DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-20 are pending.
3. This office action is in response to the Applicant’s communication filed 02/02/2026 in response to PTO Office Action mailed 10/01/2025. The Applicant’s remarks and amendments to the claims and/or the specification were considered with the results that follow.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s argument with respect to amended independent claims has been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments are summarized as:
1) Edwards does not disclose "flow-control circuitry configured to transmit data through the link, from the first node to the second node, at a designated frequency corresponding to the lowest of three maximum frequencies ... comprising: a first maximum frequency" of "the first node ...; a second maximum frequency" of "the link," and "a third maximum frequency" of "the second node," as recited in claims 1, 8 and 15.
As per argument 1, in response to applicant’s argument that Edwards does not disclose the mentioned claim limitation above, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Edwards (Figs. 2-3 & par. [0025-0032] disclose the claimed “flow-control circuitry” as local PHY circuit 210 connected to A PHY circuit may connect a link layer device (e.g., a Media Access Control, or MAC address) to a physical medium such as an optical fiber or copper cable (e.g., cable 115) (par. [0022]) so data is transferred between local device 105 and remote device 110. Edwards disclose that local device 105, remote device 110 and a cable 115 may operate at other rates and are not limited to the aforementioned rates (par. [0026-0029]). As a result, Edwards discloses the claimed limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 8, 9, 11, 12 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Edwards et al. (US Pub. No. 2015/0172110 A1 hereinafter “Edwards” – IDS Submission).
Referring to claim 1, Edwards discloses a device (Edwards – Fig. 2 & par. [0020] disclose a communication system 100.) comprising:
a first node (Edwards – Fig. 2 & par. [0020] disclose a local device 105.);
a second node (Edwards – Fig. 2 & par. [0020] disclose a remote device 110.);
a link (Edwards – Fig. 2 & par. [0018-0019] disclose a cable 115.); and
flow-control circuitry configured to transmit data through the link, from the first node to the second node (Edwards – Fig. 2 & par. [0025-0032] disclose a local PHY 210 configured to transmit data through the cable 115 from local device 105 to the remote device 110.), at a designated frequency corresponding to the lowest of three maximum frequencies, the three maximum frequencies comprising: a first maximum frequency at which the first node is predicted to be able to release data; a second maximum frequency at which data is predicted to be able to pass through the link from the first node to the second node; and a third maximum frequency at which the second node is predicted to be able to receive data (Edwards – Figs. 2-3 & see par. [0012, 0025-0032]).
Referring to claim 2, Edwards discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the first node is a first die and the second node is a second die within an integrated circuit (Edwards – Fig. 2 & par. [0021] disclose local processor 205 and remote processor 225 may each comprise an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC). An ASIC may comprise an integrated circuit (IC) customized for a particular use, rather than intended for general-purpose use. Moreover, local processor 205 and remote processor 225 may each comprise a central processing unit (CPU). A CPU may comprise a hardware chip within a computer that carries out instructions of a computer program by performing basic arithmetical, logical, and input/output operations.).
Referring to claim 4, Edwards discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the flow-control circuitry is located on the first node (Edwards – Fig. 2 & par. [0022] disclose the local PHY 210 on local device 105.).
Referring to claim 5, Edwards discloses the device of claim 1, wherein: at least one of the first, second, or third maximum frequencies are dynamic frequencies; and the flow-control circuitry is configured to determine the designated frequency in real-time (Edwards – Par. [0016] discloses modify a 10 G physical layer (PHY) circuit to support any data rate between 10 M to 10 G using 802.3 10 GE constellation/coding and adding new speed support in auto-neg messages. The new scheme, consistent with embodiments of the disclosure, may use 10 G training to establish a data rate speed using new auto-neg messages and may dynamically adjust a reference clock to the negotiated data rate.).
Referring to claim 8, Edwards discloses a system (Edwards – Fig. 2 & par. [0020] disclose a communication system 100.) comprising:
a physical memory (Edwards – Par. [0046] disclose hard disks.);
a first node (Edwards – Fig. 2 & par. [0020] disclose a local device 105.) configured to transfer data to a second node (Edwards – Fig. 2 & par. [0020] disclose a remote device 110.) via a link (Edwards – Fig. 2 & par. [0018-0019] disclose a cable 115.); and
flow-control circuitry (Edwards – Fig. 2 & par. [0025-0032] disclose a local PHY 210 configured to transmit data through the cable 115 from local device 105 to the remote device 110.) configured to regulate a rate of data transfer from the first node to the second node by setting the transfer rate to a rate that corresponds to the lowest of three rates, the three rates comprising a first rate at which the first node is predicted to be able to release data, a second rate at which data is predicted to be able to pass through the link from the first node to the second node, and a third rate at which the second node is predicted to be able to receive data (Edwards – Figs. 2-3 & see par. [0012, 0025-0032]).
Referring to claim 9 and 18, note the rejections of claims 2 and 3 above. The Instant Claims recite substantially same limitations as the above-rejected and is therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings.
Referring to claim 11, note the rejections of claim 4 above. The Instant Claim recites substantially same limitations as the above-rejected and is therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings.
Referring to claim 12 and 17, note the rejections of claim 5 above. The Instant Claims recite substantially same limitations as the above-rejected and is therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings.
Referring to claim 15, note the rejections of claims 1 and 8 above. The Instant Claim recites substantially same limitations as the above-rejected and is therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings.
Referring to claim 16, Edwards discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 15, further comprising: determining the lowest of the three maximum frequencies; and in response to determining the lowest of the three maximum frequencies, setting the designated frequency at the lowest of the three maximum frequencies (Edwards – Figs. 2-3 & see par. [0012, 0025-0032]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edwards in view of Kamgaing et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0296823 A1 hereinafter “Kamgaing”).
Referring to claim 3, Edwards discloses the device of claim 1, however, fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first node is a first socket, corresponding to a first die on a printed circuit board, and the second node is a second socket, corresponding to a second die on the printed circuit board.
Kamgaing discloses the first node is a first socket, corresponding to a first die on a printed circuit board (Kamgaing – Fig. 6 & par. [0048-0049] disclose the left side having a socket 670 corresponding to a first die 610 on a printed circuit board (PCB) 650.), and the second node is a second socket, corresponding to a second die on the printed circuit board (Kamgaing – Fig. 6 & par. [0048-0049] disclose the right side having a socket 670 corresponding to a first die 610 on a printed circuit board (PCB) 650.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Kamgaing’s teachings with Edwards’ techniques for making it desirable for two or more of the microelectronic packages to communicate at data speeds in the order of 10s to 1000s of gigabits per second (Gbps) (Kamgaing – par. [0022]).
Referring to claim 10, note the rejections of claim 3 above. The Instant Claim recites substantially same limitations as the above-rejected and is therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings.
10. Claims 6, 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edwards in view of Govindaraju et al. (US Pub. No. 2006/0095535 A1 hereinafter “Govindaraju”).
Referring to claim 6, Edwards discloses the device of claim 1, however, fails to explicitly disclose wherein the flow-control circuitry transmits data from the first node to the second node by transmitting data from Transmit-Data-First-in-First-Out (TxFIFO) storage of the first node to Receive-Data-First-in-First-Out (RxFIFO) storage of the second node.
Govindaraju discloses wherein the flow-control circuitry transmits data from the first node to the second node by transmitting data from Transmit-Data-First-in-First-Out (TxFIFO) storage of the first node to Receive-Data-First-in-First-Out (RxFIFO) storage of the second node (Govindaraju – Fig. 4 & par. [0029] disclose data packets are transferred using the SEND FIFO buffer 561 of node 510 at the sender side and the RECEIVE FIFO buffer 572 of node 520 at the receiver side of the transfer. Data to be transferred from node 510 to node 520 are placed in the SEND FIFO buffer 561 of node 510. Such data is then sent by the network adapter 531 over network 580 to the RECEIVE FIFO buffer 572 at the receiving node 520.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Govindaraju’s teachings with Edwards’ techniques for providing an improved system and method having improved efficiency for transferring data of non-standard size, e.g., non-cache line aligned data, between nodes of a network, to permit a reduction in latency and an increase in bandwidth for such transfers (Govindaraju – par. [0007]).
Referring to claim 13 and 19, note the rejections of claim 6 above. The Instant Claims recite substantially same limitations as the above-rejected and is therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings.
Allowable Subject Matter
11. Claims 7, 14 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The examiner finds that the prior art of record taken alone or in combination fails to teach and/or fairly suggest “wherein the flow-control circuitry is further configured to reduce the frequency at which subsequent data is transmitted, through the link from the first node to the second node, in response to determining that an amount of data that has accumulated, at the RxFIFO storage of the second node, exceeds a threshold.”, in combination with other recited limitations in dependent claim 7.
The examiner finds that the prior art of record taken alone or in combination fails to teach and/or fairly suggest “wherein the flow-control circuitry is further configured to reduce the rate at which subsequent data is transmitted, through the link from the first node to the second node, in response to determining that an amount of data that has accumulated, at the RxFIFO storage of the second node, exceeds a threshold.”, in combination with other recited limitations in dependent claim 14.
The examiner finds that the prior art of record taken alone or in combination fails to teach and/or fairly suggest “reducing the frequency at which subsequent data is transmitted, through the link from the first node to the second node, in response to determining that above a threshold amount of data has accumulated at the RxFIFO storage of the second node.”, in combination with other recited limitations in dependent claim 20.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAYTON LEWIS-TAYLOR/
Examiner, Art Unit 2181
/Farley Abad/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2181