DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is a response to the Application/Control Number: 18/622,681 filed on 03/29/2024.
Claims Status
2. This office action is based upon claims received on 03/29/2024, which replace all prior or other submitted versions of the claims.
-Claims 1-20 are pending.
-Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8-11,13-15, 17-20 are rejected.
-Claims 3, 7, 12, 16 are objected.
Priority
4. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/07/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
7. Claims 13, 20 have been analyzed under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Regarding claim 15 & claim 20 the limitation recite(s) “a packet discard handler”. A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: FIG. 2. A, FIG. 2 B ¶0085-¶0089; ¶0141-0146; Specifically ¶0089 notes “packet discard handler (207) is an innovative hardware that is realized through the physical implementation of both analog and digital circuits […]” & ¶00146 notes “packet discard handler (215) is an innovative hardware that is realized through the physical implementation of both analog and digital circuits […] ”
The term “a packet discard handler” are either defined in the specification as a particular structure or known by one skilled in the art as denoting a type of structure device, hence, 35 U.S.C.112, six paragraph is not invoked. [Note: MPEP 2181, Non-specialized functions: functions known by those of ordinary skill in the art as being commonly performed by a general purpose computer or computer component].
If Applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the Examiner's interpretation of the corresponding structure, Applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office Action.
If the Applicant does not intend to have the claimed limitation(s) treated under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, Applicant may amend the claim(s) so that it/they will clearly not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, present a sufficient showing that the claim recites/recite sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function to preclude application of 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance with 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Objections
8. Claim 4, 5, 7, 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
A. Regarding Claims 4, 7, 17 - Dependent claim 4, Claim 17 recites the terms “a PDU set” after a recitation of “a protocol data unit (PDU) set discard parameter” in independent claim 1 and claim 13. Questions may be raised whether “a PDU set” as recited in claim 4, claim 17 bears any antecedence relationship to the “a protocol data unit (PDU) set” in claim 1, and 13. This office action interprets “a PDU set” as recited in claim 4, claim 17 as being different from “a protocol data unit (PDU) set” in claim 1, 17.
Likewise Claim 7 recites “the PDU set”, and similar questions may be raised as to whether “the PDU set” is intended or not intended to find antecedence in “a protocol data unit (PDU) set” of “a protocol data unit (PDU) set discard parameter” in claim 1, and 13. This office action interprets “the PDU set” as recited in claim 7 as possibly pointing to “a protocol data unit (PDU) set” in claim 1, 17.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. Applicant is requested to appropriately address and verify as applicable, applicant’s intent and objective for the claim language noted.
B. Claim 5 recites the terms “a transmitted PDCP entity” which is possibly intended to reflect “a transmitting PDCP entity” as recited and utilized in other claims such as claims 4, 6. Questions may be raised as to how “PDCP entity” relates to being “transmitted”.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. Applicant is requested to appropriately address and verify as applicable, applicant’s intent and objective for the claim language noted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
10. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
A. Dependent claim 11 recites the terms “the at least one PDCP SDUs or PDCP PDUs” for the first time with an article “the” prior to “at least one PDCP SDUs or PDCP PDUs” without prior introduction or provision of a reference antecedence for “at least one PDCP SDUs or PDCP PDUs”. While Claim 1 (from which claim 11 depends) recites “at least one packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) service data unit (SDU)”, however claim 1 does not appear to recite “at least one PDCP SDUs or PDCP PDUs”.
As such, this office action respectfully contends that significant questions are raised pertaining to where recitation of the terms “the at least one PDCP SDUs or PDCP PDUs” in Claim 11 finds antecedent basis.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. Applicant is requested and required to appropriately address and verify as applicable, applicant’s intent and objective for the claim language noted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention.
12. Claims 1, 2, 4, 14, 15, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by HE et. al (US 20240275732 A1), i.e. “HE”.
Regarding Claim 1. HE discloses: A method by a user equipment (UE) (HE – FIG. 5, FIG. 6 & ¶0097 […] 600 of signaling associated with a PDCP discard time for a PDU set […] 600 can be an example of uplink transmission (in which the transmitter is a UE 120 or a UE 505 and the receiver is a network node 110);
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0097 i.e. 600 of signaling reads on: A method associated with a PDCP discard time for a PDU set. Furthermore per ¶0097 i.e. in which the transmitter is a UE 120 or a UE 505 reads on: a user equipment (UE) )
for handling a packet discard for extended reality (XR) in a wireless communication network ( HE – FIG. 5 & FIG. 6 & ¶0098 […] reference number 610, the receiver may output, and the transmitter may receive, a configuration ; ¶0099 […] The configuration may include a configuration of one or more PDCP discard timers […] the configuration may include a PDCP-Config configuration. In some aspects, the PDU discard timer may apply to a PDU set […] If the PDCP entity receives all PDUs of the PDU set before expiration of the timer, the PDCP entity may provide the PDU set to lower layers of the transmitter for transmission. By applying the PDCP discard timer at the granularity of a PDU set (as compared to the granularity of an individual PDU), the effects of jitter on a tether between the transmitter and an XR device (e.g., XR device 510) associated with the transmitter are mitigated;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0099 i.e. applying the PDCP discard timer reads on: for handling a packet discard , furthermore per ¶0099 i.e.at the granularity of a PDU set (as compared to the granularity of an individual PDU), the effects of jitter on a tether between the transmitter and an XR device (e.g., XR device 510) reads on: for extended reality (XR) i.e. the network depicted in FIG. 5 & FIG. 6 reads on: in a wireless communication network ),
the method comprising: receiving a configuration message (HE – FIG. 6 & ¶0098 see above; ¶0099 see above;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per FIG. 6 & ¶0098 i.e. reference number 610, the receiver may output, and i.e. the transmitter may receive, a configuration reads on: the method comprising: receiving a configuration message )
including information of a first discard timer for low importance, a second discard timer, and a protocol data unit (PDU) set discard parameter (HE – FIG. 6 & ¶0101 […] the configuration may indicate a PDU set importance parameter and a PDCP discard timer corresponding to the PDU set importance parameter […] the configuration may indicate a longer PDCP discard timer for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a higher importance value, and/or a shorter PDCP discard timer (e.g., shorter than the longer PDCP discard timer) for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a lower importance value (e.g., lower than the higher importance value). Thus, a PDU set with a higher importance value (such as may be used for the decoding of other PDU sets with lower importance values) may be more likely to be successfully received and not discarded, which may reduce impact on the operation of the application 515 relative to if a shorter PDCP discard timer is used for a PDU set with a higher importance value;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per FIG. 6 & ¶0101 i.e. the configuration may indicate a PDU set importance parameter and a PDCP discard timer corresponding to the PDU set importance parameter where i.e. a shorter PDCP discard timer (e.g., shorter than the longer PDCP discard timer) reads on: including information of a first discard timer per ¶0101 i.e. for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a lower importance value (e.g., lower than the higher importance value) reads on: for low importance . Furthermore per ¶0101 i.e. the configuration may indicate a longer PDCP discard timer reads on: a second discard timer per ¶0101 i.e. for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a higher importance value . Furthermore, per ¶0101 i.e. the configuration may indicate a PDU set importance parameter and a PDCP discard timer corresponding to i.e. the PDU set importance parameter reads on: and a protocol data unit (PDU) set discard parameter ),
wherein the first discard timer is set to a value that is shorter than a value of the second discard timer (HE – FIG. 6 & ¶0101 See above;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per FIG. 6 & ¶0101 i.e. the configuration may indicate a longer PDCP discard timer for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a higher importance value, and/or i.e. a shorter PDCP discard timer (e.g., shorter than the longer PDCP discard timer) reads on: wherein the first discard timer is set to a value that is shorter for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a lower importance value (e.g., lower than the higher importance value), where i.e. shorter than the longer PDCP discard timer where i.e. the configuration may indicate a longer PDCP discard timer for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a higher importance value reads on: than a value of the second discard timer ) ;
obtaining at least one packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) service data unit (SDU) from at least one upper layer (HE – FIG. 6 & ¶0102 […] reference number 620, the transmitter may receive (e.g., generate) one or more PDUs of a PDU set. […] a PDCP layer of the transmitter may receive one or more PDCP SDUs carrying information of the one or more PDUs, such as from a network layer of the transmitter, an SDAP layer of the transmitter;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 6 & ¶0102 i.e. reference number 620, the transmitter may receive (e.g., generate) one or more PDUs of a PDU set. i.e. a PDCP layer of the transmitter may receive one or more PDCP SDUs reads on: obtaining at least one packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) service data unit (SDU) per ¶0102 i.e. carrying information of the one or more PDUs. Furthermore per ¶0102 i.e. from a network layer of the transmitter, an SDAP layer of the transmitter reads on: from at least one upper layer );
and performing, for the at least one PDCP SDU, a transmit operation including a PDCP SDU discard based on the first discard timer, the second discard timer, and the PDU set discard parameter (HE – FIG. 6 & ¶0101 See above; ¶0102 see above […] reference number 630, the transmitter may start a PDCP discard timer corresponding to the PDU set (e.g., based at least in part on information indicating that the one or more PDCP SDUs carry information belonging to one or more PDUs of the PDU set). […] the transmitter may start a PDCP discard timer configured by the configuration shown by reference number 610. […] the PDCP discard timer may correspond to a PDU set parameter of the PDU set, such as a PSIHI or a PDU set importance parameter. […] As shown by reference number 640, […] the transmitter receives all PDUs of the PDU set. Accordingly, as shown by reference number 650, the transmitter transmits a set of communications carrying the PDUs of the PDU set (referred to herein as “communicating in accordance with the configuration”;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 6 & ¶0102 i.e. reference number 630, the transmitter may start a PDCP discard timer corresponding to the PDU set (e.g., based at least in part on information indicating that the one or more PDCP SDUs carry information belonging to one or more PDUs of the PDU set reads on: and performing, for the at least one PDCP SDU . Furthermore per 0102 i.e. the transmitter receives all PDUs of the PDU set. Accordingly, as shown by reference number 650, the transmitter transmits a set of communications carrying the PDUs of the PDU set (referred to herein as “communicating in accordance with the configuration” reads on: a transmit operation where per ¶0102 i.e. reference number 630, the transmitter may start a PDCP discard timer corresponding to the PDU set (e.g., based at least in part on information indicating that the one or more PDCP SDUs carry information belonging to one or more PDUs of the PDU reads on: including a PDCP SDU discard. Furthermore per ¶0102 i.e. reference number 650, the transmitter transmits a set of communications carrying the PDUs of the PDU set (referred to herein as “communicating in accordance with the configuration where per FIG. 6 & ¶0101 i.e. […] the configuration may indicate […] a shorter PDCP discard timer (e.g., shorter than the longer PDCP discard timer) for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a lower importance value (e.g., lower than the higher importance value) reads on: based on the first discard timer. Furthermore per ¶0101 i.e. the configuration may indicate a longer PDCP discard timer for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a higher importance value reads on: the second discard timer. Furthermore i.e. Per ¶0101 i.e. the configuration may indicate a PDU set importance parameter and a PDCP discard timer corresponding to the PDU set importance parameter reads on: and the PDU set discard parameter ).
Regarding Claim 2. HE discloses: The method as claimed in claim 1,
furthermore HE discloses: wherein performing the transmit operation comprises at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight):
determining, by a transmitting PDCP entity of the UE, whether the first discard timer is configured and the at least one PDCP SDU belongs to a designated PDU set related to the low importance, and the PDU set discard parameter is configured as TRUE(HE - ¶0101 See clam 1 […] the configuration may indicate a plurality of PDCP discard timers, and each PDCP discard timer may correspond to a different PDU set importance parameter (which may be indicated by the configuration). […] the configuration may indicate a threshold, and a PDCP discard timer may apply for PDU sets associated with a PDU set importance parameter that satisfies the threshold […] a first PDCP discard timer may apply for PDU sets associated with the PDU set importance parameter that satisfies the threshold, and a second PDCP discard timer may apply for PDU sets associated with a PDU set importance parameter that fails to satisfy the threshold;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per as applied to per ¶0101 i.e. a shorter PDCP discard timer (e.g., shorter than the longer PDCP discard timer) for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a lower importance value (e.g., lower than the higher importance value)) i.e. the first discard timer ¶0101 i.e. the configuration may indicate a threshold, and a PDCP discard timer may apply for PDU sets associated with a PDU set importance parameter that satisfies the threshold , where i.e. a first PDCP discard timer may apply for PDU sets associated with the PDU set importance parameter that satisfies the threshold reads on: determining, by a transmitting PDCP entity of the UE, whether the first discard timer is configured. Furthermore i.e. a shorter PDCP discard timer (e.g., shorter than the longer PDCP discard timer) for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a lower importance value (e.g., lower than the higher importance value)) configured reads on: and the at least one PDCP SDU belongs to a designated PDU set related to the low importance. Furthermore i.e. i.e. a first PDCP discard timer may apply for PDU sets associated with i.e. the PDU set importance parameter that satisfies the threshold reads on: and the PDU set discard parameter is configured as TRUE);
starting the first discard timer for the low importance based on a determination that the first discard timer is configured and the at least one PDCP SDU belongs to the designated PDU set(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight);
starting the second discard timer based on a determination that the first discard timer is not configured or the at least one PDCP SDU does not belong to the designated PDU set(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight);
discarding one or more PDCP SDUs belonging to the designated PDU set based on a determination that the first discard timer or the second discard timer expires for the at least one PDCP SDU and the PDU set discard parameter is configured as TRUE(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight);
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
discarding the at least one PDCP SDU along with a corresponding PDCP data PDU based on a determination that the first discard timer or the second discard timer expires for the at least one PDCP SDU and the PDU set discard parameter is not configured as TRUE(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight).
Regarding Claim 4. HE discloses: The method as claimed in claim 1,
furthermore HE discloses: further comprising: determining, by a transmitting PDCP entity of the UE, whether the first discard timer for the low importance or the second discard timer expires for the at least one PDCP SDU associated with a PDU set (HE - ¶0101 See claim 1 […]On the other hand, when a PDU set of a low importance value arrives late (e.g., is not provided from the PDCP buffer until after expiration of the PDCP discard timer), the PDU set can be discarded according to the shorter PDCP discard timer with minimal impact on the application 515, thereby conserving buffer space;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0101 i.e. a PDU set of a low importance value arrives late (e.g., is not provided from the PDCP buffer until after expiration of the PDCP discard timer reads on: further comprising: determining, by a transmitting PDCP entity of the UE, whether the first discard timer for the low importance or the second discard timer expires where i.e. as applied to the low importance PDU set in ¶0101, i.e. per ¶0102 i.e. the transmitter may start a PDCP discard timer corresponding to the PDU set (e.g., based at least in part on information indicating that the one or more PDCP SDUs carry information belonging to one or more PDUs of the PDU set) reads on: for the at least one PDCP SDU associated with a PDU set );
and discarding, by the transmitting PDCP entity, at least one subsequently received PDCP SDU from the upper layer and associated with the PDU set when the first discard timer for the low importance or the second discard timer already expires for at least one PDCP SDU associated with the PDU set (HE - ¶0101 See claim 1 and See above;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0101 i.e. the PDU set can be discarded according to the shorter PDCP discard timer with minimal impact reads on: and discarding, by the transmitting PDCP entity, at least one subsequently received PDCP SDU from the upper layer and associated with the PDU set, where the per ¶0101 i.e. when a PDU set of a low importance value arrives late (e.g., is not provided from the PDCP buffer until after expiration of the PDCP discard timer) reads on: when the first discard timer for the low importance or the second discard timer already expires for at least one PDCP SDU associated with the PDU set ).
Regarding Claim 14. HE discloses: A user equipment (UE) (HE – FIG. 5, FIG. 6 & ¶0097 See Claim 1;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0097 i.e. 600 of signaling associated with a PDCP discard time for a PDU set. Furthermore per ¶0097 i.e. in which the transmitter is a UE 120 or a UE 505 reads on: A user equipment (UE) )
for handling a packet discard for extended reality (XR) in a wireless communication network ( HE – FIG. 5 & FIG. 6 & ¶0098 See claim 1 ; ¶0099 See Claim 1;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0099 i.e. applying the PDCP discard timer reads on: for handling a packet discard , furthermore per ¶0099 i.e.at the granularity of a PDU set (as compared to the granularity of an individual PDU), the effects of jitter on a tether between the transmitter and an XR device (e.g., XR device 510) reads on: for extended reality (XR) i.e. the network depicted in FIG. 5 & FIG. 6 reads on: in a wireless communication network ),
the UE comprising: an input/output (I/O) interface; and a packet discard handler communicatively coupled with the I/O interface (HE FIG. 2 & ¶0051 […] may provide decoded control information and system information to a controller/processor 280. The term “controller/processor” may refer to one or more controllers, one or more processors; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0051 & FIG. 2 a controller/processor 280 is depicted interfaced to other components including transmit processor, Antenna, and receiver processor and antenna etc. reads on: the UE comprising: an input/output (I/O) interface . Furthermore i.e. a controller/processor 280 is depicted interfaced to other components reads on: and a packet discard handler communicatively coupled with the I/O interface ),
wherein the packet discard handler is configured to:
(See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 14 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 14 applies similarly to claim 1. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)
receive a configuration message including information of a first discard timer for low importance, a second discard timer, and a protocol data unit (PDU) set discard parameter, wherein the first discard timer is set to a value that is shorter than a value of the second discard timer; obtain at least one packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) service data unit (SDU) t from at least one upper layer; and perform, for the at least one PDCP SDU, a transmit operation including a PDCP SDU discard based on the first discard timer, the second discard timer, and the PDU set discard parameter(See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 14 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 14 applies similarly to claim 1. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 15. HE discloses: The UE as claimed in claim 14,
(See the rejection of Claim 2, Claim 15 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 2, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 15 applies similarly to Claim 2. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)
wherein the packet discard handler is further configured to: determine, by a transmitting PDCP entity, whether the first discard timer is configured and the at least one PDCP SDU belongs to a designated PDU set related to the low importance, and the PDU set discard parameter is configured as TRUE; start, based on the first discard timer, the first discard timer for the low importance the first discard timer being configured and the at least one PDCP SDU belongs to the designated PDU set; start the second discard timer based on a determination that the first discard timer is not configured or the at least one PDCP SDU does not belong to the designated PDU set; discard one or more PDCP SDUs belonging to the designated PDU set based on a determination the first discard timer or the second discard timer being expires for the at least one PDCP SDU and the PDU set discard parameter is configured as TRUE; or discard the at least one PDCP SDU along with a corresponding PDCP data PDU based on a determination that the first discard timer or the second discard timer expires for the at least one PDCP SDU and the PDU set discard parameter is not configured as TRUE (See the rejection of Claim 2, Claim 15 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 2, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 15 applies similarly to Claim 2. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 17. HE discloses: The UE as claimed in claim 14,
(See the rejection of Claim 4, Claim 17 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 4, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 17 applies similarly to Claim 4. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) wherein the packet discard handler is further configured to: determine, by a transmitting PDCP entity, whether the first discard timer for the low importance or the second discard timer expires for the at least one PDCP SDU associated with a PDU set; and discard at least one subsequently received PDCP SDU from the upper layer and associated with the PDU set when the first discard timer for the low importance or the second discard timer already expires for at least one PDCP SDU associated with the PDU set (See the rejection of Claim 4, Claim 17 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 4, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 17 applies similarly to Claim 4. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
set forth in this Office action:
and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory
basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and
the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the
effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised
of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that
was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner
to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art
against the later invention.
14. Claims 5, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HE in view of WANG et al. (US 20230224383 A1), i.e. “WANG”
Regarding Claim 5. HE discloses: The method as claimed in claim 1,
furthermore HE discloses: wherein at least one of the first discard timer for the low importance or the second discard timer is configured for a transmitted PDCP entity of the UE (HE ¶0101 See Claim 1;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0101 i.e. the configuration may indicate a shorter PDCP discard timer (e.g., shorter than the longer PDCP discard timer) for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a lower importance value (e.g., lower than the higher importance value) reads on: wherein at least one of the first discard timer for the low importance . Furthermore i.e. the configuration may indicate a longer PDCP discard timer for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a higher importance value reads on: or the second discard timer is configured for a transmitted PDCP entity of the UE ).
HE does not appear to explicitly disclose or strongly suggest (i.e. See italicized portions): a transmitted PDCP entity of the UE for at least one specific data radio bearer (DRB) providing an XR service, and is configured in XR radio bearer configuration message by a radio resource control (RRC) signaling message
WANG teaches: wherein at least one of the first discard timer for the low importance or the second discard timer is configured for a transmitted PDCP entity of the UE for at least one specific data radio bearer (DRB) providing an XR service, and is configured in XR radio bearer configuration message by a radio resource control (RRC) signaling message (WANG FIG. 12 & ¶0110 […] a PDCP layer receives SDAP PDUs of an XR traffic and sets different discard timers to different DRBs based on an RRC indication.; ¶0111 […] the PDCP layer sets different discard timer values to different DRBs based on the RRC indication. The mapping rules between a DRB identity and a discard timer value is included in PDCP-Config information element and indicated to a UE through an RRC reconfiguration message. For a PDCP entity with higher-priority XR packets, the PDCP SDU is discarded after a longer waiting time for higher reliability compared with lower-priority XR packets;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0111 i.e. For a PDCP entity with higher-priority XR packets, the PDCP SDU is discarded after a longer waiting time for higher reliability i.e. compared with lower-priority XR packets reads on: wherein at least one of the first discard timer for the low importance or i.e. the PDCP SDU is discarded after a longer waiting time for higher reliability reads on: the second discard timer is configured for a transmitted PDCP entity of the UE . Furthermore per ¶0110 i.e. 0110 […] a PDCP layer receives SDAP PDUs of an XR traffic and sets different discard timers to different DRBs reads on: for at least one specific data radio bearer (DRB) providing an XR service, per ¶0110 i.e. indicated to a UE through an RRC reconfiguration message reads on: and is configured in XR radio bearer configuration message by a radio resource control (RRC) signaling message ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of HE with teachings of WANG, since WANG enables procedures that can reduce the cost caused by deep packet inspection and thus improve the XR traffic handling efficiency (WANG ¶0081 ).
Regarding Claim 18. HE discloses: The UE as claimed in claim 14,
(See the rejection of Claim 5, Claim 18 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 5, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 18 applies similarly to Claim 5. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) wherein at least one of the first discard timer for the low importance or the second discard timer is configured for a transmitted PDCP entity of the UE for at least one specific data radio bearer (DRB) providing an XR service, and is configured in XR radio bearer configuration message by a radio resource control (RRC) signaling message(See the rejection of Claim 5, Claim 18 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 5, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 18 applies similarly to Claim 5. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
15. Claims 6, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HE in view of KANAMARLAPUDI et. al (US 20240314633 A1), i.e. “KANAMARLAPUDI”.
Regarding Claim 6. HE discloses: The method as claimed in claim 1,
furthermore HE discloses: further comprising at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight):
starting, by a transmitting PDCP entity of the UE, the first discard timer for the low importance when receiving the PDCP SDU belonging to a low importance PDU set from the upper layer (HE - ¶0101 See claim 1;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. the configuration may indicate a longer PDCP discard timer for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a higher importance value, and/or a shorter PDCP discard timer (e.g., shorter than the longer PDCP discard timer) for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a lower importance value (e.g., lower than the higher importance value) reads on: starting, by a transmitting PDCP entity of the UE, the first discard timer for the low importance when receiving the PDCP SDU belonging to a low importance PDU set from the upper layer );
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
starting, by the transmitting PDCP entity, the second discard timer when receiving the PDCP SDU not belonging to the low importance PDU set from the upper layer (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” and separated by recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight).
HE does not appear to explicitly disclose or strongly suggest (i.e. See italicized portions): starting, by the transmitting PDCP entity, the second discard timer when receiving the PDCP SDU not belonging to the low importance PDU set from the upper layer
KANAMARLAPUDI teaches: starting, by the transmitting PDCP entity, the second discard timer when receiving the PDCP SDU not belonging to the low importance PDU set from the upper layer (KANAMARLAPUDI FIG. 6 & 0090 […] Upon reception of a PDCP SDU from an upper layer, a transmitting PDCP entity may start the discard timer associated with the PDCP SDU. When the discard timer associated with the PDCP SDU expires; ¶0105 […] The UE 120 may be configured to discard the PDUs associated with the XR video stream after four seconds but may discard the PDUs associated with the non-XR video stream after only two seconds, even though the PDUs associated with the XR video stream and the PDUs associated with the non-XR video stream are transmitted using the same radio bearer. This may enable the UE 120 to discard packets having a lower importance more quickly than packets having a higher importance;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0090 i.e. Upon reception of a PDCP SDU from an upper layer, a transmitting PDCP entity may start the discard timer associated with the PDCP SDU reads on: starting, by the transmitting PDCP entity, per ¶0105 i.e. The UE 120 may be configured to discard the PDUs associated with the XR video stream after four seconds reads on: the second discard timer when receiving the PDCP SDU not belonging to the low importance PDU set from the upper layer i.e. four second applies only to XR-Stream , while non XR – Stream data follows respective per ¶0105 i.e. but may discard the PDUs associated with the non-XR video stream after only two seconds);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of HE with teachings of KANAMARLAPUDI, since KANAMARLAPUDI enables procedures that enable the UE to store packets having a higher importance for a longer time period than packets having a lower importance, which may improve a likelihood that the packets having the higher importance are processed by UE 120 (KANAMARLAPUDI ¶0105 ).
Regarding Claim 19. HE discloses: The UE as claimed in claim 14,
(See the rejection of Claim 6, Claim 19 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 6, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 19 applies similarly to Claim 6. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)wherein the packet discard handler is further configured to: start, by a transmitting PDCP entity, the first discard timer for the low importance when receiving the PDCP SDU belonging to a low importance PDU set from the upper layer; and start the second discard timer when receiving the PDCP SDU not belonging to the low importance PDU set from the upper layer(See the rejection of Claim 6, Claim 19 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 6, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 19 applies similarly to Claim 6. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
16. Claims 9, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HE in view of Eriksson et al. (US 20200084668 A1), i.e. “Eriksson”
Regarding Claim 9. HE discloses: The method as claimed in claim 1,
furthermore HE discloses: further comprising at least one of(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight): discarding entire PDCP SDUs or PDUs of at least one PDU set of the low importance when the PDU set discard parameter is configured as TRUE (HE - ¶0101 See clam 2 […] the configuration may indicate a plurality of PDCP discard timers, and each PDCP discard timer may correspond to a different PDU set importance parameter (which may be indicated by the configuration). […] the configuration may indicate a threshold, and a PDCP discard timer may apply for PDU sets associated with a PDU set importance parameter that satisfies the threshold […] a first PDCP discard timer may apply for PDU sets associated with the PDU set importance parameter that satisfies the threshold, and a second PDCP discard timer may apply for PDU sets associated with a PDU set importance parameter that fails to satisfy the threshold;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0101 i.e. the configuration may indicate a threshold, and a PDCP discard timer may apply for PDU sets associated with a PDU set importance parameter that satisfies the threshold , where i.e. a first PDCP discard timer may apply for PDU sets associated with the PDU set importance parameter that satisfies the threshold when applied to per ¶0101 i.e. a shorter PDCP discard timer (e.g., shorter than the longer PDCP discard timer) for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a lower importance value (e.g., lower than the higher importance value)) reads on: further comprising at least one of: discarding entire PDCP SDUs or PDUs of at least one PDU set of the low importance i.e. based upon expiry of associated discard timer. Furthermore i.e. a first PDCP discard timer may apply for PDU sets associated with i.e. the PDU set importance parameter that satisfies the threshold reads on: when the PDU set discard parameter is configured as TRUE);
indicating, by the transmitting PDCP entity, to the transmitting RLC entity for discarding entire PDCP SDUs or PDUs of the at least one PDU set of high importance when the PDU set discard parameter is configured as TRUE, when the second discard timer expires at the PDCP layer and one or more PDCP SDUs or PDUs belonging to a same PDU set is submitted to the RLC layer(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight);
indicating, by the transmitting PDCP entity, to the transmitting RLC entity for discarding at least one PDCP SDU or PDU of the at least one PDU set of the low importance when the PDU set discard parameter is configured as FALSE, when the first discard timer for the low importance expires at the PDCP layer and the at least one PDCP SDU or PDU belonging to the same PDU set is submitted to the RLC layer(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight);
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
indicating to the transmitting RLC entity for discarding at least one PDCP SDU or PDU of the at least one PDU set of the high importance when the PDU set discard parameter is configured as FALSE, when the second discard timer expires at the PDCP layer and at least one PDCP SDU or PDU belonging to the same PDU set is submitted to the RLC layer(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight).
HE does not appear to explicitly disclose or strongly suggest (i.e. See italicized portions): indicating, by a transmitting PDCP entity, to a transmitting radio link control (RLC) entity of the UE for discarding entire PDCP SDUs or PDUs, when the first discard timer expires at a PDCP layer and one or more PDCP SDUs or PDUs belonging to a same PDU set is submitted to an RLC layer;
Eriksson teaches: further comprising at least one of: indicating, by a transmitting PDCP entity, to a transmitting radio link control (RLC) entity of the UE for discarding entire PDCP SDUs or PDUs, when the first discard timer expires at a PDCP layer and one or more PDCP SDUs or PDUs belonging to a same PDU set is submitted to an RLC layer (Eriksson - ¶0040 […] In order to manage the length of the queue, and ensure that packets of data which are too old to be useful are not transmitted, each PDCP SDU is associated with a discard timer. The discard timer is initiated upon receipt of the SDU by the PDCP layer 202. If the discard timer expires without transmission of the SDU from the node, the SDU is discarded. Note that the SDU may still be in the queue, in which case the SDU is discarded from the queue, or it may have been encapsulated and passed to lower layers. In the latter case, the PDCP layer 202 informs the lower layers (e.g. one or more of the RLC layer 204, the MAC layer 206 and the physical layer 208) that the discard timer has expired and the SDU (or rather its associated PDU) should be discarded without transmission from the node;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0040 i.e. the PDCP layer 202 informs the lower layers (e.g. one or more of the RLC layer 204) that the discard timer has expired reads on: further comprising at least one of: indicating, by a transmitting PDCP entity, to a transmitting radio link control (RLC) entity of the UE for discarding entire PDCP SDUs or PDUs . Furthermore i.e. The discard timer is initiated upon receipt of the SDU by the PDCP layer 202. If the discard timer expires without transmission of the SDU from the node reads on: when the first discard timer expires at a PDCP layer. Furthermore i.e. Note that the SDU may still be in the queue, in which case the SDU is discarded from the queue, or it may have been encapsulated and passed to lower layers reads on: and one or more PDCP SDUs or PDUs belonging to a same PDU set is submitted to an RLC layer and i.e. and the SDU (or rather its associated PDU) should be discarded without transmission from the node );
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of HE with teachings of Eriksson, since Eriksson enables maintaining in-order delivery of packets, allowing for a short queue to compensate for short fluctuations in the available transport bit rate, and not producing excessive loss of packets (Eriksson ¶0015 ).
Regarding Claim 10. HE in view of Eriksson teaches: The method as claimed in claim 9,
furthermore HE discloses: further comprising at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight):discarding, the at least one PDCP SDU or PDU of the at least one PDU set (HE - ¶0101 See claim 1;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0101 i.e. when a PDU set of a low importance value arrives late (e.g., is not provided from the PDCP buffer until after expiration of the PDCP discard timer), the PDU set can be discarded according to the shorter PDCP discard timer reads on: further comprising at least one of: discarding, the at least one PDCP SDU or PDU of the at least one PDU set)
discarding, by the transmitting RLC entity, the at least one PDCP SDU or PDU of the at least one PDU set, when a transmitting PDCP entity indicates to the transmitting RLC entity to discard and the at least one PDCP SDU or PDU of the at least one PDU set is already transmitted by the transmitting RLC entity(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight);
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
skipping, by the transmitting RLC entity, the discard of at least one PDCP SDU or PDU of the at least one PDU set, when the transmitting PDCP entity indicates to the transmitting RLC entity to discard and the at least one PDCP SDU or PDU of the at least one PDU set is already transmitted by the transmitting RLC entity(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight).
HE does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (i.e. See italicized portions): discarding, by the transmitting RLC entity, the at least one PDCP SDU or PDU, when the transmitting PDCP entity indicates to the transmitting RLC entity to discard and the at least one PDCP SDU or PDU is not yet transmitted by the transmitting RLC entity;
Eriksson teaches: further comprising at least one of: discarding, by the transmitting RLC entity, the at least one PDCP SDU or PDU, when the transmitting PDCP entity indicates to the transmitting RLC entity to discard and the at least one PDCP SDU or PDU is not yet transmitted by the transmitting RLC entity (Eriksson - ¶0040 See claim 9;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0040 i.e. the PDCP layer 202 informs the lower layers (e.g. one or more of the RLC layer 204, the MAC layer 206 and the physical layer 208) that the discard timer has expired and the SDU (or rather its associated PDU) should be discarded reads on: further comprising at least one of: discarding, by the transmitting RLC entity, the at least one PDCP SDU or PDU, when the transmitting PDCP entity indicates to the transmitting RLC entity to discard. Furthermore i.e. SDU may have been encapsulated and passed to lower layers that the discard timer has expired and should be discarded without transmission from the node reads on: and the at least one PDCP SDU or PDU is not yet transmitted by the transmitting RLC entity i.e. teaches the range of options where PDCP passed SDU to RLC and RLC instructed to discard);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of HE in view of Eriksson, further with the teachings of Eriksson, since Eriksson enables maintaining in-order delivery of packets, allowing for a short queue to compensate for short fluctuations in the available transport bit rate, and not producing excessive loss of packets (Eriksson ¶0015 ).
17. Claims 8, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HE in view of Berquist et al. (US 20180310192 A1), i.e. “Berquist”.
Regarding Claim 8. HE discloses: The method as claimed in claim 1,
furthermore HE discloses: further comprising: discarding of the at least one PDCP SDUs or PDCP PDUs of the at least one PDU set (HE - ¶0101 See claim 1;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0101 i.e. when a PDU set of a low importance value arrives late (e.g., is not provided from the PDCP buffer until after expiration of the PDCP discard timer), the PDU set can be discarded according to the shorter PDCP discard timer reads on: further comprising: by a transmitting PDCP entity of the UE, discarding PDCP SDUs of the PDU set)
HE does not appear to explicitly disclose or strongly suggest (i.e. See italicized portions): indicating, by a transmitting PDCP entity of the UE, discarding PDCP SDUs by setting an indication field in a PDCP header of a first PDCP PDU for a next PDU;
Berquist teaches: indicating, by a transmitting PDCP entity of the UE, discarding PDCP SDUs by setting an indication field in a PDCP header of a first PDCP PDU for a next PDU (Berquist ¶0173 […] The control PDU could also be more explicit and instead of sending an instruction to discard all data, include an indication of which particular PDCP PDUs the receiving re-ordering entity in PDCP has requested via the good leg, so that the transmitting PDCP entity in turn can instruct which PDCP PDUs the RLC entity in the bad leg shall discard; ¶0174 […] any of the reserved bits in the 3GPP TS 36.323 PDCP headers may be used as well.;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0173 i.e. the transmitting PDCP entity in turn can instruct which PDCP PDUs the RLC entity in the bad leg shall discard reads on: indicating, by a transmitting PDCP entity of the UE, discarding PDCP SDUs. Furthermore per ¶0174 i.e. any of the reserved bits in the 3GPP TS 36.323 PDCP headers may be used reads on: by setting an indication field in a PDCP header. Furthermore where per ¶0173 i.e. an indication of which particular PDCP PDUs the receiving re-ordering entity in PDCP has requested via the good leg, so that the transmitting PDCP entity in turn can instruct which PDCP PDUs the RLC entity in the bad leg shall discard i.e. instruction to discard on the bad leg is after instruction requested via good leg reads on: of a first PDCP PDU for a next PDU i.e. next PDU being first after request via good leg);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of HE with teachings of Berquist, since Berquist ensures that RLC entities on the leg experiencing transmission problems, based on the signaling coordination performed on the good leg, discards redundant data and synchronizes the RLC entities so that transmissions restart as soon as radio conditions allow (Berquist ¶0175 ).
Regarding Claim 11. HE discloses: The method as claimed in claim 1,
furthermore HE discloses: further comprising at least one of(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight):
continuing, by a transmitting PDCP entity of the UE, PDCP SDUs or PDCP PDUs of at least one PDU set that is initially assigned a sequence number and discarding the PDCP SDUs or the PDCP PDUs of the at least one PDU set that is not yet assigned a sequence number, upon discarding of the PDCP SDUs or the PDCP PDUs of the at least one PDU set(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight);
assigning, by the transmitting PDCP entity, to a first PDCP SDU of a next PDU set a consecutive sequence number with respect to a last sequence number assigned to the PDCP SDU of a previous PDU set(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight);
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
discarding of the at least one PDCP SDUs or PDCP PDUs of the at least one PDU set (HE - ¶0101 See claim 1;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0101 i.e. when a PDU set of a low importance value arrives late (e.g., is not provided from the PDCP buffer until after expiration of the PDCP discard timer), the PDU set can be discarded according to the shorter PDCP discard timer reads on: further comprising at least one of: discarding of the at least one PDCP SDUs or PDCP PDUs of the at least one PDU set)
HE does not appear to explicitly disclose or strongly suggest (i.e. See italicized portions): indicating, by the transmitting PDCP entity, for discarding of the at least one PDCP SDUs or PDCP PDUs using a bit, a bitmap, or a field in a PDCP header of a next PDU;
Berquist teaches: indicating, by the transmitting PDCP entity, for discarding of the at least one PDCP SDUs or PDCP PDUs using a bit, a bitmap, or a field in a PDCP header of a next PDU (Berquist ¶0173 See Claim 8 ; ¶0174 See claim 8;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0173 i.e. the transmitting PDCP entity in turn can instruct which PDCP PDUs the RLC entity in the bad leg shall discard reads on: indicating, by the transmitting PDCP entity, for discarding of the at least one PDCP SDUs or PDCP PDUs . Furthermore per ¶0174 i.e. any of the reserved bits in the 3GPP TS 36.323 PDCP headers may be used reads on: using a bit, a bitmap, or a field in a PDCP header . Furthermore where per ¶0173 i.e. an indication of which particular PDCP PDUs the receiving re-ordering entity in PDCP has requested via the good leg, so that the transmitting PDCP entity in turn can instruct which PDCP PDUs the RLC entity in the bad leg shall discard i.e. instruction to discard on the bad leg is after instruction requested via good leg reads on: of a next PDU i.e. next PDU after request via good leg);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of HE with teachings of Berquist, since Berquist ensures that RLC entities on the leg experiencing transmission problems, based on the signaling coordination performed on the good leg, discards redundant data and synchronizes the RLC entities so that transmissions restart as soon as radio conditions allow (Berquist ¶0175 ).
18. Claims 13, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HE in view of Rao et al. (US 20250119785 A1), i.e. “Rao”.
Regarding Claim 13. HE teaches: A method by a network apparatus (HE – FIG. 5, FIG. 6 & ¶0097 See Claim 1;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0097 i.e. 600 of signaling reads on: A method associated with a PDCP discard time for a PDU set. Furthermore per ¶0097 i.e. in which the transmitter is a UE 120 or a UE 505 and i.e. the receiver is a network node 110 reads on: by a network apparatus)
for handling a packet discard for extended reality (XR) in wireless communication network, ( HE – FIG. 5 & FIG. 6 & ¶0098 See claim 1;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0099 i.e. applying the PDCP discard timer reads on: for handling a packet discard , furthermore per ¶0099 i.e.at the granularity of a PDU set (as compared to the granularity of an individual PDU), the effects of jitter on a tether between the transmitter and an XR device (e.g., XR device 510) reads on: for extended reality (XR) i.e. the network depicted in FIG. 5 & FIG. 6 reads on: in a wireless communication network )
the method comprising: transmitting a configuration message (HE – FIG. 6 & ¶0098 see Claim 1; ¶0099 see Claim 1;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per FIG. 6 & ¶0098 i.e. reference number 610, i.e. the receiver may output, and the transmitter may receive, a configuration reads on: the method comprising: transmitting a configuration message )
including information of a first discard timer for low importance, a second discard timer, and a protocol data unit (PDU) set discard parameter (HE – FIG. 6 & ¶0101 See claim 1;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per FIG. 6 & ¶0101 i.e. the configuration may indicate a PDU set importance parameter and a PDCP discard timer corresponding to the PDU set importance parameter where i.e. a shorter PDCP discard timer (e.g., shorter than the longer PDCP discard timer) reads on: including information of a first discard timer per ¶0101 i.e. for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a lower importance value (e.g., lower than the higher importance value) reads on: for low importance . Furthermore per ¶0101 i.e. the configuration may indicate a longer PDCP discard timer reads on: a second discard timer per ¶0101 i.e. for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a higher importance value . Furthermore, per ¶0101 i.e. the configuration may indicate a PDU set importance parameter and a PDCP discard timer corresponding to i.e. the PDU set importance parameter reads on: and a protocol data unit (PDU) set discard parameter ),
wherein the first discard timer is set to a value that is shorter than a value of the second discard timer (HE – FIG. 6 & ¶0101 See Claim 1;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per FIG. 6 & ¶0101 i.e. the configuration may indicate a longer PDCP discard timer for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a higher importance value, and/or i.e. a shorter PDCP discard timer (e.g., shorter than the longer PDCP discard timer) reads on: wherein the first discard timer is set to a value that is shorter for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a lower importance value (e.g., lower than the higher importance value), where i.e. shorter than the longer PDCP discard timer where i.e. the configuration may indicate a longer PDCP discard timer for a PDCP set importance parameter indicating a higher importance value reads on: than a value of the second discard timer );
receiving, from a user equipment (UE), at least one packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) service data unit (SDU) (HE – FIG. 6 & ¶0101 See Claim 1; ¶0102 see Claim 1;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 6 & ¶0102 i.e. reference number 630, the transmitter may start a PDCP discard timer corresponding to the PDU set (e.g., based at least in part on information indicating that the one or more PDCP SDUs carry information belonging to one or more PDUs of the PDU set. Furthermore per 0102 i.e. the transmitter receives all PDUs of the PDU set. Accordingly, as shown by reference number 650, the transmitter transmits a set of communications carrying the PDUs of the PDU set (referred to herein as “communicating in accordance with the configuration” reads on: receiving, from a user equipment (UE) where per ¶0102 i.e. reference number 630, the transmitter may start a PDCP discard timer corresponding to the PDU set (e.g., based at least in part on information indicating that the one or more PDCP SDUs carry information belonging to one or more PDUs of the PDU i.e. where the one or more PDCP SDUs carry information belonging to one or more PDUs of the PDU at 650 are transmitted reads on: at least one packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) service data unit (SDU));
and transmitting, to the UE, a PDCP status report to confirm a reception of the at least one PDCP SDU (HE - ¶0078 […] At a transmitter (e.g., a UE 120 on the uplink or a network node 110 on the downlink), a PDCP entity may receive a packet, such as a PDCP SDU or a data packet, from a higher layer (e.g., RRC or SDAP). The PDCP entity may buffer the packet in a transmission buffer for up to the length of the PDCP discard timer. For example, the PDCP entity may buffer the packet in the transmission buffer until a status report is received by the transmitter indicating successful reception, or the PDCP discard timer expires. After the PDCP discard timer expires, the packet may be discarded (e.g., flushed, dropped, deleted from the buffer). In some examples, the PDCP discard timer may be configured per PDCP PDU, such that all data (e.g., packets, PDCP SDUs) of a given PDCP PDU are buffered until a status report indicating successful reception is received or the PDCP discard timer expires for the given PDCP PDU; ¶0081 […] The receiver may perform reassembly according to a reassembly timer, which may be configured as part of an RLC-Config configuration. […] If the reassembly timer expires before all RLC PDUs of the RLC SDU have been received, then the receiver may transmit a status report,
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0081 i.e. the receiver may transmit a status report and per ¶0078 i.e. the PDCP discard timer may be configured per PDCP PDU, such that all data (e.g., packets, PDCP SDUs) of a given PDCP PDU are buffered until i.e. a status report indicating successful reception is received reads on: and transmitting, to the UE, a PDCP status report. Furthermore per ¶0078 i.e. the PDCP discard timer may be configured per PDCP PDU, such that all data (e.g., packets, PDCP SDUs) of a given PDCP PDU are buffered until a status report indicating successful reception is received reads on: to confirm a reception of the at least one PDCP SDU).
While HE teaches information of a first discard timer for low importance, a second discard timer, and a protocol data unit (PDU) set discard parameter as noted herein above,
HE does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (Note i.e. see italicized portions): identifying that at least one PDCP SDU is discarded by the UE based on the discard timer;
i.e. He does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest identifying by the receiving entity that at least one PDCP SDU is discarded by the UE based on the discard timer applied individually to the first discard timer, the second discard timer, and the PDU set discard parameter where the first discard timer, the second discard timer, and the PDU set discard parameter are already taught by HE.
Rao teaches: identifying that at least one PDCP SDU is discarded by the UE based on the discard timer (Rao ¶0226 the WTRU may include SNs (e.g., initiating SN, intermediate SN, and/or terminating SN) in one or more PDUs/SDUs received from SDAP/higher layers based on the association of the PDUs to a PDU set.; ¶0231 […] the transmitting and/or receiving PDCP entity may be configured with a discard timer. […] the receiving entity (e.g., receiving PDCP entity) may start a discard timer upon receiving one or more PDUs of a PDU set and/or after transmitting a status indication (e.g., ACK/NACK) to the transmitting entity. In this case, if the receiving entity receives a new PDU in the PDU set and/or a retransmitted PDU in the PDU set before the expiry of the discard timer, the receiving entity may stop/reset the discard timer and transmit the received PDUs to higher layers. Otherwise, the receiving entity may discard the received PDUs of the PDU set;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0231 i.e. if the receiving entity receives a new PDU in the PDU set and/or a retransmitted PDU in the PDU set before the expiry of the discard timer, the receiving entity may stop/reset the discard timer and transmit the received PDUs to higher layers. i.e. Otherwise, the receiving entity may discard the received PDUs of the PDU set reads on: identifying that at least one PDCP SDU is discarded by the UE where i.e. the received PDUs of the PDU set comprise PDCP SDUs since per ¶0226 i.e. one or more PDUs/SDUs are i.e. received from SDAP/higher layers based on the association of the PDUs to a PDU set. Furthermore per ¶0231 i.e. the transmitting and/or receiving PDCP entity may be configured with a discard timer, where otherwise, i.e. the alternate otherwise case where i.e. receiving entity otherwise does not receive i.e. a new PDU in the PDU set and/or a retransmitted PDU in the PDU set before the expiry of the discard timer reads on: based on the discard timer );
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of HE with teachings of Rao, since Rao enables splitting/partitioning the PDUs in the QoS flow based on the importance/priority indications of PDUs, which may ensure that the ADU level QoS (e.g., data rate, latency, reliability) is satisfied (Rao ¶0186 ).
Regarding Claim 20. HE teaches: A network apparatus (HE – FIG. 5, FIG. 6 & ¶0097 See Claim 1;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0097 i.e. 600 of signaling associated with a PDCP discard time for a PDU set. Furthermore per ¶0097 i.e. in which the transmitter is a UE 120 or a UE 505 and i.e. the receiver is a network node 110 reads on: A network apparatus)
for handling a packet discard for extended reality (XR) in wireless communication network( HE – FIG. 5 & FIG. 6 & ¶0098 See claim 1;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0099 i.e. applying the PDCP discard timer reads on: for handling a packet discard , furthermore per ¶0099 i.e.at the granularity of a PDU set (as compared to the granularity of an individual PDU), the effects of jitter on a tether between the transmitter and an XR device (e.g., XR device 510) reads on: for extended reality (XR) i.e. the network depicted in FIG. 5 & FIG. 6 reads on: in a wireless communication network ),
the network apparatus comprising: an input/output (I/O) interface; and a packet discard handler communicatively coupled with the I/O interface (HE FIG. 2 & ¶0055 […] The transceiver may include any combination of the antenna(s) 234, the modem(s) 232, the MIMO detector 236, the receive processor 238, the transmit processor 220, and/or the TX MIMO processor 230. The transceiver may be used by a processor (e.g., the controller/processor 240) and the memory 242 to perform aspects of any of the methods described herein;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: as depicted I FG. 2 & per ¶0055 i.e. interfaced with a processor (e.g., the controller/processor 240) which is also interfaced to other component i.e. The transceiver reads on: the network apparatus comprising: an input/output (I/O) interface; Per ¶0055 i.e. the controller/processor 240 reads on: and a packet discard handler communicatively coupled with the I/O interface),
(See the rejection of Claim 13, Claim 20 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 13, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 20 applies similarly to Claim 13. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)
wherein the packet discard handler is configured to: transmit a configuration message including information of a first discard timer for low importance, a second discard timer, and a protocol data unit (PDU) set discard parameter, wherein the first discard timer is set to a value that is shorter than a value of the second discard timer; receive, from a user equipment (UE), at least one packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) service data unit (SDU); identify that at least one PDCP SDU is discarded by the UE based on the first discard timer, the second discard timer, and the PDU set discard parameter; and transmit, to the UE, a PDCP status report to confirm a reception of the at least one PDCP SDU(See the rejection of Claim 13, Claim 20 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 13, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 20 applies similarly to Claim 13. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Allowable Subject Matter
19. Claims 3, 7, 12, 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable contingent upon or subject to all of the following conditions:
(1) that the claims are rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as presented by applicant and referenced herein,
(2) that all independent claims were amended with similar, identical and parallel features and amendments in the independent claims representing identical features were submitted in a formal response,
(3) that the claim limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitations, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations,
(4) that all pending issues associated with the claims including:
(a) clarifying applicable issues related with claim objections under minor informalities and 112 (b) rejections,
(b) issues related with the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitations, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations, including the independent claims,
are all acceptably resolved, and do not result in a case where, given the scope of any applicant claimed amendments and/or arguments, examination would require would require further consideration and search.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 3. The method as claimed in claim 1, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “wherein a PDU set importance (PSI) value associated with at least one PDU set is received from the at least one upper layer in a general packet radio service (GPRS) tunneling protocol (GTP) header of the at least one PDCP SDU, and wherein the at least one upper layer comprises at least one of a service data application protocol (SDAP) layer, an application layer, or a service layer”.
Regarding Claim 7. The method as claimed in claim 1, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “further comprising: receiving, by a transmitting PDCP entity of the UE, a request for discarding the PDU set from the at least one upper layer; and discarding, by the transmitting PDCP entity, entire PDCP SDUs and PDCP PDUs of at least one PDU set”.
Regarding Claim 12. The method as claimed in claim 1, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “further comprising: performing, by a transmitting PDCP entity of the UE, a priority mapping of at least one PDU set pertaining to a quality of service (QoS) flow to a data radio bearer (DRB) based on meta information received from an application layer, based on implementation without a need of configuration from a network, wherein the meta information comprises a PDU set importance (PSI) value, a PSI threshold, and a discard threshold”.
Regarding Claim 16. The UE as claimed in claim 14, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “wherein a PDU set importance value (PSI) value associated with at least one PDU set is received from the at least one upper layer, in a general packet radio service (GPRS) tunneling protocol (GTP) header of the at least one PDCP SDU, and wherein the at least one upper layer comprises at least one of a service data application protocol (SDAP) layer, an application layer, or a service layer”.
Please note: The examiner notes the above limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitation, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations.
Conclusion
/M.A.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 2414
03/06/2026
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414