DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to Applicant’s Election filed 5/29/2026.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending, with claims 16 and 17 being withdrawn from consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1-15 and 18-20, in the reply filed on 5/29/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claim is directed to an apparatus comprising a plurality of modules, which may be interpreted as being purely software per se. Computer software per se fails to meet the 35 U.S.C. 101 requirement that the invention be a “process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter”. This interpretation finds support within paragraph [0148] of applicant’s specification, which recites “the module, the program segment, or the part of code includes one or more executable instructions used for implementing specified logic functions”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 9, 10, 12, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Geisler et al. (US 2019/0355050), hereinafter Geisler.
As per claim 1, Geisler teaches the following:
a virtual resource transfer method, (see abstract), wherein in a target application, the method comprises:
obtaining a first status virtual resource, wherein the first status virtual resource is sent to a first user by a resource distributor. As Geisler teaches in paragraph [0029], a gift giver may select/purchase a gift to be given to a receiving user and an image of the gift may be stored, which is interpreted as encompassing “obtaining” the gift at the gift giver device;
generating a target media content based on the first status virtual resource in response to a preset operation of the first user, wherein the target media content is associated with the first status virtual resource. As Geisler teaches in paragraph [0033], a virtual gift 214 (target media content) is representative of the gift; and
posting the target media content in the target application in response to a posting operation on the target media content, so that the first status virtual resource is converted into a second status virtual resource. As Geisler teaches in paragraph [0066], and corresponding Fig. 4, the gift giver selects a position to post the gift, and
the second status virtual resource is configured to be at least partially transferred to the first user and/or a second user via the target media content. As Geisler teaches in paragraph [0058], and corresponding Fig. 3C, the gift receiving device may receive the gift once located.
Regarding claim 2, Geisler teaches the method of claim 1 as described above. Geisler further teaches the following:
wherein the generating the target media content based on the first status virtual resource in response to the preset operation comprises:
displaying a virtual resource show interface, wherein the virtual resource show interface comprises at least one first status virtual resource currently obtained by the first user. As Geisler teaches in paragraph [0064], and corresponding Fig. 4, at step 404, the gift giver may select a gift to give, i.e., at least one gift is presented for selection;
displaying a target media content generation interface in response to a select operation on any first status virtual resource. As Geisler teaches in paragraph [0065], and corresponding Fig. 4, at step 406, in response to the gift giver selecting the gift, the gift giver may utilize a camera and take an image or video of an environment, where the video capturing interface is interpreted as encompassing a “target media content generation interface”;
obtaining a media content material generated by the first user based on the target media content generation interface. As Geisler teaches in paragraph [0065], and corresponding Fig. 4, at step 406, in response to the gift giver selecting the gift, the gift giver may utilize a camera and take an image or video of an environment (media content material); and
generating the target media content based on the first status virtual resource selected by a user and the media content material generated by the first user. As Geisler teaches in paragraph [0066], and corresponding Fig. 4, at step 408, the virtual gift is placed at a selected location (target media content).
Regarding claim 9, Geisler teaches the method of claim 1 as described above. Geisler further teaches the following:
wherein there is a preset association relationship between the first user and the second user. As Geisler teaches in paragraph [0027], the gift giver may enter preferences based upon a recipient’s likes and dislikes, thus teaches of an association relationship between the two.
Regarding claim 10, Geisler teaches the method of claim 1 as described above. Geisler further teaches the following:
wherein after posting the target media content in the target application in response to the posting operation on the target media content, the method further comprises:
determining a number of transferable times corresponding to the second status virtual resource; transferring the second status virtual resource at least partially to the first user and/or the second user according to the number of transferable times, wherein a count of the first user and/or the second user matches the number of transferable times. As Geisler teaches in paragraph [0073], and corresponding Fig. 4, the virtual gift may be sent from the sender to the recipient one time (number of transferable times).
Regarding claim 12, Geisler teaches the method of claim 1 as described above. Geisler further teaches the following:
wherein the obtaining the first status virtual resource comprises:
obtaining, in response to a trigger operation of a user on at least one virtual resource obtaining control on a preset interface, the first status virtual resource, wherein the preset interface comprises at least one virtual resource obtaining control. As Geisler teaches in paragraph [0064], the gift giver may select at least one gift. Therefore, there must exist a control to make such a selection.
As per claim 18, Geisler teaches the following:
a virtual resource transfer apparatus, (see Fig. 1).
The remaining limitations of claim 18 are substantially similar to those of claim 1 and are rejected using the same reasoning.
Regarding claim 19, Geisler teaches the method of claim 1 as described above. Geisler further teaches the following:
an electronic device, comprising: a processor and a memory; wherein computer executable instructions are stored in the memory; upon the processor executing the computer executable instructions stored in the memory, the processor executes the virtual resource transfer method according to claim 1, (see paragraph [0006], “computer-readable media” and “processor”).
Regarding claim 20, Geisler teaches the method of claim 1 as described above. Geisler further teaches the following:
a computer readable storage medium, wherein computer executable instructions are stored in the computer readable storage medium, and upon a processor executing the computer executable instructions, the virtual resource transfer method according to claim 1 is realized, (see paragraph [0006], “computer-readable media”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geisler as applied to claims 1 and 2, in view of Reed et al. (US 2015/0193858), hereinafter Reed.
Regarding claim 3, Geisler teaches the method of claim 1 as described above. Geisler further teaches the following:
wherein the generating the target media content based on the first status virtual resource in response to the preset operation comprises:
obtaining a media content material generated by the first user in a target media content generation interface. As Geisler teaches in paragraph [0046], and corresponding Fig. 4, the gift giving user captures an image of an environment (media content material). Geisler shows in Fig. 2A of an image capturing interface (target media content generation interface);
displaying a virtual resource configuration interface in response to a trigger operation of the first user in the target media content generation interface, wherein the virtual resource configuration interface comprises at least one first status virtual resource currently obtained by the first user. As Geisler teaches in paragraph [0064], and corresponding Fig. 4, at step 404, the gift giver may select a gift to give, i.e., at least one gift is presented for selection;
generating, in response to a select operation on any first status virtual resource, the target media content according to the first status virtual resource selected by the first user and the media content material generated by the first user. As Geisler teaches in paragraph [0066], and corresponding Fig. 4, at step 408, the virtual gift is placed at a selected location (target media content). The examiner would like to further note paragraphs [0034] and [0035] which teach of capturing an image of the environment before selecting the gift.
However, Geisler does not explicitly teach of a “preset virtual resource configuration icon”. In a similar field of endeavor, Reed teaches a method of electronic transactions including gift options (see abstract). Reed further teaches in paragraph [0078] of a modification button or icon which may be utilized to open options to modify a previously selected gift.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified the gift selection of Geisler with the gift modification icon of Reed. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have made such modification because as Reed teaches in paragraph [0003], such modification interface benefits users in foregoing the requirement of needing customer assistance when a change is desired.
Regarding claim 4, Geisler teaches the method of claim 2 as described above. However, Geisler does not explicitly teach of a first status virtual resource modify interface. In a similar field of endeavor, Reed teaches a method of electronic transactions including gift options (see abstract). Reed further teaches the following:
the target media content generation interface further comprises a first status virtual resource modify control, (see paragraph [0078], “modification button or icon”), and after displaying the target media content generation interface in response to the select operation on any first status virtual resource, the method further comprises:
displaying a first status virtual resource modify interface on a display interface in response to a trigger operation of the first user on the first status virtual resource modify control. As Reed shows in Fig. 15, the product modification screen is displayed in response to a change control being selected;
modifying the first status virtual resource in response to a preset operation of the first user in the first status virtual resource modify interface. As Reed teaches in paragraph [0087], and corresponding Fig. 15, the user may make desired changes and save said changes via save control 2042.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified the gift selection of Geisler with the gift modification icon of Reed. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have made such modification because as Reed teaches in paragraph [0003], such modification interface benefits users in foregoing the requirement of needing customer assistance when a change is desired.
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geisler as applied to claims 1 and 2, in view of Small (US 2012/0209748).
Regarding claim 5, Geisler teaches the method of claim 2 as described above. However, Geisler does not explicitly teach of at least two media content generation manners. In a similar field of endeavor, Small teaches of a method of providing e-commerce gifts (see abstract). Small further teaches the following:
wherein after displaying the target media content generation interface (camera interface of Geisler) in response to the select operation on any first status virtual resource, the method further comprises:
displaying a media content material generation manner list on the target media content generation interface, wherein the media content material generation manner list comprises at least two media content material generation manners. As Small teaches in paragraph [0039], and corresponding Fig. 4, a web page 402 lists and allows the gift giver to select one or more reveal options (material generation manners);
obtaining, in response to a select operation on any media content material generation manner, the media content material generated by the first user according to the selected media content material generation manner. As Small teaches in paragraph [0039], the gift giver may select one or more generation manners;
generating the target media content according to the first status virtual resource selected by the first user and the media content material generated by the first user. As Small teaches in paragraph [0039], and corresponding Fig. 4, after the gift giver has selected the generation manner, the user may select button 452 to construct the gift reveal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified the gift selection of Geisler with the gift reveal settings of Small. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have made such modification because as Small teaches in paragraph [0003], such reveal selection benefits users in customizing an experience more based on attributes of the gift or the recipient.
Regarding claim 6, modified Geisler teaches the method of claim 5 as described above. However, as described above, Geisler does not explicitly teach of at least two media content generation manners. Small further teaches the following:
wherein the media content material generation manners comprise a custom generation manner and a template shooting manner. As Small teaches in paragraph [0039], each reveal option may be a specific template and in paragraph [0041];
the obtaining, in response to the select operation on any media content material generation manner, the media content material generated by the first user according to the selected media content material generation manner comprises:
in a case where the media content material generation manner selected by the first user is the custom generation manner, obtaining a media content material customized and generated by the first user. As Small teaches in paragraph [0041], and corresponding Fig. 4, upon the gift giver selecting button 458, a web page may allow the user to upload a video and provide tools to incorporate upload content into a custom reveal; or
in a case where the media content material generation manner selected by the first user is the template shooting manner, generating a media content material based on a preset shooting template selected by the user. As Small teaches in paragraph [0039], and corresponding Fig. 4, each template selection 434-450 may provide a premade animation or video tempate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified the gift selection of Geisler with the gift reveal settings of Small. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have made such modification because as Small teaches in paragraph [0003], such reveal selection benefits users in customizing an experience more based on attributes of the gift or the recipient.
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geisler as applied to claim 1, in view of Sorensen et al. (US 2014/0058873), hereinafter Sorensen.
Regarding claim 7, Geisler teaches the method of claim 1 as described above. However, Geisler does not explicitly teach of a supplementary virtual resource configuration interface. In a similar field of endeavor, Sorensen teaches of a method of giving virtual gifts (see abstract). Sorensen further teaches the following:
wherein the generating the target media content based on the first status virtual resource in response to the preset operation of the first user comprises:
displaying a virtual resource configuration interface on a display interface in response to a trigger operation of the first user on a preset virtual resource configuration icon in a target media content generation interface, wherein the virtual resource configuration interface comprises at least one first status virtual resource currently obtained by the first user. As Sorensen teaches in paragraph [0044], and corresponding Fig. 1, in response to a gift giver selecting a gift in step 101S, the user is presented with an interface to select a virtual gift icon 102;
displaying a supplementary virtual resource configuration interface on the display interface in response to a select operation on any first status virtual resource. As Sorensen further teaches in paragraph [0044], in response to the gift giver selecting a virtual gift icon, the user is presented with an interface to select a virtual concealing overlay (supplementary virtual resource);
obtaining a supplementary virtual resource determined by the first user in the supplementary virtual resource configuration interface, and determining the first status virtual resource and the supplementary virtual resource as a target virtual resource. As Sorensen further teaches in paragraph [0044], in response to the gift giver selecting a virtual gift icon, the user is presented with an interface to select a virtual concealing overlay. In response to the user selecting an overlay, a virtual package is created (104).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified the gift of Geisler with the gift and overlay selection of Sorensen. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have made such modification because as Sorensen teaches in paragraph [0004], such package creation enhances the gift receiving experience.
Upon the modification of Geisler in view of Sorensen, one of ordinary skill would have arrived at:
obtaining a media content material generated by the first user, and generating the target media content according to the media content material and the target virtual resource, where the gift package generation of Sorensen would be placed in the video of Geisler.
Regarding claim 8, modified Geisler teaches the method of claim 7 as described above. However, as described above, Geisler does not explicitly teach of a supplementary virtual resource configuration interface. Sorensen teaches the following:
wherein the supplementary virtual resource comprises one or more of a first status virtual resource, a second status virtual resource, and a virtual resource customized and input by the first user. As Sorensen teaches in paragraph [0044], selection of an overlay can include configuring various aspects of the virtual wrapping (customized and input by the user).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified the gift of Geisler with the gift and overlay selection of Sorensen. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have made such modification because as Sorensen teaches in paragraph [0004], such package creation enhances the gift receiving experience.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geisler as applied to claims 1 and 10, in view of Edwards et al. (US 2022/0058677), hereinafter Edwards.
Regarding claim 11, Geisler teaches the method of claim 10 as described above. However, Geisler does not explicitly teach of dividing resources. In a similar field of endeavor, Edwards teaches of directing rewards by a user (see abstract). Geisler further teaches the following:
the transferring the second status virtual resource at least partially to the first user and/or the second user according to the number of transferable times comprises:
dividing the second status virtual resource averagely into third virtual resources according to the number of transferable times, so that the third virtual resources are transferred to the first user and/or the second user; or
transferring at least part of the second status virtual resource randomly to the first user and/or the second user according to the number of transferable times. As Edwards teaches in paragraph [0030], a user who is assigning a reward to multiple merchants may choose to divide the reward evenly among the one or more merchants. This divided reward is interpreted as encompassing Applicant’s “third virtual resource”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified the gift of Geisler with the reward division of Edwards. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have made such modification because the division of Edwards would benefit a giving user of Geisler in allowing said user to assign multiple recipients of a gift.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geisler as applied to claim 1, in view of Prabhu et al. (US 2022/0207521), hereinafter Prabhu.
Regarding claim 13, Geisler teaches the method of claim 1 as described above. However, Geisler does not explicitly teach of a transfer icon which transfers resources to the first user. In a similar field of endeavor, Prabhu teaches a method of providing rewards to users (see abstract). Prabhu further teaches the following:
displaying a transfer icon corresponding to the second status virtual resource on a play interface of the target media content. As Prabhu shows in Fig. 4A, transfer icons are presented allowing a user to “pay” a transaction. Prabhu further shows that the user will receive a reward utilizing the current settings of the transaction, such as “You’ll get 1% cashback”; and
transferring the second status virtual resource at least partially to the first user in response to a trigger operation of the first user on the transfer icon. As Prabhu teaches in paragraph [0111], a reward may be released to a user through the user account. Prabhu further teaches in paragraph [0112] that rewards may be shared among users, thus encompassing “at least partially” transferring the reward.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified the gift of Geisler with the rewards of Prabhu. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have made such modification because as Prabhu teaches in paragraph [0024], it benefits users in receiving the most desirable reward possible during transactions.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geisler in view of Reed as applied to claims 1, 2, and 4, and further in view of Small.
Regarding claim 14, modified Geisler teaches the method of claim 4 as described above. However, Geisler does not explicitly teach of at least two media content generation manners. In a similar field of endeavor, Small teaches of a method of providing e-commerce gifts (see abstract). Small further teaches the following:
wherein after displaying the target media content generation interface (camera interface of Geisler) in response to the select operation on any first status virtual resource, the method further comprises:
displaying a media content material generation manner list on the target media content generation interface, wherein the media content material generation manner list comprises at least two media content material generation manners. As Small teaches in paragraph [0039], and corresponding Fig. 4, a web page 402 lists and allows the gift giver to select one or more reveal options (material generation manners);
obtaining, in response to a select operation on any media content material generation manner, the media content material generated by the first user according to the selected media content material generation manner. As Small teaches in paragraph [0039], the gift giver may select one or more generation manners;
generating the target media content according to the first status virtual resource selected by the first user and the media content material generated by the first user. As Small teaches in paragraph [0039], and corresponding Fig. 4, after the gift giver has selected the generation manner, the user may select button 452 to construct the gift reveal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified the gift selection of Geisler with the gift reveal settings of Small. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have made such modification because as Small teaches in paragraph [0003], such reveal selection benefits users in customizing an experience more based on attributes of the gift or the recipient.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geisler in view of Small as applied to claims 1, 2, 5, and 6, and further in view of Sorensen.
Regarding claim 15, modified Geisler teaches the method of claim 6 as described above. However, Geisler does not explicitly teach of a supplementary virtual resource configuration interface. In a similar field of endeavor, Sorensen teaches of a method of giving virtual gifts (see abstract). Sorensen further teaches the following:
wherein the generating the target media content based on the first status virtual resource in response to the preset operation of the first user comprises:
displaying a virtual resource configuration interface on a display interface in response to a trigger operation of the first user on a preset virtual resource configuration icon in a target media content generation interface, wherein the virtual resource configuration interface comprises at least one first status virtual resource currently obtained by the first user. As Sorensen teaches in paragraph [0044], and corresponding Fig. 1, in response to a gift giver selecting a gift in step 101S, the user is presented with an interface to select a virtual gift icon 102;
displaying a supplementary virtual resource configuration interface on the display interface in response to a select operation on any first status virtual resource. As Sorensen further teaches in paragraph [0044], in response to the gift giver selecting a virtual gift icon, the user is presented with an interface to select a virtual concealing overlay (supplementary virtual resource);
obtaining a supplementary virtual resource determined by the first user in the supplementary virtual resource configuration interface, and determining the first status virtual resource and the supplementary virtual resource as a target virtual resource. As Sorensen further teaches in paragraph [0044], in response to the gift giver selecting a virtual gift icon, the user is presented with an interface to select a virtual concealing overlay. In response to the user selecting an overlay, a virtual package is created (104).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified the gift of Geisler with the gift and overlay selection of Sorensen. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have made such modification because as Sorensen teaches in paragraph [0004], such package creation enhances the gift receiving experience.
Upon the modification of Geisler in view of Sorensen, one of ordinary skill would have arrived at:
obtaining a media content material generated by the first user, and generating the target media content according to the media content material and the target virtual resource, where the gift package generation of Sorensen would be placed in the video of Geisler.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-Kerschbrock et al. (US 2006/0224451), incentive program, see paragraph [0079].
-Hardy et al. (US 2009/0191962), see paragraphs [0331] and [0334].
/GREGORY A. DISTEFANO/
Examiner
Art Unit 2174
/WILLIAM L BASHORE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2174