Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/29/2024 and 07/23/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Yu et al. (US 20190004202 A1) (“Yu”).
5. Regarding claim 1, Yu teaches a device for measuring a wall thickness of two concentric pipes, comprising:
an electromagnetic (EM) transmitter (Figures 1-2 item 28 discloses transmitter 28 may operate to generate a focused static magnetic field in Paragraph [0031]) configured to emit magnetic fluxes toward one or more EM receivers (Figures 1-2 item 32 discloses receivers 32 may be disposed on core 30. Receivers 32in Paragraph [0033]);
one or more focusing devices (Figures 1-2 item 28 discloses transmitter 28 may operate to generate a focused static magnetic field in Paragraph [0031]) configured to focus the emitted magnetic fluxes to compress and guide the emitted magnetic fluxes further toward the one or more EM receivers (Figures 1-2 item 32 discloses receivers 32 may be disposed on core 30. Receivers 32in Paragraph [0033]); and
the one or more EM receivers (Figures 1-2 item 32 discloses receivers 32 may be disposed on core 30. Receivers 32in Paragraph [0033]); configured to measure the compressed and guided magnetic fluxes to generate a measured flux for providing to a pipe anomaly analyzer (Figures 1-2 item 4 discloses inspection device 4 Inspection device 4 may be designed to detect defects and measure wall thickness in Paragraph [0029]),
wherein said emitting, focusing, and measuring are in response to launching the device within an inner pipe (Figures 1-2 item 12 discloses may be used to position inspection device 4 and/or telemetry module 8 inside tubing 12 Paragraph [0028]) of the two concentric pipes (Figures 1-2 item 14 discloses determine the arrangement of tubing 12 in relation to casing 14 Paragraph [0035]), and
wherein the pipe anomaly analyzer is configured to determine, based on the measured flux, the wall thickness of an outer pipe of the two concentric pipes (Figures 1-2 item 4 discloses inspection device 4 Inspection device 4 may be designed to detect defects and measure wall thickness in Paragraph [0029]).
6. Regarding claim 2, Yu teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the one or more focusing devices (Figures 1-2 item 28 discloses transmitter 28 may operate to generate a focused static magnetic field in Paragraph [0031]) comprise one or more of a magnet an electrical coil (Figures 1-2 item 28 discloses 28 may comprise a rare earth magnet, coil, in Paragraph [0031]), and ferromagnetic material.
7. Regarding claim 3, Yu teaches the device of claim 1,
wherein the one or more focusing devices (Figures 1-2 item 28) comprise a first focusing device (Figures 1-2 item 28) disposed between the EM transmitter (Figures 1-2 item 28) and the one or more EM receivers (Figures 1-2 item 32) along a longitudinal direction of the two concentric pipes (Figures 1-2 item 12 & 14).
8. Regarding claim 4, Yu teaches the device of claim 3,
wherein the one or more EM receivers (Figures 1-2 item 32) comprise a sequential array of receiver element rings (Figures 1-2 item 32 shows array ring) along the longitudinal direction of the two concentric pipes (Figures 1-2 item 12 & 14), each receiver element ring (Figures 1-2 item 32) in the sequential array comprising receiver elements arranged in a ring (Figures 1-2 item 32) configuration adjacent to an inside surface of the inner pipe (Figures 1-2 item 12), and
wherein each pair of adjacent receiver element rings (Figures 1-2 item 32) within the sequential array is associated with one of the one or more focusing devices (Figures 1-2 item 28) that is disposed between said pair of adjacent receiver element rings (Figures 1-2 item 32) along the longitudinal direction of the two concentric pipes (Figures 1-2 item 12 & 14).
9. Regarding claim 5, Yu teaches the device of claim 3,
wherein the one or more EM receivers (Figures 1-2 item 32) form a sequential array of receiver element rings (Figures 1-2 item 32) along the longitudinal direction of the two concentric pipes (Figures 1-2 item 12 & 14), each receiver element ring in the sequential array comprising receiver elements (Figures 1-2 item 32) arranged in a ring configuration adjacent to an inside surface of the inner pipe (Figures 1-2 item 12), and
wherein each pair of adjacent receiver elements (Figures 1-2 item 32) in at least one receiver element ring (Figures 1-2 item 32) in the sequential array is associated with one of the one or more focusing devices (Figures 1-2 item 28) that is disposed between said pair of adjacent receiver elements (Figures 1-2 item 32) along a circumferential direction of said at least one receiver element ring (Figures 1-2 item 32).
10. Regarding claim 6, Yu teaches the device of claim 1,
wherein the two concentric pipes (Figures 1-2 item 12 & 14) are part of a pipeline network.
wherein the one or more EM receivers (Figures 1-2 item 32).
11 Regarding claim 7, Yu teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the device is embedded in a downhole logging tool (Figures 1-2 item 12 & 14 casing 14 may be compressed by the downhole environment in Paragraph [0035]), and
wherein the two concentric pipes (Figures 1-2 item 12 & 14) are part of a wellbore casing (Figures 1-2 item 12 discloses tubing 12 may be made of any suitable material for use in a wellbore in Paragraph [0029]),
12. Regarding claim 8, Yu teaches a system for measuring a wall thickness of two concentric pipes, comprising:
a device (Figures 1-2 item 2 discloses an inspection system 2) comprising:
an electromagnetic (EM) transmitter (Figures 1-2 item 28 discloses transmitter 28 may operate to generate a focused static magnetic field in Paragraph [0031]) configured to emit magnetic fluxes toward one or more EM receivers (Figures 1-2 item 32 discloses receivers 32 may be disposed on core 30. Receivers 32in Paragraph [0033]);
one or more focusing devices (Figures 1-2 item 28 discloses transmitter 28 may operate to generate a focused static magnetic field in Paragraph [0031]) configured to focus the emitted magnetic fluxes to compress and guide the emitted magnetic fluxes further toward the one or more EM receivers (Figures 1-2 item 32 discloses receivers 32 may be disposed on core 30. Receivers 32in Paragraph [0033]); and
the one or more EM receivers (Figures 1-2 item 32 discloses receivers 32 may be disposed on core 30. Receivers 32in Paragraph [0033]) configured to measure the compressed and guided magnetic fluxes to generate a measured flux for providing to a pipe anomaly analyzer (Figures 1-2 item 4 discloses inspection device 4 Inspection device 4 may be designed to detect defects and measure wall thickness in Paragraph [0029]),
a launching station (Figures 1-2 item 10 discloses with service device 10 in Paragraph [0026]) configured to launch the device within an inner pipe of the two concentric pipes (Figures 1-2 item 12 & 14), wherein said emitting, focusing (Figures 1-2 item 28), and measuring (Figures 1-2 item 4) are in response to said launching the device (Figures 1-2 item 10 discloses with service device 10 in Paragraph [0026]); and
a pipe anomaly analyzer (Figures 1-2 item 4 discloses inspection device 4 Inspection device 4 may be designed to detect defects and measure wall thickness in Paragraph [0029]) configured to determine, based on the measured flux, the wall thickness of an outer pipe of the two concentric pipes (Figures 1-2 item 12 & 14).
13. Regarding claim 9, Yu teaches the system of claim 8,
wherein the one or more focusing devices (Figures 1-2 item 28) comprise one or more of a magnet, an electrical coil (Figures 1-2 item 28 discloses 28 may comprise a rare earth magnet, coil, in Paragraph [0031]), and ferromagnetic material.
14. Regarding claim 10, Yu teaches the system of claim 8,
wherein the one or more focusing devices (Figures 1-2 item 28) comprise a first focusing device (Figures 1-2 item 28) disposed between the EM transmitter (Figures 1-2 item 28) and the one or more EM receivers (Figures 1-2 item 32) along a longitudinal direction of the two concentric pipe (Figures 1-2 item 12 & 14)
15. Regarding claim 11, Yu teaches the system of claim 10,
wherein the one or more EM receivers (Figures 1-2 item 32) comprise a sequential array of receiver element rings (Figures 1-2 item 32) along the longitudinal direction of the two concentric pipes (Figures 1-2 item 12 & 14), each receiver element ring (Figures 1-2 item 32) in the sequential array comprising receiver elements arranged in a ring configuration adjacent to an inside surface of the inner pipe (Figures 1-2 item 12), and
wherein each pair of adjacent receiver element rings (Figures 1-2 item 32) within the sequential array is associated with one of the one or more focusing devices (Figures 1-2 item 28) that is disposed between said pair of adjacent receiver element rings (Figures 1-2 item 32) along the longitudinal direction of the two concentric pipes (Figures 1-2 item 12 & 14).
16. Regarding claim 12, Yu teaches the system of claim 10,
wherein the one or more EM receivers (Figures 1-2 item 32) form a sequential array of receiver element rings (Figures 1-2 item 32) along the longitudinal direction of the two concentric pipes (Figures 1-2 item 12 & 14), each receiver element ring (Figures 1-2 item 32) in the sequential array comprising receiver elements arranged in a ring configuration adjacent to an inside surface of the inner pipe (Figures 1-2 item 12), and
wherein each pair of adjacent receiver elements (Figures 1-2 item 32) in at least one receiver element ring in the sequential array is associated with one of the one or more focusing devices (Figures 1-2 item 28) that is disposed between said pair of adjacent receiver elements (Figures 1-2 item 32) along a circumferential direction of said at least one receiver element ring (Figures 1-2 item 32).
17. Regarding claim 13, Yu teaches the system of claim 8,
wherein the device comprises
a pipe inspection gauge (pig) (Figures 1-2 item 2 & 4 discloses inspection device 4 Inspection device 4 may be designed to detect defects and measure wall thickness in Paragraph [0029]), and
wherein the two concentric pipes (Figures 1-2 item 12 & 14) are part of a pipeline network.
18. Regarding claim 14, Yu teaches the system of claim 8,
wherein the device (Figures 1-2 item 4 discloses inspection device 4 Inspection device 4 may be designed to detect defects and measure wall thickness in Paragraph [0029]) is embedded in a downhole logging tool (Figures 1-2 item 4 discloses inspection device 4 and/or telemetry module 8 inside tubing 12.), and
wherein the two concentric pipes (Figures 1-2 item 12 & 14) are part of a wellbore casing (Figures 1-2 item 12 discloses tubing 12 may be made of any suitable material for use in a wellbore in Paragraph [0029]).
19. Regarding claim 15, Yu teaches a method for measuring a wall thickness of two concentric pipes, comprising:
launching a pipe inspection gauge (pig) (Figures 1-2 item 2 & 4 discloses inspection device 4 Inspection device 4 may be designed to detect defects and measure wall thickness in Paragraph [0029]) within an inner pipe (Figures 1-2 item 12 discloses may be used to position inspection device 4 and/or telemetry module 8 inside tubing 12 Paragraph [0028]) of the two concentric pipes (Figures 1-2 item 14 discloses determine the arrangement of tubing 12 in relation to casing 14 Paragraph [0035]);
emitting, using an electromagnetic (EM) transmitter (Figures 1-2 item 28 discloses transmitter 28 may operate to generate a focused static magnetic field in Paragraph [0031]) of the pig, magnetic fluxes toward one or more EM receivers of the pig (Figures 1-2 item 32 discloses receivers 32 may be disposed on core 30. Receivers 32in Paragraph [0033]);
focusing, using one or more focusing devices (Figures 1-2 item 28 discloses transmitter 28 may operate to generate a focused static magnetic field in Paragraph [0031]), the emitted magnetic fluxes to compress and guide the emitted magnetic fluxes through the inner pipe (Figures 1-2 item 12 discloses may be used to position inspection device 4 and/or telemetry module 8 inside tubing 12 Paragraph [0028]) toward an outer pipe (Figures 1-2 item 14) and increase a signal to noise ratio of the one or more EM receivers (Figures 1-2 item 32 discloses receivers 32 may be disposed on core 30. Receivers 32in Paragraph [0033]);
measuring, using the one or more EM receivers (Figures 1-2 item 32 discloses receivers 32 may be disposed on core 30. Receivers 32in Paragraph [0033]), the compressed and guided magnetic fluxes to generate a measured flux for providing to a pipe anomaly analyzer (Figures 1-2 item 4 discloses inspection device 4 Inspection device 4 may be designed to detect defects and measure wall thickness in Paragraph [0029]), and
determining, using the pipe anomaly analyzer (Figures 1-2 item 4 discloses inspection device 4 Inspection device 4 may be designed to detect defects and measure wall thickness in Paragraph [0029]) and based on the measured flux, the wall thickness of the outer pipe of the two concentric pipes (Figures 1-2 item 14 discloses determine the arrangement of tubing 12 in relation to casing 14 Paragraph [0035]).
20. Regarding claim 16, Yu teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the one or more focusing devices (Figures 1-2 item 28) comprise one or more of a magnet, an electrical coil (Figures 1-2 item 28 discloses 28 may comprise a rare earth magnet, coil, in Paragraph [0031]), and ferromagnetic material.
21. Regarding claim 17, Yu teaches the method of claim 15,
wherein the one or more focusing devices (Figures 1-2 item 28 discloses transmitter 28 may operate to generate a focused static magnetic field in Paragraph [0031]) comprise a first focusing device disposed between the EM transmitter (Figures 1-2 item 28) and the one or more EM receivers (Figures 1-2 item 32) along a longitudinal direction of the two concentric pipes (Figures 1-2 item 12& 14).
22. Regarding claim 18, Yu teaches the method of claim 17,
wherein the one or more EM receivers (Figures 1-2 item 32 discloses receivers 32 may be disposed on core 30. Receivers 32 in Paragraph [0033]) comprise a sequential array of receiver element rings (Figures 1-2 item 32) along the longitudinal direction of the two concentric pipes (Figures 1-2 item 12 & 14), each receiver element ring (Figures 1-2 item 32) in the sequential array comprising receiver elements (Figures 1-2 item 32) arranged in a ring configuration adjacent to an inside surface of the inner pipe (Figures 1-2 item 12), and
wherein each pair of adjacent receiver element rings (Figures 1-2 item 32) within the sequential array is associated with one of the one or more focusing devices (Figures 1-2 item 28) that is disposed between said pair of adjacent receiver element rings (Figures 1-2 item 32) along the longitudinal direction of the two concentric pipes (Figures 1-2 item 12 & 14).
23. Regarding claim 19, Yu teaches the method of claim 17,
wherein the one or more EM receivers (Figures 1-2 item 32) form a sequential array of receiver element rings (Figures 1-2 item 32) along the longitudinal direction of the two concentric pipes (Figures 1-2 item 12 & 14), each receiver element ring (Figures 1-2 item 32) in the sequential array comprising receiver elements (Figures 1-2 item 32) arranged in a ring configuration adjacent to an inside surface of the inner pipe (Figures 1-2 item 12), and
wherein each pair of adjacent receiver elements (Figures 1-2 item 32) in at least one receiver element ring (Figures 1-2 item 32) in the sequential array is associated with one of the one or more focusing devices (Figures 1-2 item 28) that is disposed between said pair of adjacent receiver elements (Figures 1-2 item 32) along a circumferential direction of said at least one receiver element ring (Figures 1-2 item 32).
24. Regarding claim 20, Yu teaches the method of claim 15,
wherein the two concentric pipes (Figures 1-2 item 12 & 14) are part of a pipeline network or part of a wellbore casing (Figures 1-2 item 12 discloses tubing 12 may be made of any suitable material for use in a wellbore in Paragraph [0029]),
Conclusion
/BRENT J ANDREWS/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/NEEL D SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858