Response to Arguments
2 Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
4 Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (US 20190004202 A1) (“Yu”) in view of NPL (Tolmasquim Journal of Petroleum Science).
5. Regarding claim 1, Yu teaches a device for measuring a wall thickness of two concentric pipes, comprising:
an electromagnetic (EM) transmitter (Figures 1-2 item 28 discloses transmitter 28 may operate to generate a focused static magnetic field in Paragraph [0031]) configured to emit magnetic fluxes toward one or more EM receivers (Figures 1-2 item 32 discloses receivers 32 may be disposed on core 30. Receivers 32in Paragraph [0033]).
one or more focusing devices (Figures 1-2 item 28 discloses transmitter 28 may operate to generate a focused static magnetic field in Paragraph [0031]) configured to focus the emitted magnetic fluxes to compress and guide the emitted magnetic fluxes further toward the one or more EM receivers (Figures 1-2 item 32 discloses receivers 32 may be disposed on core 30. Receivers 32in Paragraph [0033]); and
the one or more EM receivers (Figures 1-2 item 32 discloses receivers 32 may be disposed on core 30. Receivers 32in Paragraph [0033]); configured to measure the compressed and guided magnetic fluxes to generate a measured flux for providing to a pipe anomaly analyzer (Figures 1-2 item 4 discloses inspection device 4 Inspection device 4 may be designed to detect defects and measure wall thickness in Paragraph [0029]),
wherein said emitting, focusing, and measuring are in response to launching the device within an inner pipe (Figures 1-2 item 12 discloses may be used to position inspection device 4 and/or telemetry module 8 inside tubing 12 Paragraph [0028]) of the two concentric pipes (Figures 1-2 item 14 discloses determine the arrangement of tubing 12 in relation to casing 14 Paragraph [0035]), and
wherein the pipe anomaly analyzer is configured to determine, based on the measured flux, the wall thickness of an outer pipe of the two concentric pipes (Figures 1-2 item 4 discloses inspection device 4 Inspection device 4 may be designed to detect defects and measure wall thickness in Paragraph [0029]).
Yu does not explicitly teach the device is configured to be launched by applying a flow of production under pressure.
However, NPL Tolmasquim teaches the device is configured to be launched by applying a flow of production under pressure (Applicant uses pipe inspection gauge (pig) Fig.1 item 160a [0027] to measure under pressure and Tolmasquim teaches pigging is a common practice in the petroleum and natural gas industry. In general terms, a pig is a solid plug that is introduced into the pipeline to be serviced. Fluid is pumped upstream of the pig to provide the necessary force to set the device in motion, and to perform the desired task, i.e., removing deposits from the pipe wall, removing water from the pipeline or driving an inspection tool in Introduction Lines [0001-0010]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify an inspecting and detecting characteristics of underground tubing in Yu, by substituting a pipe inspection gauge (pig) operations through pipelines by Tolmasquim to provide pigging is a common inspection practice in the petroleum and natural gas to monitor pipeline conditions in Introduction Lines [0001-0010]).
6. Regarding claim 2, Yu teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the one or more focusing devices (Figures 1-2 item 28 discloses transmitter 28 may operate to generate a focused static magnetic field in Paragraph [0031]) comprise one or more of a magnet an electrical coil (Figures 1-2 item 28 discloses 28 may comprise a rare earth magnet, coil, in Paragraph [0031]), and ferromagnetic material.
7. Regarding claim 3, Yu teaches the device of claim 1,
wherein the one or more focusing devices (Figures 1-2 item 28) comprise a first focusing device (Figures 1-2 item 28) disposed between the EM transmitter (Figures 1-2 item 28) and the one or more EM receivers (Figures 1-2 item 32) along a longitudinal direction of the two concentric pipes (Figures 1-2 item 12 & 14).
8. Regarding claim 4, Yu teaches the device of claim 3,
wherein the one or more EM receivers (Figures 1-2 item 32) comprise a sequential array of receiver element rings (Figures 1-2 item 32 shows array ring) along the longitudinal direction of the two concentric pipes (Figures 1-2 item 12 & 14), each receiver element ring (Figures 1-2 item 32) in the sequential array comprising receiver elements arranged in a ring (Figures 1-2 item 32) configuration adjacent to an inside surface of the inner pipe (Figures 1-2 item 12), and
wherein each pair of adjacent receiver element rings (Figures 1-2 item 32) within the sequential array is associated with one of the one or more focusing devices (Figures 1-2 item 28) that is disposed between said pair of adjacent receiver element rings (Figures 1-2 item 32) along the longitudinal direction of the two concentric pipes (Figures 1-2 item 12 & 14).
9. Regarding claim 5, Yu teaches the device of claim 3,
wherein the one or more EM receivers (Figures 1-2 item 32) form a sequential array of receiver element rings (Figures 1-2 item 32) along the longitudinal direction of the two concentric pipes (Figures 1-2 item 12 & 14), each receiver element ring in the sequential array comprising receiver elements (Figures 1-2 item 32) arranged in a ring configuration adjacent to an inside surface of the inner pipe (Figures 1-2 item 12), and
wherein each pair of adjacent receiver elements (Figures 1-2 item 32) in at least one receiver element ring (Figures 1-2 item 32) in the sequential array is associated with one of the one or more focusing devices (Figures 1-2 item 28) that is disposed between said pair of adjacent receiver elements (Figures 1-2 item 32) along a circumferential direction of said at least one receiver element ring (Figures 1-2 item 32).
10. Regarding claim 6, Yu teaches the device of claim 1,
wherein the two concentric pipes (Figures 1-2 item 12 & 14) are part of a pipeline network.
wherein the one or more EM receivers (Figures 1-2 item 32).
11 Regarding claim 7, Yu teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the device is embedded in a downhole logging tool (Figures 1-2 item 12 & 14 casing 14 may be compressed by the downhole environment in Paragraph [0035]), and
wherein the two concentric pipes (Figures 1-2 item 12 & 14) are part of a wellbore casing (Figures 1-2 item 12 discloses tubing 12 may be made of any suitable material for use in a wellbore in Paragraph [0029]),
12. Regarding claim 8, Yu teaches a system for measuring a wall thickness of two concentric pipes, comprising:
a device (Figures 1-2 item 2 discloses an inspection system 2) comprising:
an electromagnetic (EM) transmitter (Figures 1-2 item 28 discloses transmitter 28 may operate to generate a focused static magnetic field in Paragraph [0031]) configured to emit magnetic fluxes toward one or more EM receivers (Figures 1-2 item 32 discloses receivers 32 may be disposed on core 30. Receivers 32in Paragraph [0033]);
one or more focusing devices (Figures 1-2 item 28 discloses transmitter 28 may operate to generate a focused static magnetic field in Paragraph [0031]) configured to focus the emitted magnetic fluxes to compress and guide the emitted magnetic fluxes further toward the one or more EM receivers (Figures 1-2 item 32 discloses receivers 32 may be disposed on core 30. Receivers 32in Paragraph [0033]); and
the one or more EM receivers (Figures 1-2 item 32 discloses receivers 32 may be disposed on core 30. Receivers 32in Paragraph [0033]) configured to measure the compressed and guided magnetic fluxes to generate a measured flux for providing to a pipe anomaly analyzer (Figures 1-2 item 4 discloses inspection device 4 Inspection device 4 may be designed to detect defects and measure wall thickness in Paragraph [0029]),
a launching station (Figures 1-2 item 10 discloses with service device 10 in Paragraph [0026]) configured to launch the device within an inner pipe of the two concentric pipes (Figures 1-2 item 12 & 14), wherein said emitting, focusing (Figures 1-2 item 28), and measuring (Figures 1-2 item 4) are in response to said launching the device (Figures 1-2 item 10 discloses with service device 10 in Paragraph [0026]); and
a pipe anomaly analyzer (Figures 1-2 item 4 discloses inspection device 4 Inspection device 4 may be designed to detect defects and measure wall thickness in Paragraph [0029]) configured to determine, based on the measured flux, the wall thickness of an outer pipe of the two concentric pipes (Figures 1-2 item 12 & 14).
Yu does not explicitly teach wherein the device is configured to be launched by applying a flow of production under pressure.
However, NPL Tolmasquim teaches wherein the device is configured to be launched by applying a flow of production under pressure. (Applicant uses pipe inspection gauge (pig) Fig.1 item 160a [0027] to measure under pressure and Tolmasquim teaches pigging is a common practice in the petroleum and natural gas industry. In general terms, a pig is a solid plug that is introduced into the pipeline to be serviced. Fluid is pumped upstream of the pig to provide the necessary force to set the device in motion, and to perform the desired task, i.e., removing deposits from the pipe wall, removing water from the pipeline or driving an inspection tool in Introduction Lines [0001-0010]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify an inspecting and detecting characteristics of underground tubing in Yu, by substituting a pipe inspection gauge (pig) operations through pipelines by Tolmasquim to provide pigging is a common inspection practice in the petroleum and natural gas to monitor pipeline conditions in Introduction Lines [0001-0010]).
13. Regarding claim 9, Yu teaches the system of claim 8,
wherein the one or more focusing devices (Figures 1-2 item 28) comprise one or more of a magnet, an electrical coil (Figures 1-2 item 28 discloses 28 may comprise a rare earth magnet, coil, in Paragraph [0031]), and ferromagnetic material.
14. Regarding claim 10, Yu teaches the system of claim 8,
wherein the one or more focusing devices (Figures 1-2 item 28) comprise a first focusing device (Figures 1-2 item 28) disposed between the EM transmitter (Figures 1-2 item 28) and the one or more EM receivers (Figures 1-2 item 32) along a longitudinal direction of the two concentric pipe (Figures 1-2 item 12 & 14)
15. Regarding claim 11, Yu teaches the system of claim 10,
wherein the one or more EM receivers (Figures 1-2 item 32) comprise a sequential array of receiver element rings (Figures 1-2 item 32) along the longitudinal direction of the two concentric pipes (Figures 1-2 item 12 & 14), each receiver element ring (Figures 1-2 item 32) in the sequential array comprising receiver elements arranged in a ring configuration adjacent to an inside surface of the inner pipe (Figures 1-2 item 12), and
wherein each pair of adjacent receiver element rings (Figures 1-2 item 32) within the sequential array is associated with one of the one or more focusing devices (Figures 1-2 item 28) that is disposed between said pair of adjacent receiver element rings (Figures 1-2 item 32) along the longitudinal direction of the two concentric pipes (Figures 1-2 item 12 & 14).
16. Regarding claim 12, Yu teaches the system of claim 10,
wherein the one or more EM receivers (Figures 1-2 item 32) form a sequential array of receiver element rings (Figures 1-2 item 32) along the longitudinal direction of the two concentric pipes (Figures 1-2 item 12 & 14), each receiver element ring (Figures 1-2 item 32) in the sequential array comprising receiver elements arranged in a ring configuration adjacent to an inside surface of the inner pipe (Figures 1-2 item 12), and
wherein each pair of adjacent receiver elements (Figures 1-2 item 32) in at least one receiver element ring in the sequential array is associated with one of the one or more focusing devices (Figures 1-2 item 28) that is disposed between said pair of adjacent receiver elements (Figures 1-2 item 32) along a circumferential direction of said at least one receiver element ring (Figures 1-2 item 32).
17. Regarding claim 13, Yu teaches the system of claim 8,
wherein the device comprises
a pipe inspection gauge (pig) (Figures 1-2 item 2 & 4 discloses inspection device 4 Inspection device 4 may be designed to detect defects and measure wall thickness in Paragraph [0029]), and
wherein the two concentric pipes (Figures 1-2 item 12 & 14) are part of a pipeline network.
18. Regarding claim 14, Yu teaches the system of claim 8,
wherein the device (Figures 1-2 item 4 discloses inspection device 4 Inspection device 4 may be designed to detect defects and measure wall thickness in Paragraph [0029]) is embedded in a downhole logging tool (Figures 1-2 item 4 discloses inspection device 4 and/or telemetry module 8 inside tubing 12.), and
wherein the two concentric pipes (Figures 1-2 item 12 & 14) are part of a wellbore casing (Figures 1-2 item 12 discloses tubing 12 may be made of any suitable material for use in a wellbore in Paragraph [0029]).
19. Regarding claim 15, Yu teaches a method for measuring a wall thickness of two concentric pipes, comprising:
launching a pipe inspection gauge (pig) (Figures 1-2 item 2 & 4 discloses inspection device 4 Inspection device 4 may be designed to detect defects and measure wall thickness in Paragraph [0029]) within an inner pipe (Figures 1-2 item 12 discloses may be used to position inspection device 4 and/or telemetry module 8 inside tubing 12 Paragraph [0028]) of the two concentric pipes (Figures 1-2 item 14 discloses determine the arrangement of tubing 12 in relation to casing 14 Paragraph [0035]);
emitting, using an electromagnetic (EM) transmitter (Figures 1-2 item 28 discloses transmitter 28 may operate to generate a focused static magnetic field in Paragraph [0031]) of the pig, magnetic fluxes toward one or more EM receivers of the pig (Figures 1-2 item 32 discloses receivers 32 may be disposed on core 30. Receivers 32in Paragraph [0033]);
focusing, using one or more focusing devices (Figures 1-2 item 28 discloses transmitter 28 may operate to generate a focused static magnetic field in Paragraph [0031]), the emitted magnetic fluxes to compress and guide the emitted magnetic fluxes through the inner pipe (Figures 1-2 item 12 discloses may be used to position inspection device 4 and/or telemetry module 8 inside tubing 12 Paragraph [0028]) toward an outer pipe (Figures 1-2 item 14) and increase a signal to noise ratio of the one or more EM receivers (Figures 1-2 item 32 discloses receivers 32 may be disposed on core 30. Receivers 32in Paragraph [0033]);
measuring, using the one or more EM receivers (Figures 1-2 item 32 discloses receivers 32 may be disposed on core 30. Receivers 32in Paragraph [0033]), the compressed and guided magnetic fluxes to generate a measured flux for providing to a pipe anomaly analyzer (Figures 1-2 item 4 discloses inspection device 4 Inspection device 4 may be designed to detect defects and measure wall thickness in Paragraph [0029]), and
determining, using the pipe anomaly analyzer (Figures 1-2 item 4 discloses inspection device 4 Inspection device 4 may be designed to detect defects and measure wall thickness in Paragraph [0029]) and based on the measured flux, the wall thickness of the outer pipe of the two concentric pipes (Figures 1-2 item 14 discloses determine the arrangement of tubing 12 in relation to casing 14 Paragraph [0035]).
Yu does not explicitly teach applying a flow of production under pressure;
However, NPL Tolmasquim teaches applying a flow of production under pressure (Applicant uses pipe inspection gauge (pig) Fig.1 item 160a [0027] to measure under pressure and Tolmasquim teaches pigging is a common practice in the petroleum and natural gas industry. In general terms, a pig is a solid plug that is introduced into the pipeline to be serviced. Fluid is pumped upstream of the pig to provide the necessary force to set the device in motion, and to perform the desired task, i.e., removing deposits from the pipe wall, removing water from the pipeline or driving an inspection tool in Introduction Lines [0001-0010]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify an inspecting and detecting characteristics of underground tubing in Yu, by substituting a pipe inspection gauge (pig) operations through pipelines by Tolmasquim to provide pigging is a common inspection practice in the petroleum and natural gas to monitor pipeline conditions in Introduction Lines [0001-0010]).
20. Regarding claim 16, Yu teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the one or more focusing devices (Figures 1-2 item 28) comprise one or more of a magnet, an electrical coil (Figures 1-2 item 28 discloses 28 may comprise a rare earth magnet, coil, in Paragraph [0031]), and ferromagnetic material.
21. Regarding claim 17, Yu teaches the method of claim 15,
wherein the one or more focusing devices (Figures 1-2 item 28 discloses transmitter 28 may operate to generate a focused static magnetic field in Paragraph [0031]) comprise a first focusing device disposed between the EM transmitter (Figures 1-2 item 28) and the one or more EM receivers (Figures 1-2 item 32) along a longitudinal direction of the two concentric pipes (Figures 1-2 item 12& 14).
22. Regarding claim 18, Yu teaches the method of claim 17,
wherein the one or more EM receivers (Figures 1-2 item 32 discloses receivers 32 may be disposed on core 30. Receivers 32 in Paragraph [0033]) comprise a sequential array of receiver element rings (Figures 1-2 item 32) along the longitudinal direction of the two concentric pipes (Figures 1-2 item 12 & 14), each receiver element ring (Figures 1-2 item 32) in the sequential array comprising receiver elements (Figures 1-2 item 32) arranged in a ring configuration adjacent to an inside surface of the inner pipe (Figures 1-2 item 12), and
wherein each pair of adjacent receiver element rings (Figures 1-2 item 32) within the sequential array is associated with one of the one or more focusing devices (Figures 1-2 item 28) that is disposed between said pair of adjacent receiver element rings (Figures 1-2 item 32) along the longitudinal direction of the two concentric pipes (Figures 1-2 item 12 & 14).
23. Regarding claim 19, Yu teaches the method of claim 17,
wherein the one or more EM receivers (Figures 1-2 item 32) form a sequential array of receiver element rings (Figures 1-2 item 32) along the longitudinal direction of the two concentric pipes (Figures 1-2 item 12 & 14), each receiver element ring (Figures 1-2 item 32) in the sequential array comprising receiver elements (Figures 1-2 item 32) arranged in a ring configuration adjacent to an inside surface of the inner pipe (Figures 1-2 item 12), and
wherein each pair of adjacent receiver elements (Figures 1-2 item 32) in at least one receiver element ring (Figures 1-2 item 32) in the sequential array is associated with one of the one or more focusing devices (Figures 1-2 item 28) that is disposed between said pair of adjacent receiver elements (Figures 1-2 item 32) along a circumferential direction of said at least one receiver element ring (Figures 1-2 item 32).
24. Regarding claim 20, Yu teaches the method of claim 15,
wherein the two concentric pipes (Figures 1-2 item 12 & 14) are part of a pipeline network or part of a wellbore casing (Figures 1-2 item 12 discloses tubing 12 may be made of any suitable material for use in a wellbore in Paragraph [0029]),
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRENT J ANDREWS/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/STEVEN L YENINAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858