DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-5, 8, 11, and 14-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, 8, 9, and 14-20 of copending Application No. 19/096,116 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claim 1 of ‘116 discloses “a wheel hub assembly that includes a plurality of wheels, each wheel comprising:
a wheel hub including a plurality of spokes and a main axle bore rotatable around a main axis;
a plurality of cross roller sub-assemblies comprising:
a plurality of pre-roller assemblies including:
a plurality of symmetrical axles; and
a plurality of solid bushings, each solid bushing configured to receive one symmetrical axle in a central longitudinal bore; and
a plurality of peripheral rollers, each pre-roller assembly overmolded with one peripheral roller;
a peripheral axle ring adapted about each wheel and radially spaced from the main axis, each wheel having the plurality of cross roller sub-assemblies overmolded with the wheel hub, and
wherein the overmolded cross roller sub-assemblies form the peripheral axle ring.” The wheel assembly claims a plurality of wheels thus claiming a singular wheel as claimed in current claim 1.
Claim 1 of ‘116 discloses the claim limitations of current claim 3.
Claim 6 of ‘116 discloses the claim limitations of current claim 4.
Claim 1 of ‘116 discloses the claim limitations of current claim 5.
Claim 8 of ‘116 discloses the claim limitations of current claim 8.
Current claim 9 of ‘116 discloses a method of assembling a wheel assembly that includes all of the limitations of current claim 11. Claim 9 of ‘116 discloses a plurality of wheel wheels which would include a singular wheel as claimed in current claim 11.
Claim 14 of ‘116 discloses the claim limitations of current claim 14.
Claim 15 of ‘116 discloses the claim limitations of current claim 15.
Claim 16 of ‘116 discloses the claim limitations of current claim 16.
Claim 17 of ‘116 discloses the claim limitations of current claim 17.
Claim 18 of ‘116 discloses the claim limitations of current claim 18.
Claim 19 of ‘116 discloses the claim limitations of current claim 19.
Claim 20 of ‘116 discloses the claim limitations of current claim 20.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, 12, and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, lines 6-7, recites “one symmetrical axle in a central longitudinal bore” which should be changed to --one symmetrical axle of the plurality of symmetrical axles in a central longitudinal bore-- so that the limitation refers back to the language of line 5.
Claim 1, lines 8-9, recites “one peripheral roller” which should be changed to --one peripheral roller of the plurality of peripheral rollers-- so that the limitation refers back to the language of line 8.
Claim 3, lines 2-3, recites “two spokes of the overmolded wheel hub” which should be changed to --two spokes of the plurality of spokes of the overmolded wheel hub-- so that the limitation refers back to the plurality of spokes from line 1.
Claim 12, lines 1-2, recites “the overmolding of each pre-roller assembly with the peripheral roller” which is grammatically awkward and should be changed to --the overmolding of each pre-roller assembly with its corresponding peripheral roller--.
Claim 16, lines 2-3, recites “two spokes of the overmolded wheel hub” which should be changed to --two spokes of the plurality of spokes of the overmolded wheel hub-- so that the limitation refers back to the plurality of spokes from line 1.
Claim 15, lines 6-7, recites “for overmolding each axle bushing of the plurality of pre-roller assemblies with the peripheral roller” which is grammatically awkward and should be changed to --for overmolding each axle bushing of the plurality of pre-roller assemblies with its corresponding peripheral roller--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12, lines 1-2, recites “with the peripheral roller
The term “slightly” in claim 18, line 2, is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “slightly” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. What one person considers as slight may not be the same as what another person considers as slight thus the metes and bounds of the limitation cannot be determined.
The term “slightly” in claim 19, line 2, is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “slightly” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. What one person considers as slight may not be the same as what another person considers as slight thus the metes and bounds of the limitation cannot be determined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guile (US 6,857,707 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Guile discloses a wheel comprising:
a wheel hub (36) including a main axle bore (37) rotatable around a main axis (the axial centerline of 37);
a plurality of cross roller sub-assemblies (21, 25, 26, 32) comprising:
a plurality of pre-roller assemblies (21, 26) including:
a plurality of symmetrical axles (21); and
a plurality of axle bushings (26), each axle bushing configured to receive one symmetrical axle in a central longitudinal bore; and
a plurality of peripheral rollers (25, 32), each pre-roller assembly overmolded with one peripheral roller;
a peripheral axle ring (the plurality of roller assemblies shown in Figures 7 and 9) adapted about the wheel and radially spaced from the main axis, the wheel having the plurality of cross roller sub-assemblies overmolded with the wheel hub (Column 7 / Lines 27-38),
wherein the overmolded cross roller sub-assemblies form the peripheral axle ring.
Regarding claim 2, Guile discloses the wheel hub comprises an inner wheel hub (36, 43-46) and an outer wheel hub (40-42), wherein the inner wheel hub is overmolded with the outer wheel hub.
Regarding claim 3, Guile discloses that the overmolded wheel hub comprises a plurality of spokes (the plurality of 39 in Figure 8), and each cross roller sub-assembly is secured between two spokes of the plurality of spokes of the overmolded wheel hub.
Regarding claim 6, Guile discloses that the plurality of axle bushings each have a cylindrical outer diameter (see the outer diameter of the tubular portion of 31).
Regarding claim 9, Guile discloses that the symmetrical axles are made of at least one of metal and plastic materials (Column 7 / Lines 10-12).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 7, 8, 10, 12, and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ren et al. (CN 105415969 A) discloses an omni-directional wheel that is formed of a hub member, a plurality of rollers, and each roller of the plurality of rollers is formed of an axle, a pair of bearings, a bushing, and a rolling element attached to an outer surface of the bushing.
/ADAM D ROGERS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617