DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is a response to the Application/Control Number: 18/622,681 filed on 03/29/2024.
Claims Status
2. This office action is based upon claims received on 06/11/2026, which replace all prior or other submitted versions of the claims.
- Claims 1-20 are amended.
-Claims 1-20 are pending.
-Claims 1, 4-6, 8-11,13-14, 17-20 are rejected.
-Claims 2, 3, 7, 12, 15, 16 are objected.
Priority
4. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/20/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Statement of Substance of Interview
6. Regarding compact prosecution, examiner initiated an examiner interview on 07/28/2026 contacted applicant’s representative Daniel E. Venglarik Reg # 39409 to discuss whether applicant would consider a proposal to present for further consideration at the office, further amendments incorporating into independent claims subject matter from claim 2, after addressing matters of clarity associated with claim 2 as noted herein, as well as resolving any other issues of clarity associated with other claims presented.
Pursuant a discussions with examiner as noted herein, applicant’s representative indicated to the office on 08/07/2026 that applicant declines the proposal.
Response to Amendments/Remarks
7. Applicant's remarks/arguments, see page 16, filed on 06/11/2026, with respect to Claim Objections have been considered in light of applicant’s amendments. The claim objections for claims 4, 17 as presented in the previous office action have been withdrawn in light of amendments presented.
The claim objections pertaining to claims 7 remain with issues of antecedence introduced in light of applicant’s amendments (See 35 USC § 112(b) rejections below).
8. Applicant's remarks/arguments, see page 16, filed on 06/11/2026, with respect to 35 U.S.C. §112(f) have been noted in light of the requirements set forth in the 112 (f) interpretation provided in the previous office action and applicant’s amendments. In light of applicant’s amendment’s, applicable 35 U.S.C. §112(f) interpretations are withdrawn.
9. Applicant's remarks/arguments, see page 16, filed on 06/11/2026, with respect to REMARKS/ARGUMENTS, Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112(b) have been considered but are not persuasive as presented below under Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112 rejections pertaining to Claim 11.
10. Applicant's remarks/arguments, see page 16-20, filed on 06/11/2026, with respect to REMARKS/ARGUMENTS, Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102 & 35 USC § 103 have been considered but are moot and not persuasive because the arguments do not apply to the new grounds of rejection being used in the current rejection.
Furthermore, remarks with respect to any applicable Dependent Claims have been considered, and are moot and not persuasive at least via dependency to the independent claims and via individual rejections addressing the specific claims.
The rejection has been revised and set forth below according to the amended claims (see Office Action).
A. To the extent this office action continues to rely on HE et. al (US 20240275732 A1), i.e. “HE”, the office respectfully contends applicant’s remarks or arguments directed to HE are not persuasive.
B. Applicant in applicant’s remarks, utilizing independent claim 1, indicates:
see page 17 (ln 28-33 ), page 18 (ln 1-2) that : “He does not disclose "receiving,
from a network entity, a message for a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) configuration
including information on a first discard timer for low importance and information on a second
discard timer, wherein the first discard timer is configured to a value that is shorter than a value
of the second discard timer" or "discarding all PDCP SDUs belonging to the low importance
PDU set if the first discard timer for low importance expires and a protocol data unit (PDU) set
discard parameter is configured as TRUE, wherein the PDU set discard parameter is included in
the message for the PDCP configuration."”.
C. In response, since this office action is presented under new grounds of rejection, utilizing portions of claim 1 upon which HE is relied upon in combination for the rejection of claim 1 (i.e. as also applicable to parallel features in claim 13, 14, 20) under 35 U.S.C. 103 over HE et. al (US 20240275732 A1), i.e. “HE” in view of Malik et al. (US 20240121663 A1), i.e. “Malik” (See office action), the office addresses applicable portions of claim 1 limitations of applicant’s contention in applicant’s remarks, where now HE is presented in combination with Malik, and where HE teaches:
Regarding Claim 1 (Currently Amended). HE teaches:
A method performed by a user equipment (UE) (HE – FIG. 5, FIG. 6 & ¶0097 […] 600 of signaling associated with a PDCP discard time for a PDU set […] 600 can be an example of uplink transmission (in which the transmitter is a UE 120 or a UE 505 and the receiver is a network node 110);
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes discloses: per ¶0097 i.e. 600 of signaling reads on: A method associated with a PDCP discard time for a PDU set. Furthermore per ¶0097 i.e. in which the transmitter is a UE 120 or a UE 505 reads on: performed by a user equipment (UE).
system, ( HE – FIG. 1, FIG. 5 & FIG. 6 & ¶0098 […] reference number 610, the receiver may output, and the transmitter may receive, a configuration ; ¶0099 […] The configuration may include a configuration of one or more PDCP discard timers […] the configuration may include a PDCP-Config configuration. In some aspects, the PDU discard timer may apply to a PDU set […] If the PDCP entity receives all PDUs of the PDU set before expiration of the timer, the PDCP entity may provide the PDU set to lower layers of the transmitter for transmission. By applying the PDCP discard timer at the granularity of a PDU set (as compared to the granularity of an individual PDU), the effects of jitter on a tether between the transmitter and an XR device (e.g., XR device 510) associated with the transmitter are mitigated);
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes discloses: per ¶0099 i.e. applying the PDCP discard timer, at the granularity of a PDU set (as compared to the granularity of an individual PDU), the effects of jitter on a tether between the transmitter and an XR device (e.g., XR device 510) as applicable to i.e. the network depicted in FIG. 1, FIG. 5 & FIG. 6 reads on: in a wireless communication system .
the method comprising: receiving from a network entity, a message for a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) configuration (HE – FIG. 6 & ¶0098 see above; ¶0099 see above);
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes discloses: i.e. per FIG. 6 & ¶0098 i.e. reference number 610, the receiver may output, and i.e. the transmitter may receive, a configuration depicted as being received per FIG. 6 from i.e. a network node (NN) (e.g., a network node 110) reads on: the method comprising: receiving from a network entity, a message , where per ¶0099 i.e. The configuration may include a configuration of one or more PDCP discard timers, i.e. the configuration may include a PDCP-Config configuration reads on: for a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) configuration .
including information [[of]] on a first discard timer for low importance, and information on a second discard timer(HE – FIG. 6 & ¶0101 […] the configuration may indicate a PDU set importance parameter and a PDCP discard timer corresponding to the PDU set importance parameter […] the configuration may indicate a longer PDCP discard timer for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a higher importance value, and/or a shorter PDCP discard timer (e.g., shorter than the longer PDCP discard timer) for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a lower importance value (e.g., lower than the higher importance value). Thus, a PDU set with a higher importance value (such as may be used for the decoding of other PDU sets with lower importance values) may be more likely to be successfully received and not discarded, which may reduce impact on the operation of the application 515 relative to if a shorter PDCP discard timer is used for a PDU set with a higher importance value);
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes discloses: i.e. per FIG. 6 & ¶0101 i.e. the configuration may indicate a PDU set importance parameter and a PDCP discard timer corresponding to the PDU set importance parameter where i.e. a shorter PDCP discard timer (e.g., shorter than the longer PDCP discard timer) reads on: including information on a first discard timer per ¶0101 i.e. for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a lower importance value (e.g., lower than the higher importance value) reads on: for low importance . Furthermore per ¶0101 i.e. the configuration may indicate a longer PDCP discard timer reads on: and information on a second discard timer per ¶0101 i.e. for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a higher importance value . Furthermore, per ¶0101 i.e. the configuration may indicate a PDU set importance parameter and a PDCP discard timer corresponding to the PDU set importance parameter.
wherein the first discard timer is [[set]] configured to a value that is shorter than a value of the second discard timer; (HE – FIG. 6 & ¶0101 See above);
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes discloses: i.e. per FIG. 6 & ¶0101 i.e. the configuration may indicate a longer PDCP discard timer for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a higher importance value, and/or i.e. a shorter PDCP discard timer (e.g., shorter than the longer PDCP discard timer) reads on: wherein the first discard timer is configured to a value that is shorter for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a lower importance value (e.g., lower than the higher importance value), where i.e. shorter than the longer PDCP discard timer where i.e. the configuration may indicate a longer PDCP discard timer for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a higher importance value reads on: than a value of the second discard timer .
Obtaining, from an upper layer, a (HE – FIG. 5 , FIG. 6 & ¶0099 […] the PDU discard timer may apply to a PDU set. For example, the PDU discard timer may start upon reception (e.g., generation, reception from an application 515, etc.), at the transmitter, of a first PDU of the PDU set, and may run for a length of the PDU discard timer. If all PDUs of the PDU set have not been received by a PDCP entity of the transmitter before expiration of the timer, the transmitter may discard the PDU set, or may provide one or more received PDUs of the PDU set, as described elsewhere herein. If the PDCP entity receives all PDUs of the PDU set before expiration of the timer, the PDCP entity may provide the PDU set to lower layers of the transmitter for transmission; ¶0102 […] reference number 620, the transmitter may receive (e.g., generate) one or more PDUs of a PDU set. […] a PDCP layer of the transmitter may receive one or more PDCP SDUs carrying information of the one or more PDUs, such as from a network layer of the transmitter, an SDAP layer of the transmitter […] reference number 630, the transmitter may start a PDCP discard timer corresponding to the PDU set (e.g., based at least in part on information indicating that the one or more PDCP SDUs carry information belonging to one or more PDUs of the PDU set). […] the transmitter may start a PDCP discard timer configured by the configuration shown by reference number 610. […] the PDCP discard timer may correspond to a PDU set parameter of the PDU set, such as a PSIHI or a PDU set importance parameter. […] As shown by reference number 640, […] the transmitter receives all PDUs of the PDU set. Accordingly, as shown by reference number 650, the transmitter transmits a set of communications carrying the PDUs of the PDU set (referred to herein as “communicating in accordance with the configuration”)
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes discloses: Per FIG. 5 & ¶0099 applied to FIG. 6 i.e. the PDU discard timer may start upon reception (e.g., generation, reception from an application 515, etc.), at the transmitter, of a first PDU of the PDU set, and where per ¶0102 i.e. reference number 620, the transmitter may receive (e.g., generate) one or more PDUs of a PDU set reads on: Obtaining, from, and per ¶0102 i.e. a PDCP layer of the transmitter may receive one or more PDCP SDUs carrying information of the one or more PDUs, i.e. from i.e. an SDAP layer of the transmitter reads on: upper layer, where per ¶0102 i.e. receive one or more PDCP SDUs carrying information of the one or more PDUs reads on: a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) service data unit (SDU).
and performingn based on obtaining the PDCP SDU from the upper layer, (HE – FIG. 6 & ¶0101 See above; ¶0102 see above);
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes discloses: Per FIG. 6 & ¶0099 i.e. the PDU discard timer may start upon reception (e.g., generation, reception from an application 515, etc.), at the transmitter, of a first PDU of the PDU set, and may run for a length of the PDU discard timer reads on: and performing an operation, where per FIG. 6 & ¶0099 i.e. start upon reception (e.g., generation, reception from an application 515, etc.), at the transmitter, of a first PDU of the PDU set and where per ¶0102 i.e. reference number 620, the transmitter may receive (e.g., generate) one or more PDUs of a PDU set, and i.e. a PDCP layer of the transmitter may receive one or more PDCP SDUs carrying information of the one or more PDUs reads on: based on obtaining the PDCP SDU from the upper layer.
wherein the performing the operation includes: starting the first discard timer for low importance if the first discard timer for low importance is configured and the PDCP SDU belongs to a low importance PDU set, (HE – FIG. 6 & ¶0101 See above; ¶0102 see above;
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes discloses: per ¶0102 i.e. reference number 630, the transmitter may start a PDCP discard timer corresponding to the PDU set (e.g., based at least in part on information indicating that the one or more PDCP SDUs carry information belonging to one or more PDUs of the PDU and subsequently i.e. reference number 650, the transmitter transmits a set of communications carrying the PDUs of the PDU set (referred to herein as “communicating in accordance with the configuration reads on: wherein the performing the operation , furthermore involves where per FIG. 6 applying step 630 to ¶0101 i.e. […] the configuration may indicate i.e. a shorter PDCP discard timer (e.g., shorter than the longer PDCP discard timer) for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a lower importance value (e.g., lower than the higher importance value) reads on: includes: starting the first discard timer for low importance if the first discard timer for low importance is configured i.e. for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a lower importance value where per ¶0102 i.e. receive one or more PDCP SDUs carrying information of the one or more PDUs, applied to the per ¶0101 i.e. a shorter PDCP discard timer reads on: and the PDCP SDU belongs to a low importance PDU set.
and discarding all PDCP SDUs belonging to the low importance PDU set if the first discard timer for low importance expires (HE FIG. 6 & ¶0099 See above; ¶0101 see above) ;
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes discloses: Per ¶0099 i.e. If all PDUs of the PDU set have not been received by a PDCP entity of the transmitter before expiration of the timer, the transmitter may discard the PDU set where per ¶0102 & ¶0103 i.e. one or more PDCP SDUs i.e. carry i.e. information of the one or more PDUs reads on: and discarding all PDCP SDUs , and FIG. 6 & ¶0101 i.e. […] the configuration may indicate i.e. a shorter PDCP discard timer (e.g., shorter than the longer PDCP discard timer) for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a lower importance value (e.g., lower than the higher importance value) reads on: belonging to the low importance PDU set , where per ¶0101 as applied to i.e. shorter than the longer PDCP discard timer, per ¶0099 i.e. If all PDUs of the PDU set have not been received by a PDCP entity of the transmitter before expiration of the timer reads on: if the first discard timer for low importance expires .
and a protocol data unit (PDU) set discard parameter is configured as TRUE,(HE & ¶0099 see above; ¶0103 […] the PDCP entity of the transmitter may fail to receive one or more PDCP SDUs carrying the one or more PDUs before expiry of a PDCP discard timer corresponding to the PDU set. In this example, the transmitter may discard, upon expiry of the PDCP discard timer, the one or more PDUs (referred to herein as communicating in accordance with the configuration). In some aspects, the transmitter may discard the one or more PDUs based at least in part on a PSIHI of the PDU set. For example, the transmitter may discard all PDUs of the PDU set based at least in part on the PSIHI indicating that the PDU set is an all-or-nothing PDU set);
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes discloses: reiterating ¶0099 per ¶0103 i.e. the PDCP entity of the transmitter may fail to receive one or more PDCP SDUs carrying the one or more PDUs before expiry of a PDCP discard timer corresponding to the PDU set i.e. the transmitter may discard, upon expiry of the PDCP discard timer, the one or more PDUs where i.e. the transmitter may discard the one or more PDUs based at least in part on i.e. a PSIHI of the PDU set reads on: and a protocol data unit (PDU) set discard parameter. For example, the transmitter may discard all PDUs of the PDU set based at least in part on the PSIHI indicating that the PDU set is an all-or-nothing PDU set reads on: is configured as i.e. the PDU set is an all-or-nothing PDU set implying PSIHI can be i.e. set is an all-or-nothing PDU set or alternatively not set as i.e. an all-or-nothing PDU setting reads on: as TRUE .
wherein the PDU set discard parameter is included in the message for the PDCP configuration (HE FIG. 6 & FIG. 8 ¶100 […] the configuration may indicate a PDU set parameter corresponding to a PDCP discard timer; ¶0102 See above; ¶0155 i.e. receiving a configuration of one or more PDCP discard timers for PDU sets, the configuration indicating one or more PDU set parameters corresponding to the one or more PDCP discard timers (block 810));
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes discloses: per ¶0102 i.e. the PDCP discard timer may correspond to a PDU set parameter of the PDU set, such as a PSIHI or a PDU set importance parameter reads on: wherein the PDU set discard parameter , and per ¶0100 i.e. the configuration may indicate a PDU set parameter corresponding to a PDCP discard timer reads on: is included in the message for the PDCP configuration .
The office action furthermore presents that:
While HE teaches: a protocol data unit (PDU) set discard parameter is configured as TRUE as noted above where per ¶0103 i.e. the PDU set is an all-or-nothing PDU set implying PSIHI can be i.e. set is an all-or-nothing PDU set or alternatively not set as i.e. an all-or-nothing PDU set, and therefore implying PSIHI can be configured as TRUE, assuming arguendo HE implies and therefore i.e.,
HE does not appear to explicitly disclose or strongly suggest (i.e. See italicized portions of claim limitations): configured as TRUE;
To teach the above referenced limitations, the office action combines prior art Malik from a similar field of endeavor which also teaches other overlapping features. Applicant is directed to the new grounds of rejection (see office action ) for teachings of Malik.
D. As such, the office action respectfully contends that applicant’s remarks or arguments as cited and directed to HE are not persuasive since HE as relied upon, teaches and reads upon portions of claim 1 elements of applicant’s contention as referenced. Furthermore the office action relies upon disclosures of HE in view of Malik in combination as presented in the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection presented herein (See office action), for the rejection of the entirety of claim 1 (i.e. as also applicable to parallel features in claim 13, 14, 20).
Furthermore, the office action respectfully contends that applicant’s arguments against prior art HE are directed against the references individually, and one cannot show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references used to address the rejection of applicant’s claims (See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986)).
E. Applicant is respectfully directed to the new grounds of rejection of claims now presented under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HE in view of Malik, where the disclosure of each and every limitation of the now presented Claim 1 (i.e. as also applicable to parallel features in claim 13, 14, 20) is taught and rejected.
The rejection has been revised and set forth below according to the amended claims (see Office Action).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
12. Claim 2, 7, 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
A. Regarding Claim 2 - Dependent claim 2 recites the terms “starting the second discard timer” ”if the first discard timer for low importance is not configured […]” where subsequently Claim 2 recites “and” for low importance or the second discard timer expires”. Questions of clarity are raised as to how “if the first discard timer for low importance” “expires” applies in a case “if the first discard timer for low importance is not configured”.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. Applicant is requested and required to appropriately address and verify as applicable, applicant’s intent and objective for the claim language noted.
B. Regarding Claim 7, Claim 11 (Using claim 7 as an example representative of Claim 11) - Dependent claim 7 recites the terms “the PDU set” after a recitation of and “a low importance PDU set” and separately “a protocol data unit (PDU) set” in “a protocol data unit (PDU) set discard parameter” in independent claim 1, where questions are raised as to whether “the PDU set” as recited in claim 7 bears any antecedence relationship to the “a protocol data unit (PDU) set” in claim 1, or “a low importance PDU set” in claim 1.
Claim 11 (which depends from Claim 1) and recites “the PDU set” is subject to similar issues in addition to possible antecedence within claim 11 as pertains to prior recitation “at least one PDU set”.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. Applicant is requested and required to appropriately address and verify as applicable, applicant’s intent and objective for the claim language noted.
C. Dependent claim 11 recites the terms “the at least one PDCP SDU[[s]] or PDCP PDU[[s]]” for the first time with an article “the” prior to “at least one PDCP SDU[[s]] or PDCP PDU[[s]]” without prior introduction or provision of a reference antecedence for “at least one PDCP SDU[[s]] or PDCP PDU[[s]]”. Claim 1 from which claim 11 depends also does not recite “at least one PDCP SDUs or PDCP PDUs” or provide antecedence for “the at least one PDCP SDU[[s]] or PDCP PDU[[s]]”.
As such, this office action respectfully contends that questions of a lack of antecedence basis are raised pertaining to where recitation of the terms “the at least one PDCP SDUs or PDCP PDUs” in Claim 11 finds antecedent basis.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. Applicant is requested and required to appropriately address and verify as applicable, applicant’s intent and objective for the claim language noted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory
basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and
the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the
effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised
of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that
was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner
to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art
against the later invention.
14. Claims 1, 4, 14, 13, 17, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HE et. al (US 20240275732 A1), i.e. “HE” in view of Malik et al. (US 20240121663 A1), i.e. “Malik”.
Regarding Claim 1 (Currently Amended). HE teaches: A method performed by a user equipment (UE) (HE – FIG. 5, FIG. 6 & ¶0097 […] 600 of signaling associated with a PDCP discard time for a PDU set […] 600 can be an example of uplink transmission (in which the transmitter is a UE 120 or a UE 505 and the receiver is a network node 110);
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0097 i.e. 600 of signaling reads on: A method associated with a PDCP discard time for a PDU set. Furthermore per ¶0097 i.e. in which the transmitter is a UE 120 or a UE 505 reads on: performed by a user equipment (UE) )
system ( HE – FIG. 1, FIG. 5 & FIG. 6 & ¶0098 […] reference number 610, the receiver may output, and the transmitter may receive, a configuration ; ¶0099 […] The configuration may include a configuration of one or more PDCP discard timers […] the configuration may include a PDCP-Config configuration. In some aspects, the PDU discard timer may apply to a PDU set […] If the PDCP entity receives all PDUs of the PDU set before expiration of the timer, the PDCP entity may provide the PDU set to lower layers of the transmitter for transmission. By applying the PDCP discard timer at the granularity of a PDU set (as compared to the granularity of an individual PDU), the effects of jitter on a tether between the transmitter and an XR device (e.g., XR device 510) associated with the transmitter are mitigated;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0099 i.e. applying the PDCP discard timer, at the granularity of a PDU set (as compared to the granularity of an individual PDU), the effects of jitter on a tether between the transmitter and an XR device (e.g., XR device 510) as applicable to i.e. the network depicted in FIG. 1, FIG. 5 & FIG. 6 reads on: in a wireless communication system ),
the method comprising: receiving from a network entity, a message for a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) configuration (HE – FIG. 6 & ¶0098 see above; ¶0099 see above;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per FIG. 6 & ¶0098 i.e. reference number 610, the receiver may output, and i.e. the transmitter may receive, a configuration depicted as being received per FIG. 6 from i.e. a network node (NN) (e.g., a network node 110) reads on: the method comprising: receiving from a network entity, a message , where per ¶0099 i.e. The configuration may include a configuration of one or more PDCP discard timers, i.e. the configuration may include a PDCP-Config configuration reads on: for a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) configuration )
including information [[of]] on a first discard timer for low importance, and information on a second discard timer(HE – FIG. 6 & ¶0101 […] the configuration may indicate a PDU set importance parameter and a PDCP discard timer corresponding to the PDU set importance parameter […] the configuration may indicate a longer PDCP discard timer for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a higher importance value, and/or a shorter PDCP discard timer (e.g., shorter than the longer PDCP discard timer) for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a lower importance value (e.g., lower than the higher importance value). Thus, a PDU set with a higher importance value (such as may be used for the decoding of other PDU sets with lower importance values) may be more likely to be successfully received and not discarded, which may reduce impact on the operation of the application 515 relative to if a shorter PDCP discard timer is used for a PDU set with a higher importance value;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per FIG. 6 & ¶0101 i.e. the configuration may indicate a PDU set importance parameter and a PDCP discard timer corresponding to the PDU set importance parameter where i.e. a shorter PDCP discard timer (e.g., shorter than the longer PDCP discard timer) reads on: including information on a first discard timer per ¶0101 i.e. for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a lower importance value (e.g., lower than the higher importance value) reads on: for low importance . Furthermore per ¶0101 i.e. the configuration may indicate a longer PDCP discard timer reads on: and information on a second discard timer per ¶0101 i.e. for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a higher importance value . Furthermore, per ¶0101 i.e. the configuration may indicate a PDU set importance parameter and a PDCP discard timer corresponding to i.e. the PDU set importance parameter),
wherein the first discard timer is [[set]] configured to a value that is shorter than a value of the second discard timer (HE – FIG. 6 & ¶0101 See above;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per FIG. 6 & ¶0101 i.e. the configuration may indicate a longer PDCP discard timer for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a higher importance value, and/or i.e. a shorter PDCP discard timer (e.g., shorter than the longer PDCP discard timer) reads on: wherein the first discard timer is configured to a value that is shorter for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a lower importance value (e.g., lower than the higher importance value), where i.e. shorter than the longer PDCP discard timer where i.e. the configuration may indicate a longer PDCP discard timer for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a higher importance value reads on: than a value of the second discard timer ) ;
obtaining, from an upper layer, a (HE – FIG. 5 , FIG. 6 & ¶0099 […] the PDU discard timer may apply to a PDU set. For example, the PDU discard timer may start upon reception (e.g., generation, reception from an application 515, etc.), at the transmitter, of a first PDU of the PDU set, and may run for a length of the PDU discard timer. If all PDUs of the PDU set have not been received by a PDCP entity of the transmitter before expiration of the timer, the transmitter may discard the PDU set, or may provide one or more received PDUs of the PDU set, as described elsewhere herein. If the PDCP entity receives all PDUs of the PDU set before expiration of the timer, the PDCP entity may provide the PDU set to lower layers of the transmitter for transmission; ¶0102 […] reference number 620, the transmitter may receive (e.g., generate) one or more PDUs of a PDU set. […] a PDCP layer of the transmitter may receive one or more PDCP SDUs carrying information of the one or more PDUs, such as from a network layer of the transmitter, an SDAP layer of the transmitter […] reference number 630, the transmitter may start a PDCP discard timer corresponding to the PDU set (e.g., based at least in part on information indicating that the one or more PDCP SDUs carry information belonging to one or more PDUs of the PDU set). […] the transmitter may start a PDCP discard timer configured by the configuration shown by reference number 610. […] the PDCP discard timer may correspond to a PDU set parameter of the PDU set, such as a PSIHI or a PDU set importance parameter. […] As shown by reference number 640, […] the transmitter receives all PDUs of the PDU set. Accordingly, as shown by reference number 650, the transmitter transmits a set of communications carrying the PDUs of the PDU set (referred to herein as “communicating in accordance with the configuration”;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per FIG. 5 & ¶0099 applied to FIG. 6 i.e. the PDU discard timer may start upon reception (e.g., generation, reception from an application 515, etc.), at the transmitter, of a first PDU of the PDU set, and where per ¶0102 i.e. reference number 620, the transmitter may receive (e.g., generate) one or more PDUs of a PDU set reads on: Obtaining, from, and per ¶0102 i.e. a PDCP layer of the transmitter may receive one or more PDCP SDUs carrying information of the one or more PDUs, i.e. from i.e. an SDAP layer of the transmitter reads on: upper layer, where per ¶0102 i.e. receive one or more PDCP SDUs carrying information of the one or more PDUs reads on: a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) service data unit (SDU));
and performingn based on obtaining the PDCP SDU from the upper layer, (HE – FIG. 6 & ¶0101 See above; ¶0102 see above;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per FIG. 6 & ¶0099 i.e. the PDU discard timer may start upon reception (e.g., generation, reception from an application 515, etc.), at the transmitter, of a first PDU of the PDU set, and may run for a length of the PDU discard timer reads on: and performing an operation, where per FIG. 6 & ¶0099 i.e. start upon reception (e.g., generation, reception from an application 515, etc.), at the transmitter, of a first PDU of the PDU set and where per ¶0102 i.e. reference number 620, the transmitter may receive (e.g., generate) one or more PDUs of a PDU set, and i.e. a PDCP layer of the transmitter may receive one or more PDCP SDUs carrying information of the one or more PDUs reads on: based on obtaining the PDCP SDU from the upper layer),
wherein the performing the operation includes: starting the first discard timer for low importance if the first discard timer for low importance is configured and the PDCP SDU belongs to a low importance PDU set (HE – FIG. 6 & ¶0101 See above; ¶0102 see above;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0102 i.e. reference number 630, the transmitter may start a PDCP discard timer corresponding to the PDU set (e.g., based at least in part on information indicating that the one or more PDCP SDUs carry information belonging to one or more PDUs of the PDU and subsequently i.e. reference number 650, the transmitter transmits a set of communications carrying the PDUs of the PDU set (referred to herein as “communicating in accordance with the configuration reads on: wherein the performing the operation , furthermore involves where per FIG. 6 applying step 630 to ¶0101 i.e. […] the configuration may indicate i.e. a shorter PDCP discard timer (e.g., shorter than the longer PDCP discard timer) for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a lower importance value (e.g., lower than the higher importance value) reads on: includes: starting the first discard timer for low importance if the first discard timer for low importance is configured i.e. for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a lower importance value where per ¶0102 i.e. receive one or more PDCP SDUs carrying information of the one or more PDUs, applied to the per ¶0101 i.e. a shorter PDCP discard timer reads on: and the PDCP SDU belongs to a low importance PDU set),
and discarding all PDCP SDUs belonging to the low importance PDU set if the first discard timer for low importance expires (HE FIG. 6 & ¶0099 See above; ¶0101 see above ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0099 i.e. If all PDUs of the PDU set have not been received by a PDCP entity of the transmitter before expiration of the timer, the transmitter may discard the PDU set where per ¶0102 & ¶0103 i.e. one or more PDCP SDUs i.e. carry i.e. information of the one or more PDUs reads on: and discarding all PDCP SDUs , and FIG. 6 & ¶0101 i.e. […] the configuration may indicate i.e. a shorter PDCP discard timer (e.g., shorter than the longer PDCP discard timer) for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a lower importance value (e.g., lower than the higher importance value) reads on: belonging to the low importance PDU set , where per ¶0101 as applied to i.e. shorter than the longer PDCP discard timer, per ¶0099 i.e. If all PDUs of the PDU set have not been received by a PDCP entity of the transmitter before expiration of the timer reads on: if the first discard timer for low importance expires)
and a protocol data unit (PDU) set discard parameter is configured as TRUE (HE & ¶0099 see above; ¶0103 […] the PDCP entity of the transmitter may fail to receive one or more PDCP SDUs carrying the one or more PDUs before expiry of a PDCP discard timer corresponding to the PDU set. In this example, the transmitter may discard, upon expiry of the PDCP discard timer, the one or more PDUs (referred to herein as communicating in accordance with the configuration). In some aspects, the transmitter may discard the one or more PDUs based at least in part on a PSIHI of the PDU set. For example, the transmitter may discard all PDUs of the PDU set based at least in part on the PSIHI indicating that the PDU set is an all-or-nothing PDU set; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: reiterating ¶0099 per ¶0103 i.e. the PDCP entity of the transmitter may fail to receive one or more PDCP SDUs carrying the one or more PDUs before expiry of a PDCP discard timer corresponding to the PDU set i.e. the transmitter may discard, upon expiry of the PDCP discard timer, the one or more PDUs where i.e. the transmitter may discard the one or more PDUs based at least in part on i.e. a PSIHI of the PDU set reads on: and a protocol data unit (PDU) set discard parameter. For example, the transmitter may discard all PDUs of the PDU set based at least in part on the PSIHI indicating that the PDU set is an all-or-nothing PDU set reads on: is configured as i.e. the PDU set is an all-or-nothing PDU set implying PSIHI can be i.e. set is an all-or-nothing PDU set or alternatively not set as i.e. an all-or-nothing PDU setting reads on: as TRUE ),
wherein the PDU set discard parameter is included in the message for the PDCP configuration (HE FIG. 6 & FIG. 8 ¶100 […] the configuration may indicate a PDU set parameter corresponding to a PDCP discard timer; ¶0102 See above; ¶0155 i.e. receiving a configuration of one or more PDCP discard timers for PDU sets, the configuration indicating one or more PDU set parameters corresponding to the one or more PDCP discard timers (block 810); NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0102 i.e. the PDCP discard timer may correspond to a PDU set parameter of the PDU set, such as a PSIHI or a PDU set importance parameter reads on: wherein the PDU set discard parameter , and per ¶0100 i.e. the configuration may indicate a PDU set parameter corresponding to a PDCP discard timer reads on: is included in the message for the PDCP configuration ).
While HE teaches: a protocol data unit (PDU) set discard parameter is configured as TRUE as noted above where per ¶0103 i.e. the PDU set is an all-or-nothing PDU set implying PSIHI can be i.e. set is an all-or-nothing PDU set or alternatively not set as i.e. an all-or-nothing PDU set, and therefore implying PSIHI can be configured as TRUE, assuming arguendo HE implies and therefore i.e.,
HE does not appear to explicitly disclose or strongly suggest (i.e. See italicized portions of claim limitations): configured as TRUE;
Malik teaches: performingbased on obtaining the PDCP SDU from the upper layer, wherein the performing the operation includes: starting the first discard timer (Malik - ¶0073 […] if in a future release it is acceptable for the Rx to have partial PDU set delivery, then the remaining PDUs of a PDU set are only discarded if PSIHI is toggled/enabled; ¶0078 […] For DL transmission, there is a maximum duration threshold for inter-arrival time between the first received PDU and the last received PDU(s) constituting a PDU Set. A similar threshold could also be defined for UL transmission. […] It may be possible that all PDUs of the PDU set may not arrive at the transmitting PDCP entity at the same time. In these implementations, the discardTimer could be started at different points in time for the different PDUs of the PDU set. If PSIHI is enabled, for example, all PDUs are required to be received for successful delivery of a PDU set, then if discardTimer expires for any of the PDUs of the PDU set, the remaining PDUs of that PDU set can be discarded if PSDB duration has elapsed.[…] If PSIHI is enabled, and discardTimerPerSet (based on the PSDB or PDB value) expires, the remaining PDCP SDUs in the PDU set can be discarded regardless of the expiration of their respective discardTime; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0078 i.e. For DL transmission, there is a maximum duration threshold for inter-arrival time between the first received PDU and the last received PDU(s) constituting a PDU Set. A similar threshold could also be defined for UL transmission, where i.e. PDCP SDUs in the PDU set can be discarded reads on: performing, an operation based on obtaining, where UL or DL constitutes per ¶0078 i.e. the first received PDU and the last received PDU(s) constituting a PDU Set associated with i.e. PDCP SDUs in the PDU set reads on: the PDCP SDU),
and discarding all PDCP SDUs if the first discard timer expires and a protocol data unit (PDU) set discard parameter is configured as TRUE (Malik - ¶0073 See above; ¶0078 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0078 i.e. If PSIHI is enabled, and discardTimerPerSet (based on the PSDB or PDB value) expires, the remaining PDCP SDUs in the PDU set can be discarded reads on: and discarding all PDCP SDUs , where i.e. If PSIHI is enabled, and discardTimerPerSet (based on the PSDB or PDB value) expires reads on: if the first discard timer expires. Furthermore, per ¶0078 i.e. If PSIHI is enabled where per ¶0073 i.e. the remaining PDUs of a PDU set are only discarded if i.e. PSIHI is toggled/enabled reads on: and a protocol data unit (PDU) set discard parameter is configured as TRUE where i.e. the PSIHI can be toggled between enable and disable and enabling being TRUE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of HE with teachings of Malik, since Malik enables embodiments that avoid unnecessary transmission of PDUs over the air interface, such as in scenarios with network congestion by discarding data with low importance to prioritize transmission of data with high importance. The discard operation in the face of network congestion could lead to capacity improvements and enhance user experience by prioritizing data more urgently/earnestly needed by the decoding Rx (Malik - ¶0126 ).
Regarding Claim 4. (Currently Amended) HE in view of Malik teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore HE discloses:
wherein all the PDCP SDUs belonging to the low importance PDU set includes which is subsequently received from the upper layer and belongs to the low importance PDU set (HE - ¶0101 See claim 1 […]On the other hand, when a PDU set of a low importance value arrives late (e.g., is not provided from the PDCP buffer until after expiration of the PDCP discard timer), the PDU set can be discarded according to the shorter PDCP discard timer with minimal impact on the application 515, thereby conserving buffer space; ¶103 See claim 1;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0103 i.e. the PDCP entity of the transmitter may fail to receive one or more PDCP SDUs carrying the one or more PDUs before expiry of a PDCP discard timer corresponding to the PDU set where per ¶0101 i.e. a PDU set of a low importance value corresponding to one or more PDCP SDUs carrying the one or more PDUs of the PDU set reads on: wherein all the PDCP SDUs belonging to the low importance PDU set includes, at least one PDCP SDU. Furthermore per ¶0101 i.e. arrives late (e.g., is not provided from the PDCP buffer until after expiration of the PDCP discard timer and per ¶0103 i.e. fail to receive one or more PDCP SDUs carrying the one or more PDUs before expiry of a PDCP discard timer corresponding to the PDU set reads on: further comprising: which is subsequently received from the upper layer and belongs to the low importance PDU set ).
Regarding Claim 13. (Currently Amended) HE teaches: A method by a network entity (HE – FIG. 5, FIG. 6 & ¶0097 See Claim 1;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0097 i.e. 600 of signaling reads on: A method associated with a PDCP discard time for a PDU set. Furthermore per ¶0097 i.e. in which the transmitter is a UE 120 or a UE 505 and i.e. the receiver is a network node 110 reads on: by a network entity)
in wireless communication network, ( HE – FIG. 5 & FIG. 6 & ¶0098 See claim 1;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0099 i.e. applying the PDCP discard timer, and furthermore per ¶0099 i.e.at the granularity of a PDU set (as compared to the granularity of an individual PDU), the effects of jitter on a tether between the transmitter and an XR device (e.g., XR device 510) i.e. the network depicted in FIG. 5 & FIG. 6 reads on: in a wireless communication network )
the method comprising: transmitting , to a user equipment (UE), a message for a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) configuration (HE – FIG. 6 & ¶0098 see Claim 1; ¶0099 see Claim 1;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per FIG. 6 & ¶0098 i.e. reference number 610, i.e. the receiver may output, and the transmitter may receive, a configuration reads on: the method comprising: transmitting , to a user equipment (UE), a message , where per ¶0099 i.e. The configuration may include a configuration of one or more PDCP discard timers, i.e. the configuration may include a PDCP-Config configuration reads on: for a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) configuration )
including information [[of]] on a first discard timer for low importance, information on a second discard timer, and a protocol data unit (PDU) set discard parameter (HE – FIG. 6 & ¶0101 See claim 1;
i.e. per FIG. 6 & ¶0101 i.e. the configuration may indicate a PDU set importance parameter and a PDCP discard timer corresponding to the PDU set importance parameter where i.e. a shorter PDCP discard timer (e.g., shorter than the longer PDCP discard timer) reads on: including information on a first discard timer per ¶0101 i.e. for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a lower importance value (e.g., lower than the higher importance value) reads on: for low importance . Furthermore per ¶0101 i.e. the configuration may indicate a longer PDCP discard timer reads on: information on a second discard timer per ¶0101 i.e. for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a higher importance value . Furthermore, per ¶0101 i.e. the configuration may indicate a PDU set importance parameter and a PDCP discard timer corresponding to i.e. the PDU set importance parameter reads on: and a protocol data unit (PDU) set discard parameter ),
wherein the first discard timer is [[set]] configured to a value that is shorter than a value of the second discard timer (HE – FIG. 6 & ¶0101 See Claim 1;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per FIG. 6 & ¶0101 i.e. the configuration may indicate a longer PDCP discard timer for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a higher importance value, and/or i.e. a shorter PDCP discard timer (e.g., shorter than the longer PDCP discard timer) reads on: wherein the first discard timer is configured to a value that is shorter for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a lower importance value (e.g., lower than the higher importance value), where i.e. shorter than the longer PDCP discard timer where i.e. the configuration may indicate a longer PDCP discard timer for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a higher importance value reads on: than a value of the second discard timer );
receiving, from the UE[[)]], a(HE – FIG. 6 & ¶0101 See Claim 1; ¶0102 see Claim 1;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 6 & ¶0102 i.e. reference number 630, the transmitter may start a PDCP discard timer corresponding to the PDU set (e.g., based at least in part on information indicating that the one or more PDCP SDUs carry information belonging to one or more PDUs of the PDU set. Furthermore per 0102 i.e. the transmitter receives all PDUs of the PDU set. Accordingly, as shown by reference number 650, the transmitter transmits a set of communications carrying the PDUs of the PDU set (referred to herein as “communicating in accordance with the configuration” reads on: receiving, from the UE where per ¶0102 i.e. reference number 630, the transmitter may start a PDCP discard timer corresponding to the PDU set (e.g., based at least in part on information indicating that the one or more PDCP SDUs carry information belonging to one or more PDUs of the PDU i.e. where the one or more PDCP SDUs carry information belonging to one or more PDUs of the PDU at 650 are transmitted reads on: a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) service data unit (SDU));
and transmitting, to the UE, a PDCP status report to confirm a reception of the (HE - ¶0078 […] At a transmitter (e.g., a UE 120 on the uplink or a network node 110 on the downlink), a PDCP entity may receive a packet, such as a PDCP SDU or a data packet, from a higher layer (e.g., RRC or SDAP). The PDCP entity may buffer the packet in a transmission buffer for up to the length of the PDCP discard timer. For example, the PDCP entity may buffer the packet in the transmission buffer until a status report is received by the transmitter indicating successful reception, or the PDCP discard timer expires. After the PDCP discard timer expires, the packet may be discarded (e.g., flushed, dropped, deleted from the buffer). In some examples, the PDCP discard timer may be configured per PDCP PDU, such that all data (e.g., packets, PDCP SDUs) of a given PDCP PDU are buffered until a status report indicating successful reception is received or the PDCP discard timer expires for the given PDCP PDU; ¶0081 […] The receiver may perform reassembly according to a reassembly timer, which may be configured as part of an RLC-Config configuration. […] If the reassembly timer expires before all RLC PDUs of the RLC SDU have been received, then the receiver may transmit a status report,
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0081 i.e. the receiver may transmit a status report and per ¶0078 i.e. the PDCP discard timer may be configured per PDCP PDU, such that all data (e.g., packets, PDCP SDUs) of a given PDCP PDU are buffered until i.e. a status report indicating successful reception is received reads on: and transmitting, to the UE, a PDCP status report. Furthermore per ¶0078 i.e. the PDCP discard timer may be configured per PDCP PDU, such that all data (e.g., packets, PDCP SDUs) of a given PDCP PDU are buffered until a status report indicating successful reception is received reads on: to confirm a reception of the PDCP SDU).
identify that (HE – FIG. 6 & ¶0101 See Claim 1; ¶0102 see Claim 1;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per FIG. 6 & ¶0098 i.e. reference number 610, i.e. the receiver may output, and the transmitter may receive, a configuration i.e. the NN side in sending the configuration reads on: identify that the configuration is applicable to the UE. Furthermore, where per ¶0099 i.e. The configuration may include a configuration of one or more PDCP discard timers, i.e. the configuration may include a PDCP-Config configuration and per ¶0102 i.e. reference number 630, the transmitter may start a PDCP discard timer corresponding to the PDU set (e.g., based at least in part on information indicating that the one or more PDCP SDUs carry information belonging to one or more PDUs of the PDU reads on: the PDCP SDU is discarded by the UE based on the configured timers applied to SDUs carrying the PDU information) based on an operation in which the first discard timer for low importance is started if the first discard timer for low importance is configured and the PDCP SDU belongs to a low importance PDU set(HE – FIG. 6 & ¶0101 See Claim 1; ¶0102 see Claim 1;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0102 i.e. reference number 630, the transmitter may start a PDCP discard timer corresponding to the PDU set (e.g., based at least in part on information indicating that the one or more PDCP SDUs carry information belonging to one or more PDUs of the PDU and subsequently i.e. reference number 650, the transmitter transmits a set of communications carrying the PDUs of the PDU set (referred to herein as “communicating in accordance with the configuration reads on: reads on: an operation, which furthermore involves where per FIG. 6 & ¶0101 i.e. […] the configuration may indicate i.e. a shorter PDCP discard timer (e.g., shorter than the longer PDCP discard timer) for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a lower importance value (e.g., lower than the higher importance value) reads on: in which the first discard timer for low importance per ¶0102 i.e. reference number 630, the transmitter may start a PDCP discard timer corresponding to the PDU set (e.g., based at least in part on information indicating that the one or more PDCP SDUs carry information belonging to one or more PDUs of the PDU as applied to i.e. FIG. 6 & ¶0101 i.e. […] the configuration may indicate i.e. a shorter PDCP discard timer (e.g., shorter than the longer PDCP discard timer) for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a lower importance value (e.g., lower than the higher importance value) reads on: is started if the first discard timer for low importance is configured i.e. for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a lower importance value where per ¶0102 i.e. receive one or more PDCP SDUs carrying information of the one or more PDUs, applied to the per ¶0101 i.e. a shorter PDCP discard timer reads on: and the PDCP SDU belongs to a low importance PDU set),
and all PDCP SDUs belonging to the low importance PDU set are discarded if the first discard timer for low importance expires and the PDU set discard parameter is configured as TRUE (HE FIG. 6 & ¶0099 See above; ¶0101 see above ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0099 i.e. If all PDUs of the PDU set have not been received by a PDCP entity of the transmitter before expiration of the timer, the transmitter may discard the PDU set where i.e. one or more PDCP SDUs i.e. carry i.e. information of the one or more PDUs as applied to ¶0102 the one or more PDCP SDUs carry information belonging to one or more PDUs of the PDU Set reads on: and all PDCP SDUs, and FIG. 6 & ¶0101 i.e. […] the configuration may indicate i.e. a shorter PDCP discard timer (e.g., shorter than the longer PDCP discard timer) for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a lower importance value (e.g., lower than the higher importance value) reads on: belonging to the low importance PDU, where per ¶0099 i.e. If all PDUs of the PDU set have not been received by a PDCP entity of the transmitter before expiration of the timer as applied to FIG. 6 & ¶0101 i.e. a shorter PDCP discard timer reads on: set are discarded if the first discard timer for low importance expires. Furthermore, reiterating ¶0099 per ¶0103 i.e. the transmitter may discard the one or more PDUs based at least in part on a PSIHI of the PDU set reads on: and the PDU set discard parameter. For example, the transmitter may discard all PDUs of the PDU set based at least in part on the PSIHI indicating that the PDU set is an all-or-nothing PDU set reads on: is configured as i.e. the PDU set is an all-or-nothing PDU set implying PSIHI can be i.e. set is an all-or-nothing PDU set or alternatively not set as i.e. an all-or-nothing PDU set reads on: as TRUE),
While furthermore HE teaches: the PDU set discard parameter is configured as TRUE as noted above where per ¶0103 i.e. the PDU set is an all-or-nothing PDU set implying PSIHI can be i.e. set is an all-or-nothing PDU set or alternatively not set as i.e. an all-or-nothing PDU set, and therefore implying PSIHI can be configured as TRUE, where assuming arguendo HE implies and therefore i.e.,
HE does not appear to explicitly disclose or strongly suggest (i.e. See italicized portions of claim limitations): configured as TRUE;
Malik teaches: an operation in which the discard timer is started and all PDCP SDUs belonging to the PDU set are discarded if the first discard timer expires and the PDU set discard parameter is configured as TRUE (Malik - ¶0073 See Claim 1; ¶0078 See Claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0078 i.e. If PSIHI is enabled, and discardTimerPerSet (based on the PSDB or PDB value) expires reads on: an operation in which the discard timer is started, the remaining PDCP SDUs in the PDU set can be discarded reads on: and all PDCP SDUs belonging to the PDU set are discarded, where i.e. If PSIHI is enabled, and discardTimerPerSet (based on the PSDB or PDB value) expires reads on: if the first discard timer expires. Furthermore, per ¶0078 i.e. If PSIHI is enabled where per ¶0073 i.e. the remaining PDUs of a PDU set are only discarded if i.e. PSIHI is toggled/enabled reads on: and the PDU set discard parameter is configured as TRUE where i.e. the PSIHI can be toggled between enable and disable and enabling being TRUE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of HE with teachings of Malik, since Malik enables embodiments that avoid unnecessary transmission of PDUs over the air interface, such as in scenarios with network congestion by discarding data with low importance to prioritize transmission of data with high importance. The discard operation in the face of network congestion could lead to capacity improvements and enhance user experience by prioritizing data more urgently/earnestly needed by the decoding Rx (Malik - ¶0126 ).
Regarding Claim 14. (Currently Amended) HE teaches: A user equipment (UE) (HE – FIG. 5, FIG. 6 & ¶0097 See Claim 1;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0097 i.e. 600 of signaling associated with a PDCP discard time for a PDU set. Furthermore per ¶0097 i.e. in which the transmitter is a UE 120 or a UE 505 reads on: A user equipment (UE) ) ( HE – FIG. 5 & FIG. 6 & ¶0098 See claim 1 ; ¶0099 See Claim 1;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0099 i.e. applying the PDCP discard timer, and furthermore per ¶0099 i.e.at the granularity of a PDU set (as compared to the granularity of an individual PDU), the effects of jitter on a tether between the transmitter and an XR device (e.g., XR device 510) i.e. the network depicted in FIG. 5 & FIG. 6 reads on: in a wireless communication network ),
the UE comprising: at least one processor coupled to the transceiver and (HE FIG. 2 & ¶0051 […] may provide decoded control information and system information to a controller/processor 280. The term “controller/processor” may refer to one or more controllers, one or more processors; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0051 & FIG. 2 a controller/processor 280 is depicted interfaced to other components including transmit processor, Antenna, and receiver processor and antenna etc. reads on: at least one processor. Furthermore i.e. a controller/processor 280 is depicted interfaced to other components reads on: coupled to the transceiver),
(See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 14 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 14 applies similarly to claim 1. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) configured to: receive, from a network entity, a message for a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP)configuration on a first discard timer for low importance, information on a second discard timer, and a protocol data unit (PDU) set discard parameter, wherein the first discard timer is configured [[set]] to a value that is shorter than a value of the second discard timer; obtain, from an upper layer, obtaining the PDCP SDU from the upper layer, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: start the first discard timer for low importance if the first discard timer for low importance is configured and the PDCP SDU belongs to a low importance PDU set, and discard all PDCP SDUs belonging to the low importance PDU set if the first discard timer for low importance expires and a protocol data unit (PDU) set discard parameter is configured as TRUE, wherein the PDU set discard parameter is included in the message for the PDCP configuration (See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 14 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 14 applies similarly to claim 1. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 17. (Currently Amended) HE in view of Malik teaches: The UE
(See the rejection of Claim 4, Claim 17 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 4, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 17 applies similarly to Claim 4. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) wherein all the PDCP SDUs belonging to the low importance PDU set includes which is subsequently received from the upper layer and belongs to the low importance PDU set (See the rejection of Claim 4, Claim 17 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 4, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 17 applies similarly to Claim 4. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 20. (Currently Amended) HE teaches: A network (HE – FIG. 5, FIG. 6 & ¶0097 See Claim 1;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0097 i.e. 600 of signaling associated with a PDCP discard time for a PDU set. Furthermore per ¶0097 i.e. in which the transmitter is a UE 120 or a UE 505 and i.e. the receiver is a network node 110 reads on: A network entity)
in wireless communication network( HE – FIG. 5 & FIG. 6 & ¶0098 See claim 1;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0099 i.e. applying the PDCP discard timer, i.e. the network depicted in FIG. 5 & FIG. 6 reads on: in a wireless communication network ),
a transceiverat least one processor coupled to the transceiver and (HE FIG. 2 & ¶0055 […] The transceiver may include any combination of the antenna(s) 234, the modem(s) 232, the MIMO detector 236, the receive processor 238, the transmit processor 220, and/or the TX MIMO processor 230. The transceiver may be used by a processor (e.g., the controller/processor 240) and the memory 242 to perform aspects of any of the methods described herein;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: as depicted I FG. 2 & per ¶0055 i.e. interfaced with a processor (e.g., the controller/processor 240) which is also interfaced to other component i.e. The transceiver reads on: a transceiver; Per ¶0055 i.e. the controller/processor 240 reads on: and at least one processor coupled to the transceiver i.e. The transceiver may be used by a processor (e.g., the controller/processor 240) and the memory 242 to perform aspects of reads on: and is configured to ):
(See the rejection of Claim 13, Claim 20 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 13, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 20 applies similarly to Claim 13. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a message for a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) configuration on a first discard timer for low importance, a second discard timer, and a protocol data unit (PDU) set discard parameter, wherein the first discard timer is [[set]] configured to a value that is shorter than a value of the second discard timer; receive, from the UE[[)]], aan operation in which the first discard timer for low importance is started if the first discard timer for low importance is configured and the PDCP SDU belongs to a low importance PDU set, and all PDCP SDUs belonging to the low importance PDU set are discarded if the first discard timer for low importance expires and the PDU set discard parameter is configured as TRUE (See the rejection of Claim 13, Claim 20 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 13, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 20 applies similarly to Claim 13. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
15. Claims 5, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HE in view of Malik, further in view of WANG et al. (US 20230224383 A1), i.e. “WANG”
Regarding Claim 5. (Currently Amended) HE in view of Malik teaches: The method
furthermore HE discloses: wherein at least one of the first discard timer for the low importance or the second discard timer is configured (HE ¶0101 See Claim 1;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0101 i.e. the configuration may indicate a shorter PDCP discard timer (e.g., shorter than the longer PDCP discard timer) for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a lower importance value (e.g., lower than the higher importance value) reads on: wherein at least one of the first discard timer for the low importance . Furthermore i.e. the configuration may indicate a longer PDCP discard timer for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a higher importance value reads on: or the second discard timer is configured).
HE in view of Malik does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (i.e. See italicized portions): configured for at least one specific data radio bearer (DRB) providing an XR service, and is configured in an XR radio bearer configuration message by a radio resource control (RRC) signaling message
WANG teaches: wherein at least one of the first discard timer for the low importance or the second discard timer is configured for an XR radio bearer configuration message by a radio resource control (RRC) signaling message (WANG FIG. 12 & ¶0110 […] a PDCP layer receives SDAP PDUs of an XR traffic and sets different discard timers to different DRBs based on an RRC indication.; ¶0111 […] the PDCP layer sets different discard timer values to different DRBs based on the RRC indication. The mapping rules between a DRB identity and a discard timer value is included in PDCP-Config information element and indicated to a UE through an RRC reconfiguration message. For a PDCP entity with higher-priority XR packets, the PDCP SDU is discarded after a longer waiting time for higher reliability compared with lower-priority XR packets;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0111 i.e. For a PDCP entity with higher-priority XR packets, the PDCP SDU is discarded after a longer waiting time for higher reliability i.e. compared with lower-priority XR packets reads on: wherein at least one of the first discard timer for the low importance or i.e. the PDCP SDU is discarded after a longer waiting time for higher reliability reads on: the second discard timer is configured . Furthermore per ¶0110 i.e. 0110 […] a PDCP layer receives SDAP PDUs of an XR traffic and sets different discard timers to different DRBs reads on: for at least one specific data radio bearer (DRB) providing an XR service, per ¶0110 i.e. indicated to a UE through an RRC reconfiguration message reads on: and is configured in an XR radio bearer configuration message by a radio resource control (RRC) signaling message ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of HE in view of Malik with teachings of WANG, since WANG enables procedures that can reduce the cost caused by deep packet inspection and thus improve the XR traffic handling efficiency (WANG ¶0081 ).
Regarding Claim 18. (Currently Amended) HE in view of Malik teaches: The UE
(See the rejection of Claim 5, Claim 18 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 5, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 18 applies similarly to Claim 5. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) wherein at least one of the first discard timer for the low importance or the second discard timer is configured for aan XR radio bearer configuration message by a radio resource control (RRC) signaling message (See the rejection of Claim 5, Claim 18 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 5, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 18 applies similarly to Claim 5. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
16. Claims 6, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HE in view of Malik, further in view of KANAMARLAPUDI et. al (US 20240314633 A1), i.e. “KANAMARLAPUDI”.
Regarding Claim 6. (Currently Amended) HE in view of Malik teaches: The method 1,
furthermore HE discloses: further comprising at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight):
starting, (HE - ¶0101 See claim 1; ¶0102 See Claim 1;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0102 i.e. reference number 630, the transmitter may start a PDCP discard timer corresponding to the PDU set (e.g., based at least in part on information indicating that the one or more PDCP SDUs carry information belonging to one or more PDUs of the PDU set reads on: starting, ¶0101 i.e. the configuration may indicate i.e. a shorter PDCP discard timer (e.g., shorter than the longer PDCP discard timer) for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a lower importance value (e.g., lower than the higher importance value) reads on: the first discard timer per ¶0101 i.e. the configuration may indicate i.e. a shorter PDCP discard timer (e.g., shorter than the longer PDCP discard timer) for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a lower importance value (e.g., lower than the higher importance value) reads on: for the low importance, and per ¶0102 i.e. based at least in part on information indicating that the one or more PDCP SDUs carry information belonging to one or more PDUs of the PDU set reads on: when receiving the PDCP SDU ¶0101 i.e. the configuration may indicate i.e. a shorter PDCP discard timer (e.g., shorter than the longer PDCP discard timer) for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a lower importance value (e.g., lower than the higher importance value) reads on: belonging to a low importance PDU set from the upper layer );
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
starting(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” and separated by recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight; -
HE - ¶0101 See claim 1; ¶0102 See Claim 1;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0102 i.e. reference number 630, the transmitter may start a PDCP discard timer corresponding to the PDU set (e.g., based at least in part on information indicating that the one or more PDCP SDUs carry information belonging to one or more PDUs of the PDU set reads on: starting, ¶0101 i.e. the configuration may indicate a longer PDCP discard timer for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a higher importance value reads on: the second discard timer per ¶0101 i.e. the configuration may indicate a longer PDCP discard timer for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a higher importance value reads on: when receiving the PDCP SDU not belonging to the low importance PDU set from the upper layer).
While He teaches starting a discard timer which per step 630 could apply to either of ¶0101 i.e. the configuration may indicate a longer PDCP discard timer for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a higher importance value, and/or a shorter PDCP discard timer (e.g., shorter than the longer PDCP discard timer) for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a lower importance value (e.g., lower than the higher importance value) and hence implies starting either longer discard timer or shorter discard timer based upon the level of importance, assuming arguendo He implies starting the second discard timer, and therefore:
HE in view of Malik does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (i.e. He implies i.e. See italicized portions): starting,
KANAMARLAPUDI teaches: starting, (KANAMARLAPUDI FIG. 6 & 0090 […] Upon reception of a PDCP SDU from an upper layer, a transmitting PDCP entity may start the discard timer associated with the PDCP SDU. When the discard timer associated with the PDCP SDU expires; ¶0105 […] The UE 120 may be configured to discard the PDUs associated with the XR video stream after four seconds but may discard the PDUs associated with the non-XR video stream after only two seconds, even though the PDUs associated with the XR video stream and the PDUs associated with the non-XR video stream are transmitted using the same radio bearer. This may enable the UE 120 to discard packets having a lower importance more quickly than packets having a higher importance;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0090 i.e. Upon reception of a PDCP SDU from an upper layer, a transmitting PDCP entity may start the discard timer associated with the PDCP SDU reads on: starting, by the transmitting PDCP entity, per ¶0105 i.e. The UE 120 may be configured to discard the PDUs associated with the XR video stream after four seconds reads on: the second discard timer when receiving the PDCP SDU not belonging to the low importance PDU set from the upper layer i.e. four second applies only to XR-Stream , while non XR – Stream data follows respective per ¶0105 i.e. but may discard the PDUs associated with the non-XR video stream after only two seconds);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of HE in view of Malik with teachings of KANAMARLAPUDI, since KANAMARLAPUDI enables procedures that enable the UE to store packets having a higher importance for a longer time period than packets having a lower importance, which may improve a likelihood that the packets having the higher importance are processed by UE 120 (KANAMARLAPUDI ¶0105 ).
Regarding Claim 19. (Currently Amended) HE in view of Malik teaches: The UE
(See the rejection of Claim 6, Claim 19 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 6, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 19 applies similarly to Claim 6. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) wherein the at least one processor the low importance PDU set from the upper layer; and start the second discard timer when receiving the PDCP SDU not belonging to the low importance PDU set from the upper layer (See the rejection of Claim 6, Claim 19 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 6, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 19 applies similarly to Claim 6. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
17. Claims 8, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He in view of Malik, further in view of Berquist et al. (US 20180310192 A1), i.e. “Berquist”.
Regarding Claim 8. (Currently Amended) HE in view of Malik discloses: The method
furthermore HE discloses: further comprising: discarding of the at least one PDCP SDUs or PDCP PDUs of the at least one PDU set (HE - ¶0101 See claim 1;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0101 i.e. when a PDU set of a low importance value arrives late (e.g., is not provided from the PDCP buffer until after expiration of the PDCP discard timer), the PDU set can be discarded according to the shorter PDCP discard timer reads on: further comprising: by a transmitting PDCP entity of the UE, discarding PDCP SDUs of the PDU set)
HE in view of Malik does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (i.e. See italicized portions): indicating, discarding PDCP SDUs by setting an indication field in a PDCP header of a first PDCP PDU for a next PDU;
Berquist teaches: indicating, (Berquist ¶0173 […] The control PDU could also be more explicit and instead of sending an instruction to discard all data, include an indication of which particular PDCP PDUs the receiving re-ordering entity in PDCP has requested via the good leg, so that the transmitting PDCP entity in turn can instruct which PDCP PDUs the RLC entity in the bad leg shall discard; ¶0174 […] any of the reserved bits in the 3GPP TS 36.323 PDCP headers may be used as well.;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0173 i.e. the transmitting PDCP entity in turn can instruct which PDCP PDUs the RLC entity in the bad leg shall discard reads on: indicating, by a transmitting PDCP entity of the UE, discarding PDCP SDUs. Furthermore per ¶0174 i.e. any of the reserved bits in the 3GPP TS 36.323 PDCP headers may be used reads on: by setting an indication field in a PDCP header. Furthermore where per ¶0173 i.e. an indication of which particular PDCP PDUs the receiving re-ordering entity in PDCP has requested via the good leg, so that the transmitting PDCP entity in turn can instruct which PDCP PDUs the RLC entity in the bad leg shall discard i.e. instruction to discard on the bad leg is after instruction requested via good leg reads on: of a first PDCP PDU for a next PDU i.e. next PDU being first after request via good leg);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of HE in view of Malik with teachings of Berquist, since Berquist ensures that RLC entities on the leg experiencing transmission problems, based on the signaling coordination performed on the good leg, discards redundant data and synchronizes the RLC entities so that transmissions restart as soon as radio conditions allow (Berquist ¶0175 ).
Regarding Claim 11. (Currently Amended) HE in view of Malik teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore HE discloses: further comprising at least one of(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight):
continuing, (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight);
assigning, (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight);
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
discarding of the at least one PDCP SDU[[s]] or PDCP PDU[[s]] of the (HE - ¶0101 See claim 1;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0101 i.e. when a PDU set of a low importance value arrives late (e.g., is not provided from the PDCP buffer until after expiration of the PDCP discard timer), the PDU set can be discarded according to the shorter PDCP discard timer reads on: further comprising at least one of: discarding of the at least one PDCP SDU or PDCP PDU of the PDU set)
HE in view of Malik does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (i.e. See italicized portions): indicating, by the transmitting PDCP entity, for discarding of the at least one PDCP SDUs or PDCP PDUs using a bit, a bitmap, or a field in a PDCP header of a next PDU;
Berquist teaches: indicating, (Berquist ¶0173 See Claim 8 ; ¶0174 See claim 8;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0173 i.e. the transmitting PDCP entity in turn can instruct which PDCP PDUs the RLC entity in the bad leg shall discard reads on: indicating, for discarding of the at least one PDCP SDUs or PDCP PDUs . Furthermore per ¶0174 i.e. any of the reserved bits in the 3GPP TS 36.323 PDCP headers may be used reads on: using a bit, a bitmap, or a field in a PDCP header . Furthermore where per ¶0173 i.e. an indication of which particular PDCP PDUs the receiving re-ordering entity in PDCP has requested via the good leg, so that the transmitting PDCP entity in turn can instruct which PDCP PDUs the RLC entity in the bad leg shall discard i.e. instruction to discard on the bad leg is after instruction requested via good leg reads on: of a next PDU i.e. next PDU after request via good leg);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of HE in view of Malik, with teachings of Berquist, since Berquist ensures that RLC entities on the leg experiencing transmission problems, based on the signaling coordination performed on the good leg, discards redundant data and synchronizes the RLC entities so that transmissions restart as soon as radio conditions allow (Berquist ¶0175 ).
18. Claims 9, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HE in view of Malik, further in view of Eriksson et al. (US 20200084668 A1), i.e. “Eriksson”
Regarding Claim 9. (Currently Amended) HE in view of Malik teaches: The method
furthermore HE discloses: further comprising at least one of(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight): discarding the all PDCP SDUs belonging to the low importance PDU set (HE FIG. 6 & ¶0099 See Claim 1; ¶0101 see Claim 1 ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0099 i.e. If all PDUs of the PDU set have not been received by a PDCP entity of the transmitter before expiration of the timer, the transmitter may discard the PDU set where i.e. one or more PDCP SDUs i.e. carry i.e. information of the one or more PDUs reads on: and discarding the all PDCP SDUs , and FIG. 6 & ¶0101 i.e. […] the configuration may indicate i.e. a shorter PDCP discard timer (e.g., shorter than the longer PDCP discard timer) for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a lower importance value (e.g., lower than the higher importance value) reads on: belonging to the low importance PDU set , where per ¶0099 i.e. If all PDUs of the PDU set have not been received by a PDCP entity of the transmitter before expiration of the timer reads on: if the first discard timer for low importance expires ) if the PDU set discard parameter is configured as TRUE (HE & ¶0099 see Claim 1; ¶0103 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: reiterating ¶0099 per ¶0103 i.e. the PDCP entity of the transmitter may fail to receive one or more PDCP SDUs carrying the one or more PDUs before expiry of a PDCP discard timer corresponding to the PDU set i.e. the transmitter may discard, upon expiry of the PDCP discard timer, the one or more PDUs where i.e. the transmitter may discard the one or more PDUs based at least in part on a PSIHI of the PDU set. For example, the transmitter may discard all PDUs of the PDU set based at least in part on the PSIHI indicating that the PDU set is an all-or-nothing PDU set reads on: if the PDU set discard parameter is configured as i.e. the PDU set is an all-or-nothing PDU set implying PSIHI can be i.e. set is an all-or-nothing PDU set or alternatively not set as i.e. an all-or-nothing PDU set reads on: as TRUE );
indicating, if the PDU set discard parameter is configured as TRUE, when the second discard timer expires at the PDCP layer and one or more PDCP SDUs or PDUs belonging to a same PDU set [[is]] are submitted to the RLC layer(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight);
indicating, low importance at least one PDU set o(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight);
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
indicating to the transmitting RLC entity for discarding at least one PDCP SDU or PDU of [[the]] at least one PDU set of the high importance when the PDU set discard parameter is configured as FALSE, when the second discard timer expires at the PDCP layer and at least one PDCP SDU or PDU belonging to the same PDU set is submitted to the RLC layer(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight).
HE in view of Malik does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (i.e. See italicized portions): indicating, to a transmitting radio link control (RLC) entity of the UE for discarding the all PDCP SDUs, when the first discard timer expires at a PDCP layer and all PDCP SDUs ;
Eriksson teaches: further comprising at least one of: indicating, to a transmitting radio link control (RLC) entity of the UE for discarding the all PDCP SDUs, when the first discard timer expires at a PDCP layer and all PDCP SDUs belonging to a same PDU set is submitted to an RLC layer (Eriksson - ¶0040 […] In order to manage the length of the queue, and ensure that packets of data which are too old to be useful are not transmitted, each PDCP SDU is associated with a discard timer. The discard timer is initiated upon receipt of the SDU by the PDCP layer 202. If the discard timer expires without transmission of the SDU from the node, the SDU is discarded. Note that the SDU may still be in the queue, in which case the SDU is discarded from the queue, or it may have been encapsulated and passed to lower layers. In the latter case, the PDCP layer 202 informs the lower layers (e.g. one or more of the RLC layer 204, the MAC layer 206 and the physical layer 208) that the discard timer has expired and the SDU (or rather its associated PDU) should be discarded without transmission from the node;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0040 i.e. the PDCP layer 202 informs the lower layers (e.g. one or more of the RLC layer 204) that the discard timer has expired reads on: further comprising at least one of: indicating, to a transmitting radio link control (RLC) entity of the UE for discarding the all PDCP SDUs . Furthermore i.e. The discard timer is initiated upon receipt of the SDU by the PDCP layer 202. If the discard timer expires without transmission of the SDU from the node reads on: when the first discard timer expires at a PDCP layer. Furthermore i.e. Note that the SDU may still be in the queue, in which case the SDU is discarded from the queue, or it may have been encapsulated and passed to lower layers reads on: and all PDCP SDUs belonging to a same PDU set is submitted to an RLC layer and i.e. and the SDU (or rather its associated PDU) should be discarded without transmission from the node );
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of HE in view of Malik, with teachings of Eriksson, since Eriksson enables maintaining in-order delivery of packets, allowing for a short queue to compensate for short fluctuations in the available transport bit rate, and not producing excessive loss of packets (Eriksson ¶0015 ).
Regarding Claim 10. (Currently Amended) HE in view of Malik and Eriksson teaches: The method
furthermore HE discloses: further comprising at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight): discarding, the at least one PDCP SDU or PDU of the at least one PDU set (HE - ¶0101 See claim 1;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0101 i.e. when a PDU set of a low importance value arrives late (e.g., is not provided from the PDCP buffer until after expiration of the PDCP discard timer), the PDU set can be discarded according to the shorter PDCP discard timer reads on: further comprising at least one of: discarding, the at least one PDCP SDU or PDU of the at least one PDU set)
discarding, least one PDCP SDU or PDU of the at least one PDU set is already transmitted by the transmitting RLC entity(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight);
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
skipping, (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight).
HE in view of Malik does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (i.e. See italicized portions): discarding, the at least one PDCP SDU or PDU, when a transmitting PDCP entity indicates to the transmitting RLC entity to discard and the at least one PDCP SDU or PDU is not yet transmitted by the transmitting RLC entity;
Eriksson teaches: further comprising at least one of: discarding, the at least one PDCP SDU or PDU, when the transmitting PDCP entity indicates to the transmitting RLC entity to discard and the at least one PDCP SDU or PDU is not yet transmitted by the transmitting RLC entity (Eriksson - ¶0040 See claim 9;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0040 i.e. the PDCP layer 202 informs the lower layers (e.g. one or more of the RLC layer 204, the MAC layer 206 and the physical layer 208) that the discard timer has expired and the SDU (or rather its associated PDU) should be discarded reads on: further comprising at least one of: discarding, the at least one PDCP SDU or PDU, when a transmitting PDCP entity indicates to the transmitting RLC entity to discard. Furthermore i.e. SDU may have been encapsulated and passed to lower layers that the discard timer has expired and should be discarded without transmission from the node reads on: and the at least one PDCP SDU or PDU is not yet transmitted by the transmitting RLC entity i.e. teaches the range of options where PDCP passed SDU to RLC and RLC instructed to discard);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of HE in view of Malik and Eriksson, further with the teachings of Eriksson, since Eriksson enables maintaining in-order delivery of packets, allowing for a short queue to compensate for short fluctuations in the available transport bit rate, and not producing excessive loss of packets (Eriksson ¶0015 ).
Allowable Subject Matter
19. Claims 2, 3, 7, 12, 15, 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable contingent upon or subject to all of the following conditions:
(1) that the claims are rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as presented by applicant and referenced herein,
(2) that all independent claims were amended with similar, identical and parallel features and amendments in the independent claims representing identical features were submitted in a formal response,
(3) that the claim limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitations, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations,
(4) that all pending issues associated with the claims including:
(a) clarifying applicable issues related with claim objections under minor informalities and 112 (b) rejections,
(b) issues related with the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitations, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations, including the independent claims,
are all acceptably resolved, and do not result in a case where, given the scope of any applicant claimed amendments and/or arguments, examination would require would require further consideration and search.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 2. (Currently Amended) The method contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “wherein the performing the further includes: for low importance is not configured or the low importance and for low importance or the second discard timer expires for the
Regarding Claim 3. The method of claim 1, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “wherein a PDU set importance (PSI) value associated with at least one PDU set is received from the includes at least one of a service data application protocol (SDAP) layer, an application layer, or a service layer”.
Regarding Claim 7. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 1, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “further comprising: receiving
Regarding Claim 12. The method of claim 1, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “further comprising: performingof service (QoS) flow to a data radio bearer (DRB) based on meta information received from an application layer, based on implementation without a need of configuration from a network, wherein the meta information includes a PDU set importance (PSI) value, a PSI threshold, and a discard threshold”.
Regarding Claim 15. (Currently Amended) The UE contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “wherein the at least one processolow importance and for low importance or the second discard timer expires for the
Regarding Claim 16. The UE of claim 14, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “wherein a PDU set importance [[value]] (PSI) value associated with at least one PDU set is received from the atincludes at least one of a service data application protocol (SDAP) layer, an application layer, or a service layer”.
Please note: The examiner notes the above limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitation, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.A.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 2414
08/13/2026
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414