled with at least one of the one or more memories, the one or more processors, individually or in any combination (Para. [0004]-Tsai discloses methods, systems, and devices that may assist in operation of DL control channel. Para. [0090]-Tsai discloses method for the single-to-multiple scheduling DCI format. Figs. 19F-19G, Para. [0198]-Tsai discloses WTRU 102 may include a processor 118, a transceiver 120, a transmit/receive element 122, a speaker/microphone 124, a keypad 126, a display/touchpad/indicators 128, non-removable memory 130, removable memory 132, a power source 134, a global positioning system (GPS) chipset 136, and other peripherals 138. Para. [0177]-Tsai discloses core network entities may be logical entities that are implemented in the form of computer-executable instructions (software) stored in a memory of, and executing on a processor of, an apparatus configured for wireless or network communications or a computer system), operable to cause the apparatus to:
obtain a configuration of a control channel or a data channel in a cell (Para. [0135]-Tsai discloses when UE 102 monitor PDCCH in a monitoring span (X, Y) (e.g., X=8 slots, Y=4 slots), UE only monitor PDCCH within Y slots. The starting slot can be signalled by higher layer (e.g., PDCCH config in RRC) {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the control/data channel configuration}. For example, PDCCH configuration can signal the (starting) slot number n in a SFN and the span length Y (e.g., Y≤X/2) ... since common CORESET configuration and search space are shared by multiple UEs in a serving cell, so accordingly, network need to take care alignment with UEs for this configuration like PDCCH control region for RAR/paging/system information),
the cell including a plurality of … frequency bands associated with different numerologies (Para. [0050]-Tsai discloses methods for DCI design for NR from 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} (CORESET and/or SS configuration in a BWP). Para. [0038-0039]-Tsai discloses for SCS/numerologies ... SCS configuration μ∈{0,1,2,3} {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced numerology} for a single serving cell can be {44, 36, 22, 20}. Para. [0057]-Tsai discloses SCSs/numerologies may be introduced for NR from 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to frequency bands} ... For NR from 52.6 GHz and above, UE can know the “cross-slot” scheduling scheme for certain BWPs. Para. [0042]-Tsai discloses SCS configuration μ∈{0, 1} for a single serving cell can be {56, 56}, respectively. The per monitoring span (X, Y) supports SCS/numerologies 15 KHz/μ=0 and 30 KHz/μ=1 only. Para. [0107]-Tsai discloses numerology for the BWP in SCell may be different from the BWP used in the scheduled cell (e.g., PCell or PSCell). Para. [0134]-Tsai discloses non-contiguous (time-domain) transmission of PDSCH/PUSCH can be supported.),
the control channel or the data channel being allocated in: one or more of the non-contiguous frequency bands associated with a single numerology of the different numerologies, or one or more of the non-contiguous frequency bands associated with each numerology of the different numerologies (Table 3, Para. [0089]-Tsai discloses design for the single-to-multiple scheduling DCI format (e.g., DCI format l_y) for 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} ... Frequency domain resource assignment (FDRA) {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to Control, shared or device specific resource}. Para. [0087]-Tsai discloses if the allocation length of PRB for a PDSCH in one of the separate FDRA field in DCI is equal to zero, then UE 102 can assume that corresponding PDSCH is not scheduled. FDRA can support Type 0, Type 1, and dynamic switch (switch between Type 0 and 1). Para. [0079]-Tsai discloses FDRA: This field can be separated for each scheduled PDSCH. DCI can use separated FDRA field for each scheduled PDSCH frequency-domain resource, or DCI can use a single FDRA field for scheduling multiple PDSCHs frequency-domain resources based on a look-up table. The entries in the look-up table can be configured by higher layer (e.g., RRC). (See also Para. [0090]). Para. [0057]-Tsai discloses SCSs/numerologies may be introduced for NR from 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} ... For NR from 52.6 GHz and above, UE can know the “cross-slot” scheduling scheme for certain BWPs. Para. [0038-0039]-Tsai discloses UE can be configured with up to 10 SS sets each for up to 4 BWPs in a serving cell); and
receive or transmit information in at least one of the control channel or the data channel based on the configuration (Fig. 19A, Para. [0145]-Tsai discloses the base station 114a may be configured to transmit or receive wireless signals within a particular geographic region, which may be referred to as a cell ... the base station 114b may be configured to transmit or receive wired or wireless signals within a particular geographic region, which may be referred to as a cell ... for methods, systems, and devices of downlink control channel for NR from 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.}. Para. [0057]-Tsai discloses PDCCH for paging PDSCH is disclosed, system Information (SI) PDSCH can be adopted with the cross-slot scheduling when the SCS/numerologies are greater than a value e.g., SCS=480 KHz /μ=5. The value of K.sub.0 can be referred from a pre-defined table (e.g., a new set of default tables for TDRA) in the specification or via higher layer (RRC) configuration. For NR from 52.6 GHz and above, UE can know the “cross-slot” scheduling scheme for certain BWPs (e.g., for paging or RMSI PDSCH reception).
Tsai fails to explicitly teach the cell including a plurality of non-contiguous frequency bands associated with different numerologies.
However, Do teaches obtain a configuration of a control channel or a data channel in a cell (Para. [0193]-Do discloses the base station may be any radio node configured to allocate the radio resources for the radio communication. Para. [0168]-Do discloses the term base station may be used interchangeably with the term cell. Para. [0083-0084]-Do discloses B-value for common channels and dedicated channels can be signaled to UEs in dedicated signaling when it is applicable. Furthermore, the B-value for PDSCH and PUSCH can also be dynamically specified in the associated scheduling DCIs or in some MAC CEs {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced configuration obtained for the data channels i.e. PDSCH and PUSCH} ..., the allocation 302 defines a DM-RS pattern, e.g., for PDSCH and/or PUSCH),
the cell including a plurality of non-contiguous frequency bands associated with different numerologies (Para. [0181]-Do discloses the first frequency band and the second frequency band may be noncontiguous in a frequency domain {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced non-contiguous frequency bands}. For example, the first frequency band and the second frequency band may belong to different operating frequency bands. Para. [0179]-Do discloses numerology of the first frequency band may be different from a numerology of the second frequency band. For example, a SCS of the OSs in the first frequency band may less than a SCS of the OSs in the second frequency band. Alternatively or in addition, a length of the OSs in the first frequency band may greater than a length of the OSs in the second frequency band. Para. [0165-0181]-Do discloses the same base station and/or the radio communication may use different SCSs at different times ... the term base station may be used interchangeably with the term cell ... the same base station and/or the radio communication may use different lengths of the OSs (e.g., different numerologies) at different times ... the radio communication uses a first frequency band and a second frequency band).
Tsai and Do are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of radio communication network, dealing with allocating and applying the allocation of radio resources.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Tsai to incorporate the teachings of Do on frequency bands, with a motivation for non-contiguous bands, and guarantee efficient allocation of radio resources for a radio communication at different numerologies, e.g., greater SCS, (Do, Para. [0007]).
Regarding claim 2, Tsai teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Tsai further teaches the control channel is a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), the configuration indicates to monitor the PDCCH in the one or more of the non-contiguous frequency bands associated with the single numerology of the different numerologies (Para. [0048]-Tsai discloses monitoring PDCCH for NR from 52.6 to 71 GHz band {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.}. Para. [0039]-Tsai discloses PDCCH maximum number M.sub.PDCCH.sup.max,slot,μ of monitored PDCCH candidates per slot for a DL BWP with SCS {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to Numerology} configuration μ∈{0,1,2,3} {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced numerology} for a single serving cell can be {44, 36, 22, 20}. Table 3, Para. [0089]-Tsai discloses design for the single-to-multiple scheduling DCI format (e.g., DCI format l_y) for 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} ... Frequency domain resource assignment (FDRA) {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to Control, shared or device specific resource}. Para. [0050]-Tsai discloses DCI format 0_x and 1_x or PDCCH repetition for NR from 52.6 GHz and above (CORESET and/or SS configuration in a BWP). Para. [0038-0039]-Tsai discloses UE can be configured with up to 10 SS sets each for up to 4 BWPs in a serving cell ... PDCCH minimum processing times is confined in units of symbols for SCS/numerologies ... PDCCH maximum number M.sub.PDCCH.sup.max,slot,μ of monitored PDCCH candidates per slot for a DL BWP with SCS configuration μ∈{0,1,2,3} {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced numerology} for a single serving cell can be {44, 36, 22, 20}. Para. [0042]-Tsai discloses non-overlapped CCEs per span for a DL BWP with SCS configuration μ∈{0, 1} for a single serving cell can be {56, 56}, respectively. The per monitoring span (X, Y) supports SCS/numerologies 15 KHz/μ=0 and 30 KHz/μ=1 only. Para. [0107]-Tsai discloses numerology for the BWP in SCell may be different from the BWP used in the scheduled cell (e.g., PCell or PSCell). Para. [0057]-Tsai discloses SCSs/numerologies may be introduced for NR from 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} ... For NR from 52.6 GHz and above, UE can know the “cross-slot” scheduling scheme for certain BWPs. (See also Para. [0120]). Para. [0134]-Tsai discloses non-contiguous (time-domain) transmission of PDSCH/PUSCH can be supported), and
the one or more processors, individually or in any combination, are operable to cause the apparatus to: monitor the PDCCH in the one or more of the non-contiguous frequency bands associated with the single numerology (Para. [0048]-Tsai discloses monitoring PDCCH for NR from 52.6 to 71 GHz band {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.}. Para. [0039]-Tsai discloses PDCCH maximum number M.sub.PDCCH.sup.max,slot,μ of monitored PDCCH candidates per slot for a DL BWP with SCS {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to Numerology} configuration μ∈{0,1,2,3} {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced numerology} for a single serving cell can be {44, 36, 22, 20}. Table 3, Para. [0089]-Tsai discloses design for the single-to-multiple scheduling DCI format (e.g., DCI format l_y) for 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} ... Frequency domain resource assignment (FDRA) {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to Control, shared or device specific resource}. Para. [0050]-Tsai discloses DCI format 0_x and 1_x or PDCCH repetition for NR from 52.6 GHz and above (CORESET and/or SS configuration in a BWP). Para. [0038-0039]-Tsai discloses UE can be configured with up to 10 SS sets each for up to 4 BWPs in a serving cell ... PDCCH minimum processing times is confined in units of symbols for SCS/numerologies ... PDCCH maximum number M.sub.PDCCH.sup.max,slot,μ of monitored PDCCH candidates per slot for a DL BWP with SCS configuration μ∈{0,1,2,3} {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced numerology} for a single serving cell can be {44, 36, 22, 20}. Para. [0042]-Tsai discloses non-overlapped CCEs per span for a DL BWP with SCS configuration μ∈{0, 1} for a single serving cell can be {56, 56}, respectively. The per monitoring span (X, Y) supports SCS/numerologies 15 KHz/μ=0 and 30 KHz/μ=1 only. Para. [0107]-Tsai discloses numerology for the BWP in SCell may be different from the BWP used in the scheduled cell (e.g., PCell or PSCell). Para. [0057]-Tsai discloses SCSs/numerologies may be introduced for NR from 52.6 GHz and above ... For NR from 52.6 GHz and above, UE can know the “cross-slot” scheduling scheme for certain BWPs. (See also Para. [0120]). Para. [0134]-Tsai discloses non-contiguous (time-domain) transmission of PDSCH/PUSCH can be supported).
Regarding claim 3, Tsai teaches the apparatus of claim 2,
Tsai further teaches the configuration indicates a quantity of blind decoding attempts (Para. [0039]-Tsai discloses depending on the configuration, the number of PDCCH candidates may be limited by the number of blind decoding attempts, or by the number of CCE that require channel estimates. In NR, number of monitored PDCCH candidates and non-overlapped CCEs per slot is the UE capability. Para. [0054]-Tsai discloses gNB 114 may config the UEs to monitor only the compact DCI format 1_x instead of DCI format 0_0/1_0 and 0_1/1_1 so that the total number of blind decodes won't increase for a UE) and
a quantity of non-overlapped control channel elements (CCEs) for PDCCH monitoring in a time period for the cell (Para. [0043]-Tsai discloses the UE can be configured by the gNB to monitor PDCCH for the maximum number of PDCCH candidates and nonoverlapping CCEs defined per slot. Para. [0039]-Tsai discloses depending on the configuration, the number of PDCCH candidates may be limited by the number of blind decoding attempts, or by the number of CCE that require channel estimates. In NR, number of monitored PDCCH candidates and non-overlapped CCEs per slot is the UE capability),
the quantity of blind decoding attempts and the quantity of non-overlapped CCEs respectively being capped by a limit associated with the single numerology for the PDCCH (Para. [0054]-Tsai discloses gNB 114 may config the UEs to monitor only the compact DCI format 1_x instead of DCI format 0_0/1_0 and 0_1/1_1 so that the total number of blind decodes won't increase for a UE. Para. [0043]-Tsai discloses the UE can be configured by the gNB to monitor PDCCH for the maximum number of PDCCH candidates and nonoverlapping CCEs defined per slot. Para. [0039]-Tsai discloses depending on the configuration, the number of PDCCH candidates may be limited by the number of blind decoding attempts, or by the number of CCE that require channel estimates. In NR, number of monitored PDCCH candidates and non-overlapped CCEs per slot is the UE capability. Figs. 1 and 10A, Para. [0120]-Tsai discloses UE 102 can be configured by gNB 114 to monitor PDCCH for the maximum number of PDCCH candidates (M.sub.PDCCH.sup.max,span,μ) and nonoverlapping CCEs (C.sub.PDCCH.sup.max,span,μ) defined per span).
Regarding claim 4, Tsai teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Tsai further teaches the control channel is a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), the configuration indicates to monitor the PDCCH in the one or more of the non-contiguous frequency bands associated with the each numerology of the different numerologies (Table 3, Para. [0089]-Tsai discloses design for the single-to-multiple scheduling DCI format (e.g., DCI format l_y) for 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} ... Frequency domain resource assignment (FDRA) {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to Control, shared or device specific resource}. Para. [0050]-Tsai discloses DCI format 0_x and 1_x or PDCCH repetition for NR from 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} (CORESET and/or SS configuration in a BWP). Para. [0038-0039]-Tsai discloses UE can be configured with up to 10 SS sets each for up to 4 BWPs in a serving cell ... PDCCH minimum processing times is confined in units of symbols for SCS/numerologies ... PDCCH maximum number M.sub.PDCCH.sup.max,slot,μ of monitored PDCCH candidates per slot for a DL BWP with SCS configuration μ∈{0,1,2,3} {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced numerology} for a single serving cell can be {44, 36, 22, 20}. Para. [0042]-Tsai discloses non-overlapped CCEs per span for a DL BWP with SCS configuration μ∈{0, 1} for a single serving cell can be {56, 56}, respectively. The per monitoring span (X, Y) supports SCS/numerologies 15 KHz/μ=0 and 30 KHz/μ=1 only. Para. [0107]-Tsai discloses numerology for the BWP in SCell may be different from the BWP used in the scheduled cell (e.g., PCell or PSCell). Para. [0057]-Tsai discloses SCSs/numerologies may be introduced for NR from 52.6 GHz and above ... For NR from 52.6 GHz and above, UE can know the “cross-slot” scheduling scheme for certain BWPs), and
the one or more processors, individually or in any combination, are operable to cause the apparatus to: monitor the PDCCH in the one or more of the non-contiguous frequency bands associated with the single numerology during a time period (Table 3, Para. [0089]-Tsai discloses design for the single-to-multiple scheduling DCI format (e.g., DCI format l_y) for 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} ... Frequency domain resource assignment (FDRA) {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to Control, shared or device specific resource}. Para. [0050]-Tsai discloses DCI format 0_x and 1_x or PDCCH repetition for NR from 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} (CORESET and/or SS configuration in a BWP). Para. [0038-0039]-Tsai discloses UE can be configured with up to 10 SS sets each for up to 4 BWPs in a serving cell ... PDCCH minimum processing times is confined in units of symbols for SCS/numerologies ... PDCCH maximum number M.sub.PDCCH.sup.max,slot,μ of monitored PDCCH candidates per slot for a DL BWP with SCS configuration μ∈{0,1,2,3} {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced numerology} for a single serving cell can be {44, 36, 22, 20}. Para. [0042]-Tsai discloses non-overlapped CCEs per span for a DL BWP with SCS configuration μ∈{0, 1} for a single serving cell can be {56, 56}, respectively. The per monitoring span (X, Y) supports SCS/numerologies 15 KHz/μ=0 and 30 KHz/μ=1 only. Para. [0107]-Tsai discloses numerology for the BWP in SCell may be different from the BWP used in the scheduled cell (e.g., PCell or PSCell). Para. [0057]-Tsai discloses SCSs/numerologies may be introduced for NR from 52.6 GHz and above ... For NR from 52.6 GHz and above, UE can know the “cross-slot” scheduling scheme for certain BWPs. (See also Para. [0120])).
Regarding claim 5, Tsai teaches the apparatus of claim 4,
Tsai further teaches the configuration indicates a quantity of blind decoding attempts (Para. [0039]-Tsai discloses depending on the configuration, the number of PDCCH candidates may be limited by the number of blind decoding attempts, or by the number of CCE that require channel estimates. In NR, number of monitored PDCCH candidates and non-overlapped CCEs per slot is the UE capability. Para. [0054]-Tsai discloses gNB 114 may config the UEs to monitor only the compact DCI format 1_x instead of DCI format 0_0/1_0 and 0_1/1_1 so that the total number of blind decodes won't increase for a UE) and
a quantity of non-overlapped control channel elements (CCEs) for PDCCH monitoring in the time period for the cell (Para. [0043]-Tsai discloses the UE can be configured by the gNB to monitor PDCCH for the maximum number of PDCCH candidates and nonoverlapping CCEs defined per slot. Para. [0039]-Tsai discloses depending on the configuration, the number of PDCCH candidates may be limited by the number of blind decoding attempts, or by the number of CCE that require channel estimates. In NR, number of monitored PDCCH candidates and non-overlapped CCEs per slot is the UE capability),
the quantity of blind decoding attempts and the quantity of non-overlapped CCEs for the PDCCH respectively being capped by a limit associated with the single numerology during the time period (Para. [0054]-Tsai discloses gNB 114 may config the UEs to monitor only the compact DCI format 1_x instead of DCI format 0_0/1_0 and 0_1/1_1 so that the total number of blind decodes won't increase for a UE. Para. [0043]-Tsai discloses the UE can be configured by the gNB to monitor PDCCH for the maximum number of PDCCH candidates and nonoverlapping CCEs defined per slot. Para. [0039]-Tsai discloses depending on the configuration, the number of PDCCH candidates may be limited by the number of blind decoding attempts, or by the number of CCE that require channel estimates. In NR, number of monitored PDCCH candidates and non-overlapped CCEs per slot is the UE capability. Figs. 1 and 10A, Para. [0120]-Tsai discloses UE 102 can be configured by gNB 114 to monitor PDCCH for the maximum number of PDCCH candidates (M.sub.PDCCH.sup.max,span,μ) and nonoverlapping CCEs (C.sub.PDCCH.sup.max,span,μ) defined per span).
Regarding claim 6, Tsai teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Tsai further teaches the control channel is a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), the configuration indicates to monitor for the PDCCH in the one or more of the non-contiguous frequency bands associated with the each numerology of the different numerologies (Table 3, Para. [0089]-Tsai discloses design for the single-to-multiple scheduling DCI format (e.g., DCI format l_y) for 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} ... Frequency domain resource assignment (FDRA) {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to Control, shared or device specific resource}. Para. [0050]-Tsai discloses DCI format 0_x and 1_x or PDCCH repetition for NR from 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} (CORESET and/or SS configuration in a BWP). Para. [0038-0039]-Tsai discloses UE can be configured with up to 10 SS sets each for up to 4 BWPs in a serving cell ... PDCCH minimum processing times is confined in units of symbols for SCS/numerologies ... PDCCH maximum number M.sub.PDCCH.sup.max,slot,μ of monitored PDCCH candidates per slot for a DL BWP with SCS configuration μ∈{0,1,2,3} {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced numerology} for a single serving cell can be {44, 36, 22, 20}. Para. [0042]-Tsai discloses non-overlapped CCEs per span for a DL BWP with SCS configuration μ∈{0, 1} for a single serving cell can be {56, 56}, respectively. The per monitoring span (X, Y) supports SCS/numerologies 15 KHz/μ=0 and 30 KHz/μ=1 only. Para. [0107]-Tsai discloses numerology for the BWP in SCell may be different from the BWP used in the scheduled cell (e.g., PCell or PSCell). Para. [0057]-Tsai discloses SCSs/numerologies may be introduced for NR from 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} ... For NR from 52.6 GHz and above, UE can know the “cross-slot” scheduling scheme for certain BWPs), and
the one or more processors, individually or in any combination, are operable to cause the apparatus to: monitor the PDCCH in the one or more of the non-contiguous frequency bands associated with the each numerology of the different numerologies during a time period (Table 3, Para. [0089]-Tsai discloses design for the single-to-multiple scheduling DCI format (e.g., DCI format l_y) for 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} ... Frequency domain resource assignment (FDRA) {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to Control, shared or device specific resource}. Para. [0050]-Tsai discloses DCI format 0_x and 1_x or PDCCH repetition for NR from 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} (CORESET and/or SS configuration in a BWP). Para. [0038-0039]-Tsai discloses UE can be configured with up to 10 SS sets each for up to 4 BWPs in a serving cell ... PDCCH minimum processing times is confined in units of symbols for SCS/numerologies ... PDCCH maximum number M.sub.PDCCH.sup.max,slot,μ of monitored PDCCH candidates per slot for a DL BWP with SCS configuration μ∈{0,1,2,3} {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced numerology} for a single serving cell can be {44, 36, 22, 20}. Para. [0042]-Tsai discloses non-overlapped CCEs per span for a DL BWP with SCS configuration μ∈{0, 1} for a single serving cell can be {56, 56}, respectively. The per monitoring span (X, Y) supports SCS/numerologies 15 KHz/μ=0 and 30 KHz/μ=1 only. Para. [0107]-Tsai discloses numerology for the BWP in SCell may be different from the BWP used in the scheduled cell (e.g., PCell or PSCell). Para. [0057]-Tsai discloses SCSs/numerologies may be introduced for NR from 52.6 GHz and above ... For NR from 52.6 GHz and above, UE can know the “cross-slot” scheduling scheme for certain BWPs),
control channel elements (CCEs) of the PDCCH are respectively mapped in resources associated with the single numerology (Figs. 1 and 10A, Para. [0120]-Tsai discloses UE 102 can be configured by gNB 114 to monitor PDCCH for the maximum number of PDCCH candidates (M.sub.PDCCH.sup.max,span,μ) and nonoverlapping CCEs (C.sub.PDCCH.sup.max,span,μ) defined per span … UE 102 and gNB 114 can map PDCCH candidates in each PDCCH monitoring span as the following mapping rules in legacy NR specification: (1) common search space (CSS) sets are mapped before UE specific search space (USS) sets; (2) USS sets are mapped in ascending order of the search space (SS) set indices, and if the number of PDCCH candidates/CCEs exceeds UE 102 processing limits, etc.).
Regarding claim 7, Tsai teaches the apparatus of claim 6,
Tsai further teaches the configuration indicates a quantity of blind decoding attempts (Para. [0039]-Tsai discloses depending on the configuration, the number of PDCCH candidates may be limited by the number of blind decoding attempts, or by the number of CCE that require channel estimates. In NR, number of monitored PDCCH candidates and non-overlapped CCEs per slot is the UE capability. Para. [0054]-Tsai discloses gNB 114 may config the UEs to monitor only the compact DCI format 1_x instead of DCI format 0_0/1_0 and 0_1/1_1 so that the total number of blind decodes won't increase for a UE) and
a quantity of non-overlapped CCEs for PDCCH monitoring in the time period for the cell for the each numerology of the different numerologies (Para. [0043]-Tsai discloses the UE can be configured by the gNB to monitor PDCCH for the maximum number of PDCCH candidates and nonoverlapping CCEs defined per slot. Para. [0039]-Tsai discloses depending on the configuration, the number of PDCCH candidates may be limited by the number of blind decoding attempts, or by the number of CCE that require channel estimates. In NR, number of monitored PDCCH candidates and non-overlapped CCEs per slot is the UE capability),
the quantity of blind decoding attempts and the quantity of non-overlapped CCEs for the PDCCH respectively being capped by a limit associated with the each of the different numerologies during the time period (Para. [0054]-Tsai discloses gNB 114 may config the UEs to monitor only the compact DCI format 1_x instead of DCI format 0_0/1_0 and 0_1/1_1 so that the total number of blind decodes won't increase for a UE. Para. [0043]-Tsai discloses the UE can be configured by the gNB to monitor PDCCH for the maximum number of PDCCH candidates and nonoverlapping CCEs defined per slot. Para. [0039]-Tsai discloses depending on the configuration, the number of PDCCH candidates may be limited by the number of blind decoding attempts, or by the number of CCE that require channel estimates. In NR, number of monitored PDCCH candidates and non-overlapped CCEs per slot is the UE capability. Table 3, Para. [0089]-Tsai discloses design for the single-to-multiple scheduling DCI format (e.g., DCI format l_y) for 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} ... Frequency domain resource assignment (FDRA) {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to Control, shared or device specific resource}).
Regarding claim 8, Tsai teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Tsai further teaches the control channel is a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), the configuration indicates to monitor for the PDCCH in the one or more of the non-contiguous frequency bands associated with the each numerology of the different numerologies (Table 3, Para. [0089]-Tsai discloses design for the single-to-multiple scheduling DCI format (e.g., DCI format l_y) for 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} ... Frequency domain resource assignment (FDRA) {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to Control, shared or device specific resource}. Para. [0050]-Tsai discloses DCI format 0_x and 1_x or PDCCH repetition for NR from 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} (CORESET and/or SS configuration in a BWP). Para. [0038-0039]-Tsai discloses UE can be configured with up to 10 SS sets each for up to 4 BWPs in a serving cell ... PDCCH minimum processing times is confined in units of symbols for SCS/numerologies ... PDCCH maximum number M.sub.PDCCH.sup.max,slot,μ of monitored PDCCH candidates per slot for a DL BWP with SCS configuration μ∈{0,1,2,3} {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced numerology} for a single serving cell can be {44, 36, 22, 20}. Para. [0042]-Tsai discloses non-overlapped CCEs per span for a DL BWP with SCS configuration μ∈{0, 1} for a single serving cell can be {56, 56}, respectively. The per monitoring span (X, Y) supports SCS/numerologies 15 KHz/μ=0 and 30 KHz/μ=1 only. Para. [0107]-Tsai discloses numerology for the BWP in SCell may be different from the BWP used in the scheduled cell (e.g., PCell or PSCell). Para. [0057]-Tsai discloses SCSs/numerologies may be introduced for NR from 52.6 GHz and above ... For NR from 52.6 GHz and above, UE can know the “cross-slot” scheduling scheme for certain BWPs), and
the one or more processors, individually or in any combination, are operable to cause the apparatus to: monitor the PDCCH in the one or more of the non-contiguous frequency bands associated with the each numerology of the different numerologies during a time period (Table 3, Para. [0089]-Tsai discloses design for the single-to-multiple scheduling DCI format (e.g., DCI format l_y) for 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} ... Frequency domain resource assignment (FDRA) {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to Control, shared or device specific resource}. Para. [0050]-Tsai discloses DCI format 0_x and 1_x or PDCCH repetition for NR from 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} (CORESET and/or SS configuration in a BWP). Para. [0038-0039]-Tsai discloses UE can be configured with up to 10 SS sets each for up to 4 BWPs in a serving cell ... PDCCH minimum processing times is confined in units of symbols for SCS/numerologies ... PDCCH maximum number M.sub.PDCCH.sup.max,slot,μ of monitored PDCCH candidates per slot for a DL BWP with SCS configuration μ∈{0,1,2,3} {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced numerology} for a single serving cell can be {44, 36, 22, 20}. Para. [0042]-Tsai discloses non-overlapped CCEs per span for a DL BWP with SCS configuration μ∈{0, 1} for a single serving cell can be {56, 56}, respectively. The per monitoring span (X, Y) supports SCS/numerologies 15 KHz/μ=0 and 30 KHz/μ=1 only. Para. [0107]-Tsai discloses numerology for the BWP in SCell may be different from the BWP used in the scheduled cell (e.g., PCell or PSCell). Para. [0057]-Tsai discloses SCSs/numerologies may be introduced for NR from 52.6 GHz and above ... For NR from 52.6 GHz and above, UE can know the “cross-slot” scheduling scheme for certain BWPs),
control channel elements (CCEs) of the PDCCH are respectively mapped in resources associated with a set of the each numerologies (Para. [0042]-Tsai discloses maximum number M.sub.PDCCH.sup.max,span,μ of monitored PDCCH candidates per span (X=7, Y=3) for a DL BWP with SCS configuration μ∈{0, 1} for a single serving cell can be {44, 36} and the maximum number C.sub.PDCCH.sup.max,span,μ of non-overlapped CCEs per span for a DL BWP with SCS configuration μ∈{0, 1} for a single serving cell can be {56, 56}, respectively. The per monitoring span (X, Y) supports SCS/numerologies 15 KHz/μ=0 and 30 KHz/μ=1 only. Table 3, Para. [0089]-Tsai discloses design for the single-to-multiple scheduling DCI format (e.g., DCI format l_y) for 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.}).
Regarding claim 9, Tsai teaches the apparatus of claim 8,
Tsai further teaches the configuration indicates a quantity of blind decoding attempts (Para. [0039]-Tsai discloses depending on the configuration, the number of PDCCH candidates may be limited by the number of blind decoding attempts, or by the number of CCE that require channel estimates. In NR, number of monitored PDCCH candidates and non-overlapped CCEs per slot is the UE capability. Para. [0054]-Tsai discloses gNB 114 may config the UEs to monitor only the compact DCI format 1_x instead of DCI format 0_0/1_0 and 0_1/1_1 so that the total number of blind decodes won't increase for a UE) and
a quantity of non-overlapped CCEs for PDCCH monitoring in the time period for the cell for the set of the each numerologies (Para. [0043]-Tsai discloses the UE can be configured by the gNB to monitor PDCCH for the maximum number of PDCCH candidates and nonoverlapping CCEs defined per slot. Para. [0039]-Tsai discloses depending on the configuration, the number of PDCCH candidates may be limited by the number of blind decoding attempts, or by the number of CCE that require channel estimates. In NR, number of monitored PDCCH candidates and non-overlapped CCEs per slot is the UE capability),
the quantity of blind decoding attempts and the quantity of non-overlapped CCEs for the PDCCH respectively being capped by a limit associated with a reference numerology of the set of the each numerologies during the time period (Para. [0054]-Tsai discloses gNB 114 may config the UEs to monitor only the compact DCI format 1_x instead of DCI format 0_0/1_0 and 0_1/1_1 so that the total number of blind decodes won't increase for a UE. Para. [0043]-Tsai discloses the UE can be configured by the gNB to monitor PDCCH for the maximum number of PDCCH candidates and nonoverlapping CCEs defined per slot. Para. [0057]-Tsai discloses SCSs/numerologies may be introduced for NR from 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to frequency bands} ... For NR from 52.6 GHz and above, UE can know the “cross-slot” scheduling scheme for certain BWPs. Para. [0038-0039]-Tsai discloses for SCS/numerologies ... depending on the configuration, the number of PDCCH candidates may be limited by the number of blind decoding attempts, or by the number of CCE that require channel estimates. In NR, number of monitored PDCCH candidates and non-overlapped CCEs per slot is the UE capability … SCS configuration μ∈{0,1,2,3} {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced numerology} for a single serving cell can be {44, 36, 22, 20}. Table 3, Para. [0089-0090]-Tsai discloses design for the single-to-multiple scheduling DCI format (e.g., DCI format l_y) for 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} ... Frequency domain resource assignment (FDRA) {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to Control, shared or device specific resource} ... single-to-multiple scheduling DCI format (e.g., format 1_z) to avoid overgrowth is that the control information can be divided into two parts. The first part of the control information is the critical demodulation information such as the time-frequency resource {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced time-frequency resource}} allocation information (e.g., FDRA, TDRA, rate matching parameter, etc..) and shared field like carrier indicator, BWP ID).
Regarding claim 10, Tsai teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Tsai further teaches the control channel is a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (Para. [0062-0079]-Tsai discloses control information in DCI bit field (or DCI field) may be separated or shared field. For shared field, the n PDSCHs can share the same valued indicated by DCI field. For separated field, n separate values are indicated to then PDSCHs ... Control information in DCI field may include shared fields ... PUCCH resource indicator: Scheduled PDSCHs can share a same PUCCH resource ... TPC command for scheduled PUCCH), and
the configuration indicates a plurality of PUCCH resources respectively including one or more time-frequency resources associated with the single numerology of the different numerologies (Para. [0064-0072]-Tsai discloses control information in DCI field may include shared fields ... PUCCH resource indicator: Scheduled PDSCHs can share a same PUCCH resource ... TPC command for scheduled PUCCH. Para. [0090]-Tsai discloses single-to-multiple scheduling DCI format (e.g., format 1_z) to avoid overgrowth is that the control information can be divided into two parts. The first part of the control information is the critical demodulation information such as the time-frequency resource {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced time-frequency resource}} allocation information (e.g., FDRA, TDRA, rate matching parameter, etc..) and shared field like carrier indicator, BWP ID. Table 3, Para. [0089]-Tsai discloses design for the single-to-multiple scheduling DCI format (e.g., DCI format l_y) for 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} ... Frequency domain resource assignment (FDRA) {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to Control, shared or device specific resource}),
the PUCCH resources being respectively allocated in the one or more of the non-contiguous frequency bands associated with the single numerology (Para. [0064-0072]-Tsai discloses control information in DCI field may include shared fields ... PUCCH resource indicator: Scheduled PDSCHs can share a same PUCCH resource ... TPC command for scheduled PUCCH. Para. [0050]-Tsai discloses DCI format 0_x and 1_x or PDCCH repetition for NR from 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} (CORESET and/or SS configuration in a BWP). Para. [0038-0039]-Tsai discloses UE can be configured with up to 10 SS sets each for up to 4 BWPs in a serving cell ... PDCCH minimum processing times is confined in units of symbols for SCS/numerologies ... PDCCH maximum number M.sub.PDCCH.sup.max,slot,μ of monitored PDCCH candidates per slot for a DL BWP with SCS configuration μ∈{0,1,2,3} {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced numerology} for a single serving cell can be {44, 36, 22, 20}. Table 3, Para. [0089]-Tsai discloses design for the single-to-multiple scheduling DCI format (e.g., DCI format l_y) for 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} ... Frequency domain resource assignment (FDRA) {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to Control, shared or device specific resource}).
Regarding claim 11, Tsai teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Tsai further teaches the control channel is a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (Para. [0062-0079]-Tsai discloses control information in DCI bit field (or DCI field) may be separated or shared field. For shared field, the n PDSCHs can share the same valued indicated by DCI field. For separated field, n separate values are indicated to then PDSCHs ... Control information in DCI field may include shared fields ... PUCCH resource indicator: Scheduled PDSCHs can share a same PUCCH resource ... TPC command for scheduled PUCCH),
the configuration indicates a plurality of PUCCH resources respectively including one or more time-frequency resources associated with the single numerology of the different numerologies (Para. [0064-0072]-Tsai discloses control information in DCI field may include shared fields ... PUCCH resource indicator: Scheduled PDSCHs can share a same PUCCH resource ... TPC command for scheduled PUCCH. Para. [0090]-Tsai discloses single-to-multiple scheduling DCI format (e.g., format 1_z) to avoid overgrowth is that the control information can be divided into two parts. The first part of the control information is the critical demodulation information such as the time-frequency resource {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced time-frequency resource}} allocation information (e.g., FDRA, TDRA, rate matching parameter, etc..) and shared field like carrier indicator, BWP ID. Table 3, Para. [0089]-Tsai discloses design for the single-to-multiple scheduling DCI format (e.g., DCI format l_y) for 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} ... Frequency domain resource assignment (FDRA) {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to Control, shared or device specific resource}),
the PUCCH resources being respectively allocated in the one or more of the non-contiguous frequency bands associated with the each numerology of the different numerologies (Para. [0064-0072]-Tsai discloses control information in DCI field may include shared fields ... PUCCH resource indicator: Scheduled PDSCHs can share a same PUCCH resource ... TPC command for scheduled PUCCH. Para. [0050]-Tsai discloses DCI format 0_x and 1_x or PDCCH repetition for NR from 52.6 GHz and above (CORESET and/or SS configuration in a BWP). Para. [0038-0039]-Tsai discloses UE can be configured with up to 10 SS sets each for up to 4 BWPs in a serving cell ... PDCCH minimum processing times is confined in units of symbols for SCS/numerologies ... PDCCH maximum number M.sub.PDCCH.sup.max,slot,μ of monitored PDCCH candidates per slot for a DL BWP with SCS configuration μ∈{0,1,2,3} {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced numerology} for a single serving cell can be {44, 36, 22, 20}. Table 3, Para. [0089]-Tsai discloses design for the single-to-multiple scheduling DCI format (e.g., DCI format l_y) for 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} ... Frequency domain resource assignment (FDRA) {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to Control, shared or device specific resource}), and
the one or more processors, individually or in any combination, are operable to cause the apparatus to: transmit in one of the PUCCH resources allocated in the one or more of the non-contiguous frequency bands associated with the single numerology during a time period (Para. [0064-0072]-Tsai discloses control information in DCI field may include shared fields ... PUCCH resource indicator: Scheduled PDSCHs can share a same PUCCH resource ... TPC command for scheduled PUCCH. Para. [0050]-Tsai discloses DCI format 0_x and 1_x or PDCCH repetition for NR from 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} (CORESET and/or SS configuration in a BWP). Para. [0038-0039]-Tsai discloses UE can be configured with up to 10 SS sets each for up to 4 BWPs in a serving cell ... PDCCH minimum processing times is confined in units of symbols for SCS/numerologies ... PDCCH maximum number M.sub.PDCCH.sup.max,slot,μ of monitored PDCCH candidates per slot for a DL BWP with SCS configuration μ∈{0,1,2,3} {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced numerology} for a single serving cell can be {44, 36, 22, 20}. Table 3, Para. [0089]-Tsai discloses design for the single-to-multiple scheduling DCI format (e.g., DCI format l_y) for 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} ... Frequency domain resource assignment (FDRA) {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to Control, shared or device specific resource}).
Regarding claim 12, Tsai teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Tsai further teaches the control channel is a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (Para. [0062-0079]-Tsai discloses control information in DCI bit field (or DCI field) may be separated or shared field. For shared field, the n PDSCHs can share the same valued indicated by DCI field. For separated field, n separate values are indicated to then PDSCHs ... Control information in DCI field may include shared fields ... PUCCH resource indicator: Scheduled PDSCHs can share a same PUCCH resource ... TPC command for scheduled PUCCH),
the configuration indicates a plurality of PUCCH resources respectively including one or more time-frequency resources associated with the single numerology of the different numerologies (Para. [0064-0072]-Tsai discloses control information in DCI field may include shared fields ... PUCCH resource indicator: Scheduled PDSCHs can share a same PUCCH resource ... TPC command for scheduled PUCCH. Para. [0090]-Tsai discloses single-to-multiple scheduling DCI format (e.g., format 1_z) to avoid overgrowth is that the control information can be divided into two parts. The first part of the control information is the critical demodulation information such as the time-frequency resource {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced time-frequency resource}} allocation information (e.g., FDRA, TDRA, rate matching parameter, etc..) and shared field like carrier indicator, BWP ID. Table 3, Para. [0089]-Tsai discloses design for the single-to-multiple scheduling DCI format (e.g., DCI format l_y) for 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} ... Frequency domain resource assignment (FDRA) {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to Control, shared or device specific resource}),
the PUCCH resources being respectively allocated in the one or more of the non-contiguous frequency bands associated with the each numerology of the different numerologies (Para. [0064-0072]-Tsai discloses control information in DCI field may include shared fields ... PUCCH resource indicator: Scheduled PDSCHs can share a same PUCCH resource ... TPC command for scheduled PUCCH. Para. [0050]-Tsai discloses DCI format 0_x and 1_x or PDCCH repetition for NR from 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} (CORESET and/or SS configuration in a BWP). Para. [0038-0039]-Tsai discloses UE can be configured with up to 10 SS sets each for up to 4 BWPs in a serving cell ... PDCCH minimum processing times is confined in units of symbols for SCS/numerologies ... PDCCH maximum number M.sub.PDCCH.sup.max,slot,μ of monitored PDCCH candidates per slot for a DL BWP with SCS configuration μ∈{0,1,2,3} {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced numerology} for a single serving cell can be {44, 36, 22, 20}. Table 3, Para. [0089]-Tsai discloses design for the single-to-multiple scheduling DCI format (e.g., DCI format l_y) for 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} ... Frequency domain resource assignment (FDRA) {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to Control, shared or device specific resource}), and
the one or more processors, individually or in any combination, are operable to cause the apparatus to: transmit in multiple ones of the PUCCH resources allocated in the one or more of the non-contiguous frequency bands associated with the each numerology of the different numerologies simultaneously during a single time period (Para. [0064-0072]-Tsai discloses control information in DCI field may include shared fields ... PUCCH resource indicator: Scheduled PDSCHs can share a same PUCCH resource ... TPC command for scheduled PUCCH. Para. [0050]-Tsai discloses DCI format 0_x and 1_x or PDCCH repetition for NR from 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} (CORESET and/or SS configuration in a BWP). Para. [0038-0039]-Tsai discloses UE can be configured with up to 10 SS sets each for up to 4 BWPs in a serving cell ... PDCCH minimum processing times is confined in units of symbols for SCS/numerologies ... PDCCH maximum number M.sub.PDCCH.sup.max,slot,μ of monitored PDCCH candidates per slot for a DL BWP with SCS configuration μ∈{0,1,2,3} {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced numerology} for a single serving cell can be {44, 36, 22, 20}. Table 3, Para. [0089]-Tsai discloses design for the single-to-multiple scheduling DCI format (e.g., DCI format l_y) for 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} ... Frequency domain resource assignment (FDRA) {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to Control, shared or device specific resource}).
Regarding claim 13, Tsai teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Tsai further teaches the control channel is a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (Para. [0062-0079]-Tsai discloses control information in DCI bit field (or DCI field) may be separated or shared field. For shared field, the n PDSCHs can share the same valued indicated by DCI field. For separated field, n separate values are indicated to then PDSCHs ... Control information in DCI field may include shared fields ... PUCCH resource indicator: Scheduled PDSCHs can share a same PUCCH resource ... TPC command for scheduled PUCCH),
the configuration indicates a plurality of PUCCH resources respectively including one or more time-frequency resources associated with the each numerology of the different numerologies (Para. [0064-0072]-Tsai discloses control information in DCI field may include shared fields ... PUCCH resource indicator: Scheduled PDSCHs can share a same PUCCH resource ... TPC command for scheduled PUCCH. Para. [0090]-Tsai discloses single-to-multiple scheduling DCI format (e.g., format 1_z) to avoid overgrowth is that the control information can be divided into two parts. The first part of the control information is the critical demodulation information such as the time-frequency resource {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced time-frequency resource}} allocation information (e.g., FDRA, TDRA, rate matching parameter, etc..) and shared field like carrier indicator, BWP ID. Table 3, Para. [0089]-Tsai discloses design for the single-to-multiple scheduling DCI format (e.g., DCI format l_y) for 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} ... Frequency domain resource assignment (FDRA) {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to Control, shared or device specific resource}),
one of the PUCCH resources being respectively allocated in the one or more of the non-contiguous frequency bands associated with the each numerology during different time periods (Para. [0064-0072]-Tsai discloses control information in DCI field may include shared fields ... PUCCH resource indicator: Scheduled PDSCHs can share a same PUCCH resource ... TPC command for scheduled PUCCH. Para. [0050]-Tsai discloses DCI format 0_x and 1_x or PDCCH repetition for NR from 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} (CORESET and/or SS configuration in a BWP). Para. [0038-0039]-Tsai discloses UE can be configured with up to 10 SS sets each for up to 4 BWPs in a serving cell ... PDCCH minimum processing times is confined in units of symbols for SCS/numerologies ... PDCCH maximum number M.sub.PDCCH.sup.max,slot,μ of monitored PDCCH candidates per slot for a DL BWP with SCS configuration μ∈{0,1,2,3} {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced numerology} for a single serving cell can be {44, 36, 22, 20}. Table 3, Para. [0089]-Tsai discloses design for the single-to-multiple scheduling DCI format (e.g., DCI format l_y) for 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} ... Frequency domain resource assignment (FDRA) {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to Control, shared or device specific resource}).
Regarding claim 14, Tsai teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Tsai further teaches the control channel is a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (Para. [0062-0079]-Tsai discloses control information in DCI bit field (or DCI field) may be separated or shared field. For shared field, the n PDSCHs can share the same valued indicated by DCI field. For separated field, n separate values are indicated to then PDSCHs ... Control information in DCI field may include shared fields ... PUCCH resource indicator: Scheduled PDSCHs can share a same PUCCH resource ... TPC command for scheduled PUCCH),
the configuration indicates a plurality of PUCCH resources respectively including one or more time-frequency resources associated with the each numerology of the different numerologies (Para. [0064-0072]-Tsai discloses control information in DCI field may include shared fields ... PUCCH resource indicator: Scheduled PDSCHs can share a same PUCCH resource ... TPC command for scheduled PUCCH. Para. [0090]-Tsai discloses single-to-multiple scheduling DCI format (e.g., format 1_z) to avoid overgrowth is that the control information can be divided into two parts. The first part of the control information is the critical demodulation information such as the time-frequency resource {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced time-frequency resource}} allocation information (e.g., FDRA, TDRA, rate matching parameter, etc..) and shared field like carrier indicator, BWP ID. Table 3, Para. [0089]-Tsai discloses design for the single-to-multiple scheduling DCI format (e.g., DCI format l_y) for 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} ... Frequency domain resource assignment (FDRA) {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to Control, shared or device specific resource}. Para. [0038-0039]-Tsai discloses UE can be configured with up to 10 SS sets each for up to 4 BWPs in a serving cell ... PDCCH minimum processing times is confined in units of symbols for SCS/numerologies ... PDCCH maximum number M.sub.PDCCH.sup.max,slot,μ of monitored PDCCH candidates per slot for a DL BWP with SCS configuration μ∈{0,1,2,3} {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced numerology} for a single serving cell can be {44, 36, 22, 20}),
one of the PUCCH resources being respectively allocated in the one or more of the non-contiguous frequency bands associated with the each numerology during a same time period (Para. [0064-0072]-Tsai discloses control information in DCI field may include shared fields ... PUCCH resource indicator: Scheduled PDSCHs can share a same PUCCH resource ... TPC command for scheduled PUCCH. Para. [0050]-Tsai discloses DCI format 0_x and 1_x or PDCCH repetition for NR from 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} (CORESET and/or SS configuration in a BWP). Para. [0038-0039]-Tsai discloses UE can be configured with up to 10 SS sets each for up to 4 BWPs in a serving cell ... PDCCH minimum processing times is confined in units of symbols for SCS/numerologies ... PDCCH maximum number M.sub.PDCCH.sup.max,slot,μ of monitored PDCCH candidates per slot for a DL BWP with SCS configuration μ∈{0,1,2,3} {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced numerology} for a single serving cell can be {44, 36, 22, 20}. Table 3, Para. [0089]-Tsai discloses design for the single-to-multiple scheduling DCI format (e.g., DCI format l_y) for 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} ... Frequency domain resource assignment (FDRA) {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to Control, shared or device specific resource}).
Regarding claim 15, Tsai teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Tsai further teaches the data channel is a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (Fig. 10B, Para. [0019]-Tsai discloses PDCCH monitoring methods for supporting NR from 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} in which there may be a single DCI schedule multiple (e.g., two) PDSCHs. Para. [0048]-Tsai discloses single DCI which schedules multiple PDSCH(s) can reduce the BD efforts for monitoring PDCCH for NR from 52.6 to 71 GHz band. In Rel-16, a single DCI can schedule two PDSCH(s)), and
the one or more processors, individually or in any combination, are operable to cause the apparatus to: receive downlink control information (DCI) scheduling the PDSCH or the PUSCH in the one or more of the non-contiguous frequency bands associated with the single numerology of the different numerologies (Para. [0116]-Tsai discloses UE 102 can receive a single DCI scheduling multiple PDSCHs. Para. [0048]-Tsai discloses single DCI which schedules multiple PDSCH(s) can reduce the BD efforts for monitoring PDCCH for NR from 52.6 to 71 GHz band. In Rel-16, a single DCI can schedule two PDSCH(s). Para. [0114]-Tsai discloses single DCI scheduling multiple different PDSCHs from a serving cell with multiple TRP transmission. In addition, ... the gap symbol is required for the higher SCS (e.g., 960 KHz) {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced numerology}}),
at least one field of the DCI being configured for the single numerology (Para. [0114]-Tsai discloses single DCI scheduling multiple different PDSCHs from a serving cell with multiple TRP transmission. In addition, ... the gap symbol is required for the higher SCS (e.g., 960 KHz) {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced numerology}}); and
receive the PDSCH or transmit the PUSCH in the one or more of the non-contiguous frequency bands associated with the single numerology of the different numerologies (Para. [0116]-Tsai discloses UE 102 can receive a single DCI scheduling multiple PDSCHs. Para. [0048]-Tsai discloses single DCI which schedules multiple PDSCH(s) can reduce the BD efforts for monitoring PDCCH for NR from 52.6 to 71 GHz band. In Rel-16, a single DCI can schedule two PDSCH(s). Para. [0114]-Tsai discloses single DCI scheduling multiple different PDSCHs from a serving cell with multiple TRP transmission. In addition, ... the gap symbol is required for the higher SCS (e.g., 960 KHz) {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced numerology}}. Para. [0038-0039]-Tsai discloses UE can be configured with up to 10 SS sets each for up to 4 BWPs in a serving cell ... PDCCH minimum processing times is confined in units of symbols for SCS/numerologies ... PDCCH maximum number M.sub.PDCCH.sup.max,slot,μ of monitored PDCCH candidates per slot for a DL BWP with SCS configuration μ∈{0,1,2,3} {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced numerology} for a single serving cell can be {44, 36, 22, 20}),
different PDSCHs or different PUSCHs are respectively allocated in the one or more of the non-contiguous frequency bands associated with the different numerologies during different time periods (Para. [0116]-Tsai discloses UE 102 can receive a single DCI scheduling multiple PDSCHs. Para. [0048]-Tsai discloses single DCI which schedules multiple PDSCH(s) can reduce the BD efforts for monitoring PDCCH for NR from 52.6 to 71 GHz band. In Rel-16, a single DCI can schedule two PDSCH(s). Para. [0114]-Tsai discloses single DCI scheduling multiple different PDSCHs from a serving cell with multiple TRP transmission. In addition, ... the gap symbol is required for the higher SCS (e.g., 960 KHz) {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced numerology}}. Para. [0038-0039]-Tsai discloses UE can be configured with up to 10 SS sets each for up to 4 BWPs in a serving cell ... PDCCH minimum processing times is confined in units of symbols for SCS/numerologies ... PDCCH maximum number M.sub.PDCCH.sup.max,slot,μ of monitored PDCCH candidates per slot for a DL BWP with SCS configuration μ∈{0,1,2,3} {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced numerology} for a single serving cell can be {44, 36, 22, 20}).
Regarding claim 17, Tsai teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Tsai further teaches the control channel is a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (Para. [0062-0079]-Tsai discloses control information in DCI bit field (or DCI field) may be separated or shared field. For shared field, the n PDSCHs can share the same valued indicated by DCI field. For separated field, n separate values are indicated to then PDSCHs ... Control information in DCI field may include shared fields ... PUCCH resource indicator: Scheduled PDSCHs can share a same PUCCH resource ... TPC command for scheduled PUCCH) and
the data channel is a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (Para. [0046]-Tsai discloses DCI format 0_2, open loop power control (OLPC) set indication field with from 0 to 2 bits, priority indicator field with 0 or 1 bit, invalid symbol pattern indicator field with 0 or 1 bit are new fields added to be compatible with new standards of PUSCH transmission. Fig. 10B, Para. [0019]-Tsai discloses PDCCH monitoring methods for supporting NR from 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} in which there may be a single DCI schedule multiple (e.g., two) PDSCHs. Para. [0048]-Tsai discloses single DCI which schedules multiple PDSCH(s) can reduce the BD efforts for monitoring PDCCH for NR from 52.6 to 71 GHz band. In Rel-16, a single DCI can schedule two PDSCH(s)), and
the one or more processors, individually or in any combination, are operable to cause the apparatus to: transmit the PUCCH in the one or more of the non-contiguous frequency bands associated with one or multiple of the different numerologies (Para. [0064-0072]-Tsai discloses control information in DCI field may include shared fields ... PUCCH resource indicator: Scheduled PDSCHs can share a same PUCCH resource ... TPC command for scheduled PUCCH. Para. [0090]-Tsai discloses single-to-multiple scheduling DCI format (e.g., format 1_z) to avoid overgrowth is that the control information can be divided into two parts. The first part of the control information is the critical demodulation information such as the time-frequency resource {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced time-frequency resource}} allocation information (e.g., FDRA, TDRA, rate matching parameter, etc..) and shared field like carrier indicator, BWP ID. Table 3, Para. [0089]-Tsai discloses design for the single-to-multiple scheduling DCI format (e.g., DCI format l_y) for 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} ... Frequency domain resource assignment (FDRA) {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to Control, shared or device specific resource}); and
transmit the PUSCH, concurrently with the PUCCH, in a different one or more of the non-contiguous frequency bands associated with one or multiple of the different numerologies (Para. [0046]-Tsai discloses DCI format 0_2, open loop power control (OLPC) set indication field with from 0 to 2 bits, priority indicator field with 0 or 1 bit, invalid symbol pattern indicator field with 0 or 1 bit are new fields added to be compatible with new standards of PUSCH transmission. Para. [0116]-Tsai discloses UE 102 can receive a single DCI scheduling multiple PDSCHs. Para. [0069-0070]-Tsai discloses Scheduled PDSCHs can share the same TCI state from a single or multiple transmission and reception point (TRP) ... PUCCH resource indicator: Scheduled PDSCHs can share a same PUCCH resource for Ack/Nack (A/N). Para. [0091]-Tsai discloses TCI state for the 2.sup.nd part of the control information can be same with the simultaneous PDSCH. Para. [0134]-Tsai discloses for TDRA bit field for single DCI schedules multiple PDSCH/PUSCHs. TDRA bit field in single DCI scheduling multi-PDSCH or multi-PUSCH can be used for the indication of the number of scheduled PDSCH(s)/PUSCH(s). In addition, each PDSCH/PUSCH has a separate (valid) SLIV and mapping type (e.g., for DL, PDSCH mapping type A, B, or new type). Since each scheduled PDSCH/PUSCH has its own SLIV (i.e., the starting symbol in a slot and the length of scheduled symbols), so continuous or non-contiguous (time-domain) transmission of PDSCH/PUSCH can be supported. Para. [0048]-Tsai discloses single DCI which schedules multiple PDSCH(s) can reduce the BD efforts for monitoring PDCCH for NR from 52.6 to 71 GHz band. In Rel-16, a single DCI can schedule two PDSCH(s). Para. [0114]-Tsai discloses single DCI scheduling multiple different PDSCHs from a serving cell with multiple TRP transmission. In addition, ... the gap symbol is required for the higher SCS (e.g., 960 KHz) {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced numerology}}. Para. [0038-0039]-Tsai discloses UE can be configured with up to 10 SS sets each for up to 4 BWPs in a serving cell ... PDCCH minimum processing times is confined in units of symbols for SCS/numerologies ... PDCCH maximum number M.sub.PDCCH.sup.max,slot,μ of monitored PDCCH candidates per slot for a DL BWP with SCS configuration μ∈{0,1,2,3} {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced numerology} for a single serving cell can be {44, 36, 22, 20}).
Regarding claim 18, Tsai teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Tsai further teaches the data channel is a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (Para. [0046]-Tsai discloses DCI format 0_2, open loop power control (OLPC) set indication field with from 0 to 2 bits, priority indicator field with 0 or 1 bit, invalid symbol pattern indicator field with 0 or 1 bit are new fields added to be compatible with new standards of PUSCH transmission) and
the control channel is a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) concurrent in time with the PUSCH (Para. [0062-0079]-Tsai discloses control information in DCI field may include shared fields ... PUCCH resource indicator: Scheduled PDSCHs can share a same PUCCH resource ... TPC command for scheduled PUCCH), and
the one or more processors, individually or in any combination, are operable to cause the apparatus to: transmit the PUSCH in one or more of the non-contiguous frequency bands associated with one or multiple of the different numerologies (Para. [0046]-Tsai discloses DCI format 0_2, open loop power control (OLPC) set indication field with from 0 to 2 bits, priority indicator field with 0 or 1 bit, invalid symbol pattern indicator field with 0 or 1 bit are new fields added to be compatible with new standards of PUSCH transmission. Para. [0116]-Tsai discloses UE 102 can receive a single DCI scheduling multiple PDSCHs. Para. [0048]-Tsai discloses single DCI which schedules multiple PDSCH(s) can reduce the BD efforts for monitoring PDCCH for NR from 52.6 to 71 GHz band. In Rel-16, a single DCI can schedule two PDSCH(s). Para. [0114]-Tsai discloses single DCI scheduling multiple different PDSCHs from a serving cell with multiple TRP transmission. In addition, ... the gap symbol is required for the higher SCS (e.g., 960 KHz) {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced numerology}}. Para. [0038-0039]-Tsai discloses UE can be configured with up to 10 SS sets each for up to 4 BWPs in a serving cell ... PDCCH minimum processing times is confined in units of symbols for SCS/numerologies ... PDCCH maximum number M.sub.PDCCH.sup.max,slot,μ of monitored PDCCH candidates per slot for a DL BWP with SCS configuration μ∈{0,1,2,3} {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced numerology} for a single serving cell can be {44, 36, 22, 20}),
the PUCCH being multiplexed on the PUSCH in either: the one or more of the non-contiguous frequency bands associated with a reference numerology of the different numerologies, or the one or more of the non-contiguous frequency bands associated with the each numerology of the different numerologies (Para. [0053]-Tsai discloses UEs can be multiplexed in frequency domain resource within a OFDM symbol, the transport block (TB) can be occupied most of resource elements (REs) in a OFDM symbol. Para. [0062-0079]-Tsai discloses control information in DCI field may include shared fields ... PUCCH resource indicator: Scheduled PDSCHs can share a same PUCCH resource ... TPC command for scheduled PUCCH. Para. [0046]-Tsai discloses DCI format 0_2, open loop power control (OLPC) set indication field with from 0 to 2 bits, priority indicator field with 0 or 1 bit, invalid symbol pattern indicator field with 0 or 1 bit are new fields added to be compatible with new standards of PUSCH transmission. Para. [0050]-Tsai discloses methods for DCI design for NR from 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} (CORESET and/or SS configuration in a BWP). Para. [0038-0039]-Tsai discloses for SCS/numerologies ... SCS configuration μ∈{0,1,2,3} {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced numerology} for a single serving cell can be {44, 36, 22, 20}. Para. [0057]-Tsai discloses SCSs/numerologies may be introduced for NR from 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to frequency bands} ... For NR from 52.6 GHz and above, UE can know the “cross-slot” scheduling scheme for certain BWPs. Para. [0042]-Tsai discloses SCS configuration μ∈{0, 1} for a single serving cell can be {56, 56}, respectively. The per monitoring span (X, Y) supports SCS/numerologies 15 KHz/μ=0 and 30 KHz/μ=1 only. Para. [0107]-Tsai discloses numerology for the BWP in SCell may be different from the BWP used in the scheduled cell (e.g., PCell or PSCell). Para. [0134]-Tsai discloses non-contiguous (time-domain) transmission of PDSCH/PUSCH can be supported). Table 3, Para. [0089]-Tsai discloses design for the single-to-multiple scheduling DCI format (e.g., DCI format l_y) for 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} ... Frequency domain resource assignment (FDRA) {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to Control, shared or device specific resource}. Para. [0087]-Tsai discloses if the allocation length of PRB for a PDSCH in one of the separate FDRA field in DCI is equal to zero, then UE 102 can assume that corresponding PDSCH is not scheduled. FDRA can support Type 0, Type 1, and dynamic switch (switch between Type 0 and 1). Para. [0057]-Tsai discloses SCSs/numerologies may be introduced for NR from 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} ... For NR from 52.6 GHz and above, UE can know the “cross-slot” scheduling scheme for certain BWPs. Para. [0038-0039]-Tsai discloses UE can be configured with up to 10 SS sets each for up to 4 BWPs in a serving cell).
Claim 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TSAI et al. (US 20230371039 A1), hereinafter referenced as Tsai, in view of Do et al. (US 20230066568 A1), hereinafter referenced as Do, and further in view of WANG et al. (US 20180132269 A1), hereinafter referenced as Do.
Regarding claim 16, Tsai teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Tsai further teaches the data channel is a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (Fig. 10B, Para. [0019]-Tsai discloses PDCCH monitoring methods for supporting NR from 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} in which there may be a single DCI schedule multiple (e.g., two) PDSCHs. Para. [0048]-Tsai discloses single DCI which schedules multiple PDSCH(s) can reduce the BD efforts for monitoring PDCCH for NR from 52.6 to 71 GHz band. In Rel-16, a single DCI can schedule two PDSCH(s)), and
the one or more processors, individually or in any combination, are operable to cause the apparatus to: receive downlink control information (DCI) scheduling the PDSCH or the PUSCH in the one or more of the non-contiguous frequency bands associated with the each numerology of the different numerologies (Para. [0116]-Tsai discloses UE 102 can receive a single DCI scheduling multiple PDSCHs. Para. [0048]-Tsai discloses single DCI which schedules multiple PDSCH(s) can reduce the BD efforts for monitoring PDCCH for NR from 52.6 to 71 GHz band. In Rel-16, a single DCI can schedule two PDSCH(s). Para. [0114]-Tsai discloses single DCI scheduling multiple different PDSCHs from a serving cell with multiple TRP transmission. In addition, ... the gap symbol is required for the higher SCS (e.g., 960 KHz) {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced numerology}}); and
receive the PDSCH or transmit the PUSCH in the one or more of the non-contiguous frequency bands associated with the each numerology of the different numerologies (Para. [0114]-Tsai discloses single DCI scheduling multiple different PDSCHs from a serving cell with multiple TRP transmission. In addition, ... the gap symbol is required for the higher SCS (e.g., 960 KHz) {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced numerology}}),
individual … blocks in the PDSCH or the PUSCH are respectively allocated in the one or more of the non-contiguous frequency bands associated with the single numerology (Tables 2, 4 and 6, Para. [0053]-Tsai discloses bit field in DCI format 1_0/1_1 can be further reduced such as the frequency domain resource assignment (FDRA) ..., PDSCH-to-HARQ-timing-indicator, etc.. can be reduced for new compact DCI format 1_x design for NR from 52.6 GHz to 71 GHz {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to set of frequency bands, including non-contiguity}. Para. [0087]-Tsai discloses allocation length of PRB for a PDSCH in one of the separate FDRA field in DCI. Para. [0079]-Tsai discloses FDRA: This field can be separated for each scheduled PDSCH. DCI can use separated FDRA field for each scheduled PDSCH frequency-domain resource. Para. [0116]-Tsai discloses UE 102 can receive a single DCI scheduling multiple PDSCHs. Para. [0048]-Tsai discloses single DCI which schedules multiple PDSCH(s) can reduce the BD efforts for monitoring PDCCH for NR from 52.6 to 71 GHz band. In Rel-16, a single DCI can schedule two PDSCH(s). Para. [0114]-Tsai discloses single DCI scheduling multiple different PDSCHs from a serving cell with multiple TRP transmission. In addition, ... the gap symbol is required for the higher SCS (e.g., 960 KHz) {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced numerology}}. Para. [0038-0039]-Tsai discloses UE can be configured with up to 10 SS sets each for up to 4 BWPs in a serving cell ... PDCCH minimum processing times is confined in units of symbols for SCS/numerologies ... PDCCH maximum number M.sub.PDCCH.sup.max,slot,μ of monitored PDCCH candidates per slot for a DL BWP with SCS configuration μ∈{0,1,2,3} {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced numerology} for a single serving cell can be {44, 36, 22, 20}).
Tsai fails to explicitly teach individual code blocks in the PDSCH or the PUSCH are respectively allocated in the one or more of the non-contiguous frequency bands associated with the single numerology.
However, Wang teaches individual code blocks in the PDSCH or the PUSCH are respectively allocated in the one or more of the non-contiguous frequency bands associated with the single numerology (Fig. 4, Para. [0074-0075]-Wang discloses UE 404 may map the ACK/NACK feedback frequency first ..., the subcarriers for ACK/NACK feedback may be non-contiguous in frequency {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced bands}. The UE 404 may puncture the PUSCH {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced PUSCH} with the ACK/NACK feedback—e.g., at least a portion of a set of RBs corresponding to the PUSCH may be used to carry bits conveying the ACK/NACK feedback … one or more of the first code blocks of the PUSCH data may be heavily punctured by the ACK/NACK feedback and RI … the subcarriers for ACK/NACK feedback or RI may be non-contiguous in frequency. The UE 404 may puncture the PUSCH data with at least one of the ACK/NACK feedback and RI. Para. [0139]-Wang discloses the subcarriers for CQI may be non-contiguous in frequency, e.g., even or odd subcarriers. {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: The “at least one” and the “even or odd” subcarriers corresponding to the single numerology).
Wang is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication systems, dealing with user equipment configured for mapping uplink control information.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Tsai in view of Do to incorporate the teachings of Wang on code blocks, with a motivation for allocations in non-contiguous frequency bands, and guarantee improvements in 5G NR technology, (Wang, Para. [0004]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's Arguments/Remarks, filed on 09/10/2026, with respect to the 35 USC § 103 rejection of claims 1-20 have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
In the remarks, on page 9, Lines [15-19], Applicant argues that, “…The Examiner failed to meet these obligations with respect to at least two sets of arguments: (1) Applicant's argument (June 25, 2026 Response at pp. 12-13) that paragraph 107 of Tsai describes numerology differences between an SCell and a PCell/PSCell in carrier aggregation - i.e., multiple different cells - not a single cell that includes a plurality of non-contiguous frequency bands as recited in independent claim 1.” Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons:
In the remarks section of the 07/09/2026 Non-Final Action, the Office Action explains that in Para. [0050]-Tsai discloses methods for DCI design for NR from 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} (CORESET and/or SS configuration in a BWP). Para. [0038-0039]-Tsai discloses for SCS/numerologies ... SCS configuration μ∈{0,1,2,3} {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced numerology} for a single serving cell can be {44, 36, 22, 20}. Para. [0057]-Tsai discloses SCSs/numerologies may be introduced for NR from 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to frequency bands} ... For NR from 52.6 GHz and above, UE can know the “cross-slot” scheduling scheme for certain BWPs. Para. [0042]-Tsai discloses SCS configuration μ∈{0, 1} for a single serving cell can be {56, 56}, respectively. The per monitoring span (X, Y) supports SCS/numerologies 15 KHz/μ=0 and 30 KHz/μ=1 only. Para. [0107]-Tsai discloses numerology for the BWP in SCell may be different from the BWP used in the scheduled cell (e.g., PCell or PSCell). Para. [0134]-Tsai discloses non-contiguous (time-domain) transmission of PDSCH/PUSCH can be supported.
In the remarks, on page 9, Lines [22-25], Applicant argues that, “…the cited paragraphs of Tsai describe FDRA within a single contiguous BWP, that the "Shared or Separated" descriptor is an unrelated DCI design choice, and that CORESETs within a BWP confirm confinement to contiguous resources.” Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons:
In the remarks section of the 07/09/2026 Non-Final Action, the Office Action explains that in Table 3, Para. [0089]-Tsai discloses design for the single-to-multiple scheduling DCI format (e.g., DCI format l_y) for 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} ... Frequency domain resource assignment (FDRA) {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to Control, shared or device specific resource}. Para. [0087]-Tsai discloses if the allocation length of PRB for a PDSCH in one of the separate FDRA field in DCI is equal to zero, then UE 102 can assume that corresponding PDSCH is not scheduled. FDRA can support Type 0, Type 1, and dynamic switch (switch between Type 0 and 1). Para. [0079]-Tsai discloses FDRA: This field can be separated for each scheduled PDSCH. DCI can use separated FDRA field for each scheduled PDSCH frequency-domain resource, or DCI can use a single FDRA field for scheduling multiple PDSCHs frequency-domain resources based on a look-up table. The entries in the look-up table can be configured by higher layer (e.g., RRC). (See also Para. [0090). Para. [0057]-Tsai discloses SCSs/numerologies may be introduced for NR from 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} ... For NR from 52.6 GHz and above, UE can know the “cross-slot” scheduling scheme for certain BWPs. Para. [0038-0039]-Tsai discloses UE can be configured with up to 10 SS sets each for up to 4 BWPs in a serving cell.
In the remarks, on page 10, Lines [7-9], Applicant argues that, “…Applicant notes that the corresponding structures for claim 20 are not necessarily limited to those identified by the Examiner, and additional corresponding structures may be found throughout the Specification.” Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons:
With regards to the referenced limitation, “…means for obtaining a configuration of a control channel or a data channel in a cell, the cell including a plurality of non-contiguous frequency bands associated with different numerologies, the control channel or the data channel being allocated in: one or more of the non-contiguous frequency bands associated with a single numerology of the different numerologies, or one or more of the non-contiguous frequency bands associated with each numerology of the different numerologies; and means for receiving or transmitting information in at least one of the control channel or the data channel based on the configuration,” as recited in the incumbent claim 20, TSAI et al. (US 20230371039 A1) teaches an apparatus for wireless communication (Para. [0004]-Tsai discloses methods, systems, and devices that may assist in operation of DL control channel. Para. [0090]-Tsai discloses method for the single-to-multiple scheduling DCI format. Figs. 19F-19G, Para. [0198]-Tsai discloses WTRU 102 may include a processor 118, a transceiver 120, a transmit/receive element 122, a speaker/microphone 124, a keypad 126, a display/touchpad/indicators 128, non-removable memory 130, removable memory 132, a power source 134, a global positioning system (GPS) chipset 136, and other peripherals 138. Para. [0177]-Tsai discloses core network entities may be logical entities that are implemented in the form of computer-executable instructions (software) stored in a memory of, and executing on a processor of, an apparatus configured for wireless or network communications or a computer system), comprising: means for obtaining a configuration of a control channel or a data channel in a cell (Para. [0135]-Tsai discloses when UE 102 monitor PDCCH in a monitoring span (X, Y) (e.g., X=8 slots, Y=4 slots), UE only monitor PDCCH within Y slots. The starting slot can be signalled by higher layer (e.g., PDCCH config in RRC) {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the control/data channel configuration}. For example, PDCCH configuration can signal the (starting) slot number n in a SFN and the span length Y (e.g., Y≤X/2) ... since common CORESET configuration and search space are shared by multiple UEs in a serving cell, so accordingly, network need to take care alignment with UEs for this configuration like PDCCH control region for RAR/paging/system information), the cell including a plurality of … frequency bands associated with different numerologies (Para. [0050]-Tsai discloses methods for DCI design for NR from 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} (CORESET and/or SS configuration in a BWP). Para. [0038-0039]-Tsai discloses for SCS/numerologies ... SCS configuration μ∈{0,1,2,3} {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced numerology} for a single serving cell can be {44, 36, 22, 20}. Para. [0057]-Tsai discloses SCSs/numerologies may be introduced for NR from 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to frequency bands} ... For NR from 52.6 GHz and above, UE can know the “cross-slot” scheduling scheme for certain BWPs. Para. [0042]-Tsai discloses SCS configuration μ∈{0, 1} for a single serving cell can be {56, 56}, respectively. The per monitoring span (X, Y) supports SCS/numerologies 15 KHz/μ=0 and 30 KHz/μ=1 only. Para. [0107]-Tsai discloses numerology for the BWP in SCell may be different from the BWP used in the scheduled cell (e.g., PCell or PSCell). Para. [0134]-Tsai discloses non-contiguous (time-domain) transmission of PDSCH/PUSCH can be supported), the control channel or the data channel being allocated in: one or more of the non-contiguous frequency bands associated with a single numerology of the different numerologies, or one or more of the non-contiguous frequency bands associated with each numerology of the different numerologies (Table 3, Para. [0089]-Tsai discloses design for the single-to-multiple scheduling DCI format (e.g., DCI format l_y) for 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} ... Frequency domain resource assignment (FDRA) {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to Control, shared or device specific resource}. Para. [0087]-Tsai discloses if the allocation length of PRB for a PDSCH in one of the separate FDRA field in DCI is equal to zero, then UE 102 can assume that corresponding PDSCH is not scheduled. FDRA can support Type 0, Type 1, and dynamic switch (switch between Type 0 and 1). Para. [0079]-Tsai discloses FDRA: This field can be separated for each scheduled PDSCH. DCI can use separated FDRA field for each scheduled PDSCH frequency-domain resource, or DCI can use a single FDRA field for scheduling multiple PDSCHs frequency-domain resources based on a look-up table. The entries in the look-up table can be configured by higher layer (e.g., RRC). (See also Para. [0090). Para. [0057]-Tsai discloses SCSs/numerologies may be introduced for NR from 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} ... For NR from 52.6 GHz and above, UE can know the “cross-slot” scheduling scheme for certain BWPs. Para. [0038-0039]-Tsai discloses UE can be configured with up to 10 SS sets each for up to 4 BWPs in a serving cell); and means for receiving or transmitting information in at least one of the control channel or the data channel based on the configuration (Fig. 19A, Para. [0145]-Tsai discloses the base station 114a may be configured to transmit or receive wireless signals within a particular geographic region, which may be referred to as a cell ... the base station 114b may be configured to transmit or receive wired or wireless signals within a particular geographic region, which may be referred to as a cell ... for methods, systems, and devices of downlink control channel for NR from 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.}. Para. [0057]-Tsai discloses PDCCH for paging PDSCH is disclosed, system Information (SI) PDSCH can be adopted with the cross-slot scheduling when the SCS/numerologies are greater than a value e.g., SCS=480 KHz /μ=5. The value of K.sub.0 can be referred from a pre-defined table (e.g., a new set of default tables for TDRA) in the specification or via higher layer (RRC) configuration. For NR from 52.6 GHz and above, UE can know the “cross-slot” scheduling scheme for certain BWPs (e.g., for paging or RMSI PDSCH reception), while
Do et al. (US 20230066568 A1) teaches means for obtaining a configuration of a control channel or a data channel in a cell (Para. [0193]-Do discloses the base station may be any radio node configured to allocate the radio resources for the radio communication. Para. [0168]-Do discloses the term base station may be used interchangeably with the term cell. Para. [0083-0084]-Do discloses B-value for common channels and dedicated channels can be signaled to UEs in dedicated signaling when it is applicable. Furthermore, the B-value for PDSCH and PUSCH can also be dynamically specified in the associated scheduling DCIs or in some MAC CEs {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced configuration obtained for the data channels i.e. PDSCH and PUSCH} ..., the allocation 302 defines a DM-RS pattern, e.g., for PDSCH and/or PUSCH), the cell including a plurality of non-contiguous frequency bands associated with different numerologies (Para. [0181]-Do discloses the first frequency band and the second frequency band may be noncontiguous in a frequency domain. For example, the first frequency band and the second frequency band may belong to different operating frequency bands. Para. [0179]-Do discloses numerology of the first frequency band may be different from a numerology of the second frequency band. For example, a SCS of the OSs in the first frequency band may less than a SCS of the OSs in the second frequency band. Alternatively or in addition, a length of the OSs in the first frequency band may greater than a length of the OSs in the second frequency band. Para. [0165-0181]-Do discloses the same base station and/or the radio communication may use different SCSs at different times ... the term base station may be used interchangeably with the term cell ... the same base station and/or the radio communication may use different lengths of the OSs (e.g., different numerologies) at different times ... the radio communication uses a first frequency band and a second frequency band).
In the remarks, on page 12, Lines [1-4 and 27-28], Applicant argues that, “…Neither Tasi nor Do, alone or in combination, teach or otherwise suggest "obtain[ing] a configuration of a control channel or a data channel in a cell, the cell including a plurality of non-contiguous frequency bands associated with different numerologies," as recited in claim 1,” and “…Tsai does not teach a channel configuration across non-contiguous frequency bands with different numerologies” respectively. Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons:
With regards to the referenced limitation, “…obtain a configuration of a control channel or a data channel in a cell, the cell including a plurality of non-contiguous frequency bands associated with different numerologies,” as recited in the incumbent claim 1, TSAI et al. (US 20230371039 A1) teaches obtain a configuration of a control channel or a data channel in a cell (Para. [0135]-Tsai discloses when UE 102 monitor PDCCH in a monitoring span (X, Y) (e.g., X=8 slots, Y=4 slots), UE only monitor PDCCH within Y slots. The starting slot can be signalled by higher layer (e.g., PDCCH config in RRC) {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the control/data channel configuration}. For example, PDCCH configuration can signal the (starting) slot number n in a SFN and the span length Y (e.g., Y≤X/2) ... since common CORESET configuration and search space are shared by multiple UEs in a serving cell, so accordingly, network need to take care alignment with UEs for this configuration like PDCCH control region for RAR/paging/system information), the cell including a plurality of … frequency bands associated with different numerologies (Para. [0050]-Tsai discloses methods for DCI design for NR from 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} (CORESET and/or SS configuration in a BWP). Para. [0038-0039]-Tsai discloses for SCS/numerologies ... SCS configuration μ∈{0,1,2,3} {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced numerology} for a single serving cell can be {44, 36, 22, 20}. Para. [0057]-Tsai discloses SCSs/numerologies may be introduced for NR from 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to frequency bands} ... For NR from 52.6 GHz and above, UE can know the “cross-slot” scheduling scheme for certain BWPs. Para. [0042]-Tsai discloses SCS configuration μ∈{0, 1} for a single serving cell can be {56, 56}, respectively. The per monitoring span (X, Y) supports SCS/numerologies 15 KHz/μ=0 and 30 KHz/μ=1 only. Para. [0107]-Tsai discloses numerology for the BWP in SCell may be different from the BWP used in the scheduled cell (e.g., PCell or PSCell). Para. [0134]-Tsai discloses non-contiguous (time-domain) transmission of PDSCH/PUSCH can be supported), while
Do et al. (US 20230066568 A1) teaches obtain a configuration of a control channel or a data channel in a cell (Para. [0193]-Do discloses the base station may be any radio node configured to allocate the radio resources for the radio communication. Para. [0168]-Do discloses the term base station may be used interchangeably with the term cell. Para. [0083-0084]-Do discloses B-value for common channels and dedicated channels can be signaled to UEs in dedicated signaling when it is applicable. Furthermore, the B-value for PDSCH and PUSCH can also be dynamically specified in the associated scheduling DCIs or in some MAC CEs {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced configuration obtained for the data channels i.e. PDSCH and PUSCH} ..., the allocation 302 defines a DM-RS pattern, e.g., for PDSCH and/or PUSCH),
the cell including a plurality of non-contiguous frequency bands associated with different numerologies (Para. [0181]-Do discloses the first frequency band and the second frequency band may be noncontiguous in a frequency domain. For example, the first frequency band and the second frequency band may belong to different operating frequency bands. Para. [0179]-Do discloses numerology of the first frequency band may be different from a numerology of the second frequency band. For example, a SCS of the OSs in the first frequency band may less than a SCS of the OSs in the second frequency band. Alternatively or in addition, a length of the OSs in the first frequency band may greater than a length of the OSs in the second frequency band. Para. [0165-0181]-Do discloses the same base station and/or the radio communication may use different SCSs at different times ... the term base station may be used interchangeably with the term cell ... the same base station and/or the radio communication may use different lengths of the OSs (e.g., different numerologies) at different times ... the radio communication uses a first frequency band and a second frequency band).
In the remarks, on pages 13 and 14, Lines [23-26 and 1 respectively], Applicant argues that, “…A person of ordinary skill combining Tsai and Do would have maintained conventional CA - separate percell configurations - not a unified channel configuration spanning non-contiguous bands within a single cell,” and “…The alleged motivation to combine is conclusory and insufficient” respectively. Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons:
TSAI et al. (US 20230371039 A1) and Do et al. (US 20230066568 A1) are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of radio communication network, dealing with allocating and applying the allocation of radio resources. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Tsai to incorporate the teachings of Do on frequency bands, with a motivation for non-contiguous bands, and guarantee operation of DL control channel for NR from 52.6 GHz and above, (Tsai, Para. [0004]).
In the remarks, on page 15, Lines [11-13], Applicant argues that, “…The rejection consists largely of block quotations from Tsai with the Examiner's own curlybrace annotations ( e.g., " { set of frequency bands, including non-contiguity}") inserted as if they were Tsai's disclosures.” Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons:
The staments in curly brackets are not Tsai’s direct quotations but Examiner’s remarks and they explain the recitations from the prior arts, which disclose the limitations of the incumbent claims.
In the remarks, on pages 15, 16 and 17 Lines [22-23, 4-7 and 16-18 respectively], Applicant argues that, “…Both annotations directly contradict the Examiner's own concession that "Tsai fails to explicitly teach non-contiguous frequency bands." The Examiner has conflated operating within a wide frequency range (52.6-71 GHz) with the distinct claimed concept of a cell including noncontiguous frequency bands,” and “…in the Response to Arguments section and throughout the rejections of every dependent claim ( claims 2-18), the Examiner attributes the teaching of features involving "non-contiguous frequency bands" exclusively to Tsai- without any mention of Do” and “…the cited Tsai paragraphs do not teach non-contiguous frequency bands. Paragraph 48 of Tsai refers to "NR from 52.6 to 71 GHz band," which is a frequency range designation, not a plurality of non-contiguous frequency bands within a single cell” respectively. Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons:
The incumbent claims (1-15 and 17-20) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TSAI et al. (US 20230371039 A1), in view of Do et al. (US 20230066568 A1), while claim 16 is rejected over Tsai in view of Do and further in view of WANG et al. (US 20180132269 A1) since, in Para. [0050]-TSAI et al. (US 20230371039 A1) discloses methods for DCI design for NR from 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} (CORESET and/or SS configuration in a BWP). Para. [0038-0039]-Tsai discloses for SCS/numerologies ... SCS configuration μ∈{0,1,2,3} {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced numerology} for a single serving cell can be {44, 36, 22, 20}. Para. [0057]-Tsai discloses SCSs/numerologies may be introduced for NR from 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to frequency bands} ... For NR from 52.6 GHz and above, UE can know the “cross-slot” scheduling scheme for certain BWPs. Para. [0042]-Tsai discloses SCS configuration μ∈{0, 1} for a single serving cell can be {56, 56}, respectively. The per monitoring span (X, Y) supports SCS/numerologies 15 KHz/μ=0 and 30 KHz/μ=1 only. Para. [0107]-Tsai discloses numerology for the BWP in SCell may be different from the BWP used in the scheduled cell (e.g., PCell or PSCell). Para. [0134]-Tsai discloses non-contiguous (time-domain) transmission of PDSCH/PUSCH can be supported, while
In Para. [0181]-Do et al. (US 20230066568 A1) discloses the first frequency band and the second frequency band may be noncontiguous in a frequency domain {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced non-contiguous frequency bands}. For example, the first frequency band and the second frequency band may belong to different operating frequency bands. Para. [0179]-Do discloses numerology of the first frequency band may be different from a numerology of the second frequency band. For example, a SCS of the OSs in the first frequency band may less than a SCS of the OSs in the second frequency band. Alternatively or in addition, a length of the OSs in the first frequency band may greater than a length of the OSs in the second frequency band. Para. [0165-0181]-Do discloses the same base station and/or the radio communication may use different SCSs at different times ... the term base station may be used interchangeably with the term cell ... the same base station and/or the radio communication may use different lengths of the OSs (e.g., different numerologies) at different times ... the radio communication uses a first frequency band and a second frequency band and
In Fig. 4, Para. [0074-0075]-WANG et al. (US 20180132269 A1) discloses UE 404 may map the ACK/NACK feedback frequency first ..., the subcarriers for ACK/NACK feedback may be non-contiguous in frequency {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced bands}. The UE 404 may puncture the PUSCH {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced PUSCH} with the ACK/NACK feedback—e.g., at least a portion of a set of RBs corresponding to the PUSCH may be used to carry bits conveying the ACK/NACK feedback … one or more of the first code blocks of the PUSCH data may be heavily punctured by the ACK/NACK feedback and RI … the subcarriers for ACK/NACK feedback or RI may be non-contiguous in frequency. The UE 404 may puncture the PUSCH data with at least one of the ACK/NACK feedback and RI. Para. [0139]-Wang discloses the subcarriers for CQI may be non-contiguous in frequency, e.g., even or odd subcarriers. {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: The “at least one” and the “even or odd” subcarriers corresponding to the single numerology).
In the remarks, on page 18, Lines [15-18], Applicant argues that, “…The Office Action fails to provide any indication of how " { Shared or Separated}" or " { GHz band}" relates to the disclosure of Tsai, let alone how they bridge the gap between Tsai's disclosure and the claim language.” Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons:
With regards to the referenced limitation, “…the one or more processors, individually or in any combination, are operable to cause the apparatus to: monitor the PDCCH in the one or more of the non-contiguous frequency bands associated with the each numerology of the different numerologies during a time period,” as recited in the incumbent claim 6, in Table 3, Para. [0089]-Tsai discloses design for the single-to-multiple scheduling DCI format (e.g., DCI format l_y) for 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} ... Frequency domain resource assignment (FDRA) {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to Control, shared or device specific resource}. Para. [0050]-Tsai discloses DCI format 0_x and 1_x or PDCCH repetition for NR from 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} (CORESET and/or SS configuration in a BWP). Para. [0038-0039]-Tsai discloses UE can be configured with up to 10 SS sets each for up to 4 BWPs in a serving cell ... PDCCH minimum processing times is confined in units of symbols for SCS/numerologies ... PDCCH maximum number M.sub.PDCCH.sup.max,slot,μ of monitored PDCCH candidates per slot for a DL BWP with SCS configuration μ∈{0,1,2,3} {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced numerology} for a single serving cell can be {44, 36, 22, 20}. Para. [0042]-Tsai discloses non-overlapped CCEs per span for a DL BWP with SCS configuration μ∈{0, 1} for a single serving cell can be {56, 56}, respectively. The per monitoring span (X, Y) supports SCS/numerologies 15 KHz/μ=0 and 30 KHz/μ=1 only. Para. [0107]-Tsai discloses numerology for the BWP in SCell may be different from the BWP used in the scheduled cell (e.g., PCell or PSCell). Para. [0057]-Tsai discloses SCSs/numerologies may be introduced for NR from 52.6 GHz and above ... For NR from 52.6 GHz and above, UE can know the “cross-slot” scheduling scheme for certain BWPs.
In the remarks, on page 19, Lines [3-5], Applicant argues that, “…none of these paragraphs teaches "a limit associated with a reference numerology of the set of the each numerologies."” Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons:
With regards to the referenced limitation, “…the quantity of blind decoding attempts and the quantity of non-overlapped CCEs for the PDCCH respectively being capped by a limit associated with a reference numerology of the set of the each numerologies during the time period,” as recited in the incumbent claim 9, in Para. [0054]-Tsai discloses gNB 114 may config the UEs to monitor only the compact DCI format 1_x instead of DCI format 0_0/1_0 and 0_1/1_1 so that the total number of blind decodes won't increase for a UE. Para. [0043]-Tsai discloses the UE can be configured by the gNB to monitor PDCCH for the maximum number of PDCCH candidates and nonoverlapping CCEs defined per slot. Para. [0057]-Tsai discloses SCSs/numerologies may be introduced for NR from 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to frequency bands} ... For NR from 52.6 GHz and above, UE can know the “cross-slot” scheduling scheme for certain BWPs. Para. [0038-0039]-Tsai discloses for SCS/numerologies ... depending on the configuration, the number of PDCCH candidates may be limited by the number of blind decoding attempts, or by the number of CCE that require channel estimates. In NR, number of monitored PDCCH candidates and non-overlapped CCEs per slot is the UE capability … SCS configuration μ∈{0,1,2,3} {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced numerology} for a single serving cell can be {44, 36, 22, 20}. Table 3, Para. [0089-0090]-Tsai discloses design for the single-to-multiple scheduling DCI format (e.g., DCI format l_y) for 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} ... Frequency domain resource assignment (FDRA) {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to Control, shared or device specific resource} ... single-to-multiple scheduling DCI format (e.g., format 1_z) to avoid overgrowth is that the control information can be divided into two parts. The first part of the control information is the critical demodulation information such as the time-frequency resource {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced time-frequency resource}} allocation information (e.g., FDRA, TDRA, rate matching parameter, etc..) and shared field like carrier indicator, BWP ID.
In the remarks, on page 20, Lines [7-9 and 23-26], Applicant argues that, “…The Examiner maps this feature to the same block of Tsai paragraphs cited for every PUCCH-related dependent claim: Paragraphs 64-72, 50, 38, 39, 90, and 89/Table 3. However, the Examiner's own principal citation undermines the rejection,” and “…The Office Action provides no indication whatsoever of how " { GHz band}" or " { Shared or Separated}" relates to the disclosure of Tsai, let alone how they bridge the gap between Tsai's shared-PUCCH-resource disclosure and claim 12's requirement of simultaneous multi-PUCCH transmission” respectively. Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons:
With regards to the referenced limitation, “…the one or more processors, individually or in any combination, are operable to cause the apparatus to: transmit in multiple ones of the PUCCH resources allocated in the one or more of the non-contiguous frequency bands associated with the each numerology of the different numerologies simultaneously during a single time period,” as recited in the incumbent claim 12, in Para. [0064-0072]-Tsai discloses control information in DCI field may include shared fields ... PUCCH resource indicator: Scheduled PDSCHs can share a same PUCCH resource ... TPC command for scheduled PUCCH. Para. [0050]-Tsai discloses DCI format 0_x and 1_x or PDCCH repetition for NR from 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} (CORESET and/or SS configuration in a BWP). Para. [0038-0039]-Tsai discloses UE can be configured with up to 10 SS sets each for up to 4 BWPs in a serving cell ... PDCCH minimum processing times is confined in units of symbols for SCS/numerologies ... PDCCH maximum number M.sub.PDCCH.sup.max,slot,μ of monitored PDCCH candidates per slot for a DL BWP with SCS configuration μ∈{0,1,2,3} {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced numerology} for a single serving cell can be {44, 36, 22, 20}. Table 3, Para. [0089]-Tsai discloses design for the single-to-multiple scheduling DCI format (e.g., DCI format l_y) for 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} ... Frequency domain resource assignment (FDRA) {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to Control, shared or device specific resource}.
In the remarks, on page 21, Line [8], Applicant argues that, “…Wang does not teach what the Examiner needs it to teach.” Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons:
With regards to the referenced limitation, “…individual code blocks in the PDSCH or the PUSCH are respectively allocated in the one or more of the non-contiguous frequency bands associated with the single numerology,” as recited in the incumbent claim 16, in Tables 2, 4 and 6, Para. [0053]-TSAI et al. (US 20230371039 A1) discloses bit field in DCI format 1_0/1_1 can be further reduced such as the frequency domain resource assignment (FDRA) ..., PDSCH-to-HARQ-timing-indicator, etc.. can be reduced for new compact DCI format 1_x design for NR from 52.6 GHz to 71 GHz {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to set of frequency bands, including non-contiguity}. Para. [0087]-Tsai discloses allocation length of PRB for a PDSCH in one of the separate FDRA field in DCI. Para. [0079]-Tsai discloses FDRA: This field can be separated for each scheduled PDSCH. DCI can use separated FDRA field for each scheduled PDSCH frequency-domain resource. Para. [0116]-Tsai discloses UE 102 can receive a single DCI scheduling multiple PDSCHs. Para. [0048]-Tsai discloses single DCI which schedules multiple PDSCH(s) can reduce the BD efforts for monitoring PDCCH for NR from 52.6 to 71 GHz band. In Rel-16, a single DCI can schedule two PDSCH(s). Para. [0114]-Tsai discloses single DCI scheduling multiple different PDSCHs from a serving cell with multiple TRP transmission. In addition, ... the gap symbol is required for the higher SCS (e.g., 960 KHz) {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced numerology}}. Para. [0038-0039]-Tsai discloses UE can be configured with up to 10 SS sets each for up to 4 BWPs in a serving cell ... PDCCH minimum processing times is confined in units of symbols for SCS/numerologies ... PDCCH maximum number M.sub.PDCCH.sup.max,slot,μ of monitored PDCCH candidates per slot for a DL BWP with SCS configuration μ∈{0,1,2,3} {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced numerology} for a single serving cell can be {44, 36, 22, 20}, while
In Fig. 4, Para. [0074-0075]-WANG et al. (US 20180132269 A1) discloses UE 404 may map the ACK/NACK feedback frequency first ..., the subcarriers for ACK/NACK feedback may be non-contiguous in frequency {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced bands}. The UE 404 may puncture the PUSCH {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced PUSCH} with the ACK/NACK feedback—e.g., at least a portion of a set of RBs corresponding to the PUSCH may be used to carry bits conveying the ACK/NACK feedback … one or more of the first code blocks of the PUSCH data may be heavily punctured by the ACK/NACK feedback and RI … the subcarriers for ACK/NACK feedback or RI may be non-contiguous in frequency. The UE 404 may puncture the PUSCH data with at least one of the ACK/NACK feedback and RI. Para. [0139]-Wang discloses the subcarriers for CQI may be non-contiguous in frequency, e.g., even or odd subcarriers. {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: The “at least one” and the “even or odd” subcarriers corresponding to the single numerology).
In the remarks, on page 22, Lines [19-21], Applicant argues that, “…None of these paragraphs describes concurrent PUCCH and PUSCH transmission on different frequency bands.” Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons:
With regards to the referenced limitation, “…transmit the PUSCH, concurrently with the PUCCH, in a different one or more of the non-contiguous frequency bands associated with one or multiple of the different numerologies,” as recited in the incumbent claim 17, in Para. [0046]-Tsai discloses DCI format 0_2, open loop power control (OLPC) set indication field with from 0 to 2 bits, priority indicator field with 0 or 1 bit, invalid symbol pattern indicator field with 0 or 1 bit are new fields added to be compatible with new standards of PUSCH transmission. Para. [0116]-Tsai discloses UE 102 can receive a single DCI scheduling multiple PDSCHs. Para. [0069-0070]-Tsai discloses Scheduled PDSCHs can share the same TCI state from a single or multiple transmission and reception point (TRP) ... PUCCH resource indicator: Scheduled PDSCHs can share a same PUCCH resource for Ack/Nack (A/N). Para. [0091]-Tsai discloses TCI state for the 2.sup.nd part of the control information can be same with the simultaneous PDSCH. Para. [0134]-Tsai discloses for TDRA bit field for single DCI schedules multiple PDSCH/PUSCHs. TDRA bit field in single DCI scheduling multi-PDSCH or multi-PUSCH can be used for the indication of the number of scheduled PDSCH(s)/PUSCH(s). In addition, each PDSCH/PUSCH has a separate (valid) SLIV and mapping type (e.g., for DL, PDSCH mapping type A, B, or new type). Since each scheduled PDSCH/PUSCH has its own SLIV (i.e., the starting symbol in a slot and the length of scheduled symbols), so continuous or non-contiguous (time-domain) transmission of PDSCH/PUSCH can be supported. Para. [0048]-Tsai discloses single DCI which schedules multiple PDSCH(s) can reduce the BD efforts for monitoring PDCCH for NR from 52.6 to 71 GHz band. In Rel-16, a single DCI can schedule two PDSCH(s). Para. [0114]-Tsai discloses single DCI scheduling multiple different PDSCHs from a serving cell with multiple TRP transmission. In addition, ... the gap symbol is required for the higher SCS (e.g., 960 KHz) {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced numerology}}. Para. [0038-0039]-Tsai discloses UE can be configured with up to 10 SS sets each for up to 4 BWPs in a serving cell ... PDCCH minimum processing times is confined in units of symbols for SCS/numerologies ... PDCCH maximum number M.sub.PDCCH.sup.max,slot,μ of monitored PDCCH candidates per slot for a DL BWP with SCS configuration μ∈{0,1,2,3} {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced numerology} for a single serving cell can be {44, 36, 22, 20}.
In the remarks, on page 23, Lines [19-21], Applicant argues that, “…None of these citations teach or otherwise suggest a PUCCH being multiplexed on the PUSCH across noncontiguous frequency bands with a reference numerology or each numerology.” Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons:
With regards to the referenced limitation, “…the PUCCH being multiplexed on the PUSCH in either: the one or more of the non-contiguous frequency bands associated with a reference numerology of the different numerologies, or the one or more of the non-contiguous frequency bands associated with the each numerology of the different numerologies,” as recited in the incumbent claim 18, in Para. [0053]-Tsai discloses UEs can be multiplexed in frequency domain resource within a OFDM symbol, the transport block (TB) can be occupied most of resource elements (REs) in a OFDM symbol. Para. [0062-0079]-Tsai discloses control information in DCI field may include shared fields ... PUCCH resource indicator: Scheduled PDSCHs can share a same PUCCH resource ... TPC command for scheduled PUCCH. Para. [0046]-Tsai discloses DCI format 0_2, open loop power control (OLPC) set indication field with from 0 to 2 bits, priority indicator field with 0 or 1 bit, invalid symbol pattern indicator field with 0 or 1 bit are new fields added to be compatible with new standards of PUSCH transmission. Para. [0050]-Tsai discloses methods for DCI design for NR from 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} (CORESET and/or SS configuration in a BWP). Para. [0038-0039]-Tsai discloses for SCS/numerologies ... SCS configuration μ∈{0,1,2,3} {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the referenced numerology} for a single serving cell can be {44, 36, 22, 20}. Para. [0057]-Tsai discloses SCSs/numerologies may be introduced for NR from 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to frequency bands} ... For NR from 52.6 GHz and above, UE can know the “cross-slot” scheduling scheme for certain BWPs. Para. [0042]-Tsai discloses SCS configuration μ∈{0, 1} for a single serving cell can be {56, 56}, respectively. The per monitoring span (X, Y) supports SCS/numerologies 15 KHz/μ=0 and 30 KHz/μ=1 only. Para. [0107]-Tsai discloses numerology for the BWP in SCell may be different from the BWP used in the scheduled cell (e.g., PCell or PSCell). Para. [0134]-Tsai discloses non-contiguous (time-domain) transmission of PDSCH/PUSCH can be supported). Table 3, Para. [0089]-Tsai discloses design for the single-to-multiple scheduling DCI format (e.g., DCI format l_y) for 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} ... Frequency domain resource assignment (FDRA) {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to Control, shared or device specific resource}. Para. [0087]-Tsai discloses if the allocation length of PRB for a PDSCH in one of the separate FDRA field in DCI is equal to zero, then UE 102 can assume that corresponding PDSCH is not scheduled. FDRA can support Type 0, Type 1, and dynamic switch (switch between Type 0 and 1). Para. [0057]-Tsai discloses SCSs/numerologies may be introduced for NR from 52.6 GHz and above {EXAMINER’S REMARKS: Corresponding to the superset of all frequency bands and the different combinations of the different bands, including but not limited to contiguous bands, non-contiguous bands etc.} ... For NR from 52.6 GHz and above, UE can know the “cross-slot” scheduling scheme for certain BWPs. Para. [0038-0039]-Tsai discloses UE can be configured with up to 10 SS sets each for up to 4 BWPs in a serving cell.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472