DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 to 20 are presented for examination. The amendment filed 10-17-2025 cancelled claims 2 and 13.
Allowable Subject Matter
Prosecution on the merits of this application is reopened on claim 20 considered unpatentable for the reasons indicated below:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Diggs et al. (USPAP 2009/0204852 A1).
Claim 20:
Diggs substantially teaches the claimed invention. Diggs teaches a storage subsystem that uses solid-state memory devices and a method and an apparatus for assessing a risk of a storage subsystem failure, the apparatus comprising: a controller (114) of a storage subsystem (112) monitoring data (121) of a nonvolatile memory device wherein the monitored data describes the stability of the power signal from the host (see par. 0023). Diggs teaches that the controller may analyze the stored monitor data to assess a risk level associated with the occurrence of data errors (see par. 0026).
Diggs teaches that the controller analyzes the stored monitor data to maintain bit error statistics by monitoring a particular variable, which reads on “measuring, by at least one processor, a bit error rate of at least one communications channel between two or more semiconductor processing units” (see par. 0027). Diggs teaches that maintaining bit error statistics comprises measuring a short-term bit error rate (BER) such as “BER since last power up” (see par. 0030).
Diggs teaches that the storage subsystem includes one or more sensors (125) that senses various conditions such as temperature, humidity, altitude, and/or storage subsystem movement (see par. 0022). Diggs teaches that the monitor data stored is generated by one or more sensors of the host system and the host-generated sensor data may supplement subsystem-generated sensor data (see par. 0033).
Diggs teaches that a process (300) to collect and analyze the monitor data (see fig 3) having a monitoring operating and/or environment conditions state (321) monitoring data and storing the monitored data in step (322) (see par. 0050). Diggs teaches that at state (323) the risk level of the monitored data is analyzed and at state (324) the risk level is determined based on if it is greater than a predetermined or correlated-based threshold (see par. 0051). Diggs teaches that at state (325) an alert is generated when the conditions are met for the risk level greater than the predetermine threshold and monitoring continues in the background (see par. 0052). Digs teaches that if high BER occurs when operating temperature exceeds a particular threshold, it may adjust the temperature threshold used to generate alert messages or cause the controller to slow its operation (see par. 0032).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 3 to 12 and 14 to 19 are allowed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Shelly A Chase/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2112