DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-2, 7-8, 10, & 13 have been amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8, 10, 12-16, & 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable over RISCUTIA et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0479465 A1).
In respect to Claim 1, RISCUTIA teaches:
a computer-implemented method for providing generative content for a content collaboration platform using an external generative output engine, the method comprising: causing display of a graphical user interface of the content collaboration platform on a client device using a frontend application operating on the client device, the graphical user interface including an editor region configured to receive user input stored as user-generated content of an electronic page; (RISCUTIA teaches [FIG. 7A] a display of a graphical user interface, wherein this display is a component of a collaboration platform [0004-0005] on a client platform that receives user input and the ability [0018] to edit.)
in response to receiving a user input at the graphical user interface, identifying a generative command and electronic content associated with the user input; (RISCUTIA teaches [0042, 0090] receiving generative commands for content based on user input.)
generating a response request using a predefined request schema, the response request comprising: a system intent value selected based on the generative command; (RISCUTIA teaches [0097] an inferred intent, wherein this intent is a system intent value based on the generative command.)
a user intent value generated using the user input; (RISCUTIA teaches [0097] an explicit user selected intent which is separate from the system intent value or the inferred intent.)
and a resource locator value corresponding to the electronic content identified in response to the user input; (RISCUTIA teaches [0099] a link which corresponds to content and locates content in response to user input.)
transmitting the response request to a central generative service, in response to receiving the response request, the central generative service is configured to: access the electronic content from an external object using the resource locator value, the external object managed by a second platform distinct from the content collaboration platform; (RISCUTIA teaches [0044-0045, 0052] accessing remote content, wherein the remote content is external and is separate from the local content collaboration platform.)
generate a prompt comprising: predefined query prompt text corresponding to the system intent value; (RISCUTIA teaches [0097] an inferred intent, wherein this intent is a system intent value based on the generative command.)
at least a portion of the user intent value; (RISCUTIA teaches [0097] an explicit user selected intent which is separate from the system intent value or the inferred intent.)
and at least a portion of the electronic content of the external object; (RISCUTIA teaches [0044-0045, 0052] accessing remote content, wherein the remote content is external and is separate from the local content collaboration platform.)
provide the prompt to the external generative output engine using an application programming interface call; (RISCUTIA teaches [0059] providing the prompt via an application programming interface.)
and obtain a generative response from the external generative output engine; (RISCUTIA teaches [0044-0045, 0052] accessing remote content, wherein the remote content is external and is separate from the local content collaboration platform.)
subsequent to the central generative service obtaining the generative response, causing display of at least a portion of the generative response in the graphical user interface; and in response to a user insertion command, cause the at least the portion of the generative response to be inserted into the editor region of the graphical user interface (RICUTIA teaches [0023] display in the graphical user interface in the user experience in the application environment in which users can observe and participate in the interaction.)
In respect to Claim 8, RISCUTIA teaches:
a computer-implemented method for providing generative content for a content collaboration system using a generative output engine, the method comprising: at a centralized generative output service operably coupled to a first frontend of a first platform operating a first graphical user interface on a first client device and operably coupled to a second frontend of a second platform operating a second graphical user interface on a second client device: (RISCUTIA illustrates [FIG. 1, FIG. 5] multiple devices and platforms with an associated graphical user interface.)
in response to a first user input received at the first frontend of the first platform, receiving a first response request, the first user input including a first generative command and identifying first electronic content associated with the first generative command, the first response request comprising: a first system intent value selected based on the first generative command; (RISCUTIA teaches [0097] an inferred intent, wherein this intent is a system intent value based on the generative command.)
a first user intent value generated using the first user input; (RISCUTIA teaches [0097] an explicit user selected intent which is separate from the system intent value or the inferred intent.)
and a first resource locator value corresponding to the first electronic content; (RISCUTIA teaches [0099] a link which corresponds to content and locates content in response to user input.)
accessing the first electronic content using the first resource locator value; (RISCUTIA teaches [0099] a link which corresponds to content and locates content in response to user input.)
generating a first prompt comprising prompt content generated using the first system intent value, the first user intent value, and at least a portion of the first electronic content; (RISCUTIA teaches [0097] an inferred intent, wherein this intent is a system intent value based on the generative command.) (RISCUTIA teaches [0097] an explicit user selected intent which is separate from the system intent value or the inferred intent.)
obtaining a first generative response from the generative output engine using the first prompt; (RISCUTIA teaches [Abstract, 0018] generating a response associated with a first collaborative prompt.)
and causing display of the first generative response in the first graphical user interface on the first client device; (RISCUTIA teaches [0023] display in the graphical user interface in the user experience in the application environment in which users can observe and participate in the interaction.)
in response to a second user input received at the second frontend of the second platform, receiving a second response request, the second user input including a second generative command and identifying second electronic content associated with the second generative command, (RISCUTIA teaches [0023] generation of a follow-up prompt and reception of user input.) the second response request comprising: a second system intent value selected based on the second generative command; (RISCUTIA teaches [0097] an inferred intent, wherein this intent is a system intent value based on the generative command.)
a second user intent value generated using the second user input; (RISCUTIA teaches [0023] generation of a follow-up prompt and reception of user input.)
and a second resource locator value corresponding to the second electronic content; (RISCUTIA teaches [0099] a link which corresponds to content and locates content in response to user input.)
accessing the second electronic content using the second resource locator value; (RISCUTIA teaches [0099] a link which corresponds to content and locates content in response to user input.)
generating a second prompt comprising prompt content generated using the second system intent value, the second user intent value, and at least a portion of the second electronic content; (RISCUTIA teaches [0097] an inferred intent, wherein this intent is a system intent value based on the generative command.) (RISCUTIA teaches [0097] an explicit user selected intent which is separate from the system intent value or the inferred intent.)
obtaining a second generative response from the generative output engine using the second prompt; and causing display of the second generative response in the second graphical user interface on the second client device (RISCUTIA teaches [0023] generation of a follow-up prompt and reception of user input.) (RICUTIA teaches [0023] display in the graphical user interface in the user experience in the application environment in which users can observe and participate in the interaction.)
As per Claim 10, RISCUTIA teaches:
wherein: the first electronic content includes content hosted by the second platform; (RISCUTIA teaches [0021] one or more application environments, wherein these environments represent one or more platforms.) and accessing the first electronic content using the first resource locator value includes providing a first application programming interface call to the second platform, the first application programming interface call including the first resource locator value (RISCUTIA teaches [0059] providing the prompt via an application programming interface.)
As per Claim 12, RISCUTIA teaches:
wherein the first response request and the second response request are formatted in accordance with a predefined request schema (RISCUTIA teaches [0025] pretrained models wherein these models represent predefined schemas.)
As per Claim 13, RISCUTIA teaches:
wherein: the first user intent value includes a first set of example input-output pairs corresponding to a first object format of the first platform; and the second user intent value includes a second set of example input-output pairs corresponding to a second object format of the second platform (RISCUTIA teaches [0097] an explicit user selected intent which is separate from the system intent value or the inferred intent.)
As per Claim 14, RISCUTIA teaches:
wherein the first response request and the second response request include a requested model value, the requested model value corresponding to the generative output engine (RISCUTIA [0025])
Claim 15 is the system claim corresponding to method claim 1, therefore is rejected for the same reasons noted above.
As per Claim 16, RISCUTIA teaches:
wherein: accessing the electronic content from the object includes providing an application programming interface call to an external platform; and the application programming interface call includes the resource locator value (RISCUTIA teaches [0059] providing the prompt via an application programming interface.)
As per Claim 18, RISCUTIA teaches:
wherein: the generative command corresponds to a request to provide a summary; and the generative response includes generative content that summarizes the electronic content (RISCUTIA [0036])
As per Claim 19, RISCUTIA teaches:
wherein: the generative command corresponds to a request to a list of tasks; and the generative response includes generative content that includes a set of tasks identified in the electronic content (RISCUTIA [0049])
As per Claim 20, RISCUTIA teaches:
wherein in response to a user insertion command provided to the graphical user interface, cause the at least the portion of the generative response to be inserted into the editor region of the graphical user interface (RISCUTIA teaches [0097] an explicit user selected intent which is separate from the system intent value or the inferred intent.)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7, 9, 11, & 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JOSHUA BULLOCK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2153 December 22, 2025