CTNF 18/622,679 CTNF 95987 DETAILED ACTION WINDSHIELD RUNOFF AND RAIN CLEARING SYSTEMS AND METHODS Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Specification Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Schwartz (US20250222900A1) . Regarding claim 1, Schwartz teaches determining, by a control circuit (56, para 0047,0054-0060,0064, 0072-0076 discloses obstruction detection on the window to indicate wear condition of wiper and accumulated moistures and substances on the window, conditions impacting operation of a windshield wiper system (“window clearing system”; para 0019-0031,0054-0064); determining, by the control circuit and based on the determined conditions, whether redirection of at least one of fluid or debris present on a windshield is warranted (para 0047,0056 which directs wiper to move by receiving signals from window clearing controller see figures 2 and 4 receive signals from visibility control and motion control regarding fluid or debris present on a windshield); upon a determination that redirection of the least one of fluid or debris present on the windshield, determining operating parameters for the windshield wiper system (para 0047, 0056,0061,0065-0068,0072-0076,0084,0100,0102 discloses optimizing wiper speed based on conditions of windshield); operating, by the control circuit, the windshield wiper system in accordance with the determined operating parameters for the windshield wiper system to redirect the at least one of the fluid or debris present on the windshield (para 0047,0054-0060,0064, 0072-0076). Regarding claim 2, Schwartz teaches wherein the determined operating parameters comprise at least one of a direction of operation and an intensity of operation of the windshield wiper system (para 0063,0067 discloses controlling specific speed and placement of the wipers based on the signal and information received). Regarding claim 3, Schwartz teaches wherein the windshield wiper system comprises at least one nozzle (28, figures 2) configured (capable of performing this function para 0047) to expel a gas to effectuate redirection of the at least one of the fluid or debris on the windshield (para 0047, 0067 discloses part of window clearing system to clear obstructions), and the direction of operation comprising directing the at least one nozzle in a direction to effectuate. Regarding claim 4, Schwartz teaches wherein determining whether redirection of at least one of fluid or debris present on a windshield is warranted comprises, the control circuit receiving sensor information regarding the presence of an accumulation of or runoff made up of the at least one of the fluid or debris proximate to a vehicle A-pillar. ( para 0047,0054-0060,0064,0072-0076,0084,0100,0102; discloses moving wiper based on sensor information regarding accumulated moistures and substances on the window sides and edges of a vehicle) 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Mugeraya (US20220306270A1) . Regarding claim 5, Mugeraya teaches a wiper blade (36, figure 1a); a wiper arm (34, figure 1a) operatively connected to the wiper blade and to an actuator (18, figure 1a) configured to move the wiper arm on a surface such that the wiper blade follows a path for clearing at least one of fluid or debris from the path on the surface; a nozzle (30, figure 1a) configured to expel gas (para 0033-0034) to redirect at least one of accumulated or runoff fluid or debris outside the path to within the path allowing the wiper blade to clear the at least one of the redirected accumulated or runoff fluid or debris. Regarding claim 6, Mueragaya teaches a nozzle control circuit (24; para 0033-0034) controlling the expelling of the gas from the nozzle. Regarding claim 7, Muergaya teaches wherein the nozzle control circuit controls at least one (examiner interpreting that only one of these limitations needs to be met) of a direction in which the gas is expelled from the nozzle, an amount of gas that is expelled from the nozzle (22 and 24, figure 1b,para 0033-0034; discloses the controlling the flow rate of the nozzle), and a pressure at which the gas is expelled from the nozzle . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 8-11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mueragaya (US20220306270A1) in view of Schwartz (US20250222900A1) . Regarding claim 8, Mueragaya teaches all limitations stated above, but fails to teach another wiper blade; another wiper arm operatively connected to the other wiper blade and to another actuator configured to move the other wiper arm on a surface such that the other wiper blade follows another path for clearing at least one of fluid or debris from the other path on the surface; and another nozzle configured to expel additional gas to redirect at least one of accumulated or runoff fluid or debris outside the other path to within the other path allowing the other wiper blade to clear the at least one of the redirected accumulated or runoff fluid or debris. Schwartz teaches a having wiper system that has two blades connected to an actuator and has two nozzles (see figures 1-4, para 0047, 0056-0093). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mueragaya to have another wiper arm operatively connected to the other wiper blade and to another actuator configured to move the other wiper arm on a surface such that the other wiper blade follows another path for clearing at least one of fluid or debris from the other path on the surface; and another nozzle configured to expel additional gas to redirect at least one of accumulated or runoff fluid or debris outside the other path to within the other path allowing the other wiper blade to clear the at least one of the redirected accumulated or runoff fluid or debris based on the teachings of Schwartz, since a mere duplication of essential working part of device involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would be to increase the function of the wiper system. Regarding claim 9, modified Mueragaya teaches wherein the nozzle control circuit (22 and 24, figure 1b; para 0016-0018 0033-0034, Mueragaya, and Schwartz figure 4 show two nozzles can be controlled by the same controller) further controls the expelling of the additional gas from the other nozzle. Regarding 10, modified Mueragaya teaches nozzle control circuit controls at least one of (examiner interpreting only one of these limitations needs to be met) a direction in which the additional gas is expelled from the other nozzle, an amount of the additional gas that is expelled from the other nozzle (see Mueragaya 22 and 24, figure 1b,para0016,0018 0032-0034; discloses the controlling the flow rate of the nozzle), and a pressure at which the additional gas is expelled from the other nozzle. Regarding claim 11, Mueragaya as modified above teaches all limitations stated above ,but fails to teach the nozzle control circuit separately controls the expelling of the gas and the additional gas from the nozzle and the other nozzle, respectively. Schwartz discloses windshield wiper system where control system separately controls each nozzle (see para 0065-0067; discloses activating only the corresponding part of the window clearing system to clear the obstruction (e.g., only one wiper 26, one of the nozzles 28, etc.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Mueragaya to have the nozzle control circuit separately controls the expelling of the gas and the additional gas from the nozzle and the other nozzle based on Schwartz. This modification would ensure that each nozzle is only be used when needed, and help reduce waste . Double Patenting 08-33 AIA The nonstatutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg , 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman , 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi , 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum , 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel , 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington , 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969). A timely filed terminal disclaimer in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) or 1.321(d) may be used to overcome an actual or provisional rejection based on nonstatutory double patenting provided the reference application or patent either is shown to be commonly owned with the examined application, or claims an invention made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of a joint research agreement. See MPEP § 717.02 for applications subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA as explained in MPEP § 2159. See MPEP § 2146 et seq. for applications not subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. A terminal disclaimer must be signed in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(b). The filing of a terminal disclaimer by itself is not a complete reply to a nonstatutory double patenting (NSDP) rejection. A complete reply requires that the terminal disclaimer be accompanied by a reply requesting reconsideration of the prior Office action. Even where the NSDP rejection is provisional the reply must be complete. See MPEP § 804, subsection I.B.1. For a reply to a non-final Office action, see 37 CFR 1.111(a). For a reply to final Office action, see 37 CFR 1.113(c). A request for reconsideration while not provided for in 37 CFR 1.113(c) may be filed after final for consideration. See MPEP §§ 706.07(e) and 714.13. The USPTO Internet website contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit www.uspto.gov/patent/patents-forms. The actual filing date of the application in which the form is filed determines what form (e.g., PTO/SB/25, PTO/SB/26, PTO/AIA/25, or PTO/AIA/26) should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/applying-online/eterminal-disclaimer. 08-36 AIA Claim 5-7 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. Patent No. 12522182 . in view of US20220306270A1 . The following comparison between patent claims 1-2, and application claims shows what elements excluded in the presentation of the application claims 1-7. U.S. Patent No. 12522182 Claims 1-2 Instant Application 18622679 Claims 5-7 A windshield wiper system comprising: a wiper blade; a windshield wiper arm configured to couple to the wiper blade and couple to a vehicle; a plurality of nozzles disposed on the windshield wiper arm, wherein the plurality of nozzles comprises a spray nozzle configured to output a cleaning liquid and a gas nozzle configured to output a gas; and a processor communicatively coupled to the plurality of nozzles, the processor configured to control the gas nozzle to selectively change a gas parameter that controls a gas output from the gas nozzle based on a direction of movement of the wiper blade and a position of the wiper blade on a windshield, wherein selectively changing the gas parameter comprises : outputting a first amount of the gas during a first phase of wiper movement, the first phase comprising an initial upward stroke, and outputting a second amount of the gas during a second phase of the wiper movement, the second phase comprising an opposite trajectory relative to the first phase, wherein the first amount is larger than the second amount. A system, comprising: a wiper blade; a wiper arm operatively connected to the wiper blade and to an actuator configured to move the wiper arm on a surface such that the wiper blade follows a path for clearing at least one of fluid or debris from the path on the surface; a nozzle configured to expel gas to redirect at least one of accumulated or runoff fluid or debris outside the path to within the path allowing the wiper blade to clear the at least one of the redirected accumulated or runoff fluid or debris. 6. The system of claim 5, further comprising a nozzle control circuit controlling the expelling of the gas from the nozzle. The system of claim 6, wherein the nozzle control circuit controls at least one of a direction in which the gas is expelled from the nozzle, an amount of gas that is expelled from the nozzle, and a pressure at which the gas is expelled from the nozzle. 2 . The windshield wiper system of claim 1, further comprising: one or more actuators coupled to the plurality of nozzles and operable to change an orientation of the plurality of nozzles. U.S. Patent No. 12522182 Claims 1-2 do not teach nozzle control circuit. However, US20220306270A1 teaches nozzle control circuit (22+24, figure 1b). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified U.S. Patent No. 12522182 to include a nozzle control circuit . This modification would allow for different component window wiper system to easily communicate with each other ,and allow a user to easily control the system. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SARAH AKYAA FORDJOUR whose telephone number is (571)272-0390. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Thursday 9:30am - 5:30pm and Friday 6:00am-3:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Monica Carter can be reached at 571-272-4475. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SARAH AKYAA FORDJOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 3723 /MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/622,679 Page 2 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/622,679 Page 3 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/622,679 Page 4 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/622,679 Page 5 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/622,679 Page 6 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/622,679 Page 7 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/622,679 Page 8 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/622,679 Page 9 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/622,679 Page 10 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/622,679 Page 11 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/622,679 Page 12 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/622,679 Page 13 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/622,679 Page 14 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/622,679 Page 15 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/622,679 Page 16 Art Unit: 3723